DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 11/12/2025. These drawings are unacceptable.
The specification has only stated in paragraph [0037] that:
“The N-type solar cell further comprises a plurality of first fingers 10 and a plurality of second fingers 11. The plurality of first fingers 10 are disposed on an outer side of the first anti-reflection coating 8. The plurality of second fingers 11 are disposed on an outer side of the second anti-reflection coating 9. Specifically, the plurality of first fingers 10 are printed on the first anti-reflection coating 8, and the plurality of second fingers 11 are disposed on the second anti-reflection coating 9; subsequently, the plurality of first fingers 10 and the plurality of second fingers 11 are subjected to a sintering process; the sintering process causes the plurality of first fingers 10 and the plurality of second fingers 11 to penetrate the first anti-reflection passivation layer 8 and the anti-reflection passivation layer 9, respectively, thereby forming an ohmic contact with the at least one first doped polysilicon layer 4 and the at least one second doped polysilicon layer 6; following the sintering process, light injection is performed; and then a light-receiving surface of the N-type solar cell is sintered using a laser and a reverse voltage.”
Nowhere does the instant specification state the fingers penetrate both the anti-reflection coatings and the doped polysilicon layers, as shown in the replacement drawing filed on 11/12/2025. Additionally, nowhere does the instant specification state the fingers penetrate the anti-reflection coatings completely, as shown in the replacement drawing filed on 11/12/2025.
Therefore, the drawing contains new matter and is unacceptable.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
Amended claims 1 and 6 recites the N-type solar cell comprises a plurality of first fingers disposed on an outer side of the first anti-reflection coating and a plurality of second fingers disposed on an outer side of the second anti-reflection coating.
However, the specification has only stated in paragraph [0037] that:
“The N-type solar cell further comprises a plurality of first fingers 10 and a plurality of second fingers 11. The plurality of first fingers 10 are disposed on an outer side of the first anti-reflection coating 8. The plurality of second fingers 11 are disposed on an outer side of the second anti-reflection coating 9. Specifically, the plurality of first fingers 10 are printed on the first anti-reflection coating 8, and the plurality of second fingers 11 are disposed on the second anti-reflection coating 9; subsequently, the plurality of first fingers 10 and the plurality of second fingers 11 are subjected to a sintering process; the sintering process causes the plurality of first fingers 10 and the plurality of second fingers 11 to penetrate the first anti-reflection passivation layer 8 and the anti-reflection passivation layer 9, respectively, thereby forming an ohmic contact with the at least one first doped polysilicon layer 4 and the at least one second doped polysilicon layer 6; following the sintering process, light injection is performed; and then a light-receiving surface of the N-type solar cell is sintered using a laser and a reverse voltage.”
Therefore, it can be seen that the plurality of fingers are not in fact disposed on an outer side of the anti-reflection coatings but sintered to penetrate the anti-reflection layers. It is unclear if Applicant is claiming an intermediate product or the final product for the N-type solar cell. Additionally, originally filed Figure 1 does not appear to depict the fingers 10 and 11 to penetrate anti-reflection layers 8 and 9.
Thus, the specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 6 recite the limitation " the plurality of first fingers is disposed on an outer side of the first anti-reflection coating and extends through the first anti-reflection coating, thereby forming an ohmic contact with the first doped polysilicon layer; and
the plurality of second fingers is disposed on an outer side of the second anti-reflection coating and extends through the second anti-reflection coating, thereby forming an ohmic contact with the second doped polysilicon layer.”
However, the instant specification has only disclosed in paragraph [0037] that:
the plurality of first fingers 10 and the plurality of second fingers 11 to penetrate the first anti-reflection passivation layer 8 and the anti-reflection passivation layer 9.
The instant specification has only stated the fingers penetrate the anti-reflection passivation layer and does not state they extend through the anti-reflection passivation layers as claimed.
Therefore, the claims fail to comply with the written description requirement.
