DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the Applicant’s amendment and remarks filed on August 25, 2026. As set forth therein, claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 14, 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
The Examiner acknowledges the Applicant’s comments regarding whether Si (CN NO 11649148) qualifies as prior art. The Examiner notes that Si has a filing date of February 14, 2022, however, the Applicant noted that Si is only prior art as of its publication date (July 11, 2023) since it is a foreign patent. In addition, the Applicant states that Si does not disclose the first preset condition teaches preconfigured MG confirmation information being configured or a measurement requirement associated with an MG or that the measurement required being satisfied.
The Examiner notes that the Applicant’s arguments are based on the claim as amended which currently recites “wherein the first condition is that preconfigured measurement information that comprises measurement gap (MG) configuration information is configured and that at least one set of measurement information in the preconfigured measurement information satisfies a measurement requirement associated with an MG”.
The Examiner notes that the previous claim set recited “wherein the first condition is that preconfigured measurement information is configured and that at least one set of measurement information in the preconfigured measurement information satisfies a measurement requirement”. The previous claim set further stated “wherein the measurement information comprises measurement gap (MG) configuration information”.
Thus, the Examiner finds that the claim scope has changed since the claims, as currently amended, specifically requires that the first condition satisfies a measurement required associated with an MG. The previous claim set, although including measurement gap configuration information did not require any satisfied condition with respect to the measurement gap.
Therefore, since the claim scope has changed, the Examiner finds that the Applicant’s arguments over the previous relied upon references are moot. A new ground of rejection, based on the claims as amended will be set forth below.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 8, “associated an MG” should be change to “associated with an MG” in order to correct a grammatical issue and to provide consistency with respect to the substantially the same language as recited in claims 1 and 13.
The Examiner notes that claims 1 and 13 do not recite “that is” prior to “associated an MG” that is recited in claim 8. Thus, the Applicant should determine whether any additional change in the claim is warranted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 8-10, 12, 13, 16-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazmi et al. US Patent Pub. 2024/0098540 in view of Si WO 2020/221042.
Regarding claim 1:
A communication method, comprising:
Kazmi is directed to a system and method for activation and/or deactivation of preconfigured measurement gaps and for performing measurements in a cellular communication system. See the abstract and paragraph [0002].
determining that a first condition and a third condition are satisfied,
Kazmi discloses in paragraphs [0019] and [0045] of determining a set of one or more conditions is satisfied. See paragraph [0022] – [0024] and [0026] which discloses several conditions and the determination of whether the conditions are satisfied. See also paragraphs [0034-0035] and [0039] – [0041] which discloses a second set of one or more conditions. Paragraph [0046] also discloses a third set of one or more conditions.
As explained therein, the first set of one or more conditions is for determining a pre-configured measurement gap pattern is satisfied. In addition, the first set of one or more conditions includes a condition that one or more reference signals used for measurements are not fully within a bandwidth of an active bandwidth part of the UE. In addition, the one or more conditions may also include a condition that the UE is switched from non-dormant to dormant bandwidth part.
wherein the first condition is that preconfigured measurement information that comprises measurement gap (MG) configuration information is configured and that at least one set of measurement information in the preconfigured measurement information satisfies a measurement requirement associated with an MG; and
As explained in paragraph [0019], Kazmi discloses “determining that a first set of one or more conditions for using a pre-configured measurement gap pattern is satisfied”. Kazmi further discloses “the UE is enabled to activate a preconfigured measurement gap pattern in response to the first set of one or more conditions for using the pre-configured measurement gap pattern being satisfied.”
