DETAILED ACTION
I. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
II. Priority
A. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 365(c) or 386(c) is acknowledged.
B. Applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) is acknowledged as well as the receipt of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
III. Claim Interpretation
The limitation, driving unit, does not invoke interpretation under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f). Each of claims 1,2,23, and 24 recites a drive unit configured to drive a bearing part to move relative to a base. The limitation satisfies prongs (A) and (B) of the test of MPEP 2181(I) for determining whether a claim limitation invokes 112(f) interpretation because it recites the generic placeholder, unit, and is followed the bearing part drive function. Although the limitation is also not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the drive function (prong (C)), the limitation will nevertheless not be interpreted under 112(f) because claim 1 (on which claim 2 depends), claim 23, and claim 24 each recites that the drive unit comprises a movable member and fixed member movable relative to each other, thereby imparting structure to the drive unit. Since neither “drive unit” nor any other claim limitation invokes 112(f) interpretation, all claim limitations will be given their ordinary and customary meaning as understood by one of ordinary skill in the art, pursuant to MPEP 2111.
IV. Claim Objections
A. Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities: On line 12, the examiner suggests amending “an image sensor” to “the image sensor” as the image sensor has been introduced on line 2.
B. Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities:
1. On lines 4 and 12, the examiner suggests amending “an image sensor” to “the image sensor” as the image sensor has been introduced on line 2; and
2. on line 13, the semicolon after “wherein” should be replaced with a colon.
V. Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 112
Claims 12 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
A. Claim 12: antecedent basis
Claim 12 recites “the friction interface” on line 1 which lacks antecedent basis in the claim. Claim 12 depends on claim 1, which does not recite a friction interface. The friction interface is first introduced in claim 10. Accordingly, the examiner suggests amending claim 12 to depend on claim 10 to overcome this rejection, which is how the examiner will interpret the claim.
B. Claim 21: inconsistency between specification and drawings
Claim 21 recites that “the first bearing platform and the connecting part are respectively connected to a top surface of the second bearing platform and a bottom surface of the second bearing platform,” which the examiner understands as the first bearing platform is connected to a top surface of the second bearing platform and the connecting part is connected to a bottom surface of the second bearing platform. The specification echoes this claim language on p. 43, para. [00161], lines 1-3. However, in Fig. 31, the first bearing platform (‘231E’) is connected to a bottom surface of the second bearing platform (‘231F’), and the connecting part is connected to a top surface of the second bearing platform. Ultimately, claim 21 is indefinite because the specification and Fig. 31 provide two competing configurations of the bearing platforms and connecting part and it is unclear which of the two is the intended configuration of claim 21. No prior art rejection will be made for claim 21 until the ambiguity is resolved.
VI. Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102
Claims 1-4,10-15,16,17, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being
anticipated by the Chinese publication of Bao et al. (CN 113542579 A).
Claims 1 and 23 will be addressed together as claim 23 encompasses all the limitations of claim 1. Also, please refer to the attached translation for the cited page and line numbers as they differ from the original Chinese document.
As to claims 1 and 23, Bao et al. teaches a camera module (Fig. 2, camera device “30”), comprising:
an image sensor (Fig. 6, image sensor “90”),
a lens assembly (Fig. 2, lens assembly “032”),
an image sensor drive module (anti-shake component of Figs. 3 and 4), wherein the image sensor is fastened to the image sensor drive module (Fig. 6; p. 9, lines 2 and 3), and the lens assembly is located on a light incident side of the image sensor (Fig. 2), and the image sensor drive module comprises:
a drive unit (Fig. 6, magnets “11” and coils “40”), comprising a fixed member (Fig. 6, coils “40”) and a movable member (Fig. 6, magnets “11” on movable platform “70”) that can move relative to each other (p. 9, lines 18-21);
a base, configured to bear the fixed member (Fig. 6, cover plate “20” and circuit board “30”); and
a movable base (Fig. 6, movable platform “70”, balls “80”, side plate “102”, and signal transmission component “12”/elastic reset piece “13”), comprising a bearing part (Fig. 6, movable platform “70” and balls “80”), a fixing part (Fig. 6, side plate “102”), and a connecting part (Fig. 6, signal transmission component “12”/elastic reset piece “13”; p. 11, lines 3 and 4), wherein the connecting part is configured to implement mechanical and electrical connection between the bearing part and the fixing part (p. 10, lines 35-38; p. 10, line 39 – p. 11, line 1), the bearing part is configured to bear an image sensor (p. 9, lines 2 and 3) and the movable member (p. 9, lines 32-34), and the fixing part is connected to the base (Fig. 6), wherein:
a partial structure of the bearing part and a partial structure of the base form a retention structure, the retention structure is configured to provide a retention force for the bearing part (p. 10, line 39 – p. 11, line 1), the drive unit is configured to drive the bearing part to move relative to the base (p. 9, lines 18-21), and contact between the bearing part and the base is maintained by the retention force of the retention structure (p. 15, lines 5-11).
