DETAILED ACTION
Status Of Claims
Claims 1-20, received 8/13/2024, are pending for examination.
If applicant is aware of any relevant prior art, or other co-pending application not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.56 to disclose the same.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 18/200486, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. For example, Application No. 18/200486 fails to provide adequate support or enablement for at least figures 5-9 of the instant application and the associated paragraphs of the disclosure which describe the figures/embodiments of figures 5-9. Accordingly, claims 15-16 and 18-20 are not entitled to the benefit of the prior application.
U.S. application 18/801853 filed on 8/13/2024 is the earliest filed application that discloses all of the limitations in claims 15-16 and 18-20 and therefore is the earliest priority date given for the instant application.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph [0001] of the specification states that the present application is a continuation of US 18/200486. However, the present application appears to be a continuation-in-part of US 18/200486;
Paragraphs [0022], [0064] and [0065] of the specification state that the laser beams emitted by the laser emitter sequentially pass through the first laser mirror (225), the third laser mirror (225’), the first dichroic mirror (224). However, this description is in conflict to the embodiment shown in figure 9 which includes third laser mirror (225’) since the laser beams emitted by the laser emitter are sequentially reflected from the first laser mirror (225), the third laser mirror (225’), the first dichroic mirror (224);
The “3.” at the beginning of paragraph [0028] should be removed.
Appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 18 states that the laser beams emitted by the laser emitter sequentially pass through the first laser mirror (225), the third laser mirror (225’), the first dichroic mirror (224). However, this limitation is in conflict to the embodiment shown in figure 9 which includes third laser mirror (225’) since the laser beams emitted by the laser emitter are sequentially reflected from the first laser mirror (225), the third laser mirror (225’), the first dichroic mirror (224). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 is objected to for inheriting the same informalities through their dependency from claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the target” on lines 19 and 23. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Lines 15 and 19 of claim 1 state that the dichroic mirrors reflect the laser light but allow natural light to pass through, but this is not an accurate description of how dichroic mirrors function. At least paragraph [0005] of the specification describes the reflection and transmission of the dichroic mirrors. The dichroic mirrors reflect the last light due to the wavelength band of the laser light, and not because the light is “unnatural” or “natural”, and the dichroic mirrors of the present application are designed to transmit wavelength bands other than the wavelength band of the laser transmitting unit and not because that light is “natural” or “unnatural”. Additionally, lines 26-28 describe the dichroic mirrors transmitting light “of normal observing light path band” but a normal observing light path and/or normal observing light path band, and a transmission band of the dichroic mirrors has not been defined or described prior. Therefore, the “natural light” and “normal observing light path band” language is indefinite, and the intended metes-and-bounds of claim 1 are unclear. For the purpose of this examination, it is interpreted that the first and second dichroic mirrors function such that the laser receiving unit produces laser light of a predetermined wavelength band, and the first and second dichroic mirrors reflect the laser light of the predetermined wavelength band and transmit light with a wavelength band outside of the predetermined wavelength band.
Further, on line 29 of claim 1, “of a laser transmitting is reflected” is unclear, and is interpreted as being “of the laser emitter is reflected”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-20 are rejected for inheriting the same indefiniteness of the claims from which they depend.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,072,207 B1. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are merely broader than or an obvious variation of claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,072,207 B1.
Regarding claim 1 of the instant application, see claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,072,207 B1 which discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Regarding claim 2 of the instant application, see claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,072,207 B1 which discloses all of the limitations of claim 2.
Regarding claim 3 of the instant application, see claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,072,207 B1 which discloses all of the limitations of claim 3.
Regarding claim 4 of the instant application, see claims 1 and 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,072,207 B1 which discloses all of the limitations of claim 4.
Regarding claim 5 of the instant application, see claims 1 and 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,072,207 B1 which discloses all of the limitations of claim 5.
Regarding claim 6 of the instant application, see claims 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,072,207 B1 which discloses all of the limitations of claim 6.
Regarding claim 7 of the instant application, see claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,072,207 B1 which discloses all of the limitations of claim 7.
Regarding claim 8 of the instant application, see claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,072,207 B1 which discloses all of the limitations of claim 8.
Regarding claim 9 of the instant application, see claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,072,207 B1 which discloses all of the limitations of claim 9.
Regarding claim 10 of the instant application, see claims 1 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,072,207 B1 which discloses all of the limitations of claim 10.
Regarding claim 11 of the instant application, see claims 1 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,072,207 B1 which discloses all of the limitations of claim 11.
Regarding claim 12 of the instant application, see claims 1 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,072,207 B1 which discloses all of the limitations of claim 12.
Regarding claim 13 of the instant application, see claims 1 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,072,207 B1 which discloses all of the limitations of claim 13.
Regarding claim 14 of the instant application, see claims 1 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,072,207 B1 which discloses all of the limitations of claim 14.
