DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1-4, 7-13, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (US 2018/0290095 A1) (hereafter “Wei”) in view of Becker et al. (US 2017/0173203 A1) (hereafter “Becker”).
Regarding claims 1 and 19, Wei teaches a fragrance management apparatus (para [0001], this invention relates to air purifiers; para [0024]-[0025], air purifier may further comprise a chemical release device, wherein the controller is adapted to control the chemical release device in dependence on the information about the volume, the chemical release device may comprise a scent release device, the controller is for example adapted to control the scent release device with periodic bursts of scent release; para [0038], the method may comprise controlling the scent release device; para [0028], method of controlling an air purifier; para [0077], the scent concentration may be restricted to be under 1 ppm calculated based on V0, for example the scent concentration may be a maximum of 1 V0/VC; para [0073], according to the calculation results, a certain amount of scent will be released from the scent release component through an accurately controlled approach, such as heating, spraying, or vibrating.
Hence, the air purifier comprising the scent release device and controller is the fragrance/scent management/control apparatus), comprising: a non-volatile memory (para [0134], a controller may be associated with one or more storage media such as non-volatile computer memory); and a controller of a fragrance management apparatus, the controller configured to execute instructions stored on the non-volatile memory to perform operations (para [0134], a controller may be associated with one or more storage media such as non-volatile computer memory, the storage media may be encoded with one or more programs that, when executed on one or more controllers, perform at the required functions, various storage media may be fixed within a controller such that one or more programs stored thereon can be loaded into a controller; para [0025], the controller is for example adapted to control the scent release device with periodic bursts of scent release) comprising: identifying a scent type in a scent container of the fragrance management apparatus (para [0073], the scent release component contains a scent source, which could be liquid, the types of scent can be pre-selected based on the customer preferences; para [0024], air purifier may further comprise a chemical release device, wherein the controller is adapted to control the chemical release device in dependence on the information about the volume, the chemical release device may comprise a scent release device.
Hence, the scent type is identified/pre-selected in a scent release component/container of the air purifier/fragrance management apparatus); determining a room dimension where the fragrance management apparatus is installed (para [0064], the air purifier will then calculate the room volume to yield an initial room volume V0; para [0075], the room volume is calculated each time the air purifier has been operated; para [0012]-[0019], air purifier, comprising a controller, a controller, wherein the controller is adapted to: derive information about the volume of the space in which the air purifier filter system is deployed, this enables an air purifier to determine the volume of the space in which it is used); determining a concentration level based on settings of the scent container (para [0019], the volume information may be used to assist in the delivery of a chemical to the volume so that a desired concentration is reached, this may be a chemical for people (such as a scent); para [0025], the amount of scent to be dispensed may be controlled to be dependent on the room volume estimated by the air purifier SO that the concentration in the space is more accurately controlled; para [0077], the customers may also type in the room volume into the scent release controlling system to aid in determining the scent concentration.
Hence, the concentration may be determined and accurately controlled based on the inputted room volume settings of the scent release controlling system (scent container)); calculating a ppm output of the fragrance management apparatus for the scent type based on the room dimension and the concentration level (para [0025], the amount of scent to be dispensed may be controlled to be dependent on the room volume estimated by the air purifier so that the concentration in the space is more accurately controlled; para [0077], the customers may also type in the room volume (Vc) into the scent release controlling system to aid in determining the scent concentration, the scent concentration may be restricted to be under 1 ppm calculated based on V0, for example the scent concentration may be a maximum of 1 ppm*VO/Vc; para [0065], room volume V0.
Hence, the ppm output of the scent may be calculated to be 1 ppm or under based on the determined room volume and scent concentration); and causing the fragrance management apparatus to maintain a fragrance level based on the ppm output (para [0025], the amount of scent to be dispensed may be controlled to be dependent on the room volume estimated by the air purifier so that the concentration in the space is more accurately controlled, the controller is adapted to control the scent release device with periodic bursts of scent release; para [0077], the scent concentration may be restricted to be under 1 ppm calculated based on V0, for example the scent concentration may be a maximum of 1 ppm*V0/Vc; para [0073], according to the calculation results, a certain amount of scent will be released from the scent release component through an accurately controlled approach, such as heating, spraying, or vibrating.
Hence, the air purifier comprising the scent release device is maintained to output a fragrance/scent level of maximum 1 ppm) but does not specifically teach determining a removal rate of a remaining scent in the scent container and wherein the calculation of the ppm output of the fragrance management apparatus for scent type is based on the removal rate.
