DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The application’s IFW is noted. A communication from the Office of Data Management (ODM): Application Assistance Unit was added to the IFW on 8/27/2024 and 8/10/2026. The communication notes that the priority claim was improper and certain corrections must be made. That communication sets forth various remedies and notes that questions thereto can be directed to ODM. As the instant application has not been given the benefit of foreign priority, the effective filing date is considered to be the filing date of the parent application- 11/16/20. The Chinese publication CN109722005 was published more than a year before the effective filing date and is considered to be prior art under USC 102(a)(1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang in CN109722005 (citations herein are directed to the machine translation provided).
Regarding Claim 1: Wang teaches the creation of an electronic device, comprising a circuit and an insulating magnetic member adjacent to said circuit (See Paragraph beginning ‘According to one embodiment, an electronic device, comprises a circuit’).
Wang teaches that the insulating magnetic member may be made from a soft magnetic composite with a two-dimensional magnetic moment micropowder, wherein the soft magnetic composite with a two-dimensional magnetic moment micropowder comprises an insulating matrix and a two-dimensional magnetic moment micropowder dispersed and fixed therein (See Paragraph beginning “two-dimensional moment-magnetic powder 120 is dispersed and fixed”).
Inside of the two-dimensional magnetic moment micropowder, the magnetic moments are distributed in specific two-dimensional planes. Wang shows through Figure 5 and the accompanying explanation that the distribution within said planes is isotropic. (See Paragraph beginning “According to one embodiment, claims a method for preparing two-dimensional” and See Paragraph beginning “Fig. 5 is a sample Fe57”).
Wang teaches that wherein when an external operating magnetic field is zero, the magnetic moment of the micropowder are distributed in a specific (two-dimensional) plane in the micropowder. When the external field is not zero, the magnetic moment makes a rotation or precession motion to a specific plane under an action of the external operating field (See Paragraph beginning “wherein, μ i is initial permeability, fr is the natural resonant”).
Wang teaches that the orientation of the micropowder dispersed within the matrix may be by a multipole external orientation or a rotating external orientation, which would have the same effect of enabling the easy magnetization planes of the micropowder in the composite to be distributed in the planes determined by the orientation field (See Paragraph beginning “Next in step S230, it can use the orientation magnetic field applied”).
Wang shows that planar orientation may be greater than 95% (See Example 1 and 2). Wang thus teaches all of the features of the claimed electronic device.
Regarding Claim 2: Wang teaches that the electronic device may be chosen from inductor, antenna, microwave isolator, microwave circulator, phase shifter, filter and transformer and so on (See Paragraph beginning “In some examples, the electronic device is an inductor,”).
Regarding Claim 3: Wang teaches that the two dimensional magnetic micropowder may be either an artificial two-dimensional magnetic moment micropowder or an intrinsic two-dimensional magnetic moment micropowder (See Paragraph beginning “In some examples, the two-dimensional micro magnetic moment”).
Regarding Claim 4: Wang teaches that the artificial two dimensional magnetic moment micropowder has a cubic crystalline structure and the intrinsic two-dimensional magnetic moment micropowder has a non-cubic crystalline structure, and easy magnetization axes of the micropowder are perpendicular to a C axis (See Paragraph beginning “In some examples, the artificial two-dimensional micro magnetic moment has a cubic”)
Regarding Claim 5-7: Wang teaches that the size of the artificial two-dimensional magnetic moment micro-powder is less than 20μm, preferably less than 15μm, and the thickness is less than 500nm, preferably less than 100nm, diameter-to-thickness ratio in the range of 40 to 200, preferably in the range of 50 to 150. (See Paragraph beginning “In some examples, the size of the artificial two-dimensional”).
Wang teaches that the size of the intrinsic two-dimensional magnetic moment micro-powder is less than 10μm, preferably less than 5μm (See Paragraph beginning “In some examples, the size of the intrinsic two-dimensional”).
Regarding Claim 8: Wang teaches that the artificial two-dimensional magnetic moment micropowder comprises one or more of the following materials: at least one of FeSiAl and FeNiMo Fe, carbonyl iron, Fe, and Co and Ni (See Paragraph beginning “In some examples, the artificial two-dimensional magnetic moment micro”).
Wang teaches that the intrinsic two-dimensional magnetic moment micro-powder comprises the following materials: R2(Fe, Ni, Si, Al)17N3, wherein R is Y, Ce, Nd, or Pr Sm2(Fe, Ni, Co)14B; R2(Co, Fe, Ni)17, wherein R is Y or Nd (See Paragraph beginning “In some examples, the intrinsic two-dimensional magnetic moment micro-powder”).
Regarding Claim 9: Wang teaches that the insulating material may be a thermoplastic, thermoset, or a synthetic rubber (See Paragraph beginning “the insulating substrate 110 can be an insulating substrate ”).
Regarding Claim 10: Wang teaches a method for preparing a soft magnetic composite with a two-dimensional magnetic moment (See Paragraph beginning “With reference to FIG. 4 according to an embodiment”). Wang teaches that the two-dimensional magnetic micropowder is first prepared to have the claimed magnetic moments isotropically distributed therein (See Paragraph beginning “For the intrinsic two-dimensional micro magnetic moment, because “). The micropowder is then uniformly dispersed in in the insulating matrix (See next paragraph of translation). The micropowder is then oriented by a multipole external orientation magnetic field or a rotating external field so that the easy plane of the micropowder is aligned with the external magnetic field (See Next paragraph of translation). After orientation the insulation is cured, fixing the micropowder in the matrix with a plane orientation degree greater than 95% (See next paragraph in translation and Example 1).
Wang teaches that when the composite material is exposed to an external operating magnetic field that is zero, the magnetic moment of the micropowder are distributed in a specific (two-dimensional) plane in the micropowder. When the external field is not zero, the magnetic moment makes a rotation or precession motion to a specific plane under an action of the external operating field (See Paragraph beginning “wherein, μ i is initial permeability, fr is the natural resonant”). The material created thus has the same property as claimed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/20/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s amendments to instant claims 1 and 10 are noted and remedy the objections set forth in the previous communication. The objection to these claims is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments in terms of priority are noted; however, the examiner has no control over the attribution of priorities within the instant application. Applicant is directed to the Misc Communication in the application file dated 8/10/26. It is set forth therein that ‘the priority or continuity claim has not been entered because it was not filed during the required time period. Applicant may wish to consider filing a petition to accept an unintentionally delayed claim for priority. See 37 CFR 1.55 or 1.78”. It is noted that questions in terms of this may be directed to the Office of Data Management, Application Assistance Unit.
As the issue with foreign priority has not been resolved, the rejection under USC 102 (a)(1) is maintained. While applicant’s arguments that the application should have priority to both PCT/CN2019/108896 and CN201910000894.7, this has not been entered by the Office of Data Managements due to the issues cited above. The instant claims currently have an effective filing date of 11/16/20 based on the parent application. The CN109722005 document was published on 2019-05-07, which is more than a year before the effective filing date of the claims. As this is the case, ‘005 constitutes prior art. It is noted that the resolution of the instant application’s priority in the manner argued by applicant would render ‘005 as not prior art.
On this basis the priority has not been changed, the rejection of all claims under USC 102 (a)(1) is maintained.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Matthew E. Hoban/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734