Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/30/25, 10/30/25 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 2-5, 7-10, 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter without significantly more. The claims as whole, considering all claim elements both individually and in combination, do not amount to significantly more than an abstract idea.
Independent claims 1, 7 and 12 recite receiving a first natural language text; presenting a user interface having a graphical interface element that comprises a selector, the selector being configured to receive an input that correlates to changing the first natural language text having a first style to a second natural language text having a second style; receiving an input to convert the first natural language text to the second natural language text; and converting the first natural language text into the second natural language text by a text generation model, the second natural language text at least partly reflecting a meaning of the first natural language text, the second style being distinguishable from the first style.
The underlined limitations as drafted cover a mental process when a human receives a sentence written in English on a piece of paper, writes it on board and displays it, then writes an another board and makes the letters large and then displays a bolded version of the original text.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular claim 12 recites additional element of processor, which is a form of generic computer equipment. In the as-filed Specifications ¶0077] recite Program code for carrying out methods of the present disclosure may be written in any combination of one or more programming languages. These program codes may be provided to a processor or controller of a general purpose computer, special purpose computer, or other programmable data processing apparatus, such that the program code, when executed by the processor or controller, causes the functions/operations specified in the flowcharts and/or block diagrams to be implemented. The program code may execute entirely on a machine, partly on the machine, as a stand-alone software package, partly on the machine and partly on a remote machine or entirely on the remote machine or server. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept.
The additional element of text generation model is noted as a general computer because of a lack of specificity.
The additional element of graphical interface is merely for the purpose of data gathering and is well known in the art. See US 20170230194 A1 ¶[0047] “The user interface 120 may include a display (not shown) that provides a graphic user interface that the user may employ to specify the conditions and the actions to be taken for each determined situation. GUIs are well known in the art and a detailed discussion of the operation of GUIs is not needed”. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept.
Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a computer is noted as a general computer. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
Claims 2, 9 and 16 recite wherein the acquiring the target translation result of the specified sentence based on the co-occurrence word comprises: acquiring, based on the co-occurrence word, candidate translation results obtained from the translation of the specified sentence by at least two corresponding translation models, so as to obtain at least two candidate translation results; and acquiring the target translation result of the specified sentence from the at least two candidate translation results. This amounts to the human doing the translation and another person doing the same translation. No additional limitations are present.
Claims 3, 8 and 13 recite wherein the graphical interface element corresponds to a customizable parameter having a plurality of customizable options. This amounts to the human writing on the second board in different colors. No additional limitations are present.
Claims 4, 9 and 14 recite wherein a planning representation corresponds to a language font and the method further comprises: providing the first natural language text to a planner; and receiving a planning representation that indicates a style of the second natural language text from the planner. This amounts to the human receiving as an input that the font of the new text should be red in color. No additional limitations are present.
Claims 5, 10 and 15 recite wherein, when converting the first natural language text to the second natural language text, the method further comprises generating the second natural language text based on the planning representation that indicates the style of the second natural language text. This amounts to the human receiving as an input that the font of the new text should be red in color. No additional limitations are present.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5, 7-10, 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chin in further view of Agostino.
With respect to Claims 2, 7 and 12 Chin teaches
(claim 2) A computer-implemented method comprising:
(claim 7 ) A device, comprising: a processing unit; and a memory coupled to the processing unit and having instructions stored thereon, the instructions, when executed by the processing unit, causing the device to perform acts comprising:
(claim 12 ) A non-transitory machine storage medium having instructions embodied thereon, the instructions executable by a processor of a machine to perform operations comprising:
receiving a first natural language text ([0040] FIG. 5 is a flowchart 500 illustrating a method for obtaining an alternate translation from a user. An indication of when a user-manipulable cursor (e.g., cursor 102) is positioned in proximity to a first presentation of first text (e.g., 100) in a GUI is received,;
receiving an input to convert the first natural language text to the second natural language text ([0040] FIG. 5 is a flowchart 500 illustrating a method for obtaining an alternate translation from a user. An indication of when a user-manipulable cursor (e.g., cursor 102) is positioned in proximity to a first presentation of first text (e.g., 100) in a GUI is received, the first text being in a first language (step 502). A second presentation (e.g., feedback window 106) in the GUI of second text in a distinct second language is displayed (step 504). The second text represents a translation of the first text into the second language or the first text represents a translation of the second text into the first language. Finally, user input to the GUI is received providing an alternate translation of the first text to the second text or the second text to the first text (step 506), ¶[0029]the MTS 326 translates text by looking at adjacent sequences of one or more words in a source text to find the most probably translation of the text in the translation model 318); and
converting the first natural language text into the second natural language text by a text generation model, the second natural language text at least partly reflecting a meaning of the first natural language text, the second style being distinguishable from the first style ([0040] FIG. 5 is a flowchart 500 illustrating a method for obtaining an alternate translation from a user. An indication of when a user-manipulable cursor (e.g., cursor 102) is positioned in proximity to a first presentation of first text (e.g., 100) in a GUI is received, the first text being in a first language (step 502). A second presentation (e.g., feedback window 106) in the GUI of second text in a distinct second language is displayed (step 504). The second text represents a translation of the first text into the second language or the first text represents a translation of the second text into the first language. Finally, user input to the GUI is received providing an alternate translation of the first text to the second text or the second text to the first text (step 506), ¶[0029]the MTS 326 translates text by looking at adjacent sequences of one or more words in a source text to find the most probably translation of the text in the translation model 318).
