DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 06/03/2026 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-4 and 6-17 are currently pending. Claims 1 and 12-14 are amended.
Claim 5 is cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-8, filed 06/03/2026, with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. § 102 rejection of claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 06/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner acknowledges that Lang-991 and Lang-000 do not teach the circular aperture. However, it is known in the art to secure panels, covers, frames, etc. by inserting a positioning feature (such as a hook or protrusion) into an aperture, regardless of the shape of the aperture. It would have been obvious to substitute the apertures of Lang-991 with a circular hole and elongated hole as taught by Kim (See Kim FIG. 3 apertures 45 and 43) as Kim teaches a different embodiment in which the panel and door lock frame can be secured to each other.
Regarding the argument that the references do not teach the interaction of a hook with an elongated slot to facilitate a slide-to-lock assembly, Kim does teach the slide-to-lock function. Kim states “when the hinge bracket 30 is pushed (or slid) in a direction of the arrow in FIG. 4… the second fixing protrusion 44 [is inserted into] the second fixing hole 43 (FIGS. 3-5 paragraph [0055]).” Additionally, as the hook 44 is slid into the second fixing hole 43, the positioning protrusion 46 is fitted into the positioning hole 45 to thereby prevent the hinge bracket 30 placed on the front panel 11 from moving back and forth, left, and right, and up and down (paragraph [0055]). These features of the hook 44, hole 43, protrusion 46, and positioning hole 45 as well as their engagements with each other are known in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lang U.S. Publication 2022/0064991 (henceforth referred to as Lang-991) in view of Lang U.S. Publication 2020/0355000 (henceforth referred to as Lang-000) and Kim et al. U.S. Publication 2006/0059710 (henceforth referred to as Kim).
As to claim 1, (Currently Amended) Lang-991 teaches a laundry appliance defining a vertical direction, a transverse direction, and a lateral direction, the laundry appliance comprising (FIG. 1 paragraph [0028] washing machine 10):
a cabinet comprising a panel (FIG. 1 paragraph [0028] machine wall 28 reads on the claimed panel of the cabinet);
a door rotatably mounted to the cabinet to provide selective access to the chamber (FIG. 1 paragraph [0028] door 14); and
a door lock assembly mounted to the panel for selectively locking the door (paragraph [0028] latch assembly 26), the door lock assembly comprising:
a door lock frame defining a first positioning feature and a second positioning feature that extend from the door lock frame (FIG. 4 paragraph [0030] two positioning projections 38), wherein:
the panel of the cabinet defines a first positioning feature aperture and a second positioning feature aperture (FIG. 3 paragraph [0030] positioning openings 40 in machine wall 28);
the first positioning feature aperture and configured to receive the first positioning feature (FIGS. 3-5 the first positioning aperture receives the first positioning feature); and
the second positioning feature aperture is elongated in the vertical direction, the transverse direction, or the lateral direction and configured to receive the second positioning feature (FIGS. 3-5 the second positioning aperture receives the second positioning feature. Paragraph [0032] positioning openings 40 are vertically elongated).
Lang-991 differs from the instant claim in failing to teach a basket rotatably mounted within the cabinet and defining a chamber for receiving of a load of clothes; the first positioning feature aperture is circular to thereby inhibit relative movement between the door lock frame and the panel of the cabinet in both the vertical and the lateral directions.
Lang-000 teaches a similar laundry appliance (FIG. 1 paragraph [0030] washing machine 10). Lang-000 teaches a basket rotatably mounted within the cabinet and defining a chamber for receiving of a load of clothes (paragraph [0030] a wash drum is rotatably mounted to form a wash chamber).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify laundry appliance as taught by Lang-991 with a rotatable basket as taught by Lang-000. It is known in the art for laundry appliances to have rotating basket as it aids with the agitation and cleaning of laundry.