In a similar invention, however, Becker teaches a fragrance management apparatus (abstract, a diffusion device for atomizing liquids; para [0072], the scent management system provides businesses with a managed service for precise, wide-area fragrance delivery directed at using a scent to deliver memorable brand impressions and exceptional customer experiences; para [0074], the scent management system may include one or more diffusion devices) comprising a non-volatile memory (para [0089], the diffusion device may include a programmable microcontroller module with a memory for controlling device functionality; para [0319], the computer software, program codes, and/or instructions may be stored and/or accessed on machine readable transitory and/or non-transitory media that may include: non- volatile memory; para [0310], the processor may include memory that stores methods, codes, instructions and programs as described herein and elsewhere), a controller (para [0089], the diffusion device may include a programmable microcontroller module with a memory for controlling device functionality; para [0074], the scent management system may include one or more diffusion devices, each diffusion device may may contain a processor, such as a microcontroller), determining a room dimension where the fragrance management apparatus is installed (para [0074], the scent management system may include one or more diffusion devices, each diffusion device may may contain a processor, such as a microcontroller, the microcontroller may be capable of controlling the units autonomously, based on control instructions sent by the business applications; para [0022], controlling may include setting or adjusting an operation parameter of the scent diffusion device in response to sensor data, the sensor data may relate to at least one of room volume, room geometry, room area, determining one or more locations to dispose the scent diffusion devices in the environment based on a room volume; para [0037], method of managing scent in an environment may include taking an electronic data structure characterizing the transformation of at least one diffusion device disposed within an environment, wherein the electronic data structure includes data regarding a sensed parameter of the environment, the sensed parameter may relate to at least one of room volume, room geometry, room area.
Hence, the room volume/geometry area may be determined/ sensed where the scent diffusion device/fragrance management apparatus is installed/disposed in), and determining a removal rate of the remaining scent in the container (para [0022], a method relating to atomizing diffusion devices within an environment may include receiving at a computer, liquid level data from a plurality of remote atomizing diffusion devices wherein each diffusion device comprises a communications facility that enables transmitting signals to and receiving signals from a remote computer, and at least one liquid level sensor, controlling may include setting or adjusting an operation parameter of the scent diffusion device in response to the sensor data, the sensor data may relate to at least one of fragrance level, the operation parameter may include at least one of a flow rate of the liquid, a duration of flow of the liquid, a variation in the flow rate of the liquid, measuring a liquid level inside the plurality of remote atomizing diffusion devices using the liquid level sensor; para [0021], controlling, via the remote computer, diffusion of a liquid from a source of the liquid that is in fluid communication with at least one of the scent diffusion devices to achieve the scent parameter; para [0075]-[0076], use of scented liquids in the diffusion device is exemplary of one of the kinds of liquids that may be used in the scent management system, the terms "cartridge", "package", and "reservoir" are used interchangeably with each other, the scent diffusion device may include a cartridge-based removable repository for fragrance oil or other liquid to be diffused. Hence, the removal/flow rate of the liquid is controlled/determined/set/adjusted in response to data about the liquid level of fragrance in the scent cartridge/container of the scent diffusion device).
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine both references to incorporate Becker’s removal rate determining step/component into Wei’s apparatus to accurately determine the removal rate of the remaining scent in the Wei’s scent container/release component and calculate the desired ppm output for the scent type based on the determined removal date to optimize the overall management and performance of the fragrance/scent management apparatus.
Regarding claim 2, Wei in view of Becker teaches the fragrance management apparatus of claim 1, wherein the scent type is a scent solution that emits a scent when heated and the scent container is a scent vial that contains the scent solution (see Becker para [0075]-[0076], use of scented liquids in the diffusion device is exemplary of one of the kinds of liquids that may be used in the scent management system, the terms "cartridge", "package", and "reservoir" are used interchangeably with each other, the scent diffusion device may include a cartridge-based removable repository for fragrance oil or other liquid to be diffused; see Becker para [0077], the scent diffusion device may include a scent medium cartridge that heat energy, such as heated blower, convective heat source to heat the scent medium in the cartridge while a fan blows through the medium to distribute fragrance, controlling the fragrance diffusion remotely may involve controlling at least one of the fan or the heat source; see Wei para [0073], the scent release component contains a scent source, which could be liquid, a certain amount of scent will be released from the scent release component through an accurately controlled approach such as heating. Hence, the scent type is a scent solution/liquid/fragrance oil that emits a scent when heated and the scent container is a scent vial/cartridge).