As explained in paragraph [0010], a measurement gap pattern (MGP) is used by the UE for performing measurements on cells of the serving carriers and non-serving carriers (e.g., inter-frequency carrier, inter-Radio Access Technology (RAT) carriers, etc.). In NR, measurement gaps are used for measurements on cells of the serving carrier in some scenarios, e.g., if the measured signals (e.g., SSB, CSI-RS, PRS, etc.) are not fully within the active bandwidth part (BWP) of the serving cell. In addition, a MGP is characterized or defined by several parameters: measurement gap length (MGL), measurement gap repetition period (MGRP), and measurement gap time offset with respect to a reference time (e.g., slot offset with respect to the serving cell's System Frame Number (SFN) such as SFN=0). MGRP is also referred to as a measurement gap periodicity. See also paragraphs [0031]-[0032].
the third condition is that measurement information of a positioning reference signal is not configured, or measurement information of a positioning reference signal does not satisfy the measurement requirement,
As explained in paragraph [0022], Kazmi discloses the set of one or more conditions comprises a condition that one or more reference signals used for the measurements are not fully within a bandwidth of an active bandwidth part of the UE. Kazmi discloses in paragraph [0139] that the UE 312 is triggered to perform one or more positioning measurements (e.g., RSTD, PRS-RSRP, UE Rx-Tx time difference etc.). As explained in paragraph [0010], in NR, measurement gaps are used for measurements on cells of the serving carrier in some scenarios, e.g., if the measured signals (e.g., SSB, CSI-RS, PRS, etc.) are not fully within the active bandwidth part (BWP) of the serving cell.
Thus, the Examiner finds that Kazmi discloses that a third condition shows that the positioning reference signal (PRS) is not fully configured.
The Examiner notes that as set forth in this limitation, the third condition must be satisfied, and the satisfaction of the third condition is based on measurement information of a positioning reference signal is not configured or measurement information of a positioning reference signal does not satisfy the measurement requirement”.
Thus, to the extent Kazmi does not disclose both the satisfaction and the non-satisfaction of the measurement requiring with respect to the third condition, the Examiner finds that Si discloses a PRS resource allocation method, a measurement gap configuration method, and related device (see the Abstract). Si also discloses that satisfaction of a condition may be based on the terminal not meeting the measurement accuracy requirements. See pages 11-12 (“the satisfaction of the first condition may refer to at least one of the following….The bandwidth of part of the resources of the PRS resource in the activated BWP of the terminal cannot meet the measurement accuracy requirement”).
Thus, Si discloses that it was known to satisfy a measuring condition based on not meeting a measurement requirement. See also page 19.
Si further discloses when the terminal needs to transmit the first signaling to assist the network device in configuring the measurement gaps for measuring the PRS, the terminal may be controlled to transmit the first signaling (see page 11, “when the terminal is required to send the first signaling to assist the network device in configuring the measurement interval for measuring the PRS, the terminal may be controlled to send the first signaling”). This signaling is used to indicate to the network side the measurement gap configuration that the terminal expects to use for performing measurements (see page 15). According to the signaling of the terminal, the network side configures the corresponding measurement gaps through RRC signaling. See page 9 (step 301).
Si discloses that the terminal transmits a request to the network side when the measurement information of the positioning reference signals does not satisfy the measurement requirements, requesting transmission of the measurement configuration satisfying the desired measurement gaps. See page 17 (first paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a satisfaction of a condition based on non-satisfaction and to transmit a request to activate the pre-configured measurement information to better perform the PRS measurement to the network side when the terminal determines that the PRS measurement information does not reach measurement accuracy and the terminal determines that the pre-configured MG can meet the need for PRS measurement in the UE according to actual measurement needs.
sending a first request message, wherein the first request message is for requesting to activate the at least one set of measurement information in the preconfigured measurement information.
As set forth in paragraph [0019], Kazmi discloses the UE is enabled to activate a preconfigured measurement gap pattern in response to the first set of one or more conditions for using the pre-configured measurement gap pattern being satisfied. See also paragraphs [0082] and [0134]. See also paragraph [0025] which discloses “the reference time, T0, is a time at which the UE received a request to perform the measurement, a time at which the UE informed a network node that the UE will use the pre-configured measurement gap pattern, or a time at which the UE receives a message from a network node that indicates that the UE is permitted to use the pre-configured measurement gap pattern.”
Regarding claim 4:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the first request message is sent via media access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling.
As set forth in paragraph [0005], “[e]xamples of such a command or message are DL control information (DCI) sent on PDCCH, Radio Resource Control (RRC) message, Medium Access Control (MAC) command, etc.” As set forth therein, Kazmi discloses that messages are received from the base station via MAC signaling.
