DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Re claim 1, line 5 and claim 13, line 5: Please substitute “it” with –the at least one connection end--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "306" and "406" have both been used to designate the central busbar and reference characters "308" and "408" have both been used to designate the at least one connection end (see paragraph 0034 of the specification). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10, 12-16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Robicheau et al. (US 2020/0235498).
Re claim 1: Robicheau teaches a system (10) for connecting one or more cables (702, 704, 706, 708) to a larger cable (700) via central busbar (20, 120), the system comprising a central busbar (20, 120) comprising at least one connection end (100), wherein the central busbar is also connected to the one or more cables, and wherein the at least one connection end (100) is sharp such that the at least one connection end is capable of penetrating the insulation of the larger cable to make an electrical connection between the one or more cables and the larger cable via the central busbar (fig. 8) (see figs. 1-12; paragraphs 0028-0047).
Re claim 2: Wherein the one or more cables are electrically and mechanically connected to the central busbar (fig. 5).
Re claim 3: Wherein the at least one connection end (100) is made of sharp pointy peaks (104d) capable of penetrating the insulation of the larger cable.
Re claim 4: Wherein the at least one connection end (100) is made of an electrically conductive material (paragraph 0031).
Re claim 6: Wherein once the central bus bar is attached to the larger cable, the connection is sealed (paragraph 0032).
Re claim 7: Robicheau teaches a method for providing a system (10) for connecting one or more cables (702, 704, 706, 708) to a larger cable (700) via central busbar (20, 120), the method comprising providing a central busbar with at least one connection end (100), wherein the central busbar is also connected to one or more cables, wherein the at least one connection end is configured to penetrate the insulation of the larger cable to make an electrical connection between the one or more cables and the larger cable via the central busbar (fig. 8) (see figs. 1-12; paragraphs 0028-0047).
Re claim 8: Wherein the method includes electrically and mechanically connecting the one or more cables to the central busbar (fig. 5).
Re claim 9: Wherein the at least one connection end (100) is made of sharp pointy peaks (104d) capable of penetrating the insulation of the larger cable.
Re claim 10: Wherein the at least one connection end is made of an electrically conductive material (paragraph 0031).
Re claim 12: The method further comprising providing automatic sealing for the connection portion once the central bus bar is attached to the larger cable (paragraph 0032).
Re claim 13: Robicheau teaches an insulation piercing electrical connector device (10) for connecting one or more cables (702, 704, 706, 708) to a larger cable (700) via central busbar (20, 120), the device comprising a central busbar (20, 120) that further comprises at least one connection end (100), wherein the central busbar is also connected to the one or more cables, and wherein the at least one connection end is sharp such that the at least one connection end penetrates the insulation of the larger cable to make electrical connection between the one or more cables and the larger cable via the central busbar (fig. 8) (see figs. 1-12; paragraphs 0028-0047).
Re claim 14: Wherein the one or more cables are electrically and mechanically connected to the central busbar (fig. 5).
Re claim 15: Wherein the at least one connection end (100) is made of sharp pointy peaks (104d) capable of penetrating the insulation of the larger cable.
Re claim 16: Wherein the at least one connection end is made of an electrically conductive material (paragraph 0031).
Re claim 18: Wherein once the central bus bar is attached to the larger cable, the connection is sealed (paragraph 0032).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 11, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robicheau in view of Galla et al. (US 2015/0162670).
The teachings of Robicheau have been discussed above.
Although, Robicheau teaches the system having the central busbar use the compressive force is applied to connect the cables, he fails to particularly use clamshell and strap combination.
However, Galla teaches a multi-cable insulating piercing electrical connector (300) comprising a support portion (312) serving as a clamshell and a strap (376) to secure cables (see figs. 8-12; paragraphs 0096-0103).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Galla to the teachings of Robicheau in order to secure electrical connection between cables.
Conclusion
/SEUNG H LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876