DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment received 04/29/2026.
In the response to the Non-Final Office Action 01/29/206, the applicant states that claims 4-10 and 13-15 remain in the application. Claims 1-3, 11, and 12 have been cancelled. Claims 13-15 are new claims.
Claims 1-3, 11, and 12 have been cancelled. Claims 13-15 are new claims. In summary, claims 4-10 and 13-15 are pending in current application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding to 35 U.S.C 112 (b) rejection, the amendment has cured the basis of the 35 U.S.C 112 (b) rejection. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C 112 (b) rejection is hereby withdrawn.
Regarding to claim 4, 5, and 10, the applicant argues that Hwang fails to teach or suggest "generating a reference image that changes in a manner that depends on a change in value of each of the setting parameters”. The arguments have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive. The examiner cannot concur with the applicant for following reasons:
Hwang discloses “generating a reference image that changes in a manner that depends on a change in value of each of the setting parameters “. For example, in paragraph [0059], Hwang teaches increasing the intensity of vibration generated in the first device 310; Hwang further teaches reducing the intensity of vibration generated in the second device 320. In Fig. 11 and paragraph [0061], Hwang teaches a rough texture includes coarseness parameters; Hwang further teaches when the user touches the display screen of the first device 310 which is displaying a graphical object having a rough texture, the first device 310 and the second device 320 are alternately vibrated with a short cycle, thereby allowing the user to intuitively feel the rough texture of the graphical object being displayed on the display screen of the first device 310;
; Hwang further teaches generating a reference image, i.e. Fig. 11 (a), depending on a rough texture setting, i.e. Fig. 11 (b) as illustrated in Fig. 11; Hwang further more teaches generating curve image,
, in phone display and watch display, based on brightness, i.e. parameters. In Fig. 13 and paragraph [0062], Hwang teaches generating vibration in a pattern in which the intensity thereof is sharply changed in response to the user touching a region where hard and rough stones are being displayed; Hwang further teaches generating a vibration in a pattern in which the intensity thereof is smoothly changed in response to the user touching a region where gentle waves are being displayed;
; Hwang further more teaches generating a reference image,
, in phone display and watch display, depending a smooth surface setting in Fig. 13 (b) as illustrated in Fig. 13. In Fig. 19 and paragraph [0067], Hwang teaches the user interface provision system 200 adjusts the patterns generated in two or more devices, thereby allowing the user to intuitively figure out the complicated patterns as shown in (a) to (d) of FIG. 19 via haptic sensation
.
Regarding to claim 4, the applicant argues that Hwang additionally does not teach "generating a N-sided polygon or a circle as the graphic, and decreasing a value of N as the sharpness parameter indicates an increase in sharpness, where N is an integer equal to or greater than three." The arguments have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive. The examiner cannot concur with the applicant for following reasons:
Hwang discloses “generating a N-sided polygon or a circle as the graphic”. For example, in Fig. 6 and paragraph [0056], Hwang teaches providing a variety of haptic feedback;
. In Fig. 16 and paragraph [0064], Hwang further teaches reducing the intensity of the vibration generated in the release state over time;
; Hwang further more teaches square and triangle polygons contain three and four sides; Hwang further more teaches sides of square and triangle polygons are equal to or greater than three. In Fig. 19 and paragraph [0067], Hwang teaches the user interface provision system 200 adjusts the patterns generated in two or more devices that contact a body of the user, thereby allowing the user to intuitively figure out the complicated patterns as shown in (a) to (d) of FIG. 19 via haptic sensation
; Hwang further teaches circles.
Hwang further discloses “decreasing a value of N as the sharpness parameter indicates an increase in sharpness, where N is an integer equal to or greater than three”. For example, in Fig. 16 and paragraph [0064], Hwang teaches reducing the intensity of the vibration generated in the release state over time;
; Hwang further more teaches square and triangle polygons contain three and four sides; Hwang further more teaches the intensity reduce to zero over time. In Fig. 11 and paragraph [0061], Hwang teaches the user touching the display screen of the first device 310 which is displaying a graphical object having a rough texture, the first device 310 and the second device 320 may be alternately vibrated with a short cycle, thereby allowing the user to intuitively feel the rough texture of the graphical object being displayed on the display screen of the first device 310;
.
