Response to Amendments/Arguments
Amendments/Arguments dated 5/26/26 are being entered. In view of the amendments, the examiner withdraws the 101 rejections. In view of the amendments, the examiner maintains art rejection using new references.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chin in further view of Deng (US 20210287657 A1), Nishida (US 20210042472 A1) and Agostino (US 20220261852 A1),
With respect to claims 2, 7 and 12 Chin teaches (claim 2) A computer-implemented method comprising: (claim 7) A device, comprising: a processing unit; and a memory coupled to the processing unit and having instructions stored thereon, the instructions, when executed by the processing unit, causing the device to perform acts comprising: (claim 12 ) A non-transitory machine storage medium having instructions embodied thereon, the instructions executable by a processor of a machine to perform operations comprising:
receiving a first natural language text (Chin ¶ [0040] FIG. 5 is a flowchart 500 illustrating a method for obtaining an alternate translation from a user. An indication of when a user-manipulable cursor (e.g., cursor 102) is positioned in proximity to a first presentation of first text (e.g., 100) in a GUI is received);
[[presenting a user interface having a graphical interface element that comprises a selector, the selector being configured to receive an input that correlates to changing the first natural language text having a first style to a second natural language text having a second style]];
receiving an input to convert the first natural language text to the second natural language text (Chin ¶ [0040] FIG. 5 is a flowchart 500 illustrating a method for obtaining an alternate translation from a user. An indication of when a user-manipulable cursor (e.g., cursor 102) is positioned in proximity to a first presentation of first text (e.g., 100) in a GUI is received, the first text being in a first language (step 502). A second presentation (e.g., feedback window 106) in the GUI of second text in a distinct second language is displayed (step 504). The second text represents a translation of the first text into the second language or the first text represents a translation of the second text into the first language. Finally, user input to the GUI is received providing an alternate translation of the first text to the second text or the second text to the first text (step 506), ¶[0029]the MTS 326 translates text by looking at adjacent sequences of one or more words in a source text to find the most probably translation of the text in the translation model 318);
converting the first natural language text into the second natural language text by a text generation model, the second natural language text at least partly reflecting a meaning of the first natural language text, the second style being distinguishable from the first style (Chin ¶ [0040] FIG. 5 is a flowchart 500 illustrating a method for obtaining an alternate translation from a user. An indication of when a user-manipulable cursor (e.g., cursor 102) is positioned in proximity to a first presentation of first text (e.g., 100) in a GUI is received, the first text being in a first language (step 502). A second presentation (e.g., feedback window 106) in the GUI of second text in a distinct second language is displayed (step 504). The second text represents a translation of the first text into the second language or the first text represents a translation of the second text into the first language. Finally, user input to the GUI is received providing an alternate translation of the first text to the second text or the second text to the first text (step 506), ¶[0029]the MTS 326 translates text by looking at adjacent sequences of one or more words in a source text to find the most probably translation of the text in the translation model 318).
Chin does not explicitly disclose however Deng teaches wherein: converting the first natural language text into the second natural language text comprises: extracting a first feature vector from the first natural language text (Deng¶[0147] An objective of the text feature analysis is to perform analysis such as text regularization, prosodic prediction, and duration prediction on an input text to obtain a text feature );
converting the first feature vector into a second feature vector by a planning function with a modifiable parameter (Deng¶ [0044] obtaining an emotion type of the target text; selecting, based on the emotion type, an acoustic model corresponding to the emotion type; receiving an emotion intensity value [planning function] input by a user, to determine a corresponding emotion intensity feature vector [second feature vector], where the emotion intensity value [modifiable parameter value] input by the user is continuously adjustable), the second feature vector representing the second style (Deng¶ [0044] obtaining an emotion type of the target text; selecting, based on the emotion type, an acoustic model corresponding to the emotion type; receiving an emotion intensity value input by a user, to determine a corresponding emotion intensity feature vector[second feature vector], where the emotion intensity value input by the user is continuously adjustable [first parameter value can be selected by adjustment]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify conversion of Chin with the style of Deng in order to dynamically adjust the style.
None of Chin and Deng explicitly disclose however Nishida teaches generating the second natural language text based on the first natural language text and the second feature vector by concatenating a representation of the first natural language text and the second feature vector to obtain a concatenated feature and generating the second natural language text based on the concatenated feature (Nishida ¶: Claim 15. generate, based on the input text, a first series of vectors representing the input text; generate, based on the definition sentence, a second series of vectors [second feature vector]representing the definition sentence of the headword; combine, based at least on a substitution of a vector for the head word in the input text with the second series of vectors [concatenate], the first series of vectors and the second series of vectors; generate, based on the combined first series of vectors and the second series of vectors, text [second natural language text], an output series of vectors representing the input text based the definition sentence for words of the headword for improved accuracy of semantics of the input text; train, using the generated output series of vectors for training, a neural network for estimating an implication relation between texts; and provide, based on the trained neural network, the implication relation between a plurality of texts.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify conversion of Chin in view of the style of Deng to include concatenation of Nishida in order to dynamically adjust the style.
