DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 17 September 2024 and 13 October 2025 were filed prior to the mailing date of this office correspondence. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 and 17-22 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12.063,784. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. See the comparison table below.
Note: the limitations of both sets of claims are listed with the conflicting portions have been underlined.
18/800,782
US 12,063,748 (17/174,759)
1. A method of forming an electrical circuit using a metal foil having a surface bearing a catalyst material, the method comprising:
applying the surface of the metal foil bearing the catalyst material to a surface of a substrate;
laminating the metal foil to the substrate;
etching the metal foil, thereby exposing the catalyst material; and
electroless metal plating a first conductor to the exposed catalyst material;
wherein the metal foil is removable.
9. The method of claim 1, further comprising the step of applying a layer of an organic material no more than 1µm thick to the catalyst material before applying the metal foil to the substrate, wherein the surface of the metal foil is roughened.
10. The method of claim 9, wherein the surface of the metal foil is roughened by etching.
11. The method of claim 10, wherein the organic material is a copolymer comprising an alkaline-reactive polymer and an alkaline-non-reactive polymer and at least one of (i) the copolymer has a functional group with a lone pair electron, (ii) the functional group comprises one of nitrogen or sulfur, (iii) the alkaline-reactive polymer comprises at least one of a polyimide, an amide, an ester, or a thioester, or (iv) the ratio of the alkaline-reactive polymer to the alkaline-non-reactive polymer is between 5%:95% and 95%:5% by molecular weight, respectively.
1. A method of forming an electrical circuit using a metal foil having a surface bearing a catalyst material, the method comprising:
applying a layer of an organic material to the catalyst material, and subsequently applying the surface of the metal foil bearing the catalyst material to a surface of a substrate, wherein the surface of the metal foil is roughened by etching;
laminating the metal foil to the substrate;
etching the metal foil, thereby exposing the catalyst material; and
electroless metal plating a first conductor to the exposed catalyst material; wherein the metal foil is removable; and
wherein the organic material is a copolymer comprising an alkaline-reactive polymer and an alkaline-non-reactive polymer, and at least one of (i) the copolymer has a functional group with a lone pair electron, (ii) the functional group comprises one of nitrogen or sulfur, (iii) the alkaline-reactive polymer comprises at least one of a polyimide, an amide, an ester, or a thioester, or (iv) the ratio of the alkaline-reactive polymer to the alkaline-non-reactive polymer is between 5%:95% and 95%:5% by molecular weight, respectively.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the catalyst precursor is reduced to a catalyst either before the step of applying the surface of the metal foil to the surface of the substrate or after the step of etching the metal foil.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the catalyst material is reduced to a catalyst either before the step of applying the surface of the metal foil to the surface of the substrate or after the step of etching the metal foil.
3. The method of claim 1, further comprising at least one of the steps of: (i) applying a plating resist in a negative circuit pattern onto the exposed catalyst material before the step of electroless metal plating and removing the plating resist after the step of electroless metal plating; (ii) before the step of electroless metal plating applying an etching resist in a positive circuit pattern onto the exposed catalyst material, etching catalyst material not covered by the etching resist, and removing the etching resist; (iii) applying a plating resist over the first conductor in a negative circuit pattern, electrolytically depositing a second conductor to exposed portions of the first conductor, removing the plating resist, and removing portions of the first conductor not covered by the second conductor; (iv) applying a permanent plating resist in a negative circuit pattern onto the exposed catalyst material, before the step of electroless metal plating.
3. The method of claim 1, further comprising at least one of the steps of: (i) applying a plating resist in a negative circuit pattern onto the exposed catalyst material before the step of electroless metal plating and removing the plating resist after the step of electroless metal plating; (ii) before the step of electroless metal plating applying an etching resist in a positive circuit pattern onto the exposed catalyst material, etching catalyst material not covered by the etching resist, and removing the etching resist; (iii) applying a plating resist over the first conductor in a negative circuit pattern, electrolytically depositing a second conductor to exposed portions of the first conductor, removing the plating resist, and removing portions of the first conductor not covered by the second conductor; (iv) applying a permanent plating resist in a negative circuit pattern onto the exposed catalyst material, before the step of electroless metal plating.
