DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
2 This instant Office Action is in response to Original Filing filed on 8/13/2024.
3. This Office Action is made Non-Final.
4. Claims 1-17 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/19/24, 2/7/25 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
6. The title of the invention “COMMUNICATION METHOD, COMMUNICATION APPARATUS, AND SYSTEM” is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claims 5-6, 10-11, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
a. Claim 5 recites the limitation "the system information block 1" in Line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In addition, claim 6 is included in the rejection because it depends on claim 5.
b. Claim 10 recites the limitation "the system information block 1" in Line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In addition, claim 11 is included in the rejection because it depends on claim 10.
c. Claim 16 recites the limitation "the system information block 1" in Line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In addition, claim 17 is included in the rejection because it depends on claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. US 20210111902 hereafter Lee.
As to Claim 1. (Currently Amended) Lee discloses a communication method, comprising [Fig. 1, Abstract: Methods, systems, and devices for wireless communications are described; and base station transmit the SI and the signature to user equipment (UEs) within a coverage area of the base station]:
receiving a first broadcast message [i.e. SI/SIB message or Broadcast Transmission] from a base station [Fig. 3 (SIB Broadcast-350), Sections 0063, 0111: The base station transmits the SI (system information) to UE via a broadcast transmission; the UE obtain a public key or private key to verify that the signature for the SIB is valid and from the base station. Base station transmit the SIB via a broadcasted transmission];
receiving information indicating a transmission resource of a first signature [Sections 0012, 0072, 0096: Transmitting the SI message that indicates an ID of a public/private key used to generate the signature. A UE is configured with multiple carriers/component carriers which refers to set of frequency radio resources. The base station then generate an encoded message that includes an allocation of resources for uplink control information (i.e. uplink transmission) for the UE; the encoded message provided to the UE in a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) message using public key (i.e. public key hence signature, see 0063)],
wherein the first signature is usable to check [i.e. Verify or Authenticate, Section 0044] the first broadcast message [Sections 0005, 0120, 0122: When an SI message (i.e. broadcast message) is detected and received at the UE, the UE use keys to verify the signature and determine that the received SI message was transmitted by the base station and not a false base station. SI message include the key ID used by UE for the signature verification. The UE attempt to verify a signature of a received SIB message (i.e. broadcast message) for a system frame number within a subframe (i.e. time domain resources, see 0078-0079) number range using a received public key to authenticate system information],
receiving the first signature [i.e. Signature or Key] based on the information indicating the transmission resource of the first signature; and checking [i.e. Verify/Authenticate: Section 0044: Instructions for verifying the first SI based on the first signature of base station is received] the first broadcast message [i.e. SI/SIB message or Broadcast Transmission] based on the first signature [Sections 0096, 0112, 0122: The base station then generate an encoded message that includes an allocation of resources for uplink control information (i.e. uplink transmission) for the UE; the encoded message provided to the in a PDCCH message using public key (i.e. public key hence signature, see 0063). UE can verify the SIB signature broadcasted by base station based on the public key. The UE attempt to verify a signature of a received SIB message (i.e. broadcast message) for a system frame number within a subframe (i.e. time domain resources, see 0078-0079) number range using a received public key to authenticate system information].
As to Claim 2. (Original) Lee discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the receiving the first signature based on the information indicating the transmission resource of the first signature comprises: receiving a system message [i.e. SI/SIB] based on the information indicating the transmission resource of the first signature [Sections 0096, 0122: The base station then generate an encoded message that includes an allocation of resources using public key (i.e. public key hence signature, see 0063). The UE attempt to verify a signature of a received SIB message (i.e. broadcast message) for a system frame number within a subframe (i.e. time domain resources, see 0078-0079) number range using a received public key to authenticate system information],
wherein the system message [i.e. SI/SIB] comprises the first signature [Sections 0005, 0120: When an SI (system information) message is received at the UE, the UE verify the signature. Base station transmit an SI message that includes SI and the signature received at the UE].
As to Claim 3. (Original) Lee discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the information indicating the transmission resource of the first signature comprises one or more of: a type of the system message, a sending periodicity of the first signature, time domain resource information and/or frequency domain resource information [Sections 0003, 0012, 0122: The wireless system deploy and provide to users (i.e. UE) system resources such as time, frequency and power. A UE is configured with multiple carriers/component carriers which refers to set of frequency radio resources. The UE attempt to verify a signature of a received SIB message (i.e. broadcast message) for a system frame number within a subframe (i.e. time domain resources, see 0078-0079) number range using a received public key to authenticate system information].
