DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-5, 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 3-5, 7, and 10 recite the limitation "The haptic illusion setting program " in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph due to dependency of claim 5.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph due to dependency of claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Hwang (US 20160098084 A1).
Regarding to claim 1, Hwang discloses a haptic illusion setting method for setting a type of a haptic illusion for a haptic illusion presentation device that presents the haptic illusion to a user by controlling a vibration pattern ([0031]: control properties of haptic feedback provided in at least one of the first device and the second device; [0061]: haptic feedback, i.e., vibration, is corresponding to a pattern of a graphical object; the first device 310 and the second device 320 are alternately vibrated with a short cycle; Fig. 17-19: [0066]: generate vibration sequentially at a predetermined interval in the first device 310 and the second device 320; [0067]: provide the user with a user experience corresponding to haptic illusion; the user interface provision system 200 adjusts the patterns generated in two or more devices), comprising:
acquiring, as setting parameters for determining the type of the haptic illusion ([0031]: determine and control properties of haptic feedback provided in at least one of the first device and the second device; Fig. 11; [0059]: generate vibration in the first device 310 when the user touches a graphical object with a relatively bright color; vibration is a type of the haptic illusion; [0061]: haptic feedback, i.e., vibration, is corresponding to a pattern of a graphical object; the first device 310 and the second device 320 are alternately vibrated with a short cycle, i.e. a type of the haptic illusion; Fig. 16; [0064]: reduce the intensity of the vibration generated in the release state over time;
; determine different types of haptic illusion as illustrated in Fig. 16; Fig. 19; [0067]: provide the user with a user experience corresponding to haptic illusion), a coarseness parameter representing coarseness of unevenness of the haptic illusion and a sharpness parameter representing sharpness of unevenness of the haptic illusion (Fig. 11; [0061]: a rough texture includes coarseness parameters; acquire and display a graphical object having a rough texture; when the user touches the display screen of the first device 310 which is displaying a graphical object having a rough texture, the first device 310 and the second device 320 are alternately vibrated with a short cycle, thereby allowing the user to intuitively feel the rough texture of the graphical object being displayed on the display screen of the first device 310;
; Fig. 13; [0062]: acquire hard and rough stones parameters; generate vibration in a pattern in which the intensity thereof is sharply changed in response to the user touching a region where hard and rough stones are being displayed, and in a pattern in which the intensity thereof is smoothly changed in response to the user touching a region where gentle waves are being displayed;
; Fig. 16; [0064]: reduce the intensity of the vibration generated in the release state over time;
), and
generating a reference image that changes in a manner that depends on a change in value of each of the setting parameters ([0059]: increase the intensity of vibration generated in the first device 310; reduce the intensity of vibration generated in the second device 320; Fig. 11; [0061]: a rough texture includes coarseness parameters; when the user touches the display screen of the first device 310 which is displaying a graphical object having a rough texture, the first device 310 and the second device 320 are alternately vibrated with a short cycle, thereby allowing the user to intuitively feel the rough texture of the graphical object being displayed on the display screen of the first device 310;
; generate a reference image depending on a rough texture setting as illustrated in Fig. 11; Fig. 13; [0062]: generate vibration in a pattern in which the intensity thereof is sharply changed in response to the user touching a region where hard and rough stones are being displayed; and generate a vibration in a pattern in which the intensity thereof is smoothly changed in response to the user touching a region where gentle waves are being displayed;
; generate a reference image depending a smooth surface setting as illustrated in Fig. 13; Fig. 19; [0067]: the user interface provision system 200 adjusts the patterns generated in two or more devices, thereby allowing the user to intuitively figure out the complicated patterns as shown in (a) to (d) of FIG. 19 via haptic sensation
).
Regarding to claim 2, Hwang discloses the haptic illusion setting method according to claim 1, wherein the reference image is a two-dimensional graphic or a three-dimensional graphic (Hwang; Fig. 13; [0062]: generate vibration in a pattern in which the intensity thereof is sharply changed in response to the user touching a region where hard and rough stones are being displayed, and generate vibration in a pattern in which the intensity thereof is smoothly changed in response to the user touching a region where gentle waves are being displayed;
; Fig. 16; [0064]: reduce the intensity of the vibration generated in the release state over time;
; two dimensional graphic, i.e. time and intensity), and wherein generating the reference image comprises changing a shape, a size, a color, or a layout of the graphic in a manner that depends on the value of the coarseness parameter, and changing the shape, the size, the color, or the layout of the graphic in a manner that depends on the value of the sharpness parameter (Hwang; Fig. 11; [0061]: when the user touches the display screen of the first device 310 which is displaying a graphical object having a rough texture, the first device 310 and the second device 320 may be alternately vibrated with a short cycle, thereby allow the user to intuitively feel the rough texture of the graphical object being displayed on the display screen of the first device 310;
; the graph in left side image changes; Fig. 13; [0062]: vibration may be generated in a pattern in which the intensity thereof is sharply changed in response to the user touching a region where hard and rough stones are being displayed, and in a pattern in which the intensity thereof is smoothly changed in response to the user touching a region where gentle waves are being displayed;
; Fig. 16; [0064]: reduce the intensity of the vibration generated in the release state over time;
; the size, shape, and layout changes over time as illustrated in Fig. 16).
