DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
3. Claims 1-11 of the instant application is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 23-24 of US Patent 10,003,938 in view of Shan et al. (US 2016/0295384 A1) (hereinafter Shan), and further in view of Choi et al. ("Mobile Device and Method for Controlling the Operation of the Mobile Device", KR 20130099697 A, pub. date 2013-09-06) (hereinafter Choi).
Claim 24 of US Patent 10,003,938 recites a mobile electronic device displaying messages sent between a first participant and a second participant in a message conversation. The mobile electronic device of claim 24 differs from claim 1 of the instant application in that it fails to disclose detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript; detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region; and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region: displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position; and displaying a location-sharing affordance at the first position.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Shan teaches detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript (Fig. 4B, Fig. 4G, and [0071]); detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region (Fig. 4B, [0068], and [0071]); and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region (Fig. 4B): displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position (Fig. 4B); displaying an affordance at the first position (Fig. 4C).
Therefore it would have been obvious to modify the mobile electronic device of claim 24 of US Patent 10,003,938 in order to reveal a hidden location-sharing menu or interface within a messaging application using an intuitive swipe-up gesture on the conversation screen, eliminating unnecessary and redundant inputs, and creating a faster and more efficient workflow.
The mobile electronic device of claim 24 further differs from claim 1 of the instant application in that it fails to disclose that displaying a location-sharing affordance is in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Choi teaches displaying an item is in response to detecting a movement of a contact across a touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of a region (Fig. 4C and pg. 10, par. 5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to further modify the mobile electronic device of claim 24 of US Patent 10,003,938 in order to dynamically reveal content by shifting, scrolling, or transforming the visual layout.
Claim 23 of US Patent 10,003,938 recites a method of displaying messages sent between a first participant and a second participant in a message conversation. The method of claim 23 differs from claim 10 of the instant application in that it fails to disclose detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript; detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region; and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region: displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position; and displaying a location-sharing affordance at the first position.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Shan teaches detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript (Fig. 4B, Fig. 4G, and [0071]); detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region (Fig. 4B, [0068], and [0071]); and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region (Fig. 4B): displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position (Fig. 4B); displaying an affordance at the first position (Fig. 4C).
Therefore it would have been obvious to modify the method of claim 23 of US Patent 10,003,938 in order to reveal a hidden location-sharing menu or interface within a messaging application using an intuitive swipe-up gesture on the conversation screen, eliminating unnecessary and redundant inputs, and creating a faster and more efficient workflow.
The method of claim 23 further differs from claim 10 of the instant application in that it fails to disclose that displaying a location-sharing affordance is in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Choi teaches displaying an item is in response to detecting a movement of a contact across a touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of a region (Fig. 4C and pg. 10, par. 5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to further modify the method of Claim 23 of US Patent 10,003,938 in order to dynamically reveal content by shifting, scrolling, or transforming the visual layout.
Claim 1 of US Patent 10,003,938 recites a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs comprising instructions for displaying messages sent between a first participant and a second participant in a message conversation. The instructions of claim 1 differs from claim 11 of the instant application in that it fails to disclose detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript; detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region; and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region: displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position; and displaying a location-sharing affordance at the first position.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Shan teaches detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript (Fig. 4B, Fig. 4G, and [0071]); detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region (Fig. 4B, [0068], and [0071]); and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region (Fig. 4B): displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position (Fig. 4B); displaying an affordance at the first position (Fig. 4C).
Therefore it would have been obvious to modify the instructions of claim 1 of US Patent 10,003,938 in order to reveal a hidden location-sharing menu or interface within a messaging application using an intuitive swipe-up gesture on the conversation screen, eliminating unnecessary and redundant inputs, and creating a faster and more efficient workflow.
The instructions of claim 1 further differs from claim 11 of the instant application in that it fails to disclose that displaying a location-sharing affordance is in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Choi teaches displaying an item is in response to detecting a movement of a contact across a touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of a region (Fig. 4C and pg. 10, par. 5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to further modify the instructions of claim 1 of US Patent 10,003,938 in order to dynamically reveal content by shifting, scrolling, or transforming the visual layout.
The mobile electronic device of claim 1 further differs from claim 11 of the instant application in that it fails to disclose that displaying a location-sharing affordance is in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Choi teaches displaying an item is in response to detecting a movement of a contact across a touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of a region (Fig. 4C and pg. 10, par. 5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to further modify the instructions of claim 1 of US Patent 10,003,938 in order to dynamically reveal content by shifting, scrolling, or transforming the visual layout.
