DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
This is a response to applicant’s submissions filed on August 3, 2026. Claims 1, 3-15, and 17-19 are pending.
Examiner' s Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs / columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicants' definition which is not specifically set forth in the disclosure.
Response to Arguments
All of applicant’s arguments filed August 3, 2026 have been considered.
Regarding applicant’s argument that Salter does not disclose a fan configured to be activatable via the electronic control unit in order to actively convey additional air into the storage compartment in response to the first actuation of the actuation element for the ventilation measure (Applicant’s Response, pg. 10), the examiner agrees. The argument is moot in view of the new rejection below.
Regarding applicant’s argument that Salter does not disclose an additional covering of an air supply, separate from an adjustable independently of the closure element, through which additional air can be introduced by opening the covering and prevented by closing the covering (Applicant’s Response, pg. 11), the examiner agrees. The argument is moot in view of the new rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, line 13, the limitation "additional air" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if it is referring to the additional air previously recited on line 8, the ventilation device additional air previously recited on line 10 or new additional air.
In claim 3, line 6, the limitation "additional air" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if it is referring to the additional air previously recited in claim 1, line 8 or 13, the ventilation device additional air previously recited in claim 1, line 10, or new additional air.
In claim 15, lines 12 and 14, the limitation "additional air" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if it is referring to the additional air previously recited on line 10 or new additional air.
In claim 18, line 22, the limitation "additional air" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if it is referring to the additional air previously recited on line 9 or new additional air.
In claim 18, line 24, the limitation "air" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if it is referring to the additional air previously recited on line 9 or 22, or new additional air.
Claims 3-14, 17, and 19 are also rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim as they do not clear the deficiencies of the claims from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 10-15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salter (US 2021/0207409) in view of Terashima (US 6,335,687).
Regarding claim 1, Salter discloses an emergency device for a vehicle, comprising an actuation element for attachment in a storage compartment of the vehicle, which is closable by at least one closure element (Salter, [0048] regarding a user input device in the form of a manually actuatable switch located within the storage compartment & [0050] regarding a two-stage electronically controlled latch that is electronically actuation in response to control commands from the controller), and
an electronic control unit (Salter, [0048] regarding a controller),
wherein the actuation element is provided for signaling an emergency by a person located in the closed storage compartment (Salter, [0048] regarding the user input device being accessible to a person within the storage compartment to enable to person to actuate the latch assembly to open the front door panel),
wherein the electronic control unit is configured to trigger a ventilation measure in response to a first actuation of the actuation element, via which additional air enters the storage compartment that is still closed by the at least one closure element, and actuate a ventilation device for the ventilation measure, via which ventilation device additional air is introduced into the storage compartment (Salter, [0052] regarding determining the user input device has been pressed by a user in the storage compartment, [0054] regarding engaging the primary electronic latch and securing the secondary (intermediate) latch position, [0051] regarding the controller providing output to control the two-stage latch, [0047] regarding the front door panel being partially opened but is retained and prevented from moving to the fully open position when in the intermediate position, & [0037] regarding the intermediate position providing airflow into the compartment for an occupant), and
wherein the electronic control unit is further configured to generate at least one emergency signal also in response to the first actuation or in response to a second actuation subsequent to the first actuation of the actuation element (Salter, [0052-0054] regarding sending a signal to the computer or driver if the electronic interior storage compartment switch has been pressed by a user).
Salter does not disclose wherein the ventilation device includes a fan configured to be activatable via the electronic control unit in order to actively convey additional air into the storage compartment in response to the first actuation of the actuation.
Terashima teaches wherein the ventilation device includes a fan configured to be activatable via the electronic control unit in order to actively convey additional air into the storage compartment in response to the first actuation of the actuation (Terashima, Fig. 11 and Col. 10, line 47-Col. 11, line 2 regarding starting up and controlling the air-conditioner to air-condition the trunk when there is a detection in the trunk).
Salter and Terashima are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of vehicle storage compartment emergency activation. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Salter to incorporate adding air into the compartment using an air conditioning vent, as disclosed by Terashima, with a reasonable expectation of success because doing so would yield the predictable result of increasing safety by having multiple methods of adding air into the storage compartment.
Regarding claim 3, Salter in view of Terashima teaches the emergency device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one closure element is held in a closed position by a lock and the electronic control unit is configured to actuate the lock for the ventilation measure, in order to allow for an adjustment of the at least one closure element out of the closed position along an opening direction into a pre-latching position, in which the at least one closure element still closes the storage compartment but releases at least one gap, via which additional air can enter the storage compartment (Salter, [0052] regarding determining the user input device has been pressed by a user in the storage compartment, [0054] regarding engaging the primary electronic latch and securing the secondary (intermediate) latch position, [0051] regarding the controller providing output to control the two-stage latch, & [0047] regarding the front door panel being partially opened but is retained and prevented from moving to the fully open position when in the intermediate position. By partially opening the front door panel air would be introduced into the compartment (i.e., ventilation is provided)).