Regarding claim 3, Wei in view of Yankee teaches the fragrance management apparatus of claim 1. Wei further teaches wherein the room dimension is determined based on an identity of the room that categorizes the room dimensions (para [0064], the air purifier will then calculate the room volume to yield an initial room volume V0; para [0075], the room volume is calculated each time the air purifier has been operated; para [0012]-[0019], air purifier, comprising a controller, a controller, wherein the controller is adapted to: derive information about the volume of the space in which the air purifier filter system is deployed, this enables an air purifier to determine the volume of the space in which it is used; para [0045]- [0046], room volume estimations for two small rooms at different times, room volume estimations for two large rooms at different times; para [0066], the stored room volume is updated to take account of small room volume changes, for example resulting from different amounts of furniture in the room; para [0088], for small rooms, because of the complex variation, the room volume calculation is typically 15 to 20% large than the actual room volume, a correction factor may thus be used for rooms small than a certain volume (e.g., 80 m^3). Hence, the categorizing of the room dimensions determined whether the room is a small room a large room, after which the volume of the room is determined/calculated; see instant claim 4, wherein categorizing the room dimensions further comprises: determining if the room dimensions are a one of a small room, and a large room, and applying a standard dimension based on the determined room dimensions being the one of the small room and the large room).
Regarding claim 4, Wei in view of Becker teaches the fragrance management apparatus of claim 3, wherein categorizing the room dimensions further comprises: determining if the room dimensions are a one of a small room, a medium room, and a large room; and applying a standard dimension based on the determined room dimensions being the one of the small room, the medium room, and the large room (para [0064], the air purifier will then calculate the room volume to yield an initial room volume V0; para [0075], the room volume is calculated each time the air purifier has been operated; para [0012]-[0019], air purifier, comprising a controller, a controller, wherein the controller is adapted to: derive information about the volume of the space in which the air purifier filter system is deployed, this enables an air purifier to determine the volume of the space in which it is used; para [0045]-[0046], room volume estimations for two small rooms at different times, room volume estimations for two large rooms at different times; para [0066], the stored room volume is updated to take account of small room volume changes, for example resulting from different amounts of furniture in the room; para [0088], for small rooms, because of the complex variation, the room volume calculation is typically 15 to 20% large than the actual room volume, a correction factor may thus be used for rooms small than a certain volume (e.g., 80 m^3); para [0087], the table below shoes repeated measurements in four other rooms, Calculated room 1 volume (m^3).
Hence, the room dimensions are determined to be one of a small room or large room (based on if greater or less than 80 m^3), and a standard dimension (room volume calculation with correction factor) is determined based on the small room).
Regarding claim 7, Wei in view of Becker teaches the fragrance management apparatus of claim 1, wherein the concentration level is an optimized intensity setting based on user preferences, room conditions, and environmental conditions (see Wei para [0025], the amount of scent to be dispensed may be controlled to be dependent on the room volume estimated by the air purifier so that the concentration in the space is more accurately controlled; see Wei para [0019], the volume information may be used to assist in the delivery of a chemical to the volume SO that a desired concentration is reached, this may be a chemical for people (such as a scent); see Wei para [0025], the amount of scent to be dispensed may be controlled to be dependent on the room volume estimated by the air purifier so that the concentration in the space is more accurately controlled; see Wei para [0077], the customers may also type in the room volume into the scent release controlling system to aid in determining the scent concentration; see Wei para [0075], in order to prevent the negative effects of an overdose of scent, the room volume is calculated each time the air purifier has been operated instead of using only the room volume V0 obtained during the calibration all the time, if new furniture is moved into the room, or many people are present in the room, the measured volume will be V1 will be smaller than V0 and V1 will then be used to calculate the scent release amount; see Wei para [0059], the system may also include external sensors, for example for detecting indoor or outdoor environmental conditions to produce further information to the MCU; see Becker para [0078], where the liquid is a fragrance oil, controlling the fan to obtain a continuous level of diffusion of the fragrance oil may result in a substantially stable intensity of fragrance over time; see Becker para [0026], a user may adjust an overall level of fragrance in the space and a scent diffusion device controller may determine the adjustment required for the one or more devices; see Becker para [0236], wherein the data structure is used to calculate scent volume levels generated by one or more diffusers in an environment and optimize the installation of the one or more diffusion devices, such as based on various environmental factors, such as the size of the environment, the shape of the environment, objects and materials in the environment, air flow within the environment; see Becker para [0250], the sensors may be an environmental sensor that detects an environmental condition. Hence, the concentration level may be an optimized intensity setting by using Becker’s fan controlling to maintain a stable intensity of the scent/fragrance over time, and such a concentration level/stable intensity may be based on user preferences, environmental conditions (such as air flow within environment) and room conditions (such as furniture and/or people in the room)).