DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on August 30, 2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the Japanese application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 – 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 6 – 7 recite the limitations “recognize the subject”. It seems that this should recite “perform image recognition” because recognition processing does not guarantee a result. What happens if there is no recognized subject? Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 10 – 13 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 9 – 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,604,115. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 10 – 13 of the instant application are broader and fully encompassed by claims 1 and 9 – 11 of ‘115.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 – 5, 8 – 9 and 18 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ikedo (US 2019/0191120).
Regarding claim 1, Ikedo discloses a photoelectric conversion device (fig. 20) comprising: an optical system (fig. 1; 102); a plurality of pixels (201), each provided with: a photoelectric conversion unit (303) configured to generate pulses in response to photons (fig. 3; ¶44, 54); a counter (306) configured to count the number of pulses (fig. 3; ¶44, 54); memory configured (307) to store a count value of the counter (fig. 3; ¶54); and one or more processors executing the instructions to: generate a signal based on the difference between the count value of the counter at the start time and end time of an accumulation period in the photoelectric conversion unit (fig. 22: ¶121-122: due to a reset after each “divided exposure period” (T1-T4), the difference between a count and 0 is the count), control a signal generated during a first accumulation period (T1) so that the signal is output during the period from the end of the first accumulation period (T1) to the end of a second accumulation period (T), wherein the first accumulation period being shorter than the second accumulation period, and wherein in one full-frame period, the first accumulation period and the second accumulation period are included (fig. 24); and set, in a sensor unit including the plurality of pixels, a first pixel region having at least the first accumulation period and the second accumulation period, and a second pixel region having at least the second accumulation period (fig. 2; each region is region 200).
Regarding claim 3, Ikedo discloses the limitations of claim 1. Ikedo also teaches wherein the first accumulation period and the second accumulation period overlap (figs. 22, 24).
Regarding claim 4, Ikedo discloses the limitations of claim 1. Ikedo also teaches wherein the first accumulation period and the second accumulation period start simultaneously (figs. 22, 24).
Regarding claim 5, Ikedo discloses the limitations of claim 1. Ikedo also teaches wherein the end of the second accumulation period coincides with the end of the full frame period (figs. 22, 24).
Regarding claim 8, Ikedo discloses the limitations of claim 1. Ikedo also teaches further comprising a display unit configured to display the signal generated in the second accumulation period as an image (figs. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Ikedo discloses the limitations of claim 1. Ikedo also teaches wherein the sensor unit includes an avalanche photodiode (¶28).
Claims 18 – 19 are rejected as applied to claim 1 above. The method steps as claimed would have been implied by the apparatus of Ikeda.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikedo in view of Horikawa (US 2020/0111215).
Regarding claim 2, Ikedo discloses the limitations of claim 1. Ikedo fails to explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors further execute the instructions to set the first pixel region and the second pixel region based on the image that was read out from the sensor unit.
In a similar field of endeavor, Horikawa teaches an image sensor used for image recognition wherein a first image is taken of the full sensor area (24), then a secondary image is taken of only the region of interest (34) (fig. 4, 10; ¶36, 78-80). In light of the teaching of Horikawa, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Horikawa’s teaching in Ikedo’s system because an artisan of ordinarily skill would recognize that this would result in a system capable of object recognition with high precision.
Regarding claim 14, Ikedo discloses the limitations of claim 1. Ikedo fails to explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors further executing the instructions to set the first pixel region or the second pixel region according to distance information of a subject.
In a similar field of endeavor, Horikawa teaches an image sensor used for image recognition wherein a first image is taken of the full sensor area (24) which includes a distance image 20, then a secondary image is taken of only the region of interest (34) (fig. 4, 10; ¶36, 78-80). In light of the teaching of Horikawa, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Horikawa’s teaching in Ikedo’s system because an artisan of ordinarily skill would recognize that this would result in a system capable of object recognition with high precision.
Claim(s) 6 – 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikedo in view of Kurane (US 2009/0147120).