Regarding claim 4, Salter in view of Terashima teaches the emergency device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the electronic control unit is configured to make the triggering of the ventilation measure dependent on at least one speed signal, which is indicative of a travel speed of the vehicle (Salter, [0054] regarding engaging the primary electronic latch and securing the secondary (intermediate) latch position when the speed of the vehicle is greater than 0 mph).
Regarding claim 5, Salter in view of Terashima teaches the emergency device as claimed in claim 4, wherein the electronic control unit is configured to trigger the ventilation measure only if a travel speed of the vehicle has reached a threshold value (Salter, [0054] regarding engaging the primary electronic latch and securing the secondary (intermediate) latch position when the speed of the vehicle is greater than 0 mph).
Regarding claim 6, Salter in view of Terashima teaches the emergency device as claimed in claim 3, wherein the electronic control unit is configured to make the triggering of the ventilation measure dependent on at least one speed signal, which is indicative of a travel speed, wherein the electronic control unit is configured to trigger the ventilation measure only if a travel speed of the vehicle has reached a threshold value of the vehicle (Salter, [0054] regarding engaging the primary electronic latch and securing the secondary (intermediate) latch position when the speed of the vehicle is greater than 0 mph), wherein the electronic control unit is configured to actuate the lock to release the at least one closure element, in order to allow for an adjustment of the at least one closure element out of the closed position along the opening direction into an opening position, in which the at least one closure element no longer closes the storage compartment if the travel speed of the vehicle has not reached the threshold value (Salter, [0053-0054] regarding engaging the primary and secondary electronic latch and open the storage compartment by fully releasing the door panel to the open position when the speed of the vehicle is not greater than 0 mph).
Regarding claim 10, Salter in view of Terashima teaches the emergency device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one emergency signal is provided for transmitting an emergency call (Salter, [0053] regarding notifying local authorities if the electronic interior storage compartment switch has been pressed by a user and the vehicle is in autonomous driving).
Regarding claim 11, Salter in view of Terashima teaches the emergency device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one emergency signal is provided for generating an alarm that is at least one of acoustically and visually perceptible by a person in the surroundings of the vehicle (Salter, [0054] regarding activating hazard lights, activating interior storage compartment lights, sending a warning message to the driver, providing an audible chime, and displaying the trunk camera on the touchscreen display if the electronic interior storage compartment switch has been pressed by a user, the vehicle is in manual driving, and the vehicle speed is greater than 0 mph).
Regarding claim 12, Salter in view of Terashima teaches the emergency device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one emergency signal is provided for influencing the current driving behavior of the vehicle (Salter, [0054] regarding slowing down the vehicle and steering it to the side of the roadway if the electronic interior storage compartment switch has been pressed by a user and the vehicle is in autonomous driving).
Regarding claim 13, Salter in view of Terashima teaches the emergency device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the emergency device for a storage compartment is provided on a front side of the vehicle (Salter, [0046] regarding a storage compartment located at the front side of the vehicle under a front door panel).
Regarding claim 14, Salter in view of Terashima teaches a vehicle comprising an emergency device according to claim 1 (Salter, Fig. 1 regarding the user input device being on the vehicle).
Regarding claim 15, Salter discloses a method for controlling an emergency device on a vehicle, wherein by actuation of an actuation element, which is provided in the interior of a storage compartment that is closed by at least one closure element (Salter, [0048] regarding a user input device in the form of a manually actuatable switch located within the storage compartment & [0050] regarding a two-stage electronically controlled latch that is electronically actuation in response to control commands from the controller), an emergency is signaled by a person located in the closed storage compartment and at least one emergency signal is generated in response to the actuation of the actuation element (Salter, [0048] regarding the user input device being accessible to a person within the storage compartment to enable to person to actuate the latch assembly to open the front door panel),
wherein, via the at least one emergency signal, an alarm is generated that is at least one of acoustically or visually perceptible by a person in the surroundings of the vehicle (Salter, [0054] regarding activating hazard lights, activating interior storage compartment lights, sending a warning message to the driver, providing an audible chime, and displaying the trunk camera on the touchscreen display if the electronic interior storage compartment switch has been pressed by a user, the vehicle is in manual driving, and the vehicle speed is greater than 0 mph), and
wherein in response to an actuation of the actuation element, also a ventilation measure is triggered allowing a flow of additional air entering the storage compartment that is still closed by the at least one closure element, wherein, for the ventilation measure, a ventilation device is actuated, via which additional air is introduced into the storage compartment (Salter, [0052] regarding determining the user input device has been pressed by a user in the storage compartment, [0054] regarding engaging the primary electronic latch and securing the secondary (intermediate) latch position, [0051] regarding the controller providing output to control the two-stage latch, [0047] regarding the front door panel being partially opened but is retained and prevented from moving to the fully open position when in the intermediate position, & [0037] regarding the intermediate position providing airflow into the compartment for an occupant).
