DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is a response to the Application/Control Number: 18/800,999 filed on 08/12/2024.
Claims Status
2. This office action is based upon claims received on 08/12/2024, which replace all prior or other submitted versions of the claims.
-Claims 1-20 are pending.
-Claims 1-7,9-20 are rejected.
-Claim 8 is objected.
Priority
4. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
5. Claim 1, 3, 17, 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
A. Regarding claims 1, 17, 20, these claims recite the terms "resource block (RB) sets that can be occupied by physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) communications" which is not a positively cited claim language. Language that suggests or makes optional/intended use (for example, “so that”; “thereby”; “capable of”; “adapted to”; “able to”; “enable to”; “can be”; “may be”; “should be”; “….able”; “combinable”; “configurable”) but does not require steps to be performed or does not limit a claim to a particular structure does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation(s). Such clauses may render parts of the claims optional (see MPEP 2106 and 2111.04). Note: the limitation recited after “can be” clause is not given patentable weight because it is optional for the positively processing steps. The term may raise a question as to the limiting effect of the language in a claim. A similar alternative term such as a positive action verb to perform the function without any unnecessary ambiguity is suggested.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested to review and address questions raised and clarify its objective for the referred to claim language.
B. Regarding claim 3, these claims recite the terms "a number of RBs, in a given time resource, that are usable for the PSFCH feedback" which is not a positively cited claim language. Language that suggests or makes optional/intended use (for example, “so that”; “thereby”; “capable of”; “adapted to”; “able to”; “enable to”; “can be”; “may be”; “should be”; “….able”; “combinable”; “configurable”) but does not require steps to be performed or does not limit a claim to a particular structure does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation(s). Such clauses may render parts of the claims optional (see MPEP 2106 and 2111.04). Note: the limitation recited after “usable” clause is not given patentable weight because it is optional for the positively processing steps. The term may raise a question as to the limiting effect of the language in a claim. A similar alternative term such as a positive action verb to perform the function without any unnecessary ambiguity is suggested.
Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible. Applicant is requested to review and address questions raised and clarify its objective for the referred to claim language.
C. Claim 12 recites “a number of contiguous or non-contiguous RB sets”. To avoid questions raised “a number of” is interpreted as possibly applied to both (i) “contiguous” RB sets and separately (ii) “non-contiguous RB sets”, as opposed to whether “a number of” is interpreted as possibly applied to “contiguous” RB sets only and not applied to “non-contiguous RB sets”.
Should applicant contend otherwise, and for verification, applicant is requested to review and address any questions raised and verify applicant’s objective for the referred to claim language. Examiner interprets the subject claims listed as best possible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
set forth in this Office action:
and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory
basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and
the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the
effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised
of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that
was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner
to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art
against the later invention.
7. Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 9 – 17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ETSI TECHNICAL SPECIFICATON; 5G; NR; User Equipment (UE) radio access capabilities (3GPP TS 38.306 version 17.0.0 Release 17) (2022-05) i.e. “ETSI”, in view of LIN (US 20260101373 A1) i.e. “LIN”.