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising the following steps, after the step of electroless plating: electrolytically depositing a second conductor to the first conductor; applying an etching resist over the second conductor in a positive circuit pattern; etching the first and second conductor not covered by the etching resist; and removing the etching resist.
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising the following steps, after the step of electroless plating: electrolytically depositing a second conductor to the first conductor; applying an etching resist over the second conductor in a positive circuit pattern; etching the first and second conductor not covered by the etching resist; and removing the etching resist.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the metal foil is selected from the group consisting of aluminum, anodized aluminum, copper, tin, and alloys thereof.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the metal foil is selected from the group consisting of aluminum, anodized aluminum, copper, tin, and alloys thereof.
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising one of the steps of (i) applying an adhesive layer between the surface of the metal foil bearing the catalyst material and the surface of the substrate or (ii) applying a polymer layer over a surface of the catalyst material, binding the polymer layer with the substrate, and binding a bonding sheet to at least one of a surface of the polymer layer or a surface of the substrate.
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising one of the steps of (i) applying an adhesive layer between the surface of the metal foil bearing the catalyst material and the surface of the substrate or (ii) applying a polymer layer over a surface of the catalyst material and binding the polymer layer with the substrate via a bonding sheet
7. The method of claim 1, further comprising the step of applying a layer of a pre-ceramic polymer, a ceramic, a composite of metal oxides, a polymer, an oxidized metal particle, a nitride, or a boride over a surface of the catalyst material.
7. The method of claim 1, further comprising the step of applying a layer of a pre-ceramic polymer, a ceramic, a composite of metal oxides, a polymer, an oxidized metal particle, a nitride, or a boride over a surface of the catalyst material.
8. The method of claim 6, further comprising the step of applying a metal oxide layer over a surface of the catalyst material before the step of applying the polymer layer.
8. The method of claim 6, further comprising the step of applying a metal oxide layer over a surface of the catalyst material before the step of applying the polymer layer.
12. The method of claim 9, wherein the organic material is selected to (i) protect the catalyst material layer from diffusion of the catalyst material, (ii) improve bonding strength of the catalyst material to a substrate, or (iii) absorb mechanical stress between the catalyst layer and a substrate due to temperature change.
9. The method of claim 1, wherein the organic material is selected to (i) protect the catalyst material layer from diffusion of the catalyst material, (ii) improve bonding strength of the catalyst material to a substrate, or (iii) absorb mechanical stress between the catalyst layer and a substrate due to temperature change.
17. A method of forming an electrical circuit using a metal foil having a surface bearing a catalyst material, the method comprising:
depositing a coating layer to the surface of the metal foil bearing the catalyst material;
applying the surface of the metal foil bearing the catalyst material and the coating layer to a surface of a substrate;
laminating the metal foil to the substrate;
etching the metal foil, thereby exposing the catalyst material; and electroless metal plating a first conductor to the exposed catalyst material; wherein the metal foil is removable.
22. The method of claim 17, wherein the coating layer comprises an organic material no more than 1µm thick, wherein the surface of the metal foil is roughened, and at least one of (i) the surface of the metal foil is roughened by etching, (ii) the organic material is a copolymer comprising an alkaline-reactive polymer and an alkaline-non-reactive polymer, (iii) the copolymer has a functional group with a lone pair electron, (iv) the functional group comprises one of nitrogen or sulfur, (v) the alkaline-reactive polymer comprises at least one of a polyimide, an amide, an ester, or a thioester, or (vi) the ratio of the alkaline-reactive polymer to the alkaline-non-reactive polymer is between 5%:95% and 95%:5% by molecular weight, respectively.