Claims 1 and 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 6 recite the limitation " the plurality of first fingers is disposed on an outer side of the first anti-reflection coating and extends through the first anti-reflection coating, thereby forming an ohmic contact with the first doped polysilicon layer; and
the plurality of second fingers is disposed on an outer side of the second anti-reflection coating and extends through the second anti-reflection coating, thereby forming an ohmic contact with the second doped polysilicon layer.” It is unclear how the plurality of fingers can be disposed on an outer side of the anti-reflection coatings and extend through the anti-reflection coatings at the same time. As set forth previously, the plurality of fingers are only disposed on an outer side of the anti-reflection coating prior to the sintering process, as described in paragraph [0037]. The plurality of fingers cannot be disposed on an outer side of the anti-reflection coatings and extend through the very same anti-reflection coatings at the same time. Even looking at replacement drawing Figure 1, the plurality of fingers are not disposed on an outer side of the anti-reflection coatings as best understood by any ordinary person regardless of art. Clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Ye et al. (CN 118315486; see English machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Ye discloses an N-type solar cell (see Figure 1), comprising:
an N-type silicon substrate (page 2; see Figure 1), an emitter layer (p type emitter through boron diffusion mentioned on page 4; see Figure 1), a first tunneling layer (tunneling layer made of silicon oxide; page 4), at least one first doped polysilicon layer (polysilicon with doping concentration; page 6; see Figure 1), a passivation layer (aluminum oxide film; page 5), a first anti-reflection coating (front passivation anti-reflection film made of SiNx; page 6), a second tunneling layer (silicon oxide; see Figure 1), at least one second doped polysilicon layer (see Figure 1), and a second anti-reflection coating (SiNx; see Figure 1); a plurality of first fingers (see top electrodes in Figure 1); and a plurality of second fingers (see bottom electrodes in Figure 1); wherein:
the emitter layer is disposed on a front surface of the N-type silicon substrate (see Figure 1);
the first tunneling layer is disposed on the emitter layer (see Figure 1);
the first doped polysilicon layer is disposed on the first tunneling layer (see Figure 1);
the passivation layer is disposed on the first doped polysilicon layer (see Figure 1);
the first anti-reflection coating is disposed on the passivation layer (see Figure 1);
the second tunneling layer is disposed on a rear surface of the N-type silicon substrate (see Figure 1);
the second doped polysilicon layer is disposed on the second tunneling layer (see Figure 1); and
the second anti-reflection coating is disposed on the second doped polysilicon layer (see Figure 1);
the plurality of first fingers is disposed on an outer side of the first anti-reflection coating and extends through the first anti-reflection coating, thereby forming an ohmic contact with the first doped polysilicon layer (the fingers must be in ohmic contact with the doped polysilicon layer in order to function as a solar cell; see Figure 1); and
the plurality of second fingers is disposed on an outer side of the second anti-reflection coating and extends through the second anti-reflection coating, thereby forming an ohmic contact with the second doped polysilicon layer (the fingers must be in ohmic contact with the doped polysilicon layer in order to function as a solar cell; see Figure 1).
Regarding claim 4, Ye discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the first tunneling layer and the second tunneling layer comprise silicon dioxide (page 5).
Regarding claim 5, Ye discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the passivation layer comprises aluminum oxide (page 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 7, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye et al. (CN 118315486; see English machine translation) in view of Mao et al. (US 2023/0395740) in view of Hachtmann et al. (US 2007/0283996).
Regarding claim 6, Ye discloses an N-type solar cell (see Figure 1), comprising:
an N-type silicon substrate (page 2; see Figure 1), an emitter layer (p type emitter through boron diffusion mentioned on page 4; see Figure 1), a first tunneling layer (tunneling layer made of silicon oxide; page 4), a first doped polysilicon layer (polysilicon with doping concentration; page 6; see Figure 1), a passivation layer (aluminum oxide film; page 5), a first anti-reflection coating (front passivation anti-reflection film made of SiNx; page 6), a second tunneling layer (silicon oxide; see Figure 1), a second doped polysilicon layer (see Figure 1), and a second anti-reflection coating (SiNx; see Figure 1); a plurality of first fingers (see top electrodes in Figure 1); and a plurality of second fingers (see bottom electrodes in Figure 1);
wherein, the emitter layer is disposed on a front surface of the N-type silicon substrate (see Figure 1);
the first tunneling layer is disposed on the emitter layer (see Figure 1);
the first doped polysilicon layer is disposed on the first tunneling layer (see Figure 1);
the passivation layer is disposed on the at first doped polysilicon layer (see Figure 1);
the first anti-reflection coating is disposed on the passivation layer (see Figure 1);
the second tunneling layer is disposed on a rear surface of the N-type silicon substrate (see Figure 1);
the second doped polysilicon layer is disposed on the second tunneling layer (see Figure 1); and
the second anti-reflection coating is disposed on the second doped polysilicon layer (see Figure 1);
the plurality of first fingers is disposed on an outer side of the first anti-reflection coating and extends through the first anti-reflection coating, thereby forming an ohmic contact with the first doped polysilicon layer (the fingers must be in ohmic contact with the doped polysilicon layer in order to function as a solar cell; see Figure 1); and
the plurality of second fingers is disposed on an outer side of the second anti-reflection coating and extends through the second anti-reflection coating, thereby forming an ohmic contact with the second doped polysilicon layer (the fingers must be in ohmic contact with the doped polysilicon layer in order to function as a solar cell; see Figure 1).
