Double Patenting
Claims 1-15, 19-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15, 19-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,538.578, (see the table below). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claim 1 of the instant Application, recites common subject matter with the patent
claim 1;
Whereby claim 1, of the instant application, which recite the open-ended
transitional phrase “comprising”, does not preclude the additional elements recited by patent claim 1, and
Whereby the elements of claim 1 of the instant Application are fully anticipated
by patent claim 1.
Instant Application
Comparison
U.S. Patent No. 11,538.578
1. A system adapted to enable a user to view one or more pathology images in a web browser, wherein the system comprises:
one or more web servers, wherein the one or more web servers is configured to:
obtain at least one of the one or more pathology images in a first format;
convert the pathology image into a file comprising images grouped into a plurality of levels, wherein the images in different ones of the plurality of levels correspond to a portion of the pathology image at a different degree of resolution, wherein each image in a given one of the plurality of levels corresponds to a portion of the pathology image at a same degree of resolution, and wherein the images are in a second format;
cause the file to be stored in a first memory;
convert the images into a third format; and
cause the images to be stored in the third format in a second memory; and
a plurality of programmatic instructions adapted to be stored in non-transient memory and executed on a client device, wherein, when executed, the plurality of programmatic instructions are adapted to receive a request from the user to view the pathology image and load one or more of the images from at least one of the plurality of levels corresponding to a specified resolution and wherein the one or more images are in the second format.
1. (Currently Amended) A system adapted to enable a user to view one or more pathology images in a web browser, wherein the system comprises: one or more web servers, wherein the one or more web servers is configured to: obtain at least one of the one or more pathology images in a first format; convert the pathology image into a file comprising images grouped into a plurality of levels, wherein the images in different ones of the plurality of levels correspond to a portion of the pathology image at a different degree of resolution, wherein each image in a given one of the plurality of levels corresponds to a portion of the pathology image at a same degree of resolution, and wherein the images are in a second format; cause the file to be stored in a first memory; convert the images into a third format; and cause the images to be stored in the third format in a second memory, wherein the third format is different from the second format and the first format; and a plurality of programmatic instructions adapted to be stored in non-transient memory and executed on a client device, wherein, when executed, the plurality of programmatic instructions are adapted to receive a request from the user to view the pathology image and load one or more of the images from at least one of the plurality of levels corresponding to a specified resolution and wherein the one or more images are in the second format.
1.(Currently Amended) A system adapted to enable a user to view one or more pathology images in a web browser, wherein the system comprises:
one or more web servers, wherein the one or more web servers is configured to:
obtain at least one of the one or more pathology images in a first format;
convert the pathology image into a file comprising images grouped into a plurality of levels, wherein the images in different ones of the plurality of levels correspond to a portion of the pathology image at a different degree of resolution, wherein each image in a given one of the plurality of levels corresponds to a portion of the pathology image at a same degree of resolution, and wherein the images are in a second format;
cause the file to be stored in a first memory;
convert the images into a third format; and
cause the images to be stored in the third format in a second memory,
wherein the third format is different from the second format and the first format; and
a plurality of programmatic instructions adapted to be stored in non-transient memory and executed on a client device, wherein, when executed, the plurality of programmatic instructions are adapted to receive a request from the user to view the pathology image and load one or more of the images from at least one of the plurality of levels corresponding to a specified resolution and wherein the one or more images are in the second format.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the file is in a hierarchical representation.
2. (Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the file is in a hierarchical representation.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the file is in a hierarchical representation.
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the file is in a pyramid representation.
3. (Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the file is in a pyramid representation.
3. The system of claim 1, wherein the file is in a pyramid representation.
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more web servers is configured to convert the images into a third format such that the images' degrees of resolution are maintained.
4. (Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more web servers is configured to convert the images into a third format such that the images’' degrees of resolution are maintained.
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the one or more web servers is configured to convert the images into a third format such that the images' degrees of resolution are maintained.
5. The system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of programmatic instructions are adapted to receive the request identifying the specified resolution.
5. (Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of programmatic instructions are adapted to receive the request identifying the specified resolution.
5. The system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of programmatic instructions are adapted to receive the request identifying the specified resolution.