As to claim 2, Bao et al. teaches the image sensor drive module according to claim 1, wherein the drive unit is configured to drive the bearing part to move relative to the base in a plane perpendicular to an optical axis of a lens assembly of the camera module (Fig. 5, plane “M”; p. 9, lines 6-8).
As to claim 3, Bao et al. teaches the image sensor drive module according to claim 1, wherein the connecting part of the bearing part forms at least a part of the retention structure, the connecting part is of an elastic structure, and an elastic force of the connecting part acts on the bearing part to form the retention force (p. 10, line 39 – p. 11, line 1).
As to claim 4, Bao et al. teaches the image sensor drive module according to claim 3, wherein a connection point between the connecting part and the fixing part is a first position, a connection point between the connecting part and the bearing part is a second position, elastic potential energy exists between the first position and the second position, and the elastic potential energy forms the retention force (Figs. 6-9; p. 11, line 43 – p. 12, line 2).
As to claim 14, Bao et al. teaches the image sensor drive module according to claim 1, wherein a contact manner between the bearing part and the base is of a contact between a plane and arrayed bumps, at a position at which the bearing part is in contact with the base (Fig. 6, rolling balls “80”; {The examiner submits that the halves of the spheres representing the rolling balls and contacting the circuit board “30” can be reasonably construed as bumps.}), a structure of one of the bearing part and the base is a complete planar structure (Fig. 6, circuit board “30” is planar), a structure of the other one of the bearing part and the base is an arrayed bump structure (Fig. 6), and the arrayed bump structure is disposed in correspondence with all regions of the complete planar structure (Fig. 15; {In Fig. 15 of the instant drawings (not Bao’s Fig. 15), the examiner notes that the arrayed bumps do not correspond to all regions of the complete planar structure as they cannot. Otherwise, they cannot be considered bumps. More accurately, they correspond to more partial regions than they do to the partial regions of Fig. 16. Based on this guidance from the specification, the examiner can simply read each of the four rolling balls of Bao et al. as each corresponding to a region encompassing one-fourth of the circuit board “30,” where four one-fourths encompass all regions of the circuit board.}).
As to claim 15, Bao et al. teaches the image sensor drive module according to claim 1, wherein a contact manner between the bearing part and the base is of a contact between a plane and a plurality of arrayed bumps, at a position at which the bearing part is in contact with the base (Fig. 6, rolling balls “80”; {The examiner submits that the halves of the spheres representing the rolling balls and contacting the circuit board “30” can be reasonably construed as bumps.}), a structure of one of the bearing part and the base is a complete planar structure (Fig. 6), a structure of the other one of the bearing part and the base is a multi-bump structure (Fig. 6), and the multi-bump structure is disposed in correspondence with partial regions of the complete planar structure (Fig. 15; {See rejection of claim 14 above. The partial regions can be read as regions each encompassing one-eighth of the circuit board “30,” where four one-eighths would only be partial regions of the circuit board.}).
As to claim 18, Bao et al. teaches the image sensor drive module according to claim 1, wherein the base comprises the fixing platform (Fig. 6, circuit board “30”), the retention force is used to maintain contact between the bearing part and the fixing platform (p. 15, lines 5-11), the drive unit is located between the bearing part and the fixing platform (Fig. 6), and the fixed member is fastened to the fixing platform (col. 8, lines 39 and 40).
VII. Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
A. Claim 1-4,10-13,16,17,19,20, and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US # 12,238,418 B1) in view of Brown (US 2018/0321503 A1)
Claims 1,23, and 24 will be addressed together as claim 24 encompasses all the limitations of claims 1 and 23.
