DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
2. This is a nonfinal rejection in response to claims filed on 08/12/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending and are examined herein.
Priority
3. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for priority to provisional application 63/532,244 filed on 08/11/2023.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101
5. Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Is the claim to a Process, Machine, Manufacture, or Composition of Matter?
Claims 1-18: An apparatus, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to:
Claims 19: A method, comprising:
Claims 20: A computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing code, the code being configured to be executable by a processor to perform operations comprising:
Claims 1-18 are directed to an apparatus with processors and memory devices which is an apparatus claims and falls under at least “machine or manufacture.” Claim 19 is directed to a method which falls under “process.” Claim 20 is directed to a non-transitory storage medium which falls under at least “manufacture.” Therefore, all of the claims fall under at least one potentially eligible subject matter category and are to be further analyzed under step 2.
Step 2a Prong 1: Is the claim directed to a Judicial Exception(A Law of Nature, a Natural Phenomenon (Product of Nature), or An Abstract Idea?)
The claims under the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification are analyzed herein. Representative claims 1, 19, and 20 are marked up, isolating the abstract idea from additional elements, wherein the abstract idea is in bold and the additional elements have been italicized as follows:
Claim 1 Preamble: An apparatus, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to:
Claim 19 Preamble: A method, comprising:
Claim 20 Preamble: A computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing code, the code being configured to be executable by a processor to perform operations comprising:
Claim 1 Body (also representative of claims 19 and 20 body):
determine identifying information for an automated teller machine (ATM) that is being managed;
determine a service script for the ATM, the service script comprising information for maintaining the ATM;
identify multimedia elements associated with the information in the service script; and
present the service script and the associated multimedia elements on an end user device.
When evaluating the bolded limitations of the claims under the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, it is clear that representative claims 1, 19, and 20 recite an abstract idea within the category of “certain methods of organizing human activity.” More specifically, the present invention falls under the sub-grouping “managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people” include social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions as outlined in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)(C). In the instant case, the claims in bold recite steps of “determine identifying information for an automated teller machine (ATM) that is being managed; determine a service script for the ATM, the service script comprising information for maintaining the ATM; identifying elements associated with the information in the service script and present the service script and the associated elements.” These steps clearly fall within the aforementioned sub-grouping because they provide instructions or teachings to help manage the personal behavior of a user, in this case, a repair technician. The fact that the instructions are for maintaining an ATM machine does not detract from the claims reciting an abstract idea because the ATM itself is not positively recited in the present claim. The disclosure, [0057] of the instant specification, states “[0057] In one embodiment, the script module 204 is configured to provide a service script to a service technician for servicing an ATM. As used herein, a service script may refer to a list of steps, items, mechanisms, components, parts, and/or the like to be performed, to be checked, to be serviced, and/or the like during a service check of an ATM. In certain embodiments, the script module 204 presents information for each step of the service script, which may include instructions, videos, audio, images, links to websites, and/or the like for performing the step.” Thus, it is clear that the claims recite a determination of instructions to manage the behavior of a person, particularly a service technician, therefore, the claims recite an abstract idea under “certain methods of organizing human activity,” and are to be further analyzed under Step 2A Prong 2.
Step 2A Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
Claims 1, 19, and 20 recite the following the additional elements:
- An apparatus, comprising:
-at least one memory; and
-at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory: in claim 1
- A computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing code, the code being configured to be executable by a processor; in claim 20
-multimedia elements: in claims 1, 19, 20
- end user device: in claims 1, 19, 20
The additional elements listed above, when considered individually and in combination with the claim as a whole, no more than a recitation of the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea or other exception on generic computing components as outlined in MPEP 2106.05(f). In this case, the abstract idea of “determine identifying information for an automated teller machine (ATM) that is being managed; determine a service script for the ATM, the service script comprising information for maintaining the ATM; identifying elements associated with the information in the service script and present the service script and the associated elements.” is merely instructed to be performed on generic computing components such as a memory, processor, computer, end user device and a non-transitory storage medium. It is evident in at least paragraph [0042] and [0045] of the specification that these computer components are intended to be any computer capable of performing the functions, therefore, no improvement to a computer or a technical field has been implemented in the claims, which is one of the consideration in MPEP 2106.05(a).
Furthermore, the elements being multimedia elements is merely a general link to the technical field of multimedia as outlined in MPEP 2106.05(h).
