DETAILED ACTION
In the present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, claims 43-57 have been considered and examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Respond to Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 11/11/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-42 and Preliminary Amendment of claim 43-57, has been fully considered. Therefore, the rejections of claims 1-42 are withdrawn, and the case is reopened with rejections of claims 43-57 (see below rejections for detail).
Double Patenting
See MPEP § 717 .02 for applications subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA as explained in MPEP § 2159. See MPEP §§ 706.02(1)(1) - 706.02(1)(3) for applications not subject to examination under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . A terminal disclaimer must be signed in compliance with 37 CFR 1.32l(b).
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer tohttp ://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-l.jsp.
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 43-57 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 1-19 of the patent US 12,089,565 B2 since the claims, if allowed, would improperly extend the "right to exclude" already granted in the patent.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent US 12,089,565 B2 and are claiming common subject matter, as follows:
Claims
18/801,033
Claims
12,089,565 B2
43
a system comprising:
1
a system comprising:
43
a beacon, a collar device, and an application executable on a processor of a computing device that is separate from the beacon and the collar, wherein the beacon, the collar device and the application are configured to communicate through wireless communications;
1
a beacon, a collar device, and an application executable on a processor of a mobile computing device that is separate from the beacon and the collar, wherein the beacon, the collar device and the application are configured to communicate through wireless communications,
43
wherein the beacon is configured to periodically transmit a unique identifying number corresponding to and identifying the beacon, the application being configured to detect the unique identifying number of the beacon;
1
wherein the beacon is positionable at a location in an environment; wherein the beacon is configured to periodically transmit a unique identifying number corresponding to and identifying the beacon, the application being configured to detect the unique identifying number of the beacon;
43
wherein the application is configured to:
1
wherein the application is configured to:
43
detect a transmission of the beacon when the computing device is within a transmission range of the beacon, the transmission including a unique identifying number of the beacon;
1
detect the unique identifying number of the beacon in a discovery mode when the mobile computing device is within a transmission range of the beacon;
43
receive configuration information of the beacon in a user interface of the computing device, the configuration information including a range and a function of a plurality of functions;
1
receive configuration information of the beacon in a user interface of the mobile computing device, the configuration information including a first corresponding distance value selected from among a plurality of distance values and a first corresponding function of a plurality of functions;
43
organize linking information, the organizing linking information comprising linking the unique identifying number of the beacon with the range value and the function; and
1
organize linking information, the organizing linking information comprising linking the unique identifying number of the beacon with the first corresponding distance value and the first corresponding function;
43
transmit the linking information from the computing device to the collar device, and
1
transmit the linking information from the mobile computing device to the collar device, and wherein the collar device stores the linking information on the collar device and is configured to:
43
wherein the collar device stores the linking information on the collar device and is configured to:
43
detect a second transmission of the beacon including the unique identifying number;
1
detect a transmission of the beacon including the unique identifying number;
43
use the second transmission of the beacon detected at the collar device to identify the unique identifying number of the beacon and to determine an estimated range from the collar device to a location of the beacon;
1
use information of the detected transmission of the beacon to identify the unique identifying number of the beacon and to determine an estimated distance from the collar device to a location of the beacon, the estimated distance being based at least in part on a signal strength of the detected transmission of the beacon;
43
use the linking information to identify the first corresponding function and the first corresponding range value stored on the collar device based on the unique identifying number; and
1
use the linking information to identify the first corresponding function and the first corresponding distance value stored on the collar device based on the unique identifying number; and
43
based on the estimated range meeting at least one criterion with respect to the range, perform the first corresponding function.
1
based on the estimated distance meeting at least one criterion with respect to the first corresponding distance value, perform the first corresponding function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 43-57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eramian (Eramian – US 2015/0350848 A1) in view of Rosen et al. (Rosen – US 2014/0062695 A1 and Bonge, Jr. (Bonge – US 2016/0021506 A1).
As to claim 43, Eramian discloses a system comprising:
a beacon (Eramian: [0019], [0023]-[0024], and FIG. 1 the home location beacon 130: In such an example, home location beacon 130 may be range limited to correspond only to the room (or a sub-area of a room), and a plurality of other beacons may be distributed throughout the location, each capable of uniquely connecting to user device 110), a collar device (Eramian: [0018], [0062], and FIG. 1 the user device 110: In some embodiments, user device 110 may even correspond to a small communication module/tag and be placed on a pet (e.g., on a collar), or with a wristband or item of clothing of a ward), and an application executable on a processor of a computing device that is separate from the beacon and the collar (Eramian: [0019]-[0020], and FIG. 1-2 the user device 110: User device 110, home location beacon 130, and service provider server 140 may each include one or more processors, memories, and other appropriate components for executing instructions such as program code and/or data stored on one or more computer readable mediums to implement the various applications, data, and steps described herein), wherein the beacon, the collar device and the application are configured to communicate through wireless communications (Eramian: [0012]-[0013], [0018]-[0020], [0060]-[0062], and FIG. 1-2 the network 15: A user, such as a homeowner, caretaker, or guardian of another individual, may set up one or more wireless beacons throughout a location where another person or animal resides. For example, the short range wireless beacon may be established throughout a home location of the user. The wireless beacons may utilize short range wireless communications to detect another device on, possessed by, or attached to the person/animal. The beacon may employ BLE communications that emit a signal receivable by the device. The communication may include an identifier for the beacon, the user, and/or a service provider offering monitoring and/or check-in services through the wireless beacons. The device may be set up to passively monitor for BLE communications);
wherein the beacon is configured to transmit a unique identifying number corresponding to and identifying the beacon (Eramian: [0013]: The beacon may employ BLE communications that emit a signal receivable by the device. The communication may include an identifier for the beacon, the user, and/or a service provider offering monitoring and/or check-in services through the wireless beacons, [0024], [0026], [0039], [0041], and FIG. 1: home location beacon 130 may broadcast a token, such as a universally unique identifier (UUID), for reception by check-in application 112, as will be explained in more detail herein. Check-in application 112 may utilize communication module 118 of user device 110 to receive the token from home location beacon 130. If check-in application 112 acknowledges the UUID as identifying home location beacon 130 and/or service provider server 140 (e.g., if check-in application 112 determines the UUID corresponds to a request to complete a check-in), check-in application 112 may transmit an identifier corresponding to user 102 and/or user device 110 back to home location beacon 130. Check-in application 112 may utilize communication module 118 of user device 110 to communicate with home location beacon 130 (e.g., over near field communication, Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy, radio, infrared, LTE Direct, or other connection). The identifier from user device 110 may include, be transmitted with, concatenated with, or otherwise bundled with the identifier received from home location beacon 130),
the application (Eramian: FIG. 1 the check-in application 120 of the user device 110) being configured to detect the unique identifying number of the beacon (Eramian: [0013]: The beacon may employ BLE communications that emit a signal receivable by the device. The communication may include an identifier for the beacon, the user, and/or a service provider offering monitoring and/or check-in services through the wireless beacons, [0024], [0026], [0039], [0041], and FIG. 1: home location beacon 130 may broadcast a token, such as a universally unique identifier (UUID), for reception by check-in application 112, as will be explained in more detail herein. Check-in application 112 may utilize communication module 118 of user device 110 to receive the token from home location beacon 130. If check-in application 112 acknowledges the UUID as identifying home location beacon 130 and/or service provider server 140 (e.g., if check-in application 112 determines the UUID corresponds to a request to complete a check-in), check-in application 112 may transmit an identifier corresponding to user 102 and/or user device 110 back to home location beacon 130. Check-in application 112 may utilize communication module 118 of user device 110 to communicate with home location beacon 130 (e.g., over near field communication, Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy, radio, infrared, LTE Direct, or other connection). The identifier from user device 110 may include, be transmitted with, concatenated with, or otherwise bundled with the identifier received from home location beacon 130);
wherein the application is configured to:
detect a transmission of the beacon when the computing device is within a transmission range of the beacon (Eramian: [0023]-[0024], [0026], [0039], [0041], and FIG. 1 the home location beacon 130), the transmission including a unique identifying number of the beacon (Eramian: [0023]-[0024], [0026], [0039], [0041], and FIG. 1 the home location beacon 130: the connection may be established with or without user input from user 102. For example, home location beacon 130 may broadcast a token, such as a universally unique identifier (UUID), for reception by check-in application 112, as will be explained in more detail herein. Check-in application 112 may utilize communication module 118 of user device 110 to receive the token from home location beacon 130. If check-in application 112 acknowledges the UUID as identifying home location beacon 130 and/or service provider server 140 (e.g., if check-in application 112 determines the UUID corresponds to a request to complete a check-in), check-in application 112 may transmit an identifier corresponding to user 102 and/or user device 110 back to home location beacon 130).