Other Related Art
This prior art, made of record, but not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure since the following references have similar structure and/or use similar optical elements to what is claimed and/or disclosed in the instant application:
Lancaster et al., US 8,525,978 B2, discloses a similar range finding binocular telescope wherein metallic mirrors are used for beam deflection and wherein wavelength selective beam splitting coatings are employed for splitting beam paths (see at least the title, abstract and figures 1-3 and 6, elements 17, 18, 19, 32 and 33, as well as column 7, lines 4-53, column 10, lines 13-33, and column 13, line 33 through column 14, line 10);
Chang et al., US 2016/0187131 A1, discloses a similar range finding binocular telescope including multiple reflective surfaces wherein wavelength selective beam splitting coatings are employed for splitting beam paths (figs. 1A-3, element 337, para. [0030]);
Kao, US 6,441,887 B1, discloses a similar range finding binocular telescope including multiple reflective surfaces wherein wavelength selective beam splitting coatings are employed for splitting beam paths (fig. 2, elements 61, 62, 63, 64, 622, 624, 620, 612, 630, 614); and
Chen et al., US 10,520,717 B2, discloses a similar range finding binocular telescope including multiple reflective surfaces wherein wavelength selective beam splitting coatings are employed for splitting beam paths (figs. 1-7, elements 1342 and 2342).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chuang et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2023/0075072 A1 (hereafter Chuang) in view of Perger et al., Patent Application Publication Number 2005/0128576 A1 (hereafter Perger), Mingshu et al., Patent Application Publication Number 2018/0106612 A1 (hereafter Mingshu) and Dohr et al., Patent Application Publication Number 2018/0024376 A1 (hereafter Dohr).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Chuang discloses a range finding binocular telescope (see at least figures 1-5B, and paragraphs [0014]-[0018], [0025], [0029]), comprising: a first lens body (see at least figure 1, element 114, and paragraph [0014], one of the “right cavity” or “left cavity”) and a second lens body (see at least figure 1, element 114, and paragraph [0014], the other of the “right cavity” or “left cavity”), the first lens body and the second lens body rotating about a central shaft (see at least figure 1 which shows an unlabeled pivot shaft), wherein the first lens body comprises a first lens tube (see at least figure 1, element 114, and paragraph [0014], one of the “right cavity” or “left cavity”), and a first eyepiece group (see at least element 106) and a laser transmitting module disposed in the first lens tube (see at least element 1073, paras. [0015]-[0017], [0020], [0023] wherein the light emitter may be attached to the collimation lens 1041, the emitter may be arrange on the circuit board, and the elements may be fixed to the housing, and therefore the laser emitter and any desired associated optical elements, circuits or mounting hardware may be considered the “laser transmitting module”), the second lens body comprises a second lens tube (see at least figure 1, element 114, and paragraph [0014], the other of the “right cavity” or “left cavity”), and a second eyepiece group (see at least element 106) and a laser receiving module disposed in the second lens tube (see at least element 1074, paras. [0015]-[0017], [0020], [0023] wherein the light receiver may be attached to a collimation lens 1041, and the elements may be fixed to the housing, and therefore the laser receiver and any desired associated optical elements or mounting hardware may be considered the “laser receiving module”), the laser transmitting module is arranged in front of the first eyepiece group (see at least elements 106 and 1073), the laser receiving module is arranged in front of the second eyepiece group (see at least elements 106 and 1074), a laser light path for range finding is separated from an observing light path (see at least figure 1, elements 1073 and 1074), and the laser light path and the observing light path are adjustable independently (see at least paragraphs [0020] and [0029]-[0030]);
wherein the laser transmitting module comprises a laser transmitting unit; the laser transmitting unit comprises a laser emitter for transmitting laser beams (see at least element 1073), a collimating lens for collimating the emitted laser beams (see at least element 1041), a first laser mirror for reflecting the collimated laser beams (see at least element 103 and/or 1011, para. [0017]), a first mirror for reflecting laser light and allowing natural light to pass therethrough (see at least element 1012 and 1011, para. [0017]), and a first convex lens for focusing (see at least element 105);
wherein the laser receiving module comprises a laser receiving unit; the laser receiving unit comprises a second convex lens for focusing (see at least element 105), a second mirror for reflecting the laser beams turned back from a target and allowing natural light to pass therethrough (see at least elements 1011 and 1012, para. [0017]), a second laser mirror for reflecting the reflected laser beams from the second mirror (see at least elements 102 and/or 103, para. [0017]), a laser receiving coupling lens for receiving and focusing the laser beams reflected by the second laser mirror (see at least elements 103 and/or 1041, para. [0017]), and a laser receiver for receiving the focused laser beams (see at least element 1074);
wherein the laser beams emitted to the target by the laser transmitting module and light in the observing light path band are focused by the second convex lens (see at least element 105) and then projected onto the second mirror in the laser receiving module (see at least elements 1011 and 1012, para. [0017]), and laser light of a specific wavelength band of the laser emitter is reflected toward the second laser mirror (see at least elements 102 and/or 103, para. [0017]), and the second laser mirror projects the received laser light toward the laser receiver (see at least element 1074).