Therefore, the additional elements, whether analyzed individually or as an ordered combination, fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even when considering the claims as a whole. Therefore, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
Claims 1, 19, and 20 recite the following the additional elements:
- An apparatus, comprising:
-at least one memory; and
-at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory: in claim 1
- A computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing code, the code being configured to be executable by a processor; in claim 20
-multimedia elements: in claims 1, 19, 20
- end user device: in claims 1, 19, 20
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, they do not add significantly more (also known as an “inventive concept”) to the exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using generic computing devices such as a memory, processor, computer, end user device and a non-transitory storage medium to perform the abstract idea of “determine identifying information for an automated teller machine (ATM) that is being managed; determine a service script for the ATM, the service script comprising information for maintaining the ATM; identifying elements associated with the information in the service script and present the service script and the associated elements” amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computing components. (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Accordingly, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. Thus claims 1, 19, and 20 are not patent eligible because the claims are directed to an abstract without significantly more.
Dependent claims 2-18 are also given the full two part analysis, with the additional elements being considered individually and in an ordered combination as a whole, resulting in the following determinations.
Claims 2 and 3 merely further limit the abstract idea by further defining the service script to comprise a series of predefined steps for performing maintenance on the ATM including images, videos, links to external sources for the series of predefined steps. This is more of the same abstract idea since it is merely a display of data, wherein the data is part of the abstract idea of “managing personal behavior” including teachings or instructions, which are certain methods of organizing human activity. Furthermore, there are no further additional elements to consider and nothing in the claims, even when viewed as a whole, meaningfully limits the abstract idea such they provide significantly more.. Therefore, claims 2 and 3 are also patent ineligible.
Claims 4, 5, and 8 merely further limit the abstract idea by adding the features of causing the apparatus to receive input from the end user device, including text input, image, video, and audio input associated with the maintenance of the ATM. This is more of the same abstract idea because they merely recite general data collection steps as they pertain to the abstract idea of managing personal behavior. Similarly, in claim 8, these inputs are to be provided to a third party, which is still a management of interactions, and thus falls under “certain methods of organizing human activity.” The fact that these inputs are caused by the apparatus or occur on end user devices are merely additional elements that are “apply it” level elements because they recite performing the abstract idea on generic computing devices as outlined in MPEP 2106.05(f). Therefore even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claims meaningfully limits the abstract idea such they provide significantly more. Therefore, claims 4 and 5 are also patent ineligible.
Claims 6 and 7 merely further limit the abstract idea by adding the step of performing a quality control check. Performing a quality control check, recited as such a level of generality, is still part of the abstract idea of “certain methods of organizing human activity,” since it is merely reciting business relations along with the overall concept of “managing personal behavior or interactions.” Furthermore, the claims also add the additional element of using an artificial intelligence for performing the quality check. This is merely an example of “generally linking” artificial intelligence to the abstract idea, since the claims merely invoke the use of artificial intelligence to perform the abstract idea without meaningful limitation. Therefore even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claims meaningfully limits the abstract idea such they provide significantly more. Therefore, claims 6 and 7 are also patent ineligible.
Claim 9 merely further limits the abstract idea by providing a gateway for accessing information about an ATM. In the context of the claims, accessing information about an ATM is still more of the same abstract idea recited in claim 1, within “certain methods of organizing human activity.” When considering the “gateway” as an additional element, it is clear that it is still an “apply it” level element because it merely recites any generic computer capable of establishing an information connection with the ATM. Therefore even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claims meaningfully limits the abstract idea such they provide significantly more. Thus claim 9 is still patent ineligible.
Claim 10 merely further limits the abstract idea by adding the steps of receiving user credentials and authenticating a user. However, at this level of generality, inputting user information and authenticating a user is merely more of the same abstract idea as recited under claim 1 under “managing personal behavior, relationships or interactions...” Similarly, the “gateway” is merely an additional element that is an apply it level element. Therefore even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claims meaningfully limits the abstract idea such they provide significantly more. Thus claim 10 is still patent ineligible.