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Wei in view of Becker teaches the fragrance management apparatus of claim 1, wherein causing the fragrance management apparatus to maintain the fragrance level based on the ppm output further comprises: causing the fragrance management apparatus to operate one of a heater or a fan to cause a scent to be emitted from the fragrance management apparatus (see Becker para [0077]-[0078], the scent diffusion device may include a scent medium cartridge that heat energy, such as from a heated blower, convective heat source to heat the scent medium in the cartridge while a fan blows through the medium to distribute fragrance, controlling the fragrance diffusion remotely may involve controlling at least one of the fan or the heat source, by controlling a parameter of the device that is used to promote diffusion, adjustments may be made to address changes in diffusion characteristics, the fan may be sped up to obtain a relatively consistent level of diffusion of the liquid from the cartridge; where the liquid is a fragrance oil, controlling the fan to obtain a continuous level of diffusion of the fragrance may result in a substantially stable intensity of fragrance over time. Hence, the fan causes the fragrance/scent to be emitted/diffused from the scent diffusion device); determining a change on the operation of the one of the heater or the fan to maintain the fragrance level on the ppm output based on changes in one or more of the removal rate, the concentration levels, and environmental conditions (see Becker para [0077]-[0078], the scent diffusion device may include a scent medium cartridge that heat energy, such as from a heated blower, convective heat source to heat the scent medium in the cartridge while a fan blows through the medium to distribute fragrance, controlling the fragrance diffusion remotely may involve controlling at least one of the fan or the heat source, by controlling a parameter of the device that is used to promote diffusion, adjustments may be made to address changes in diffusion characteristics, the fan may be sped up to obtain a relatively consistent level of diffusion of the liquid from the cartridge; where the liquid is a fragrance oil, controlling the fan to obtain a continuous level of diffusion of the fragrance may result in a substantially stable intensity of fragrance over time; see Becker para [0085], the scent level bias may be scaled by a known amount in accordance with an aspect of at least one of the device, the scent being diffused, the target value of the scent parameter, a given device may be measured to characterize the relationship between the amount diffused on each operational parameter of the device such as fan speed; see Becker para [0236], wherein the data structure is used to calculate scent volume levels generated by one or more diffusers in an environment and optimize the installation of the one or more diffusion devices, such as based on various environmental factors, such as the size of the environment, the shape of the environment, objects and materials in the environment, air flow within the environment; see Becker para [0157], the diffusion device can be set to deliver a certain level of scent concentration within an environment, and using odor detection of the scent particles with the diffuser is dispensing can ensure a defined range of acceptable scent level, or "scent concentration factor" or SCF, when the sensor detects odor concentrations below the desired SCF, then the diffuser delivers additional fragrance to achieve the desired concentration; see Becker para [0208], the SCF may have units of scent concentration, such as ppm; see Wei para [0077], the customers may also type in the room volume (Vc) into the scent release controlling system to aid in determining the scent concentration, the scent concentration may be restricted to be under 1 ppm calculated based on V0, for example the scent concentration may be a maximum of 1 ppm*V0/Vc.
Hence, the change of operation of the fan, specifically fan speed may be determined/adjusted to maintain the desired fragrance level on the ppm output (maximum 1 ppm) based on changed in the concentration levels/SCF/scent concentration factor); and adjusting the operation of the one of the heater or the fan to maintain the fragrance level on the ppm output (see Becker para [0077]- [0078], the scent diffusion device may include a scent medium cartridge that heat energy, such as from a heated blower, convective heat source to heat the scent medium in the cartridge while a fan blows through the medium to distribute fragrance, controlling the fragrance diffusion remotely may involve controlling at least one of the fan or the heat source, by controlling a parameter of the device that is used to promote diffusion, adjustments may be made to address changes in diffusion characteristics, the fan may be sped up to obtain a relatively consistent level of diffusion of the liquid from the cartridge; where the liquid is a fragrance oil, controlling the fan to obtain a continuous level of diffusion of the fragrance may result in a substantially stable intensity of fragrance over time; see Wei para [0077], the customers may also type in the room volume (Vc) into the scent release controlling system to aid in determining the scent concentration, the scent concentration may be restricted to be under 1 ppm calculated based on V0, for example the scent concentration may be a maximum of 1 ppm*V0/Vc. Hence, the fan speed of the fan may be adjusted to maintain the fragrance level based on the ppm output, specifically 1 ppm maximum).
Regarding claim 9, Wei in view of Becker teaches the fragrance management apparatus of claim 1. Becker further teaches wherein the fragrance level is further based on user preferences (para [0026], a user may adjust an overall level of fragrance in the space and a scent diffusion device controller may determine the adjustment required for the one or more devices).