Kim teaches a similar laundry appliance (FIG. 1 paragraph [0033] drying machine). Kim teaches the first positioning feature aperture is circular (paragraph [0049] circular-shaped positioning hole 45) and configured to receive the first positioning feature (paragraph [0049] a protrusion 46 is fitted into the positioning hole 45) to thereby inhibit relative movement between the door lock frame and the panel of the cabinet in both the vertical and the lateral directions (When the protrusion 46 is fitted into the positioning hole 45, relative movement would be inhibited in the vertical and lateral directions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify laundry appliance as taught by Lang-991 with a circular positioning aperture as taught by Kim. It is known in the art to have apertures that receive positioning features to secure components together. A circular shape is one of the various shapes of a positioning feature aperture.
As to claim 2, (Original) Lang-991 further teaches the second positioning feature engages the second positioning feature aperture to thereby inhibit relative movement between the door lock frame and the panel of the cabinet in the lateral direction, the vertical direction, the transverse direction, or a rotational direction (FIG. 3 the positioning projections 38 will inhibit movement in a rotational direction. Additionally, paragraph [0032] states that if the positioning openings 40 and the positioning protrusions are quadrangular, there would be no or at most only negligible movement in the horizontal orientation).
As to claim 3, (Original) Lang-991 further teaches the second positioning feature engages the second positioning feature aperture to thereby inhibit relative movement between the door lock frame and the panel of the cabinet in two directions; and
the two directions correspond to two of the lateral direction, the vertical direction, the transverse direction, or a rotational direction (FIG. 3 the positioning projections 38 will inhibit movement in a rotational direction and lateral direction. Additionally, paragraph [0032] states that if the positioning openings 40 and the positioning protrusions are quadrangular, there would be no or at most only negligible movement in the horizontal orientation).
As to claim 4, (Original) Kim further teaches the second positioning feature includes a hook portion (FIG. 3 paragraph [0048] fixing protrusion 44); and when the second positioning feature engages the second positioning feature aperture, the hook portion is received through the second positioning feature aperture and over an outer surface of the panel (FIG. 5 fixing protrusion 44 is received through fixing hole 43 and over an outer surface) to thereby inhibit relative movement between the door lock frame and the panel of the cabinet in the two directions (Fixing protrusion 44 will inhibit movement in a rotational direction and lateral direction).
It would have been obvious to add or replace the positioning projection of Lang-991 with a hook of Kim in order to secure the latch assembly to the machine wall.
As to claim 6, (Original) Lang-991 further teaches the door lock frame defines a third positioning feature (FIG. 4 paragraph [0029] mouthpiece 32 reads on the claimed third positioning feature); and the panel of the cabinet defines a third positioning feature aperture (paragraph [0029] mounting opening 34), the third positioning feature aperture configured to receive the third positioning feature (FIG. 4 paragraph [0029] the mouthpiece 32 is inserted from through the mounting opening 34).
As to claim 7, (Original) Lang-991 further teaches the third positioning feature engages the third positioning feature aperture to thereby inhibit relative movement between the door lock frame and the panel of the cabinet in the lateral direction, the vertical direction, the transverse direction, or a rotational direction (FIG. 3 the mouthpiece 32 would inhibit relative movement in the lateral direction and the rotational direction).
As to claim 9, (Original) Lang-991 further teaches the first positioning feature and the second positioning feature are aligned in the lateral direction, the vertical direction, or the transverse direction (FIGS. 3-5 the first positioning feature and the second positioning feature are aligned in the vertical direction).
As to claim 10, (Original) Lang-991 further teaches the panel of the cabinet is configured as a front panel of the cabinet (FIG. 1 machine wall 28 is the front panel of the cabinet.).
As to claim 11, (Original) Lang-991 further teaches the laundry appliance is a front load washing machine appliance (paragraph [0028] front-loader type washing machine) or a front load dryer appliance.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lang U.S. Publication 2022/0064991 (henceforth referred to as Lang-991), Lang U.S. Publication 2020/0355000 (henceforth referred to as Lang-000), and Kim et al. U.S. Publication 2006/0059710 (henceforth referred to as Kim) as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Joerger U.S. Publication 2010/0026015 (henceforth referred to as Joerger).
