DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-30 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 16, 23-27, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AGRAWAL et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220361226 A1), hereinafter AGRAWAL, in view of Cai et al. (Pub. No.: US 20100151874 A1), hereinafter Cai.
With respect to claim 1, AGRAWAL teaches A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising ([0029], UE):
one or more memories ([0029], memory); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the UE to([0029], the processor couples to the memory):
obtain configuration information indicating one or more new data indicator (NDI) field formats ([0066-0067], obtain configuration information / grant 425 indicating one or more new data indicator (NDI) field formats); and
of the one or more NDI field formats, as indicated by the configuration information ([0066-0067], new data indicator (NDI) field formats indicated by the configuration information / grant 425).
Although AGRAWAL teaches obtain configuration information indicating one or more new data indicator (NDI) field formats as set forth above. AGRAWAL does not explicitly teach for respective downlink control information (DCI) formats, and receive a first DCI communication associated with a first DCI format associated with a first NDI field format.
However, Cai teaches for respective downlink control information (DCI) formats ([0034, 0061-0068], NDI field formats for DCI formats), and receive a first DCI communication associated with a first DCI format associated with a first NDI field format ([0034, 0061-0068], UE receives a first DCI communication associated with a first DCI format associated with a first NDI field format).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cai, for respective downlink control information (DCI) formats, and receive a first DCI communication associated with a first DCI format associated with a first NDI field format, into the teachings of AGRAWAL, in order to provide a reliable way to cause a UA to release SPS resources (Cai, [0011, 0056]).
With respect to claim 4, the combination of AGRAWAL and Cai teaches the UE of claim 1. AGRAWAL teaches wherein the first DCI communication is associated with a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process identifier ([0071]), and wherein other DCI communications associated with the HARQ process identifier are associated with the first DCI format ([0077, 0084]).
With respect to claim 5, the combination of AGRAWAL and Cai teaches the UE of claim 1. AGRAWAL teaches wherein the first DCI communication is associated with a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process identifier, wherein the first DCI communication schedules a transport block ([0058, 0077]), and wherein other DCI communications, scheduling respective retransmissions of the transport block, are associated with the first DCI format ([0066, 0081]).
With respect to claim 6, the combination of AGRAWAL and Cai teaches the UE of claim 1. AGRAWAL teaches wherein the first DCI communication is associated with a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process identifier, wherein the first DCI communication schedules a first transport block ([0058, 0077]), and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: receive a second DCI communication, associated with the HARQ process identifier, scheduling a second transport block, wherein the second DCI communication is associated with a second NDI field format of the one or more NDI field formats ([0066, 0081]).
With respect to claim 8, the combination of AGRAWAL and Cai teaches the UE of claim 1. AGRAWAL teaches wherein the first DCI communication is associated with a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) process identifier, wherein the first DCI communication schedules a first transport block ([0058, 0077]), and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to: receive a second DCI communication, associated with the HARQ process identifier, scheduling a retransmission of the transport block or scheduling a second transport block, wherein the second DCI communication is associated with a second NDI field format of the one or more NDI field formats ([0066, 0081]).
With respect to claim 16, AGRAWAL teaches A network node for wireless communication, comprising ([0066-0067], base station):
one or more memories ([0042], memory); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the network node to ([0042], the processor couples to the memory):
transmit configuration information indicating one or more new data indicator (NDI) field formats ([0066-0067], transmit configuration information / grant 425 indicating one or more new data indicator (NDI) field formats); and
of the one or more NDI field formats, associated with the first DCI format ([0066-0067], NDI field formats, associated with the first DCI format).
Although AGRAWAL teaches transmit configuration information indicating one or more new data indicator (NDI) field formats as set forth above. AGRAWAL does not explicitly teach for respective downlink control information (DCI) formats, and transmit a first DCI communication associated with a first DCI format in accordance with a first NDI field format.
However, Cai teaches for respective downlink control information (DCI) formats ([0034, 0061-0068], NDI field formats for DCI formats), and transmit a first DCI communication associated with a first DCI format in accordance with a first NDI field format ([0034, 0061-0068], transmit a first DCI communication associated with a first DCI format in accordance with a first NDI field format).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cai, for respective downlink control information (DCI) formats, and transmit a first DCI communication associated with a first DCI format in accordance with a first NDI field format, into the teachings of AGRAWAL, in order to provide a reliable way to cause a UA to release SPS resources (Cai, [0011, 0056]).
With respect to claim 23, this claim recites the UE of claim 4, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 24, this claim recites the UE of claim 5, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 25, this claim recites the UE of claim 6, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 26, this claim recites the UE of claim 8, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
With respect to claim 27, AGRAWAL teaches A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising ([0066-0067], a method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment):
obtaining configuration information indicating one or more new data indicator (NDI) field formats ([0066-0067], obtain configuration information / grant 425 indicating one or more new data indicator (NDI) field formats); and
of the one or more NDI field formats, as indicated by the configuration information ([0066-0067], new data indicator (NDI) field formats indicated by the configuration information / grant 425).
