Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-10 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 11-12, 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olson (US 2008/0054084 A1) in view of Gillette (US 2019/0353368 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Olson teaches an air conditioning system comprising an air conditioner in the form of temperature-conditioning unit 10, such as a packaged terminal air conditioner (PTAC), which includes a blower and heat exchanger for heating, cooling, and/or ventilating a conditioned space (paras 0004–0006, 0036; Fig. 1).
Olson teaches an accessory device driven by power supplied from the air conditioner in the form of remote thermostat 24 and its controller 22. Olson explains that electrical power supplied to temperature-conditioning unit 10 is conveyed from the unit over wires 30 to energize thermostat 24 and controller 22 (paras 0023–0024, 0036, 0039). In particular, Olson states that “wires 30 convey some of that electrical power to energize thermostat 24 and its controller 22.”
Olson teaches a power supply wiring that supplies power from the air conditioner to the accessory device in the form of the pair of wires 30a and 30b extending between controller 20 of temperature-conditioning unit 10 and controller 22 of thermostat 24. The same pair of wires conveys DC electrical power and communication signals between the temperature-conditioning unit and thermostat (paras 0036, 0039–0040; Fig. 2).
Olson teaches first communication circuitry that changes a current flowing through the power supply wiring and performs current loop communication between the air conditioner and the accessory device. Olson expressly teaches that control system 18 “employs a current loop circuit” for communication between controllers 20 and 22 (para 0041). Olson further teaches current source circuit 60, current interrupter 62, and signal converter 64, wherein current interrupter 62 responds to an output signal from microprocessor 56 to “controllably interrupt the current through wires 30,” thereby transmitting data from the temperature-conditioning unit to the thermostat (paras 0042–0043). The thermostat likewise includes current interrupter 76 for interrupting current in wires 30 to communicate feedback to the temperature-conditioning unit (paras 0044–0047).
Olson further teaches controller circuitry that controls the first communication circuitry in the form of first controller 20 including microprocessor 56 and second controller 22 including microprocessor 58. Microprocessor 56 determines the applicable operating mode and provides the output signal controlling current interrupter 62, while microprocessor 58 controls the corresponding thermostat-side communication circuitry (paras 0041–0044).
Olson, however, does not teach second communication circuitry that superimposes a voltage signal on the power supply wiring and performs communication between the air conditioner and the accessory device, or controller circuitry controlling such second communication circuitry.
Gillette teaches this missing limitation.
Gillette teaches an HVAC system in which HVAC devices, including an interface device such as a thermostat, are electrically coupled to power lines and communicate using power-line communication. Gillette teaches a zone control panel including microcontroller 110 and modulator/demodulator circuitry 116 for communicating with devices over the power lines (paras 0053–0058; Fig. 7). Gillette further teaches that electrical power is routed to interface devices 102, such as a zone thermostat or sensor, over the same power lines used for communication (para 0058).
Gillette specifically teaches second communication circuitry that superimposes a voltage signal on the power supply wiring and performs communication between the air conditioner and the accessory device. Gillette teaches that modulator/demodulator circuitry 116 communicates over power lines 106 while the lines are simultaneously conducting AC electrical power. The circuitry modifies the frequency and/or amplitude of a data signal and “superimpose[s] the data signal” onto the high-voltage AC power, after which a transmitter or transceiver transmits the signal over power lines 106A and/or 106B (paras 0060–0061). Gillette further teaches that an interface device 102, such as a thermostat, includes corresponding modulator/demodulator circuitry and transmits a modulated data signal superimposed on the AC power over the power line (paras 0063–0065).
