CTFR 18/801,213 CTFR 88367 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claims 1-20 have been examined. P = paragraph e.g. P[0001] = paragraph[0001] Examiner’s Note: The 03/05/2026 claim amendments have rendered moot the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101, as the amended limitations are directed to operations performing “during travel” of the aircraft including receiving “real time updates” and showing changes to a route due to the “real time updates”, which is significantly more than the abstract idea. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments filed 03/05/2026 directed to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. The Examiner notes that while Claims 1, 9 and 17 are rejected using only prior art already of record, the Applicant does not provide specific arguments to address the new combination of prior art as applied to the amended claims and only argues “As discussed above, Mollahan fails to disclose all features of claim 1. Applicant respectfully submits that none of Shaam, Hoogland, Aich, Suiter, and Svatek, alone or in combination, disclose or suggest” which does not specifically address the use of the prior art of record as applied to the amended claims, where it has been found that prior art already of record Hoogland (2016/0290817) teaches the majority of the independent claim amendments. Therefore, these arguments are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. Regarding the 03/05/2026 arguments directed to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), while the arguments directed to the rejections of Claims 1 and 9 under 112(b) are moot as these rejections have been withdrawn due to the 03/05/2026 claim amendments deleting the limitation “cross-reference” of Claim 1 and “cross-referencing” of Claim 9, the arguments directed to the rejection of Claim 17 under 112(b) are not persuasive. Specifically, the Applicant argues “ Nevertheless, Applicant amends claim 1 to recite "validate the destination of the user with the road map data" rather than "cross-reference the destination data with the road map data to validate the destination of the user." Support for the amendment can be found at least at Fig. 2 and Par. [0019] of the subject application. Claims 9 and 17 are similarly amended. No new matter is added ”. However, Claim 17 has not been amended to remove “ cross-reference ” from the limitation “ cross-reference the destination data with the road map data to validate the destination of the passenger ”. Therefore, Claim 17 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). All other arguments are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. All claims are rejected. See the new grounds of rejection. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. As per Claim 17, the limitation “ cross-reference the destination data with the road map data to validate the destination of the passenger ” is unclear. Specifically, it is unclear what is steps are required by the claimed “ cross-reference the destination data with the road map data to validate the destination of the passenger ”, as it is unclear what it means to “ cross-reference ” the “ destination data ” with the “ road map data ”. For example, it is unknown if some data is being compared between the “destination data” and the “road map data”, or if the “destination data” is used to provide a reference to the “road map data” or vice versa, or some other step that is not expressly claimed. Furthermore, it is unclear if the “ validate the destination of the passenger ” limitation is achieved by the “ cross-reference the destination data with the road map data ” step alone, or if the “ validate the destination of the passenger ” limitation is a step that is intended to be performed in addition to the “ cross-reference the destination data with the road map data ” step. When turning to the specification for clarification, the specification does not appear to expressly recite any specific algorithm that corresponds to a “cross-reference” step. Furthermore, P[0019] of the specification recites “ Once received, the destination data 36 is cross-referenced with the road map data 24 to validate the destination 38 of the user. Validation of the destination 38 may include determining GPS coordinates for the destination data 36 when an address, intersection, or name of a business, a landmark, or a point of interest is received ”, however, this validation process does not appear in the claim, and this process is also not disclosed as being part of a “ cross-reference ”, and in fact, P[0019] appears to disclose that the validation is an entirely separate process from a “ cross-reference ”, leaving it unclear what process is required to be performed by the claimed “ cross-reference ” limitation. Therefore, the claim is unclear. It is understood by the Examiner that the “ to validate the destination of the passenger ” is directed to an intended use that does not further limit the claim, as indicated by the use of the word “ to ”. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 2, 7-10, 15-17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mollahan et al. (2024/0161024) in view of Hoogland (2016/0290817) . Regarding Claim 1, Mollahan et al. teaches the claimed computing system for combined aviation and ground mapping for aircraft navigation, the computing system comprising: memory storing aviation map data, road map data, and instructions of an air-ground navigation program (see P[0255]-P[0257]) ; and processing circuitry configured to implement the air-ground navigation program (see P[0255]-P[0257]) , thereby causing the processing circuitry to: receive aircraft location data that indicates a current location of an aircraft (“…the geographic area 200 can include a plurality of aerial facilities 205A-E. The aerial facilities 205A-E (e.g., vertiports) can allow a user to transition from a ground transportation modality to an aerial transportation modality, or vice versa. The plurality of aerial facilities 205A-E can be placed at various locations within the geographic area 200. The plurality of aerial facilities 205A-E can be connected by a plurality aerial routes 210A-J”, see P[0058] and FIGS. 1-2, where clearly an aircraft is located at the origin of an aerial route) ; receive destination data that indicates a destination for a user of the aircraft (“The second user itinerary can include transporting the second user from a second origin location 250 to the first intermediate location (e.g., aerial facility 205A) to the second intermediate location (e.g., aerial facility 205B) and, ultimately, to a second destination location 255”, see P[0061] and FIGS. 1-2) ; validate the destination of the user cross-reference the destination data with the road map data to validate the destination of the user (“The second user itinerary can include ground transportation modalities along the first and last transportation legs 240, 245 and an aerial transportation modality along the intermediate transportation leg 220”, see P[0061] and FIGS. 1-2) and “…the computing system 850 can access a database storing a map of the aerial facility. The computing system 850 can generate a custom map for the user that overlays a path from arrival location of the user (e.g., the car drop-off location or landing pad of the aircraft) to the user's next relevant location (e.g., a waiting/boarding location for the next vehicle). The computing system 850 can transmit signals encoding the custom map to a user device. The signals can cause the user device to render the custom map for the user”, see P[0184], and see P[0114] and FIG. 2) ; determine, via the aviation map data, a landing site proximate the destination (“The first and second intermediate locations can be determined based on their proximity (e.g., being the closest aerial facilities) to the first origin location 230 and the first destination location 235, respectively. The first user itinerary can include ground transportation modalities (e.g., cars, etc.) along the first and last transportation legs 215, 225 and an aerial transportation modality (e.g., VTOLs) along the intermediate transportation leg 220”, see P[0060] and “The second user itinerary can include ground transportation modalities along the first and last transportation legs 240, 245 and an aerial transportation modality along the intermediate transportation leg 220”, see P[0061] and FIG. 2) ; execute an air route generation algorithm to generate an air route segment to be traveled by the aircraft from the current location of the aircraft to the landing site (“The second user itinerary can include ground transportation modalities along the first and last transportation legs 240, 245 and an aerial transportation modality along the intermediate transportation leg 220”, see P[0061] and FIGS. 1-2) ; execute a ground route generation algorithm to generate a ground route segment to be traveled over land from the landing site to the destination (“The second user itinerary can include ground transportation modalities along the first and last transportation legs 240, 245 and an aerial transportation modality along the intermediate transportation leg 220”, see P[0061] and FIGS. 1-2) ; combine the air route segment and the ground route segment to generate a combined air-ground navigation route (“The second user itinerary can include ground transportation modalities along the first and last transportation legs 240, 245 and an aerial transportation modality along the intermediate transportation leg 220”, see P[0061] and FIGS. 1-2) ; and output a visual representation of the combined air-ground navigation route to a display device (see FIG. 2). Mollahan et al. does not expressly recite the claimed wherein during travel of the aircraft on the air route segment of the combined air-ground navigation route, the processing circuitry receives real time updates to the aviation map data and the road map data, and changes to the combined air-ground navigation route due to the real time updates are shown in the visual representation of the combined air-ground navigation route output to the display device . However, Hoogland (2016/0290817) teaches receiving real time updates to the aviation map data and the road map data, and changes to a combined air-ground navigation route due to the real time updates are shown in a visual representation of the combined air-ground navigation route output to the display device (Hoogland; “The update module 530 can dynamically regenerate or update the composite navigation route 206 based on the safety condition 308, the road traffic condition 236, the non-terrestrial traffic condition 238, or a combination thereof. For example the update module 530 can dynamically regenerate the composite navigation route 206 based on a change in the safety condition 308, the road traffic condition 236, and the non-terrestrial traffic condition 238 at the arrival point 220”, see P[0217]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Mollahan et al. with the teachings of Hoogland, and wherein during travel of the aircraft on the air route segment of the combined air-ground navigation route, the processing circuitry receives real time updates to the aviation map data and the road map data, and changes to the combined air-ground navigation route due to the real time updates are shown in the visual representation of the combined air-ground navigation route output to the display device, as rendered obvious by Hoogland, in order to “calculate a non-terrestrial navigation route” and “calculate a ground navigation route” (Hoogland; see Abstract). Regarding Claim 2, Mollahan et al. does not expressly recite the claimed computing system of claim 1, wherein an estimated duration for the combined air-ground navigation route is displayed on the display device . However, Hoogland (2016/0290817) teaches wherein an estimated duration for a combined air-ground navigation route is displayed on a display device (Hoogland; see P[0059] and FIG. 