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the first memory comprises a web cache in the client device.
6. (Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the first memory comprises a web cache in the client device.
6. The system of claim 1, wherein the first memory comprises a web cache in the client device.
7. The system of claim 1, wherein the second memory comprises a web archive.
7. (Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the second memory comprises a web archive.
7. The system of claim 1, wherein the second memory comprises a web archive.
8. The system of claim 1, wherein the first format is a WSI format.
8. (Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the first format is a WSI format.
8. The system of claim 1, wherein the first format is a WSI format.
9. The system of claim 1, wherein the second format is at least one of a TIFF format, a JPEG format, or a PNG format.
9. (Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the second format is at least one of a TIFF format, a JPEG format, or a PNG format.
9. The system of claim 1, wherein the second format is at least one of a TIFF format, a JPEG format, or a PNG format.
10. The system of claim 1, wherein the third format is a DICOM format.
10. (Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the third format is a DICOM format.
10. The system of claim 1, wherein the third format is a DICOM format.
11. The system of claim 1, wherein the file is in a pyramid representation and wherein a number of the plurality of levels in the pyramid representation file is at least two.
11. (Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the file is in a pyramid representation and wherein a number of the plurality of levels in the pyramid representation file is at least two.
11. The system of claim 1, wherein the file is in a pyramid representation and wherein a number of the plurality of levels in the pyramid representation file is at least two.
12. The system of claim 1, wherein the file is in a pyramid representation and wherein a number of the plurality of levels in the pyramid representation file is no greater than one hundred.
12. (Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the file is in a pyramid representation and wherein a number of the plurality of levels in the pyramid representation file is no greater than one hundred.
12. The system of claim 1, wherein the file is in a pyramid representation and wherein a number of the plurality of levels in the pyramid representation file is no greater than one hundred.
13. The system of claim 1, wherein the file is in a pyramid representation and wherein a top of the plurality of levels in the pyramid representation file comprises the pathology image at a lowest resolution.
13. (Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the file is in a pyramid representation and wherein a top of the plurality of levels in the pyramid representation file comprises the pathology image at a lowest resolution.
13. The system of claim 1, wherein the file is in a pyramid representation and wherein a top of the plurality of levels in the pyramid representation file comprises the pathology image at a lowest resolution.
14. The system of claim 1, wherein the file is in a pyramid representation and wherein a base of the plurality of levels in the pyramid representation file comprises the pathology image at a highest resolution.
14. (Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the file is in a pyramid representation and wherein a base of the plurality of levels in the pyramid representation file comprises the pathology image at a highest resolution.
14. The system of claim 1, wherein the file is in a pyramid representation and wherein a base of the plurality of levels in the pyramid representation file comprises the pathology image at a highest resolution.
15. The system of claim 1, wherein the client device is remote from the one or more web servers.
15. (Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the client device is remote from the one or more web servers.
15. The system of claim 1, wherein the client device is remote from the one or more web servers.
19. The system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of programmatic instructions are adapted to load the one or more images into the web browser.
19. (Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of programmatic instructions are adapted to load the one or more images into the web browser.
19. (Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of programmatic instructions are adapted to load the one or more images into the web browser.
20. The system of claim 1, wherein the web browser is coupled with the first memory.
20. (Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the web browser is coupled with the first memory.