Regarding Claim 1. ETSI teaches: An apparatus configured for wireless communications (ETSI – Page 12 (ln 39-43) Section 4.2 UE Capability Parameters; 4.2.1 […] The following clauses define the UE radio access capability parameters. Only parameters for which there is the possibility for UEs to signal different values are considered as UE radio access capability parameters. […] The network needs to respect the signalled UE radio access capability parameters when configuring the UE and when scheduling the UE; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ETSI – Page 12 (ln 39-43) i.e. the UE reads on: An apparatus configured for wireless communications),
comprising: one or more memories comprising processor-executable instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the apparatus (ETSI – Page 12 (ln 39-43) See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ETSI – Page 12 (ln 39-43) i.e. the UE that is well known in prior art to comprise a computational device with at least one or more memories, one or more processors executing instructions reads on: comprising: one or more memories comprising processor-executable instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the apparatus. While not utilized in this rejection – prior art YEO et al (US 20200403737 A1) FIG. 27 & ¶0058 […] each block in the flowchart illustrations and combinations of blocks in the flowchart illustrations can be implemented by computer program instructions. These computer program instructions can be provided to a processor of a general-purpose computer, special-purpose computer, or other programmable data processing apparatus to produce a machine such that the instructions executed via the processor of the computer or other programmable data processing apparatus, generate means for implementing the functions specified in the flowchart block or blocks. These computer program instructions may also be stored in a computer-usable or computer-readable memory that can direct a computer or other programmable data processing apparatus to function in a particular manner, such that the instructions stored in the computer usable or computer-readable memory produce an article of manufacture including instruction means that implement the function specified in the flowchart block or blocks.; ¶0314 […] Upon receiving the PSSCH in slot n, a terminal that receives the PSSCH transmits HARQ-ACK feedback information of the PSSCH through the earliest PSFCH among PSFCHs in which an interval between the PSSCH and the PSFCH is greater than or equal to a y symbol. In the above, y may be a preconfigured value from a transmission terminal or a value configured in a resource pool in which the corresponding PSSCH or PSFCH is transmitted, and for the configuration of y, each terminal may exchange terminal capability with the transmission terminal in advance and y may be determined according to the subcarrier spacing; NOTE: ¶0360 terminal processor 2702 may control a series of procedures to allow the terminal to be operated […]; i.e. ¶0058 & ¶0360 also teaches “comprising: one or more memories comprising processor-executable instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the apparatus as well as ¶314 also teaches subsequent limitation “to: transmit capability information indicating at least one of: a number of PSFCH communications supported by the apparatus” )
to: transmit capability information indicating at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight):
a) a number of resource block (RB) sets that can be occupied by physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) communications of the apparatus(note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” including further separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight),
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
b) a number of PSFCH communications supported by the apparatus, wherein the number of PSFCH communications is associated with a configured number of PSFCHs(ETSI – Page 12 (ln 39-43) See above; ETSI – Page 150 (ln 1-10) Table 4.2.16.1.6 BandSidelink Parameters […] psfch-FormatZeroSidelink-r16 Indicates whether UE supports PSFCH format 0. If supported, this parameter indicates the support of the capabilities and includes the parameters as follows: - UE can transmit and receive NR PSFCH format 0. - psfch-RxNumber which indicates the number of PSFCH(s) resources that the UE can receive in a slot. Value n5 corresponds to 5, n15 corresponds to 15, and so on. - psfch-TxNumber which indicates the number of PSFCH(s) resources that the UE can transmit in a slot. Value n4 corresponds to 4, n8 corresponds to 8 […]; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ETSI – Page 12 (ln 39-43) i.e. The network needs to respect the signalled UE radio access capability parameters reads on: to: transmit capability information. Furthermore i.e. psfch-TxNumber which indicates the number of PSFCH(s) resources reads on: indicating at least one of: a number of PSFCH communications supported by the apparatus. Furthermore i.e. the number of PSFCH(s) resources that the UE can transmit in a slot. Value n4 corresponds to 4, n8 corresponds to 8 reads on: wherein the number of PSFCH communications is associated with a configured number of PSFCHs );
and transmit or receive PSFCH feedback in accordance with at least one of the configured number of PSFCHs (ETSI – Page 12 (ln 39-43) Section 4.2 See above; ETSI – Page 150 (ln 1-10) See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ETSI – Page 12 (ln 39-43) i.e. The network needs to respect the signalled UE radio access capability parameters reads on: to: transmit capability information. Furthermore i.e. psfch-TxNumber which indicates the number of PSFCH(s) resources that the UE can transmit in a slot reads on: and transmit PSFCH feedback in accordance with at least one of i.e. psfch-TxNumber which indicates the number of PSFCH(s) resources reads on: the configured number of PSFCHs that the UE can transmit) or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) the number of RB sets(note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight).