CLAIMS FOR INSTANT APPLICATION 18,802,166
CLAIMS FOR US Patent 10,003,938
1. An electronic device, comprising: a touch-sensitive surface; a display; one or more processors; memory storing one or more programs including instructions for: displaying, on the display, a message region; displaying, at a first position in the message region, a bottom portion of a message transcript of messages sent between a first participant and a second participant; detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript; detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region; and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region: displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position; and displaying a location-sharing affordance at the first position.
24. A mobile electronic device of a first participant comprising: a touch-sensitive surface; a display; one or more processors; and
memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for: displaying, on the display, a message region; displaying, in the message region, a transcript of messages sent between the first participant and a second participant in a message conversation; detecting a location-sharing request from the first participant to share first participant location information with the second participant; in response to detecting the location-sharing request from the first participant: enabling the second participant to obtain the first participant location information during a predetermined location-sharing time period, wherein the predetermined location-sharing time period is scheduled to end at a first time; detecting that a message has been sent by one of the first participant and the second participant via the message conversation during the predetermined location-sharing time period; and in response to detecting that the message has been sent by one of the first participant and the second participant via the message conversation during the predetermined location-sharing time period: automatically extending the predetermined location-sharing time period to end at a second time that is after the first time based on the detection that the message has been sent by one of the first participant and the second participant via the message conversation during the predetermined location-sharing time period.
10. A method comprising: at an electronic device comprising a touch-sensitive surface and a display: displaying, on the display, a message region; displaying, at a first position in the message region, a bottom portion of a message transcript of messages sent between a first participant and a second participant; detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript; detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region; and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region: displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position; and displaying a location-sharing affordance at the first position.
23. A method comprising:
at a mobile electronic device of a first participant comprising a touch-sensitive surface and a display: displaying, on the display, a message region; displaying, in the message region, a transcript of messages sent between the first participant and a second participant in a message conversation; detecting a location-sharing request from the first participant to share first participant location information with the second participant; in response to detecting the location-sharing request from the first participant: enabling the second participant to obtain the first participant location information during a predetermined location-sharing time period, wherein the predetermined location-sharing time period is scheduled to end at a first time; detecting that a message has been sent by one of the first participant and the second participant via the message conversation during the predetermined location-sharing time period; and in response to detecting that the message has been sent by one of the first participant and the second participant via the message conversation during the predetermined location-sharing time period: automatically extending the predetermined location-sharing time period to end at a second time that is after the first time based on the detection that the message has been sent by one of the first participant and the second participant via the message conversation during the predetermined location-sharing time period.
11. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of an electronic device with a touch-sensitive surface and a display, the one or more programs including instructions for: displaying, on the display, a message region; displaying, at a first position in the message region, a bottom portion of a message transcript of messages sent between a first participant and a second participant; detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript; detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region; and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region: displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position; and displaying a location-sharing affordance at the first position.
1. non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions, which when executed by one or more processors of a mobile electronic device of a first participant with a touch-sensitive surface and a display, cause the device to: display, on the display, a message region; display, in the message region, a transcript of messages sent between the first participant and a second participant in a message conversation; detect a location-sharing request from the first participant to share first participant location information with the second participant; in response to detecting the location-sharing request from the first participant: enable the second participant to obtain the first participant location information during a predetermined location-sharing time period, wherein the predetermined location-sharing time period is scheduled to end at a first time; detect that a message has been sent by one of the first participant and the second participant via the message conversation during the predetermined location-sharing time period; and in response to detecting that a message has been sent by one of the first participant and the second participant via the message conversation during the predetermined location-sharing time period: automatically extend the predetermined location-sharing time period to end at a second time that is after the first time based on the detection that the message has been sent by one of the first participant and the second participant via the message conversation during the predetermined location-sharing time period.
4. Claims 1-11 of the instant application is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 14-15 of US Patent 9,998,888 in view of Shan et al. (US 2016/0295384 A1) (hereinafter Shan), and further in view of Choi et al. ("Mobile Device and Method for Controlling the Operation of the Mobile Device", KR 20130099697 A, pub. date 2013-09-06) (hereinafter Choi).
Claim 1 of US Patent 9,998,888 recites a mobile electronic device displaying messages sent between a first participant and a second participant in a message conversation. The mobile electronic device of claim 1 differs from claim 1 of the instant application in that it fails to disclose detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript; detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region; and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region: displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position; and displaying a location-sharing affordance at the first position.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Shan teaches detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript (Fig. 4B, Fig. 4G, and [0071]); detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region (Fig. 4B, [0068], and [0071]); and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region (Fig. 4B): displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position (Fig. 4B); displaying an affordance at the first position (Fig. 4C).