Gillette also teaches controller circuitry that controls the second communication circuitry, because microcontroller 110 controls modulator/demodulator circuitry 116 to generate and communicate the superimposed data signal over the power wiring (paras 0055, 0062–0065; Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Olson’s HVAC system to additionally include the power-line modulation communication circuitry taught by Gillette, such that Olson’s controller controls both its current-loop communication circuitry and a second communication circuit that superimposes a voltage/data signal on the power-supply wiring. Gillette expressly teaches that power-line communication enables devices to be both electrically and communicatively coupled over existing power wiring, thereby reducing the need for dedicated communication buses and simplifying integration of HVAC devices. Thus, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to incorporate Gillette’s power-line communication technique into Olson’s powered thermostat connection to provide an additional communication technique over the already-existing power conductors without requiring additional communication wiring, while retaining Olson’s current-loop communication capability. Such a combination would have amounted to the predictable use of known HVAC communication techniques according to their established functions.
Regarding claim 2, Olson further teaches wherein the first communication circuitry is configured to turn on and off the current flowing through the power supply wiring to implement the current loop communication.
Olson expressly teaches that the control system employs a current-loop circuit for communication between the temperature-conditioning unit and the remote thermostat (para 0041). Olson further teaches current interrupter 62, which responds to output signal 28 from microprocessor 56 to “controllably interrupt the current through wires 30,” thereby transmitting data over the same pair of wires used to supply power to the thermostat (paras 0042–0043).
Olson also teaches that the communication is implemented by changing the current between two levels. Specifically, the “start” and “0” bits are represented by current generally less than 7 mA, while the “stop” and “1” bits are represented by current generally greater than 7 mA (para 0043). On the thermostat side, current interrupter 76 similarly interrupts the current in wires 30 to communicate feedback to the temperature-conditioning unit (para 0046).
Further, Olson’s Fig. 3 and para 0049 show multiple switching transistors operating in binary ON/OFF states in response to the communication pulses, further evidencing that the current-loop communication is implemented by selectively switching the communication current.
Regarding claim 11, Gillette teaches the air conditioning system of claim 1. Olson further teaches wherein the power supply wiring is a nonpolarized wiring. Olson expressly teaches using “a polarity independent pair of wires” for providing electrical power and two-way communication between a remote thermostat and a PTAC or other temperature-conditioning unit (paras 0011, 0018). Olson further explains that wires 30a and 30b may be crossed without affecting the conveyance of communication signals or electrical power, thereby allowing the two wires to be connected interchangeably between the corresponding terminals (para 0040). Olson additionally teaches that second controller 22 includes full-wave bridge rectifier 100, which allows the communication and power link between controllers 20 and 22 to be insensitive to the wiring polarity of wires 30 (para 0045).
Regarding claim 12, Olson further teaches wherein the power supply wiring is a nonpolarized wiring. Olson expressly teaches a “polarity independent pair of wires” for providing electrical power and two-way communication between a remote thermostat and a temperature-conditioning unit (paras 0011, 0018). Olson further teaches that wires 30a and 30b may be crossed without creating a problem for either communication or electrical power, such that the wires are interchangeably connected between the respective terminals (para 0040). Olson also teaches that second controller 22 includes full-wave bridge rectifier 100, which makes the communication and power link insensitive to the wiring polarity of wires 30 (para 0045).
Regarding claim 15, Olson further teaches wherein the first communication circuitry comprises a switching element. Olson teaches that first controller 20 includes current source circuit 60, current interrupter 62, and signal converter 64. Current interrupter 62 responds to output signal 28 from microprocessor 56 to controllably interrupt the current flowing through wires 30 in order to transmit data using the current-loop communication (paras 0042–0043). Olson further expressly teaches that the current-interrupting circuitry includes switching elements. In particular, para 0049 states that transistors Q1–Q5, Q7, Q8, and Q10–Q12 are “switching transistors” that generally operate in a binary ON/OFF state and change state with each communication pulse of signals 26' or 28'.
Regarding claim 16, Olson further teaches wherein the switching element comprises a transistor. Olson expressly teaches that the current-loop communication circuitry includes a plurality of transistors. In particular, para 0049 states that transistors Q1–Q5, Q7, Q8, and Q10–Q12 are switching transistors that generally operate in a binary ON/OFF state and change state in response to communication pulses. These transistors form part of the circuitry used to interrupt and control the current through wires 30 for current-loop communication.
