Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
means for conducting a power supply current that generates a first resultant magnetic field;
means for converting the power supply current to movement of the movable output component; and
means for converting the movement to into a second electric current that generates a second resultant magnetic field that is uncoupled from the first resultant magnetic field:
in claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bolte (U.S. 5,872,435) in view of Pinkerton (U.S. 5,874,797) and further in view of Kalen (U.S. 2011/0040418).
Regarding claim 21 Bolte teach a system for transferring electric power comprising: means for conducting a power supply current that generates a first resultant magnetic field (see Col. 7 line 30-35 …commutation circuit 6 comprises a mains rectifier 7, to whose input terminals power can be applied, preferably from an a.c. mains … {AC mains will generate magnetic field});
means for converting the power supply current to movement of the movable output component (see Fig. 1: electric motor 1); and
Yet, Bolte does not disclose means for converting the movement to into a second electric current that generates a second resultant magnetic field that is uncoupled from the first resultant magnetic field: wherein the first resultant magnetic field has a first helical shape with a first pitch, the second resultant magnetic field has a second helical shape with a second pitch, and the first pitch is larger than the second pitch..
However, Pinkerton in the field of permanent magnet electrical generators which rotate at high speeds, including generators used for general purposes and in various advanced technologies including hybrid-electric vehicles, variable speed constant frequency engine-generator sets teaches means for converting the movement to into a second electric current that generates a second resultant magnetic field that is uncoupled from the first resultant magnetic field (see Figs. 28 & 29: Col 14 line 55- col 16 line 39)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bolte with the teachings of Pinkerton by having means for converting the movement to into a second electric current that generates a second resultant magnetic field that is uncoupled from the first resultant magnetic field in order to produces an output which is readily and inexpensively convertible into a fully controllable AC output signal independently of rotational speed.
Further Kalen in the same filed teaches wherein the first resultant magnetic field has a first helical shape with a first pitch, the second resultant magnetic field has a second helical shape with a second pitch, and the first pitch is larger than the second pitch (see Fig. 2: 14 & 15; Kalen)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pinkerton with the teachings of Kalen by having wherein the first resultant magnetic field has a first helical shape with a first pitch, the second resultant magnetic field has a second helical shape with a second pitch, and the first pitch is larger than the second pitch in order to allows for the optimization of field confinement, chirality, and coupling efficiency.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
In this case, applicants argument that The references do not teach or suggest an electric motor that drives an electric current generator. The examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant.
In the filed of motor-generator set it is extremely well known arrangement in applications such as Powe conversion, condition/isolation energy management in vehicles and load banking/testing such to name a few application. The electric motor provides the mechanical power to turn the generator, and the generator then produces the desired type of electrical power for a specific application.
Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would clearly look at the prior art and arrive at applicants invention without an inventive step nor novelty. In fact any differences would not depart form the scope of and breath of the invention as currently claimed.
All other remark are considered yet not found persuasive. In order to expedite the prosecution the Examiner recommends that applicant amend the claims by including structural components that are different from the prior art applied in order to distinguish the claim invention from the prior art of record.
Conclusion
/ELIM ORTIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836