Although AGRAWAL teaches obtain configuration information indicating one or more new data indicator (NDI) field formats as set forth above. AGRAWAL does not explicitly teach for respective downlink control information (DCI) formats, and receive a first DCI communication associated with a first DCI format associated with a first NDI field format.
However, Cai teaches for respective downlink control information (DCI) formats ([0034, 0061-0068], NDI field formats for DCI formats), and receiving a first DCI communication associated with a first DCI format associated with a first NDI field format ([0034, 0061-0068], UE receives a first DCI communication associated with a first DCI format associated with a first NDI field format).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cai, for respective downlink control information (DCI) formats, and receive a first DCI communication associated with a first DCI format associated with a first NDI field format, into the teachings of AGRAWAL, in order to provide a reliable way to cause a UA to release SPS resources (Cai, [0011, 0056]).
With respect to claim 29, AGRAWAL A method of wireless communication performed by a network node, comprising ([0066-0067], a method of wireless communication performed by a BS):
transmitting configuration information indicating one or more new data indicator (NDI) field formats ([0066-0067], transmit configuration information / grant 425 indicating one or more new data indicator (NDI) field formats); and
of the one or more NDI field formats, associated with the first DCI format ([0066-0067], NDI field formats, associated with the first DCI format).
Although AGRAWAL teaches transmit configuration information indicating one or more new data indicator (NDI) field formats as set forth above. AGRAWAL does not explicitly teach for respective downlink control information (DCI) formats, and transmitting a first DCI communication associated with a first DCI format in accordance with a first NDI field format.
However, Cai teaches for respective downlink control information (DCI) formats ([0034, 0061-0068], NDI field formats for DCI formats), and transmitting a first DCI communication associated with a first DCI format in accordance with a first NDI field format ([0034, 0061-0068], transmit a first DCI communication associated with a first DCI format in accordance with a first NDI field format).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cai, for respective downlink control information (DCI) formats, and transmitting a first DCI communication associated with a first DCI format in accordance with a first NDI field format, into the teachings of AGRAWAL, in order to provide a reliable way to cause a UA to release SPS resources (Cai, [0011, 0056]).
Claims 17 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AGRAWAL, in view of Cai, and further in view of Bhamri et al. (Pub. No.: US 20230284190 A1), hereinafter Bhamri.
With respect to claim 17, the combination of AGRAWAL and Cai teaches the network node of claim 16. AGRAWAL teaches wherein each NDI field format, of the one or more NDI field formats, associated with that NDI field format ([0066, 0067]).
The combination of AGRAWAL and Cai does not explicitly teach indicates a size of an NDI field.
However, Bhamri teaches indicates a size of an NDI field ([0104]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bhamri, indicates a size of an NDI field, into the teachings of AGRAWAL and Cai, in order to control information that schedules or activates multiple transmissions (Bhamri, [0002]).
With respect to claim 28, this claim recites the network node of claim 17, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
Claims 18 and 30 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AGRAWAL, in view of Cai, and further in view of Damnjanovic et al. (Pub. No.: US 20160227541 A1), hereinafter Damnjanovic.
With respect to claim 18, the combination of AGRAWAL and Cai teaches the network node of claim 16. AGRAWAL teaches wherein the one or more NDI field formats ([0066, 0067]).
The combination of AGRAWAL and Cai does not explicitly teach are configured for a component carrier.
However, Damnjanovic teaches are configured for a component carrier ([0080]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Damnjanovic, are configured for a component carrier, into the teachings of AGRAWAL and Cai, in order to improve communication quality and reliability between base stations and UEs (Damnjanovic, [0068]).
With respect to claim 30, this claim recites the network node of claim 18, and it is rejected for at least the same reasons.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AGRAWAL, in view of Cai, and further in view of YANG et al. (Pub. No.: US 20190297618 A1), hereinafter YANG.
With respect to claim 19, the combination of AGRAWAL and Cai teaches the network node of claim 16. Cai teaches wherein the one or more NDI field formats ([0034, 0061-0068]).
The combination of AGRAWAL and Cai does not explicitly teach include non-fallback DCI formats.
However, YANG teaches include non-fallback DCI formats ([0064]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of YANG, include non-fallback DCI formats, into the teachings of AGRAWAL and Cai, in order to provide a method of efficiently transmitting/receiving control information in a wireless communication and an apparatus (YANG, [0004]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 7, 9-15, and 20-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pub. No.: US 20110222485 A1; “Nangia”, ([0011])
/KIET TANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469