Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/13/2024, 2/11/2024, 5/22/2025 and 12/8/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bachmann (EP1575002, submitted by applicant in an IDS).
As to claims 1, Bachmann teaches a banknote image processing device comprising: a storage unit that stores an image of a normal banknote therein; and a processor that performs pseudo-damage processing that imitates damage caused on the normal banknote, on the image (see abstract and para0031,0037,0046:Figure 1 shows a block diagram of the method according to the invention. A reference 1, here a bank note is scanned in a step scanning 5 to generate a reference dataset 2 which is electronically stored to a reference library 3. Typically the reference bank note is a real and new bank note that has no defects and no print irregularities. From a particular reference dataset 2 that is typically taken from the reference library 3 or that may also be taken directly from the scanning device, several electronic datasets 4 are generated in a step defect simulation 6 and stored in a database 7. Each electronic dataset 4 thereby is a representation of a virtual bank note that has no, one or several defects. For simulating a defective bank note, the defect simulation 6 is based on a priori knowledge 8 that is incorporated in the simulation algorithms.
Since the basic processes in the development of geometrical defects such as for example folds, dog-ears or cut-to-print variations are relatively simple, these defects are directly modelled..
Fig. 5 and 6 show a plurality of different defects that can be simulated according to the invention. The defects can be classified into different defect types: print irregularities such as for example cut-to-print and print-to-print variations, geometrical defects such as for example dog ears, holes, frayed margins and different kinds of folds, global degradations such as for example abrasion, crumpling or homogeneous soil and local degradations such as for example partial soil (stain) or margin soil. In the following paragraphs, the various defects and their simulation are discussed).
As to claim 2, Bachmann teaches the banknote image processing device according to claim 1, wherein the processor performs hole processing on the image as the damage processing (para 0046).
As to claim 3, Bachmann teaches the banknote image processing device according to claim 1, wherein the processor performs cutting processing on the image as the damage processing (para 0046).
As to claim 4, Bachmann teaches the banknote image processing device according to claim 1, wherein the processor performs tearing processing on the image as the damage processing (para 0046).
As to claim 5, Bachmann teaches the banknote image processing device according to claim 1, wherein the processor performs corner folding processing on the image as the damage processing (para 0046).
As to claim 6, Bachmann teaches the banknote image processing device according to claim 1, wherein the processor performs staining processing on the image as the damage processing (para 0046).
As to claim 7, Bachmann teaches the banknote image processing device according to claim 1, wherein the processor performs washing processing on the image as the damage processing (para 0046, 0058-0059).
As to claim 9, see rejection of claim 1, note that Bachmann teach the device for performing the method.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bachmann (EP1575002, submitted by applicant in an IDS) in view of Su (U2018/0122174, submitted by applicant in an IDS).
Bachmann teaches the banknote image processing device according to claim 1, but is silent in adding data representing a thickness of a tape to be attached to the normal banknote to data representing a thickness of the normal banknote.
However, Su teaches to determine the fitness of a back note by detecting whether there is tape attached (para 0003, Checking the condition, the so-called fitness, of a bank note involves checking whether it meets certain criteria to be able to be put back in circulation or have to be removed from circulation. Besides the degree of soiling and wear, an important criterion here is also the presence of unwanted foreign objects, usually in the form of adhesive tape or other stickers, on the bank note). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Su to the device of Bachmann having a tape attached is also a type of defects. The system of Bachmann is to eliminate the defects of a bank note image.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20160335825-A1
US-20120140791-A1
US-20030234362-A1
US-20100060921-A1
US-20190057568-A1
Contact information
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/KENT W CHANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2614