DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to Applicant’s argument that, “Baker does not determine at the first wearable device that the first wearable device and the second wearable device and the third wearable device are on the user’s body by comparing at the first sensor the first set of biometric data with the second set of biometric data and the third set of biometric data” (Remarks, pp. 8-9), the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant’s attention is directed to Baker, [0036] which states, “Detecting the devices are on the same body may include each device transmitting and the other device receiving a pre-defined signal. … Devices may also determine they are on the same body through correlation of physiological signals.” It is clear that the devices that are on the same body by exchanging physiological signals (biometric data) between the devices without the intervention of an external device. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
As to Applicant’s argument that, “Nor does Baker teach that the processor of the first wearable device is configured to: receive and authenticate sensor data from the at least one external device not located on the user” (Remarks, p. 9), the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Personal Area Network (PAN) relies on Bluetooth pairing to create a secure and authenticated communication channel within the PAN. Each device of the PAN communicates with each other, including patient monitor (external device), exchanging data to ensure that each device is actually in the same PAN and on the same patient (Baker, [0037-0041]). Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1 and 13 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US PG Pub. No. 2011/0221590 to Baker et al. (hereinafter Baker).
As to claim 1, Baker teaches a wireless personal area network (Baker, [0015]):
a. A first wearable device configured to be worn on a user’s body, the first wearable device including: a processor, a memory, and a first set of sensors configured to collect a first set of biometric data from the user (device includes at least a memory, a processor, and physiological (biometric) sensors including a thermometer, ECG sensor, blood pressure to name a few examples) (Baker, [0087 and 0047]).
b. A second wearable device configured to be worn on the user’s body, the second wearable device including: a processor, a memory, and a second set of sensors configured to collect a second set of biometric data from the user (device includes at least a memory, a processor, and physiological (biometric) sensors including a thermometer, ECG sensor, blood pressure to name a few examples with the number of wearable sensors is not limited to a single one) (Baker, [0027, 0087, and 0047] and fig. 1).
c. A third wearable device configured to be worn on the user’s body, the third wearable device including: a processor, a memory, and a third set of sensors configured to collect a third set of biometric data from the user (device includes at least a memory, a processor, and physiological (biometric) sensors including a thermometer, ECG sensor, blood pressure to name a few examples with the number of wearable sensors is not limited to a single one) (Baker, [0027, 0087, and 0047] and fig. 1).
d. At least one external device not located on the user (patient monitor) (Baker, at least [0017]).
e. The processor of the first wearable device is configured to: receive the second set of biometric data from the second wearable device and the third set of biometric data from the third wearable device and determine at the first wearable device that both the first wearable device and the second wearable device and the third wearable device are on the user’s body by comparing the first set of biometric data with the second set of biometric data and the third set of biometric data (sensor data are obtained and compared to each other in order to determine if the wearables are on the same person including the sensors themselves) (Baker, [0037-0040, 0051, and 0057]).
f. The processor of the first wearable device is configured to: receive and authenticate sensor data from the at least one external device not located on the user and distribute the first biometric data of the user, the second biometric data of the user, the third set of biometric data and the sensor data from the at least one external device from the first wearable device over the personal area network (Each device of the PAN communicates with each other, including patient monitor (external device), exchanging data to ensure that each device is actually in the same PAN and on the same patient (Baker, [0037-0041]).
As to claim 2, Baker teaches the first wearable device and the second wearable device communicate via a wireless communication protocol (personal area network is wireless such as Bluetooth) (Baker, [0018]).
As to claim 3, Baker teaches the first wearable device and the third wearable device communicate via a wireless communication protocol (personal area network is wireless such as Bluetooth) (Baker, [0018]).
As to claim 4, Baker teaches the first set of biometric data and the second set of biometric data includes at least one of heart rate, blood pressure, body temperature, gait, and movement (blood pressure) (Baker, [0051]).
As to claim 5, Baker teaches the first set of biometric data and the second set of biometric data and the third set of biometric each include at least one of heart rate, blood pressure, body temperature, gait, and movement (blood pressure) (Baker, [0051]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG Pub. No. 2011/0221590 to Baker et al. (hereinafter Baker) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US PG Pub. 2017/0208222 to Boesen et al. (hereinafter Boesen).
As to claims 6 and 18, Baker does not explicitly recite an earpiece. However, in an analogous art Boesen teaches the first wearable device is a wireless earpiece (the wearable device can be an earpiece) (Boesen, [0030]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to implement the personal area network of Baker with the earpiece of Boesen in order to monitor biometrics and actions of the user as suggested by Boesen (Boesen, [0003]).
As to claim 7, Baker as modified teaches the wireless earpiece is configured to execute an application for an AI assistant (wireless earpieces execute instructions including activating a digital assistant) (Boesen, [0007 and 0052]).
As to claim 8, Baker does not explicitly recite an earpiece. However, in an analogous art Boesen teaches the second wearable device is a wireless earpiece (wireless earpieces are a pair) (Boesen, [0017]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to implement the personal area network of Baker with the earpiece of Boesen in order to monitor biometrics and actions of the user as suggested by Boesen (Boesen, [0003]).