ETSI does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. See italicized portions of claim limitations): a maximum number of PSFCH communications supported by the apparatus, wherein the maximum number of PSFCH communications is associated with a configured number of PSFCH-carrying RBs;
LIN teaches: capability information indicating at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight):
a) a number of resource block (RB) sets that can be occupied by physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) communications of the apparatus (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” including further separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight)
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
a maximum number of PSFCH communications supported by the apparatus, wherein the maximum number of PSFCH communications is associated with a configured number of PSFCH-carrying RBs (LIN ¶0044 […] selecting the sidelink resources within the RB sets includes: selecting PSFCH resources within selected RB sets and determining corresponding transmission powers for the PSFCH resources, based on an order of priority levels of PSFCH transmissions and a UE capability. In some embodiments, the UE capability includes a maximum number of simultaneous PSFCH transmissions capable by the UE, and/or whether the UE is capable of transmitting simultaneously over non-contiguous RB sets; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0044 i.e. the UE capability includes a maximum number of simultaneous PSFCH transmissions capable by the UE reads on: a maximum number of PSFCH communications supported by the apparatus . Per ¶0044 i.e. selecting the sidelink resources within the RB sets includes: selecting PSFCH resources within selected RB sets and determining corresponding transmission powers for the PSFCH resources, i.e. based on an order of priority levels of PSFCH transmissions and i.e. a UE capability (where i.e. the UE capability includes a maximum number of simultaneous PSFCH transmissions) reads on: wherein the maximum number of PSFCH communications is associated with . Furthermore per ¶0044 based upon i.e. a UE capability i.e. selecting PSFCH resources i.e. within selected RB sets and i.e. the UE is capable of transmitting simultaneously over non-contiguous RB sets i.e. within selected RB sets reads on: a configured number of PSFCH-carrying RBs )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ETSI with teachings of LIN, since LIN enables to select sidelink resources within the RB sets, such that the UE is configured to select and allocate transmission powers to the sidelink channels for feeding back a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request (SL-HARQ) information in an unlicensed spectrum, which can solve issues and/or improve SL communication performance and reliability (LIN ¶0086).
Regarding Claim 3. ETSI in view of LIN and SI teaches: The apparatus of claim 2,
furthermore LIN teaches: wherein the number of PSFCH-carrying RBs indicates a number of RBs, in a given time resource, that are usable for the PSFCH feedback (LIN – FIG. 5 & ¶0064 […] the UE has up to 8 SL-HARQ feedback reports (i.e., 8 candidate PSFCH transmissions) to be transmitted in a PSFCH transmission occasion/slot 104. These 8 candidate PSFCH transmissions and corresponding resources which are located and span over the 3 RB sets within a PSFCH transmission occasion/slot 104 are illustrated together with their priority values. Let's further assume the SL UE is capable of transmitting a maximum of 4 PSFCHs in a PSFCH transmission occasion (i.e., N.sub.max, PSFCH=4); NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 5 ¶0064 i.e. These 8 candidate PSFCH transmissions and corresponding resources which are located and span over the 3 RB sets reads on: wherein the number of PSFCH-carrying RBs . Per FIG. 5 & ¶0064 i.e. 8 candidate PSFCH transmissions and corresponding resources depicted as blocks 105, 106, 107, 108, 109 reads on: indicates a number of RBs . Furthermore Per FIG. 5 & ¶0064 i.e. within a PSFCH transmission occasion/slot 104 reads on: in a given time resource, i.e. 8 candidate PSFCH transmissions and corresponding resources reads on: that are usable for the PSFCH feedback ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ETSI in view of LIN and SI, further with the teachings of LIN, since LIN enables to select sidelink resources within the RB sets, such that the UE is configured to select and allocate transmission powers to the sidelink channels for feeding back a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request (SL-HARQ) information in an unlicensed spectrum, which can solve issues and/or improve SL communication performance and reliability (LIN ¶0086).
Regarding Claim 4. ETSI in view of LIN and SI teaches: The apparatus of claim 3,
furthermore LIN teaches: wherein the PSFCH feedback includes a hybrid automatic repeat request feedback (LIN – FIG. 5 & ¶0064 See claim 3; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per FIG. 5 ¶0064 i.e. These 8 candidate PSFCH transmissions and corresponding resources which are located and span over the 3 RB sets reads on: wherein the number of PSFCH-carrying RBs . Per FIG. 5 & ¶0064 i.e. the UE has up to 8 SL-HARQ feedback reports (i.e., 8 candidate PSFCH transmissions) reads on: wherein the PSFCH feedback includes a hybrid automatic repeat request feedback)
or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
a conflict indication(note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ETSI in view of LIN and SI, further with the teachings of LIN, since LIN enables to select sidelink resources within the RB sets, such that the UE is configured to select and allocate transmission powers to the sidelink channels for feeding back a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request (SL-HARQ) information in an unlicensed spectrum, which can solve issues and/or improve SL communication performance and reliability (LIN ¶0086).
