DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to the reply filed 08/27/2025.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in France on 08/17/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the FR2308742 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-5, 7, 9-11, and 13-15 in the reply filed on 08/27/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no mutual exclusivity because the species concern parameters. This is not found persuasive because each species, as claimed, requires a mutually exclusive characteristic not required for the other species, and the species are not obvious variants of each other. The end-of-frame time parameter, the image of an electromagnetic filed and image of induced current are different species of the same inventive concept that present a serious search burden.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 6, 8, 12, and 16-18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 08/27/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9-11, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sudou (US 9,070,065).
Re claims 1-5, Sudou discloses a method comprising:
storing, in a memory of a first near field communication (NFC) device, one or a plurality of parameters associated with the operation of the first NFC device during a communication with a second distant NFC device (col. 5, line 48 to col. 7, line 44);
wherein said memory is a volatile memory (figs. 1 and 2);
wherein said memory includes a historical byte register storing said one or a plurality of parameters (col. 5, line 48 to col. 7, line 44);
wherein said memory is a non-volatile memory (figs. 1 and 2); and
wherein said one or a plurality of parameters are physical parameters (col. 5, line 48 to col. 7, line 44).
Re claim 7, Sudou further discloses wherein said one or a plurality of parameters associated with the operation of the first NFC device are associated with a configuration state of the first NFC device (col. 5, line 48 to col. 7, line 44).
Re claims 9 and 10, Sudou further discloses extracting from said memory said one or a plurality of parameters associated with the operation of the first NFC device after the reception of a request sent by the second distant NFC device; and transmitting said one or a plurality of parameters extracted from the memory to the second NFC device in an Answer To Select (ATS) frame (col. 5, line 48 to col. 7, line 44).
Re claim 11, Sudou discloses a near field communication (NFC) device, comprising: one or a plurality of circuits configured to determine one or a plurality of parameters associated with the operation of the NFC device during a communication with a second distant NFC device; wherein the NFC device is configured to implement the method according to claim 1 (col. 5, line 48 to col. 7, line 44).
Re claim 13, Sudou discloses a system, comprising: a first NFC device according to claim 11; a second NFC device, distant from the first NFC device (col. 5, line 48 to col. 7, line 44).
Re claims 14-15, Sudou further discloses a sniff device configured to capture the content of a communication between the first NFC device and the second NFC device and extract therefrom one or a plurality of parameters associated with the operation of the first NFC device (col. 5, line 48 to col. 7, line 44).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the attached PTO-892 form.
/APRIL A TAYLOR/Examiner, Art Unit 2876
/THIEN M LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876