DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of this application’s status as a continuation of application 17/856,337 now patent 12,063,729 filed on 07/01/2022, which claims priority under 35 U.S.C § 119(e) to U.S. Provisional Patent Application Ser. 63/217,740 filed on 07/01/2021.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 12063729 in view of US2021/0195716A1 hereinafter “Rasmussen” and WO2009/150592A1 hereinafter “Mason”.
Regarding claims 1-20, the prior patent does not claim all the claim limitations, however, they are rendered obvious in view of the prior art rejection as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 10-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US2021/0195716A1 hereinafter “Rasmussen”
Regarding claim 1, Rasmussen discloses a system (¶71L1: a light show system) comprising:
a lighting device (¶71L2-3: a plurality of dependent lights) that is communicatively coupled to one or more playback devices of a media playback system (¶714L3: a plurality of speakers);
at least one processor (¶29L2: a processors) ;
at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium (¶29L3-4: a non-volatile memory); and program instructions stored on the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium that, when executed by the at least one processor (¶31L1-2: processor may execute program stored in memory), cause the system to:
detect a command to play back audio content (¶55L7-8: a user input may trigger a first music file selection);
based on the command, cause a given playback device of the media playback system to play back the audio content (¶66L13-14: speaker plays an audio file);
while the given playback device is playing back the audio content, determine given lighting behavior that is to be produced by the lighting device, wherein
the given lighting behavior is based on
(i) a device setting of a playback device of the media playback system (¶66L11-13: master light signals to the dependent lights to play a light show) or
(ii) one or more characteristics of the audio content (¶48L4-22: analyzes the music input and generates metadata for MFF file; ¶50L27-29: after generating a MFF, the hub may signal one or more lights to provide a synchronized lighting show); and
based on determining the given lighting behavior, cause the lighting device to transition from producing first lighting behavior to producing second lighting behavior in synchrony with playback of the audio content by the given playback device, wherein the second lighting behavior comprises the given lighting behavior (¶66L12-15: play a light show in conjunction with the MFF while the speakers plays an audio file).
Regarding claim 2, Rasmussen discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the given lighting behavior comprises one or more of
(i) a given lighting effect, (ii) a given lighting scene, or (iii) a given lighting animation. (¶74L1-4: one or more settings of the light show, including, color, sound, intensity, brightness, contrast and the like)
Regarding claim 3, Rasmussen discloses the system of claim 1, wherein
the given playback device is a first playback device (¶64L3: dependent light), and wherein the given lighting behavior is determined based on a device setting of a second playback (¶64L2-3: a master light) that is communicatively coupled to the first playback device. (¶64L1-9: the master light broadcast an automated light show: the light show may adjust master light and dependent light)
Regarding claim 4, Rasmussen discloses the system of claim 3, wherein
the device setting of the second playback device comprises a brightness setting (¶74L1-4: one or more settings of the light show, including, color, sound, intensity, brightness, contrast and the like) of the second playback device, and wherein
the given lighting behavior corresponds to the brightness setting of the second playback device. (¶64L1-9: the master light broadcast an automated light show: the light show may adjust master light and dependent light)
Regarding claim 5, Rasmussen discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising program instructions stored on the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to:
obtain metadata associated with the audio content (¶48L1-22: analyzes the music input and generate metadata for the MFF file); and
based on the metadata, identify one or more colors associated with the audio content, wherein the given lighting behavior involves the one or more colors associated with the audio content. (¶59L1-30: adjust one or more lights according to the metadata in the MFF)
Regarding claim 10, Rasmussen discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the media playback system is a first media playback system of a plurality of media playback systems, the system further comprising program instructions stored on the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to:
cause a control device of the first media playback system to display an option to broadcast information about the given lighting behavior and the audio content (¶32L1-21: display provide a televisual screen for projecting images (e.g., a music video synchronized to a music file)) ;
based on an indication of a selection of the option to broadcast the information about the given lighting behavior and the audio content, cause the information about the given lighting behavior and the audio content to be transmitted to a remote computing device that is configured to communicate with the plurality of media playback systems (¶32L1-21: user interface may enable the computing system to receive information from user, such as user preference for light show); and
cause a control device of a second media playback system to display the information about the given lighting behavior and the audio content. (¶64L1-9: the master light broadcast an automated light show: the light show may adjust master light and dependent light)
Regarding claims 11 and 17, the claims recites same limitation as recited in claim 1, therefore rejected in the same manner as claim 1.