As to claim 9, Baker does not explicitly recite a smart wristband. However, in an analogous art Boesen teaches the third wearable device is a smart wristband (smart watches and bracelets are contemplated as wearable sensor devices) (Boesen, [0036]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to implement the personal area network of Baker with the bracelet/smart watch of Boesen in order to monitor biometrics and actions of the user as suggested by Boesen (Boesen, [0003]). (wireless earpieces are a pair) (Boesen, [0017]).
As to claim 10, Baker does not explicitly recite a smart watch. However, in an analogous art Boesen teaches the third wearable device is a smart watch (smart watches and bracelets are contemplated as wearable sensor devices) (Boesen, [0036]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to implement the personal area network of Baker with the bracelet/smart watch of Boesen in order to monitor biometrics and actions of the user as suggested by Boesen (Boesen, [0003]).
As to claim 11, Baker does not explicitly recite smart clothing. However, in an analogous art, Boesen teaches the third wearable device is a smart sock (smart clothing can be connected to the personal area network) (Boesen, [0017]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to implement the personal area network of Baker with the smart clothing of Boesen in order to monitor biometrics and actions of the user as suggested by Boesen (Boesen, [0003]). (wireless earpieces are a pair) (Boesen, [0017]).
As to claim 12, Baker does not explicitly recite smart clothing. However, in an analogous art, Boesen teaches the third wearable device is a smart shirt (smart clothing can be connected to the personal area network) (Boesen, [0017]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to implement the personal area network of Baker with the smart clothing of Boesen in order to monitor biometrics and actions of the user as suggested by Boesen (Boesen, [0003]). (wireless earpieces are a pair) (Boesen, [0017]).
As to claim 13, Baker teaches a wireless personal area network (Baker, [0015]):
a. A first wearable device configured to be worn on a user’s body, the first wearable device including: a processor, a memory, and a first set of sensors configured to collect a first set of biometric data from the user (device includes at least a memory, a processor, and physiological (biometric) sensors including a thermometer, ECG sensor, blood pressure to name a few examples) (Baker, [0087 and 0047]).
Baker does not explicitly recite an earpiece as an example of a wearable device. However, in an analogous art, Boesen teaches wearable devices can be earpieces (the wearable device can be an earpiece) (Boesen, [0030]).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to implement the personal area network of Baker with the earpiece of Boesen in order to monitor biometrics and actions of the user as suggested by Boesen (Boesen, [0003]).
Baker as modified further teaches:
b. A second earpiece (wireless earpieces are a pair) (Boesen, [0017]). configured to be worn on the user’s body, the second wearable device including: a processor, a memory, and a second set of sensors configured to collect a second set of biometric data from the user (device includes at least a memory, a processor, and physiological (biometric) sensors including a thermometer, ECG sensor, blood pressure to name a few examples with the number of wearable sensors is not limited to a single one) (Baker, [0027, 0087, and 0047] and fig. 1).
c. A third wearable device configured to be worn on the user’s body, the third wearable device including: a processor, a memory, and a third set of sensors configured to collect a third set of biometric data from the user (device includes at least a memory, a processor, and physiological (biometric) sensors including a thermometer, ECG sensor, blood pressure to name a few examples with the number of wearable sensors is not limited to a single one) (Baker, [0027, 0087, and 0047] and fig. 1).
d. The processor of the first wearable device is configured to: receive the second set of biometric data from the second wearable device and the third set of biometric data from the third wearable device and determine at the processor of the first wireless earpiece that the first wearable device and the second wearable device and the third wearable device are on the user’s body by comparing the first set of biometric data with the second set of biometric data and the third set of biometric data (sensor data are obtained and compared to each other in order to determine if the wearables are on the same person including the sensors themselves) (Baker, [0037-0040, 0051, and 0057]).
As to claim 14, Baker as modified teaches the first wireless earpiece and the second wireless earpiece communicate via a wireless communication protocol (personal area network is wireless such as Bluetooth) (Baker, [0018]).
As to claim 15, Baker as modified teaches the first wireless earpiece and the wearable device communicate via a wireless communication protocol (personal area network is wireless such as Bluetooth) (Baker, [0018]).
As to claim 16, Baker as modified the first set of biometric data and the second set of biometric data include at least one of heart rate, blood pressure, body temperature, gait, and movement (blood pressure) (Baker, [0051]).
As to claim 17, Baker as modified teaches the first set of biometric data and the second set of biometric data and the third set of biometric each include at least one of heart rate, blood pressure, body temperature, gait, and movement (blood pressure) (Baker, [0051]).
As to claim 19, Baker as modified teaches the third wearable device is a smart watch (smart watches and bracelets are contemplated as wearable sensor devices) (Boesen, [0036]).
As to claim 20, Baker as modified teaches the third wearable device is a smart wristband (smart watches and bracelets are contemplated as wearable sensor devices) (Boesen, [0036]).
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 2/23/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US Patents Nos. 11272367, 11711695, and 12069479 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Double Patenting
In light of the approved terminal disclaimer of 2/23/2026, the previous double patenting rejection of the claims has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM S POWERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496