Claims 11-16 merely further limit the abstract idea by adding generic data output features that are capable to be performed by generic computers, such as “present a plurality of ATMS that are being managed and information for the plurality of ATMS based on permissions of the users, and “receive a selection of one of the plurality of ATMs, and present additional information” in claims 11 and 12 respectively. These data output features, since they are regarding maintenance for ATMS, is still more of the same abstract idea of “managing personal behavior, or relationships, or interactions.” Even the features of “receive filter criteria, create custom categories, and arrange the plurality of ATMs” are merely indicating the format in which data is to be displayed, as it pertains to the abstract idea. Therefore, all of the claims are still reciting “certain methods of organizing human activity.” Furthermore, there are no additional elements to consider in these claims, other than the apparatus in which the abstract idea is performed, which would still be performing the abstract idea on generic computing device. Therefore, even when viewing claims 11-16 as a whole, including the additional elements in combination, nothing in the claims provides significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, claims 11-16 are also patent ineligible.
Claims 17-18 merely further limit the abstract idea by causing the apparatus to send a message to a user such as an image, description, service history, in response to the ATM having a critical issue. This is more of the same abstract idea since it is merely a notification as a result of the data processing that is sent to the user, presumably to manage the maintenance of an ATM machine. This is still a recitation of certain methods of organizing human activity. Furthermore, there are no additional elements to consider in these claims, other than the apparatus in which the abstract idea is performed, which would still be performing the abstract idea on generic computing device. Therefore, even when viewing claims 17-18 as a whole, including the additional elements in combination, nothing in the claims provides significantly more than the abstract idea. Therefore, claims 17-18 are also patent ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-5 and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alicia Y Moore. (US 11373147 B1) hereinafter Moore, in view of Robitzkat et al. (US 20170301261 A1) hereinafter Robitzkat.
Regarding Claims 1, 19, and 20:
Moore discloses a device management systems to determine a status of one or more financial institution devices and display the statuses on a mobile device.
Claim 1 Preamble: An apparatus, comprising: at least one memory and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to; (Moore [Col. 4 Lines 26-36] The mobile device 116 may include any type of mobile device 116 that may be used to monitor or is otherwise associated with the financial institution device 122. Mobile devices 116 may include any type of mobile device 116 including, but not limited to, a phone (e.g., smartphone, etc.) and a computing device (e.g., tablet computer, laptop computer, person digital assistant, etc.). In one embodiment, the mobile device 116 may include a specific computing device (e.g., a tablet computer) maintained by a financial institution and selectively usable by various financial institution personnel. [Col. 4 Line 43-46] As shown, the mobile device 116 includes a processing circuit 138, which may include a processor 132, memory 134, location positioning system 133, input/output logic 135, and network interface 112.)
Claim 19 Preamble: A method, comprising: (Moore [Col. 1 Line 54] ) Another exemplary embodiment relates to a method. The method includes...)
Claim 20 Preamble: A computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing code, the code being configured to be executable by a processor to perform operations comprising:(Moore [Col. 5 Line 62 – Col. 6 Line 11] As such, the enterprise computing system 104 may include a network interface 105, which may be used to establish connections with other components of the system 100 by way of network 110. The network interface 105 may include program logic that facilitates connection of the enterprise computing system 104 to the network 110. The network interface 105 may support communication between the enterprise computing system 104 and other systems, such as the mobile device 116 and the financial institution device 122. For example, the network interface 105 may include a cellular modem, a Bluetooth transceiver, a Bluetooth beacon, a radio-frequency identification (RFID) transceiver, and a near field communication (NFC) transmitter. In some arrangements, the network interface 105 may include the hardware and machine-readable media sufficient to support communication over multiple channels of data communication.)
Claim 1 Body (also representative of claims 19 and 20):
-determine identifying information for an automated teller machine (ATM) that is being managed; (Moore [Col. 11 Lines 46-52] The display may include a list of status information, wherein a user 120 may observe or search the list for information associated with the financial institution device(s) 122. Information included in the list may include, but is not limited to, an identification of the financial institution device 122 (e.g., ATM, cash drawer, printer, etc.), [Col. 15 Lines 26-40] Referring now to FIG. 6 with reference to FIGS. 4-5, a pop-up window of the financial institution device statuses is shown on the mobile device 116, according to an example embodiment. If a user 120 highlights a row of the display 500 and then clicks on the same row again after it is already highlighted, the display 500 may open a pop-up window (e.g., detailed display 600) with further detail about that particular device. For example, if the user 120 highlights row “1. ATM 1” and then clicks on that row again, the device management system 102 may generate a detailed display 600 in the form of a pop-up window. The detailed display 600 includes the device 502 (e.g., ATM 1) and the status 504 (e.g., “Needs Maintenance”). The detailed display 600 additionally identifies further detail (e.g., Status Detail 602) of the status of the particular device (e.g., ATM 1 (412)).)