Regarding to claim 5, the applicant argues that Hwang additionally does not teach "acquiring the setting parameters comprises acquiring an intensity parameter representing intensity of the haptic illusion as one of the setting parameters" as recited therein. The arguments have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive. The examiner cannot concur with the applicant for following reasons:
Hwang discloses “acquiring the setting parameters comprises acquiring an intensity parameter representing intensity of the haptic illusion as one of the setting parameters”. For example, in paragraph [0056], Hwang teaches intensity; Hwang further teaches providing haptic feedback according to the invention, a time, cycle, interval, intensity, and the like. In Fig. 11 and paragraph [0061], Hwang teaches a rough texture includes coarseness parameters; Hwang further teaches when the user touches the display screen of the first device 310 which is displaying a graphical object having a rough texture, the first device 310 and the second device 320 are alternately vibrated with a short cycle, thereby allowing the user to intuitively feel the rough texture of the graphical object being displayed on the display screen of the first device 310;
; Hwang further teaches generating a reference image, i.e. Fig. 11 (a), depending on a rough texture setting, i.e. Fig. 11 (b) as illustrated in Fig. 11; Hwang further more teaches generating curve image,
, in phone display and watch display, based on brightness, i.e. parameters. In Fig. 16 and paragraph [0064], Hwang teaches reducing the intensity of the vibration generated in the release state over time;
.
Regarding to claim 8, the applicant argues that Hwang additionally does not disclose that "acquiring the setting parameters comprises acquiring a randomness parameter representing randomness of unevenness of the haptic illusion as the setting parameter" as recited therein. The arguments have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive. The examiner cannot concur with the applicant for following reasons:
Hwang discloses “wherein generating the reference image comprises changing the layout of the graphics by increasing a standard deviation of distances between geometric centers of adjacent graphics as the randomness parameter indicates an increased randomness of unevenness”. For example, in Fig. 11 and paragraph [0061], Hwang teaches the user randomly touching the display screen of the first device 310 which is displaying a graphical object having a rough texture, the first device 310 and the second device 320 may be alternately vibrated with a short cycle, thereby allowing the user to intuitively feel the rough texture of the graphical object being displayed on the display screen of the first device 310;
. In Fig. 13 and paragraph [0062], Hwang teaches vibration may be generated in a pattern in which the intensity thereof is sharply changed in response to the user touching a region where hard and rough stones are being displayed, and in a pattern in which the intensity thereof is smoothly changed in response to the user randomly touching a region where gentle waves are being displayed. In Fig. 19 and paragraph [0067], Hwang teaches the user interface provision system 200 adjusts the patterns generated in two or more devices that contact a body of the user, thereby allowing the user to intuitively figure out the complicated patterns as shown in (a) to (d) of FIG. 19 via haptic sensation
.
Regarding to claim 10, the applicant argues that Hwang also does not disclose "generating an intermediate image that corresponds to a value between the first setting parameter and the second setting parameter" as recited therein. The arguments have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive. The examiner cannot concur with the applicant for following reasons:
Hwang discloses “generating an intermediate image that corresponds to a value between the first setting parameter and the second setting parameter”. For example, in Fig. 12 and paragraph [0061], Hwang teaches
. In Fig. 16 and paragraph [0064], Hwang teaches vibration is continuously generated in the second device 320 even in a release state in which the user is no longer touching the touch panel of the first device 310; Hwang further teaches the intensity of the vibration generated in the release state is reduced over time;
; Hwang further more teaches the middle of triangle is intermediate image as illustrated in Fig. 16. In Fig. 17 and paragraph [0067], Hwang teaches the user interface provision system 200 may sequentially generate vibration in the first device 310 and the second device 320, or may vary the intensities of vibration in the opposite directions, thereby providing the user with a user experience corresponding to haptic illusion or hopping rabbit illusion.
.
Claims 6-8 and 13-15 are not allowable due to the similar reasons as discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 4-10 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Hwang (US 20160098084 A1).