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Mollahan et al. with the teachings of Hoogland, and wherein an estimated duration for the combined air-ground navigation route is displayed on the display device, as rendered obvious by Hoogland, in order to “calculate a non-terrestrial navigation route” and “calculate a ground navigation route” (Hoogland; see Abstract). Regarding Claim 7, Mollahan et al. teaches the claimed computing system of claim 1, wherein the aircraft is an autonomous or remotely piloted aircraft (Mollahan et al.; “…aircraft devices 435 can include…an autonomy system…”, see P[0092]). Regarding Claim 8, Mollahan et al. teaches the claimed computing system of claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry further receives a travel mode for the ground route segment, the travel mode being selected from walk, bicycle, bus, railway, and car (“The first user itinerary can include ground transportation modalities (e.g., cars, etc.) along the first and last transportation legs 215, 225 and an aerial transportation modality (e.g., VTOLs) along the intermediate transportation leg 220”, see P[0060]). Regarding Claim 9, Mollahan et al. teaches the claimed method for combined aviation and ground mapping for aircraft navigation, the method comprising: receiving aircraft location data that indicates a current location of the aircraft (“…the geographic area 200 can include a plurality of aerial facilities 205A-E. The aerial facilities 205A-E (e.g., vertiports) can allow a user to transition from a ground transportation modality to an aerial transportation modality, or vice versa. The plurality of aerial facilities 205A-E can be placed at various locations within the geographic area 200. The plurality of aerial facilities 205A-E can be connected by a plurality aerial routes 210A-J”, see P[0058] and FIGS. 1-2, where clearly an aircraft is located at the origin of an aerial route) ; receiving destination data that indicates a destination for a user of the aircraft (“The second user itinerary can include transporting the second user from a second origin location 250 to the first intermediate location (e.g., aerial facility 205A) to the second intermediate location (e.g., aerial facility 205B) and, ultimately, to a second destination location 255”, see P[0061] and FIGS. 1-2) ; validating cross-referencing the destination data with road map data to validate the destination of the user with road map data (“The second user itinerary can include ground transportation modalities along the first and last transportation legs 240, 245 and an aerial transportation modality along the intermediate transportation leg 220”, see P[0061] and FIGS. 1-2) and “…the computing system 850 can access a database storing a map of the aerial facility. The computing system 850 can generate a custom map for the user that overlays a path from arrival location of the user (e.g., the car drop-off location or landing pad of the aircraft) to the user's next relevant location (e.g., a waiting/boarding location for the next vehicle). The computing system 850 can transmit signals encoding the custom map to a user device. The signals can cause the user device to render the custom map for the user”, see P[0184], and see P[0114] and FIG. 2) ; determining, via aviation map data, a landing site proximate the destination (“The first and second intermediate locations can be determined based on their proximity (e.g., being the closest aerial facilities) to the first origin location 230 and the first destination location 235, respectively. The first user itinerary can include ground transportation modalities (e.g., cars, etc.) along the first and last transportation legs 215, 225 and an aerial transportation modality (e.g., VTOLs) along the intermediate transportation leg 220”, see P[0060] and “The second user itinerary can include ground transportation modalities along the first and last transportation legs 240, 245 and an aerial transportation modality along the intermediate transportation leg 220”, see P[0061] and FIG. 2) ; executing an air route generation algorithm to generate an air route segment to be traveled by the aircraft from the current location of the aircraft to the landing site (“The second user itinerary can include ground transportation modalities along the first and last transportation legs 240, 245 and an aerial transportation modality along the intermediate transportation leg 220”, see P[0061] and FIGS. 1-2) ; executing a ground route generation algorithm to generate a ground route segment to be traveled over land from the landing site to the destination (“The second user itinerary can include ground transportation modalities along the first and last transportation legs 240, 245 and an aerial transportation modality along the intermediate transportation leg 220”, see P[0061] and FIGS. 