Eramian does not explicitly disclose a beacon a collar device, and an application executable on a processor of a computing device that is separate from the beacon and the collar;
wherein the beacon is configured to periodically transmit a unique identifying number corresponding to and identifying the beacon
receive configuration information of the beacon in a user interface of the computing device, the configuration information including a range and a function of a plurality of functions;
organize linking information, the organizing linking information comprising linking the unique identifying number of the beacon with the range value and the function; and
transmit the linking information from the computing device to the collar device, and
wherein the collar device stores the linking information on the collar device and is configured to:
detect a second transmission of the beacon including the unique identifying number;
use the second transmission of the beacon detected at the collar device to identify the unique identifying number of the beacon and to determine an estimated range from the collar device to a location of the beacon;
use the linking information to identify the first corresponding function and the first corresponding range value stored on the collar device based on the unique identifying number; and
based on the estimated range meeting at least one criterion with respect to the range, perform the first corresponding function.
However, it has been known in the art of location tracking to implement a beacon a collar device, and an application executable on a processor of a computing device that is separate from the beacon and the collar, wherein the beacon is configured to periodically transmit a unique identifying number corresponding to and identifying the beacon;
receive configuration information of the beacon in a user interface of the computing device,
organize linking information, the organizing linking information comprising linking the unique identifying number of the beacon with the range value and the function; and
wherein the collar device stores the linking information on the collar device and is configured to:
detect a second transmission of the beacon including the unique identifying number;
use the second transmission of the beacon detected at the collar device to identify the unique identifying number of the beacon and to determine an estimated range from the collar device to a location of the beacon;
use the linking information to identify the first corresponding function and the first corresponding range value stored on the collar device based on the unique identifying number; and
based on the estimated range meeting at least one criterion with respect to the range, perform the first corresponding function, as suggested by Rosen, which discloses a beacon (Rosen: Abstract, [0034], [0051], [0055], [0068], [0079], and FIG. 2-3: the portable safe-zone beacon may begin periodically broadcasting short-range radio transmissions that indicate the portable safe-zone (or portable safe-zone broadcasts) and that are configured based on the operations in block 202), a collar device (Rosen: [0048] and FIG. 1: the app on the mobile phone may store configurations for the base safe-zone beacon broadcasts (e.g., frequency of broadcast transmissions, scheduling of broadcasts throughout a time period, alarm counter information, alarm time tolerance thresholds, identification data regarding tracking devices associated with the base safe-zone, etc.). Once a communication link is established with the mobile device, the portable safe-zone beacon may receive and store the various configuration data describing the base safe-zone, utilizing the data to define or configure the portable safe-zone broadcasts. In an embodiment, through the mobile app, the mobile device may receive user input data and transmit configuration information to the portable safe-zone beacon for implementation in the portable safe-zone broadcasts. For example, the user may adjust the default frequency of portable safe-zone broadcasts based interactions with the mobile device app. In another embodiment, the mobile device may also pair and communicate with the base safe-zone beacon and similarly transmit configuration data for the base safe-zone), and an application executable on a processor of a computing device that is separate from the beacon and the collar (Rosen: Abstract, [0028], [0048], [0074], [0093], and FIG. 5: the app on the mobile phone may store configurations for the base safe-zone beacon broadcasts (e.g., frequency of broadcast transmissions, scheduling of broadcasts throughout a time period, alarm counter information, alarm time tolerance thresholds, identification data regarding tracking devices associated with the base safe-zone, etc.). Once a communication link is established with the mobile device, the portable safe-zone beacon may receive and store the various configuration data describing the base safe-zone, utilizing the data to define or configure the portable safe-zone broadcasts. In an embodiment, through the mobile app, the mobile device may receive user input data and transmit configuration information to the portable safe-zone beacon for implementation in the portable safe-zone broadcasts. For example, the user may adjust the default frequency of portable safe-zone broadcasts based interactions with the mobile device app. In another embodiment, the mobile device may also pair and communicate with the base safe-zone beacon and similarly transmit configuration data for the base safe-zone),
wherein the beacon is configured to periodically transmit a unique identifying number corresponding to and identifying the beacon (Rosen: Abstract, [0034], [0051], [0055], [0068], [0079], and FIG. 2-3: the portable safe-zone beacon may begin periodically broadcasting short-range radio transmissions that indicate the portable safe-zone (or portable safe-zone broadcasts) and that are configured based on the operations in block 202);
receive configuration information of the beacon in a user interface of the computing device (Rosen: [0048] and FIG. 1: the app on the mobile phone may store configurations for the base safe-zone beacon broadcasts (e.g., frequency of broadcast transmissions, scheduling of broadcasts throughout a time period, alarm counter information, alarm time tolerance thresholds, identification data regarding tracking devices associated with the base safe-zone, etc.). Once a communication link is established with the mobile device, the portable safe-zone beacon may receive and store the various configuration data describing the base safe-zone, utilizing the data to define or configure the portable safe-zone broadcasts. In an embodiment, through the mobile app, the mobile device may receive user input data and transmit configuration information to the portable safe-zone beacon for implementation in the portable safe-zone broadcasts. For example, the user may adjust the default frequency of portable safe-zone broadcasts based interactions with the mobile device app. In another embodiment, the mobile device may also pair and communicate with the base safe-zone beacon and similarly transmit configuration data for the base safe-zone),
organize linking information, the organizing linking information comprising linking the unique identifying number of the beacon with the range value and the function (Rosen: Abstract, [0028], [0048], [0074], [0093], and FIG. 5: the app on the mobile phone may store configurations for the base safe-zone beacon broadcasts (e.g., frequency of broadcast transmissions, scheduling of broadcasts throughout a time period, alarm counter information, alarm time tolerance thresholds, identification data regarding tracking devices associated with the base safe-zone, etc.). Once a communication link is established with the mobile device, the portable safe-zone beacon may receive and store the various configuration data describing the base safe-zone, utilizing the data to define or configure the portable safe-zone broadcasts. In an embodiment, through the mobile app, the mobile device may receive user input data and transmit configuration information to the portable safe-zone beacon for implementation in the portable safe-zone broadcasts. For example, the user may adjust the default frequency of portable safe-zone broadcasts based interactions with the mobile device app. In another embodiment, the mobile device may also pair and communicate with the base safe-zone beacon and similarly transmit configuration data for the base safe-zone); and
wherein the collar device (Rosen: FIG. 1 the tracking device 1) stores the linking information on the collar device (Rosen: [0026]-[0028], [0032]-[0035], [0067], [0081]-[0082], FIG. 2-3, and FIG. 5: the protocol file may dictate a schedule or periodicity for sending messages. For example, the protocol file may indicate that the tracking device should send alarm messages every few minutes until either the tracking device battery is depleted or a base safe-zone broadcast is received. As another example, to abate false alarms, the protocol file may direct the tracking device to wait a predetermined amount of time after an alarm counter expires before transmitting any alarm message. In an embodiment, the tracking device may update or otherwise modify the protocol file based on data and/or instructions within safe-zone broadcasts, transmissions with the portable safe-zone beacon, or any other communications received via the tracking device's various transceivers) and is configured to:
detect a second transmission of the beacon including the unique identifying number (Rosen:[0032]-[0034], [0051], [0060]-[0061], [0064], [0073]-[0075], [0093], and FIG. 1: The tracking device may compare the determined identities of the transmitting devices of received messages to a locally-stored database containing identifying information describing devices associated with recognized safe-zones. For example, the database may contain data entries including serial numbers for the base safe-zone beacon and the portable safe-zone beacon. If the identifying information of the transmitting device of a received message matches a base safe-zone (e.g., base safe-zone beacon) entry within the database, the tracking device may determine a base safe-zone broadcast was received);