-determine a service script for the ATM, the service script comprising information for maintaining the ATM; (Moore [Col. 11 Lines 52-54] a status of the device 122 (e.g., operational, needs maintenance, other, etc.), and detailed instructions on how to fix the device 122. [Col. 15 Line 46- Col. 15 Line 61] Referring now to FIG. 7 with reference to FIGS. 4-6, a further pop-up window of instructions on how to fix or maintain the relevant financial institution device 122 is shown on the mobile device 116, according to an example embodiment. If a user 120 highlights a row of the display 600 under the Status Detail 602 section, and then clicks on the same row again after it is already highlighted, the display 600 may open a further pop-up window (e.g., maintenance instructions display 700) with further detail on how to fix or maintain that particular device 122. For example, if the user 120 highlights row “Cash dispenser requires maintenance” and then clicks on that row again, the device management system 102 may generate a maintenance instructions display 700 in the form of a pop-up window. The maintenance instructions display includes the device 502 (e.g., ATM 1) and the status 504 (e.g., “Needs Maintenance”).)
-present the service script on an end user device. (Moore [Col. 15 Line 61 – Col. 16 Line 4] The maintenance instructions display 700 additionally identifies further detail (e.g., Instructions 702) of how to fix or maintain that particular device (e.g., ATM 1 (412)). As shown, the Instructions 702 may identify the specific steps required to fix or maintain that device 122. In the example shown, the Instructions 702 further specify to “1. Remove foreign objects or remaining notes in gate of dispenser,” “2. Check to see if sensor bracket is bent,” “3. Check to see if sensor cable is disconnected,” “4. Clean sensor,” and “5. Reboot ATM.” A user 120 viewing the display 700 on the mobile device 116 may follow the steps to perform the maintenance on the financial institution device 122)
However, Moore fails to teach:
-identify multimedia elements associated with the information in the service script; and present the associated multimedia elements on an end user device.
Alternatively, in an analogous art, Robitzkat discloses a platform for managing/ training users to perform regular maintenance tasks on industrial cleaning devices:
-identify multimedia elements associated with the information in the service script; and present the associated multimedia elements on an end user device. (Robitzkat [0017] In various embodiments, displaying the instructions for completing at least one step of a maintenance task comprises displaying animated instructions for the at least one step of the maintenance task and displaying the image data such that at least a portion of the animated instructions that relate to at least a portion of the industrial cleaning device is displayed over the image data associated with the particular portion of the industrial cleaning device, the animated instructions configured to guide a user through the at least one step of the maintenance task associated with the industrial cleaning device.) Displaying animated instructions which includes “image data” is an example of identifying multimedia elements associated with the information in the service script(image data that related to a portion of the industrial cleaning device).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present disclosure to modify Moore by adding the identification of relevant multimedia elements and presenting the multimedia elements (animated instructions with image data as taught by Robitzkat). Such a combination would yield the predictable outcome of presenting the image data along with the existing instructions as taught by Moore. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to perform the combination by the benefit of providing the user more access to user friendly instructions. (Robitzkat [0006] For example, various embodiments provide technical and/or customer support options for training users about one or more industrial cleaning devices and/or how to perform basic and/or regular maintenance tasks, assisting a user in troubleshooting an industrial cleaning device, accessing live customer support, and/or the like.)
Regarding Claim 2:
The combination of Moore and Robitzkat teach the apparatus of claim 1,
Furthermore, Moore teaches:
-wherein the service script comprises a series of predefined steps for performing maintenance on the ATM. (Moore [Col. 15 Line 54- Col. 16 Line 6] As shown, the Instructions 702 may identify the specific steps required to fix or maintain that device 122. In the example shown, the Instructions 702 further specify to “1. Remove foreign objects or remaining notes in gate of dispenser,” “2. Check to see if sensor bracket is bent,” “3. Check to see if sensor cable is disconnected,” “4. Clean sensor,” and “5. Reboot ATM.” A user 120 viewing the display 700 on the mobile device 116 may follow the steps to perform the maintenance on the financial institution device 122.)