Chin does not explicitly disclose however Agostino teaches presenting a user interface having a graphical interface element that comprises a selector, the selector being configured to receive an input that correlates to changing the first natural language text having a first style to a second natural language text having a second style ([0117] Server page specification manager 540 also displays user interface controls [selector] to change the size, font, style, justification, color, and opacity of the text, as described above, the color and opacity of the text box background, or select one of several default settings of such controls, as described above, and other commands, such as a “next” or “add page” command, as described above. When the user adds any text or makes any changes to any text on the page using the text box provided, server page specification manager 540 receives such text or changes and displays such text and changes instantly or near-instantly to the user);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify conversion of Chin with the GUI selection of Agostino in order to accommodate a plurality of displays in a GUI where each portion displays different styles.
With respect to claims 3, 8 and 13 Agostino further teaches wherein the graphical interface element corresponds to a customizable parameter having a plurality of customizable options ([0117] Server page specification manager 540 [planner] also displays user interface controls [selector] to change the size, font, style, justification, color, and opacity of the text [planning representation], as described above, the color and opacity of the text box background, or select one of several default settings [customizable parameter] of such controls, as described above, and other commands, such as a “next” or “add page” command, as described above. When the user adds any text or makes any changes to any text on the page using the text box provided, server page specification manager 540 receives such text or changes and displays such text and changes instantly or near-instantly to the user);
With respect to claims 4, 9 and 14 Agostino further teaches wherein a planning representation corresponds to a language font and the method further comprises:
providing the first natural language text to a planner ([0117] Server page specification manager 540 [planner] also displays user interface controls [selector] to change the size, font, style, justification, color, and opacity of the text [planning representation], as described above, the color and opacity of the text box background, or select one of several default settings [customizable parameter] of such controls, as described above, and other commands, such as a “next” or “add page” command, as described above. When the user adds any text or makes any changes to any text on the page using the text box provided, server page specification manager 540 receives such text or changes and displays such text and changes instantly or near-instantly to the user); and
receiving a planning representation that indicates a style of the second natural language text from the planner ([0117] Server page specification manager 540 [planner] also displays user interface controls [selector] to change the size, font, style, justification, color, and opacity of the text [planning representation], as described above, the color and opacity of the text box background, or select one of several default settings [customizable parameter] of such controls, as described above, and other commands, such as a “next” or “add page” command, as described above. When the user adds any text or makes any changes to any text on the page using the text box provided, server page specification manager 540 receives such text or changes and displays such text and changes instantly or near-instantly to the user).
With respect to claims 5, 10 and 15 Agostino further teaches wherein, when converting the first natural language text to the second natural language text, the method further comprises generating the second natural language text based on the planning representation that indicates the style of the second natural language text ([0117] Server page specification manager 540 [planner] also displays user interface controls [selector] to change the size, font, style, justification, color, and opacity of the text [planning representation], as described above, the color and opacity of the text box background, or select one of several default settings [customizable parameter] of such controls, as described above, and other commands, such as a “next” or “add page” command, as described above. When the user adds any text or makes any changes to any text on the page using the text box provided, server page specification manager 540 receives such text or changes and displays such text and changes instantly [] or near-instantly to the user).
Claims 6, 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chin and Agostino in further view of Na.
With respect to Claims 6, 11 and 16 none of Chin, Agostino explicitly disclose, but Na teaches the method further comprising generating the second natural language text with an encoder-decoder (Na¶ [0053] In another example structure of the RNN, for example and as demonstrated below in the example of FIG. 10, a translation model having an encoder-decoder structure may be implemented.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify conversion of Chin in view of the GUI selection of Agostino to include encoder-decoder of Na in order to may perform the inference more efficiently (Na [0062])
Conclusion
/ATHAR N PASHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2657