Regarding claim 6, Ikedo discloses the limitations of claim 1. Ikedo fails to explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors further executing the instructions to recognize a subject based on a signal generated in at least the first accumulation period.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kurane teaches an image sensor used for inspection that includes shape recognition during exposure (¶6-11, 148). In light of the teaching of Kurane, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Kurane’s teaching in Ikedo’s system because an artisan of ordinarily skill would recognize that this would result in a system capable of determining a subject without visual inspection.
Regarding claim 7, Ikedo in view of Kurane discloses the limitations of claim 6. Kurane also teaches wherein the one or more processors further executing the instructions to recognize the subject based on a signal generated in the second accumulation period (¶6-11, 148).
Claim(s) 15 – 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikedo in view of Tsuchiya (US 2018/0316841).
Regarding claim 15, Ikedo discloses the limitations of claim 1. Ikedo fails to explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors further executing the instructions to set the length of at least one of the first accumulation period and the second accumulation period based on luminance information of the signal generated in at least one of the first accumulation period and the second accumulation period.
In a similar field of endeavor, Tsuchiya teaches an image system wherein the image pickup apparatus controller 104 changes the exposure value when an object luminance is changed (¶56). In light of the teaching of Tsuchiya, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Tsuchiya teaching in Ikedo’s system because an artisan of ordinarily skill would recognize that this would result in exposure control in accordance with changes in luminance of an object while suppressing degradation of the quality of a moving image.
Regarding claim 16, Ikedo discloses the limitations of claim 1. Ikedo fails to explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors further executing the instructions to control whether or not to perform predetermined processing in the control unit according to the luminance information of the signal that is generated in at least one of the first accumulation period and the second accumulation period.
In a similar field of endeavor, Tsuchiya teaches an image system wherein the image pickup apparatus controller 104 changes the exposure value when an object luminance is changed (¶56). In light of the teaching of Tsuchiya, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Tsuchiya teaching in Ikedo’s system because an artisan of ordinarily skill would recognize that this would result in exposure control in accordance with changes in luminance of an object while suppressing degradation of the quality of a moving image.
Claim(s) 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikedo in view of Kim (US 2016/0110623).
Regarding claim 17, Ikedo discloses a movable apparatus (fig. 20) comprising: an optical system (fig. 1; 102); a plurality of pixels (201), each provided with: a photoelectric conversion unit (303) configured to generate pulses in response to photons (fig. 3; ¶44, 54); a counter (306) configured to count the number of pulses (fig. 3; ¶44, 54); memory configured (307) to store a count value of the counter (fig. 3; ¶54); and one or more processors executing the instructions to: generate a signal based on the difference between the count value of the counter at the start time and end time of an accumulation period in the photoelectric conversion unit (fig. 22: ¶121-122: due to a reset after each “divided exposure period” (T1-T4), the difference between a count and 0 is the count), control a signal generated during a first accumulation period (T1) so that the signal is output during the period from the end of the first accumulation period (T1) to the end of a second accumulation period (T), wherein the first accumulation period being shorter than the second accumulation period, and wherein in one full-frame period, the first accumulation period and the second accumulation period are included (fig. 24); and set, in a sensor unit including the plurality of pixels, a first pixel region having at least the first accumulation period and the second accumulation period, and a second pixel region having at least the second accumulation period (fig. 2; each region is region 200). Ikedo fails to explicitly disclose control the operation of the movable apparatus; and set the first pixel region or the second pixel region based on the control of the movement.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kim teaches setting a region of interest in a camera of a vehicle wherein when the vehicle is moved, the ROI is reset and adjusted (fig. 9; ¶108-110). In light of the teaching of Kim, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Kim’s teaching in Ikedo’s system because an artisan of ordinarily skill would recognize that this would result in more accurately detecting possible traffic and/or pedestrian abnormal behavior.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Contact
/ANTOINETTE T SPINKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639