As to claims 1,23, and 24, Yang et al. teaches an electronic device (Fig. 5, device “500”), comprising:
a processor (Fig. 6, control system “600”/processor(s) “602n”; col. 11, lines 54-57) configured to process an image signal (col. 11, lines 51-54) output by an image sensor (Fig. 1A, image sensor “110”);
a camera module (Fig. 1A, camera “100”), wherein the processor is electrically coupled to the camera module (Fig. 6, I/O interface “606”), wherein the camera module comprisesthe image sensor (Fig. 1A, image sensor “110”), a lens assembly (Fig. 1A, lenses “105”), and an image sensor drive module (Fig. 1A; {All components of Yang et al. that are mapped to the claimed image sensor drive module will be revealed below. However, they at least include stiffener “175.”}), the image sensor is fastened to the image sensor drive module (col. 6, lines 18-20), and the lens assembly is located on a light incident side of the image sensor (col. 5, lines 35-40), and the image sensor drive module comprises:
a drive unit (Fig. 1A, magnet(s) “140” and OIS coil “135”), comprising a fixed member (Fig. 1A, magnet(s) “140”; col. 6, lines 52-54) and a movable member (Fig. 1A, OIS coil “135”; col. 6, line 50 and 51) that can move relative to each other (col. 6, lines 59-62);
a base (Fig. 1A, housing “170”), configured to bear the fixed member (col. 6, lines 52-54); and
a movable base (Fig. 1A, substrate blocks “125” and “130”, suspension structure “150”, protection structure “160”, base “165”, and stiffener “175”), comprising a bearing part (Fig. 1A, substrate blocks “125” and “130”, protection structure “160”, and stiffener “175”), a fixing part (Fig. 1A, base “165”), and a connecting part (Fig. 1A, suspension structure “150”), wherein the connecting part is configured to implement mechanical connection between the bearing part and the fixing part (col. 6, lines 20-23), the bearing part is configured to bear an image sensor (col. 6, lines 18-20) and the movable member (col. 6, lines 49 and 50), and the fixing part is connected to the base (col. 6, lines 22 and 23), wherein;
a partial structure of the bearing part and a partial structure of the base form a retention structure (Fig. 1A), the retention structure is configured to provide a retention force for the bearing part (col. 8, lines 40-42), the drive unit is configured to drive the bearing part to move relative to the base (col. 6, lines 59-62).
Claim 1 differs from Yang et al. in that it requires (1) that the connecting part be configured to implement electrical as well as mechanical connection between the bearing part and fixing part and (2) that contact between the bearing part and the base is maintained by the retention force of the retention structure. However, in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, Brown teaches a camera assembly (Fig. 1, camera apparatus “1”) including a carrier (Fig. 2, carrier “8”/moving plate “9”) that bears an image sensor (Fig. 2, image sensor “6”) and a fixed support structure (Fig. 2, rim portion “10”). The carrier and support structure are coupled by elastic flexures (Fig. 3, flexures “67”) that mechanically support the bearing part as it moves within a two-dimensional plane during an image stabilization process ([0070], lines 1-4; [0071], lines 8-11). Additionally, the flexure arms act as an electrical connection for the image sensor between the carrier and support structure (1) ([0070], lines 4 and 5). Furthermore, the camera assembly is designed for contact between the carrier and a base (Figs. 5 and 6, support plate “5”) through greased bearing surfaces (2) (Figs. 5 and 6, bearing surfaces “101” and “102”; [0067]; [0068]; and [0071], lines 1-8).
In light of the teaching of Brown, the examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to design Yang’s flexure arms as electrical paths from the image sensor in addition to mechanical support and to include greased bearing surfaces below Yang’s “bearing part” and on the horizontal housing portion, resulting in contact between the bearing part and the housing portion. Designing Yang’s flexure arms as electrical paths as well as mechanical support would alleviate need for separate electrical connection to the image sensor, which can interfere with image sensor movement during stabilization (see Brown, [0076], lines 4-7). Also, greased bearing surfaces between Yang’s bearing part and housing would provide a continuous thermally conductive path from the image sensor, thereby dissipating heat generated by the image sensor that would otherwise negatively affect its operation (see Brown, [0046]), while also permitting two-dimensional movement through reduced-friction contact between the bearing part and horizontal housing portion (see Brown, [0060] and [0061]).
As to claim 2, Yang et al., as modified by Brown, teaches the image sensor drive module according to claim 1, wherein the drive unit is configured to drive the bearing part to move relative to the base in a plane perpendicular to an optical axis of a lens assembly of the camera module (see Yang et al., col. 6, lines 59-62).
As to claim 3, Yang et al., as modified by Brown, teaches the image sensor drive module according to claim 1, wherein the connecting part of the bearing part forms at least a part of the retention structure, the connecting part is of an elastic structure, and an elastic force of the connecting part acts on the bearing part to form the retention force (see Yang et al., col. 8, lines 40-42).