Chuang does not specifically disclose that the first lens body, first lens tube, second lens body, and second lens tube are separate elements, wherein the first and second lens bodies rotate about a central shaft.
However, Perger teaches a range finding binocular telescope wherein the binocular assembly may include first and second lens bodies and first and second lens tubes for separately holding optical elements together in a fixed or adjustable manner, and wherein eyepiece lens elements and/or objective lens elements may be axially adjusted and/or rotated/pivoted around a central shaft (see at least the title, abstract, figure 1, and at least elements 1, 2, 3, 23, 24, 25, 26, and paragraphs [0022]-[0029] of Perger), wherein the central shaft is sleeved in a sleeve (see at least figure 1, element 32 and/or 13 of Perger).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the range finding binocular telescope of Chuang to include the teachings of Perger so that the binocular assembly may include first and second lens bodies and first and second lens tubes, wherein the first and second lens bodies rotate about a central shaft, for the purpose of using well-known designs and techniques in the optical arts to secure optical elements with respect to one another in an adjustable manner while having a reasonable expectation for success.
Additionally, housing various optical elements, such as lenses, mirrors, lasers, prisms, etc. in a fixed or adjustable manner in structural tube or housing elements is well-known in the optical range finding, binocular and telescope arts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange any of the optical elements of the apparatus into tube or body elements, either together or separately, since the structural apparatus used for maintaining the desired spatial relationship between the individual optical elements is a design choice to satisfy the design criteria of a particular purpose. The binocular assembly having first and second lens bodies, and first and second lens tubes, wherein the first and second lens bodies rotate about a central shaft, would have been obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the optical arts, for the purpose of using well-known structural techniques to secure optical elements with respect to one another in an adjustable manner while having a reasonable expectation for success. Pfizer, Inc. v. Apotex, Inc., 480 F.3d 1348, 82 USPQ2d 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2007). Alza Corp. v. Mylan Laboratories, Inc. 464 F.3d 1286, 80 USPQ2d 1001 (Fed. Cir. 2006). Ex parte Kubin, 83 USPQ2d 1410 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 2007).
Chuang and Perger do not disclose that a first prism group is provided between the first eyepiece group and the laser transmitting module, a second prism group is provided between the second eyepiece group and the laser receiving module, such that a laser light path for range finding is separated from an observing light path in front of the first prism group and the second prism group.
However, Mingshu teaches a range finding binocular telescope (see at least figures 4-6, the title and the abstract of Mingshu) wherein a first prism group (figs. 4-6, element 15 of Mingshu) is provided between an eyepiece (see at least figs. 4-6, element 11 of Mingshu) and a laser transmitting module (see at least figs. 4-6, elements 14, 17, 13 of Mingshu), a second prism group (see at least figs. 4-6, element 23 of Mingshu) is provided between the second eyepiece group (see at least figs. 4-6, element 21 of Mingshu) and the laser receiving module (see at least figs. 4-6, elements 24, 25 of Mingshu), such that a laser light path for range finding is separated from an observing light path in front of the first prism group and the second prism group (see at least paras. [0027]-[0030], [0037]-[0038], [0040] of Mingshu).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the range finding binocular telescope of Chuang in view of Perger to include the teachings of Mingshu so that a first prism group is provided between the first eyepiece group and the laser transmitting module, a second prism group is provided between the second eyepiece group and the laser receiving module, such that a laser light path for range finding is separated from an observing light path in front of the first prism group and the second prism group, for the purpose of allowing a laser range finding laser to be transmitted and received by objective lenses of the binocular telescope while also light from an outside scene to be reflected and refracted to be viewable through the eyepieces of the binocular telescope by a user while having a reasonable expectation for success (see at least figures 4-6, the title and the abstract of Mingshu).
Chuang in view of Perger and Mingshu does not appear to specifically disclose a first dichroic mirror for reflecting laser light and allowing natural light to pass therethrough; or a second dichroic mirror for reflecting laser light and allowing natural light to pass therethrough, such that the laser beams emitted to the target by the laser transmitting module and light in the observing light path band are focused by the second convex lens and then projected onto the second dichroic mirror in the laser receiving module, and a coating film of the first dichroic mirror transmits light of normal observing light path band to the first prism group at a rear end, and a coating film of the second dichroic mirror transmits the light of the normal observing light path band to the second prism group at a rear end, and laser light of a specific wavelength band of the laser emitter is reflected toward the second laser mirror, and the second laser mirror projects the received laser light toward the laser receiver.