Regarding Claim 6. ETSI in view of LIN and SI teaches: The apparatus of claim 2,
furthermore LIN teaches: wherein the one or more processors, to cause the apparatus to transmit or (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) receive(note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) the PSFCH feedback in accordance with at least one of (note: limitations subsequent to recitation “at least one of” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of carrying patentable weight)
the configuration(note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
or(note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
the number of RB sets, are configured to cause the apparatus to transmit
or(note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) or(note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight) receive (note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
or(note: limitations separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required together i.e. for the purposes of patentable weight)
the PSFCH feedback that includes, at most, the maximum number of PSFCH communications(LIN – FIG. 5 & ¶0064 See claim 3; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per FIG. 5 & ¶0064 i.e. the UE has up to 8 SL-HARQ feedback reports (i.e., 8 candidate PSFCH transmissions). These 8 candidate PSFCH transmissions and corresponding resources which are located and span over the 3 RB sets within a PSFCH transmission occasion/slot 104 reads on: wherein the one or more processors, to cause the apparatus to transmit the PSFCH feedback in accordance with at least one of the configuration or i.e. are located and span over the 3 RB sets reads on: the number of RB sets. Furthermore per ¶0064 i.e. SL UE is capable of transmitting a maximum of 4 PSFCHs in a PSFCH transmission occasion (i.e., N.sub.max, PSFCH=4) reads on: are configured to cause the apparatus to transmit or receive the PSFCH feedback that includes, at most, the maximum number of PSFCH communications ) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ETSI in view of LIN and SI, further with the teachings of LIN, since LIN enables to select sidelink resources within the RB sets, such that the UE is configured to select and allocate transmission powers to the sidelink channels for feeding back a sidelink hybrid automatic repeat request (SL-HARQ) information in an unlicensed spectrum, which can solve issues and/or improve SL communication performance and reliability (LIN ¶0086).
Regarding Claim 9. ETSI in view of LIN teaches: The apparatus of claim 1, (Claim 9 depends from claim 1, and the claim 9 limitation associates with and recites “the number of RB sets” where “number of resource block (RB) sets” is presented in the alternative in claim 1 and not required, and therefore the limitations in claim 9 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required)
wherein the capability information indicates the number of RB sets(Claim 9 depends from claim 1, and the claim 9 limitation associates with and recites “the number of RB sets” where “number of resource block (RB) sets” is presented in the alternative in claim 1 and not required, and therefore the limitations in claim 9 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required).
Regarding Claim 10. ETSI in view of LIN teaches: The apparatus of claim 9,
(Claim 10 depends from claim 9, where the limitations in claim 9 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required, and therefore at least via dependency to claim 9, limitations in claim 10 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required)
wherein the number of RB sets is a number of contiguous RB sets(Claim 10 depends from claim 9, where the limitations in claim 9 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required, and therefore at least via dependency to claim 9, limitations in claim 10 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required).
Regarding Claim 11. ETSI in view of LIN teaches: The apparatus of claim 9, (Claim 11 depends from claim 9, where the limitations in claim 9 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required, and therefore at least via dependency to claim 9, limitations in claim 11 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required) wherein the number of RB sets is a number of non-contiguous RB sets(Claim 11 depends from claim 9, where the limitations in claim 9 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required, and therefore at least via dependency to claim 9, limitations in claim 11 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required).
Regarding Claim 12. ETSI in view of LIN teaches: The apparatus of claim 9, (Claim 12 depends from claim 9, where the limitations in claim 9 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required, and therefore at least via dependency to claim 9, limitations in Claim 12 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required) wherein the number of RB sets indicates a number of contiguous or non-contiguous RB sets that multiple PSFCH communications can occupy(Claim 12 depends from claim 9, where the limitations in claim 9 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required, and therefore at least via dependency to claim 9, limitations in Claim 12 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required).