use the second transmission of the beacon detected at the collar device to identify the unique identifying number of the beacon and to determine an estimated range from the collar device to a location of the beacon (Rosen: Abstract, [0026], [0028], [0034], [0042], [0048], [0074], [0093], and FIG. 1-5: In an embodiment, assets carrying (or connected to) the tracking device 1 may be larger than the range of the short-range radio transmissions from the base safe-zone beacon 5 and/or portable safe-zone beacon 2. For example, the asset may be a yacht with a length exceeding short-range transmission ranges. In this case, safe-zones 30, 31 may exceed the areas within short-range radio transmissions range from the base safe-zone beacon 5 and/or portable safe-zone beacon 2. For example, the safe-zones 30, 31 may be defined by a geo-fence or virtual fence (as may be determined by a GPS receiver or cellular telephone tower IDs). That is, virtual fences may be programmed by use of GPS coordinates to set the boundaries of the safe-zones 30, 31. In an alternative embodiment, a base safe-zone 30 may include more than one base safe-zone beacon 5 spaced apart so as to provide broadcast coverage of the entire base safe-zone 30) inducing geofence application associated with distances/coverage of the portable safe zone and the base safe zone (FIG. 1 the portable safe zone 31 and the base safe-zone 30);
use the linking information to identify the first corresponding function and the first corresponding range value stored on the collar device based on the unique identifying number (Rosen: [0026]-[0028], [0032]-[0035], [0067], [0081]-[0082], FIG. 2-3, and FIG. 5: the protocol file may dictate a schedule or periodicity for sending messages. For example, the protocol file may indicate that the tracking device should send alarm messages every few minutes until either the tracking device battery is depleted or a base safe-zone broadcast is received. As another example, to abate false alarms, the protocol file may direct the tracking device to wait a predetermined amount of time after an alarm counter expires before transmitting any alarm message. In an embodiment, the tracking device may update or otherwise modify the protocol file based on data and/or instructions within safe-zone broadcasts, transmissions with the portable safe-zone beacon, or any other communications received via the tracking device's various transceivers); and
based on the estimated range meeting at least one criterion with respect to the range, perform the first corresponding function (Rosen: [0026]-[0028], [0032]-[0035], [0067], [0081]-[0082], FIG. 2-3, and FIG. 5: the protocol file may dictate a schedule or periodicity for sending messages. For example, the protocol file may indicate that the tracking device should send alarm messages every few minutes until either the tracking device battery is depleted or a base safe-zone broadcast is received. As another example, to abate false alarms, the protocol file may direct the tracking device to wait a predetermined amount of time after an alarm counter expires before transmitting any alarm message. In an embodiment, the tracking device may update or otherwise modify the protocol file based on data and/or instructions within safe-zone broadcasts, transmissions with the portable safe-zone beacon, or any other communications received via the tracking device's various transceivers).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Eramian and Rosen, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the monitoring system of Eramian to include a beacon, a collar device (, and an application executable on a processor of a computing device that is separate from the beacon and the collar, wherein the beacon is configured to periodically transmit a unique identifying number corresponding to and identifying the beacon;
receive configuration information of the beacon in a user interface of the computing device,
organize linking information, the organizing linking information comprising linking the unique identifying number of the beacon with the range value and the function; and
wherein the collar device stores the linking information on the collar device and is configured to:
detect a second transmission of the beacon including the unique identifying number;
use the second transmission of the beacon detected at the collar device to identify the unique identifying number of the beacon and to determine an estimated range from the collar device to a location of the beacon;
use the linking information to identify the first corresponding function and the first corresponding range value stored on the collar device based on the unique identifying number; and
based on the estimated range meeting at least one criterion with respect to the range, perform the first corresponding function, as suggested by Rosen. The motivation for this is to locate a tracking device within a predetermined location.
While the combination of Eramian and Rosen discloses a tracking device/collar device determines its location based on received identification information sent from the beacon to activate the function (Eramian: [0019], [0023]-[0024], and FIG. 1 the home location beacon 130: In such an example, home location beacon 130 may be range limited to correspond only to the room (or a sub-area of a room), and a plurality of other beacons may be distributed throughout the location, each capable of uniquely connecting to user device 110 and Rosen: Abstract, [0028], [0048], [0074], [0093], and FIG. 5: the app on the mobile phone may store configurations for the base safe-zone beacon broadcasts (e.g., frequency of broadcast transmissions, scheduling of broadcasts throughout a time period, alarm counter information, alarm time tolerance thresholds, identification data regarding tracking devices associated with the base safe-zone, etc.).), the combination of Eramian and Rosen does not explicitly disclose the location of the tracking device/collar device within the beacon corresponding to the associated function as claimed.
However, it has been known in the art of tracking and locating animal to implement the location of the tracking device/collar device within the beacon corresponding to the associated function as claimed, as suggested by Bonge, which discloses
receive configuration information of the beacon in a user interface of the computing device (Bonge: FIG. 11-17), the configuration information including a range and a function of a plurality of functions (Bonge: Abstract, [0054]-[0055], [0079], FIG. 1, FIG. 6, and FIG. 8: Processor 111 may contain pre-programed logic to execute programs when the animal-worn device 1 comes within a predetermined distance. These programs may activate outputs at the animal-worn device 1 or change the state of a remote transceiver switch 112 from open to closed and vice versa. The remote transceiver switch 112 may thereby control other selected apparatuses that may be switch controlled, such as electric lights, automatic food dispensers, radios and the like. For example, the remote transceiver may be part of a pet door such as the automatic pet door 12 to control the opening and closing of the pet door 12 when the animal 3 is within the predetermined distance);
transmit the linking information from the computing device to the collar device (Bonge: [0011]-[0012], [0018], [0051], [0053], [0114], FIG. 2-4, and FIG. 27: The embodiments described above may use the approach described in FIG. 27 to load and update firmware from the wireless mobile device 4 to the animal-worn device 1 to avoid potential firmware update issues that may occur when updating the animal-worn device 1 through the wireless mobile device 4), and
based on the estimated range meeting at least one criterion with respect to the range, perform the first corresponding function (Bonge: Abstract, [0054]-[0055], [0079], FIG. 1 and FIG. 6: Alternatively, a remote transceiver 13 may communicate with the animal-worn device 1 and detect when the animal 3 is within a predetermined distance using the received signal strength of the animal-worn device's 1 wireless signal or other ranging or proximity sensing techniques. The remote transceiver device 13 may then send a signal to the animal-worn device 1 instructing it to activate selected outputs according to a set of pre-programmed instructions. For example, the remote transceiver device 13 may be used as an area restriction device wherein it instructs the animal-worn device 1 to activate a shock output whenever the animal 3 comes within a predetermined distance).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Eramian, Rosen, and Bonge, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the monitoring system of Eramian and Rosen to include the location of the tracking device/collar device within the beacon corresponding to the associated function as claimed, as suggested by Bonge. The motivation for this is to monitor and locate a position of an animal within a premise.
As to claim 44, Eramian, Rosen, and Bonge discloses the limitations of claim 43 further comprising the system of claim 43, wherein the estimated range is based at least in part on a signal strength of the detected transmission of the beacon received at the collar device (Rosen: [0003] and FIG. 2: the devices may monitor wireless beacon signal with a signal strength configured such that the signal will be received within a signal strength threshold encompassing the geofence and Bonge: Abstract, [0054]-[0055], [0079], FIG. 1 and FIG. 6: Alternatively, a remote transceiver 13 may communicate with the animal-worn device 1 and detect when the animal 3 is within a predetermined distance using the received signal strength of the animal-worn device's 1 wireless signal or other ranging or proximity sensing techniques. The remote transceiver device 13 may then send a signal to the animal-worn device 1 instructing it to activate selected outputs according to a set of pre-programmed instructions. For example, the remote transceiver device 13 may be used as an area restriction device wherein it instructs the animal-worn device 1 to activate a shock output whenever the animal 3 comes within a predetermined distance), wherein the application is configured to transmit the linking information to the collar device, and wherein the collar device stores the linking information on the collar device (Bonge: [0012], [0018], [0114], FIG. 2-4, and FIG. 27: The embodiments described above may use the approach described in FIG. 27 to load and update firmware from the wireless mobile device 4 to the animal-worn device 1 to avoid potential firmware update issues that may occur when updating the animal-worn device 1 through the wireless mobile device 4).