Regarding claim 5:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: determining that the third condition is satisfied but the first condition is not satisfied; and
Si discloses a PRS resource allocation method, a measurement gap configuration method, and related device (see the Abstract). Si also discloses that satisfaction of a condition may be based on the terminal not meeting the measurement accuracy requirements. See pages 11-12 (“the satisfaction of the first condition may refer to at least one of the following….The bandwidth of part of the resources of the PRS resource in the activated BWP of the terminal cannot meet the measurement accuracy requirement”).
As set forth above with respect to Si it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have a condition be satisfied based on non-satisfaction of a measurement condition. Thus, Kazami in view of Si discloses that a third condition is satisfied but the first condition is not satisfied.
sending a second request message, wherein the second request message is for requesting the measurement information of the positioning reference signal.
As set forth in paragraph [0142], Kazami discloses the “UE 312 may be triggered to perform positioning measurements based on internal request or based on assistance information (e.g., via LPP received from positioning node (e.g., LMF etc.) or via RRC received from a serving node.”
Regarding claim 6:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprising: determining that a fourth condition is satisfied, wherein the fourth condition is that positioning measurement ends; and sending a third request message, wherein the third request message is for requesting to deactivate at least one set of measurement information in activated measurement information.
As set forth in paragraph [0245], Kazmi discloses that a second set of one or more conditions for stopping use of a pre-configured MGP is satisfied. See also paragraph [0082] which discloses that the measurement can be deactivated based on fulfilling one or more conditions.
Regarding claim 8:
A communication method, comprising:
Kazmi is directed to a system and method for activation and/or deactivation of preconfigured measurement gaps and for performing measurements in a cellular communication system. See the abstract and paragraph [0002].
receiving a first request message, wherein the first request message is used by a terminal device to request, in response to determining that a first condition and a third condition are satisfied, to activate at least one set of measurement information in preconfigured measurement information, and
Kazmi discloses in paragraphs [0019] and [0045] of determining a set of one or more conditions is satisfied. See paragraph [0022] – [0024] and [0026] which discloses several conditions and the determination of whether the conditions are satisfied. See also paragraphs [0034-0035] and [0039] – [0041] which discloses a second set of one or more conditions. Paragraph [0046] also discloses a third set of one or more conditions.
As explained therein, the first set of one or more conditions is for determining a pre-configured measurement gap pattern is satisfied. In addition, the first set of one or more conditions includes a condition that one or more reference signals used for measurements are not fully within a bandwidth of an active bandwidth part of the UE. In addition, the one or more conditions may also include a condition that the UE is switched from non-dormant to dormant bandwidth part.
As also set forth in paragraph [0019], the UE is enabled to activate a preconfigured measurement gap pattern in response to the first set of one or more conditions for using the pre-configured measurement gap pattern being satisfied.
the measurement information is measurement information of a positioning reference signal, wherein the first condition is that the preconfigured measurement information that comprises measurement gap (MG) configuration information is configured for the terminal device and that the at least one set of measurement information in the preconfigured measurement information satisfies a measurement requirement that is associated an MG and of the terminal device; and
As explained in paragraph [0019], Kazmi discloses “determining that a first set of one or more conditions for using a pre-configured measurement gap pattern is satisfied”. Kazmi further discloses “the UE is enabled to activate a preconfigured measurement gap pattern in response to the first set of one or more conditions for using the pre-configured measurement gap pattern being satisfied.”
As explained in paragraph [0010], A measurement gap pattern (MGP) is used by the UE for performing measurements on cells of the serving carriers and non-serving carriers (e.g., inter-frequency carrier, inter-Radio Access Technology (RAT) carriers, etc.). In NR, measurement gaps are used for measurements on cells of the serving carrier in some scenarios, e.g., if the measured signals (e.g., SSB, CSI-RS, PRS, etc.) are not fully within the active bandwidth part (BWP) of the serving cell. In addition, a MGP is characterized or defined by several parameters: measurement gap length (MGL), measurement gap repetition period (MGRP), and measurement gap time offset with respect to a reference time (e.g., slot offset with respect to the serving cell's System Frame Number (SFN) such as SFN=0). MGRP is also referred to as a measurement gap periodicity. See also paragraphs [0031]-[0032].