Regarding Claim 13. ETSI in view of LIN teaches: The apparatus of claim 9, (Claim 13 depends from claim 9, where the limitations in claim 9 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required, and therefore at least via dependency to claim 9, limitations in Claim 13 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required) wherein the one or more processors, to cause the apparatus to transmit or receive the PSFCH feedback in accordance with at least one of the configured number of PSFCH-carrying RBs or the number of RB sets, are configured to cause the apparatus to drop one or more PSFCH communications of the PSFCH feedback in accordance with at least one of the maximum number of PSFCH communications or the number of RB sets(Claim 13 depends from claim 9, where the limitations in claim 9 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required, and therefore at least via dependency to claim 9, limitations in Claim 13 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required).
Regarding Claim 14. ETSI in view of LIN teaches: The apparatus of claim 13,
(Claim 14 depends from claim 13, and claim 13 furthermore depends from claim 9, where the limitations in claim 9 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required (See claim 9), and therefore at least via dependency to claim 9, limitations in claim 14 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required) wherein the one or more processors, to cause the apparatus to drop the one or more PSFCH communications, are configured to cause the apparatus to drop the one or more PSFCH communications according to one or more priorities associated with the one or more PSFCH communications(Claim 14 depends from claim 13, and claim 13 furthermore depends from claim 9, where the limitations in claim 9 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required (See claim 9), and therefore at least via dependency to claim 9, limitations in claim 14 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required).
Regarding Claim 15. ETSI in view of LIN teaches: The apparatus of claim 13,
(Claim 15 depends from claim 13, and claim 13 furthermore depends from claim 9, where the limitations in claim 9 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required (See claim 9), and therefore at least via dependency to claim 9, limitations in claim 15 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required) wherein dropping the one or more PSFCH communications further dropping the one or more PSFCH communications according to at least one of: whether the one or more PSFCH communications carry a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) acknowledgment or a conflict indication, or a priority value for information carried by the one or more PSFCH communications(Claim 15 depends from claim 13, and claim 13 furthermore depends from claim 9, where the limitations in claim 9 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required (See claim 9), and therefore at least via dependency to claim 9, limitations in claim 15 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required).
Regarding Claim 16. ETSI in view of LIN teaches: The apparatus of claim 13, (Claim 16 depends from claim 13, and claim 13 furthermore depends from claim 9, where the limitations in claim 9 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required (See claim 9), and therefore at least via dependency to claim 9, limitations in claim 16 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required) wherein the one or more processors, to cause the apparatus to drop the one or more PSFCH communications, are configured to cause the apparatus to drop the one or more PSFCH communications in accordance with the number of RB sets being exceeded(Claim 16 depends from claim 13, and claim 13 furthermore depends from claim 9, where the limitations in claim 9 are also deemed and interpreted as presented in the alternative and not required (See claim 9), and therefore at least via dependency to claim 9, limitations in claim 16 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required).
