DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPAP 2020/0245845 to Klug in view of USDP D924,515 to Levi, USDP D773,142 to Green and QVC Total Rack 6-in-1 Multi-Function Expandable Kitchen Rack Webpage and You Tube Video (hereinafter referred to as QVC).
Claims 1, 6, 7 and 17, Klug discloses a drying implement, comprising: a first panel that comprises a diatomaceous earth slab and a resilient slab covering, the resilient slab covering comprising a mesh of openings that allow water from an article placed on the resilient slab covering to drip through the mesh of openings, onto the diatomaceous earth slab (see entire document including [0007]-[0013], [0035], [0045] and the Figures).
Klug does not appear to mention coupling the first panel with a second panel wherein the second panel comprises a plurality of cross pieces that are coated/overmolded with a resilient second covering, but Klug does disclose that the first panel may be placed on a countertop adjacent a sink (Figure 2). Levi and QVC each disclose an over-the-sink rack comprising a plurality of end coated/overmolded cross pieces (see entire documents including the Figures) and Green discloses that it is known in the art to combine a drying mat and rack (see entire document including the title and Figures 1 and 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to couple the countertop drying mat of Klug and the over-the-sink rack of Levi and/or QVC to provide a unitary product with the benefits of both a drying mat and sink rack.
Claims 4 and 5, QVC discloses that the plurality of cross pieces comprise stainless steel (item description and video).
Claims 7 and 17, Levi and QVC each teach that the rack is configured to facilitate rolling and unrolling (Figures of Levi and QVC and item description of QVC).
Claim 8, the resilient slab covering is configured to at least partially and removably encase the diatomaceous earth slab; and has a top surface, side edges and at least one of a bottom lip, a pocket or a strap; and wherein the at least one of the bottom lip, the pocket or the strap is configured to secure the resilient slab covering to the diatomaceous earth slab ([0007]-[0013]).
Claim 9, the top surface comprises a mesh of ribs that form a plurality of apertures that are configured to allow liquid to drain from an object disposed on the resilient slab covering, through the apertures, to the diatomaceous earth slab ([0007]-[0013]).
Claim 10, Klug does not appear to mention the specific mesh opening size but does disclose that the size of the voids can be selected to allow moisture to drip onto the absorptive layer [0500]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the openings with any suitable size, such as claimed, because it is within the general skill of a worker in the art to select an opening size on the basis of its suitability and desired characteristics.
Claims 11 and 12, the resilient slab covering of Klug is made of silicone [0009] and the resilient second covering of QVC is also made of silicone (item description and video).
Claims 13 and 14, Klug discloses that the molded silicone material may have a durometer of about 45 [0009].
Claims 15-17, the cross pieces of Levi have a rectangular cross-sectional profile (Figures).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/17/2025 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
/ANDREW T PIZIALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789