Regarding claim 10, Wei in view of Becker teaches a method of maintaining a fragrance level (para [0001], this invention relates to air purifiers; para [0024]-[0025], air purifier may further comprise a chemical release device, wherein the controller is adapted to control the chemical release device in dependence on the information about the volume, the chemical release device may comprise a scent release device, the controller is for example adapted to control the scent release device with periodic bursts of scent release; para [0038], the method may comprise controlling the scent release device; para [0028], method of controlling an air purifier; para [0077], the scent concentration may be restricted to be under 1 ppm calculated based on V0, for example the scent concentration may be a maximum of 1 ppm*VO/ Vc; para [0073], according to the calculation results, a certain amount of scent will be released from the scent release component through an accurately controlled approach, such as heating, spraying, or vibrating. Hence, the method comprises controlling/maintaining the scent/fragrance level at maximum 1 ppm using the air purifier comprising the scent release device and controller (fragrance/scent management/ control apparatus)) comprising: identifying a scent type in a scent container of a fragrance management apparatus (para [0073], the scent release component contains a scent source, which could be liquid, the types of scent can be pre-selected based on the customer preferences; para [0024], air purifier may further comprise a chemical release device, wherein the controller is adapted to control the chemical release device in dependence on the information about the volume, the chemical release device may comprise a scent release device.
Hence, the scent type is identified/pre-selected in a scent release component/container of the air purifier/fragrance management apparatus); determining a room dimension where the fragrance management apparatus is installed (para [0064], the air purifier will then calculate the room volume to yield an initial room volume V0; para [0075], the room volume is calculated each time the air purifier has been operated; para [0012]-[0019], air purifier, comprising a controller, a controller, wherein the controller is adapted to: derive information about the volume of the space in which the air purifier filter system is deployed, this enables an air purifier to determine the volume of the space in which it is used); determining a concentration level based on settings of the scent container (para [0019], the volume information may be used to assist in the delivery of a chemical to the volume so that a desired concentration is reached, this may be a chemical for people (such as a scent); para [0025], the amount of scent to be dispensed may be controlled to be dependent on the room volume estimated by the air purifier so that the concentration in the space is more accurately controlled; para [0077], the customers may also type in the room volume into the scent release controlling system to aid in determining the scent concentration.
Hence, the concentration may be determined and accurately controlled based on the inputted room volume settings of the scent release controlling system (scent container)); calculating a ppm output of the fragrance management apparatus for the scent type based on the room dimension, and the concentration level (para [0025], the amount of scent to be dispensed may be controlled to be dependent on the room volume estimated by the air purifier so that the concentration in the space is more accurately controlled; para [0077], the customers may also type in the room volume (Vc) into the scent release controlling system to aid in determining the scent concentration, the scent concentration may be restricted to be under 1 ppm calculated based on V0, for example the scent concentration may be a maximum of 1 *V0/Vc; para [0065], room volume V0.
Hence, the ppm output of the scent may be calculated to be 1 ppm or under based on the determined room volume and scent concentration); and causing the fragrance management apparatus to maintain a fragrance level based on the ppm output (para [0025], the amount of scent to be dispensed may be controlled to be dependent on the room volume estimated by the air purifier so that the concentration in the space is more accurately controlled, the controller is adapted to control the scent release device with periodic bursts of scent release; para [0077], the scent concentration may be restricted to be under 1 ppm calculated based on V0, for example the scent concentration may be a maximum of 1 ppm 'V0/Vc; para [0073], according to the calculation results, a certain amount of scent will be released from the scent release component through an accurately controlled approach, such as heating, spraying, or vibrating.