Salter does not disclose wherein the ventilation device includes a fan that is activated via the electronic control unit in order to actively convey additional air into the storage compartment in response to the actuation of the actuation element.
Terashima teaches wherein the ventilation device includes a fan that is activated via the electronic control unit in order to actively convey additional air into the storage compartment in response to the actuation of the actuation element (Terashima, Fig. 11 and Col. 10, line 47-Col. 11, line 2 regarding starting up and controlling the air-conditioner to air-condition the trunk when there is a detection in the trunk).
Salter and Terashima are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of vehicle storage compartment emergency activation. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Salter to incorporate adding air into the compartment using an air conditioning vent, as disclosed by Terashima, with a reasonable expectation of success because doing so would yield the predictable result of increasing safety by having multiple methods of adding air into the storage compartment.
Regarding claim 17, Salter in view of Terashima teaches the method as claimed in claim 15, herein in response to the at least one emergency signal also at least one control signal is received from an emergency call receiving point, via which the lock is actuated for releasing the at least one closure element in order to allow for an adjustment of the at least one closure element out of a closed position along an opening direction and into an open position, in which the at least one closure element no longer closes the storage compartment (Salter, [0053-0054] regarding engaging the primary and secondary electronic latch and open the storage compartment by fully releasing the door panel to the open position when the speed of the vehicle is not greater than 0 mph).
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salter in view of Terashima, and further in view of Bingle (US 6,485,081).
Regarding claim 7, Salter in view of Terashima teaches the emergency device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the electronic control unit is configured to trigger the ventilation measure in response to the first actuation of the actuation element (Salter, [0052] regarding determining the user input device has been pressed by a user in the storage compartment & [0054] regarding engaging the primary electronic latch and securing the secondary (intermediate) latch position), but does not teach to generate the at least one emergency signal for an emergency measure following the ventilation measure only in response to the second actuation subsequent to the first actuation of the actuation element.
Bingle teaches activating an alarm, auxiliary light, horn, message display, lock system or the like being upon a second detection within the trunk space (Col. 17, lines 27-32).
Salter and Bingle are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of vehicle storage compartment emergency activation. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Salter, as modified, to incorporate activating an alarm, auxiliary light, horn, message display, lock system or the like after a second detection of someone in the trunk space, as disclosed by Bingle, with a reasonable expectation of success because doing so would yield the predictable result of confirming someone is in the compartment before activating an emergency notification.
Salter, as modified, teaches to generate the at least one emergency signal for an emergency measure following the ventilation measure only in response to the second actuation subsequent to the first actuation of the actuation element.
Regarding claim 8, Salter in view of Terashima and Bingle teaches the emergency device as claimed in claim 7, wherein the electronic control unit is configured, in response to the second actuation of the actuation element, to make the generation of the emergency signal dependent on at least one speed signal which is indicative of a travel speed of the vehicle (Salter, [0054] regarding activating hazard lights, activating interior storage compartment lights, sending a warning message to the driver, providing an audible chime, and displaying the trunk camera on the touchscreen display if the electronic interior storage compartment switch has been pressed by a user, the vehicle is in manual driving, and the vehicle speed is greater than 0 mph).
Regarding claim 9, Salter in view of Terashima and Bingle teaches the emergency device as claimed in claim 8, wherein the at least one closure element is held in a closed position by a lock and the electronic control unit is configured to trigger the emergency signal in response to the second actuation of the actuation element only if a travel speed of the vehicle has reached a threshold value (Salter, [0054] regarding engaging the primary electronic latch, securing the secondary latch position, activating hazard lights, activating interior storage compartment lights, sending a warning message to the driver, providing an audible chime, and displaying the trunk camera on the touchscreen display if the electronic interior storage compartment switch has been pressed by a user, the vehicle is in manual driving, and the vehicle speed is greater than 0 mph), and otherwise to actuate the lock in order to allow for an adjustment of the at least one closure element out of the closed position along the opening direction into an open position, in which the at least one closure element no longer closes the storage compartment (Salter, [0053-0054] regarding engaging the primary and secondary electronic latch and open the storage compartment by fully releasing the door panel to the open position when the speed of the vehicle is not greater than 0 mph).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salter in view of Terashima and Hong (US 2022/0314732).
