DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Davies (U.S. 2007/0289891).
In regards to claim 19. Davies discloses A method for making a weakening (at least elements 10, 12 and 20) in a sheet (sheet made of layers 1, 2, 3) of semirigid plastic material (see at least paragraphs 9), wherein it comprises the steps of:
making at least one substantially straight first incision (10) at a first edge (Illustrated In fig. 1) of the sheet ;
making at least one shaped incision (20) in a central portion (fig. 1 illustrated) of the sheet, laterally and at a distance from the substantially straight first incision (fig. 1);
wherein the incisions are formed by the plastic deformation of the material of the sheet (see at least paragraphs 56, 58, 63, 114, and 115).
In regards to claim 20. Davies further discloses the method for making a weakening according to Claim 19, wherein making a substantially straight incision (10) on a first surface (1) of the sheet (fig. 1) and making a shaped incision (20) on the opposite surface (2) of the sheet (1).
In regards to claim 21. Davies further discloses the method for making a weakening according to Claim 19, wherein in making at least one substantially straight second incision (12) at a second edge (fig. 1 opposite of edge 1 of incision 10) of the first sheet (1), opposite to the first edge, laterally and at a distance from the shaped incision (fig. 1 illustrates), wherein the second incision (12) is made by the plastic deformation of the material of the sheet (see at least paragraphs 56, 58, 63, 114, and 115).
In regards to claim 22. Davies further discloses the method for making a weakening according to Claim 21, wherein the steps of making the first substantially straight incision and the second substantially straight incision are simultaneous (see at least paragraphs 114, and 115).
In regards to claim 23. Davies further discloses the method for making a weakening according to claim 19, wherein the step of making the first substantially straight incision and/or the step of making the second substantially straight incision precedes the step of making at least one shaped incision (see at least paragraphs 109-117).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 24 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Lucas E. A. Palmer/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731