However, Dohr teaches a range finding telescope (see at least the title, abstract, figure 4 and figure 12 of Dohr) wherein a first dichroic mirror is used for reflecting specific wavelengths of laser light from a laser emitter, and a second dichroic mirror is used for reflecting specific wavelengths of laser light to a laser receiver (see at least figure 4, elements 16, 75, 76, 17, paras. [0014], [0016], [0090]-[0091] of Dohr).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the range finding binocular telescope of Chuang, Perger and Mingshu to include the teachings of Dohr so that the apparatus includes at least a first dichroic mirror, and a second dichroic mirror, such that the laser beams emitted to the target by the laser transmitting module and light in the observing light path band are focused by the second convex lens and then projected onto the second dichroic mirror in the laser receiving module, and a coating film of the first dichroic mirror transmits light of normal observing light path band to the first prism group at a rear end, and a coating film of the second dichroic mirror transmits the light of the normal observing light path band to the second prism group at a rear end, and laser light of a specific wavelength band of a laser transmitting is reflected toward the second laser mirror, and the second laser mirror projects the received laser light toward the laser receiver, using well-known wavelength selective dichroic mirrors for splitting/reflecting laser light from other wavelengths of light from an outside scene so that laser range finding may be performed while allowing a user to observe the outside scene through the range finding binocular telescope while having a reasonable expectation for success.
Regarding claims 15-16, Chuang in view of Perger, Mingshu, and Dohr discloses that the various elements have various orientations with respect to each other, and that the various reflective elements have various shapes, dimensions and orientations with respect to each other (see at least figures 1-3 of Chuang wherein the transmitting, receiving and reflective surfaces all have various orientations with respect to each other; see at least figures 1-6, elements 13-18, 23-25 of Mingshu wherein the transmitting, receiving and prism elements may all have various different locations or dimensions with respect to each other), but does not specifically disclose that a plane where the first laser mirror is located is parallel to a plane where the first dichroic mirror is located; or a plane where the second laser mirror is located is parallel to a plane where the second dichroic mirror is located.
However, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape, size, orientation and/or dimensions of the plane of the first laser mirror with respect to the plane of the first dichroic mirror, or a plane of the second laser mirror with respect to the plane of the second dichroic mirror, since it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination; and since such a modification would involve only a mere change in size of a component which is generally considered as being within the ordinary skill in the art; and since it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimension would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device; and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the optimum and workable size, shape, orientation and/or dimensions of the elements such that a plane where the first laser mirror is located is parallel to a plane where the first dichroic mirror is located, and a plane where the second laser mirror is located is parallel to a plane where the second dichroic mirror is located, for the purpose of making a design choice of the layout, shape, size and dimensions of the elements of the binocular telescope while maintaining it suitability as a range finder and binocular telescope. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976). In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235.
Regarding claim 17, Chuang in view of Perger, Mingshu, and Dohr discloses that the laser emitter and the first laser mirror are arranged opposite to each other in an inner wall of the first lens tube; the first dichroic mirror is between the laser emitter and the first laser mirror; the laser receiver and the second laser mirror are arranged opposite each other in an inner wall of the second lens tube; the second dichroic mirror is between the laser emitter and the second laser mirror (see at least figures 1-2, elements 1073, 103, the leftmost reflective surface of prism 1011, and the surfaces of prism 1012, and 1074 of Chuang, as well as the combination set forth regarding the dichroic mirror surfaces).
Regarding claim 18, as best understood, Chuang discloses numerous reflecting surfaces wherein it appears that the laser transmitting unit comprises at least three reflective surfaces (see at least figures 1-3, elements 1073, 102, 103, 1011 and 1012 of Chuang).
However, Chuang does not explicitly state that the laser transmitting unit further comprises a third laser mirror, the laser beams emitted by the laser emitter sequentially reflect off the first laser mirror, the third laser mirror, and the first dichroic mirror, and then are emitted from the first convex lens to reach the target.
Dohr further teaches that the laser transmitting unit further comprises a third laser mirror, the laser beams emitted by the laser emitter sequentially reflect off a first laser mirror, a third laser mirror, and a first dichroic mirror, and then are emitted from a first convex lens to reach a target (see at least figures 2-4 of Dohr, wherein a laser transmitting unit (15) emits laser beams from an emitter (16) which sequentially reflect off a first laser mirror (77), the third laser mirror (front reflection surface of prism system 35), and the first dichroic mirror (75), and then are emitted from a first convex lens to reach a target (61); or see at least figure 12 of Dohr wherein the laser transmitter (16) and laser receiver (17) each include at least three reflective surfaces).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the range finding binocular telescope of Chuang in view of Perger, Mingshu, and Dohr to include the further teachings of Dohr so that the laser transmitting unit further comprises a third laser mirror, the laser beams emitted by the laser emitter sequentially reflect off the first laser mirror, the third laser mirror, and the first dichroic mirror, and then are emitted from the first convex lens to reach the target, for the purpose of having a desired arrangement of the laser transmitting unit such that the laser emitter is positioned in a desired position and/or orientation within the body of the binocular telescope while allowing the emitted laser beams to propagate through the binocular telescope apparatus and toward a target.