As to Claim 4. (Original) Lee discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the information indicating the transmission resource of the first signature comprises the time domain resource information and/or the frequency domain resource information [Sections 0003, 0012, 0122: The wireless system deploy and provide to users (i.e. UE) system resources such as time, frequency and power. A UE is configured with multiple carriers/component carriers which refers to set of frequency radio resources. The UE attempt to verify a signature of a received SIB message (i.e. broadcast message) for a system frame number within a subframe (i.e. time domain resources, see 0078-0079) number range using a received public key to authenticate system information]:
and wherein the receiving the first signature based on the information indicating the transmission resource of the first signature comprises: performing blind detection in a range indicated by the time domain resource information and/or the frequency domain resource information, determining the transmission resource of the first signature, and receiving the first signature on the determined transmission resource [Sections 0003, 0096, 0122: The wireless system deploy and provide to users (i.e. UE) system resources such as time, frequency and power. The base station then generate an encoded message that includes an allocation of resources using public key (i.e. public key hence signature, see 0063). The UE attempt to verify a signature of a received SIB message (i.e. broadcast message) for a system frame number within a subframe (i.e. time domain resources, see 0078-0079) number range using a received public key to authenticate system information].
As to Claim 5. (Currently Amended) Lee discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first broadcast message is the system information block 1, other system information (OSI), or a paging message [Sections 0105, 0120: For example, a signature may be added to an SIB for example an SIB1 (i.e. system information block 1). Accordingly, base station broadcast an SIB1 that includes the signature generated based on the system information].
As to Claim 6. (Original) Lee discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein the first broadcast message is the OSI [i.e. Other Security SIB/Security SIB], the checking [i.e. Verify] the first broadcast message based on the first signature comprises: cascading the OSI, and checking the cascaded OSI based on the first signature [Sections 005, 0105, 0118: A user equipment (UE) can use to verify a signature of a SI message for example security-SIB transmitted by a base station. For example, a signature may be added to security SIB that a UE has acquired to verify (i.e. check) the SI. Accordingly, base station add the signature to other-security-SIB. Note: OSI is a term for system message other than SIB1 or MIB].
As to Claim 7. (Currently Amended) Lee discloses a communication method, comprising [Fig. 1, Abstract: Methods, systems, and devices for wireless communications are described; and base station transmit the SI and the signature to user equipment (UEs) within a coverage area of the base station]:
sending a first broadcast message [i.e. SI/SIB message or Broadcast Transmission] to a terminal [Fig. 3 (SIB Broadcast-350), Sections 0063, 0111: The base station transmits the SI (system information) to UE (i.e. terminal) via a broadcast transmission; the UE obtain a public key or private key to verify that the signature for the SIB is valid and from the base station. Base station transmit the SIB via a broadcasted transmission];
sending, to the terminal, information indicating a transmission resource of a first signature [Sections 0012, 0072, 0096: Transmitting the SI message that indicates an ID of a public/private key used to generate the signature. A UE is configured with multiple carriers/component carriers which refers to set of frequency radio resources. The base station then generate an encoded message that includes an allocation of resources for uplink control information (i.e. uplink transmission) for the UE; the encoded message provided to the UE in a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) message using public key (i.e. public key hence signature, see 0063)],
wherein the first signature is usable to check [i.e. Verify or Authenticate, Section 0044] the first broadcast message [Sections 0005, 0120, 0122: When an SI message (i.e. broadcast message) is detected and received at the UE, the UE use keys to verify the signature and determine that the received SI message was transmitted by the base station and not a false base station. SI message include the key ID used by UE for the signature verification. The UE attempt to verify a signature of a received SIB message (i.e. broadcast message) for a system frame number within a subframe (i.e. time domain resources, see 0078-0079) number range using a received public key to authenticate system information];
and sending the first signature [i.e. Signature or Key] to the terminal on a transmission resource corresponding to the information indicating the transmission resource of the first signature [Sections 0096, 0112, 0122: The base station then generate an encoded message that includes an allocation of resources for uplink control information (i.e. uplink transmission) for the UE; the encoded message provided to the in a PDCCH message using public key (i.e. public key hence signature, see 0063). UE can verify the SIB signature broadcasted by base station based on the public key. The UE attempt to verify a signature of a received SIB message (i.e. broadcast message) for a system frame number within a subframe (i.e. time domain resources, see 0078-0079) number range using a received public key to authenticate system information].