As to claim 45, Eramian, Rosen, and Bonge discloses the limitations of claim 43 further comprising the system of claim 43, wherein the application is configured to detect the unique identifying number of the beacon from a wireless communication of the beacon (Eramian: [0013]: The beacon may employ BLE communications that emit a signal receivable by the device. The communication may include an identifier for the beacon, the user, and/or a service provider offering monitoring and/or check-in services through the wireless beacons, [0024], [0026], [0039], [0041], and FIG. 1: home location beacon 130 may broadcast a token, such as a universally unique identifier (UUID), for reception by check-in application 112, as will be explained in more detail herein. Check-in application 112 may utilize communication module 118 of user device 110 to receive the token from home location beacon 130. If check-in application 112 acknowledges the UUID as identifying home location beacon 130 and/or service provider server 140 (e.g., if check-in application 112 determines the UUID corresponds to a request to complete a check-in), check-in application 112 may transmit an identifier corresponding to user 102 and/or user device 110 back to home location beacon 130. Check-in application 112 may utilize communication module 118 of user device 110 to communicate with home location beacon 130 (e.g., over near field communication, Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy, radio, infrared, LTE Direct, or other connection). The identifier from user device 110 may include, be transmitted with, concatenated with, or otherwise bundled with the identifier received from home location beacon 130 and Rosen: Abstract, [0028], [0048], [0074], [0093], and FIG. 5: the app on the mobile phone may store configurations for the base safe-zone beacon broadcasts (e.g., frequency of broadcast transmissions, scheduling of broadcasts throughout a time period, alarm counter information, alarm time tolerance thresholds, identification data regarding tracking devices associated with the base safe-zone, etc.). Once a communication link is established with the mobile device, the portable safe-zone beacon may receive and store the various configuration data describing the base safe-zone, utilizing the data to define or configure the portable safe-zone broadcasts. In an embodiment, through the mobile app, the mobile device may receive user input data and transmit configuration information to the portable safe-zone beacon for implementation in the portable safe-zone broadcasts. For example, the user may adjust the default frequency of portable safe-zone broadcasts based interactions with the mobile device app. In another embodiment, the mobile device may also pair and communicate with the base safe-zone beacon and similarly transmit configuration data for the base safe-zone).
As to claim 46, Eramian, Rosen, and Bonge discloses the limitations of claim 43 further comprising the system of claim 43, wherein the beacon is configured to periodically transmit the unique identifying number (Rosen: Abstract, [0034], [0051], [0055], [0068], [0079], and FIG. 2-3: the portable safe-zone beacon may begin periodically broadcasting short-range radio transmissions that indicate the portable safe-zone (or portable safe-zone broadcasts) and that are configured based on the operations in block 202) detected by the collar device via a Bluetooth communication interface (Eramian: [0013]: The beacon may employ BLE communications that emit a signal receivable by the device. The communication may include an identifier for the beacon, the user, and/or a service provider offering monitoring and/or check-in services through the wireless beacons, [0024], [0026], [0039], [0041], and FIG. 1, Rosen: [0036] and FIG. 1: The tracking device 1 may exchange wireless communications with a base safe-zone beacon 5 and/or a portable safe-zone beacon 2 via wireless links 12, 12', 12''. The wireless communications via wireless links 12, 12', 12'' may be short-range radio transmissions (e.g., base safe-zone broadcasts, portable safe-zone broadcasts, etc.), and may utilize radio protocols, such as Bluetooth.RTM., Bluetooth.RTM. LE, RF, etc. and Bonge: [0018], [0051], [0053]-[0055], [0085]-[0094], [0104]-[0105], FIG. 6-7 and FIG. 11-17: This allows the animal-worn transmitter 1 to operate as an RF containment system by sensing the approximate distance from a central Bluetooth transmitter, such as the dual antenna wireless fence transmitter 87. If the distance is too great, the collar may produce various stimuli which instruct the pet to return to an acceptable distance, thus implementing a containment system with a circular invisible fence centered at the Bluetooth transmitter).
As to claim 47, Eramian, Rosen, and Bonge discloses the limitations of claim 43 further comprising the system of claim 43, wherein the at least one criterion includes the estimated range being less than the range (Rosen: Abstract, [0034], [0051], [0055], [0068], [0079], and FIG. 2-3: the portable safe-zone beacon may begin periodically broadcasting short-range radio transmissions that indicate the portable safe-zone (or portable safe-zone broadcasts) and that are configured based on the operations in block 202) and Bonge: [0018], [0051], [0053]-[0055], [0085]-[0094], [0104]-[0105], FIG. 6-7, FIG. 11-17, FIG. 19, and FIG. 22-23: This allows the animal-worn transmitter 1 to operate as an RF containment system by sensing the approximate distance from a central Bluetooth transmitter, such as the dual antenna wireless fence transmitter 87. If the distance is too great, the collar may produce various stimuli which instruct the pet to return to an acceptable distance, thus implementing a containment system with a circular invisible fence centered at the Bluetooth transmitter).
As to claim 48, Eramian, Rosen, and Bonge discloses the limitations of claim 43 further comprising the system of claim 43, wherein the range corresponds to a range level selected from among a plurality of range levels, the range level corresponding to a distance from the beacon (Bonge: [0097]-[0104], and FIG. 19-23: A distance slider 81 may be included to allow the human user to select the distance from the wireless mobile device 4 where the predetermined boundary 77 will exist. The duration slider 64 may be included to allow the human user to select the length of the shock stimulus or other stimulus sent from the shock generator 33, the tone generator 37, etc. The intensity slider 65 may be included to allow the human user to fine tune the level of intensity by sliding the digital dial along the intensity slider 65 to increase or decrease the level of intensity, which may be indicated by the percentage level of the intensity. The second leash control graphical interface 142 may also include the connected device indicator 51 to indicate the animal-worn device 1 that has been selected. The second leash control graphical interface 142 may include the return button 67 to allow the human user to return to a previous graphical interface, such as the first leash control graphical interface 141).
As to claim 49, Eramian, Rosen, and Bonge discloses the limitations of claim 43 further comprising the system of claim 43, wherein the collar device is configured to store the linking information in a database within a memory of the collar device (Eramian: [0019], [0023]-[0024], [0034]-[0035], and FIG. 1 the user device 110 comprising the database 116: Database 116 may include user device tokens and/or encryption keys, including an encryption key of home location beacon 130 and/or service provider server 140. Database 116 may include identifying information for tokens enabling check-in application 112 to identify home location beacon 130 and/or service provider server 140 when receiving a corresponding check-in token, Rosen: Abstract, [0028], [0048], [0074], [0093], and FIG. 5: the app on the mobile phone may store configurations for the base safe-zone beacon broadcasts (e.g., frequency of broadcast transmissions, scheduling of broadcasts throughout a time period, alarm counter information, alarm time tolerance thresholds, identification data regarding tracking devices associated with the base safe-zone, etc., and Bonge: [0012], [0018], [0114], FIG. 2-4, and FIG. 27: The embodiments described above may use the approach described in FIG. 27 to load and update firmware from the wireless mobile device 4 to the animal-worn device 1 to avoid potential firmware update issues that may occur when updating the animal-worn device 1 through the wireless mobile device 4).
As to claim 50, Eramian, Rosen, and Bonge discloses the limitations of claim 43 further comprising the system of claim 43, further comprising a plurality of beacons including the beacon, each of the plurality of beacons being configured to periodically transmit a different unique identifying number (Rosen: Abstract, [0028], [0048], [0074], [0093], and FIG. 5: the app on the mobile phone may store configurations for the base safe-zone beacon broadcasts (e.g., frequency of broadcast transmissions, scheduling of broadcasts throughout a time period, alarm counter information, alarm time tolerance thresholds, identification data regarding tracking devices associated with the base safe-zone, etc.). Once a communication link is established with the mobile device, the portable safe-zone beacon may receive and store the various configuration data describing the base safe-zone, utilizing the data to define or configure the portable safe-zone broadcasts. In an embodiment, through the mobile app, the mobile device may receive user input data and transmit configuration information to the portable safe-zone beacon for implementation in the portable safe-zone broadcasts. For example, the user may adjust the default frequency of portable safe-zone broadcasts based interactions with the mobile device app. In another embodiment, the mobile device may also pair and communicate with the base safe-zone beacon and similarly transmit configuration data for the base safe-zone).