1-2) ; combining the air route segment and the ground route segment to generate a combined air-ground navigation route (“The second user itinerary can include ground transportation modalities along the first and last transportation legs 240, 245 and an aerial transportation modality along the intermediate transportation leg 220”, see P[0061] and FIGS. 1-2) ; and outputting a visual representation of the combined air-ground navigation route to a display device (see FIG. 2). Mollahan et al. does not expressly recite the claimed wherein during travel of the aircraft on the air route segment of the combined air-ground navigation route, the method further includes: receiving real time updates to the aviation map data and the road map data, and showing changes to the combined air-ground navigation route due to the real time updates in the visual representation of the combined air-ground navigation route output to the display device . However, Hoogland (2016/0290817) teaches receiving real time updates to the aviation map data and the road map data, and changes to a combined air-ground navigation route due to the real time updates are shown in a visual representation of the combined air-ground navigation route output to the display device (Hoogland; “The update module 530 can dynamically regenerate or update the composite navigation route 206 based on the safety condition 308, the road traffic condition 236, the non-terrestrial traffic condition 238, or a combination thereof. For example the update module 530 can dynamically regenerate the composite navigation route 206 based on a change in the safety condition 308, the road traffic condition 236, and the non-terrestrial traffic condition 238 at the arrival point 220”, see P[0217]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Mollahan et al. with the teachings of Hoogland, and wherein during travel of the aircraft on the air route segment of the combined air-ground navigation route, the method further includes: receiving real time updates to the aviation map data and the road map data, and showing changes to the combined air-ground navigation route due to the real time updates in the visual representation of the combined air-ground navigation route output to the display device, as rendered obvious by Hoogland, in order to “calculate a non-terrestrial navigation route” and “calculate a ground navigation route” (Hoogland; see Abstract). Regarding Claim 10, Mollahan et al. does not expressly recite the claimed method of claim 9, the method further including: displaying an estimated duration for the combined air-ground navigation route on the display device . However, Hoogland (2016/0290817) teaches displaying an estimated duration for a combined air-ground navigation route on a display device (Hoogland; see P[0059] and FIG. 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Mollahan et al. with the teachings of Hoogland, and displaying an estimated duration for the combined air-ground navigation route on the display device, as rendered obvious by Hoogland, in order to “calculate a non-terrestrial navigation route” and “calculate a ground navigation route” (Hoogland; see Abstract). Regarding Claim 15, Mollahan et al. teaches the claimed method of claim 9, wherein the aircraft is an autonomous or remotely piloted aircraft (Mollahan et al.; “…aircraft devices 435 can include…an autonomy system…”, see P[0092]). Regarding Claim 16, Mollahan et al. teaches the claimed method of claim 9, the method further including: receiving a travel method for the ground route segment, the travel method being selected from walk, bicycle, bus, railway, and car (“The first user itinerary can include ground transportation modalities (e.g., cars, etc.) along the first and last transportation legs 215, 225 and an aerial transportation modality (e.g., VTOLs) along the intermediate transportation leg 220”, see P[0060]). Regarding Claim 17, Mollahan et al. teaches the claimed computing system for combined aviation and ground mapping for urban air motility navigation, the computing system comprising: memory storing aviation map data, road map data, and instructions of an air-ground navigation program (see P[0255]-P[0257]) ; and processing circuitry configured to implement the air-ground navigation program (see P[0255]-P[0257]) , thereby causing the processing circuitry to: receive user origin data that indicates an origin of a passenger of an autonomous or remotely piloted urban air motility passenger aircraft (“A user itinerary (also referred to as a “multi-modal itinerary”) can be defined by a data structure that includes various information associated with a user's trip from an origin location to a destination location”, see P[0055] and “…aircraft devices 435 can include…an autonomy system…”, see P[0092]) ; receive aircraft location data that indicates a boarding location of the aircraft (“…the geographic area 200 can include a plurality of aerial facilities 205A-E. The aerial facilities 205A-E (e.g., vertiports) can allow a user to transition from a ground transportation modality to an aerial transportation modality, or vice versa. The plurality of aerial facilities 205A-E can be placed at various locations within the geographic area 200. The plurality of aerial facilities 205A-E can be connected by a plurality aerial routes 210A-J”, see P[0058] and FIGS. 1-2, where clearly an aircraft is located at the origin of an aerial route) ; receive destination data that indicates a destination of the passenger of the aircraft (“A user itinerary (also referred to as a “multi-modal itinerary”) can be defined by a data structure