10. A method of forming an electrical circuit using a metal foil having a surface bearing a catalyst material, the method comprising:
depositing a coating layer to the surface of the metal foil bearing the catalyst material, wherein the coating layer comprises an organic material the organic material is a copolymer comprising an alkaline-reactive polymer and an alkaline-non-reactive polymer; the surface of the metal foil is roughened;
applying the surface of the metal foil bearing the catalyst material and the coating layer to a surface of a substrate;
laminating the metal foil to the substrate;
etching the metal foil, thereby exposing the catalyst material; and electroless metal plating a first conductor to the exposed catalyst material; wherein the metal foil is removable, and
at least one of (i) the surface of the metal foil is roughened by etching, (ii) the copolymer has a functional group with a lone pair electron, (iii) the functional group comprises one of nitrogen or sulfur, (iv) the alkaline-reactive polymer comprises at least one of a polyimide, an amide, an ester, or a thioester, or (vi) the ratio of the alkaline-reactive polymer to the alkaline-non-reactive polymer is between 5%:95% and 95%:5% by molecular weight, respectively.
18. The method of claim 17, wherein the catalyst precursor is reduced to a catalyst either before the step of applying the surface of the metal foil to the surface of the substrate or after the step of etching the metal foil.
11. The method of claim 10, wherein the catalyst material is reduced to a catalyst either before the step of applying the surface of the metal foil to the surface of the substrate or after the step of etching the metal foil.
19. The method of claim 17, wherein at least one of (i) the metal foil is selected from the group consisting of aluminum, anodized aluminum, copper, tin, and alloys thereof. (ii) the coating layer comprises a polymer, (iii) the coating layer is no more than 500µm thick, or (iv) the coating layer comprises a pre-ceramic polymer, a ceramic or a composite of metal oxide, polymer, oxidized metal particle, nitride, or boride.
12. The method of claim 10, wherein at least one of (i) the metal foil is selected from the group consisting of aluminum, anodized aluminum, copper, tin, and alloys thereof, (ii) the coating layer comprises a polymer, (iii) the coating layer is no more than 500 μm thick, or (iv) the coating layer comprises a pre-ceramic polymer, a ceramic or a composite of metal oxide, polymer, oxidized metal particle, nitride, or boride.
20. The method of claim 17, further comprising at least one of the steps of (i) applying an adhesive layer between the surface of the metal foil bearing the catalyst material to the surface of the substrate, (ii) coating the coating layer with a polymer layer.
13. The method of claim 10, further comprising at least one of the steps of (i) applying an adhesive layer between the surface of the metal foil bearing the catalyst material to the surface of the substrate, or (ii) coating the coating layer with a polymer layer.
21. The method of claim 17, wherein the step of laminating the metal foil to the substrate comprises laminating the coating layer to a bonding sheet.
14. The method of claim 10, wherein the step of laminating the metal foil to the substrate comprises laminating the coating layer to a bonding sheet.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: A method of forming an electrical circuit using a catalyzed metal foil having a surface bearing a catalyst material.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 12 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 2, the limitation “wherein the catalyst precursor is reduced to a catalyst either before the step” should read:
-- wherein the catalyst material is formed by reducing a catalyst precursor either before the step --
In claim 12, lines 3 and 4: “a substrate,” should read: -- the substrate, --
In claim 19, line 2: “anodized aluminum, copper, tin, and alloys thereof. (ii) the copper layer” should read:
-- anodized aluminum, copper, tin, and alloys thereof, (ii) the copper layer --
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 9-10, 17 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishinaka (US 20040231141).
[AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (catalyst)][AltContent: textbox (metal foil)][AltContent: textbox (first conductor)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (substrate)][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated Figs. 2(a) to 2(e), Nishinaka.
Regarding claim 1, Nishinaka teaches, a method of forming an electrical circuit (Figs. 1 to 3, para. [0197-0207]) using a metal foil (metal layer A, see annotated Fig. 2a, para. [0160]) having a surface bearing a catalyst material (a plating catalyst such as a palladium compound is applied to the surface of metal layer A, para. [0161]), the method comprising:
applying the surface of the metal foil bearing the catalyst material to a surface of a substrate (substrate 7, Fig. 2b);
laminating the metal foil to the substrate (adhesive layer surface of the laminate is laminated to the circuit surface of printed wiring board 9 which has inner layer circuit 8 formed on insulating substrate 7, para. [0198]);
etching the metal foil, thereby exposing the catalyst material (the electroless plating copper layer is removed by etching and the circuit is formed, para. [0182); and
electroless metal plating (electroless plating copper layer 4 is formed, Fig. 2(e), para. [0206]) a first conductor (copper layer 4) to the exposed catalyst material;
wherein the metal foil is removable (see Fig. 2c).