Regarding Claim 3:
The combination of Moore and Robitzkat teach the apparatus of claim 2,
However, Moore fails to teach:
- wherein the multimedia elements comprise images, videos, links to external resources, or a combination thereof, for at least one of the series of predefined steps.
Alternatively, Robitzkat teaches: - wherein the multimedia elements comprise images, videos, links to external resources, or a combination thereof, for at least one of the series of predefined steps. (Robitzkat [0010] In some embodiments, receiving information related to completing a maintenance task comprises: causing image data to be captured, the image data comprising image data associated with the device; and causing display of animated instructions and the image data, the animated instructions displayed over the image data such that at least a portion of the animated instructions that relate to at least a portion of the device is displayed over the image data associated with the portion of the device, the animated instructions configured to guide a user through the maintenance task associated with the device. [0092] The image data may be, for example, a sequence of still photos of each step of the maintenance task, and/or a video recording of the steps taken. [0062] In various embodiments, the help person operating a help system 200 may provide remote technical and/or customer support to a user via a user computing entity 30. A help system 200 may include one or more components that are functionally similar to those of the support system 100 and/or the user computing entity 30. [0089] The user (e.g., operating a user computing entity 30) and the help person (e.g., operating a help system 200) may communicate via a video chat, a voice chat (e.g., via wired or wireless telephone, voice over IP (VOIP), and/or the like), instant messaging, text messaging, email, and/or the like.) The chat with a remote help person is an example of links to external resources.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present disclosure to modify Moore by adding the identification of relevant multimedia elements such as images, video, links, and presenting the multimedia elements (animated instructions with image data as taught by Robitzkat). Such a combination would yield the predictable outcome of presenting the image data along with the existing instructions as taught by Moore. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to perform the combination by the benefit of providing the user more access to user friendly instructions. (Robitzkat [0006])
Regarding Claim 4:
The combination of Moore and Robitzkat teach the apparatus of claim 1,
Furthermore Moore teaches:
- wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to receive input from the end user device for the service script.(Moore [Col. 15 Lines 29-45] If a user 120 highlights a row of the display 500 and then clicks on the same row again after it is already highlighted, the display 500 may open a pop-up window (e.g., detailed display 600) with further detail about that particular device. For example, if the user 120 highlights row “1. ATM 1” and then clicks on that row again, the device management system 102 may generate a detailed display 600 in the form of a pop-up window. The detailed display 600 includes the device 502 (e.g., ATM 1) and the status 504 (e.g., “Needs Maintenance”). The detailed display 600 additionally identifies further detail (e.g., Status Detail 602) of the status of the particular device (e.g., ATM 1 (412)). As shown, the Status Detail 602 may identify the specific functions and/or components that require maintenance on a particular device. In the example shown, the Status Detail 602 further specifies that the “Cash dispenser requires maintenance,” and the “Card reader requires maintenance.”)
Regarding Claim 5:
The combination of Moore and Robitzkat teach the apparatus of claim 4,
However, Moore fails to teach:
- wherein the input comprises text input, image input, video input, audio input, or a combination thereof associated with maintenance of the ATM.
Alternatively, Robitzkat teaches: - wherein the input comprises text input, image input, video input, audio input, or a combination thereof associated with maintenance of the ATM. (Robitzkat [0048] [0048] Various information can be input by a user (e.g., operating a user computing entity 30 or other appropriate computing entity) to the support system 100 via the network interface 108 and/or input/output device 104. This input information may include information related to an industrial cleaning device, troubleshooting information, image and/or video data, help and/or service request information, or other information. This input information may vary, however, depending on the configuration and informational requirements of the support system 100. [0049] As mentioned above, the support system 100 also includes an input/output device 104 for receiving and displaying data. The support system 100 may include or be in communication with one or more input elements, such as a keyboard input...)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present disclosure to modify Moore by adding the ability for the inputs to comprise text inputs, image inputs, video inputs, or audio inputs. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the benefit of these inputs allowing customer support agents to provide more help by having a better view of the situation. (Robitzkat [0033] In one embodiment, the user may capture image data (still images and/or video) of the user completing one or more steps of a maintenance task associated with an industrial cleaning device. The captured image data may be displayed to a remote help person in real-time, near real-time, or at a later point in time (e.g., after a short delay, a few minutes later, a few hours later, a day or a few days later, a week later, and/or the like) to provide additional information to the help person regarding a maintenance task in progress or that has been completed by the user. In one embodiment, a remote help person may cause animated instructions for a maintenance task associated with an industrial cleaning device to be displayed to a user. In various embodiments, live video of a support person may be displayed to the user in combination with animated instructions provided via augmented reality technology.)