As to claim 4, Yang et al., as modified by Brown, teaches the image sensor drive module according to claim 3, wherein a connection point between the connecting part and the fixing part is a first position, a connection point between the connecting part and the bearing part is a second position (see Yang et al., Fig. 1A), elastic potential energy exists between the first position and the second position, and the elastic potential energy forms the retention force (see Yang et al., col. 8, lines 40-42).
As to claim 10, Yang et al., as modified by Brown, teaches the image sensor drive module according to claim 1, wherein a friction interface is formed at the contact surface between the bearing part and the base, and a friction coefficient of the friction interface is less than 0.3 (see Brown, [0064]).
As to claim 11, Yang et al., as modified by Brown, teaches the image sensor drive module according to claim 10, wherein at a position of the friction interface, the bearing part and/or the base comprise/comprises a super slip material layer, and the super slip material layer is of a solid structure (see Brown, [0066]), and that the friction coefficient of the friction interface is less than 0.3 is implemented by using the super slip material layer (see Brown, [0064]).
As to claim 12, Yang et al., as modified by Brown, teaches the image sensor drive module according to claim 10, wherein the friction interface comprises a material having thermal conductive properties (see Brown, [0046], lines 4-6). Brown discloses that the bearing surfaces can be composed of ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene (UHMWPE) (see Brown, [0066]), which can achieve a thermal conductivity greater than 0.5 W/m*K. More generally, Brown discloses a design that achieves increased thermal conductivity with reduced friction. Therefore, the examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to tune the UHMWPE used as a bearing surface for a thermal conductivity of greater than 0.5 W/m*K with a sufficient amount of applied grease to achieve a coefficient of friction of 0.2 or less between the bearing surfaces because this would facilitate Brown’s goal of increased thermal conductivity and reduced friction between the surfaces.
As to claim 13, Yang et al., as modified by Brown, teaches the image sensor drive module according to claim 1, wherein a contact manner between the bearing part and the base is of a contact between planes, a plane that is on the bearing part and that is used to be in contact with the base is a first plane, a plane that is on the base and that is used to be in contact with the bearing part is a second plane, and both the first plane and the second plane are of continuous and complete plane structures (see Brown, Figs. 5-8 and [0055], lines 1-5).
As to claim 16, Yang et al., as modified by Brown, teaches the image sensor drive module according to claim 1, wherein a contact manner between the bearing part and the base is of a contact between a plane and a protruding rod structure, at a position at which the bearing part is in contact with the base, a structure of one of the bearing part and the base is a complete planar structure, and a structure of the other one of the bearing part and the base is the protruding rod structure (see Brown, Fig. 10 and [0058]).
As to claim 17, Yang et al., as modified by Brown, teaches the image sensor drive module according to claim 1, wherein the base comprises the fixing platform (see Yang et al., Fig. 1A, lower horizontal portion of housing “170”) and a fixing frame (see Yang et al., Fig. 1A, vertical and upper horizontal portions of housing “170”), the retention force is used to maintain contact between the bearing part and the fixing platform (see Brown, [0071]), the fixing frame is fixedly connected to an edge of the fixing platform (see Yang et al., Fig. 1A), the fixing frame and the fixing platform enclose enclosed space, the drive unit, the connecting part, and a part of the bearing part are in the enclosed space (see Yang et al., Fig. 1A), and the drive unit is located on a side that is of the bearing part and that is away from the fixing platform (see Yang et al., Fig. 1A).
As to claim 19, Yang et al., as modified by Brown, teaches the image sensor drive module according to claim 1, wherein the bearing part comprises a first bearing platform (see Yang et al., Fig. 1A, protection structure “160”, stiffener “175” and substrate first block “125”) and a second bearing platform (see Yang et al., Fig. 1A, substrate second block “125” and “130”), the first bearing platform is configured to bear the image sensor (see Yang et al., col. 6, lines 18-20), the first bearing platform is in contact with the base to form a contact surface (see Brown, [0071]), a direction perpendicular to the contact surface is a direction of an optical axis (see Yang et al., Fig. 1D), the second bearing platform and the connecting part are stacked in the direction of the optical axis (see Yang et al., Fig. 1D), and the movable member of the drive unit is fastened to the second bearing platform (see Yang et al., col. 6, lines 49 and 50).