Regarding to claim 4 (Currently amended), Hwang discloses a method for setting a type of a haptic illusion for a haptic illusion presentation device that presents the haptic illusion to a user by controlling a vibration pattern ([0031]: control properties of haptic feedback provided in at least one of the first device and the second device; [0061]: haptic feedback, i.e., vibration, is corresponding to a pattern of a graphical object; the first device 310 and the second device 320 are alternately vibrated with a short cycle; Fig. 17-19: [0066]: generate vibration sequentially at a predetermined interval in the first device 310 and the second device 320; [0067]: provide the user with a user experience corresponding to haptic illusion; the user interface provision system 200 adjusts the patterns generated in two or more devices), comprising:
acquiring, as setting parameters for determining the type of the haptic illusion ([0031]: determine and control properties of haptic feedback provided in at least one of the first device and the second device; Fig. 11; [0059]: generate vibration in the first device 310 when the user touches a graphical object with a relatively bright color; vibration is a type of the haptic illusion; [0061]: haptic feedback, i.e., vibration, is corresponding to a pattern of a graphical object; the first device 310 and the second device 320 are alternately vibrated with a short cycle, i.e. a type of the haptic illusion; Fig. 16; [0064]: reduce the intensity of the vibration generated in the release state over time;
; determine different types of haptic illusion as illustrated in Fig. 16; Fig. 19; [0067]: provide the user with a user experience corresponding to haptic illusion), a coarseness parameter representing coarseness of unevenness of the haptic illusion and a sharpness parameter representing sharpness of unevenness of the haptic illusion (Fig. 11; [0061]: a rough texture includes coarseness parameters; acquire and display a graphical object having a rough texture; when the user touches the display screen of the first device 310 which is displaying a graphical object having a rough texture, the first device 310 and the second device 320 are alternately vibrated with a short cycle, thereby allowing the user to intuitively feel the rough texture of the graphical object being displayed on the display screen of the first device 310;
; Fig. 13; [0062]: acquire hard and rough stones parameters; generate vibration in a pattern in which the intensity thereof is sharply changed in response to the user touching a region where hard and rough stones are being displayed, and in a pattern in which the intensity thereof is smoothly changed in response to the user touching a region where gentle waves are being displayed;
; Fig. 16; [0064]: reduce the intensity of the vibration generated in the release state over time;
), and
generating a reference image that changes in a manner that depends on a change in value of each of the setting parameters ([0059]: increase the intensity of vibration generated in the first device 310; reduce the intensity of vibration generated in the second device 320; Fig. 11; [0061]: a rough texture includes coarseness parameters; when the user touches the display screen of the first device 310 which is displaying a graphical object having a rough texture, the first device 310 and the second device 320 are alternately vibrated with a short cycle, thereby allowing the user to intuitively feel the rough texture of the graphical object being displayed on the display screen of the first device 310;
; generate a reference image depending on a rough texture setting as illustrated in Fig. 11; Fig. 13; [0062]: generate vibration in a pattern in which the intensity thereof is sharply changed in response to the user touching a region where hard and rough stones are being displayed; and generate a vibration in a pattern in which the intensity thereof is smoothly changed in response to the user touching a region where gentle waves are being displayed;
; generate a reference image depending a smooth surface setting as illustrated in Fig. 13; Fig. 19; [0067]: the user interface provision system 200 adjusts the patterns generated in two or more devices, thereby allowing the user to intuitively figure out the complicated patterns as shown in (a) to (d) of FIG. 19 via haptic sensation
),
wherein the reference image is a two-dimensional graphic or a three-dimensional graphic (Hwang; Fig. 13; [0062]: generate vibration in a pattern in which the intensity thereof is sharply changed in response to the user touching a region where hard and rough stones are being displayed, and generate vibration in a pattern in which the intensity thereof is smoothly changed in response to the user touching a region where gentle waves are being displayed;
; Fig. 16; [0064]: reduce the intensity of the vibration generated in the release state over time;
; two dimensional graphic, i.e. time and intensity),