Regarding claims 12 and 18, the claims recites same limitation as recited in claim 2, therefore rejected in the same manner as claim 2.
Regarding claims 13 and 19, the claims recites same limitation as recited in claim 3, therefore rejected in the same manner as claim 3.
Regarding claims 14, the claims recites same limitation as recited in claim 5, therefore rejected in the same manner as claim 5.
Regarding claims 15 and 20, the claims recites same limitation as recited in claim 3, therefore rejected in the same manner as claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-9 and 16are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rasmussen in view of WO2009/150592A1 hereinafter “Mason”
Regarding claim 6, Rasmussen discloses the system of claim 1
Rasmussen does not expclitly disclose:
monitor the audio content for keywords that are each associated with a respective scene; and detect, in the audio content, a given keyword indicative of a given scene, wherein the given lighting behavior reflects the given scene.
Mason discloses a system and method for generation of ambient light wherein
monitor the audio content for keywords that are each associated with a respective scene (Page.6 L8-19: receive a speech input; captured via an audio input) ; and
detect, in the audio content, a given keyword indicative of a given scene (Page.6 L8-19: analyses the speech input to recognize words; compared recognizes words with a list of predetermined keywords), wherein the given lighting behavior reflects the given scene. (Page. 6 L18-19: link the keyword to a set of atmosphere parameter; Page.2 L17-24: parameter setting up green light when keyword wood is recognized)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to modify the system/method disclosed by Rasmussen to incorporate the keyword recognition system disclosed by Mason.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because this would enhance the listening experience for the user. (Mason Page.1 L15-17)
Regarding claim 7, Rasmussen in view of Mason hereinafter “Rasmussen/Mason” discloses the system of claim 6,
Rasmussen/Mason does not expclitly disclose:
the given keyword indicates a given direction, and wherein the given lighting behavior involves producing light in the given direction relative to a user in proximity of the lighting device.
Mason does disclose in Page.8 L13-24 that a number of different dynamic sequence of lighting can be associated with different scripts and different keywords.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to modify the system/method disclosed by Rasmussen/Mason to modify the script disclosed by Mason to have spatial difference for certain directional keywords.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because this would enhance the listening experience for the user. (Mason Page.9 L17-30)
Regarding claim 8, Rasmussen/Mason discloses the system of claim 6,
Rasmussen/Mason does not expclitly disclose:
the given keyword indicates a time of day;
the given lighting behavior involves producing colors associated with the time of day; and the system further comprises program instructions stored on the at least one non- transitory computer-readable medium that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to:
cause at least one of the one or more playback devices to produce ambient sound associated with the time of day in synchrony with (i) playback of the audio content by the given playback device and (ii) production of the given lighting behavior by the lighting device.
Mason does disclose in Page.8 L13-24 that a number of different dynamic sequence of lighting can be associated with different scripts and different keywords to include different dynamic lighting and related sound.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to modify the system/method disclosed by Rasmussen/Mason to modify the script disclosed by Mason to have spatial difference for certain directional keywords.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because this would enhance the listening experience for the user. (Mason Page.9 L17-30)
Regarding claim 9, Rasmussen/Mason discloses the system of claim 6
Rasmussen/Mason does not expclitly disclose:
the given keyword indicates an action, and wherein the given lighting behavior mimics the action.
Mason does disclose in Page.8 L13-24 that a number of different dynamic sequence of lighting can be associated with different scripts and different keywords to include different dynamic lighting and related sound.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to modify the system/method disclosed by Rasmussen/Mason to modify the script disclosed by Mason to have spatial difference for certain directional keywords.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because this would enhance the listening experience for the user. (Mason Page.9 L17-30)
Regarding claims 16, the claims recites same limitation as recited in claim 6, therefore rejected in the same manner as claim 6.
Conclusion
/Raymond R Chai/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844