Regarding Claim 17. ETSI teaches: A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) (ETSI – Page 12 (ln 39-43) Section 4.2 UE Capability Parameters; 4.2.1 […] The following clauses define the UE radio access capability parameters. Only parameters for which there is the possibility for UEs to signal different values are considered as UE radio access capability parameters. […] The network needs to respect the signalled UE radio access capability parameters when configuring the UE and when scheduling the UE; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ETSI – Page 12 (ln 39-43) i.e. UEs to signal different values reads on: A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE)),
(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 17 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 17. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) comprising: transmitting capability information indicating at least one of: a) a number of resource block (RB) sets that can be occupied by physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) communications of the UE, or b) a maximum number of PSFCH communications supported by the UE, wherein the maximum number of PSFCH communications is associated with a configured number of PSFCH-carrying RBs; and transmitting or receiving PSFCH feedback in accordance with at least one of the configured number of PSFCH-carrying RBs or the number of RB sets(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 17 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 17. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Regarding Claim 20. ETSI teaches: A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication, the set of instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a user equipment (UE), cause the UE (ETSI – Page 12 (ln 39-43) See above; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ETSI – Page 12 (ln 39-43) i.e. the UE that is well known in prior art to comprise a computational device with at least one or more memories, one or more processors executing instructions reads on: A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication, the set of instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a user equipment (UE), cause the UE. While not utilized in this rejection – prior art YEO et al (US 20200403737 A1) FIG. 27 & ¶0058 […] See claim 1.; ¶0314 See claim 1; ¶0360 See claim 1; i.e. ¶0058 & ¶0360 also teaches “A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for wireless communication, the set of instructions comprising: one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a user equipment (UE), cause the UE” as well as ¶314 also teaches subsequent limitation “to: transmit capability information indicating at least one of: a number of PSFCH communications supported by the UE” )
(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 20 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 20. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) to: transmit capability information indicating at least one of: a number of resource block (RB) sets that can be occupied by physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) communications of the UE, or a maximum number of PSFCH communications supported by the UE, wherein the maximum number of PSFCH communications is associated with a configured number of PSFCH-carrying RBs; and transmit or receive PSFCH feedback in accordance with at least one of the configured number of PSFCH-carrying RBs or the number of RB sets(See the rejection of Claim 1, Claim 20 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 1, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 1 applies similarly to Claim 20. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
8. Claims 2, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ETSI in view of LIN, further in view of SI (US 20250024469 A1), i.e. “SI”.
Regarding Claim 2. ETSI in view of LIN teaches: The apparatus of claim 1,
furthermore LIN teaches: wherein the capability information indicates the maximum number of PSFCH communications supported by the apparatus (LIN ¶0044 See claim 1; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0044 i.e. the UE capability includes reads on: wherein the capability information indicates i.e. a maximum number of simultaneous PSFCH transmissions capable by the UE reads on: the maximum number of PSFCH communications supported by the apparatus . Per ¶0044 i.e. selecting the sidelink resources within the RB sets includes: selecting PSFCH resources within selected RB sets and determining corresponding transmission powers for the PSFCH resources, i.e. based on an order of priority levels of PSFCH transmissions and i.e. a UE capability (where i.e. the UE capability includes a maximum number of simultaneous PSFCH transmissions) reads on: wherein the maximum number of PSFCH communications is associated with . Furthermore per ¶0044 based upon i.e. a UE capability i.e. selecting PSFCH resources i.e. within selected RB sets and i.e. the UE is capable of transmitting simultaneously over non-contiguous RB sets i.e. within selected RB sets reads on: a configured number of PSFCH-carrying RBs )
ETSI in view of LIN does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. See italicized portions of claim limitations): wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to receive a configuration of the number of PSFCH-carrying RBs
SI teaches: wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to receive a configuration of the number of PSFCH-carrying RBs (SI – FIG. 7 & ¶0233 […] 701, a UE receives a set of (pre-)configurations; ¶0229 […][0229] For yet another instance, N.sub.PSSCH.sup.PSFCH=N.Math.N.sub.LBT.sup.PSFCH/N.sup.RB-set, wherein N is the (pre-)configuration, N.sub.LBT.sup.PSFCH is a number of PSFCH transmission occasions associated with one PSSCH transmission (e.g., to mitigate the impact from LBT), the number can be provided by another (pre-)configuration, and N.sup.RB-set is a number of RB-sets in the resource pool, or a number of RB-sets associated with the PSSCH, or a number of RB-sets selected for PSFCH transmission; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: Per ¶0222 i.e. a UE receives a set of (pre-)configurations reads on: wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to receive a configuration . Furthermore per ¶0229 i.e. N is the (pre-)configuration and i.e. the number can be provided by another (pre-)configuration, and N.sup.RB-set is a number of RB-sets in the resource pool, or a number of RB-sets associated with the PSSCH, or a number of RB-sets selected for PSFCH transmission reads on: of the number of PSFCH-carrying RBs ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ETSI in view of LIN with teachings of SI, since SI enables procedures in 5G/NR communication system to enable robust coverage and mobility support, such as enabling communicating directly within UEs through a set of SLs to provide sideline communication, in situations where the UEs are remotely located or otherwise in need of facilitation for network access connections beyond or in addition to common fronthaul and/or backhaul connections/interfaces (SI ¶0020, ¶0034).