As to Claim 8 (Original) The method according to claim 7, wherein the sending the first signature to the terminal on a transmission resource corresponding to the information indicating the transmission resource of the first signature comprises: sending a system message to the terminal on the transmission resource, wherein the system message comprises the first signature [See Claim 2 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter, therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 9. (Original) The method according to claim 7, wherein the information indicating the transmission resource of the first signature comprises one or more of: a type of the system message, a sending periodicity of the first signature, time domain resource information and/or frequency domain resource information [See Claim 3 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter, therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 10. (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 7, wherein the first broadcast message is the system information block 1, other system information (OSI), or a paging message [See Claim 5 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter, therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 11. (Original) The method according to claim 10, wherein the first broadcast message is the OSI, the method further comprises: cascading the OSI, and generating the first signature based on the cascaded OSI [See Claim 6 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter, therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 12. (Currently Amended) Lee discloses an apparatus [i.e. User Equipment-UE], comprising at least one processor [Processor-740] coupled to at least one memory [Memory-730] storing instructions and configured to execute the instructions to cause the apparatus to perform operations comprising [Fig. 7 (Diagram of Device-705), Sections 0145, 0151: The device-705 may be an example of a UE include memory-730 and a processor 740. The processor include a central processing unit (CPU) and configured to operate a memory; the processor configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory to cause the device to perform various functions supporting SI protection]:
receiving a first broadcast message [Fig. 3 (SIB Broadcast-350), Sections 0063, 0111: The base station transmits the SI (system information) to UE via a broadcast transmission; the UE obtain a public key or private key to verify that the signature for the SIB is valid and from the base station. Base station transmit the SIB via a broadcasted transmission];
receiving information indicating a transmission resource of a first signature [Sections 0012, 0072, 0096: Transmitting the SI message that indicates an ID of a public/private key used to generate the signature. A UE is configured with multiple carriers/component carriers which refers to set of frequency radio resources. The base station then generate an encoded message that includes an allocation of resources for uplink control information (i.e. uplink transmission) for the UE; the encoded message provided to the UE in a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) message using public key (i.e. public key hence signature, see 0063)],
wherein the first signature is usable to check [i.e. Verify or Authenticate, Section 0044] the first broadcast message [Sections 0005, 0120, 0122: When an SI message (i.e. broadcast message) is detected and received at the UE, the UE use keys to verify the signature and determine that the received SI message was transmitted by the base station and not a false base station. SI message include the key ID used by UE for the signature verification. The UE attempt to verify a signature of a received SIB message (i.e. broadcast message) for a system frame number within a subframe (i.e. time domain resources, see 0078-0079) number range using a received public key to authenticate system information];
receiving the first signature [i.e. Signature or Key] based on the information indicating the transmission resource of the first signature; and checking [i.e. Verify/Authenticate: Section 0044: Instructions for verifying the first SI based on the first signature of base station is received] the first broadcast message [i.e. SI/SIB message or Broadcast Transmission] based on the first signature [Sections 0096, 0112, 0122: The base station then generate an encoded message that includes an allocation of resources for uplink control information (i.e. uplink transmission) for the UE; the encoded message provided to the in a PDCCH message using public key (i.e. public key hence signature, see 0063). UE can verify the SIB signature broadcasted by base station based on the public key. The UE attempt to verify a signature of a received SIB message (i.e. broadcast message) for a system frame number within a subframe (i.e. time domain resources, see 0078-0079) number range using a received public key to authenticate system information].
As to Claim 13. (Original) The apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the receiving the first signature based on the information indicating the transmission resource of the first signature comprises: receiving a system message based on the information indicating the transmission resource of the first signature, wherein the system message comprises the first signature [See Claim 2 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter, therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 14. (Original) The apparatus according to claim 13, wherein the information indicating the transmission resource of the first signature comprises one or more of: a type of the system message, a sending periodicity of the first signature, time domain resource information and/or frequency domain resource information [See Claim 3 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter, therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 15. (Original) The apparatus according to claim 14, wherein the information indicating the transmission resource of the first signature comprises the time domain resource information and/or the frequency domain resource information, and wherein the receiving the first signature based on the information indicating the transmission resource of the first signature comprises: performing blind detection in a range indicated by the time domain resource information and/or the frequency domain resource information, determining the transmission resource of the first signature, and receiving the first signature on the determined transmission resource [See Claim 4 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter, therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 16. (Currently Amended) The apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the first broadcast message is the system information block 1, other system information (OSI), or a paging message [See Claim 5 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter, therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 17. (Original) The apparatus according to claim 16, wherein the first broadcast message is the OSI, the checking the first broadcast message based on the first signature comprises: cascading the OSI, and checking the cascaded OSI based on the first signature [See Claim 6 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter, therefore similar rejection applies herein].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Lee et al. US 2020/0145821 hereafter Lee II and Ohlsson et al. US 20220303775.
Furthermore, each additional prior arts cited on PTO-892 but not applied in rejection contains a disclosed description related to the claimed subject matter found either in the Figures, description summary and/or disclosure.
July 2, 2026
/JAEL M ULYSSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477