Regarding Claim 8:
The combination of Moore and Robitzkat teach the apparatus of claim 4,
However, Moore fails to teach:
-wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to provide the input to a third party.
Alternatively, Robitzkat teaches: - wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to provide the input to a third party. (Robitzkat [0033) In one embodiment, the user may capture image data (still images and/or video) of the user completing one or more steps of a maintenance task associated with an industrial cleaning device. The captured image data may be displayed to a remote help person in real-time, near real-time, or at a later point in time (e.g., after a short delay, a few minutes later, a few hours later, a day or a few days later, a week later, and/or the like) to provide additional information to the help person regarding a maintenance task in progress or that has been completed by the user. In one embodiment, a remote help person may cause animated instructions for a maintenance task associated with an industrial cleaning device to be displayed to a user. In various embodiments, live video of a support person may be displayed to the user in combination with animated instructions provided via augmented reality technology.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present disclosure to modify Moore by adding the ability to provide the input to a third party as taught by Robitzkat. Such a combination would provide the benefit of improving the ability of a help person to assess the situation and provide assistance. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the benefit as it would further improve the ability of a user to perform correct maintenance and manage the various ATMs in Moore. (Robitzkat [0033])
Regarding Claim 9:
The combination of Moore and Robitzkat teach the apparatus of claim 1,
Furthermore, Moore teaches:
-wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to provide a gateway for accessing information about an ATM, including the identifying information for the ATM. (Moore [Col. 9 Lines 23-36] In another embodiment, the detection circuit 212 may include machine-readable media operable to execute a detection program that facilitates the scanning of a predefined area for network-connected devices. For example, the machine-readable media may function like a search engine that acquires data indicative of one or more ports associated with a device to facilitate identification thereof (e.g., ports can include, but are not limited to, HTTP, SSH, FTP, and SNMP). In another example, the machine-readable media may facilitate receiving an indication of a mobile device 116 to pair that device with the financial institution device 122, such that the detection circuit 212 may monitor the paired financial institution device 122 via the mobile device 116.) Connecting via HTTP, SSH, FTP, and SNMP to facilitate identification data of financial institution devices is an example of providing a gateway to accessing identifying information for an ATM.
Regarding Claim 10:
The combination of Moore and Robitzkat teach the apparatus of claim 9,
Furthermore, Moore teaches:
- wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to receive user credentials from the gateway for authenticating a user, (Moore [Col. 9 Lines 23-36] In one embodiment, the authorization logic 224 may be communicably coupled to the input/output logic 135 of the mobile device 116 and to the credentials database 130, such that the authorization logic 224 may determine the identity of a user 120 through user input, shown as a user login 202, on the mobile device 116. By communicating with the credentials database 130, the authorization logic 224 may use the determined identity of a user 120 to determine the level of authorization of the user 120 by matching the identity with a corresponding level of authorization. As mentioned above, the credentials database 130 may store and provide access to credentials of the user 120, including, but not limited to name, username, employee number, job title, password, scanned eye data, facial data, fingerprint data, and so on of the user 120. As an example, the user login 202 may include a username, in the form of a self-designated username, an employee identification number, or any other identifiable combination of letters, numbers, and symbols. The user login 202 may additionally include a password, or other passcode, that the user 120 inputs to the mobile device 116.)
-the user credentials determining access permissions for a user. (Moore [Col. 9 Lines 36-54]In this example, the authorization logic 224 may use the username and/or password to determine a level of authorization of the user 120 by matching the username and/or password with a designated level of authorization in the credentials database 130. Further, the authorization logic 224 may prompt the user 120 to input the user login 202 once the user 120 “wakes up” the mobile device 116 by either touching a touch screen on the mobile device 116, turning the mobile device 116 on, or performing any other initial action on the mobile device 116 that may indicate a new user 120 has started using the mobile device 116. The prompt may facilitate the reception of the user credentials and determination of an authorization level of the user 120.)