that includes various information associated with a user's trip from an origin location to a destination location”, see P[0055] and “…aircraft devices 435 can include…an autonomy system…”, see P[0092]) ; cross-reference the origin data with the road map data to validate the origin of the passenger with the road map data (“The second user itinerary can include ground transportation modalities along the first and last transportation legs 240, 245 and an aerial transportation modality along the intermediate transportation leg 220”, see P[0061] and FIGS. 1-2) and “…the computing system 850 can access a database storing a map of the aerial facility. The computing system 850 can generate a custom map for the user that overlays a path from arrival location of the user (e.g., the car drop-off location or landing pad of the aircraft) to the user's next relevant location (e.g., a waiting/boarding location for the next vehicle). The computing system 850 can transmit signals encoding the custom map to a user device. The signals can cause the user device to render the custom map for the user”, see P[0184], and see P[0114] and FIG. 2) ; cross-reference the destination data with the road map data to validate the destination of the passenger (“The second user itinerary can include ground transportation modalities along the first and last transportation legs 240, 245 and an aerial transportation modality along the intermediate transportation leg 220”, see P[0061] and FIGS. 1-2) and “…the computing system 850 can access a database storing a map of the aerial facility. The computing system 850 can generate a custom map for the user that overlays a path from arrival location of the user (e.g., the car drop-off location or landing pad of the aircraft) to the user's next relevant location (e.g., a waiting/boarding location for the next vehicle). The computing system 850 can transmit signals encoding the custom map to a user device. The signals can cause the user device to render the custom map for the user”, see P[0184], and see P[0114] and FIG. 2) ; execute a ground route generation algorithm to generate a first ground route segment to be traveled over land from the origin to the boarding location (“The itinerary data can indicate the modality for each transportation leg, a transition point (e.g., a pick-up/drop-off location) between each leg, and, in some implementations, one or more expectations for the transportation service”, see P[0134] and “The second user itinerary can include ground transportation modalities along the first and last transportation legs 240, 245 and an aerial transportation modality along the intermediate transportation leg 220”, see P[0061] and FIGS. 1-2) ; execute an air route generation algorithm to generate an air route segment to be traveled by the aircraft from the current location of the aircraft to the landing site (“The second user itinerary can include ground transportation modalities along the first and last transportation legs 240, 245 and an aerial transportation modality along the intermediate transportation leg 220”, see P[0061] and FIGS. 1-2) ; execute the ground route generation algorithm to generate a second ground route segment to be traveled over land from the landing site to the destination (“The second user itinerary can include ground transportation modalities along the first and last transportation legs 240, 245 and an aerial transportation modality along the intermediate transportation leg 220”, see P[0061] and FIG. 2) ; combine the first ground segment, the air route segment, and the second ground route segment to produce a combined air-ground navigation route (“The second user itinerary can include ground transportation modalities along the first and last transportation legs 240, 245 and an aerial transportation modality along the intermediate transportation leg 220”, see P[0061] and FIGS. 1-2) ; and output a visual representation of the combined air-ground navigation route to a display device (see FIG. 2). Mollahan et al. does not expressly recite the claimed wherein during travel of the aircraft on the air route segment of the combined air-ground navigation route, the processing circuitry receives real time updates to the aviation map data and the road map data, and changes to the combined air-ground navigation route due to the real time updates are shown in the visual representation of the combined air-ground navigation route output to the display device . However, Hoogland (2016/0290817) teaches receiving real time updates to the aviation map data and the road map data, and changes to a combined air-ground navigation route due to the real time updates are shown in a visual representation of the combined air-ground navigation route output to the display device (Hoogland; “The update module 530 can dynamically regenerate or update the composite navigation route 206 based on the safety condition 308, the road traffic condition 236, the non- terrestrial traffic condition 238, or a combination thereof. For example the update module 530 can dynamically regenerate the composite navigation route 206 based on a change in the safety condition 308, the road traffic condition 236, and the non-terrestrial traffic condition 238 at the arrival point 220”, see P[0217]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Mollahan et al. with the teachings of Hoogland, and wherein during travel of the aircraft on the air route segment of the combined air-ground navigation route, the processing circuitry receives real time updates to the aviation map data and the road map data, and changes to the combined air-ground navigation route