Regarding claim 19, Chuang in view of Perger, Mingshu, and Dohr discloses that the various elements have various orientations with respect to each other, and that the various reflective elements have various shapes, dimensions and orientations with respect to each other (see at least figures 1-3 of Chuang wherein the transmitting, receiving and reflective surfaces all have various orientations with respect to each other; see at least figures 1-6, elements 13-18, 23-25 of Mingshu wherein the transmitting, receiving and prism elements may all have various different locations or dimensions with respect to each other), but does not specifically disclose that a plane where the third laser mirror is located is parallel to a plane where the first dichroic mirror is located.
However, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape, size, orientation and/or dimensions of the plane of the first laser mirror with respect to the plane of the first dichroic mirror, or a plane of the second laser mirror with respect to the plane of the second dichroic mirror, since it has been held that a mere change in shape of an element is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art when the change in shape is not significant to the function of the combination; and since such a modification would involve only a mere change in size of a component which is generally considered as being within the ordinary skill in the art; and since it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimension would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device; and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the optimum and workable size, shape, orientation and/or dimensions of the elements such that a plane where the third laser mirror is located is parallel to a plane where the first dichroic mirror is located, for the purpose of making a design choice of the layout, shape, size and dimensions of the elements of the binocular telescope while maintaining it suitability as a range finder and binocular telescope. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976). In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235.
Regarding claim 20, Chuang discloses numerous reflecting surfaces wherein it appears that the laser receiving unit comprises at least three reflective surfaces (see at least figures 1-3, elements 1074, 102, 103, 1011 and 1012 of Chuang).
However, Chuang does not explicitly state that the laser receiving unit further comprises a fourth laser mirror, and the laser beams reflected by the target pass through the second convex lens, sequentially are reflected by the second dichroic mirror, the fourth laser mirror and the second laser mirror, and then are received by the laser receiver.
Dohr further teaches including numerous sequential reflecting surfaces in both the laser transmitting and laser receiving unit (see at least figures 2-4 of Dohr, wherein a laser transmitting unit (15) emits laser beams from an emitter (16) which sequentially reflect off a first laser mirror (77), the third laser mirror (front reflection surface of prism system 35), and the first dichroic mirror (75), and then are emitted from a first convex lens to reach a target (61); or see at least figure 12 of Dohr wherein the laser transmitter (16) and laser receiver (17) each include at least three reflective surfaces).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the range finding binocular telescope of Chuang in view of Perger, Mingshu, and Dohr to include the further teachings of Dohr so that the laser transmitting unit further comprises a fourth laser mirror, and the laser beams reflected by the target pass through the second convex lens, sequentially are reflected by the second dichroic mirror, the fourth laser mirror and the second laser mirror, and then are received by the laser receiver, for the purpose of having a desired arrangement of the laser receiving unit such that the laser receiver is positioned in a desired position and/or orientation within the body of the binocular telescope while allowing the reflected laser beams to propagate through the binocular telescope apparatus from a target.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the laser receiver of the laser receiving unit, and include reflective surfaces to reflect the received laser beam toward the laser receiver, since it has been held that a mere rearrangement of elements without modification of the operation of the device involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to rearrange the laser receiving unit, so that the laser transmitting unit further comprises a fourth laser mirror, and the laser beams reflected by the target pass through the second convex lens, sequentially are reflected by the second dichroic mirror, the fourth laser mirror and the second laser mirror, and then are received by the laser receiver, for the purpose of having a desired arrangement of the laser receiving unit such that the laser receiver is positioned in a desired position and/or orientation within the body of the binocular telescope while allowing the reflected laser beams to propagate through the binocular telescope apparatus from a target. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ7 (CCPA 1975).
Claims 2-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chuang et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2023/0075072 A1 (hereafter Chuang) in view of Perger et al., Patent Application Publication Number 2005/0128576 A1 (hereafter Perger), Mingshu et al., Patent Application Publication Number 2018/0106612 A1 (hereafter Mingshu) and Dohr et al., Patent Application Publication Number 2018/0024376 A1 (hereafter Dohr) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schlierbach et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2009/0296210 A1 (hereafter Schlierbach).
Regarding claim 2, Chuang in view of Perger, Mingshu and Dohr does not specifically disclose that the laser transmitting module is mounted in the first lens tube through a laser transmitting module ball head, and the laser transmitting module comprises a laser transmitting module base and a laser transmitting unit mounted in the laser transmitting module base.