Hence, the air purifier comprising the scent release device is maintained to output a fragrance/scent level of maximum 1 ppm) but does not specifically teach determining a removal rate of a remaining scent in the scent container and wherein the calculation of the ppm output of the fragrance management apparatus for the scent type is based on the removal rate. In a similar invention, however, Yankee teaches a method of maintaining a fragrance level (abstract, a diffusion device for atomizing liquids; para [0072], the scent management system provides businesses with a managed service for precise, wide-area fragrance delivery directed at using a scent to deliver memorable brand impressions and exceptional customer experiences; para [0074], the scent management system may include one or more diffusion devices; para [0020], a method of managing scent in an environment may include disposing one or more scent diffusion devices within an environment, controlling may include adjusting an operational parameter of the scent diffusion device in response to a sensed fragrance level in the environment; para [0026], a user may adjust an overall level of fragrance in the space and a scent diffusion device controller may determine the adjustment required for the one or more devices. Hence, the fragrance level in the environment may be managed/controlled/ maintained) comprising identifying a scent type in a scent container of a fragrance management apparatus (para [0012], the present disclosure enabling effective, centralized management or remotely deployed scent systems, including using microprocessor-controlled and networked diffusion devices that deliver data streams to a centralized network operations center (or NOC); para [0142], the NOC may include a database of all diffusion devices in the field, including information such as fragrance oil type; para [0160], the scent diffuser devices have the ability to change fragrance output or fragrance type based on scent programs; para [0234], an evaluation kit may be used to determine what type of fragrance is to be used in the diffusion devices), determining a room dimension where the fragrance management apparatus is installed (para [0074], the scent management system may include one or more diffusion devices, each diffusion device may may contain a processor, such as a microcontroller, the microcontroller may be capable of controlling the units autonomously, based on control instructions sent by the business applications; para [0022], controlling may include setting or adjusting an operation parameter of the scent diffusion device in response to sensor data, the sensor data may relate to at least one of room volume, room geometry, room area, determining one or more locations to dispose the scent diffusion devices in the environment based on a room volume; para [0037], method of managing scent in an environment may include taking an electronic data structure characterizing the transformation of at least one diffusion device disposed within an environment, wherein the electronic data structure includes data regarding a sensed parameter of the environment, the sensed parameter may relate to at least one of room volume, room geometry, room area.
Hence, the room volume/geometry area may be determined/sensed where the scent diffusion device/fragrance management apparatus is installed/disposed in), and determining a removal rate of a remaining scent in the scent container (para [0022], a method relating to atomizing diffusion devices within an environment may include receiving at a computer, liquid level data from a plurality of remote atomizing diffusion devices wherein each diffusion device comprises a communications facility that enables transmitting signals to and receiving signals from a remote computer, and at least one liquid level sensor, controlling may include setting or adjusting an operation parameter of the scent diffusion device in response to the sensor data, the sensor data may relate to at least one of fragrance level, the operation parameter may include at least one of a flow rate of the liquid, a duration of flow of the liquid, a variation in the flow rate of the liquid; para [0021], controlling, via the remote computer, diffusion of a liquid from a source of the liquid that is in fluid communication with at least one of the scent diffusion devices to achieve the scent parameter; para [0075]-[0076], use of scented liquids in the diffusion device is exemplary of one of the kinds of liquids that may be used in the scent management system, the terms "cartridge", "package", and "reservoir" are used interchangeably with each other, the scent diffusion device may include a cartridge-based removable repository for fragrance oil or other liquid to be diffused. Hence, the removal/flow rate of the liquid is controlled/determined/set/adjusted in response to data about the liquid level of fragrance in the scent cartridge/container of the scent diffusion device).
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine both references to incorporate Becker’s removal rate determining step with Wei’s method to accurately determine the removal rate of the remaining scent in the Wei's scent container/release component and calculate the desired ppm output for the scent type based on the determined removal date, optimizing the overall management and performance of the fragrance/scent management method.
Regarding claim 11, Wei in view of Becker teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the scent type is a scent solution that emits a scent when heated and the scent container is a scent vial that contains the scent solution (see Yankee para [0075]-[0076], use of scented liquids in the diffusion device is exemplary of one of the kinds of liquids that may be used in the scent management system, the terms "cartridge", "package", and "reservoir" are used interchangeably with each other, the scent diffusion device may include a cartridge-based removable repository for fragrance oil or other liquid to be diffused; see Yankee para [0077], the scent diffusion device may include a scent medium cartridge that heat energy, such as heated blower, convective heat source to heat the scent medium in the cartridge while a fan blows through the medium to distribute fragrance, controlling the fragrance diffusion remotely may involve controlling at least one of the fan or the heat source; see Wei para [0073], the scent release component contains a scent source, which could be liquid, a certain amount of scent will be released from the scent release component through an accurately controlled approach such as heating. Hence, the scent type is a scent solution/liquid/fragrance oil that emits a scent when heated and the scent container is a scent vial/cartridge).