wherein generating the reference image comprises changing a shape, a size, a color, or a layout of the graphic in a manner that depends on the value of the coarseness parameter, and changing the shape, the size, the color, or the layout of the graphic in a manner that depends on the value of the sharpness parameter (Hwang; Fig. 11; [0061]: when the user touches the display screen of the first device 310 which is displaying a graphical object having a rough texture, the first device 310 and the second device 320 may be alternately vibrated with a short cycle, thereby allow the user to intuitively feel the rough texture of the graphical object being displayed on the display screen of the first device 310;
; the graph in left side image changes; Fig. 13; [0062]: vibration may be generated in a pattern in which the intensity thereof is sharply changed in response to the user touching a region where hard and rough stones are being displayed, and in a pattern in which the intensity thereof is smoothly changed in response to the user touching a region where gentle waves are being displayed;
; Fig. 16; [0064]: reduce the intensity of the vibration generated in the release state over time;
; the size, shape, and layout changes over time as illustrated in Fig. 16), and
wherein generating the reference image comprises generating a N-sided polygon or a circle as the graphic (Hwang; Fig. 6; [0056]: provide a variety of haptic feedback;
; Fig. 16; [0064]: reduce the intensity of the vibration generated in the release state over time;
; square and triangle polygons; Fig. 19; [0067]: the user interface provision system 200 may adjust the patterns generated in two or more devices that contact a body of the user, thereby allowing the user to intuitively figure out the complicated patterns as shown in (a) to (d) of FIG. 19 via haptic sensation
; circles), and decreasing a value of N as the sharpness parameter indicates an increase in sharpness, where N is an integer equal to or greater than three (Hwang; Fig. 11; [0061]: the user touching the display screen of the first device 310 which is displaying a graphical object having a rough texture, the first device 310 and the second device 320 may be alternately vibrated with a short cycle, thereby allowing the user to intuitively feel the rough texture of the graphical object being displayed on the display screen of the first device 310;
; Fig. 16; [0064]: reduce the intensity of the vibration generated in the release state over time;
; the intensity reduce to zero over time).
Regarding to claim 5 (Currently amended), Hwang discloses a method for setting a type of a haptic illusion for a haptic illusion presentation device that presents the haptic illusion to a user by controlling a vibration pattern ([0031]: control properties of haptic feedback provided in at least one of the first device and the second device; [0061]: haptic feedback, i.e., vibration, is corresponding to a pattern of a graphical object; the first device 310 and the second device 320 are alternately vibrated with a short cycle; Fig. 17-19: [0066]: generate vibration sequentially at a predetermined interval in the first device 310 and the second device 320; [0067]: provide the user with a user experience corresponding to haptic illusion; the user interface provision system 200 adjusts the patterns generated in two or more devices), comprising:
wherein acquiring the setting parameters comprises acquiring an intensity parameter representing intensity of the haptic illusion as one of the setting parameters (Hwang; [0056]: intensity; provide haptic feedback according to the invention, a time, cycle, interval, intensity, and the like; [0061]: vibration is generated in a pattern in which the intensity thereof is sharply changed in response to the user touching a region where hard and rough stones are being displayed; Fig. 16; [0064]: reduce the intensity of the vibration generated in the release state over time;
; Fig. 22; [0071]).
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim 4. Therefore, same rational used to reject 4 is also used to reject claim 5.
Regarding to claim 6 (Currently amended), Hwang discloses the haptic illusion setting method according to claim 4, wherein generating the reference image comprises changing the color of the graphic in a manner that depends on an intensity parameter representing the intensity of the haptic illusion (Hwang; [0059]: a graphical object with a relatively bright color, and a graphical object with a relatively dark color; Fig. 14; [0062]: in a pattern in which the intensity thereof is smoothly changed in response to the user touching a region where gentle waves are being displayed;
; black color to white color; Fig. 17; Fig. 18; Fig. 19; [0067]: vary the intensities of vibration in the opposite directions, thereby provide the user with a user experience corresponding to haptic illusion or hopping rabbit illusion;
; Fig. 22; [0071]).
Regarding to claim 7 (Currently amended), Hwang discloses the haptic illusion setting method according to claim 4, wherein acquiring the setting parameters comprises acquiring a randomness parameter representing randomness of unevenness of the haptic illusion as the setting parameter (Hwang; Fig. 11; Fig. 12; [0061]: the user randomly touches the display screen of the first device 310 which is displaying a graphical object having a rough texture, the first device 310 and the second device 320 may be alternately vibrated with a short cycle, thereby allow the user to intuitively feel the rough texture of the graphical object being displayed on the display screen of the first device 310;
;
; randomly touch the screen.).