From the teachings of Nishinaka in para. [0212], the catalyst is applied on the first metal coating and therefore the catalyst on unwanted areas can easily be removed by etching of the first metal coating, and from para. [0161], and Figs. 1(a) and 1(b), a plating catalyst such as a palladium compound is applied to the surface of metal layer A, then electroless copper plating is conducted with the plating catalyst as the nucleus and electroless plating copper layer 4 is formed on the surface of the copper film, one of ordinary skill in the art would have thought that, etching a metal foil, then applying a catalyst material and electroless copper plating would yield the same result as applying catalyst on the surface of a metal foil, etching the metal foil to expose the catalyst, and then forming an electroless metal plating. Therefore, in view of the teachings of Nishinaka, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of forming an electrical circuit as taught by Nishinaka and forming the electrical circuit by applying a catalyst material on the surface of a metal foil, etching the metal foil that exposes the catalyst and electroless metal plating that enables forming a high density multilayer printed wiring board by a semi-additive process as Nishinaka disclosed in para. [0049]. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." See § MPEP 2113.
Regarding claim 3, Nishinaka teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Nishinaka further teaches, the method of claim 1, further comprising at least one of the steps of: (i) applying a plating resist in a negative circuit pattern onto the exposed catalyst material before the step of electroless metal plating and removing the plating resist after the step of electroless metal plating (after forming a plating resist pattern by using a photosensitive dry film resist, a copper film, plating layer, having a thickness of 20 µm was formed by copper electroplating, para. [0263]); (ii) before the step of electroless metal plating applying an etching resist in a positive circuit pattern onto the exposed catalyst material, etching catalyst material not covered by the etching resist, and removing the etching resist (the plating resist was peeled off and the first metal coating was etched in the same manner as in Example 1, para. [0268]); (iii) applying a plating resist over the first conductor in a negative circuit pattern, electrolytically depositing a second conductor to exposed portions of the first conductor, removing the plating resist, and removing portions of the first conductor not covered by the second conductor; (iv) applying a permanent plating resist in a negative circuit pattern onto the exposed catalyst material, before the step of electroless metal plating.
Regarding claim 4, Nishinaka teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Nishinaka further teaches, the method of claim 1, further comprising the following steps, after the step of electroless plating: electrolytically depositing a second conductor to the first conductor (electroplated layer 6, Fig. 3(b), electroplating of copper is carried out using the exposed area of the electroless plating copper layer as the feeding electrode and on this surface and inside the via hole, electroplated copper layer 6 is formed, para. [0209]); applying an etching resist over the second conductor in a positive circuit pattern; etching the first and second conductor not covered by the etching resist; and removing the etching resist (Fig. 3c); etching the first and second conductor not covered by the etching resist (Fig. 3d).
Regarding claim 5, Nishinaka teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Nishinaka further teaches, the method of claim 1, wherein the metal foil is selected from the group consisting of aluminum, anodized aluminum, copper, tin, and alloys thereof (metal layer A is copper or a copper alloy, para. [0031]).
Regarding claim 6, Nishinaka teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Nishinaka further teaches, the method of claim 1, further comprising one of the steps of (i) applying an adhesive layer (adhesive layer 3, Fig. 2a, para. [0197]) between the surface of the metal foil bearing the catalyst material and the surface of the substrate or (ii) applying a polymer layer over a surface of the catalyst material, binding the polymer layer with the substrate, and binding a bonding sheet to at least one of a surface of the polymer layer or a surface of the substrate.
Regarding claim 9, Nishinaka teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 1. Nishinaka further teaches, the method of claim 1, further comprising the step of applying a layer of an organic material (desmear process is preferably conducted by the general wet process using permanganate, para. [0205, 0249], permanganate is an organic material) no more than 1µm thick to the catalyst material before applying the metal foil to the substrate, wherein the surface of the metal foil is roughened.