Regarding claim 12, Wei in view of Becker teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the room dimension is determined based on an identity of the room that categorizes the room dimensions (para [0064], the air purifier will then calculate the room volume to yield an initial room volume V0; para [0075], the room volume is calculated each time the air purifier has been operated; para [0012]-[0019], air purifier, comprising a controller, a controller, wherein the controller is adapted to: derive information about the volume of the space in which the air purifier filter system is deployed, this enables an air purifier to determine the volume of the space in which it is used; para [0045]-[0046], room volume estimations for two small rooms at different times, room volume estimations for two large rooms at different times; para [0066], the stored room volume is updated to take account of small room volume changes, for example resulting from different amounts of furniture in the room; para [0088], for small rooms, because of the complex variation, the room volume calculation is typically 15 to 20% large than the actual room volume, a correction factor may thus bc used for rooms small than a certain volume (c.g., 80 m^3). Hence, the categorizing of the room dimensions determined whether the room is a small room a large room, after which the volume of the room is determined/calculated; see instant claim 13, wherein categorizing the room dimensions further comprises: determining if the room dimensions are a one of a small room, and a large room, and applying a standard dimension based on the determined room dimensions being the one of the small room and the large room).
Regarding claim 13, Wei in view of Becker teaches the method of claim 12, wherein categorizing the room dimensions further comprises: determining if the room dimensions are a one of a small room, a medium room, and a large room; and applying a standard dimension based on the determined room dimensions being the one of the small room, the medium room, and the large room (para [0064], the air purifier will then calculate the room volume to yield an initial room volume V0; para [0075], the room volume is calculated each time the air purifier has been operated; para [0012]-[0019], air purifier, comprising a controller, a controller, wherein the controller is adapted to: derive information about the volume of the space in which the air purifier filter system is deployed, this enables an air purifier to determine the volume of the space in which it is used; para [0045]-[0046], room volume estimations for two small rooms at different times, room volume estimations for two large rooms at different times; para [0066], the stored room volume is updated to take account of small room volume changes, for example resulting from different amounts of furniture in the room; para [0088], for small rooms, because of the complex variation, the room volume calculation is typically 15 to 20% large than the actual room volume, a correction factor may thus be used for rooms small than a certain volume (e.g., 80 m^3); para [0087], the table below shoes repeated measurements in four other rooms, Calculated room 1 volume (m^3). Hence, the room dimensions are determined to be one of a small room or large room (based on if greater or less than 80 m^3), and a standard dimension (room volume calculation with correction factor) is determined based on the small room).
Regarding claim 16, Wei in view of Becker teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the concentration level is an optimized intensity setting based on user preferences, room conditions, and environmental conditions (see Wei para [0025], the amount of scent to be dispensed may be controlled to be dependent on the room volume estimated by the air purifier so that the concentration in the space is more accurately controlled; see Wei para [0019], the volume information may be used to assist in the delivery of a chemical to the volume so that a desired concentration is reached, this may be a chemical for people (such as a scent); see Wei para [0025], the amount of scent to be dispensed may be controlled to be dependent on the room volume estimated by the air purifier so that the concentration in the space is more accurately controlled; see Wei para [0077], the customers may also type in the room volume into the scent release controlling system to aid in determining the scent concentration; see Wei para [0075], in order to prevent the negative effects of an overdose of scent, the room volume is calculated each time the air purifier has been operated instead of using only the room volume V0 obtained during the calibration all the time, if new furniture is moved into the room, or many people are present in the room, the measured volume will be V1 will be smaller than V0 and V1 will then be used to calculate the scent release amount; see Wei para [0059], the system may also include external sensors, for example for detecting indoor or outdoor environmental conditions to produce further information to the MCU; see Becker para [0078], where the liquid is a fragrance oil, controlling the fan to obtain a continuous level of diffusion of the fragrance oil may result in a substantially stable intensity of fragrance over time; see Yankee para [0026], a user may adjust an overall level of fragrance in the space and a scent diffusion device controller may determine the adjustment required for the one or more devices; see Yankee para [0236], wherein the data structure is used to calculate scent volume levels generated by one or more diffusers in an environment and optimize the installation of the one or more diffusion devices, such as based on various environmental factors, such as the size of the environment, the shape of the environment, objects and materials in the environment, air flow within the environment; see Becker para [0250], the sensors may be an environmental sensor that detects an environmental condition.
Hence, the concentration level may be an optimized intensity setting by using Becker's fan controlling to maintain a stable intensity of the scent/fragrance over time, and such a concentration level/stable intensity may be based on user preferences, environmental conditions (such as air flow within environment) and room conditions (such as furniture and/or people in the room)).
Regarding claim 17, Wei in view of Becker teaches the method of claim 10, wherein causing the fragrance management apparatus to maintain the fragrance level based on the ppm output further comprises: causing the fragrance management apparatus to operate one of a heater or a fan to cause a scent to be emitted from the fragrance management apparatus (see Becker para [0077]-[0078], the scent diffusion device may include a scent medium cartridge that heat energy, such as from a heated blower, convective heat source to heat the scent medium in the cartridge while a fan blows through the medium to distribute fragrance, controlling the fragrance diffusion remotely may involve controlling at least one of the fan or the heat source, by controlling a parameter of the device that is used to promote diffusion, adjustments may be made to address changes in diffusion characteristics, the fan may be sped up to obtain a relatively consistent level of diffusion of the liquid from the cartridge; where the liquid is a fragrance oil, controlling the fan to obtain a continuous level of diffusion of the fragrance may result in a substantially stable intensity of fragrance over time.