Regarding to claim 3, Hwang discloses the haptic illusion setting program according to claim 2, wherein generating the reference image comprises increasing the size of the graphic as the coarseness parameter indicates an increase in the coarseness of unevenness (Hwang; Fig. 11; [0061]: when the user touches the display screen of the first device 310 which is displaying a graphical object having a rough texture, the first device 310 and the second device 320 are alternately vibrated with a short cycle, thereby allowing the user to intuitively feel the rough texture of the graphical object being displayed on the display screen of the first device 310;
; increase the height and size of the graph when roughness increases; [0062]: the intensity thereof is sharply changed in response to the user touching a region where hard and rough stones are being displayed).
Regarding to claim 4, Hwang discloses the haptic illusion setting program according to claim 2, wherein generating the reference image comprises generating a N-sided polygon or a circle as the graphic (Hwang; Fig. 6; [0056]: provide a variety of haptic feedback;
; Fig. 16; [0064]: reduce the intensity of the vibration generated in the release state over time;
; square and triangle polygons; Fig. 19; [0067]: the user interface provision system 200 may adjust the patterns generated in two or more devices that contact a body of the user, thereby allowing the user to intuitively figure out the complicated patterns as shown in (a) to (d) of FIG. 19 via haptic sensation
; circles), and decreasing a value of N as the sharpness parameter indicates an increase in sharpness, where N is an integer equal to or greater than three (Hwang; Fig. 11; [0061]: the user touching the display screen of the first device 310 which is displaying a graphical object having a rough texture, the first device 310 and the second device 320 may be alternately vibrated with a short cycle, thereby allowing the user to intuitively feel the rough texture of the graphical object being displayed on the display screen of the first device 310;
; Fig. 16; [0064]: reduce the intensity of the vibration generated in the release state over time;
; the intensity reduce to zero over time).
Regarding to claim 5, Hwang discloses the haptic illusion setting program according to claim 2, wherein acquiring the setting parameters comprises acquiring an intensity parameter representing intensity of the haptic illusion as one of the setting parameters (Hwang; [0056]: intensity; provide haptic feedback according to the invention, a time, cycle, interval, intensity, and the like; [0061]: vibration is generated in a pattern in which the intensity thereof is sharply changed in response to the user touching a region where hard and rough stones are being displayed; Fig. 16; [0064]: reduce the intensity of the vibration generated in the release state over time;
; Fig. 22; [0071]).
Regarding to claim 6, Hwang discloses the haptic illusion setting program according to claim 5, wherein generating the reference image comprises changing the color of the graphic in a manner that depends on the intensity parameter representing the intensity of the haptic illusion (Hwang; [0059]: a graphical object with a relatively bright color, and a graphical object with a relatively dark color; Fig. 14; [0062]: in a pattern in which the intensity thereof is smoothly changed in response to the user touching a region where gentle waves are being displayed;
; black color to white color; Fig. 17; Fig. 18; Fig. 19; [0067]: vary the intensities of vibration in the opposite directions, thereby provide the user with a user experience corresponding to haptic illusion or hopping rabbit illusion;
; Fig. 22; [0071]).
Regarding to claim 7, Hwang discloses the haptic illusion setting program according to claim 2, wherein acquiring the setting parameters comprises acquiring a randomness parameter representing randomness of unevenness of the haptic illusion as the setting parameter (Hwang; Fig. 11; Fig. 12; [0061]: the user randomly touches the display screen of the first device 310 which is displaying a graphical object having a rough texture, the first device 310 and the second device 320 may be alternately vibrated with a short cycle, thereby allow the user to intuitively feel the rough texture of the graphical object being displayed on the display screen of the first device 310;
;
; randomly touch the screen.).
Regarding to claim 8, Hwang discloses the haptic illusion setting program according to claim 7, wherein the reference image comprises a plurality of the graphics (Hwang; large circles and small circles; Fig. 16; [0064]: reduce the intensity of the vibration generated in the release state over time;
; square and triangle; Fig. 19; [0067]: the user interface provision system 200 adjusts the patterns generated in two or more devices that contact a body of the user, thereby allowing the user to intuitively figure out the complicated patterns as shown in (a) to (d) of FIG. 19 via haptic sensation
), and wherein generating the reference image comprises changing the layout of the graphics by increasing a standard deviation of distances between geometric centers of adjacent graphics as the randomness parameter indicates an increased randomness of unevenness (Hwang; Fig. 11; [0061]: the user touching the display screen of the first device 310 which is displaying a graphical object having a rough texture, the first device 310 and the second device 320 may be alternately vibrated with a short cycle, thereby allowing the user to intuitively feel the rough texture of the graphical object being displayed on the display screen of the first device 310;
; Fig. 19; [0067]: the user interface provision system 200 adjusts the patterns generated in two or more devices that contact a body of the user, thereby allowing the user to intuitively figure out the complicated patterns as shown in (a) to (d) of FIG. 19 via haptic sensation
).
