DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to the amendments filed 05/12/2026. Amendments received on 05/12/2026 have been entered. Claims 2-21 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,062,258. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Present Application (18/800,749) Claim 2:
A contactless card, comprising:
processing circuitry; and memory to store:
a unique identifier to identify a user, wherien the unique identifier is asscoated with a payment account of the user;
a key code to unlock a lock, wherien the key code is received from a computing device and stored in the memory; and a first set of instructions that when executed by the processing circuitry cause the processing circuitry to:
retrieve the key code from the memory, and in response to a request, provide the key code to a lock; and a second set of instructions that, when executed by the processing circuitry cause the processing circuitry to: receive a request to perform a payment transaction and send encrypted data comprising the unique identifier to perform an authentication operation to perform payment transaction.
Conflicting Patent (12,062,258) Claim 13:
A contactless card, comprising: communication hardware; a memory configured to store:
a counter value configured to count based on each read operation performed by the contactless card; identity information regarding a user;
computer program instructions configured to perform wireless payments and authentication operations;
computer program instructions configured to perform locking and unlocking functions;
a processor configured to execute the computer program instructions configured to perform the wireless payments and the authentication operations that cause the processor to:
detect a communication exchange with a computing device, the communication exchange comprising a request to perform an authentication operation;
generate encrypted data comprising the identity information to perform the authentication operation; send the encrypted data to the computing device to perform the authentication operation;
the processor further configured to execute the computing program instructions configured to perform locking and unlocking functions that cause the processor to: receive a key code for unlocking a lock in response to the authentication operation being successful;
store the key code in the memory; and communicate, via the communication hardware, with a lock the key code to perform the locking and unlocking functions.
Comments
The patent claims include all of the limitations of the instant application claims, respectively. The patent claims also include additional limitations. Hence, the instant application claims are generic to the species of invention covered by the respective patent claims. As such, the instant application claims are anticipated by the patent claims and are therefore not patentably distinct therefrom. (See Eli Lilly and Co. v. Barr Laboratories Inc., 58 USPQ2D 1869, "a later genus claim limitation is anticipated by, and therefore not patentably distinct from, an earlier species claim", In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010, "Thus, the generic invention is 'anticipated' by the species of the patented invention" and the instant “application claims are generic to species of invention covered by the patent claim, and since without terminal disclaimer, extant species claims preclude issuance of generic application claims”
Present Application 18/800,749
Conflicting Patent (12,062,258)
3
13
4
11
5
13
6
17
7
14
8
13
9
13
10
6
11
14
12
13
13
14
14
13
15
13
16
1
17
17
18
17
19
11
20
13
21
13
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
As of claim 1, line 4, term “wherein the unique identifier associated…” should be – wherein the unique identifier is associated--.
As of claim 5, line 2, term “a computing device” should be –the computing device—since term “a computing device” is already introduced in the independent claim 2.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As of claim 16, limitation “wherein the encrypted secure package is generated by a server and comprises an encrypted hash of the key code” is not disclosed in the original filed specification. Specification (paragraph [0049]) discloses that the contact less card generates a secure package that comprises an encrypted hash of a onetime password, account identifier and a counter value or name of the initiating party and send it to authentication service through a mobile device. Specification does not disclose that the authentication service 432/server generates a secure package wherien the encrypted secure package is generated by the server and comprise an encrypted hash of the key code.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-8, 11-15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wishne (US Pub 2017/0161978) in view of Molino (US Pub 2018/0039987).