Regarding to claim 8 (Currently amended), Hwang discloses the haptic illusion setting method according to claim 7, wherein the reference image comprises a plurality of the graphics (Hwang; large circles and small circles; Fig. 16; [0064]: reduce the intensity of the vibration generated in the release state over time;
; square and triangle; Fig. 19; [0067]: the user interface provision system 200 adjusts the patterns generated in two or more devices that contact a body of the user, thereby allowing the user to intuitively figure out the complicated patterns as shown in (a) to (d) of FIG. 19 via haptic sensation
), and wherein generating the reference image comprises changing the layout of the graphics by increasing a standard deviation of distances between geometric centers of adjacent graphics as the randomness parameter indicates an increased randomness of unevenness (Hwang; Fig. 11; [0061]: the user touching the display screen of the first device 310 which is displaying a graphical object having a rough texture, the first device 310 and the second device 320 may be alternately vibrated with a short cycle, thereby allowing the user to intuitively feel the rough texture of the graphical object being displayed on the display screen of the first device 310;
; Fig. 19; [0067]: the user interface provision system 200 adjusts the patterns generated in two or more devices that contact a body of the user, thereby allowing the user to intuitively figure out the complicated patterns as shown in (a) to (d) of FIG. 19 via haptic sensation
).
Regarding to claim 9 (Currently amended), Hwang discloses the haptic illusion setting method according to claim 7, wherein the reference image comprises a plurality of the graphics, and wherein generating the reference image comprises making the shape, the size, or the color of the graphic more irregular as the randomness parameter indicates an increase in randomness of unevenness (Hwang; Fig. 11; [0061]: when the user touches the display screen of the first device 310 which is displaying a graphical object having a rough texture, the first device 310 and the second device 320 may be alternately vibrated with a short cycle, thereby allow the user to intuitively feel the rough texture of the graphical object being displayed on the display screen of the first device 310;
; Fig. 19; [0067]: the user interface provision system 200 adjusts the patterns generated in two or more devices that contact a body of the user, thereby allowing the user to intuitively figure out the complicated patterns as shown in (a) to (d) of FIG. 19 via haptic sensation
).
Regarding to claim 10 (Currently amended), Hwang discloses a method for setting a type of a haptic illusion for a haptic illusion presentation device that presents the haptic illusion to a user by controlling a vibration pattern ([0031]: control properties of haptic feedback provided in at least one of the first device and the second device; [0061]: haptic feedback, i.e., vibration, is corresponding to a pattern of a graphical object; the first device 310 and the second device 320 are alternately vibrated with a short cycle; Fig. 17-19: [0066]: generate vibration sequentially at a predetermined interval in the first device 310 and the second device 320; [0067]: provide the user with a user experience corresponding to haptic illusion; the user interface provision system 200 adjusts the patterns generated in two or more devices), comprising:
wherein acquiring the setting parameters comprises acquiring a first setting parameter and a second setting parameter as the setting parameters (Hwang; Fig. 16; [0064]: vibration is continuously generated in the second device 320 even in a release state in which the user is no longer touching the touch panel of the first device 310; the intensity of the vibration generated in the release state is reduced over time;
; first setting is touching the panel; second setting is in a release state), and wherein generating the reference image comprises generating an intermediate image that corresponds to a value between the first setting parameter and the second setting parameter (Hwang; Fig. 12; [0061]:
; Fig. 16; [0064]: vibration is continuously generated in the second device 320 even in a release state in which the user is no longer touching the touch panel of the first device 310; the intensity of the vibration generated in the release state is reduced over time;
; the middle of triangle is intermediate image as illustrated in Fig. 16).
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim 4. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 4 is also used to reject claim 10.
Regarding to claim 13 (New), Hwang discloses the haptic illusion setting method according to Claim 5,
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 6. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 6 is also used to reject claim 13.
Regarding to claim 14 (New), Hwang discloses the haptic illusion setting method according to Claim 5,
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 7. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 7 is also used to reject claim 14.
Regarding to claim 15 (New), Hwang discloses the haptic illusion setting method according to Claim 14,
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 8. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 8 is also used to reject claim 15.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAI TAO SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2616