Regarding claim 18, Salter discloses an emergency device for a vehicle, comprising:
an actuation element for attachment in a storage compartment of the vehicle, which is closable by at least one closure element (Salter, [0048] regarding a user input device in the form of a manually actuatable switch located within the storage compartment & [0050] regarding a two-stage electronically controlled latch that is electronically actuation in response to control commands from the controller), and
an electronic control unit (Salter, [0048] regarding a controller),
wherein the actuation element is provided for signaling an emergency by a person located in the closed storage compartment (Salter, [0048] regarding the user input device being accessible to a person within the storage compartment to enable to person to actuate the latch assembly to open the front door panel),
wherein the electronic control unit is configured to:
trigger, in response to an actuation of the actuation element, a ventilation measure configured to allow a flow of additional air to enter the storage compartment that is still closed by the at least one closure element,
wherein the electronic control unit is configured to actuate a ventilation device for the ventilation measure, via which ventilation device additional air is introduced into the storage compartment (Salter, [0052] regarding determining the user input device has been pressed by a user in the storage compartment, [0054] regarding engaging the primary electronic latch and securing the secondary (intermediate) latch position, [0051] regarding the controller providing output to control the two-stage latch, [0047] regarding the front door panel being partially opened but is retained and prevented from moving to the fully open position when in the intermediate position, & [0037] regarding the intermediate position providing airflow into the compartment for an occupant).
Salter does not disclose wherein the ventilation device includes
a ventilation opening configured to be closed and released in an electronically controlled manner via a covering of an air supply leading into the storage compartment,
wherein the covering of the air supply is adjustable independently of the closure element of the storage compartment,
wherein the covering is adjustable between an open position, in which the ventilation opening is released and in which additional air is allowed to flow from outside into the storage compartment, and a closed position, in which the ventilation opening is covered by the covering and in which air is prevented to flow from outside into the storage compartment.
Terashima teaches a ventilation opening configured to be closed and released in an electronically controlled manner via a covering of an air supply leading into the storage compartment (Terashima, Fig. 11 and Col. 10, line 47-Col. 11, line 2 regarding starting up and controlling the air-conditioner to air-condition the trunk when there is a detection in the trunk).
Salter and Terashima are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of vehicle storage compartment emergency activation. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Salter to incorporate adding air into the compartment using an air conditioning vent, as disclosed by Terashima, with a reasonable expectation of success because doing so would yield the predictable result of increasing safety by having multiple methods of adding air into the storage compartment.
Salter, as modified, teaches wherein the covering of the air supply is adjustable independently of the closure element of the storage compartment (The latch position is released to the intermediate position and the air conditioning is adjusted independently).
Hong teaches wherein the covering is adjustable between an open position, in which the ventilation opening is released and in which additional air is allowed to flow from outside into the storage compartment, and a closed position, in which the ventilation opening is covered by the covering and in which air is prevented to flow from outside into the storage compartment (Hong, [0009] regarding a vent door that is installed in an inlet part of each vent to open/close the vent according with the air conditioning mode).
Salter and Hong are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of vehicles. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Salter, as modified, to incorporate opening and closing the vent door according to whether the air conditioning is on or not, as disclosed by Hong, with a reasonable expectation of success because doing so would yield the predictable result of releasing air into the storage compartment when it is needed.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salter in view of Terashima and Hong, and further in view of Bingle.
Regarding claim 19, Salter in view of Terashima and Hong teaches the emergency device as claimed in claim 18, wherein the actuation of the actuation element for triggering the ventilation measure is a first actuation (Salter, [0052] regarding determining the user input device has been pressed by a user in the storage compartment & [0054] regarding engaging the primary electronic latch and securing the secondary (intermediate) latch position), but does not teach wherein the electronic control unit is further configured to generate at least one emergency signal following the ventilation measure only in response to a second actuation subsequent to the first actuation of the actuation element.
Bingle teaches wherein the electronic control unit is further configured to generate at least one emergency signal following the ventilation measure only in response to a second actuation subsequent to the first actuation of the actuation element (Bingle, Col. 17, lines 27-32 regarding the alarm, auxiliary light, horn, message display, lock system or the like being activated upon a second detection within the trunk space).
Salter and Bingle are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of vehicle storage compartment emergency activation. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Salter, as modified, to incorporate activating an alarm, auxiliary light, horn, message display, lock system or the like after a second detection of someone in the trunk space, as disclosed by Bingle, with a reasonable expectation of success because doing so would yield the predictable result of confirming someone is in the compartment before activating an emergency notification.
Salter, as modified, teaches wherein the electronic control unit is further configured to generate at least one emergency signal following the ventilation measure only in response to a second actuation subsequent to the first actuation of the actuation element.
Conclusion
/ALEX B GRIFFIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3665 /Erin D Bishop/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665