the third condition is that the measurement information of the positioning reference signal is not configured for the terminal device or the measurement information of the positioning reference signal does not satisfy the measurement requirement of the terminal device; and
As explained in paragraph [0022], Kazmi discloses the set of one or more conditions comprises a condition that one or more reference signals used for the measurements are not fully within a bandwidth of an active bandwidth part of the UE. Kazmi discloses in paragraph [0139] that the UE 312 is triggered to perform one or more positioning measurements (e.g., RSTD, PRS-RSRP, UE Rx-Tx time difference etc.). As explained in paragraph [0010], in NR, measurement gaps are used for measurements on cells of the serving carrier in some scenarios, e.g., if the measured signals (e.g., SSB, CSI-RS, PRS, etc.) are not fully within the active bandwidth part (BWP) of the serving cell.
Thus, the Examiner finds that Kazmi discloses that a third condition shows that the positioning reference signal (PRS) is not fully configured.
The Examiner notes that as set forth in this limitation, the third condition must be satisfied, and the satisfaction of the third condition is based on measurement information of a positioning reference signal is not configured or measurement information of a positioning reference signal does not satisfy the measurement requirement”.
Thus, to the extent Kazmi does not disclose both the satisfaction and the non-satisfaction of the measurement requiring with respect to the third condition, the Examiner finds that Si discloses a PRS resource allocation method, a measurement gap configuration method, and related device (see the Abstract). Si also discloses that satisfaction of a condition may be based on the terminal not meeting the measurement accuracy requirements. See pages 11-12 (“the satisfaction of the first condition may refer to at least one of the following….The bandwidth of part of the resources of the PRS resource in the activated BWP of the terminal cannot meet the measurement accuracy requirement”).
Thus, Si discloses that it was known to satisfy a measuring condition based on not meeting a measurement requirement. See also page 19.
Si further discloses when the terminal needs to transmit the first signaling to assist the network device in configuring the measurement gaps for measuring the PRS, the terminal may be controlled to transmit the first signaling (see page 11, “when the terminal is required to send the first signaling to assist the network device in configuring the measurement interval for measuring the PRS, the terminal may be controlled to send the first signaling”). This signaling is used to indicate to the network side the measurement gap configuration that the terminal expects to use for performing measurements (see page 15). According to the signaling of the terminal, the network side configures the corresponding measurement gaps through RRC signaling. See page 9 (step 301).
Si discloses that the terminal transmits a request to the network side when the measurement information of the positioning reference signals does not satisfy the measurement requirements, requesting transmission of the measurement configuration satisfying the desired measurement gaps. See page 17 (first paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a satisfaction of a condition based on non-satisfaction and to transmit a request to activate the pre-configured measurement information to better perform the PRS measurement to the network side when the terminal determines that the PRS measurement information does not reach measurement accuracy and the terminal determines that the pre-configured MG can meet the need for PRS measurement in the UE according to actual measurement needs.
sending a response message for the first request message.
As set forth in paragraph [0019], Kazmi discloses the UE is enabled to activate a preconfigured measurement gap pattern in response to the first set of one or more conditions for using the pre-configured measurement gap pattern being satisfied. See also paragraphs [0082] and [0134]. See also paragraph [0025] which discloses “the reference time, T0, is a time at which the UE received a request to perform the measurement, a time at which the UE informed a network node that the UE will use the pre-configured measurement gap pattern, or a time at which the UE receives a message from a network node that indicates that the UE is permitted to use the pre-configured measurement gap pattern.”
Regarding claim 9:
The method according to claim 8, wherein the method further comprises: receiving a second request message, wherein the second request message is used by the terminal device to request the measurement information of the positioning reference signal in response to determining that the third condition is satisfied but the first condition is not satisfied.
As set forth in paragraph [0142], Kazami discloses the “UE 312 may be triggered to perform positioning measurements based on internal request or based on assistance information (e.g., via LPP received from positioning node (e.g., LMF etc.) or via RRC received from a serving node.”
As set forth above with respect to Si it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have a condition be satisfied based on non-satisfaction of a measurement condition. Thus, Kazami in view of Si discloses that a third condition is satisfied but the first condition is not satisfied.