As to claim 51, Eramian, Rosen, and Bonge discloses the limitations of claim 43 further comprising the system of claim 43, wherein the transmission of the beacon is received at the computing device via a Bluetooth interface of the computing device (Eramian: [0012]-[0013], [0018]-[0020], [0060]-[0062], and FIG. 1-2 the network 15: A user, such as a homeowner, caretaker, or guardian of another individual, may set up one or more wireless beacons throughout a location where another person or animal resides. For example, the short range wireless beacon may be established throughout a home location of the user. The wireless beacons may utilize short range wireless communications to detect another device on, possessed by, or attached to the person/animal. The beacon may employ BLE communications that emit a signal receivable by the device. The communication may include an identifier for the beacon, the user, and/or a service provider offering monitoring and/or check-in services through the wireless beacons. The device may be set up to passively monitor for BLE communications and Rosen: [0041], [0090], FIG. 1, and FIG. 5: he portable safe-zone beacon may process the response message data. If the portable safe-zone beacon has paired with a mobile device (e.g., established a Bluetooth bond), the portable safe-zone beacon may transmit a short-range radio message 506 to the mobile device that may be stored, processed, and/or otherwise used in combination with software executing on the mobile device).
As to claim 52, Eramian, Rosen, and Bonge discloses the limitations of claim 43 further comprising the system of claim 43, wherein the second transmission of the beacon is received at the collar device via a Bluetooth interface of the collar device (Eramian: [0013]: The beacon may employ BLE communications that emit a signal receivable by the device. The communication may include an identifier for the beacon, the user, and/or a service provider offering monitoring and/or check-in services through the wireless beacons, [0024], [0026], [0039], [0041], and FIG. 1, Rosen: Abstract, [0028], [0048], [0074], [0093], and FIG. 5: the app on the mobile phone may store configurations for the base safe-zone beacon broadcasts (e.g., frequency of broadcast transmissions, scheduling of broadcasts throughout a time period, alarm counter information, alarm time tolerance thresholds, identification data regarding tracking devices associated with the base safe-zone, etc.). Once a communication link is established with the mobile device, the portable safe-zone beacon may receive and store the various configuration data describing the base safe-zone, utilizing the data to define or configure the portable safe-zone broadcasts. In an embodiment, through the mobile app, the mobile device may receive user input data and transmit configuration information to the portable safe-zone beacon for implementation in the portable safe-zone broadcasts. For example, the user may adjust the default frequency of portable safe-zone broadcasts based interactions with the mobile device app. In another embodiment, the mobile device may also pair and communicate with the base safe-zone beacon and similarly transmit configuration data for the base safe-zone and Bonge: [0018], [0051], [0053]-[0055], [0085]-[0094], [0104]-[0105], FIG. 6-7 and FIG. 11-17: This allows the animal-worn transmitter 1 to operate as an RF containment system by sensing the approximate distance from a central Bluetooth transmitter, such as the dual antenna wireless fence transmitter 87. If the distance is too great, the collar may produce various stimuli which instruct the pet to return to an acceptable distance, thus implementing a containment system with a circular invisible fence centered at the Bluetooth transmitter).
As to claim 53, Eramian discloses a method comprising:
at a mobile device (Eramian: [0019]-[0020], and FIG. 1-2 the user device 110: User device 110, home location beacon 130, and service provider server 140 may each include one or more processors, memories, and other appropriate components for executing instructions such as program code and/or data stored on one or more computer readable mediums to implement the various applications, data, and steps described herein) separated from a beacon (Eramian: [0019], [0023]-[0024], and FIG. 1 the home location beacon 130: In such an example, home location beacon 130 may be range limited to correspond only to the room (or a sub-area of a room), and a plurality of other beacons may be distributed throughout the location, each capable of uniquely connecting to user device 110) and a collar device (Eramian: [0018], [0062], and FIG. 1 the user device 110: In some embodiments, user device 110 may even correspond to a small communication module/tag and be placed on a pet (e.g., on a collar), or with a wristband or item of clothing of a ward):
when the mobile device is within a transmission range of the beacon, detecting a periodic wireless transmission of the beacon ((Eramian: [0012]-[0013], [0018]-[0020], [0060]-[0062], and FIG. 1-2 the network 15: A user, such as a homeowner, caretaker, or guardian of another individual, may set up one or more wireless beacons throughout a location where another person or animal resides. For example, the short range wireless beacon may be established throughout a home location of the user. The wireless beacons may utilize short range wireless communications to detect another device on, possessed by, or attached to the person/animal. The beacon may employ BLE communications that emit a signal receivable by the device. The communication may include an identifier for the beacon, the user, and/or a service provider offering monitoring and/or check-in services through the wireless beacons. The device may be set up to passively monitor for BLE communications).
Eramian does not explicitly disclose a mobile device separated from a beacon and a collar device:
wherein the periodic wireless transmission of the beacon includes a unique identifying number identifying the beacon;
receiving configuration information of the beacon at a user interface on the mobile device provided within a mobile application, the configuration information including a range value selected from among a plurality of range values and a function of a plurality of functions;
organizing, by the mobile application of the mobile device, linking information, the organizing linking information comprising linking the unique identifying number of the beacon with the range value and the function; and
transmitting the linking information from the mobile device to the collar device;
at the collar device communicatively connectable to the mobile device;
storing the linking information at the collar device;
detecting, at the collar device, a transmission of the beacon, the transmission including the unique identifying number of the beacon;
using information of the detected transmission of the beacon at the collar device to identify the unique identifying number of the beacon and to estimate a range from the collar device to a location of the beacon;
using the linking information at the collar device to identify the function and the distance value based on the unique identifying number; and
based on the estimated range meeting at least one criterion with respect to the range value, performing the function.