Regarding Claim 18. ETSI in view of LIN teaches: The method of claim 17, (See the rejection of Claim 2, Claim 18 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 2, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 2 applies similarly to Claim 18. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) further comprising: receiving a configuration of the number of PSFCH-carrying RBs, wherein the capability information indicates the maximum number of PSFCH communications supported by the UE(See the rejection of Claim 2, Claim 18 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 2, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 2 applies similarly to Claim 18. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
9. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ETSI in view of LIN and SI, further in view of NGUYEN et al (US 20210105728 A1), i.e. “NGUYEN”.
Regarding Claim 5. ETSI in view of LIN and SI teaches: The apparatus of claim 2,
ETSI in view of LIN and SI does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. See italicized portions of claim limitations): the maximum number of PSFCH communications supported by the apparatus is selected from a set of maximum numbers of PSFCH communications, wherein the set of maximum numbers of PSFCH communications corresponds to the number of PSFCH-carrying RBs;
NGUYEN teaches: wherein the maximum number of PSFCH communications supported by the apparatus is selected from a set of maximum numbers of PSFCH communications, wherein the set of maximum numbers of PSFCH communications corresponds to the number of PSFCH-carrying RBs (NGUYEN - ¶0082 […] when a UE has multiple PSFCH transmissions to transmit in a given HARQ feedback occasion (e.g., based at least in part on a plurality of sidelink communications that are received from one or more other UEs on a sidelink, such as a PSSCH, a PSCCH, and/or the like), the UE may identify a subset of the PSFCH transmissions to be transmitted in a next HARQ feedback occasion using the techniques described in further detail herein. For example, in some aspects, the UE may identify various candidate sets of PSFCH transmissions that each include a quantity of PSFCH transmissions that satisfies a threshold value (e.g., is less than or equal to a maximum number of PSFCH transmissions that the UE has a capability to transmit and/or is permitted to transmit in a single HARQ feedback occasion). ; ¶0095 […] the UE may equally divide the maximum available transmit power among the n PSFCH transmissions in a particular candidate set, in which case the transmit power available to allocate to an individual PSFCH transmission (P.sub.1) may be the maximum available transmit power divided by n. Additionally, or alternatively, in some aspects, all RBs may have an equal power spectrum density, in which case the maximum available transmit power may be divided among a quantity of RBs in which the n PSFCH transmissions are to be sent; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0082 i.e. the UE may identify various candidate sets of PSFCH transmissions that each include a quantity of PSFCH transmissions that satisfies a threshold value (e.g., is less than or equal to a maximum number of PSFCH transmissions reads on: wherein the maximum number of PSFCH communications supported by the apparatus is selected from a set of maximum numbers of PSFCH communications . Furthermore per ¶0082 i.e. the UE may identify various candidate sets of PSFCH transmissions that each include a quantity of PSFCH transmissions that satisfies a threshold value (e.g., is less than or equal to a maximum number of PSFCH transmissions reads on: wherein the set of maximum numbers of PSFCH communications and per ¶0095 i.e. transmit power may be divided among a quantity of RBs in which the n PSFCH transmissions are to be sent reads on: corresponds to the number of PSFCH-carrying RBs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ETSI in view of LIN and SI, with teachings of NGUYEN, since NGUYEN enables that a UE may provide HARQ feedback for multiple sidelink communications in a single HARQ feedback occasion in a manner that allocates appropriate transmit power to each PSFCH transmission, complies with transmit power constraints, provides a maximum return on transmission utility (NGUYEN ¶0082).
10. Claims 7, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ETSI in view of LIN, further in view of NGUYEN et al (US 20210105728 A1), i.e. “NGUYEN”.
