Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities.
In paragraph [0029], “the branch line 2” mislabels the reference number of the branch line as 2 instead of 1.
In paragraph [0029], “the second shell 44” mislabels the reference number of the second shell as 44 instead of 4.
In paragraph [0034], “the short handle portion 43” mislabels the reference number of the short handle portion as 43 instead of 42.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 objected to because of the following informalities: “a plurality of said first spacer bars” and “a plurality of said second spacer bars” should read “a plurality of first spacer bars” and “a plurality of second space bars”. Although the use of “said” can create a lack of antecedent basis issue, the claim is objected to because the meaning of the claim is clear and only needs minor correction.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 2, the limitation “by means of a spindle” is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “sharp” in claims 1, 9, and 10 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “sharp” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
In order to expedite prosecution, the term “sharp” is construed as how it might be interpreted by a person of ordinary skill in the art.
All claims that depend from claim 1 are rejected under 112 because they depend from a rejected parent claim.
Claims 3-6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 states that the buckle head and buckle socket are arranged on the first shell and second shell respectively. However, figures 2 and 4 show the buckle head on the second shell and the buckle socket on the first shell.
For the purpose of examination, we are considering the buckle head to be on the second shell and the buckle socket on the first shell, as shown in the drawings.
All claims that depend from claim 3 are rejected under 112 because they depend from a rejected parent claim.
Claims 4, 5, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 is rendered unclear through its dependency on claim 3, where it is interpreted that the buckle head is arranged on the second shell and the buckle socket arranged on the first shell. Claim 4 further indicates that the buckle head or the buckle socket is arranged on the second handle portion. it is unclear how the buckle socket can be on the second handle of the L shaped shell (second shell) when claim 3 is interpreted to have the buckle socket on the first shell, as shown in the figures.
For the purpose of examination, claim 4 is interpreted to claim: wherein the first shell and the second shell are respectively configured as a quasi-rectangular shell and an L-shaped shell, the L-shaped shell comprises a first handle portion and a second handle portion shorter than the first handle portion, an end of the first handle portion is rotatably connected to an end of the quasi-rectangular shell, the buckle head is arranged on a side wall, close to the first handle portion, of the second handle portion, and the buckle socket is arranged on a side wall, close to the second handle portion, of the quasi-rectangular shell.
All claims that depend from claim 4 are rejected under 112 because they depend from a rejected parent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yagi (US 5727965 A).
Regarding claim 1, Yagi teaches in figure 1 a branch connector (1) for a main line (WM), being used for connecting a branch line (WS) and the main line in a circuit system, the branch connector comprising:
a first shell (5) providing a groove (15) for receiving the main line;
and a second shell (7) rotatably connected to the first shell (Col. 3, lines 41-45; wherein second half 7 is connected to first half 5 by hinges 17);
wherein a plurality of mutually insulated piercing pieces (13) are arranged on the first shell or the second shell (wherein second half 7 accommodates pieces 13), and each of the piercing pieces has one end connected to the branch line and another end configured as a sharp piercing head used for piercing through an insulation layer of the main line (Col. 4, lines 24-33; Fig. 5a; wherein connectors 13 have conductive contacts 13b connected to the branch line WS and conductive contacts 13a piercing main line WM) when the first shell and the second shell are buckled together (Col. 4, lines 40-42; wherein halves 5 and 7 are held together with hooks 31 on 7 and engaging portions 33 on 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yagi (US 5727965 A) in view of Riccardi (US 20170012374 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Yagi teaches in figure 1 a branch connector (1) with a first shell (5) and second shell (7), rotatably connected (hinges 17) and having a buckle structure (wherein hooks 31 buckle with engaging portions 33).
Yagi does not teach a spindle.
However, Riccardi teaches in figure 1 a first shell (2) and second shell (8) rotatably connected with a spindle ([0041]; wherein pivot pin 9 passes through matching openings in shells 2 and 8 to rotatably connect them).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the branch connector shells of Yagi to be rotatably connected by a spindle, in order to provide an easily-assembled and secure method of rotation.
Regarding claim 3, Yagi teaches in figure 1 that the buckle structure comprises a buckle head (31) and a buckle socket (33) matched with the buckle head, and the buckle head and the buckle socket are arranged on the first shell and the second shell respectively (wherein 31 and 33 are arranged on 5 and 7 when in a buckled state).
Regarding claim 6, Yagi teaches in figure 1 that the buckle socket (33) and the buckle head (31) are respectively arranged on opposite surfaces of the first shell and the second shell which are buckled together (wherein 31 and 33 are arranged on opposite surfaces of the first half 5 and second half 7 which are held together).
Claim(s) 4, 5, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yagi (US 5727965 A) in view of Riccardi (US 20170012374 A1) as applied to claims 2, 3, and 6 above, and further in view of Quiter (EP 2509159).
Regarding claim 4, a modified Yagi teaches in figure 1 a branch connector (1) with a first shell (5) configured as a quasi-rectangular shell and a second shell (7), rotatably connected (hinges 17) and having a buckle head (hooks 31) on the second shell and a buckle socket (engaging portions 33) on the first shell.