However, it has been known in the art of location tracking to implement a mobile device separated from a beacon and a collar device:
wherein the periodic wireless transmission of the beacon includes a unique identifying number identifying the beacon;
receiving configuration information of the beacon at a user interface on the mobile device provided within a mobile application,
organizing, by the mobile application of the mobile device, linking information, the organizing linking information comprising linking the unique identifying number of the beacon with the range value and the function; and
at the collar device communicatively connectable to the mobile device;
storing the linking information at the collar device;
detecting, at the collar device, a transmission of the beacon, the transmission including the unique identifying number of the beacon;
using information of the detected transmission of the beacon at the collar device to identify the unique identifying number of the beacon and to estimate a range from the collar device to a location of the beacon;
using the linking information at the collar device to identify the function and the distance value based on the unique identifying number; and
based on the estimated range meeting at least one criterion with respect to the range value, performing the function, as suggested by Rosen, which discloses
a mobile device (Rosen: Abstract, [0028], [0048], [0074], [0093], and FIG. 5: the app on the mobile phone may store configurations for the base safe-zone beacon broadcasts (e.g., frequency of broadcast transmissions, scheduling of broadcasts throughout a time period, alarm counter information, alarm time tolerance thresholds, identification data regarding tracking devices associated with the base safe-zone, etc.). Once a communication link is established with the mobile device, the portable safe-zone beacon may receive and store the various configuration data describing the base safe-zone, utilizing the data to define or configure the portable safe-zone broadcasts. In an embodiment, through the mobile app, the mobile device may receive user input data and transmit configuration information to the portable safe-zone beacon for implementation in the portable safe-zone broadcasts. For example, the user may adjust the default frequency of portable safe-zone broadcasts based interactions with the mobile device app. In another embodiment, the mobile device may also pair and communicate with the base safe-zone beacon and similarly transmit configuration data for the base safe-zone) separated from a beacon (Rosen: Abstract, [0034], [0051], [0055], [0068], [0079], and FIG. 2-3: the portable safe-zone beacon may begin periodically broadcasting short-range radio transmissions that indicate the portable safe-zone (or portable safe-zone broadcasts) and that are configured based on the operations in block 202) and a collar device (Rosen: [0048] and FIG. 1: the app on the mobile phone may store configurations for the base safe-zone beacon broadcasts (e.g., frequency of broadcast transmissions, scheduling of broadcasts throughout a time period, alarm counter information, alarm time tolerance thresholds, identification data regarding tracking devices associated with the base safe-zone, etc.). Once a communication link is established with the mobile device, the portable safe-zone beacon may receive and store the various configuration data describing the base safe-zone, utilizing the data to define or configure the portable safe-zone broadcasts. In an embodiment, through the mobile app, the mobile device may receive user input data and transmit configuration information to the portable safe-zone beacon for implementation in the portable safe-zone broadcasts. For example, the user may adjust the default frequency of portable safe-zone broadcasts based interactions with the mobile device app. In another embodiment, the mobile device may also pair and communicate with the base safe-zone beacon and similarly transmit configuration data for the base safe-zone):
wherein the periodic wireless transmission of the beacon includes a unique identifying number identifying the beacon (Rosen: Abstract, [0034], [0051], [0055], [0068], [0079], and FIG. 2-3: the portable safe-zone beacon may begin periodically broadcasting short-range radio transmissions that indicate the portable safe-zone (or portable safe-zone broadcasts) and that are configured based on the operations in block 202);
receiving configuration information of the beacon at a user interface on the mobile device provided within a mobile application (Rosen: [0048] and FIG. 1: the app on the mobile phone may store configurations for the base safe-zone beacon broadcasts (e.g., frequency of broadcast transmissions, scheduling of broadcasts throughout a time period, alarm counter information, alarm time tolerance thresholds, identification data regarding tracking devices associated with the base safe-zone, etc.). Once a communication link is established with the mobile device, the portable safe-zone beacon may receive and store the various configuration data describing the base safe-zone, utilizing the data to define or configure the portable safe-zone broadcasts. In an embodiment, through the mobile app, the mobile device may receive user input data and transmit configuration information to the portable safe-zone beacon for implementation in the portable safe-zone broadcasts. For example, the user may adjust the default frequency of portable safe-zone broadcasts based interactions with the mobile device app. In another embodiment, the mobile device may also pair and communicate with the base safe-zone beacon and similarly transmit configuration data for the base safe-zone),
organizing, by the mobile application of the mobile device, linking information, the organizing linking information comprising linking the unique identifying number of the beacon with the range value and the function (Rosen: Abstract, [0028], [0048], [0074], [0093], and FIG. 5: the app on the mobile phone may store configurations for the base safe-zone beacon broadcasts (e.g., frequency of broadcast transmissions, scheduling of broadcasts throughout a time period, alarm counter information, alarm time tolerance thresholds, identification data regarding tracking devices associated with the base safe-zone, etc.). Once a communication link is established with the mobile device, the portable safe-zone beacon may receive and store the various configuration data describing the base safe-zone, utilizing the data to define or configure the portable safe-zone broadcasts. In an embodiment, through the mobile app, the mobile device may receive user input data and transmit configuration information to the portable safe-zone beacon for implementation in the portable safe-zone broadcasts. For example, the user may adjust the default frequency of portable safe-zone broadcasts based interactions with the mobile device app. In another embodiment, the mobile device may also pair and communicate with the base safe-zone beacon and similarly transmit configuration data for the base safe-zone); and
at the collar device communicatively connectable to the mobile device; storing the linking information at the collar device (Rosen: [0026]-[0028], [0032]-[0035], [0067], [0081]-[0082], FIG. 1 the tracking device 1, FIG. 2-3, and FIG. 5: the protocol file may dictate a schedule or periodicity for sending messages. For example, the protocol file may indicate that the tracking device should send alarm messages every few minutes until either the tracking device battery is depleted or a base safe-zone broadcast is received. As another example, to abate false alarms, the protocol file may direct the tracking device to wait a predetermined amount of time after an alarm counter expires before transmitting any alarm message. In an embodiment, the tracking device may update or otherwise modify the protocol file based on data and/or instructions within safe-zone broadcasts, transmissions with the portable safe-zone beacon, or any other communications received via the tracking device's various transceivers);
detecting, at the collar device, a transmission of the beacon, the transmission including the unique identifying number of the beacon (Rosen:[0032]-[0034], [0051], [0060]-[0061], [0064], [0073]-[0075], [0093], and FIG. 1: The tracking device may compare the determined identities of the transmitting devices of received messages to a locally-stored database containing identifying information describing devices associated with recognized safe-zones. For example, the database may contain data entries including serial numbers for the base safe-zone beacon and the portable safe-zone beacon. If the identifying information of the transmitting device of a received message matches a base safe-zone (e.g., base safe-zone beacon) entry within the database, the tracking device may determine a base safe-zone broadcast was received);
using information of the detected transmission of the beacon at the collar device to identify the unique identifying number of the beacon and to estimate a range from the collar device to a location of the beacon (Rosen: Abstract, [0026], [0028], [0034], [0042], [0048], [0074], [0093], and FIG. 1-5: In an embodiment, assets carrying (or connected to) the tracking device 1 may be larger than the range of the short-range radio transmissions from the base safe-zone beacon 5 and/or portable safe-zone beacon 2. For example, the asset may be a yacht with a length exceeding short-range transmission ranges. In this case, safe-zones 30, 31 may exceed the areas within short-range radio transmissions range from the base safe-zone beacon 5 and/or portable safe-zone beacon 2. For example, the safe-zones 30, 31 may be defined by a geo-fence or virtual fence (as may be determined by a GPS receiver or cellular telephone tower IDs). That is, virtual fences may be programmed by use of GPS coordinates to set the boundaries of the safe-zones 30, 31. In an alternative embodiment, a base safe-zone 30 may include more than one base safe-zone beacon 5 spaced apart so as to provide broadcast coverage of the entire base safe-zone 30) inducing geofence application associated with distances/coverage of the portable safe zone and the base safe zone (FIG. 1 the portable safe zone 31 and the base safe-zone 30);
using the linking information at the collar device to identify the function and the distance value based on the unique identifying number (Rosen: [0026]-[0028], [0032]-[0035], [0067], [0081]-[0082], FIG. 2-3, and FIG. 5: the protocol file may dictate a schedule or periodicity for sending messages. For example, the protocol file may indicate that the tracking device should send alarm messages every few minutes until either the tracking device battery is depleted or a base safe-zone broadcast is received. As another example, to abate false alarms, the protocol file may direct the tracking device to wait a predetermined amount of time after an alarm counter expires before transmitting any alarm message. In an embodiment, the tracking device may update or otherwise modify the protocol file based on data and/or instructions within safe-zone broadcasts, transmissions with the portable safe-zone beacon, or any other communications received via the tracking device's various transceivers); and
based on the estimated range meeting at least one criterion with respect to the range value, performing the function (Rosen: [0026]-[0028], [0032]-[0035], [0067], [0081]-[0082], FIG. 2-3, and FIG. 5: the protocol file may dictate a schedule or periodicity for sending messages. For example, the protocol file may indicate that the tracking device should send alarm messages every few minutes until either the tracking device battery is depleted or a base safe-zone broadcast is received. As another example, to abate false alarms, the protocol file may direct the tracking device to wait a predetermined amount of time after an alarm counter expires before transmitting any alarm message. In an embodiment, the tracking device may update or otherwise modify the protocol file based on data and/or instructions within safe-zone broadcasts, transmissions with the portable safe-zone beacon, or any other communications received via the tracking device's various transceivers).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Eramian and Rosen, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the monitoring system of Eramian to include a mobile device separated from a beacon and a collar device:
wherein the periodic wireless transmission of the beacon includes a unique identifying number identifying the beacon;
organizing, by the mobile application of the mobile device, linking information, the organizing linking information comprising linking the unique identifying number of the beacon with the range value and the function; and
at the collar device communicatively connectable to the mobile device;
storing the linking information at the collar device;
detecting, at the collar device, a transmission of the beacon, the transmission including the unique identifying number of the beacon;
using information of the detected transmission of the beacon at the collar device to identify the unique identifying number of the beacon and to estimate a range from the collar device to a location of the beacon;
using the linking information at the collar device to identify the function and the distance value based on the unique identifying number; and
based on the estimated range meeting at least one criterion with respect to the range value, performing the function, as suggested by Rosen. The motivation for this is to locate a tracking device within a predetermined location.