As to claim 20, Yang et al., as modified by Brown, teaches the image sensor drive module according to claim 19, wherein the first bearing platform and the connecting part are connected together to form an integrated structure (see Yang et al., col. 8, lines 29-34), and the connecting part is located between the second bearing platform and the contact surface in the direction of the optical axis (see Yang et al., Fig. 1A).
As to claim 22, Yang et al., as modified by Brown, teaches the image sensor drive module according to claim 1, wherein the bearing part comprises a first plate (see Yang et al., Figs. 1A and 1C, inner frame “151” and col. 8, lines 34-37) and a second plate (see Yang et al., Fig. 1A, protection structure “160” and stiffener “175”), an outer edge of the first plate is connected to the connecting part (see Yang et al., Figs. 1A and 1C; {The inner frame is connected to flexure arms “153” that extend from an outer edge (seen in Fig. 1A) to the outer frame “152” that is connected to base “165.”}), accommodation space is formed by enclosing an inner edge of the first plate (see Yang et al., Figs. 1A and 1C; {The inner edge of the inner frame (seen in Fig. 1A) is enclosed by the protection structure “160,” and the image sensor “110” is formed in the accommodation space to the right of the inner edge.}), the movable member is disposed on the first plate (see Yang et al., Fig. 1A; {The OIS coil “135” is indirectly disposed on the inner frame “151.”), the second plate comprises a first part (see Yang et al., Fig. 1A, protection structure “160”) and a second part (see Yang et al., Fig. 1A, stiffener “175”), the first part and the first plate are stacked (see Yang et al., Fig. 1A), the second part is located at the bottom of the accommodation space (see Yang et al., Fig. 1A), the second part is configured to bear the image sensor (see Yang et al., Fig. 1A and col. 6, lines 18-20), to enable the image sensor to be accommodated in the accommodation space (Fig. 1A), and the second plate is in contact with the base (see Brown, Figs. 5-7 and [0071]).
B. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao et al. (US 2018/0321503 A1) in view of the Japanese publication of Terajima (JP 2013-041026 A)
As to claim 5, Bao et al. teaches the image sensor drive module according to claim 4, wherein the base comprises a fixing platform (Fig. 6, circuit board “30”), the bearing part is in contact with an inner surface of the fixing platform (p. 15, lines 5 and 6), the bearing part is configured to bear the image sensor (Fig. 6; p. 9, lines 2 and 3) to move on the inner surface of the fixing platform (p. 15, lines 6-9), the image sensor is located on a light emergent side of the lens assembly of the camera module (Figs. 2 and 6), the inner surface of the fixing platform is perpendicular to the optical axis of the lens assembly (p. 9, lines 6-8), and elastic tension of the connecting part acts on the second position to form the retention force toward the fixing platform (p. 15, lines 5-11). The claim differs from Bao et al. in that it requires that a distance that is between the first position and the inner surface of the fixing platform and that is in a direction of the optical axis of the lens assembly is less than a distance that is between the second position and the inner surface of the fixing platform and that is in the direction of the optical axis of the lens assembly.
However, in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, Terajima teaches a camera module (Fig. 14(b), device “20Y”) having a movable substrate (Fig. 14(b), sensor holder “32”) that supports an image sensor (Fig. 14(b), image sensor “31”). An elastic member (Fig. 14(b), leaf spring “12”) is connected to a protruding housing portion at a first position (Fig. 14(b), unnumbered jutting portion of base “11”) and is connected to the substrate at a second position (Fig. 14(b)). A distance between the first position and a bottom housing portion is less than a distance between the second portion and the bottom housing, and both distances are in a direction of the optical axis of a lens assembly of the camera module (Fig. 14(b)). In light of the teaching of Terajima, the examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to connect Bao’s signal transmission component/elastic reset member between the movable platform and the bottom plate (see Bao et al., Fig. 6, “101”) as this represents a simple substitution of connection points that would yield predictable results. Known methods of camera module fabrication can be used to connect the elastic reset member to those points without detracting from Bao’s goal of reducing thermal and electromagnetic interference in the module.
C. Claims 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US # 12,238,418 B1) in view of Brown (US 2018/0321503 A1) and further in view of the WIPO publication of Qu et al. (WIPO publication number: WO 2021/092854 A1)
Please refer to the attached translation for the cited page and line numbers of Qu et al. as they differ from the original WIPO document.