Hence, the fan causes the fragrance/scent to be emitted/diffused from the scent diffusion device); determining a change on the operation of the one of the heater or the fan to maintain the fragrance level on the ppm output based on changes in one or more of the removal rate, the concentration levels, and environmental conditions (see Becker para [0077]-[0078], the scent diffusion device may include a scent medium cartridge that heat energy, such as from a heated blower, convective heat source to heat the scent medium in the cartridge while a fan blows through the medium to distribute fragrance, controlling the fragrance diffusion remotely may involve controlling at least one of the fan or the heat source, by controlling a parameter of the device that is used to promote diffusion, adjustments may be made to address changes in diffusion characteristics, the fan may be sped up to obtain a relatively consistent level of diffusion of the liquid from the cartridge; where the liquid is a fragrance oil, controlling the fan to obtain a continuous level of diffusion of the fragrance may result in a substantially stable intensity of fragrance over time; see Becker para [0085], the scent level bias may be scaled by a known amount in accordance with an aspect of at least one of the device, the scent being diffused, the target value of the scent parameter, a given device may be measured to characterize the relationship between the amount diffused on each operational parameter of the device such as fan speed; see Becker para [0236], wherein the data structure is used to calculate scent volume levels generated by one or more diffusers in an environment and optimize the installation of the one or more diffusion devices, such as based on various environmental factors, such as the size of the environment, the shape of the environment, objects and materials in the environment, air flow within the environment; sec Becker para [0157], the diffusion device can be set to deliver a certain level of scent concentration within an environment, and using odor detection of the scent particles with the diffuser is dispensing can ensure a defined range of acceptable scent level, or "scent concentration factor" or SCF, when the sensor detects odor concentrations below the desired SCF, then the diffuser delivers additional fragrance to achieve the desired concentration; see Yankee para [0208], the SCF may have units of scent concentration, such as ppm; see Wei para [0077], the customers may also type in the room volume (Vc) into the scent release controlling system to aid in determining the scent concentration, the scent concentration may be restricted to be under 1 ppm calculated based on V0, for example the scent concentration may be a maximum of 1 ppm V0/Vc. Hence, the change of operation of the fan, specifically fan speed may be determined/adjusted to maintain the desired fragnance level on the ppm output (maximum 1 ppm) based on changed in the concentration levels/SCF/scent concentration factor); and adjusting the operation of the one of the heater or the fan to maintain the fragrance level on the ppm output (see Yankee para [0077]-[0078], the scent diffusion device may include a scent medium cartridge that heat energy, such as from a heated blower, convective heat source to heat the scent medium in the cartridge while a fan blows through the medium to distribute fragrance, controlling the fragrance diffusion remotely may involve controlling at least one of the fan or the heat source, by controlling a parameter of the device that is used to promote diffusion, adjustments may be made to address changes in diffusion characteristics, the fan may be sped up to obtain a relatively consistent level of diffusion of the liquid from the cartridge; where the liquid is a fragrance oil, controlling the fan to obtain a continuous level of diffusion of the fragrance may result in a substantially stable intensity of fragrance over time; see Wei para [0077], the customers may also type in the room volume (Vc) into the scent release controlling system to aid in determining the scent concentration, the scent concentration may be restricted to be under 1 ppm calculated based on V0, for example the scent concentration may be a maximum of 1 ppm*VO/VC. Hence, the fan speed of the fan may be adjusted to maintain the fragrance level based on the ppm output, specifically 1 ppm maximum).
Regarding claim 18, Wei in view of Becker teaches the method of claim 10. Becker further teaches wherein the fragrance level is further based on user preferences (para [0026], a user may adjust an overall level of fragrance in the space and a scent diffusion device controller may determine the adjustment required for the one or more devices).
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 5-6 and 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Wei in view of Becker is set forth above buts does not specifically teach wherein the remaining scent is calculated based on a weight loss profile of the identified scent type and an operating time of the scent type in the scent container. The prior art does not teach or fairly suggest in combination the fragrance management apparatus as claimed wherein the remaining scent is calculated based on a weight loss profile of the identified scent type and an operating time of the scent type in the scent container.
Conclusion
/SEAN E CONLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799