due to the real time updates are shown in the visual representation of the combined air-ground navigation route output to the display device, as rendered obvious by Hoogland, in order to “calculate a non-terrestrial navigation route” and “calculate a ground navigation route” (Hoogland; see Abstract). Regarding Claim 19, Mollahan et al. teaches the claimed computing system of claim 17, wherein the visual representation of the navigation route is output to the display device of a passenger mobile computing device of the passenger of the autonomous or remotely piloted urban air motility passenger aircraft (see FIG. 2). Regarding Claim 20, Mollahan et al. teaches the claimed computing system of claim 17, wherein the processing circuitry further receives a first travel mode for the first ground route segment and a second travel mode for the second ground route segment (“The second user itinerary can include ground transportation modalities along the first and last transportation legs 240, 245 and an aerial transportation modality along the intermediate transportation leg 220”, see P[0061] and FIGS. 1-2) , the first and second travel modes being selected from walk, bicycle, bus, railway, and car (“The first user itinerary can include ground transportation modalities (e.g., cars, etc.) along the first and last transportation legs 215, 225 and an aerial transportation modality (e.g., VTOLs) along the intermediate transportation leg 220”, see P[0060]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mollahan et al. (2024/0161024) in view of Hoogland (2016/0290817) further in view of Shaam et al. (2014/0351037) . Regarding Claim 3, Mollahan et al. teaches the claimed computing system of claim 2, wherein the estimated duration includes an air travel time for the air route segment and a ground travel time for the ground route segment . However, Shaam et al. (2014/0351037) teaches a duration which includes an air travel time for an air route segment and a ground travel time for a ground route segment (Shaam et al.; “…each segment has an associated travel mode…”, see P[0084] and “Each row in the summary table 201 corresponds to a mode of travel displayed in the travel mode column 202, including airline, train, bus, and car rental…The total time column 204 displays the duration of each segment of the trip”, see P[0085]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Mollahan et al. with the teachings of Shaam et al., and wherein the estimated duration includes an air travel time for the air route segment and a ground travel time for the ground route segment, as rendered obvious by Shaam et al., in order to provide “a very simple user experience” (Shaam et al.; see P[0085]). Regarding Claim 11, Mollahan et al. does not expressly recite the claimed method of claim 10, the method further including: including in the estimated duration an air travel time for the air route segment and a ground travel time for the ground route segment . However, Shaam et al. (2014/0351037) teaches a duration which includes an air travel time for an air route segment and a ground travel time for a ground route segment (Shaam et al.; “…each segment has an associated travel mode…”, see P[0084] and “Each row in the summary table 201 corresponds to a mode of travel displayed in the travel mode column 202, including airline, train, bus, and car rental…The total time column 204 displays the duration of each segment of the trip”, see P[0085]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Mollahan et al. with the teachings of Shaam et al., and including in the estimated duration an air travel time for the air route segment and a ground travel time for the ground route segment, as rendered obvious by Shaam et al., in order to provide “a very simple user experience” (Shaam et al.; see P[0085]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 4, 5, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mollahan et al. (2024/0161024) in view of Hoogland (2016/0290817) further in view of Aich et al. (2020/0104962) . Regarding Claim 4, Mollahan et al. does not expressly recite the claimed computing system of claim 1, wherein a travel distance for the combined air-ground navigation route is displayed on the display device . However, Aich et al. (2020/0104962) teaches wherein a travel distance for a combined air-ground navigation route is displayed on a display device (Aich et al.; see P[0093] and FIG. 1B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Mollahan et al. with the teachings of Aich et al., and wherein a travel distance for the combined air-ground navigation route is displayed on the display device, as rendered obvious by Aich et al., in order to “allow a customer to personalize a ride in a vehicle of a transportation service” (Aich et al.; see P[0002]). Regarding Claim 5, Mollahan et al. does not expressly recite the claimed computing system of claim 4, wherein the travel distance includes an air travel distance for the air route segment and a ground travel distance for the ground route segment . However, Aich et al. (2020/0104962) teaches wherein the travel distance includes an air travel distance for the air route segment and a ground travel distance for the ground route segment (Aich et al.; see P[0093] and FIG. 1B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Mollahan et al. with the teachings of Aich et al., and wherein the travel distance includes an air travel distance for the air route segment and a ground travel distance for the ground route segment, as rendered obvious by Aich et al., in order to “allow a customer to personalize a ride in a vehicle of