Regarding Claim 11:
The combination of Moore and Robitzkat teach the apparatus of claim 10,
Furthermore, Moore teaches:
-wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to present a plurality of ATMs that are being managed and information for the plurality of ATMs based on the permissions for the user. (Moore [Col. 2 Lines 15-22] receive the level of authorization of the user; receive the priority of the status of the plurality of financial institution devices; receive the proximity of the mobile device; and generate, for a subset of the plurality of financial institution devices, the status of the subset of the plurality of financial institution devices based on the level of authorization of the user, the priority of the status, and the proximity of the mobile device.) See also Fig. 5 which displays the list of ATMs.
Regarding Claim 12:
The combination of Moore and Robitzkat teach the apparatus of claim 11,
Furthermore, Moore teaches:
-wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to receive a selection of one of the plurality of ATMs and (Moore [Col. 15 Line 29-33] If a user 120 highlights a row of the display 500 and then clicks on the same row again after it is already highlighted, the display 500 may open a pop-up window (e.g., detailed display 600) with further detail about that particular device.
-present additional information for the selected one of the plurality of ATMs. (Moore [Col. 15 Lines 33-40] For example, if the user 120 highlights row “1. ATM 1” and then clicks on that row again, the device management system 102 may generate a detailed display 600 in the form of a pop-up window. The detailed display 600 includes the device 502 (e.g., ATM 1) and the status 504 (e.g., “Needs Maintenance”). The detailed display 600 additionally identifies further detail (e.g., Status Detail 602) of the status of the particular device (e.g., ATM 1 (412)).)
Regarding Claim 13:
The combination of Moore and Robitzkat teach the apparatus of claim 11,
Furthermore, Moore teaches:
-wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to receive filter criteria for filtering the plurality of ATMs. (Moore [Col. 16 Lines 26-34] Additionally, a user may have a predefined level of authorization such that the user may only be able to see the status of one of the devices, such as the ATM. Thus, when the financial institution device statuses are displayed on the special purpose table while in use by that particular user, the ATM status is the only status that will appear. [Col. 11 Line 46-54] The display may include a list of status information, wherein a user 120 may observe or search the list for information associated with the financial institution device(s) 122. Information included in the list may include, but is not limited to, an identification of the financial institution device 122 (e.g., ATM, cash drawer, printer, etc.), a status of the device 122 (e.g., operational, needs maintenance, other, etc.), and detailed instructions on how to fix the device 122.) In the excerpts above, two examples of receiving filter criteria for the filtering the plurality of ATMS, given its broadest reasonable interpretation, are taught by Moore. For example in Col. 16, the predefined level of authorization resulting in the ability to only view of the devices is an example of receiving filter criteria (level of authorization.) In Col. 11, the ability to search for information in a list is also an example of applying filter criteria.
Regarding Claim 14:
The combination of Moore and Robitzkat teach the apparatus of claim 11,
Furthermore, Moore teaches:
-wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to create custom categories for the plurality of ATMs based on user input. (Moore [Col. 7 Lines 36-48] In one embodiment, the “status” may include categories of operation. For example, the “status” may include, but is not limited to, “operational,” “needs maintenance,” and “other.” A status of “operational” may indicate that there is no problem or maintenance issues related to that particular financial institution device 122. Further, a status of “needs maintenance” may indicate that the financial institution device 122 has a technical issue that may need to be fixed. As an example, for an ATM, “needs maintenance” may include problems such as non-functional card reader, jammed cash dispenser, or other technical component of the financial institution device 122. [Col. 10 Lines 56-59] As an example, a user 120 and/or the device management system 102 may designate a priority for various criteria, such as device type, status type, proximity, maintenance type, and so on.)
Regarding Claim 15:
The combination of Moore and Robitzkat teach the apparatus of claim 11,
Furthermore, Moore teaches:
-wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to arrange the plurality of ATMs according to a priority based on maintenance needs. (Moore [Col. 15 Lines 7-25] In this example, the ATM 1 (412) has a relatively higher priority than ATM 2 (414), which has a relatively higher priority than the cash drawer 1 (416), and so on. In this regard and as mentioned above, the term “priority” may refer to a setting relating to a ranking of highest importance to lowest importance of statuses of one or more financial institution devices. As such, the “priority” may be defined according to the financial institution device type, status type, proximity, and type of maintenance required by the financial institution device 122. For example, here, the priority is set according to the type of device 502 and the status 504 of the device. Accordingly, an ATM device type (e.g., ATM 1 (412), ATM 2 (414)) has a higher priority than a cash drawer device type (e.g., cash drawer 1 (416), cash drawer 2 (418)) and a printer device type (e.g., printer 1 (420), printer 2 (422)). Additionally, a “Needs Maintenance” status has higher priority than “Disconnected from Network” and “Out of Cash” statuses. Accordingly, the display 500 reflects these priority determinations.)
