DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,096,151 (Patent ‘151, hereinafter). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the features of current claims 10 and 11 are already included in claims 1 and 3 of Patent ‘151. See tables below.
Table I:
Current Application 18/802071
U.S. Patent No. 12,096,151
10, 11
1, 3, respectively
Table II:
Current Application 18/802071
U.S. Patent No. 12,096,151
10. A method for processing an image, applicable to a field programmable gate array (FPGA), comprising:
acquiring at least one channel of video data of an ultra-high-definition (UHD) video system;
generating oscillogram data based on each channel of the video data;
acquiring a pre-generated background image of an oscillogram; and
generating the oscillogram based on the background image and the oscillogram data
wherein said generating oscillogram data based on each channel of the video data comprises: counting oscillogram data of each frame image in each channel of the video data by regional counting, said counting oscillogram data of each frame image in each channel of the video data by regional counting comprises:
regionally counting the oscillogram data of each frame image in each channel of the video data by using a dual-port random access memory (RAM) and a RAM ping-pong operation mechanism;
wherein said regionally counting the oscillogram data of each frame image in each channel of the video data by using the dual-port RAM and the RAM ping-pong operation mechanism comprises:
determining, for each channel of the video data, a number of dual-port RAMs required according to a number of regions, wherein the number of dual-port RAMs required is twice the number of regions;
dividing the dual-port RAMs required into two groups; and
regionally counting the oscillogram data of each frame image in the video data by using the RAM ping-pong operation mechanism and two groups of dual-port RAMs, wherein one group of dual-port RAMs in the two groups of dual-port RAMs are configured to regionally count oscillogram data of an odd-numbered frame image in the video data, and the other group of dual-port RAMs in the two groups of dual-port RAMs are configured to regionally count oscillogram data of an even-numbered frame image in the video data.
1. A method for generating a vector diagram, applicable to a field programmable gate array (FPGA), comprising:
acquiring video data of an ultra-high-definition (UHD) video system;
regionally counting vector diagram information of each frame image in the video data by using a dual-port random access memory (RAM) and a RAM ping-pong operation mechanism;
extracting a vector diagram timing from the video data;
acquiring vector diagram data by combining the vector diagram information of each frame image with the vector diagram timing;
acquiring a pre-generated background image of a vector diagram; and
generating the vector diagram based on the background image and the vector diagram data;
wherein said regionally counting the vector diagram information of each frame image in the video data by using the dual-port RAM and the RAM ping-pong operation mechanism comprises:
determining, according to a number of regions, a number of dual-port RAMs required, wherein the number of dual-port RAMs required is twice the number of regions;
dividing the dual-port RAMs required into two groups; and
regionally counting the vector diagram information of each frame image in the video data by using the RAM ping-pong operation mechanism and two groups of dual-port RAMs, wherein one group of dual-port RAMs in the two groups of dual-port RAMs are configured to regionally count vector diagram information of an odd-numbered frame image in the video data, and the other group of dual-port RAMs in the two groups of dual-port RAMs are configured to regionally count vector diagram information of an even-numbered frame image in the video data.
From the tables above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claims 1 and 3 as current claims 10 and 11 since the vector diagram recited in Patent ‘151 is defined as oscillogram data in current specification, and therefore, all of the features of current claims 10 and 11 are already included in claims 1 and 3 of Patent ‘151.
This rejection is maintained in this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US. Patent App. Pub. No. 2011/0242333, “Zhu”, hereinafter) in view of Adams et al. (US. Patent App. Pub. No. 20140240517, “Adams”) further in view of Hartley et al. (US. Patent App. Pub. No. 20050157172, “Hartley”), and further in view of Bryant et al. (US. Patent App. Pub. No. 2013/0201202, “Bryant”).
As per claim 1, Zhu teaches a method for processing an image, applicable to a field programmable gate array (FPGA) (¶ [33]), comprising:
acquiring at least one channel of video data of an ultra-high-definition (UHD) (further addressed below) video system (¶ [11], receive a first video signal associated with a first channel, a second input terminal to receive a second video signal associated with a second channel. The video is in high-definition format, ¶ [50]);
generating oscillogram data based on each channel of the video data (Fig. 3, ¶ [40], waveform monitoring for each channel. Paragraph [28] recites “the test and measurement instrument can include a waveform monitor, vectorscope, logic analyzer, or oscilloscope, among other suitable measurement devices”. The oscillogram data is interpreted as is defined at paragraph [9] of the specification of the instant application, which can be waveform diagram data or vector diagram data).