Ye does not expressly disclose a solar cell assembly, comprising a solar array;
wherein, the solar array comprises a plurality of solar cell strings connected in series and/or in parallel;
each of the plurality of solar cell strings comprises a first carrier film, a second carrier film, a plurality of low-temperature cell ribbons, and the plurality of N-type solar cells;
the plurality of N-type solar cells are disposed side by side; every two adjacent N-type solar cells are interconnected using one of the plurality of low-temperature cell ribbons;
one end of one of the plurality of low-temperature cell ribbons is connected to a front surface of one of the plurality of N-type solar cells, and the other end of the low-temperature cell ribbon is connected to a rear surface of an adjacent N-type solar cell;
the first carrier film is disposed on the front surface of each of the plurality of N-type solar cells;
the second carrier film is disposed on the rear surface of each of the plurality of N-type solar cells;
the plurality of low-temperature cell ribbons are adhered to the first carrier film and the second carrier film, thereby forming the plurality of solar cell strings;
the solar cell assembly further comprises a plurality of string ribbons;
the plurality of string ribbons are disposed between the plurality of solar cell strings to collect and conduct electricity.
Mao discloses a solar cell assembly (see Figure 6), comprising a solar array (see Figure 6);
wherein, the at least one solar array comprises a plurality of solar cell strings (101) connected in series and/or in parallel ([0080]);
each of the plurality of solar cell strings comprises a plurality of cell ribbons (conductive tape 104) and the plurality of N-type solar cells (see Figure 6; [0031]);
the plurality of N-type solar cells are disposed side by side (see Figure 6), every two adjacent N-type solar cells are interconnected using one of the plurality of string ribbons (see 104 in Figure 6);
one end of one of the plurality of cell ribbons is connected to the front surface of one of the plurality of N-type solar cells, and the other end of the cell ribbon is connected to the rear surface of an adjacent N-type solar cell (this is how cells are connected in series to form a cell string);
the solar cell assembly further comprises a plurality of string ribbons (interconnection that connects the plurality of cell strings in parallel; [0080]);
the plurality of string ribbons are disposed between the plurality of solar cell strings to collect and conduct electricity (inherent configuration to connect the cell strings in parallel to form an array; [0080]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the N-type solar cell of Ye in a solar cell assembly by creating solar cell strings to form a solar array, as taught by Mao, so that a desired output can be achieved by using more than one solar cell electrically connected together.
Modified Ye does not expressly disclose each of the plurality of solar cell strings comprises a first carrier film and a second carrier film, the first carrier film is disposed on the front surface of each of the plurality of N-type solar cells and the second carrier film is disposed on a rear surface of each of the plurality of N-type solar cells, the plurality of cell ribbons are adhered to the first carrier film and the second carrier film, thereby forming the plurality of solar cell strings.
Hachtmann discloses a solar cell string (see Figure 9B) comprises a first carrier film (13a) and a second carrier film (13b), the first carrier film is disposed on the front surface of each of the plurality of solar cells (see Figure 9B) and the second carrier film is disposed on a rear surface of each of the plurality of solar cells (see Figure 9B), the plurality of interconnect ribbons (15a and 15b) are adhered to the first carrier film and the second carrier film, thereby forming the plurality of solar cell strings ([0037]; see Figure 9B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated a first and second carrier films in the manner as recited above in the device of modified Ye, as taught by Hachtmann, such that the configuration provides a current collection and interconnection that is less expensive, more durable, and allows more light to strike the active area of the photovoltaic module than prior art modules ([0017]).