a transportation service” (Aich et al.; see P[0002]). Regarding Claim 12, Mollahan et al. does not expressly recite the claimed method of claim 9, the method further including: displaying a travel distance for the combined air-ground navigation route on the display device . However, Aich et al. (2020/0104962) teaches displaying a travel distance for a combined air-ground navigation route on a display device (Aich et al.; see P[0093] and FIG. 1B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Mollahan et al. with the teachings of Aich et al., and displaying a travel distance for the combined air-ground navigation route on the display device, as rendered obvious by Aich et al., in order to “allow a customer to personalize a ride in a vehicle of a transportation service” (Aich et al.; see P[0002]). Regarding Claim 13, Mollahan et al. does not expressly recite the claimed method of claim 12, the method further including: including in the travel distance an air travel distance for the air route segment and a ground travel distance for the ground route segment . However, Aich et al. (2020/0104962) teaches including in a travel distance an air travel distance for an air route segment and a ground travel distance for a ground route segment (Aich et al.; see P[0093] and FIG. 1B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Mollahan et al. with the teachings of Aich et al., and including in the travel distance an air travel distance for the air route segment and a ground travel distance for the ground route segment, as rendered obvious by Aich et al., in order to “allow a customer to personalize a ride in a vehicle of a transportation service” (Aich et al.; see P[0002]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mollahan et al. (2024/0161024) in view of Hoogland (2016/0290817) further in view of Suiter et al. (9,310,222) . Regarding Claim 6, Mollahan et al. does not expressly recite the claimed computing system of claim 1, wherein the display device includes a user interface, during travel of the aircraft on the air route segment of the combined air-ground navigation route, the processing circuitry receives real time updates to the aviation map data and road map data, and when an alternate landing site is identified based on the real time updates, an option to change the combined air-ground navigation route to land at the alternate landing site is presented to the user via the user interface . However, Hoogland (2016/0290817) teaches the equivalent of “ an alternate landing site is identified based on the real time updates ” (Hoogland; “…the navigation system 100 can select different instances of the ground navigation route 208, the non-terrestrial navigation route 210, or a combination thereof when any of the road traffic condition 236, the safety condition 308, or a combination thereof changes as the user embarks on the composite navigation route 206”, see P[0181]), where because the vehicle clearly must land to then embark on a ground navigation route, any of the multiple instances of the ground navigation route is equivalent to an “ alternate landing site ”. Furthermore, Hoogland teaches displaying an “ alternate landing site ” by displaying of the selected ground navigation route. Regarding the “ option ” limitation of the claimed “ when an alternate landing site is identified based on the real time updates, an option to change the combined air-ground navigation route to land at the alternate landing site is presented to the user via the user interface ”, Suiter et al. (9,310,222) teaches displaying alternative landing sites based on current conditions (Suiter et al.; see col.35, particularly lines 47-62). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Mollahan et al. with the teachings of Hoogland and Suiter et al., and wherein the display device includes a user interface, and when an alternate landing site is identified based on the real time updates, an option to change the combined air-ground navigation route to land at the alternate landing site is presented to the user via the user interface, as rendered obvious by Hoogland and Suiter et al., in order to “calculate a non-terrestrial navigation route” and “calculate a ground navigation route” (Hoogland; see Abstract), and in order to provide “the best potential alternative landing sites” based on “external conditions such as weather and local traffic” (Suiter et al., see col.35, lines 30-35). Regarding Claim 14, Mollahan et al. does not expressly recite the claimed method of claim 9, the method further including: including a user interface in the display device, receiving real time updates to the aviation map data and the road map data during travel of the aircraft on the air route segment of the combined air-ground navigation route, and when an alternate landing site is identified based on the real time updates, presenting an option to change the combined air-ground navigation route to land at the alternate landing site to the user via the user interface . However, Hoogland (2016/0290817) teaches the equivalent of “ an alternate landing site is identified based on the real time updates ” (Hoogland; “…the navigation system 100 can select different instances of the ground navigation route 208, the non-terrestrial navigation route 210, or a combination thereof when any of the road traffic condition 236, the safety condition 308, or a combination thereof changes as the user embarks on the composite navigation route 206”, see P[0181]), where because the vehicle clearly must land to then embark on a ground navigation route, any of the multiple instances of the ground navigation route is equivalent to an “ alternate landing site ”. Furthermore, Hoogland teaches displaying an “ alternate landing site ” by displaying of the selected ground navigation route. Regarding the “ option ” limitation of the claimed “ when an alternate landing site is identified based on the real time updates, presenting an option to change the combined air-ground navigation route to land at the alternate landing site to the user via the user interface ”, Suiter et al. (9,310,222) teaches displaying alternative landing sites based on current conditions (Suiter et al.; see col.35, particularly lines 47-62). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Mollahan et al. with the teachings of Hoogland and Suiter et al., and the method further including: including a user interface in the display device, and when an alternate landing site is identified based on the real time updates, presenting an option to change the combined air-ground navigation route to land at the alternate landing site to the user via the user interface, as rendered obvious by Hoogland and Suiter et al., in order to “calculate a non-terrestrial navigation route” and “calculate a ground navigation route” (Hoogland; see Abstract), and in order to provide “the best potential alternative landing sites” based on “external conditions such as weather and local traffic” (Suiter et al., see col.35, lines 30-35) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mollahan et al. (2024/0161024) in view of Hoogland (2016/0290817) further in view of Svatek et al. (2024/0331551) . Regarding Claim 18, Mollahan et al. teaches the claimed computing system of claim 17, wherein the origin data and the destination data are input to a passenger mobile computing device by the passenger of the unmanned urban air motility passenger aircraft (“…a user 110 may desire to travel on a journey from an origin location 112 to a destination location 114. The user 110 can interact with a user device 116, via a user interface of a software application, to book transportation for the journey”, see P[0053]). Mollahan et al. does not expressly recite the claimed the processing circuitry of the computing system is a computing device on board the aircraft, and the origin data and destination data are communicated to the onboard computing device via a computer network . However, Svatek et al. (2024/0331551) teaches a user submitting a transport request from an origin to a destination using a mobile computing device (Svatek et al.; see P[0032]), and providing an aircraft with a flight plan including flight instructions generated from the transport request (Svatek et al.; see P[0056]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Mollahan et al. with the teachings of Svatek et al., and the processing circuitry of the computing system is a computing device on board the aircraft, and the origin data and destination data are communicated to the onboard computing device via a computer network, as rendered obvious by Svatek et al., in order to provide for “transporting passengers via uncrewed aircraft systems (UAS) receives passenger requests for transport between origin and destination points” (Svatek et al.; see Abstract). Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ISAAC G SMITH whose telephone number is (571)272-9593. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday, 8AM-5PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, ANISS CHAD can be reached at 571-270-3832. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ISAAC G SMITH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/801,213 Page 2 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/801,213 Page 3 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/801,213 Page 4 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/801,213 Page 5 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/801,213 Page 6 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/801,213 Page 7 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/801,213 Page 8 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/801,213 Page 9 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/801,213 Page 10 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/801,213 Page 11 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/801,213 Page 12 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/801,213 Page 13 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/801,213 Page 14 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/801,213 Page 15 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/801,213 Page 16 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/801,213 Page 17 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/801,213 Page 18 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/801,213 Page 19 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/801,213 Page 20 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/801,213 Page 21 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/801,213 Page 22 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/801,213 Page 23 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/801,213 Page 24 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/801,213 Page 25 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/801,213 Page 26 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/801,213 Page 27 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/801,213 Page 28 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/801,213 Page 29 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/801,213 Page 30 Art Unit: 3662 Application/Control Number: 18/801,213 Page 31 Art Unit: 3662