DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “an extension part extending from the plate in a direction”. However it is unclear what are the metes and bounds of the claim because the claim does not define what the "a direction". There are multiple directions (i.e. up, down, left, right, etc) the extending part can extend from the plate. Since there is no way of determining what are the metes and bounds of the claim, as best understood, if the prior art comprises the claimed structure, it will be presumed that the to extend in “a direction” (in the different configurations).
Claims 4-18 are rejected based on dependency from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2-3, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishimizu et al (US 20200003470).
Regarding claim 2, Ishimizu teaches an ice maker (1) comprising: a tray (5) defining an ice chamber (9); a casing (7) configured to fix a position of the tray (tray fixed at 49 and 10); and a water supply part (55) configured to guide water to the ice chamber (60 for distributing water, paragraph 0053), wherein the water supply part is fixed to the casing (figs. 5 and 7 illustrates 55 is fixed to 7).
Regarding claim 3, Ishimizu teaches the casing comprises: a plate (48) configured to fix the tray (48 includes 49 to fix the tray 5, figs. 5 and 7); and an extension part extending from the plate in a direction (annotated fig. below illustrates an extension part extending upwards), wherein the water supply part is coupled to the extension part (55 is coupled to the annotated extension part).
Regarding claim 21, Ishimizu teaches a refrigerator (refrigerator, paragraph 0036) comprising the ice maker of claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishimizu as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Son et al (US 20130081412).
Regarding claim 20, Ishimizu teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach the tray comprises: a first tray defining a portion of the ice chamber; and a second tray defining the other portion of the ice chamber, and wherein the casing comprises a case and a support that are configured to fix a position of the first tray.
However, Son teaches the tray (11, 12) comprises: a first tray (11) defining a portion (113) of the ice chamber; and a second tray (12) defining the other portion of the ice chamber (141), and wherein the casing comprises a case (annotated fig. below) and a support (annotated fig. below) that are configured to fix a position of the first tray (fig. 2 illustrates the first tray 11 doesn’t move) to efficiently form spherical ice.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the ice maker of Ishimizu to include the tray comprises: a first tray defining a portion of the ice chamber; and a second tray defining the other portion of the ice chamber, and wherein the casing comprises a case and a support that are configured to fix a position of the first tray in view of the teachings of Son to efficiently form spherical ice.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 4, the subject matter which is considered to distinguish from the closest prior art of record, Ishimizu et al (US 20200003470) in view of Son (US 20130081412). The prior art of record teaches a water supply part and an extension part in contrast to the claimed features of a fixing protrusion that is fixed to the extension part is formed on a surface of the water supply part.
Regarding claim 19, the subject matter which is considered to distinguish from the closest prior art of record, Ishimizu et al (US 20200003470) in view of Son (US 20130081412). The prior art of record teaches an extension part in contrast to the claimed features of wherein the extension part is a vertical extension part vertically extending from the plate.
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763