Regarding claim 17, Gillette further teaches wherein the second communication circuitry comprises a transceiver. Gillette teaches modulator/demodulator circuitry 116 for power-line communication over power lines 106A and/or 106B. Gillette expressly states that, after superimposing the data signal onto the high-voltage AC power, the modulator/demodulator circuitry may use “a transmitter and/or a transceiver” to transmit the data signal over the power line. Gillette further teaches that, upon receiving the high-voltage AC power, the circuitry may use “a receiver and/or a transceiver” to receive and extract the data signal from the power line (para 0061).
Regarding claim 18, Olson further teaches wherein the controller circuitry comprises a computer. Olson teaches that first controller 20 includes microprocessor 56 and second controller 22 includes microprocessor 58. The microprocessors control the operating modes and communication functions of the HVAC system, including current-loop communication between the temperature-conditioning unit and the remote thermostat (paras 0041–0044). Gillette likewise teaches controller circuitry implemented using a microcontroller 110 including processor 120 and memory 122 for controlling HVAC communication and operation (paras 0055–0058).
Regarding claim 19, Olson further teaches wherein the computer comprises a microcomputer. Olson teaches that first controller 20 includes microprocessor 56 and second controller 22 includes microprocessor 58, which control the communication modes and communication functions between the temperature-conditioning unit and the thermostat (paras 0041–0044). Gillette more expressly teaches a controller implemented as a microcontroller 110 including processor 120 and memory 122 for controlling operation and communication of the HVAC system (para 0055; Fig. 7).
Claims 3-4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olson (US 2008/0054084 A1) in view of Gillette (US 2019/0353368 A1) and further in view of Tokushige (US 2005/0188706 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Olson in view of Gillette teaches the air conditioning system of claim 1, including Olson’s current-loop communication over the power-supply wiring and Gillette’s second communication circuitry that superimposes a voltage/data signal on the power wiring.
Olson teaches the first communication circuitry performing current-loop communication between the temperature-conditioning unit and the remote thermostat. In particular, Olson teaches that control system 18 employs a current-loop circuit and that current interrupter 62 controllably interrupts the current through wires 30 to transmit serial data at 19,200 baud (paras 0041–0043). Olson further teaches that the current is changed in accordance with individual communication bits and pulses (paras 0043, 0046, 0049).
Gillette teaches the second communication circuitry that superimposes a voltage/data signal on the power wiring. Gillette teaches modulator/demodulator circuitry 116 that modifies the frequency and/or amplitude of a data signal and superimposes that signal onto the AC power carried by the power line (paras 0060–0061, 0063, 0065, 0075).
Olson and Gillette, however, do not expressly teach wherein a frequency of the voltage signal of the second communication circuitry is higher than a frequency of the current loop communication of the first communication circuitry.
Tokushige teaches an air-conditioning power-line communication system in which communication data is subjected to spread-spectrum modulation and transmitted in superposition on power line 10 (paras 0032–0034). Tokushige expressly teaches that “the spread spectrum frequency is set to 100 to 400 kHz” and further teaches using capacitor 37 to superpose only the high-frequency component on power line 10 (paras 0041–0042; Figs. 2–4).
Thus, Tokushige teaches use of a 100–400 kHz high-frequency communication signal superimposed on air-conditioning power wiring, which is substantially higher than the signaling rate employed by Olson’s 19,200-baud current-loop communication.
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to employ the 100–400 kHz high-frequency power-line communication range taught by Tokushige for the voltage/data signal of Gillette in the modified Olson system. Tokushige teaches that this high-frequency spread-spectrum communication is suitable for reliable communication over air-conditioning power wiring, while Olson uses a substantially lower-rate current-loop communication scheme. One of ordinary skill therefore would have been motivated to select Tokushige’s higher-frequency range for the second communication channel in order to separate the second power-line communication signal from the lower-rate current-loop signaling and provide reliable data communication over the shared power wiring, with predictable results.