Regarding claim 10:
The method according to claim 8, wherein the method further comprises: receiving a third request message, wherein the third request message is used by the terminal device to request, in response to determining that a fourth condition is satisfied, to deactivate at least one set of measurement information in activated measurement information, and the fourth condition is that positioning measurement ends.
As set forth in paragraph [0245], Kazmi discloses that a second set of one or more conditions for stopping use of a pre-configured MGP is satisfied. See also paragraph [0082] which discloses that the measurement can be deactivated based on fulfilling one or more conditions.
Regarding claim 12:
The method according to claim 8, wherein the first request message is received via media access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling.
As set forth in paragraph [0005], “[e]xamples of such a command or message are DL control information (DCI) sent on PDCCH, Radio Resource Control (RRC) message, Medium Access Control (MAC) command, etc.” As set forth therein, Kazmi discloses that messages are received from the base station via MAC signaling.
Regarding claim 13.
A communication apparatus, comprising:
Kazmi is directed to a system and method for activation and/or deactivation of preconfigured measurement gaps and for performing measurements in a cellular communication system. See the abstract and paragraph [0002].
one or more processors and one or more memories coupled to the one or more processors, wherein the one or more memories store programming instructions for execution by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to:
As set forth in paragraph [0045], Kazmi discloses processor circuitry which is configured to determine a set of one or more conditions are satisfied. See also paragraph [00266] which discloses “a computer program including instructions which, when executed by at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to carry out the functionality of the UE 312 according to any of the embodiments described herein is provided.”
determine that a first condition and a third condition are satisfied,
Kazmi discloses in paragraphs [0019] and [0045] of determining a set of one or more conditions is satisfied. See paragraph [0022] – [0024] and [0026] which discloses several conditions and the determination of whether the conditions are satisfied. See also paragraphs [0034-0035] and [0039] – [0041] which discloses a second set of one or more conditions. Paragraph [0046] also discloses a third set of one or more conditions.
As explained therein, the first set of one or more conditions is for determining a pre-configured measurement gap pattern is satisfied. In addition, the first set of one or more conditions includes a condition that one or more reference signals used for measurements are not fully within a bandwidth of an active bandwidth part of the UE. In addition, the one or more conditions may also include a condition that the UE is switched from non-dormant to dormant bandwidth part.
wherein the first condition is that preconfigured measurement information that comprises measurement gap (MG) configuration information is configured and that at least one set of measurement information in the preconfigured measurement information satisfies a measurement requirement associated with an MG; and
As explained in paragraph [0019], Kazmi discloses “determining that a first set of one or more conditions for using a pre-configured measurement gap pattern is satisfied”. Kazmi further discloses “the UE is enabled to activate a preconfigured measurement gap pattern in response to the first set of one or more conditions for using the pre-configured measurement gap pattern being satisfied.”
As explained in paragraph [0010], A measurement gap pattern (MGP) is used by the UE for performing measurements on cells of the serving carriers and non-serving carriers (e.g., inter-frequency carrier, inter-Radio Access Technology (RAT) carriers, etc.). In NR, measurement gaps are used for measurements on cells of the serving carrier in some scenarios, e.g., if the measured signals (e.g., SSB, CSI-RS, PRS, etc.) are not fully within the active bandwidth part (BWP) of the serving cell. In addition, a MGP is characterized or defined by several parameters: measurement gap length (MGL), measurement gap repetition period (MGRP), and measurement gap time offset with respect to a reference time (e.g., slot offset with respect to the serving cell's System Frame Number (SFN) such as SFN=0). MGRP is also referred to as a measurement gap periodicity. See also paragraphs[0031]-[0032].
the third condition is that measurement information of a positioning reference signal is not configured or measurement information of a positioning reference signal does not satisfy the measurement requirement,
As explained in paragraph [0022], Kazmi discloses the set of one or more conditions comprises a condition that one or more reference signals used for the measurements are not fully within a bandwidth of an active bandwidth part of the UE. Kazmi discloses in paragraph [0139] that the UE 312 is triggered to perform one or more positioning measurements (e.g., RSTD, PRS-RSRP, UE Rx-Tx time difference etc.). As explained in paragraph [0010], in NR, measurement gaps are used for measurements on cells of the serving carrier in some scenarios, e.g., if the measured signals (e.g., SSB, CSI-RS, PRS, etc.) are not fully within the active bandwidth part (BWP) of the serving cell.
