DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-10 and 12-13 are presented for examination. Claims 2, 7 and 11 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the remark, applicant argued (1) Cai does not disclose available resource in any manner. The pages in 0189 does not use the terms “available resources”, “resource,” “subchannel,” or any other resource-related terminology. The characterization of the 11:25-11:35 union interval as including “all available resources…hence the highest number of available resources” does not appear in Cai and cannot be derived from the quoted text. Even if the 11:25-11:35 union interval were treated as corresponding to available resources, the claimed limitation still would not be disclosed.
Examiner traverse the argument:
As to point (1), Cai in paragraphs 0121-0122 discloses to select or allocate resources for sidelink communications (pp. 0121: a resource used for sidelink communication between terminal devices is referred to as a sidelink resource, or may be referred to as a resource or a transmission resource for short. The sidelink resource may include a sidelink resource in frequency domain and a sidelink resource in time domain). In another words, the sidelink communications are associated with corresponding transmission resources and receiving resources. Cai in paragraph 0189 teaches that three separate second terminal devices performing sidelink communication with the first terminal device with the 1st second terminal device having a sidelink DRX active time of 11:25-11:30; 2nd second terminal device having a sidelink DRX active time of 11:28-11:32 and 3rd second terminal device having a sidelink DRX active time of 11:31-11:35. This shows that each sidelink communication between each second terminal device and the first terminal device have corresponding resources and activation time. In another word, each activation time is based on the resources of the sidelink communication according to paragraph 0121. Cai then further teaches in paragraph 0189 that with an intersection set or a union set of sidelink active time of at least two second terminal devices (any two or all three second terminal devices), the active time may have 11:25 to 11:30, 11:25 to 11:35, 11:30 to 11:31, 11:31 to 11:35, 11:28 to 11:35, 11:25 to 11:28, 11:28 to 11:30, 11:31 to 11:32, or 11:32 to 11:35. It is easily noticeable that this list of active time are based on different combination of the 1st, 2nd, and/or 3rd second terminal device with their corresponding resources (11:25 to 11:30 (active time of 1st and 2nd second terminal device), 11:25 to 11:35 (1st, 2nd and/or 3rd), 11:30 to 11:31 (1st, 2nd and/or 3rd), 11:31 to 11:35 (2nd and 3rd), 11:28 to 11:35 (1st, 2nd and/or 3rd), 11:25 to 11:28 (1st and 2nd), 11:28 to 11:30 (1st and 2nd), 11:31 to 11:32 (2nd and 3rd), or 11:32 to 11:35 (2nd and 3rd)). Since Cai teaches that various combination of the sidelink communications using their corresponding resources may results in different active times, Cai’s teaching meets the claimed limitation of “the target activation time is determined based on the number of available resources included in the activation time”.
In addition, Examiner’s explanation in claim 3 rejection of “the target active time of 11:25 to 11:35 includes all available resources of each of the active time of the devices, hence is the highest number of available resources” stands since all three second terminal devices’ resources are associated with this determined active time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8, 10, 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cai et al (Cai), US 2023/0319951.
As per claim 1, Cai teaches the invention including a method for wireless communication, comprising:
Receiving, by a first device, multiple first messages, wherein the multiple first messages correspond to activation times of multiple second devices (pp. 0186-0189);
Selecting, by the first device, a target activation time from the multiple activation times (pp. 0189-0191); and
Sending, by the first device, lateral data on time frequency resources within the target activation time (pp. 0121, 0144, 0188-0193);
wherein the target activation time is determined based on the number of available resources included in the activation times (pp. 0189: the target active time of 11:25 to 11:35 includes all available resources of each of the corresponding active time of the devices).
As per claim 3, Cai teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Cai further teaches wherein the target activation time is the activation time with the highest number of available resources among the multiple activation times (pp. 0189: the target active time of 11:25 to 11:35 includes all available resources of each of the active time of the devices, hence is the highest number of available resources).
As per claim 5, Cai teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Cai further teaches wherein the target activation time is one of the multiple activation times (pp. 0189: 11:25 to 11:30).
As per claim 6, Cai teaches the invention including a wireless communication device, comprising:
A transceiver (figures 3 and 6; the devices including the ability to transmit and receive inherently includes a transceiver); and
A processor (pp. 0093, 0517, 0519), coupled to the transceiver, wherein the processor is configured to:
Receive, via the transceiver, multiple first messages, wherein the multiple first messages correspond to activation times of multiple second devices (pp. 0186-0189);
select a target activation time from the multiple activation times (pp. 0189-0191); and
send lateral data on time frequency resources within the target activation time (pp. 0121, 0144, 0188-0193);
wherein the target activation time is determined based on the number of available resources included in the activation times (pp. 0189: the target active time of 11:25 to 11:35 includes all available resources of each of the corresponding active time of the devices).
As per claim 8, Cai teaches the invention as claimed in claim 6. Cai further teaches wherein the target activation time is the activation time with the highest number of available resources among the multiple activation times (pp. 0189: the target active time of 11:25 to 11:35 includes all available resources of each of the active time of the devices, hence is the highest number of available resources).
As per claim 10, Cai teaches the invention as claimed in claim 6. Cai further teaches wherein the target activation time is one of the multiple activation times (pp. 0189: 11:25 to 11:30).
As per claim 12, Cai teaches the invention including a microchip (pp. 0093, 0523, 0528), comprising a processor for calling a program from a memory to enable a device equipped with the microchip to execute the method according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above).
As per claim 13, Cai teaches the invention including a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (pp. 0094, 0527), storing a program which enables a processor in a computer to execute the method according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai et al (Cai), US 2023/0319951, in view of obviousness.
As per claim 4, Cai teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Cai does not specifically teach to further comprise:
Sensing, by the first device, the time frequency resource within the target activation time to determine the targe time frequency resources; and
Wherein sending, by the first device, lateral data on the time frequency resources within the target activation time comprises:
Sending, by the first device, lateral data on the target time frequency resource.
However, Cai disclosed for the terminal device to determine a time domain resource and a frequency domain resource based on the received SCI, which indicates DRX active time (pp. 0144, 0146-0149). It is obvious to determine a time domain resource and a frequency domain resource from a received active time that is selected as the target activation time (pp. 0189: target activation time of 11:25 to 11:30 is of the active time 11:25 to 11:30 of 1st second device) and utilize the determined resource for transmission. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Cai and further select a target activation time that is identical to a device’s activation time and use the associated time frequency resource of the activation time to transmit data.
As per claim 9, Cai teaches the invention as claimed in claim 6. Cai does not specifically teach to further comprise:
Where the processor is further configured to:
sense the time frequency resource within the target activation time to determine the targe time frequency resources; and wherein in sending, via the transceiver, the lateral data on the time frequency resources within the target activation time, the processor is configured to:
Send, via the transceiver, the lateral data on the target time frequency resource.
However, Cai disclosed for the terminal device to determine a time domain resource and a frequency domain resource based on the received SCI, which indicates DRX active time (pp. 0144, 0146-0149). It is obvious to determine a time domain resource and a frequency domain resource from a received active time that is selected as the target activation time (pp. 0189: target activation time of 11:25 to 11:30 is of the active time 11:25 to 11:30 of 1st second device) and utilize the determined resource for transmission. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Cai and further select a target activation time that is identical to a device’s activation time and use the associated time frequency resource of the activation time to transmit data.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KENNY S. LIN
Examiner
Art Unit 2416
/Kenny S Lin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416
September 24, 2026