As to claim 6, Yang et al., as modified by Brown, teaches the image sensor drive module according to claim 1. The claim differs from Yang et al., as modified by Brown, in that it requires that a magnetic member is disposed on the bearing part, that the magnetic member and a part of the base configured to be in contact with the bearing part form at least a part of the retention structure, that the part of the base configured to be in contact with the bearing part comprises a magnetic conductive material, and that a magnetic attraction force between the magnetic member and the base forms at least a part of the retention force.
However, in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, Qu et al. teaches a camera module (Fig. 2, camera module “100”) having a substrate (Fig. 2, plate body “121”) and ball member (Fig. 2, balls “160”) connected to a bottom plate (Fig. 2). A “magnetic conductive member” (Fig. 2, ferromagnetic member “129”) and a magnet (Fig. 2, limiting action member “170”; p. 6, line 28) are respectively disposed on the substrate and on the bottom plate (Fig. 3), which cooperate through magnetic attraction to retain the substrate as it is moved in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis (p. 6, lines 31-40). Also, the module includes an elastic retention member (Fig. 3, suspension wire “180”; p. 8, lines 8-11) connected between the substrate and a fixed carrier (Fig. 3). In light of the teaching of Qu et al., the examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to respectively attach a magnetic and ferromagnetic material to the lower horizontal housing portion and stiffener of Yang et al. because this would prevent movement in the Z-direction as well as allow for placement of additional thermally conductive layers between the stiffener and lower horizontal housing portion.
The combination of Yang et al., Brown, and Qu et al. detailed above in the rejection of claim 6 forms the basis for the rejection of claim 9 below.
As to claim 9, Yang et al., as modified by Brown and Qu et al., teaches the image sensor drive module according to claim 1, wherein a magnetic member is disposed on the base, a part of the bearing part comprises a magnetic conductive material, the part of the bearing part comprising the magnetic conductive material is a magnetic attraction member, the magnetic member and the magnetic attraction member form at least a part of the retention structure, the magnetic member is located at a position of a contact surface between the base and the bearing part, and a magnetic attraction force between the magnetic member and the magnetic attraction member forms the retention force ({See cited portion of Qu et al. above. Both Qu’s ferromagnetic member and magnet can be construed as either a magnetic member or a magnetic conductive member.}).
D. Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao et al. (CN 113542579 A) in view of Yang et al. (US # 12,238,418 B1)
As to claim 24, Bao et al. teaches an electronic device (electronic device of Fig. 2; p. 8, lines 12), comprising:
a camera module, wherein the camera module comprisesthe image sensor, a lens assembly, and an image sensor drive module, the image sensor is fastened to the image sensor drive module, and the lens assembly is located on a light incident side of the image sensor, and the image sensor drive module comprises:
a drive unit, comprising a fixed member and a movable member that can move relative to each other;
a base, configured to bear the fixed member; and
a movable base, comprising a bearing part, a fixing part, and a connecting part, wherein the connecting part is configured to implement mechanical and electrical connection between the bearing part and the fixing part, the bearing part is configured to bearthe image sensor and the movable member, and the fixing part is connected to the base, wherein[[;]]:
a partial structure of the bearing part and a partial structure of the base form a retention structure, the retention structure is configured to provide a retention force for the bearing part, the drive unit is configured to drive the bearing part to move relative to the base and contact between the bearing part and the base is maintained by the retention force of the retention structure (See rejection of claim 23 above.). The claim differs from Bao et al. in that it requires a processor electrically connected to the camera module and configured to process an image signal output by an image sensor.
However, in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, Yang et al. discloses an electronic device (Fig. 5, device “500”) comprising a camera module (Fig. 1A, camera “100”) and a processor (Fig. 6, control system “600”/processor(s) “602n”; col. 11, lines 54-57) electrically connected to the camera module and configured to process image data captured by an image sensor of the camera module (Fig. 1A, image sensor “100”; col. 11, lines 51-54). In light of the teaching of Yang et al., the examiner submits that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include an image processor in Bao’s device because this would ensure that the image is placed in proper form for storage or display.
VIII. Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is the examiner’s statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As to claims 7 and 8, Bao et al. discloses a camera module with a plurality of first magnets positioned on a bearing part that cooperates with a plurality of second magnets positioned on a base to retain an image sensor as it moves in a two-dimensional plane. However, the plurality of first magnets is not distributed in a dot-shape, and while they can be construed as stripe-shaped, only one is positioned at an outer edge toward a fixing part, contrary to claim 8.
IX. Conclusion
/ANTHONY J DANIELS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637
4/4/2026