Regarding to claim 9, Hwang discloses the haptic illusion setting program according to claim 7, wherein the reference image comprises a plurality of the graphics, and wherein generating the reference image comprises making the shape, the size, or the color of the graphic more irregular as the randomness parameter indicates an increase in randomness of unevenness (Hwang; Fig. 11; [0061]: when the user touches the display screen of the first device 310 which is displaying a graphical object having a rough texture, the first device 310 and the second device 320 may be alternately vibrated with a short cycle, thereby allow the user to intuitively feel the rough texture of the graphical object being displayed on the display screen of the first device 310;
; Fig. 19; [0067]: the user interface provision system 200 adjusts the patterns generated in two or more devices that contact a body of the user, thereby allowing the user to intuitively figure out the complicated patterns as shown in (a) to (d) of FIG. 19 via haptic sensation
).
Regarding to claim 10, Hwang discloses the haptic illusion setting program according to claim 1, wherein acquiring the setting parameters comprises acquiring a first setting parameter and a second setting parameter as the setting parameters (Hwang; Fig. 16; [0064]: vibration is continuously generated in the second device 320 even in a release state in which the user is no longer touching the touch panel of the first device 310; the intensity of the vibration generated in the release state is reduced over time;
; first setting is touching the panel; second setting is in a release state), and wherein generating the reference image comprises generating an intermediate image that corresponds to a value between the first setting parameter and the second setting parameter (Hwang; Fig. 12; [0061]:
; Fig. 16; [0064]: vibration is continuously generated in the second device 320 even in a release state in which the user is no longer touching the touch panel of the first device 310; the intensity of the vibration generated in the release state is reduced over time;
; the middle of triangle is intermediate image as illustrated in Fig. 16).
Regarding to claim 11, Hwang discloses a haptic illusion setting system (Fig. 1; [0028]: a system includes a communication network 100, a user interface provision system 200, and multiple devices 310, 320;
; [0031]: control properties of haptic feedback provided in at least one of the first device and the second device; [0061]: haptic feedback, i.e., vibration, is corresponding to a pattern of a graphical object; the first device 310 and the second device 320 are alternately vibrated with a short cycle; Fig. 17-19: [0066]: vibration is sequentially generated at a predetermined interval in the first device 310 and the second device 320; [0067]: provide the user with a user experience corresponding to haptic illusion; the user interface provision system 200 adjusts the patterns generated in two or more devices; [0076]: non-transitory computer-readable recording medium) comprising:
a haptic illusion presentation device configured to present a haptic illusion to a user by controlling a vibration pattern ([0031]: control properties of haptic feedback provided in at least one of the first device and the second device; [0058]: various color or brightness are displayed on a display screen of the first device 310; Fig. 19; [0067]: the user interface provision system 200 adjusts the patterns generated in two or more devices that contact a body of the user, thereby allowing the user to intuitively figure out the complicated patterns as shown in (a) to (d) of FIG. 19 via haptic sensation
); and
a haptic illusion setting device configured to set a type of the haptic illusion for the haptic illusion presentation device, wherein the haptic illusion setting device comprises a computer configured to ([0031]: control properties of haptic feedback provided in at least one of the first device and the second device; [0061]: haptic feedback, i.e., vibration, is corresponding to a pattern of a graphical object; the first device 310 and the second device 320 are alternately vibrated with a short cycle; Fig. 17-19: [0066]: vibration is sequentially generated at a predetermined interval in the first device 310 and the second device 320; Fig. 19; [0067]: the user interface provision system 200 adjusts the patterns generated in two or more devices that contact a body of the user, thereby allowing the user to intuitively figure out the complicated patterns as shown in (a) to (d) of FIG. 19 via haptic sensation
):
the rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 1. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 1 is also used to reject claim 11.
Regarding to claim 12, Hwang discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored therein that, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to ([0061]: haptic feedback, i.e., vibration, corresponding to a pattern of a graphical object; the first device 310 and the second device 320 are alternately vibrated with a short cycle; Fig. 17-19: [0066]: vibration is sequentially generated at a predetermined interval in the first device 310 and the second device 320; [0067]: provide the user with a user experience corresponding to haptic illusion; the user interface provision system 200 adjusts the patterns generated in two or more devices; [0076]: non-transitory computer-readable recording medium):
The rest claim limitations are similar to claim limitations recited in claim 1. Therefore, same rational used to reject claim 1 is also used to reject claim 12.
Conclusion
/HAI TAO SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2616