Additionally, modified Ye does not expressly disclose the cell ribbons are low-temperature cell ribbons.
Hachtmann further discloses the conductor 15 can be made of a plurality of metal wires such as copper, aluminum, and/or their alloys attached to the carrier 13 ([0016]).
As modified Ye is not limited to any specific examples of cell ribbons and as metal wires made of copper, aluminum, and/or their alloys as interconnectors were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by Hachtmann, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use any suitable cell ribbon material, including metal wires made of copper, aluminum, and/or their alloys in the device of modified Ye. Said combination would amount to nothing more than the use of a known element for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely expected result.
Regarding claim 7, modified Ye discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
Mao further discloses the solar cell assembly further comprises a first encapsulant film (102 in the front), a second encapsulant film (102 in the back), a first sheet (103 in the front), and a second sheet (103 in the back);
the first encapsulant film is disposed on a front surface of the solar array (see Figure 6);
the second encapsulant film is disposed on a rear surface of the solar array (see Figure 6);
the first sheet is disposed on the first encapsulant film (see Figure 6); and
the second sheet is disposed on the second encapsulant film (see Figure 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have encapsulated the plurality of solar cell strings of modified Ye with encapsulant and sheets in the manner as recited above, as taught by Mao, in order to provide a solar cell assembly with structural integrity and protection to the plurality of solar cells within.
Regarding claim 10, modified Ye discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, and further discloses the plurality of low-temperature cell ribbons are a plurality of low-temperature alloy copper wires (as set forth above).
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye et al. (CN 118315486; see English machine translation) in view of Mao et al. (US 2023/0395740) in view of Hachtmann et al. (US 2007/0283996) and in view of Zhang et al. (CN 108493281; see English machine translation).
Regarding claim 8, modified Ye discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, but the reference does not expressly disclose the solar cell assembly further comprises a split-type junction box disposed on the second sheet.
Zhang discloses a solar cell assembly comprising two sub-junction boxes (20) on the back plate (see Figure 1B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated two sub-junction boxes on the back plate (read on the second sheet as claimed) in the device of modified Ye, as taught by Zhang, as the configuration of having two sub-junction boxes allows for shorter connection cables to be used to connect to the anode and cathode of the solar cell assembly, which can save cost and reduce loss (page 2). It is also well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the junction boxes on the rear side of the solar cell assembly so it does not block any impinging light on the front surface.
Regarding claim 9, modified Ye discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, but the reference does not expressly disclose the solar cell assembly further comprises a first frame and a second frame; a short edge of the solar array is encapsulated with the first frame; and a long edge of the solar array is encapsulated with the second frame.
Zhang discloses the solar cell assembly further comprises a first frame and a second frame (30); a short edge of the solar array is encapsulated with the first frame; and a long edge of the solar array is encapsulated with the second frame (see Figure 1B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated frames for the solar cell assembly of modified Ye, as taught by Zhang, in order to provide protection to the edges of the solar cell assembly.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the amendments are supported by paragraph [0037] of the instant specification. However, as set forth above, the replacement drawing for Figure 1 contains new matter. Additionally, nowhere does the instant specification state the fingers to be disposed on an outer side of the anti-reflection coating as recited. As previously noted, the only time the fingers would be disposed on an outer side of the anti-reflection coating would be prior to sintering, such that the fact the claim further recites the fingers to extend through the anti-reflection coatings means the claims are directed to the final product after sintering, where it is unclear how the fingers can be on an outer side of the anti-reflection coating and extends through the anti-reflection coating at the same time as recited.
Applicant points to the foreign priorities as support for the amendments. However, no certified translation was provided for the two priority documents, such that it is unclear where the support is located. Additionally, one can see that both CN 202421063495.8 and CN 202410606526.8 Figure 1 do not show the fingers to be penetrating the ARC much less the “extends through” as claimed.
Applicant asserts the 35 U.S.C. 112 issues have been addressed by the amendments. However, numerous issues have been introduced by the amendments, as set forth above.
Applicant argues that none of the cited references teach the claimed invention. However, Ye teaches the claimed invention, as set forth above. It is noted that Applicant has only made arguments with respect to Prabhu, which is no longer relied upon due to the amendments and new interpretation of the claim language.
Therefore, the arguments were not found to be persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINA CHERN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722