Zhu does not explicitly teach the video data is ultra-high-definition (UHD),
However, ultra-high-definition (UHD) video signals are well known in the art before the filing date of the invention. One of which is disclosed in Adams in a similar method of generating waveform over video as input video (see Abstract and ¶ [70]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use UHD video for input as taught by Adams for input video as taught by Zhu as addressed above, the advantage of which is for higher resolution video data.
The combined teaching of Zhu and Adams does not include acquiring a background image of an oscillogram pre-generated by a system on chip (SOC); and generating the oscillogram based on the background image and the oscillogram data.
However, in a very similar method of generating vector diagram on the video signal (see Fig. 1, ¶ [2]), Hartley teaches the above features, i.e., acquiring a pre-generated background image of an oscillogram; and generating the oscillogram based on the background image and the oscillogram data (see Fig. 2 and 3, ¶ [22] and ¶ [25], “Such control operations multiplex the picture component signal, the waveform/audio/vector displays and the background signal together to form the high resolution output video signal S' whereby the picture component signal and the waveform/audio/vector displays are superimposed onto background signal to create a display of the form shown in FIG. 1”). Hartley does further teach generating background image (¶ [6], and [18]). Also, as shown in Fig. 3 of Hartley is the video signal processor that generates the background image (¶ 22-23]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video processor as a system on chip (SoC) since this is well within the level of ordinary skill in the art for compacting the circuitry.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hartley into the method as taught by the combined Zhu-Adams as addressed above, the advantage of which is to reduce undesirable artifacts in the processed signal (¶ [5]).
The combined Zhu-Adams-Hartley does not explicitly teach acquiring a pre-generated background image of an oscillogram pre-generated by a system on chip (SoC), wherein the background image comprises coordinate axes and girds; and generating the oscillogram based on by fusing the background image and the oscillogram data.
However, this is also well known in the art for oscilloscope to give the user to adjust color channels. One of such is taught by Bryant at ¶ [22-25], ¶ [99] with reference to Fig. 5, 6 (showing grids), 8, and 10.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the method as taught by Bryant to the combined Zhu-Adams-Hartley method as addressed above, the advantage of which is to assists the user to manipulate color adjustment with the provided user interface.
As per claim 2, as addressed above in claim 1, the combined Zhu-Adams-Hartley-Bryant also disclose acquiring at least one channel of superimposed video data by superimposing each channel of the video data with corresponding oscillogram data; and wherein said generating the oscillogram based on the background image and the oscillogram data comprises: acquiring at least one channel of video data with an oscillogram by fusing the at least one channel of superimposed video data with the background image (see Hartley, ¶ [22] and ¶ [25] recited above). Thus, claim 2 would have been obvious over the combined references for the reason above.
As per claim 3, the combined Zhu-Adams-Hartley-Bryant also teaches wherein said acquiring at least one channel of video data of the UHD video system comprises:
acquiring at least two channels of video data of the UHD video system (Zhu, Fig. 3); and
said acquiring at least one channel of video data with the oscillogram by fusing the at least one channel of superimposed video data with the background image comprises:
acquiring at least two channels of video data with the oscillogram by fusing each channel of the superimposed video data with the background image (Zhu, Fig. 3, at least channel 1 and channel 2, fusing each channel of the superimposed video data with the background image as taught by Hartley as described in ¶ [25]). Thus, claim 3 would have been obvious over the combined references for the reason above.
As per claim 4, the combined Zhu-Adams-Hartley-Bryant does also teach outputting the at least two channels of video data with the oscillogram, to cause a display device to display the at least two channels of video data with the oscillogram, wherein a display region of the display device comprises at least two subdisplay regions, each of the at least two subdisplay regions displaying one channel of video data with the oscillogram (display tiles as shown in Fig. 3 and 4 of Zhu).
As per claim 5, as addressed in claim 1, the combined Zhu-Adams-Hartley-Bryant does also teach wherein the oscillogram data comprises at least one of vector diagram data, histogram data, and waveform diagram data (e.g., Zhu, Fig. 3).