20. (Original) The system of claim 1, wherein the web browser is coupled with the first memory.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BoDa et al, (US-PGPUB 2021/0358596) in view of Chang et al, (US Patent 6,711,297)
In regards to claim 1, BoDa et al discloses a system adapted to enable a user to
view one or more pathology images in a web browser, (see at least: Figs. 1A-1D), wherein the system comprises:
one or more web servers, wherein the one or more web servers, (see at least: Fig. 1A, server 160), is configured to:
obtain at least one of the one or more pathology images in a first format, (see at least: Par. 0046, using medical imaging equipment that use scanners to generate images of histopathology slides or cytopathology slides, [i.e., obtain at least one of the one or more pathology images in a first format]. Note that the although that the system of the present disclosure is using biological image data obtained from a subject (e.g. a biopsy sample obtained from a human patient), the current system could be be applied to medical imaging equipment that use scanners, [i.e., “X-RAY, MRI, CT,…”], as shown in Par. 0046);
convert the pathology image into a file comprising images prior to storage in a server cache or transmission to a client system, [i.e., implicitly converting the pathology image into file comprising images in a second format]);
cause the file to be stored in a first memory, (see at least: Par. 0064, the server 160, includes caches, i.e., allocated storage spaces within the comprises mass storage device 164, which implicitly stores the preprocessed or the converted file format);
convert the images into a third format, (see at least: Par. 0057, the destination file format is one that is readable by a standard web browser running on a client system. Further, Par. 0062, discloses that the image management module 188 of the server 160, may include a converter configured to take incoming scanned image data and automatically convert it for distribution to and viewing within an interface, e.g. a web browser, of the client device, [i.e., implicitly converting the images into a third format compatible with the web browser of the client system 170]); and
cause the images to be stored in the third format in a second memory, (see at least: Par. 0064, the client system 170 includes caches, i.e. allocated storage spaces within the storage subsystem 104, which implicitly stores the file images in the third format compatible with the web browser of the client system 170); and
a plurality of programmatic instructions adapted to be stored in non-transient memory and executed on a client device, wherein, when executed, the plurality of programmatic instructions, (see at least: Par. 0071-0072), are adapted to receive a request from the user to view the pathology image and load one or more of the images
BoDa et al does not expressly disclose that the file images are grouped into a
plurality of levels, wherein the images in different ones of the plurality of levels correspond to a portion of the pathology image at a different degree of resolution, wherein each image in a given one of the plurality of levels corresponds to a portion of the pathology image at a same degree of resolution; and a plurality of programmatic instructions adapted to be stored in non-transient memory and executed on a client device, wherein, when executed, the plurality of programmatic instructions are adapted to receive a request from the user to view the pathology image and load one or more of the images from at least one of the plurality of levels corresponding to a specified resolution.
However, Chang discloses grouping the file images into a plurality of levels,
wherein the images in different ones of the plurality of levels correspond to a portion of the hierarchical representation of the source image, [i.e., grouping the file images into a plurality of levels, “pyramid structure”, wherein the images in different ones of the plurality of levels correspond to a portion of the image implicitly at a different degree of resolution, “as each level of the pyramid structure has different degree of resolution. Note that the dynamic transfer syntax system of the present invention has applications for use in medical imaging and medical imaging applications, “col. 6, lines 50-52”, [i.e., could be applied to pathology images], and each level of the hierarchical representation is sufficient to reconstruct the source image at a given resolution, [i.e., wherein each image in a given one of the plurality of levels corresponds to a portion of the pathology image at a same degree of resolution, “each level of the hierarchical representation represents the portion of the pathology image at a same degree of resolution]); and receiving a request from the user to view the image [file] and load one or more of the images from at least one of the plurality of levels corresponding to a specified resolution, (see at least: col. 9, lines 23-60, the client application 340 receives user input from an input control device, [i.e., receiving a request from the user to view the”], and in turn, the client application 340 generates the pixel coordinates, with reference to the original source image, to define the image area and the resolution of the source image selected by the user, and the mapping 330 generates physical coefficient coordinates that map to the pixel coordinates that defines the range of coefficients, stored as the pyramidal data structure, and transmit the physical coefficient from the client 150 to the server 140. The server 140 receives the coefficient coordinates, and transmits, over the network 160, the coefficients identified by the coefficient coordinates, [i.e., implicitly loading one or more of the images from at least one of the plurality of levels corresponding to a specified resolution, “the resolution of the source image selected by the user”, as the physical coefficient coordinates define the range of coefficients, stored as the pyramidal data structure]).
BoDa et al and Chang are combinable because they are both concerned with transferring data files between systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, to modify BoDa et al, to use the pyramidal data structure, as though by Chang, in order to efficiently transfer and manipulate large data files, (Chang, col. 1, lines 15-16)
In regards to claim 2, the combine teaching BoDa et al and Chang as whole discloses the limitations of claim 1.
Further, Chang discloses wherein the file is in a hierarchical representation, (see at least: col. 6, lines 1-15, “a hierarchical representation of the source image”).