However, Schlierbach teaches a range finding telescope apparatus wherein the optical apparatus includes a laser transmitting module mounted in a tube assembly through a ball head, and a base wherein the laser transmitting unit is mounted in the base (see at least the title, abstract, and figures 8-9 wherein a laser transmitter/module 92, 94 and/or 83 is mounted in a tube 75 and/or 13 through a ball head 82, and the laser transmitting unit is mounted in a base 80, 79 and/or 83, as well as paras. [0144]-[0146] of Schlierbach).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the range finding binocular telescope of Chuang in view of Perger, Mingshu and Dohr to include the teachings of Schlierbach so that the laser transmitting module is mounted in the first lens tube through a laser transmitting module ball head, and the laser transmitting module comprises a laser transmitting module base and a laser transmitting unit mounted in the laser transmitting module base, for the purpose of using well-known designs and techniques in the optical arts to secure optical elements with respect to one another by providing housing/tube elements for the elements which may be adjustable while having a reasonable expectation for success.
Additionally, housing various optical elements, such as lenses, mirrors, lasers, prisms, etc. in a fixed or adjustable manner in structural tube and/or ball head elements is well-known in the optical range finding, binocular and telescope arts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange any of the optical elements of the apparatus into tube or ball head elements, either together or separately, since the structural apparatus used for connecting and maintaining the desired spatial relationship between the individual optical elements is a design choice to satisfy the design criteria of a particular purpose. The binocular assembly having a laser transmitting module be mounted in the first lens tube through a laser transmitting module ball head, and the laser transmitting module comprise a laser transmitting module base and a laser transmitting unit mounted in the laser transmitting module base would have been obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the optical arts, for the purpose of using well-known structural techniques to secure optical elements with respect to one another while having a reasonable expectation for success. Pfizer, Inc. v. Apotex, Inc., 480 F.3d 1348, 82 USPQ2d 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2007). Alza Corp. v. Mylan Laboratories, Inc. 464 F.3d 1286, 80 USPQ2d 1001 (Fed. Cir. 2006). Ex parte Kubin, 83 USPQ2d 1410 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 2007).
Regarding claim 3, Chuang additionally teaches that the collimating lens is configured to converge light and adjust a focal length to help improve beam intensity of emitted light (1041, para. [0017]), and that the light collimating lens is adjusted to calibrate the focus point of the light transmitter (1073, 1041, para. [0020], [0030]). As stated in the above cited sections the position of the collimating lens is adjusted in at least some manner. It is noted that the lens must necessarily be held by something to maintain the appropriate spatial relationship between the different elements, and that at least any supporting members for supporting the laser transmitting unit and collimating lens are considered to be the laser transmitting module base. Chuang does not appear to specifically show a first focal length adjusting member for the collimating lens.
However, Perger further teaches that a collimating lens may be placed in front of a laser transmitter such that a position of the lens is adjusted to optimally collimate the beam (see at least elements 14, 15, 4, para. [0023] of Perger).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the range finding binocular telescope of Chuang in view of Perger, Mingshu, Dohr and Schlierbach to include the further teachings of Perger so that the apparatus includes the collimating lens being mounted in a first focal length adjusting member, wherein the first focal length adjusting member is mounted on the laser transmitting module base, for the purpose of using well-known designs and techniques in the optical arts to achieve the predictable result of securing optical elements with respect to one another in an adjustable manner while having a reasonable expectation for success.
Regarding claim 4, Chuang in view of Perger, Mingshu, Dohr and Schlierbach discloses that the collimating lens is positioned in front of the laser emitter to form a laser transmitting group (see at least figure 2, elements 1073 and 1041 of Chuang; and at least elements 14, 15, 4, para. [0023] of Perger), and the first laser mirror and the first dichroic mirror are opposed to each other to form a laser guiding group (see at least element 103 and/or 1011, para. [0017] of Chuang), and the laser guiding group is arranged in front of the laser transmitting group (see at least figures 1-3 of Chuang).
Regarding claim 5, Chuang in view of Perger, Mingshu, Dohr and Schlierbach discloses that the laser emitter, the collimating lens, the first laser mirror, and the first dichroic mirror are mounted inside a rear end of the laser transmitting module base, and the first convex lens is mounted inside a front end of the laser transmitting module base (see at least figures 1-3, elements 1073, 1041, 103, 1012, 1011, 114 and 105 of Chuang, as well as the combinations set forth above).
Regarding claim 8, Chuang, Perger, Mingshu and Dohr does not specifically disclose that the laser receiving module is mounted in the second lens tube through a laser transmitting module ball head, and the laser receiving module comprises a laser receiving module base and a laser receiving unit mounted in the laser receiving module base.