As per claim 6, the combined Zhu-Adams-Hartley-Bryant further teaches wherein the oscillogram comprises a first oscillogram and a second oscillogram that are different types (Zhu, Fig. 3, waveform, channel 1, and vector, channel 2); and
the background image comprises a plurality of regions arranged in an array, each of the plurality of regions comprises a first subregion and a second subregion, the first subregion of each of the plurality of regions is a background image of the first oscillogram, and the second subregion of each of the plurality of regions is a background image of the second oscillogram (Zhu, addressed in claim 4 with each region in combination with Hartley’s superimposing oscillogram data onto each channel of video data as addressed above). Thus, claim 6 would have been obvious over the combined references for the reason above.
As per claim 7, as addressed in claim 1, the combined Zhu-Adams-Hartley-Bryant does substantially teach wherein the background image is pre-stored in the SOC, and said acquiring the pre-generated background image of the oscillogram comprises: receiving the background image from the SoC. Thus, claim 7 would have been obvious over the combined references for the reason above.
As per claim 8, the combined Zhu-Adams-Hartley-Bryant does impliedly teach wherein said generating oscillogram data based on each channel of the video data comprises: counting oscillogram data of each frame image in each channel of the video data by regional counting (for example, in Zhu, Fig. 3, two diagrams for two channels of each frame having two regions. Claim is at best understood by the examiner since the counting is not clearly specified even in the current specification, i.e., it is not for counting number of oscillogram data).
As per claim 12, the combined Zhu-Adams-Hartley-Bryant also teaches wherein the UHD video system is a 4k-resolution video system, a 6k-resolution video system, an 8k-resolution video system, or a 12k-resolution video system (Adams, ¶ [70]). Thus, claim 12 would have been obvious over the combined references for the reason above.
Claim 13, which is similar in scope to claim 1 as addressed above, is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 14, which is similar in scope to claim 2 as addressed above, is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 15, which is similar in scope to claim 3 as addressed above, is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 16, which is similar in scope to claim 4 as addressed above, is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 17, which is similar in scope to claim 5 as addressed above, is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 18, which is similar in scope to claim 6 as addressed above, is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 19, which is similar in scope to claim 7 as addressed above, is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 20, which is similar in scope to claim 1 as addressed above, is thus rejected under the same rationale.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US. Patent App. Pub. No. 2011/0242333) in view of Adams et al. (US. Patent App. Pub. No. 20140240517), further in view of Hartley et al. (US. Patent App. Pub. No. 20050157172), further in view of Bryant et al. (US. Patent App. Pub. No. 2013/0201202), and further in view of Olsson et al. (US. Patent App. Pub. No. 2018/0202940, “Olsson”).
As per claim 9, the combined Zhu-Adams-Hartley-Bryant does not explicitly teach wherein said counting oscillogram data of each frame image in each channel of the video data by regional counting comprises: regionally counting the oscillogram data of each frame image in each channel of the video data by using a dual-port random access memory (RAM) and a RAM ping-pong operation mechanism.
However, dual-port random access memory (RAM) and a RAM ping-pong operation mechanism is well known in the art for reading in one port and writing in the other port. One of which is described in Olsson (¶ [23]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the dual-port random access memory (RAM) and a RAM ping-pong operation mechanism as taught by Olsson in the combined Zhu-Adams-Hartley-Bryant method as addressed above, the benefit of which as addressed, is for reading in one port and writing in the other port of the dual port RAM.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter (after the Double Patenting rejection mentioned above is resolved):
The prior art taken singly or in combination does not teach or suggest, a method for processing an image, among other things, comprising:
… wherein said regionally counting the oscillogram data of each frame image in each channel of the video data by using the dual-port RAM and the RAM ping-pong operation mechanism comprises:
determining, for each channel of the video data, a number of dual-port RAMs required according to a number of regions, wherein the number of dual-port RAMs required is twice the number of regions;
dividing the dual-port RAMs required into two groups; and
regionally counting the oscillogram data of each frame image in the video data by using the RAM ping-pong operation mechanism and two groups of dual-port RAMs, wherein one group of dual-port RAMs in the two groups of dual-port RAMs are configured to regionally count oscillogram data of an odd-numbered frame image in the video data, and the other group of dual-port RAMs in the two groups of dual-port RAMs are configured to regionally count oscillogram data of an even-numbered frame image in the video data.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection is made as above. In particular, a new reference Bryant is added to address the new limitation, acquiring a background image of an oscillogram pre-generated by a system on chip (SoC), wherein the background image comprises coordinate axes and girds.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/HAU H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611