Regarding claim 4, Olson in view of Gillette teaches the air conditioning system of claim 2, including first communication circuitry configured to turn the current flowing through the power-supply wiring on and off to implement current-loop communication. Olson teaches that control system 18 employs a current-loop circuit and that current interrupter 62 controllably interrupts the current through wires 30 to transmit data, with the current changing according to the transmitted bits (paras 0041–0043, 0046, 0049).
Gillette teaches the second communication circuitry that superimposes a voltage/data signal on the power wiring. Gillette teaches modulator/demodulator circuitry 116 that modifies the frequency and/or amplitude of a data signal and superimposes the data signal onto AC power carried by the power line (paras 0060–0061, 0063, 0065, 0075).
Olson and Gillette, however, do not expressly teach wherein a frequency of the voltage signal of the second communication circuitry is higher than a frequency of the current loop communication of the first communication circuitry.
Tokushige teaches an air-conditioning power-line communication system in which communication data is subjected to spread-spectrum modulation and transmitted in superposition on power line 10 (paras 0032–0034). Tokushige expressly teaches that the spread-spectrum frequency is set to 100–400 kHz, and further teaches using capacitor 37 to superpose only the high-frequency component on power line 10 (paras 0041–0042; Figs. 2–4).
Thus, Tokushige teaches use of a 100–400 kHz high-frequency communication signal superimposed on air-conditioning power wiring, which is substantially higher than the signaling rate employed by Olson’s 19,200-baud current-loop communication.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to employ the 100–400 kHz high-frequency power-line communication range taught by Tokushige for the voltage/data signal of Gillette in the modified Olson system. Tokushige teaches that such a high-frequency spread-spectrum signal is suitable for reliable communication over air-conditioning power wiring. One of ordinary skill therefore would have been motivated to use Tokushige’s higher-frequency communication range for the second communication channel to separate that communication from Olson’s lower-rate current-loop signaling and thereby provide reliable data communication over the shared power wiring, with predictable results.
Regarding claim 13, Olson further teaches wherein the power supply wiring is a nonpolarized wiring. Olson expressly teaches a “polarity independent pair of wires” for providing electrical power and two-way communication between a remote thermostat and a temperature-conditioning unit (paras 0011, 0018). Olson further teaches that wires 30a and 30b may be crossed without affecting either communication or electrical power, such that the wires may be interchangeably connected between the corresponding terminals (para 0040). Olson also teaches a full-wave bridge rectifier 100 in the thermostat-side controller, which makes the communication and power link insensitive to the polarity of wires 30 (para 0045).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olson (US 2008/0054084 A1) in view of Gillette (US 2019/0353368 A1), and further in view of Heigl (US 2021/0025615 A1).
Regarding claim 20, as discussed with respect to claim 19, Olson in view of Gillette teaches the air conditioning system of claim 19, including controller circuitry comprising a computer implemented as a microcomputer. Gillette teaches microcontroller 110 including processor 120 and memory 122 for controlling HVAC system operation and communication (para 0055; Fig. 7).
Olson and Gillette therefore teach the claimed storage through the disclosed memory, but do not expressly teach wherein the microcomputer comprises a GPU.
Heigl teaches this missing limitation. Heigl teaches an HVAC component having controller 102, wherein the controller includes a processor and associated memory. Heigl expressly teaches that the processor may be implemented using a variety of architectures, including a “graphics processing unit (GPU),” and that the associated memory may comprise RAM, ROM, or another computer-readable medium storing executable instructions (para 0028).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the microcomputer of the Olson-Gillette system using the GPU processor architecture taught by Heigl. Heigl expressly identifies a GPU as one of several known processor architectures suitable for an HVAC controller and provides associated memory for storing executable instructions. Because claim 20 does not require the GPU to perform any specialized function, selecting Heigl’s known GPU architecture for the controller of the Olson-Gillette HVAC system would have amounted to the predictable use of a known processor architecture according to its established function, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kotake et al (US 2018/0019787) Fig. 1-3 and abstract
/OMEED ALIZADA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686