None of Chin, Deng and Nishida explicitly disclose however Agostino teaches presenting a user interface having a graphical interface element that comprises a selector, the selector being configured to receive an input that correlates to changing the first natural language text having a first style to a second natural language text having a second style (¶Agostino[0117] Server page specification manager 540 also displays user interface controls [selector] to change the size, font, style, justification, color, and opacity of the text, as described above, the color and opacity of the text box background, or select one of several default settings of such controls, as described above, and other commands, such as a “next” or “add page” command, as described above. When the user adds any text or makes any changes to any text on the page using the text box provided, server page specification manager 540 receives such text or changes and displays such text and changes instantly or near-instantly to the user);
the graphical interface element corresponds to the modifiable parameter of the planning function such that receiving the input via the selector modifies the modifiable parameter to change the second style ([0117] Server page specification manager 540 also displays user interface controls [selector] to change the size, font, style, justification, color, and opacity of the text, as described above, the color and opacity of the text box background, or select one of several default settings of such controls, as described above, and other commands, such as a “next” or “add page” command, as described above. When the user adds any text or makes any changes to any text on the page using the text box provided, server page specification manager 540 receives such text or changes and displays such text and changes instantly or near-instantly to the user).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify conversion of Chin in view of the style of Deng in view of concatenation of Nishida to include the GUI selection of Agostino in order to accommodate a plurality of displays in a GUI where each portion displays different styles.
With respect to claims 3, 8 and 13 Agostino further teaches wherein the graphical interface element corresponds to a customizable parameter having a plurality of customizable options ([0117] Server page specification manager 540 [planner] also displays user interface controls [selector] to change the size, font, style, justification, color, and opacity of the text [planning representation], as described above, the color and opacity of the text box background, or select one of several default settings [customizable parameter] of such controls, as described above, and other commands, such as a “next” or “add page” command, as described above. When the user adds any text or makes any changes to any text on the page using the text box provided, server page specification manager 540 receives such text or changes and displays such text and changes instantly or near-instantly to the user);
With respect to claims 4, 9 and 14 Agostino further teaches wherein a planning representation corresponds to a language font and the method further comprises: providing the first natural language text to a planner ([0117] Server page specification manager 540 [planner] also displays user interface controls [selector] to change the size, font, style, justification, color, and opacity of the text [planning representation], as described above, the color and opacity of the text box background, or select one of several default settings [customizable parameter] of such controls, as described above, and other commands, such as a “next” or “add page” command, as described above. When the user adds any text or makes any changes to any text on the page using the text box provided, server page specification manager 540 receives such text or changes and displays such text and changes instantly or near-instantly to the user);
receiving a planning representation that indicates a style of the second natural language text from the planner ([0117] Server page specification manager 540 [planner] also displays user interface controls [selector] to change the size, font, style, justification, color, and opacity of the text [planning representation], as described above, the color and opacity of the text box background, or select one of several default settings [customizable parameter] of such controls, as described above, and other commands, such as a “next” or “add page” command, as described above. When the user adds any text or makes any changes to any text on the page using the text box provided, server page specification manager 540 receives such text or changes and displays such text and changes instantly or near-instantly to the user).
With respect to claims 5, 10 and 15 Agostino further teaches wherein, when converting the first natural language text to the second natural language text, the method further comprises generating the second natural language text based on the planning representation that indicates the style of the second natural language text ([0117] Server page specification manager 540 [planner] also displays user interface controls [selector] to change the size, font, style, justification, color, and opacity of the text [planning representation], as described above, the color and opacity of the text box background, or select one of several default settings [customizable parameter] of such controls, as described above, and other commands, such as a “next” or “add page” command, as described above. When the user adds any text or makes any changes to any text on the page using the text box provided, server page specification manager 540 receives such text or changes and displays such text and changes instantly [] or near-instantly to the user).
With respect to claims 6, 11 and 16 Nishida further teaches generating the second natural language text with an encoder-decoder (Nishida¶[0257] For an RNN used for an encoder and a decoder, a two-layer bidirectional SRU was used (reference document 2). An output dimension number of the bidirectional SRU was set as n.sub.2=200. A tanh function was used as an activation function.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ATHAR N PASHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2657