Regarding claim 10, Nishinaka teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 9. Nishinaka further teaches, the method of claim 9, wherein the surface of the metal foil is roughened by etching (conducting surface roughening of the obtained laminate by permanganate method according to desmear process, para. [0312], insulating substrate was immersed in a potassium permanganate solution to make the surface of the resin layer rough, para. [0249], desmear process removes materials from the surface, which is obvious to etching).
Regarding claim 17, Nishinaka teaches, a method of forming an electrical circuit using a metal foil having a surface bearing a catalyst material, the method comprising:
depositing a coating layer (polymer film 1, Fig. 2a) to the surface of the metal foil bearing the catalyst material;
applying the surface of the metal foil bearing the catalyst material and the coating layer to a surface of a substrate (metal layer 2, Figs. 2a to 2e, a plating catalyst such as a palladium compound is applied to the surface of metal layer A, para. [0161]);
laminating the metal foil to the substrate (substrate 7, adhesive layer surface of the laminate is laminated to the circuit surface of printed wiring board 9 which has inner layer circuit 8 formed on insulating substrate 7, para. [0198]);
etching the metal foil (the electroless plating copper layer is removed by etching and the circuit is formed, para. [0182]), thereby exposing the catalyst material; and
electroless metal plating (the electroless plating copper layer 4 is formed, Fig. 2e, para. [0206]) a first conductor to the exposed catalyst material; wherein the metal foil is removable (see Fig. 2c).
From the teachings of Nishinaka in para. [0160-0163], forming a metal layer on the surface of a polymer film, applying plating catalyst such as palladium compound and then electroless copper plating, one of ordinary skill in the art would have thought that, applying the coating layer on the surface of the metal foil bearing the catalyst material would reduce the process step. Therefore, in view of the teachings of Nishinaka, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of forming an electrical circuit as taught by Nishinaka to replace the order of the processing steps with applying a catalyst material on the surface of the metal foil, etch the metal foil that exposes the catalyst and electroless metal plating that enables forming a high density multilayer printed wiring board by the semi-additive process step.
Regarding claim 19, Nishinaka teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 17. Nishinaka further teaches, the method of claim 17, wherein at least one of (i) the metal foil is selected from the group consisting of aluminum, anodized aluminum, copper, tin, and alloys thereof (metal layer A is copper or a copper alloy, para. [0031]), (ii) the coating layer comprises a polymer, (iii) the coating layer is no more than 500µm thick, or (iv) the coating layer comprises a pre-ceramic polymer, a ceramic or a composite of metal oxide, polymer, oxidized metal particle, nitride, or boride.
Regarding claim 20, Nishinaka teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 17. Nishinaka further teaches, the method of claim 17, further comprising at least one of the steps of (i) applying an adhesive layer (adhesive layer 3, Fig. 2a, para. [0197]) between the surface of the metal foil bearing the catalyst material to the surface of the substrate, (ii) coating the coating layer with a polymer layer.
Regarding claim 21, Nishinaka teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 17. Nishinaka further teaches, the method of claim 17, wherein the step of laminating the metal foil to the substrate comprises laminating the coating layer to a bonding sheet (adhesive layer 3 on one face of polymer film 1, Fig. 2a, para. [0197]).
Claim(s) 2, 7-8, 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishinaka as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, and further in view of Wang (US 20160157344).
Regarding claims 2 and 18, Nishinaka does not teach the recited limitations. However, Wang teaches a method of manufacturing a circuit board by a patterned catalyst material layer in which,
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the catalyst precursor is reduced to a catalyst either before the step of applying the surface of the metal foil to the surface of the substrate or after the step of etching the metal foil (see steps 405-407, Fig. 3 and Fig. 2e).
18. The method of claim 17, wherein the catalyst precursor is reduced to a catalyst either before the step of applying the surface of the metal foil to the surface of the substrate or after the step of etching the metal foil (see steps 405-407, Fig. 3 and Fig. 2e).