A modified Yagi does not teach that the second shell is L-shaped with a first handle portion and second handle portion shorter than the first handle portion.
However, Quiter teaches in figure 5 a quasi-rectangular first shell (10) and L-shaped second shell (20) with a first handle portion and a second handle portion shorter than the first handle portion, wherein an end of the first handle portion is rotatably connected to the end of the quasi-rectangular shell ([0040] in translation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure a modified Yagi to have the L-shaped second shell of Quiter, in order to provide a more secure second shell connection to the branch connector.
Regarding claim 5, Yagi teaches in figure 1 a branch connector (1).
Yagi does not teach a tail section of the second handle portion defines a cutout.
However, Quiter teaches in figure 5 a tail section of the second handle portion defines a cutout (wherein second shell 20 has a U-shaped cutout on the second handle portion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the second shell of a modified Yagi as L-shaped with a second handle portion and cutout, in order to provide an opening for a cable to be secured in the connector.
Regarding claim 11, Yagi teaches in figure 1 a branch connector (1) with a second shell (7).
Yagi does not teach a U-shaped slot is defined in a middle of the second handle portion of the second shell for holding the branch line.
However, Quiter teaches in figure 5 a U-shaped slot is defined in a middle of the second handle portion of the second shell (20) for holding the branch line (Quiter translation [0055]; where U-shaped slot 53 is an opening for a cable).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the second shell of a modified Yagi as L-shaped with a second handle portion and a U-shaped slot for holding the branch line, in order to provide an opening for a cable to be secured in the connector.
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yagi (US 5727965 A) in view of Wang (US 9543699 B1).
Regarding claim 7, Yagi teaches in figure 1 a branch connector (1) with a first shell (5) with a groove (15) and a second shell (7).
Yagi does not teach a plurality of first spacer bars arranged in the groove of the first shell and a plurality of second spacer bars arranged at positions, corresponding to the first spacer bars, of the second shell.
However, Wang teaches in figure 4 a plurality of first spacer bars (194) arranged in the groove (180) of the first shell (120) and a plurality of second spacer bars (192) arranged at positions, corresponding to the first spacer bars, of the second shell (150; Col. 4, lines 64-68 and Col. 5, lines 1-11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the first and second shell of Yagi to include the spacers of Wang, in order to more securely accommodate the cable in the opening.
Regarding claim 8, Yagi teaches in figure 1 a branch connector (1).
Yagi does not teach one first spacer bar and one second spacer bar are arranged, or three first spacer bars and three second spacer bars are arranged.
However, Wang teaches one first spacer bar and one second spacer bar are arranged, or three first spacer bars and three second spacer bars are arranged (Col. 4, lines 64-68 and Col. 5, lines 1-11; wherein a plurality of spacers are stated to be provided, which encompasses three first spacer bars and three second spacer bars).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the shells of Yagi with a plurality of spacer bars in order to provide a secure connection to the cable in the opening.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yagi (US 5727965 A) in view of Bishop (US 8758041 B2) and in view of Tsukamoto (US 10525906 B2).
Regarding claim 9, Yagi teaches in figure 1 a branch connector (1) with piercing pieces (13) and a branch line (WS).
Yagi does not teach that the ends of the piercing pieces are arranged on a PCB.
However, Bishop teaches in figure 1 that the ends of the piercing pieces (16) are arranged on a PCB (10; Col. 3 lines 10-16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the branch connector of Yagi to include a PCB to create a compact design and reduce electrical noise in the connector.
Yagi as modified by Bishop does not teach that the PCB is connected to the branch line.
However, Tsukamoto teaches in figure 18 that the PCB (60) is connected to the branch line (where pins 46 on trunk lines 21 connected to the PCB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach the branch line to the PCB of Yagi as modified by Bishop, in order to create a branch connection including a PCB to create a compact design and reduce electrical noise in the connector.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yagi (US 5727965 A) in view of Bishop (US 8758041 B2) and in view of Tsukamoto (US 10525906 B2), as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Hata (US 20210098899 A1).
Regarding claim 10, a modified Yagi teaches in figure 1 a branch connector (1).
Yagi does not teach that the sharp piercing heads are configured as V-shaped structures.
However, Hata teaches in figure 1 that the sharp piercing heads are configured as V-shaped structures ([0065]; wherein relay contacts 50 pierce the insulation with V-shaped heads 53).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the modified Yagi branch connector to include V-shaped piercing heads, in order to provide a sharp head to effectively pierce the insulation of the lines.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Stremersch (US 20210305726 A1), Grywok (DE 19838423 A1), and Chang (US 20140273605 A1).
Stremersch teaches a wire and connection configuration electrically connected to a PCB, including piercing heads.
Grywok teaches a branch connector and cables with two shells rotatably connected and sharp insulation piercing heads.
Chang teaches a connector with two shells rotatably connected and insulation piercing heads, as well as a circuit board.
The above references are considered of particular relevance to the claimed invention but cannot
be considered to teach the limitations or combined to being obvious to a person skilled in the art to
disclose the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/ABIGAIL MARIE THAYER/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/Timothy J. Dole/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847