While the combination of Eramian and Rosen discloses a tracking device/collar device determines its location based on received identification information sent from the beacon to activate the function (Eramian: [0019], [0023]-[0024], and FIG. 1 the home location beacon 130: In such an example, home location beacon 130 may be range limited to correspond only to the room (or a sub-area of a room), and a plurality of other beacons may be distributed throughout the location, each capable of uniquely connecting to user device 110 and Rosen: Abstract, [0028], [0048], [0074], [0093], and FIG. 5: the app on the mobile phone may store configurations for the base safe-zone beacon broadcasts (e.g., frequency of broadcast transmissions, scheduling of broadcasts throughout a time period, alarm counter information, alarm time tolerance thresholds, identification data regarding tracking devices associated with the base safe-zone, etc.).), the combination of Eramian and Rosen does not explicitly disclose the location of the tracking device/collar device within the beacon corresponding to the associated function as claimed.
However, it has been known in the art of tracking and locating animal to implement the location of the tracking device/collar device within the beacon corresponding to the associated function as claimed, as suggested by Bonge, which discloses
the configuration information including a range value selected from among a plurality of range values and a function of a plurality of functions (Bonge: Abstract, [0054]-[0055], [0079], FIG. 1, FIG. 6, FIG. 8 and FIG. 11-27: Processor 111 may contain pre-programed logic to execute programs when the animal-worn device 1 comes within a predetermined distance. These programs may activate outputs at the animal-worn device 1 or change the state of a remote transceiver switch 112 from open to closed and vice versa. The remote transceiver switch 112 may thereby control other selected apparatuses that may be switch controlled, such as electric lights, automatic food dispensers, radios and the like. For example, the remote transceiver may be part of a pet door such as the automatic pet door 12 to control the opening and closing of the pet door 12 when the animal 3 is within the predetermined distance);
transmitting the linking information from the mobile device to the collar device (Bonge: [0011]-[0012], [0018], [0051], [0053], [0114], FIG. 2-4, and FIG. 27: The embodiments described above may use the approach described in FIG. 27 to load and update firmware from the wireless mobile device 4 to the animal-worn device 1 to avoid potential firmware update issues that may occur when updating the animal-worn device 1 through the wireless mobile device 4), and
based on the estimated range meeting at least one criterion with respect to the range value, performing the function (Bonge: Abstract, [0054]-[0055], [0079], FIG. 1 and FIG. 6: Alternatively, a remote transceiver 13 may communicate with the animal-worn device 1 and detect when the animal 3 is within a predetermined distance using the received signal strength of the animal-worn device's 1 wireless signal or other ranging or proximity sensing techniques. The remote transceiver device 13 may then send a signal to the animal-worn device 1 instructing it to activate selected outputs according to a set of pre-programmed instructions. For example, the remote transceiver device 13 may be used as an area restriction device wherein it instructs the animal-worn device 1 to activate a shock output whenever the animal 3 comes within a predetermined distance).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Eramian, Rosen, and Bonge, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the monitoring system of Eramian and Rosen to include the location of the tracking device/collar device within the beacon corresponding to the associated function as claimed, as suggested by Bonge. The motivation for this is to monitor and locate a position of an animal within a premise.
As to claim 54, Eramian, Rosen, and Bonge discloses the limitations of claim 53 further comprising the method of claim 53, wherein the estimated range comprises a distance between the collar device and the beacon that is based, at least in part, on a signal strength of the detected transmission of the beacon at the collar device (Rosen: [0003] and FIG. 2: the devices may monitor wireless beacon signal with a signal strength configured such that the signal will be received within a signal strength threshold encompassing the geofence and Bonge: Abstract, [0054]-[0055], [0079], FIG. 1 and FIG. 6: Alternatively, a remote transceiver 13 may communicate with the animal-worn device 1 and detect when the animal 3 is within a predetermined distance using the received signal strength of the animal-worn device's 1 wireless signal or other ranging or proximity sensing techniques. The remote transceiver device 13 may then send a signal to the animal-worn device 1 instructing it to activate selected outputs according to a set of pre-programmed instructions. For example, the remote transceiver device 13 may be used as an area restriction device wherein it instructs the animal-worn device 1 to activate a shock output whenever the animal 3 comes within a predetermined distance).
As to claim 55, Eramian, Rosen, and Bonge discloses the limitations of claim 53 further comprising the method of claim 53, wherein the function comprises an avoidance function (Bonge: [0018], [0051], [0053]-[0055], [0085]-[0094], [0104]-[0105], FIG. 6-7 and FIG. 11-17: This allows the animal-worn transmitter 1 to operate as an RF containment system by sensing the approximate distance from a central Bluetooth transmitter, such as the dual antenna wireless fence transmitter 87. If the distance is too great, the collar may produce various stimuli which instruct the pet to return to an acceptable distance, thus implementing a containment system with a circular invisible fence centered at the Bluetooth transmitter), and the at least one criterion determines whether the estimated range is less than the range value (Rosen: Abstract, [0034], [0051], [0055], [0068], [0079], and FIG. 2-3: the portable safe-zone beacon may begin periodically broadcasting short-range radio transmissions that indicate the portable safe-zone (or portable safe-zone broadcasts) and that are configured based on the operations in block 202) and Bonge: [0018], [0051], [0053]-[0055], [0085]-[0094], [0104]-[0105], FIG. 6-7, FIG. 11-17, FIG. 19, and FIG. 22-23: This allows the animal-worn transmitter 1 to operate as an RF containment system by sensing the approximate distance from a central Bluetooth transmitter, such as the dual antenna wireless fence transmitter 87. If the distance is too great, the collar may produce various stimuli which instruct the pet to return to an acceptable distance, thus implementing a containment system with a circular invisible fence centered at the Bluetooth transmitter).
As to claim 56, Eramian discloses a mobile device comprising:
a display (Eramian: FIG. 3 the display screen);
a programmable circuit (Eramian: FIG. 1 the user device 110);
a memory storing computer-executable instructions which, when executed at the programmable circuit, cause the mobile device to:
in a discovery mode, detect a unique identifying number (Eramian: [0013]: The beacon may employ BLE communications that emit a signal receivable by the device. The communication may include an identifier for the beacon, the user, and/or a service provider offering monitoring and/or check-in services through the wireless beacons, [0024], [0026], [0039], [0041], and FIG. 1: home location beacon 130 may broadcast a token, such as a universally unique identifier (UUID), for reception by check-in application 112, as will be explained in more detail herein. Check-in application 112 may utilize communication module 118 of user device 110 to receive the token from home location beacon 130. If check-in application 112 acknowledges the UUID as identifying home location beacon 130 and/or service provider server 140 (e.g., if check-in application 112 determines the UUID corresponds to a request to complete a check-in), check-in application 112 may transmit an identifier corresponding to user 102 and/or user device 110 back to home location beacon 130. Check-in application 112 may utilize communication module 118 of user device 110 to communicate with home location beacon 130 (e.g., over near field communication, Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy, radio, infrared, LTE Direct, or other connection). The identifier from user device 110 may include, be transmitted with, concatenated with, or otherwise bundled with the identifier received from home location beacon 130) that is periodically emitted wirelessly by a beacon (Eramian: [0019], [0023]-[0024], and FIG. 1 the home location beacon 130: In such an example, home location beacon 130 may be range limited to correspond only to the room (or a sub-area of a room), and a plurality of other beacons may be distributed throughout the location, each capable of uniquely connecting to user device 110).
Eramian does not explicitly disclose
in a discovery mode, detect a unique identifying number that is periodically emitted wirelessly by a beacon;
within a user interface presented on the display, receive from a user configuration information of the beacon,
the configuration information including a corresponding range value selected from among a plurality of range values and a corresponding function of a plurality of functions including at least an avoidance function operable to initiate a stimulus feedback at the collar device;
organize linking information by linking the unique identifying number of the beacon with the corresponding range value and the corresponding function; and
wirelessly transmit the linking information to the collar device.