Therefore, in view of the teachings of Wang, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of forming an electrical circuit using a metal foil as taught by Nishinaka and replace the catalyst with a catalyst as taught by Wang so that the metal ions in the external environment enables to activate a catalyst.
Regarding claims 7-8 and 12, Nishinaka does not teach the recited limitations. However, Wang further teaches,
7. The method of claim 1, further comprising the step of applying a layer of a pre-ceramic polymer, a ceramic, a composite of metal oxides, a polymer, an oxidized metal particle, a nitride, or a boride over a surface of the catalyst material (catalyst material 31M comprises 40 wt % to 90 wt % of polymer and 10 wt % to 60 wt % of catalyzer, Fig. 2(c), para. [0020-0021]).
8. The method of claim 6, further comprising the step of applying a metal oxide layer over a surface of the catalyst material before the step of applying the polymer layer (catalyzer comprises one or more materials selected from organic-metallic compounds, metal particles, or a combination thereof, para. [0006]).
12. The method of claim 9, wherein the organic material is selected to (i) protect the catalyst material layer from diffusion of the catalyst material, (ii) improve bonding strength of the catalyst material to a substrate, or (iii) absorb mechanical stress between the catalyst layer and a substrate due to temperature change (in the catalyst material 31M, the polymer material having a surface tension near to or in the range of 20 mN/m to 40 mN/m can be selected for being the polymer 312, para. [0024]).
Therefore, in view of the teachings of Wang, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of forming an electrical circuit using a metal foil as taught by Nishinaka and replace the catalyst with a catalyst and applying a layer of metal oxide layer over the surface of the catalyst as taught by Wang so that it enables the catalyst coating improves the surface tension and hence the bonding strength while forming the electrical circuit.
Claim(s) 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishinaka in view of Johal (US 20170245372).
Regarding claim 13, Nishinaka teaches, a method of producing a metal foil comprising:
coating a portion of the metal foil with a catalyst (a plating catalyst such as a palladium compound is applied to the surface of metal layer A, para. [0161]), wherein the metal foil is removable.
Nishinaka does not teach, a catalyst ink, wherein the catalyst ink includes a precursor dissolved in a solvent; drying the catalyst ink coating; reducing the catalyst precursor. However, Johal teaches depositing a catalytic ink, depositing a palladium or palladium alloy layer onto copper, in which,
the catalyst ink includes a precursor dissolved in a solvent (a palladium or palladium alloy layer onto said copper or copper alloy comprise at least a solvent, para. [0122]);
drying the catalyst ink coating (drying, solidifying, and fixing the catalytic ink, para. [0062]); and
reducing the catalyst precursor to deposit a catalyst on the portion of the metal foil (a copper alloy are oxidized and palladium and other metals in case of a palladium alloy are reduced to metallic state, para. [0123]). Therefore, in view of the teachings of Johal, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of forming an electrical circuit as taught by Nishinaka to replace the catalyst with a catalyst ink of Johal so that it enables depositing electrical circuitry by electroplating copper or a copper alloy onto an electrically conductive pattern or layer attached to the dielectric substrate as Johal disclosed in para. [0005-0006]. Moreover, there is no indication in the instant invention that any surprising results were derived, or that any special steps were devised in forming or coating the catalyst ink, drying or reducing the catalyst. Such a combination would have been a simple substitution of catalyst of Nishinaka with a catalyst ink pf Johal, which would have been done by one of ordinary skill in the art without any need for experimentation and with reasonable expectations of success.
Regarding claim 14, Nishinaka teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 13. Nishinaka further teaches, the method of claim 13, wherein at least one of (i) the metal foil is selected from the group consisting of aluminum, anodized aluminum, copper, tin, and alloys thereof (metal layer A is copper or a copper alloy, para. [0031]), (ii) the portion of the metal foil is oxidized, (iii) the metal foil is less than 500µm thick, or (iv) the portion of the metal foil has an Ra of at least 0.1µm.