In regards to claim 3, the combine teaching BoDa et al and Chang as whole discloses the limitations of claim 1.
Further, Chang discloses wherein the file is in a pyramid representation, (see at least: col. 6, lines 1-15, “pyramidal data structure 130”)
In regards to claim 4, the combine teaching BoDa et al and Chang as whole discloses the limitations of claim 1.
Further, Chang discloses wherein the one or more web servers is configured to convert the images into a third format such that the images’ degrees of resolution are maintained, (see at least: col. 6, lines 1-15, in general, the pyramidal data structure 130 comprises a hierarchical representation of the source image, and each level of the hierarchical representation is sufficient to reconstruct the source image at a given resolution, [i.e., convert the images into a third format, “reconstruct the source image”, such that the images’ degrees of resolution are maintained, “each level of the hierarchical representation is sufficient to reconstruct the source image at a given resolution”]).
In regards to claim 5, the combine teaching BoDa et al and Chang as whole discloses the limitations of claim 1.
Further, Chang discloses wherein the plurality of programmatic instructions are adapted to receive the request identifying the specified resolution, (see at least: col. 9, lines 23-60, the client application 340 generates the pixel coordinates, with reference to the original source image, to define the image area and the resolution of the source image selected by the user).
In regards to claim 6, the combine teaching BoDa et al and Chang as whole discloses the limitations of claim 1.
Further, BoDa et al discloses wherein the first memory comprises a web cache in the client device, (BoDa, see at least: Par. 0064, the server 160, includes caches, i.e., allocated storage spaces within the comprises mass storage device 164, which implicitly stores the preprocessed or the converted file format)
In regards to claim 7, the combine teaching BoDa et al and Chang as whole discloses the limitations of claim 1.
Further, BoDa et al discloses wherein the second memory comprises a web archive, (BoDa, see at least: Par. 0064, the client system 170 includes caches, i.e., allocated storage spaces within the storage subsystem 104).
In regards to claim 8, the combine teaching BoDa et al and Chang as whole discloses the limitations of claim 1.
Further, BoDa et al discloses wherein the first format is a WSI format, (see at least: Par. 0093, whole slide image in a first format)
In regards to claim 9, the combine teaching BoDa et al and Chang as whole discloses the limitations of claim 1.
Further, BoDa et al discloses wherein the second format is at least one of a TIFF format, a JPEG format, or a PNG format, (see at least: Par. 0093, the second image file format is a compressed file format including, but not limited to, JPEG, JPEG 2000, and PNG)
In regards to claim 10, the combine teaching BoDa et al and Chang as whole discloses the limitations of claim 1.
Further, BoDa et al discloses wherein the third format is a DICOM format, (see at least: Par. 0093-0094, a single DICOM, corresponds to the third format).
In regards to claim 11, the combine teaching BoDa et al and Chang as whole discloses the limitations of claim 1.
Further, Chang discloses wherein the file is in a pyramid representation and wherein a number of the plurality of levels in the pyramid representation file is at least two levels, (see at least: col. 6, lines 1-15, “pyramidal data structure 130”. Further, Fig. 2a-2h, col. 8, lines 23-39, discloses an example pyramidal data structure comprising plurality of levels, comprising at least four levels, as shown in Figs. 2a-2h, [i.e., the pyramid representation file is implicitly at least two levels]).
In regards to claim 12, the combine teaching BoDa et al and Chang as whole discloses the limitations of claim 1.
Further, Chang discloses wherein the file is in a pyramid representation and wherein a number of the plurality of levels in the pyramid representation file is no greater than one hundred, (see at least: Figs 5A-5B, “pyramidal data structure 130”, is greater than one hundred levels).
The combine teaching BoDa et al and Chang as whole does not expressly disclose that the number of the plurality of levels in the pyramid representation file no greater than one hundred.
At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the number of the plurality of levels in the pyramid representation file no greater than one hundred. Applicant has not disclosed that setting the pre-set limit below one-hundred percent provides an advantage, be used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with either the pyramidal data structure 130 as though by Chang, or the Applicant’s claimed pyramid representation of claim 12, wherein the number of the plurality of levels in the pyramid representation file is no greater than one hundred, because both pyramid representation structures perform the same function of efficiently transferring and manipulate large data image files, (Chang, col. 1, lines 15-16).