However, Schlierbach further teaches a range finding telescope apparatus wherein the optical apparatus includes a laser transmitting module mounted in a tube assembly through a ball head, and a base wherein the laser transmitting unit is mounted in the base (see at least the title, abstract, and figures 8-9 wherein a laser transmitter/module 92, 94 and/or 83 is mounted in a tube 75 and/or 13 through a ball head 82, and the laser transmitting unit is mounted in a base 80, 79 and/or 83).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the range finding binocular telescope of Chuang in view of Perger, Mingshu, Dohr and Schlierbach to include the further teachings of Schlierbach so that, similar to and duplicate of the laser transmitting module/ball head combination set forth above, the laser receiving module is mounted in the second lens tube through a laser receiving module ball head, and the laser receiving module comprises a laser receiving module base and a laser receiving unit mounted in the laser receiving module base, for the purpose of using well-known designs and techniques in the optical arts to secure optical elements with respect to one another by providing housing/tube elements for the elements while having a reasonable expectation for success.
Additionally, housing various optical elements, such as lenses, mirrors, lasers, prisms, etc. in a fixed or adjustable manner in structural tube and/or ball head elements is well-known in the optical range finding, binocular and telescope arts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange any of the optical elements of the apparatus into tube or ball head elements, either together or separately, since the structural apparatus used for connecting and maintaining the desired spatial relationship between the individual optical elements is a design choice to satisfy the design criteria of a particular purpose. The binocular assembly having a laser receiving module be mounted in the second lens tube through a laser receiving module ball head, and the laser receiving module comprise a laser receiving module base and a laser receiving unit mounted in the laser receiving module base would have been obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the optical arts, for the purpose of using well-known structural techniques to secure optical elements with respect to one another while having a reasonable expectation for success. Pfizer, Inc. v. Apotex, Inc., 480 F.3d 1348, 82 USPQ2d 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2007). Alza Corp. v. Mylan Laboratories, Inc. 464 F.3d 1286, 80 USPQ2d 1001 (Fed. Cir. 2006). Ex parte Kubin, 83 USPQ2d 1410 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 2007).
Regarding claims 6-7 and 12-13, at least Chuang, Perger, Mingshu and Dohr does not specifically disclose that the laser transmitting/receiving module base is provided with the laser transmitting/receiving module ball head protruding outward at an outer side corresponding to a position of the first/second convex lens, and wherein the laser transmitting/receiving module base is mounted in the first/second lens body through a laser transmitting/receiving module ball head ring.
However, Schlierbach further teaches a range finding telescope apparatus wherein the optical apparatus includes a laser transmitting module mounted in a tube assembly through a ball head protruding outward at an outer side corresponding to a position of a first convex lens (see at least figures 8-9 wherein a laser transmitter/module 92, 94 and/or 83 is mounted in a tube 75 and/or 13 through a ball head 82, protruding outward at an outer side corresponding to a position of a first convex lens 70), and the ball head is mounted through a ball head ring (see at least the title, abstract, and figures 8-9 wherein a laser transmitter/module 92, 94 and/or 83 is mounted in a tube 75 and/or 13 through a ball head 82, and the ball head is mounted in a ball head ring 80).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the range finding binocular telescope of Chuang in view of Perger, Mingshu, Dohr and Schlierbach to include the further teachings of Schlierbach so that the laser transmitting/receiving module base is provided with the laser transmitting/receiving module ball head protruding outward at an outer side corresponding to a position of the first/second convex lens, and wherein the laser transmitting/receiving module base is mounted in the first/second lens body through a laser transmitting/receiving module ball head ring, for the purpose of using well-known designs and techniques in the optical arts to secure optical elements with respect to one another by providing housing/tube elements secured by ball heads and ball head rings to provide pivoting adjustment to the optical elements while having a reasonable expectation for success.
Additionally, housing various optical elements, such as lenses, mirrors, lasers, prisms, etc. in a fixed or adjustable manner in structural tube and/or ball head elements held by ball head rings is well-known in the optical range finding, binocular and telescope arts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange any of the optical elements of the apparatus into tube or ball head elements held by ball head rings, either together or separately, since the structural apparatus used for connecting and maintaining the desired spatial relationship between the individual optical elements is a design choice to satisfy the design criteria of a particular purpose. The binocular assembly having the laser transmitting/receiving module base is provided with the laser transmitting/receiving module ball head protruding outward at an outer side corresponding to a position of the first/second convex lens, and wherein the laser transmitting/receiving module base is mounted in the first/second lens body through a laser transmitting/receiving module ball head ring would have been obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the optical arts, for the purpose of using well-known structural techniques to secure optical elements with respect to one another while having a reasonable expectation for success. Pfizer, Inc. v. Apotex, Inc., 480 F.3d 1348, 82 USPQ2d 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2007). Alza Corp. v. Mylan Laboratories, Inc. 464 F.3d 1286, 80 USPQ2d 1001 (Fed. Cir. 2006). Ex parte Kubin, 83 USPQ2d 1410 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 2007).