Regarding Claim 7. ETSI in view of LIN teaches: The apparatus of claim 1,
ETSI in view of LIN does not appear to explicitly teach or strongly suggest (i.e. See italicized portions of claim limitations): the capability information indicates a plurality of maximum numbers of PSFCH communications supported by the apparatus, where each maximum number of PSFCH communications, of the plurality of maximum numbers of PSFCH communications, corresponds to a different number of PSFCH-carrying RBs of a plurality of numbers of PSFCH-carrying RBs;
NGUYEN teaches: wherein the capability information indicates a plurality of maximum numbers of PSFCH communications supported by the apparatus, where each maximum number of PSFCH communications, of the plurality of maximum numbers of PSFCH communications, corresponds to a different number of PSFCH-carrying RBs of a plurality of numbers of PSFCH-carrying RBs(NGUYEN - ¶0082 See claim 5 ; ¶0095 See claim 5; NOTE-DISCLOSURE & TEACHING: per ¶0082 i.e. the UE may identify various candidate sets of PSFCH transmissions that each include a quantity of PSFCH transmissions that satisfies a threshold value (e.g., is less than or equal to a maximum number of PSFCH transmissions that the UE has a capability to transmit and/or is permitted to transmit reads on: wherein the capability information indicates a plurality of maximum numbers of PSFCH communications supported by the apparatus. Furthermore per ¶0082 i.e. the UE may identify various candidate sets of PSFCH transmissions that each include a quantity of PSFCH transmissions that satisfies a threshold value (e.g., is less than or equal to a maximum number of PSFCH transmissions reads on: where each maximum number of PSFCH communications, of the plurality of maximum numbers of PSFCH communications and per ¶0095 i.e. transmit power may be divided among a quantity of RBs in which the n PSFCH transmissions are to be sent reads on: corresponds to a different number of PSFCH-carrying RBs of a plurality of numbers of PSFCH-carrying RBs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of ETSI in view of LIN, with teachings of NGUYEN, since NGUYEN enables that a UE may provide HARQ feedback for multiple sidelink communications in a single HARQ feedback occasion in a manner that allocates appropriate transmit power to each PSFCH transmission, complies with transmit power constraints, provides a maximum return on transmission utility (NGUYEN ¶0082).
Regarding Claim 19. ETSI in view of LIN teaches: The method of claim 17, (See the rejection of Claim 7, Claim 19 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 7, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 7 applies similarly to Claim 19. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate) wherein the capability information indicates a plurality of maximum numbers of PSFCH communications supported by the UE, where each maximum number of PSFCH communications, of the plurality of maximum numbers of PSFCH communications, corresponds to a different number of PSFCH-carrying RBs of a plurality of numbers of PSFCH-carrying RBs(See the rejection of Claim 7, Claim 19 recites similar and parallel features to Claim 7, and the rationale for the rejection of Claim 7 applies similarly to Claim 19. Where applicable, minor differences between claims are noted as appropriate).
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable contingent upon or subject to all of the following conditions:
(1) that the claims are rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as presented by applicant and referenced herein,
(2) that all independent claims were amended with similar, identical and parallel features and amendments in the independent claims representing identical features were submitted in a formal response,
(3) that the claim limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations,
(4) that all pending issues associated with the claims including:
(a) clarifying applicable issues related with claim objections under minor informalities and 112 (b) rejections,
(b) issues related with the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations, including the independent claims,
are all acceptably resolved, and do not result in a case where, given the scope of any applicant claimed amendments and/or arguments, examination would require would require further consideration and search.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 8. The apparatus of claim 7, contingent upon or subject to the conditions noted herein above, the prior art of record fails to disclose, alone, individually or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim(s): “wherein the plurality of maximum numbers of PSFCH communications includes a first maximum number of PSFCH communications and a second maximum number of PSFCH communications, wherein the first maximum number of PSFCH communications corresponds to a first number of PSFCH-carrying RBs of the plurality of numbers of PSFCH-carrying RBs, wherein the second maximum number of PSFCH communications corresponds to a second number of ACK/NACK-carrying RBs of the plurality of numbers of PSFCH-carrying RBs, wherein the first maximum number of PSFCH communications is higher than the second maximum number of PSFCH communications, and wherein the first number of PSFCH-carrying RBs is lower than the second number of PSFCH-carrying RBs”.
Please note: The examiner notes the above limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitation, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations.
Conclusion
/M.A.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2414
07/08/2026