As to claim 8, (Original) Kim further teaches the door lock frame defines the door lock frame defines a first screw hole positioned adjacent the first positioning feature and a second screw hole positioned adjacent the second positioning feature for receiving mechanical fasteners therein (FIG. 3 screw holes 26 are adjacent to fixing protrusions 42 and 44).
Lang-991, Lang-000, and Kim differ from the instant claim in failing to teach screw bosses.
Joerger teaches a similar laundry appliance (FIG. 1 paragraph [0056] laundry washing appliance 1). Joerger teaches screw bosses (FIGS. 18-19 paragraph [0071] screw bosses).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify laundry appliance as taught by Lang-991, Lang-000, and Kim with a screw boss as taught by Joerger as the screw bosses ensure that the tightening of the screw heads will not inhibit free sliding (paragraph [0071]).
The combination of Lang-991, Kim and Joerger would result in the door lock frame defining screw bosses being positioned adjacent to the first positioning features.
Claims 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lang U.S. Publication 2022/0064991 (henceforth referred to as Lang-991) in view of Heater U.S. Publication 2019/0177904 henceforth referred to as Heater) and Kim et al. U.S. Publication 2006/0059710 (henceforth referred to as Kim).
As to claim 12, (Currently Amended) Lang-991 further teaches a laundry appliance defining a vertical direction, a transverse direction, and a lateral direction (FIG. 1 paragraph [0028] washing machine 10), the laundry appliance comprising:
a cabinet comprising a panel (FIG. 1 paragraph [0028] machine wall 28 reads on the claimed panel of the cabinet);
a door rotatably mounted to the cabinet to provide selective access to the chamber (FIG. 1 paragraph [0028] door 14); and
a door lock assembly mounted to the panel for selectively locking the door (paragraph [0028] latch assembly 26), the door lock assembly comprising:
a door lock frame defining a first positioning feature and a second positioning feature that extend from the door lock frame (FIG. 4 paragraph [0030] two positioning projections 38),
wherein:
the panel of the cabinet defines a first positioning feature aperture and a second positioning feature aperture (FIG. 3 paragraph [0030] positioning openings 40 in machine wall 28), the second positioning feature aperture being elongated in an elongated direction comprising one of the vertical direction, the transverse direction, or the lateral direction;
the first positioning feature aperture is configured to receive the first positioning feature and the second positioning feature aperture is configured to receive the second positioning feature (FIGS. 3-5 the first positioning aperture and the second positioning aperture receive the first positioning feature and the second positioning feature, respectively).
Lang-991 differs from the instant claim in failing to teach a tub positioned within the cabinet; a basket rotatably mounted within the tub and defining a chamber for receiving of a load of clothes; the second positioning feature including a hook portion, the first positioning feature aperture is circular; the hook portion of the second positioning feature engages an outer surface of the panel of the cabinet after the second positioning feature is moved along the elongated direction of the of the second positioning feature aperture.
Heater teaches a similar laundry appliance (FIG. 1 paragraph [0021] washing machine 10). Heater teaches a tub positioned within the cabinet (paragraph [0022] tub 14); a basket rotatably mounted within the tub and defining a chamber for receiving of a load of clothes (FIG. 1 paragraph [0022] drum 16 defines a portion of the laundry treating chamber).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify laundry appliance as taught by Lang-991 with a tub and basket as taught by Heater. It is known in the art to have a basket mounted within the tub so that the basket can rotate to allow for agitation and subsequently, better cleaning of the laundry.
Kim teaches a similar laundry appliance (FIG. 1 paragraph [0033] drying machine). Kim teaches the second positioning feature including a hook portion (FIG. 3 paragraph [0048] fixing protrusion 44), the first positioning feature aperture is circular (paragraph [0049] circular-shaped positioning hole 45); the hook portion of the second positioning feature engages an outer surface of the panel of the cabinet (FIG. 5 fixing protrusion 44 is received through fixing hole 43 and over an outer surface).