Regarding claim 9, Chuang additionally teaches that the collimating lens is configured to converge light and adjust a focal length of received light (1041, para. [0017]). As stated in the above cited section the position of the collimating lens is adjusted in at least some manner. It is noted that the lens must necessarily be held by something to maintain the appropriate spatial relationship between the different elements, and that at least any supporting members for supporting the laser receiving unit and collimating lens are considered to be the laser receiving module base. Chuang does not appear to specifically show a second focal length adjusting member for the collimating lens.
However, Perger further teaches that a collimating lens may be placed in front of a laser transmitter such that a position of the lens is adjusted to optimally collimate the beam (see at least elements 14, 15, 4, para. [0023] of Perger).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the range finding binocular telescope of Chuang in view of Perger, Mingshu, Dohr and Schlierbach to include the further teachings of Perger so that, similar to and duplicate of the laser module combination set forth above, the apparatus includes the collimating lens being mounted in a second focal length adjusting member, wherein the second focal length adjusting member is mounted on the laser receiving module base, for the purpose of using well-known designs and techniques in the optical arts to achieve the predictable result of securing optical elements with respect to one another in an adjustable manner while having a reasonable expectation for success.
Regarding claim 10, Chuang in view of Perger, Mingshu, Dohr and Schlierbach discloses that the laser receiving coupling mirror is positioned in front of the laser receiver to constitute a laser receiving group (see at least figure 2, elements 1074 and 1041 of Chuang), and the second laser mirror and the second dichroic mirror are opposed to each other to constitute a laser guiding group (see at least elements 102, 103, 1011 and/or 1012, para. [0017] of Chuang), wherein the laser guiding group is arranged in front of the laser receiving group (see at least figures 1 and 3, elements 1011, 1012, 102, 103, 1041 and 1074 of Chuang).
Regarding claim 11, Chuang in view of Perger, Mingshu, Dohr and Schlierbach discloses that the second dichroic mirror, the second laser mirror, the laser receiving coupling mirror, and the laser receiver are mounted inside a rear end of the laser receiving module base, and the second convex lens is mounted inside a front end of the laser receiving module base (see at least figures 1-3, elements 1074, 1041, 103, 1012, 1011, 114 and 105 of Chuang, as well as the combinations set forth above).
Regarding claim 14, at least Chuang, Perger, Mingshu and Dohr does not specifically disclose that the first prism group is mounted in a first prism group ball head and is mounted on the first lens body through a first prism group ball head ring, and the second prism group is mount in a second prism group ball head and is mounted in the second lens body through a second prism group ball head ring.
However, Schlierbach further teaches a range finding telescope apparatus wherein the optical apparatus includes a laser transmitting module mounted in a tube assembly through a ball head, and the ball head is mounted through a ball head ring (see at least the title, abstract, and figures 8-9 wherein a laser transmitter/module 92, 94 and/or 83 is mounted in a tube 75 and/or 13 through a ball head 82, and the ball head is mounted in a ball head ring 80).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the range finding binocular telescope of Chuang, Perger, Mingshu and Dohr to include the teachings of Schlierbach so that the first prism group is mounted in a first prism group ball head and is mounted on the first lens body through a first prism group ball head ring, and the second prism group is mount in a second prism group ball head and is mounted in the second lens body through a second prism group ball head ring, for the purpose of using well-known designs and techniques in the optical arts to secure optical elements with respect to one another by providing housing/tube elements secured by ball heads and ball head rings while having a reasonable expectation for success.
Additionally, housing various optical elements, such as lenses, mirrors, lasers, prisms, etc. in a fixed or adjustable manner in structural tube and/or ball head elements held by ball head rings is well-known in the optical range finding, binocular and telescope arts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange any of the optical elements of the apparatus into tube or ball head elements held by ball head rings, either together or separately, since the structural apparatus used for connecting and maintaining the desired spatial relationship between the individual optical elements is a design choice to satisfy the design criteria of a particular purpose. The binocular assembly having the first prism group be mounted in a first prism group ball head and be mounted on the first lens body through a first prism group ball head ring, and the second prism group be mounted in a second prism group ball head and be mounted in the second lens body through a second prism group ball head ring would have been obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the optical arts, for the purpose of using well-known structural techniques to secure optical elements with respect to one another while having a reasonable expectation for success. Pfizer, Inc. v. Apotex, Inc., 480 F.3d 1348, 82 USPQ2d 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2007). Alza Corp. v. Mylan Laboratories, Inc. 464 F.3d 1286, 80 USPQ2d 1001 (Fed. Cir. 2006). Ex parte Kubin, 83 USPQ2d 1410 (Bd. Pat. App. & Int. 2007).
Conclusion
/Derek S. Chapel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 1/30/2026
Derek S. CHAPEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2872