Thus, the Examiner finds that Kazmi discloses that a third condition shows that the positioning reference signal (PRS) is not fully configured.
The Examiner notes that as set forth in this limitation, the third condition must be satisfied, and the satisfaction of the third condition is based on measurement information of a positioning reference signal is not configured or measurement information of a positioning reference signal does not satisfy the measurement requirement”.
Thus, to the extent Kazmi does not disclose both the satisfaction and the non-satisfaction of the measurement requiring with respect to the third condition, the Examiner finds that Si discloses a PRS resource allocation method, a measurement gap configuration method, and related device (see the Abstract). Si also discloses that satisfaction of a condition may be based on the terminal not meeting the measurement accuracy requirements. See pages 11-12 (“the satisfaction of the first condition may refer to at least one of the following….The bandwidth of part of the resources of the PRS resource in the activated BWP of the terminal cannot meet the measurement accuracy requirement”).
Thus, Si discloses that it was known to satisfy a measuring condition based on not meeting a measurement requirement. See also page 19.
Si further discloses when the terminal needs to transmit the first signaling to assist the network device in configuring the measurement gaps for measuring the PRS, the terminal may be controlled to transmit the first signaling (see page 11, “when the terminal is required to send the first signaling to assist the network device in configuring the measurement interval for measuring the PRS, the terminal may be controlled to send the first signaling”). This signaling is used to indicate to the network side the measurement gap configuration that the terminal expects to use for performing measurements (see page 15). According to the signaling of the terminal, the network side configures the corresponding measurement gaps through RRC signaling. See page 9 (step 301).
Si discloses that the terminal transmits a request to the network side when the measurement information of the positioning reference signals does not satisfy the measurement requirements, requesting transmission of the measurement configuration satisfying the desired measurement gaps. See page 17 (first paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a satisfaction of a condition based on non-satisfaction and to transmit a request to activate the pre-configured measurement information to better perform the PRS measurement to the network side when the terminal determines that the PRS measurement information does not reach measurement accuracy and the terminal determines that the pre-configured MG can meet the need for PRS measurement in the UE according to actual measurement needs.
send a first request message, wherein the first request message is for requesting to activate the at least one set of measurement information in the preconfigured measurement information.
As set forth in paragraph [0019], Kazmi discloses the UE is enabled to activate a preconfigured measurement gap pattern in response to the first set of one or more conditions for using the pre-configured measurement gap pattern being satisfied. See also paragraphs [0082] and [0134]. See also paragraph [0025] which discloses “the reference time, T0, is a time at which the UE received a request to perform the measurement, a time at which the UE informed a network node that the UE will use the pre-configured measurement gap pattern, or a time at which the UE receives a message from a network node that indicates that the UE is permitted to use the pre-configured measurement gap pattern.”
Regarding claim 16:
The apparatus according to claim 13, wherein first request message is sent via media access control (MAC) control element (CE) signaling.
As set forth in paragraph [0005], “[e]xamples of such a command or message are DL control information (DCI) sent on PDCCH, Radio Resource Control (RRC) message, Medium Access Control (MAC) command, etc.” As set forth therein, Kazmi discloses that messages are received from the base station via MAC signaling.
Regarding claim 17:
The apparatus according to claim 13, wherein programming instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to: determine that the third condition is satisfied but the first condition is not satisfied; and send a second request message, wherein the second request message is for requesting the measurement information of the positioning reference signal.
As set forth in page 10, Si discloses “if the reception time difference between the non-serving cell PRS and the serving cell PRS in any PFL corresponding to the UE does not satisfy the first preset condition, the UE determines that all PRS processing windows corresponding to the UE are non-activated.” In addition, as set forth in page 31, Si discloses “in the PFL corresponding to at least one PRS processing window, the receiving time difference of the non-service cell PRS and the service cell PRS satisfies the second preset condition.” Thus, Si discloses that the third condition (second preset condition) is satisfied and the first condition (first preset condition) is not satisfied.