However, it has been known in the art of location tracking to implement in a discovery mode, detect a unique identifying number that is periodically emitted wirelessly by a beacon;
within a user interface presented on the display, receive from a user configuration information of the beacon, and
organize linking information by linking the unique identifying number of the beacon with the corresponding range value and the corresponding function, as suggested by Rosen, which discloses
in a discovery mode, detect a unique identifying number that is periodically emitted wirelessly by a beacon (Rosen: Abstract, [0034], [0051], [0055], [0068], [0079], and FIG. 2-3: the portable safe-zone beacon may begin periodically broadcasting short-range radio transmissions that indicate the portable safe-zone (or portable safe-zone broadcasts) and that are configured based on the operations in block 202);
within a user interface presented on the display, receive from a user configuration information of the beacon (Rosen: [0048] and FIG. 1: the app on the mobile phone may store configurations for the base safe-zone beacon broadcasts (e.g., frequency of broadcast transmissions, scheduling of broadcasts throughout a time period, alarm counter information, alarm time tolerance thresholds, identification data regarding tracking devices associated with the base safe-zone, etc.). Once a communication link is established with the mobile device, the portable safe-zone beacon may receive and store the various configuration data describing the base safe-zone, utilizing the data to define or configure the portable safe-zone broadcasts. In an embodiment, through the mobile app, the mobile device may receive user input data and transmit configuration information to the portable safe-zone beacon for implementation in the portable safe-zone broadcasts. For example, the user may adjust the default frequency of portable safe-zone broadcasts based interactions with the mobile device app. In another embodiment, the mobile device may also pair and communicate with the base safe-zone beacon and similarly transmit configuration data for the base safe-zone), and
organize linking information by linking the unique identifying number of the beacon with the corresponding range value and the corresponding function (Rosen: Abstract, [0028], [0048], [0074], [0093], and FIG. 5: the app on the mobile phone may store configurations for the base safe-zone beacon broadcasts (e.g., frequency of broadcast transmissions, scheduling of broadcasts throughout a time period, alarm counter information, alarm time tolerance thresholds, identification data regarding tracking devices associated with the base safe-zone, etc.). Once a communication link is established with the mobile device, the portable safe-zone beacon may receive and store the various configuration data describing the base safe-zone, utilizing the data to define or configure the portable safe-zone broadcasts. In an embodiment, through the mobile app, the mobile device may receive user input data and transmit configuration information to the portable safe-zone beacon for implementation in the portable safe-zone broadcasts. For example, the user may adjust the default frequency of portable safe-zone broadcasts based interactions with the mobile device app. In another embodiment, the mobile device may also pair and communicate with the base safe-zone beacon and similarly transmit configuration data for the base safe-zone).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Eramian and Rosen, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the monitoring system of Eramian to include in a discovery mode, detect a unique identifying number that is periodically emitted wirelessly by a beacon;
within a user interface presented on the display, receive from a user configuration information of the beacon, and
organize linking information by linking the unique identifying number of the beacon with the corresponding range value and the corresponding function, as suggested by Rosen. The motivation for this is to locate a tracking device within a predetermined location.
While the combination of Eramian and Rosen discloses a tracking device/collar device determines its location based on received identification information sent from the beacon to activate the function (Eramian: [0019], [0023]-[0024], and FIG. 1 the home location beacon 130: In such an example, home location beacon 130 may be range limited to correspond only to the room (or a sub-area of a room), and a plurality of other beacons may be distributed throughout the location, each capable of uniquely connecting to user device 110 and Rosen: Abstract, [0028], [0048], [0074], [0093], and FIG. 5: the app on the mobile phone may store configurations for the base safe-zone beacon broadcasts (e.g., frequency of broadcast transmissions, scheduling of broadcasts throughout a time period, alarm counter information, alarm time tolerance thresholds, identification data regarding tracking devices associated with the base safe-zone, etc.).), the combination of Eramian and Rosen does not explicitly disclose the location of the tracking device/collar device within the beacon corresponding to the associated function as claimed.
However, it has been known in the art of tracking and locating animal to implement the location of the tracking device/collar device within the beacon corresponding to the associated function as claimed, as suggested by Bonge, which discloses
the configuration information including a corresponding range value selected from among a plurality of range values and a corresponding function of a plurality of functions (Bonge: Abstract, [0054]-[0055], [0079], FIG. 1, FIG. 6, and FIG. 8: Processor 111 may contain pre-programed logic to execute programs when the animal-worn device 1 comes within a predetermined distance. These programs may activate outputs at the animal-worn device 1 or change the state of a remote transceiver switch 112 from open to closed and vice versa. The remote transceiver switch 112 may thereby control other selected apparatuses that may be switch controlled, such as electric lights, automatic food dispensers, radios and the like. For example, the remote transceiver may be part of a pet door such as the automatic pet door 12 to control the opening and closing of the pet door 12 when the animal 3 is within the predetermined distance) including at least an avoidance function (Bonge: [0018], [0051], [0053]-[0055], [0085]-[0094], [0104]-[0105], FIG. 6-7 and FIG. 11-17: This allows the animal-worn transmitter 1 to operate as an RF containment system by sensing the approximate distance from a central Bluetooth transmitter, such as the dual antenna wireless fence transmitter 87. If the distance is too great, the collar may produce various stimuli which instruct the pet to return to an acceptable distance, thus implementing a containment system with a circular invisible fence centered at the Bluetooth transmitter) operable to initiate a stimulus feedback at the collar device (Bonge: Abstract, [0054]-[0055], [0079], FIG. 1 and FIG. 6: Alternatively, a remote transceiver 13 may communicate with the animal-worn device 1 and detect when the animal 3 is within a predetermined distance using the received signal strength of the animal-worn device's 1 wireless signal or other ranging or proximity sensing techniques. The remote transceiver device 13 may then send a signal to the animal-worn device 1 instructing it to activate selected outputs according to a set of pre-programmed instructions. For example, the remote transceiver device 13 may be used as an area restriction device wherein it instructs the animal-worn device 1 to activate a shock output whenever the animal 3 comes within a predetermined distance); and
wirelessly transmit the linking information to the collar device (Bonge: [0011]-[0012], [0018], [0051], [0053], [0114], FIG. 2-4, and FIG. 27: The embodiments described above may use the approach described in FIG. 27 to load and update firmware from the wireless mobile device 4 to the animal-worn device 1 to avoid potential firmware update issues that may occur when updating the animal-worn device 1 through the wireless mobile device 4).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Eramian, Rosen, and Bonge, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the monitoring system of Eramian and Rosen to include the location of the tracking device/collar device within the beacon corresponding to the associated function as claimed, as suggested by Bonge. The motivation for this is to monitor and locate a position of an animal within a premise.
As to claim 57, Eramian, Rosen, and Bonge disclose the limitations of claim 56 further comprising the mobile device of claim 56, wherein the range value corresponds to a distance value determined, at least in part, based on signal strength of a signal received from the beacon (Bonge: [0097]-[0104], and FIG. 19-23: A distance slider 81 may be included to allow the human user to select the distance from the wireless mobile device 4 where the predetermined boundary 77 will exist. The duration slider 64 may be included to allow the human user to select the length of the shock stimulus or other stimulus sent from the shock generator 33, the tone generator 37, etc. The intensity slider 65 may be included to allow the human user to fine tune the level of intensity by sliding the digital dial along the intensity slider 65 to increase or decrease the level of intensity, which may be indicated by the percentage level of the intensity. The second leash control graphical interface 142 may also include the connected device indicator 51 to indicate the animal-worn device 1 that has been selected. The second leash control graphical interface 142 may include the return button 67 to allow the human user to return to a previous graphical interface, such as the first leash control graphical interface 141).
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Ma et al., US 2017/0319135 A1, discloses wireless communication method, wearable device, mobile terminal, and system.
Flippo et al., US 9,735,896 B2, discloses emergency response systems and methods.
Kolin, US 9,721,152 B1, discloses athletic training method and system.
Conclusion
/QUANG PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685