Regarding Claim 16:
The combination of Moore and Robitzkat teach the apparatus of claim 15,
Furthermore, Moore teaches:
- wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to visually highlight the plurality of ATMs according to the priority. (Moore [Col. 16 Line 22-29] The financial institution may have predefined that the ATM has the highest priority of the devices located at the financial institution, with the cash drawer having the second highest priority, followed by the printer. Thus, when the financial institution device statuses are displayed on the special purpose tablet, the ATM status may appear first, followed by the cash drawer status and the printer status. [Col. 15 Line 29-36] If a user 120 highlights a row of the display 500 and then clicks on the same row again after it is already highlighted, the display 500 may open a pop-up window (e.g., detailed display 600) with further detail about that particular device. For example, if the user 120 highlights row “1. ATM 1” and then clicks on that row again, the device management system 102 may generate a detailed display 600 in the form of a pop-up window.) The broadest reasonable interpretation of “visually highlight” the plurality of ATMS, in view of [0073] is any style used to visually emphasize the ATMs.
Regarding Claim 17:
The combination of Moore and Robitzkat teach the apparatus of claim 1,
Furthermore, Moore teaches:
-wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to send a message to a user associated with the ATM, (Moore [Col. 8 Line 10-15] The notification may be provided via any type of transmission method. In this regard, the notification may be provided as a text message, an email, and/or an alert to the device management system 102. The notification may be based on the identity or level of authorization of a user 120 of the mobile device 116. [Col. 3 Lines 41-48] In operation, the device management system may facilitate the notification of mobile devices regarding statuses of financial institution devices. The mobile devices may be notified based on proximity to a financial institution device and an authorization level of the user associated with the mobile device to, in turn, provide effective messages to the user to handle the maintenance or problem occurring, if present, of the financial institution device.)
-the message comprising an image of the ATM, a description of the ATM, a service history of the ATM, or a combination thereof. (Moore [Col. 3 Line 48-55] As an example, a financial institution device custodian may be responsible for a particular ATM. While walking around a branch of a financial institution, the device custodian may be positioned near the particular ATM and the custodian’s mobile device may display a status of that ATM indicating that the ATM is low on cash. The device custodian can then react to that notification by replenishing the cash in that ATM.) The message containing an indication that the “ATM is low on cash” satisfies the limitation which only requires one of at least a “description of the ATMs.”
Regarding Claim 18:
The combination of Moore and Robitzkat teach the apparatus of claim,
Furthermore, Moore teaches:
- wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to send a message in response to an ATM having a critical issue. (Moore [Col. 7 Lines 32-47]Further, a status of “needs maintenance” may indicate that the financial institution device 122 has a technical issue that may need to be fixed. As an example, for an ATM, “needs maintenance” may include problems such as non-functional card reader, jammed cash dispenser, or other technical component of the financial institution device 122. [Col. 15 Line 22-25] Additionally, a “Needs Maintenance” status has higher priority than “Disconnected from Network” and “Out of Cash” statuses. Accordingly, the display 500 reflects these priority determinations.)
9. Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moore (US 11373147 B1), in view of Robitzkat (US 20170301261 A1), further in view of Jones et al. (US 20180225616 A1) hereinafter Jones.
Regarding Claim 6:
The combination of Moore and Robitzkat teaches the apparatus of Claim 4:
However, neither Moore nor Robitzkat teaches:
-wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to periodically verify a quality of the input.
Alternatively, in an analogous art, Jones discloses a digital checklist system that manages the quality of maintenance and repairs in a building, certifying that critical steps were properly performed. Jones teaches:
-wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to periodically verify a quality of the input. (Jones [0056] The artificial intelligence engine uses IR technology to look for potential trouble in facilities to mitigate risk. During daily rounds or even periodic digital checklists, the digital checklist system will require a technician to take IR photos and or videos of critical equipment. [0104] In step 1104, the artificial intelligence engine performs one or more actions of 1) determining how long a worker took to perform that step compared to an acceptable range based on any of a historical average or an expected average; 2) looking at the data collected t