As of claims 2 and 12, Wishne discloses a contactless card (via active/passive smart device; see figs. 2 and 3), comprising:
processing circuitry (via processor 202; see fig. 2); and memory (via storage 202) to store:
a key code to unlock a lock, wherein the key code is received from a computing device and stored in the memory (via storing encrypted key; see paragraph [0047]); and
a first set of instructions that when executed by the processing circuitry cause the processing circuitry to:
retrieve the key code from the memory and in response to a request, provide the key code to a lock (via in response to an interrogation request, transmitting the encrypted key to lock 400; see fig. 4; also see paragraph [0047]) and
With regards to limitation of storing a unique identifier to identify a user, wherein the unique identifier associated with a payment account of the user, and a second set of instructions that, when executed by the processing circuitry cause the processing circuitry to: receive a request to perform a payment transaction send encrypted data comprising the unique identifier to perform an authentication operation to perform the payment transaction, Wishne discloses that the smart device 300 includes an EMV chip 314 for conducting credit, debit or other financial card transactions (see paragraph [0044]), but does not explicitly state that the contactless card receives a request to perform a payment transaction and send encrypted data comprising the unique identifier to perform an authentication operation to perform the payment transaction
Molino discloses that a contactless card comprising an EMV (Europay, Mastercard, and Visa) chip stores essential card holder data in an encrypted format, such as Primary account number, cardholder name, Expiration data, card verification value and encrypts the data before transmitting to a server or terminal for user authentication operation to perform the payment transaction (see US 2018/0039987, paragraph [0010]-[0011]).
From the teaching of Molino, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the system of Wishne to include the function of performing payment transaction as taught by Molino in order to conduct credit, debit or other financial card transactions.
As of claim 3, Wishne discloses that the contactless card is a payment card (via smart device being a payment card; see paragraph [0023]).
As of claims 4 and 19, Wishne discloses that the lock is a hotel room lock (via a hotel room lock; see paragraph [0006]).
As of claim 5, Wishne discloses that the first set of instructions cause the processing circuitry to receive the key code from a computing device via a wireless communication protocol (via receiving the encrypted key from the mobile device 100; see fig. 4; also see paragraph [0047]).
As of claims 6 and 17, Wishne discloses that the computing device is a smartphone (via mobile device 100 being a smartphone; see paragraph [0023]).
As of claims 7 and 13, Wishne discloses that the wireless communication protocol is a Near Field Communication (NFC) protocol (via NFC protocol; see paragraph [0035] and [0043]).
As of claims 8 and 14, Wishne discloses that the memory further stores a third set of instructions that, when executed by the processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to perform a wireless payment (via performing payment; see paragraph [0045].
As of claim 11, Wishne discloses that the Near Field Communication (NFC) hardware including an antenna (via antenna 310; see fig. 3; also see paragraph [0043]).
As of claim 15, Wishne discloses that the key code is received in an encrypted secure package (via receiving an encrypted key; see paragraph [0047]).
As of claim 18, Wishne discloses that the external device is a self-service terminal (via computing device 100 being a stationary computing device; see paragraph [0029]).
Claims 9, 10, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wishne (US Pub 2017/0161978) in view of Molino (US Pub 2018/0039987) and further in view of Rule et al. (US 10,757,574).
As of claims 9-10 and 21, combination of Wishne and Molino discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention as mentioned in claim 2 and 12 above, however it does not explicitly disclose the encrypted data further comprises a counter value and the encrypted data is encrypted using a diversified key that is derived from a master key and the counter value.
Rule discloses a contactless card 500 comprising a memory storing a counter value 545 configured to count based on each read operation performed by the contactless card (see fig. 5B; also see col. 6, lines 45-55 and col. 8, lines 44-55). Rule further discloses that the encrypted data is encrypted using a diversified key that is derived from a master key and the counter value (see col. 8, lines 29-59).
From the teaching of Rule, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the combination of Wishne and Molino to include the function of counter value in a contactless card as taught by Rule in order to enhance security of the contactless card communication with the server.
As of claim 20, Wishne disclose that the server device authenticates and validates the encrypted key request before sending the encrypted key (key code) to the smart device 300. Rule discloses that after an authentication of a user's identity with the unique identifier is achieved server starts communicating with the user mobile device (see col. 5, lines 29-48). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the combination of Wishne and Molino to include the function of a server authenticating a user’s identity as taught by Rule in order to enhance security of the contactless card communication with the server.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
O’Connell et al. (US Pub 2013/0304648) discloses that a contact less card 301 comprises an authentication identifier element and a payment identifier element. The authentication identifier element may be configured to communicate with general access devices (e.g. contactless readers) and may be capable of authentication transactions. The payment identifier element may be capable of performing payment transactions (see fig. 3; also see paragraph [0059]-[0062]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NABIL H SYED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689