Although Kim shows that the second positioning feature (being a hook portion) is on the panel of the cabinet and the second positioning feature aperture is on the door lock frame, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to rearrange the parts in which the second positioning feature is on the door lock frame and the second positioning feature aperture is on the panel of the cabinet. It is known in the art to move the hook along the elongated direction of the aperture to engage the hook with a surface of a component (see paragraph [0055]). By rearranging the locations of the hook and the aperture, it would result in the hook portion of the second positioning feature engages an outer surface of the panel of the cabinet after the second positioning feature is moved along the elongated direction of the of the second positioning feature aperture.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify laundry appliance as taught by Lang-991 with a hook portion, a circular positioning feature aperture and a way to engage the positioning feature with the second positioning feature aperture as taught by Kim. It is known in the art to secure panels, covers, frames, etc. by inserting a hook portion into an aperture (a circular aperture being one of the various shapes of a positioning feature aperture). It would have been obvious to add or replace the positioning projection of Lang-991 with a hook of Kim in order to secure the latch assembly to the machine wall.
As to claim 13, (Currently Amended) Lang-991 and Kim further teach the second positioning feature engages the second positioning feature aperture to thereby inhibit relative movement between the door lock frame and the panel of the cabinet in the lateral direction, the vertical direction, the transverse direction, or a rotational direction (Lang-991 FIG. 3 the positioning projections 38 will inhibit movement in a rotational direction. Additionally, paragraph [0032] states that if the positioning openings 40 and the positioning protrusions are quadrangular, there would be no or at most only negligible movement in the horizontal orientation or Kim FIG. 5 paragraph [0055] when fixing protrusion 44 is inserted through fixing hole 43 the hinge bracket 30 will be prevented from moving back and forth, left and right, and up and down).
As to claim 14, (Currently Amended) Lang-991 and Kim further teach the hook portion is received through the second positioning feature aperture and over the outer surface (If the fixing protrusion 44 of Kim replaces or is added onto the positioning projection 38 of Lang-991, the combination would result in a fixing protrusion that is received in a second positioning feature aperture that is over an outer surface) of the panel to thereby inhibit relative movement between the door lock frame and the panel of the cabinet in the lateral direction, the vertical direction, the transverse direction, or a rotational direction (Kim Fixing protrusion 44 will inhibit movement in a lateral direction, the transverse direction, and a rotational direction).
As to claim 15, (Original) Lang-991 further teaches the first positioning feature engages the first positioning feature aperture to thereby inhibit relative movement between the door lock frame and the panel of the cabinet in two directions; and the two directions correspond to two of the lateral direction, the vertical direction, or the transverse direction (FIG. 3 the positioning projections 38 will inhibit movement in a rotational direction and lateral direction. Additionally, paragraph [0032] states that if the positioning openings 40 and the positioning protrusions are quadrangular, there would be no or at most only negligible movement in the horizontal orientation).
As to claim 16, (Original) Lang-991 further teaches the door lock frame defines a third positioning feature (FIG. 4 paragraph [0029] mouthpiece 32 reads on the claimed third positioning feature); and the panel of the cabinet defines a third positioning feature aperture (paragraph [0029] mounting opening 34), the third positioning feature aperture configured to receive the third positioning feature (FIG. 4 paragraph [0029] the mouthpiece 32 is inserted from through the mounting opening 34).
As to claim 17, (Original) Lang-991 further teaches the third positioning feature engages the third positioning feature aperture to thereby inhibit relative movement between the door lock frame and the panel of the cabinet in the lateral direction, the vertical direction, the transverse direction, or a rotational direction (FIG. 3 the mouthpiece 32 would inhibit relative movement in the lateral direction and the rotational direction).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.G.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1711
/MICHAEL E BARR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1711