Regarding claim 15, Nishinaka teaches the recited limitations with respect to claim 13. Nishinaka further teaches, the method of claim 13, further comprising at least one of the steps of (i) applying a polymer layer over a surface of the dry catalyst ink coating or over a surface of the catalyst (polymer film 1, Fig. 2(a)), (ii) applying a metal oxide layer over a surface of the catalyst or over a surface of the polymer layer, (iii) applying an organic material no more than 1µm thick to the catalyst, wherein the portion of the metal foil is roughened.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 16 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and to overcome the Double Patenting Rejections set forth in this Office action.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating allowable subject matter:
Claims 11 and 16 would be allowable for disclosing a method of forming an electrical circuit using a metal foil having a surface bearing a catalyst material, wherein the organic material is a copolymer comprising an alkaline-reactive polymer and an alkaline-non-reactive polymer and at least one of (i) the copolymer has a functional group with a lone pair electron, (ii) the functional group comprises one of nitrogen or sulfur, (iii) the alkaline-reactive polymer comprises at least one of a polyimide, an amide, an ester, or a thioester, or (iv) the ratio of the alkaline-reactive polymer to the alkaline-non-reactive polymer is between 5%:95% and 95%:5% by molecular weight, respectively.
Claim 22 would be allowable for disclosing a method of forming an electrical circuit using a metal foil having a surface bearing a catalyst material, wherein the coating layer comprises an organic material no more than 1µm thick, wherein the surface of the metal foil is roughened, and at least one of (i) the surface of the metal foil is roughened by etching, (ii) the organic material is a copolymer comprising an alkaline-reactive polymer and an alkaline-non-reactive polymer, (iii) the copolymer has a functional group with a lone pair electron, (iv) the functional group comprises one of nitrogen or sulfur, (v) the alkaline-reactive polymer comprises at least one of a polyimide, an amide, an ester, or a thioester, or (vi) the ratio of the alkaline-reactive polymer to the alkaline-non-reactive polymer is between 5%:95% and 95%:5% by molecular weight, respectively.
Though, prior art of record Nishinaka teaches in para. [0249] insulating substrate was immersed in a potassium permanganate solution to make the surface of the resin layer rough in order to improve the adhesion with electroless plating, Nishinaka does not teach the organic material is a copolymer comprising an alkaline-reactive polymer and an alkaline-non-reactive polymer and at least one of (i) the copolymer has a functional group with a lone pair electron, (ii) the functional group comprises one of nitrogen or sulfur, (iii) the alkaline-reactive polymer comprises at least one of a polyimide, an amide, an ester, or a thioester, or (iv) the ratio of the alkaline-reactive polymer to the alkaline-non-reactive polymer is between 5%:95% and 95%:5% by molecular weight, respectively.
Though, prior art of record Wang teaches depositing a coating layer on the surface of the metal foil, a catalyst material layer includes at least 40 wt %˜90 wt % of polymer and 10 wt %˜60 wt % of catalyzer, Wang does not teach organic material is a copolymer comprising an alkaline-reactive polymer and an alkaline-non-reactive polymer; or the copolymer has a functional group with a lone pair electron, (ii) the functional group comprises one of nitrogen or sulfur, (iii) the alkaline-reactive polymer comprises at least one of a polyimide, an amide, an ester, or a thioester, or (iv) the ratio of the alkaline-reactive polymer to the alkaline-non-reactive polymer is between 5%:95% and 95%:5% by molecular weight, respectively.
Therefore, claims 11, 16 and 22 would be allowable.
Conclusion
Prior art Kohiki (US 20180063950) teaches a method of forming an electrical circuit using a metal foil having a catalyst material; laminating the metal foil to the substrate; etching the metal foil; and electroless metal plating a conductor to the exposed catalyst material.
Prior art Bahl (US 20190014667) teaches a method of forming an electrical circuit; a catalyst material; laminating the metal foil to the substrate; etching the metal foil; and electroless metal plating a conductor to the exposed catalyst material.
Prior art Onozeki (US 20180235090) teaches a method of forming an electrical circuit including a catalyst material; laminating the metal foil to the substrate; etching the metal foil; and electroless metal plating a conductor to the exposed catalyst material.
/JOSE K ABRAHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3729