DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 4/27/2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 5, 7-14, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The phrase “rigid portion” renders the claims indefinite. It is not clear what specific level of rigidity is being claimed. All materials are rigid/flexible to a degree.
The phrase “flexible portion” renders the claims indefinite. It is not clear what specific level of flexibility is being claimed. All materials are rigid/flexible to a degree.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, 7-14, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPAP 2020/0245845 to Klug in view of USDP D924,515 to Levi, USDP D773,142 to Green and QVC Total Rack 6-in-1 Multi-Function Expandable Kitchen Rack Webpage and You Tube Video (hereinafter referred to as QVC).
Claims 7 and 17, Klug discloses a rigid drying mat configured to be disposed on a counter adjacent a sink to facilitate drying of an article, comprising: a diatomaceous earth slab and a resilient slab covering, the resilient slab covering comprising a mesh of openings that allow water from the article placed on the resilient slab covering to drip through the mesh of openings, onto the diatomaceous earth slab (see entire document including [0007]-[0013], [0035], [0045] and the Figures).
Klug does not appear to mention coupling the rigid mat with a flexible rack wherein the rack comprises a plurality of rollable/unrollable cross pieces that are coated/overmolded with a resilient second covering, but Klug does disclose that the mat may be placed on a countertop adjacent a sink (Figure 2). Levi and QVC each disclose a flexible over-the-sink rack comprising a plurality of rollable/unrollable end coated/overmolded cross pieces configured to be unrolled over a sink (see entire documents including Figure 16 of Levi) and Green discloses that it is known in the art to combine a drying mat and rack (see entire document including the title and Figures 1 and 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to couple the countertop drying mat of Klug and the over-the-sink rollable/unrollable rack of Levi and/or QVC to provide a unitary product with the benefits of both a drying mat and sink rack.
Claims 4 and 5, QVC discloses that the plurality of cross pieces comprise stainless steel (item description and video).
Claim 8, the resilient slab covering is configured to at least partially and removably encase the diatomaceous earth slab; and has a top surface, side edges and at least one of a bottom lip, a pocket or a strap; and wherein the at least one of the bottom lip, the pocket or the strap is configured to secure the resilient slab covering to the diatomaceous earth slab ([0007]-[0013]).
Claim 9, the top surface comprises a mesh of ribs that form a plurality of apertures that are configured to allow liquid to drain from an object disposed on the resilient slab covering, through the apertures, to the diatomaceous earth slab ([0007]-[0013]).
Claim 10, Klug does not appear to mention the specific mesh opening size but does disclose that the size of the voids can be selected to allow moisture to drip onto the absorptive layer [0500]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the openings with any suitable size, such as claimed, because it is within the general skill of a worker in the art to select an opening size on the basis of its suitability and desired characteristics.
Claims 11 and 12, the resilient slab covering of Klug is made of silicone [0009] and the resilient second covering of QVC is also made of silicone (item description and video).
Claims 13 and 14, Klug discloses that the molded silicone material may have a durometer of about 45 [0009].
Claims 16 and 17, the cross pieces of Levi have a rectangular cross-sectional profile (Figures).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant asserts that the applied prior art fails to teach or suggest the newly claimed two-part design. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Klug discloses a rigid drying mat configured to be disposed on a counter adjacent a sink to facilitate drying of an article, comprising: a diatomaceous earth slab and a resilient slab covering, the resilient slab covering comprising a mesh of openings that allow water from the article placed on the resilient slab covering to drip through the mesh of openings, onto the diatomaceous earth slab (see entire document including [0007]-[0013], [0035], [0045] and the Figures). Klug does not appear to mention coupling the rigid mat with a flexible rack wherein the rack comprises a plurality of rollable/unrollable cross pieces that are coated/overmolded with a resilient second covering, but Klug does disclose that the mat may be placed on a countertop adjacent a sink (Figure 2). Levi and QVC each disclose a flexible over-the-sink rack comprising a plurality of rollable/unrollable end coated/overmolded cross pieces configured to be unrolled over a sink (see entire documents including Figure 16 of Levi) and Green discloses that it is known in the art to combine a drying mat and rack (see entire document including the title and Figures 1 and 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to couple the countertop drying mat of Klug and the over-the-sink rollable/unrollable rack of Levi and/or QVC to provide a unitary product with the benefits of both a drying mat and sink rack.
The applicant also asserts that the QVC reference teaches away from modifying the QVC reference to have a two-part design. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because the QVC reference is a secondary reference, Klug is the primary reference. Thus, the rejection does not modify the QVC reference.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW T PIZIALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789