See page 7 which discloses,” Step 2, the LMF sends a location measurement request message to the UE, so that the UE can receive the location measurement request message. Step 3: after receiving the location measurement request message, the UE may request the serving gNB to measure the PRS in the MG through the MG request message.”
As set forth above with respect to Si it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have a condition be satisfied based on non-satisfaction of a measurement condition.
Regarding claim 18:
The apparatus according to claim 13, wherein programming instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to: determine that a fourth condition is satisfied, wherein the fourth condition is that positioning measurement ends; and send a third request message, wherein the third request message is for requesting to deactivate at least one set of measurement information in activated measurement information.
As explained in page 25, “the first network side device may activate or deactivate the PRS processing window based on the activation condition or the MG indication information”. As set forth in page 13, “in the embodiment of the present application, the first preset duration, the second preset
duration, the third preset”. Thus, there is a duration for each preset which includes when measurement will end.
Si explains that “the valid time length of the configuration information or (or valid time timer)
is T1, after the UE receives the configuration information, the configuration information is valid within
the duration T1, and the configuration information is no longer valid after the duration T1 is exceeded”. As further set forth in page 26, “the T1 duration may also be used to change the activation state of the PRS processing window from the activation state to the non-activation state. For example, when the activation state of the group of PRS processing windows is pre-configured to change from the activation state to the non-activation state, the timing starts, and if the group of PRS processing windows is still not activated within the T1 time period, the UE assumes that the (pre-) configuration information of the group of PRS processing windows is invalid after the T1 time period.”
Regarding claim 20:
The apparatus according to claim 14, wherein a priority of performing positioning measurement based on the MG configuration information is higher than a priority of performing positioning measurement based on the PPW configuration information.
Kazmi does not specifically disclose of priority of performing positioning measurement based on either MG configuration or PPW configuration.
Nonetheless, Kumar discloses that it was known to apply predefined prioritization rules to prioritize measurements. See paragraphs [0095]-[0096]. As set forth therein, the rule allows the UE to skip measurements specific subsets. See also paragraph [0118].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prioritize certain configurations as disclosed by Kumar. Kumar in paragraph [0099] discloses that prioritization of performing measurements would help when the UE does not have the capability to process all measurements and allows the UE to skip certain measurements. See also paragraph [0100]-[0101]
Claim(s) 2, 3, 11, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazmi in view of Si and further in view of Kumar US Patent Pub. 2023/0132286.
Regarding claim 2:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: performing positioning measurement based on the MG configuration information, and skipping performing positioning measurement based on positioning reference signal processing window (PPW) configuration information.
Kazmi discloses “[m]easurement gaps may also be configured/applicable for a specific purpose, e.g., RRM measurements, positioning measurements, RLM, beam management, etc.” See paragraph [0010]. See also paragraph [0139] which discloses the UE 312 is triggered to perform one or more positioning measurements (e.g., RSTD, PRS-RSRP, UE Rx-Tx time difference etc.) and the UE 312 may be triggered to perform positioning measurements based on internal request or based on assistance information (e.g., via LPP received from positioning node (e.g., LMF etc.) or via RRC received from a serving node.
Kazmi does not specifically disclose skipping performing positing measurement based on PPW configuration information.
Kumar discloses in paragraph [0105], “If a measurement gap for PRS measurements is configured for a UE, a UE DL PRS processing capability may be defined for the UE.” In addition, Kumar discloses “different UEs may be configured with their own PRS processing window (or simply “processing window”), or PRS processing gap (or simply “processing gap”), for processing the PRS measured in the first three slots of the frame (e.g., determine the ToA of the PRS and/or calculate the Rx-Tx time difference measurement, etc.).” See paragraphs [0110] and [0113]. See also paragraphs [0095] and [0098] in which the UE may skip measurements.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to skip performing positioning measurement based on positioning reference signal processing window (PPW) configuration information. As explained by Kumar, the UE may, based on specific conditions, skip measuring PRS resources either based on priority rules or its capability to process/measure PRS. Kumar explains that this allows the UE to prioritize or skip measurements based on its capability to process the PRSs within the allocated time periods.