In regards to claim 13, the combine teaching BoDa et al and Chang as whole discloses the limitations of claim 1.
Further, Chang discloses wherein the file is in a pyramid representation and wherein a top of the plurality of levels in the pyramid representation file comprises the pathology image at a lowest resolution, (see at least: col. 6, lines 1-15, “pyramidal data structure 130”. Further, Figs. 2a-2h, disclose that the top the plurality of levels in the pyramid representation file comprises the image file at lowest resolution, “low low-level tile”, “as shown in fig. 2h”).
In regards to claim 14, the combine teaching BoDa et al and Chang as whole discloses the limitations of claim 1.
Further, Chang discloses wherein the file is in a pyramid representation and wherein a base of the plurality of levels in the pyramid representation file comprises the pathology image at a highest resolution, (see at least: col. 6, lines 1-15, “pyramidal data structure 130”. Further, Figs. 2a-2h, disclose that the top the plurality of levels in the pyramid representation file comprises the image file at highest resolution, “high high-level tile”, “as shown in Fig. 2h”)
In regards to claim 15, the combine teaching BoDa et al and Chang as whole discloses the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, BoDa et al discloses wherein the client device is remote from the one or more web servers, (see at least: Figs. 1A- 1D, the client system 170 is remote from the web server 160)
In regards to claim 19, the combine teaching BoDa et al and Chang as whole discloses the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, BoDa et al discloses wherein the plurality of programmatic instructions are adapted to load the one or more images into the web browser, (see at least: Par. 0062, the image management module 188 may include a converter configured to take incoming scanned image data and automatically convert it for distribution to and viewing within an interface, e.g., a web browser, [i.e., implicitly loading the one or more images into the web browser]).
In regards to claim 20, the combine teaching BoDa et al and Chang as whole discloses the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, BoDa et al discloses wherein the web browser is coupled with the first memory, (see at least: Fig. 1D, the browser 195 is coupled to the cache agent 140, “first memory”)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 16, the prior art of record, alone or in reasonable combination, does not teach or suggest, the following limitation(s), (in consideration of the claim as a whole):
“wherein the third format is different from the second format and the first format”.
The prior art of record, BoDa et al (US-PGPUB 2021/0358596) discloses that the whole slide image in a first format, “WSI”, and the compressed second file format includes, at least one of JPEG, and the and PNG, [i.e., the second format and the first format are different from each other], (see at least: Par. 0093). However, while disclosing that the whole slide image in a first format, “WSI”, and the compressed second file format includes, at least one of JPEG, and the and PNG, [i.e., the second format and the first format are different from each other], (see at least: Par. 0093); BoDa et al fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination with the other cited references, that the second format is different from the third format and the first format.
A further prior art of record, Chang et al, (US Patent 6,711,297) discloses grouping the file images into a plurality of levels, wherein the images in different ones of the plurality of levels correspond to a portion of the receiving a request from the user to view the image and load one or more of the images from at least one of the plurality of levels corresponding to a specified resolution, (see at least: col. 9, lines 23-60); but fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination with the other cited references, that the second format is different from the third format and the first format
With respect to claim 17, the prior art of record, alone or in reasonable combination, does not teach or suggest, the following limitation(s), (in consideration of the claim as a whole):
“wherein the second format is different from the third format and the first format.”
The prior art of record, BoDa et al (US-PGPUB 2021/0358596), and Chang et al, (US Patent 6,711,297) stated above with respect to claim 16, apply also to claim 17, but none, either alone or in combination, teach or suggest all the claimed limitations.
With respect to claim 18, the prior art of record, alone or in reasonable combination, does not teach or suggest, the following limitation(s), (in consideration of the claim as a whole):
“wherein each of the first format, second format and third format are different from each other”
The prior art of record, BoDa et al (US-PGPUB 2021/0358596), and Chang et al, (US Patent 6,711,297) stated above with respect to claim 16, apply also to claim 17, but none, either alone or in combination, teach or suggest all the claimed limitations.
Contact Information
/AMARA ABDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2668 06/26/2026