Regarding claim 3:
The method according to claim 2, wherein the measurement information comprises the MG configuration information and the PPW configuration information.
Kumar, as set forth in paragraph [0114] explains that both the processing window and the measurement window (“measurement gap”) are configured. As set forth above, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include a PRS processing window configuration information.
Regarding claim 11:
The method according to claim 8, wherein the measurement information comprises the MG configuration information and positioning reference signal processing window (PPW) configuration information.
Kumar, as set forth in paragraph [0114] explains that both the processing window and the measurement window (“measurement gap”) are configured. As set forth above, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include a PRS processing window configuration information.
Regarding claim 14:
The apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the programming instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to perform positioning measurement based on the MG configuration information, and not perform positioning measurement based on positioning reference signal processing window (PPW) configuration information.
Kazmi discloses “[m]easurement gaps may also be configured/applicable for a specific purpose, e.g., RRM measurements, positioning measurements, RLM, beam management, etc.” See paragraph [0010]. See also paragraph [0139] which discloses the UE 312 is triggered to perform one or more positioning measurements (e.g., RSTD, PRS-RSRP, UE Rx-Tx time difference etc.) and the UE 312 may be triggered to perform positioning measurements based on internal request or based on assistance information (e.g., via LPP received from positioning node (e.g., LMF etc.) or via RRC received from a serving node.
Kazmi does not specifically disclose not performing positioning measurement based on PPW configuration information.
Kumar discloses in paragraph [0105], “If a measurement gap for PRS measurements is configured for a UE, a UE DL PRS processing capability may be defined for the UE.” In addition, Kumar discloses “different UEs may be configured with their own PRS processing window (or simply “processing window”), or PRS processing gap (or simply “processing gap”), for processing the PRS measured in the first three slots of the frame (e.g., determine the ToA of the PRS and/or calculate the Rx-Tx time difference measurement, etc.).” See paragraphs [0110] and [0113]. See also paragraphs [0095] and [0098] in which the UE may skip measurements.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to skip performing positioning measurement based on positioning reference signal processing window (PPW) configuration information. As explained by Kumar, the UE may, based on specific conditions, skip measuring PRS resources either based on priority rules or its capability to process/measure PRS. Kumar explains that this allows the UE to prioritize or skip measurements based on its capability to process the PRSs within the allocated time periods.
Regarding claim 15:
The apparatus according to claim 14, wherein the measurement information comprises the MG configuration information and the PPW configuration information.
Kumar, as set forth in paragraph [0114] explains that both the processing window and the measurement window (“measurement gap”) are configured. As set forth above, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include a PRS processing window configuration information.
Claim(s) 7 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazmi in view of Si and further in view of Huang US Patent Pub. 2012/0077509.
Regarding claim 7:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprising: sending a failure message in response to determining that a response message is not received within preset duration.
Kazimi does not specifically disclose of sending a failure message in response to determining that a response message is not received within a preset duration.
Nonetheless, Huang discloses of a wireless communication network in which if a response message is failed to be recveid within a set time period, a failure message is transmitted. See paragraphs [0094], [0122] and [0126].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to send a failure message in response to determining that a response message is not received within a present duration. As explained by Huang, the failure message causes further processes to be performed. See Figure 7 and paragraphs [0094]-[0096]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to send a failure message in order for the system to address the failure.
Regarding claim 19:
The apparatus according to claim 13, wherein programming instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further cause the apparatus to: send a failure message in response to determining that a response message is not received within preset duration.
Kazimi does not specifically disclose of sending a failure message in response to determining that a response message is not received within a preset duration.
Nonetheless, Huang discloses of a wireless communication network in which if a response message is failed to be recveid within a set time period, a failure message is transmitted. See paragraphs [0094], [0122] and [0126].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventio not send a failure message in response to determining that a response message is not received within a present duration. As explained by Huang, the failure message causes further processes to be performed. See Figure 7 and paragraphs [0094]-[0096]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to send a failure message in order for the system to address the failure.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Ovidio Escalante/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992