Therefore it would have been obvious to modify the mobile electronic device of claim 1 of US Patent 9,998,888 in order to reveal a hidden location-sharing menu or interface within a messaging application using an intuitive swipe-up gesture on the conversation screen, eliminating unnecessary and redundant inputs, and creating a faster and more efficient workflow.
The mobile electronic device of claim 1 further differs from claim 1 of the instant application in that it fails to disclose that displaying a location-sharing affordance is in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Choi teaches displaying an item is in response to detecting a movement of a contact across a touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of a region (Fig. 4C and pg. 10, par. 5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to further modify the mobile electronic device of claim 1 of US Patent 9,998,888 in order to dynamically reveal content by shifting, scrolling, or transforming the visual layout.
Claim 14 of US Patent 9,998,888 recites a method of displaying messages sent between a first participant and a second participant in a message conversation. The method of claim 14 differs from claim 10 of the instant application in that it fails to disclose detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript; detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region; and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region: displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position; and displaying a location-sharing affordance at the first position.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Shan teaches detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript (Fig. 4B, Fig. 4G, and [0071]); detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region (Fig. 4B, [0068], and [0071]); and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region (Fig. 4B): displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position (Fig. 4B); displaying an affordance at the first position (Fig. 4C).
Therefore it would have been obvious to modify the method of claim 14 of US Patent 9,998,888 in order to reveal a hidden location-sharing menu or interface within a messaging application using an intuitive swipe-up gesture on the conversation screen, eliminating unnecessary and redundant inputs, and creating a faster and more efficient workflow.
The method of claim 14 further differs from claim 10 of the instant application in that it fails to disclose that displaying a location-sharing affordance is in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Choi teaches displaying an item is in response to detecting a movement of a contact across a touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of a region (Fig. 4C and pg. 10, par. 5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to further modify the method of claim 14 of US Patent 9,998,888 in order to dynamically reveal content by shifting, scrolling, or transforming the visual layout.
Claim 15 of US Patent 9,998,888 recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising one or more programs including instructions for displaying messages sent between a first participant and a second participant in a message conversation. The instructions of claim 15 differs from claim 11 of the instant application in that it fails to disclose detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript; detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region; and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region: displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position; and displaying a location-sharing affordance at the first position.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Shan teaches detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript (Fig. 4B, Fig. 4G, and [0071]); detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region (Fig. 4B, [0068], and [0071]); and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region (Fig. 4B): displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position (Fig. 4B); displaying an affordance at the first position (Fig. 4C).
Therefore it would have been obvious to modify the instructions of claim 15 of US Patent 9,998,888 in order to reveal a hidden location-sharing menu or interface within a messaging application using an intuitive swipe-up gesture on the conversation screen, eliminating unnecessary and redundant inputs, and creating a faster and more efficient workflow.
The instructions of claim 15 further differs from claim 11 of the instant application in that it fails to disclose that displaying a location-sharing affordance is in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Choi teaches displaying an item is in response to detecting a movement of a contact across a touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of a region (Fig. 4C and pg. 10, par. 5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to further modify the instructions of claim 15 of US Patent 9,998,888 in order to dynamically reveal content by shifting, scrolling, or transforming the visual layout.
CLAIMS FOR INSTANT APPLICATION 18,802,166
CLAIMS FOR US Patent 9,998,888
1. An electronic device, comprising: a touch-sensitive surface; a display; one or more processors; memory storing one or more programs including instructions for: displaying, on the display, a message region; displaying, at a first position in the message region, a bottom portion of a message transcript of messages sent between a first participant and a second participant; detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript; detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region; and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region: displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position; and displaying a location-sharing affordance at the first position.
1. A mobile electronic device of a first participant, comprising: a touch-sensitive surface; a display; one or more processors; memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for: displaying, on the display, a message region associated with a message conversation; displaying, in the message region, a message transcript of messages sent between the first participant and a second participant of the message conversation; displaying, at a first position in the message transcript, a shared-location affordance representing location information of the first participant; while displaying the shared-location affordance at the first position, detecting a request to scroll the message transcript;
in response to detecting the request to scroll the message transcript: determining whether the request to scroll the message transcript comprises a request to scroll the shared-location affordance beyond the message region;
in accordance with a determination that the request to scroll the message transcript comprises a request to scroll the shared-location affordance beyond the message region:
discontinuing display of the shared location in the message transcript; and displaying a location-sharing status bar outside the message region; and
in accordance with a determination that the request to scroll the message transcript does not comprise a request to scroll the shared-location affordance beyond the message region:
displaying the shared-location affordance at a second location in the message transcript.
10. A method comprising: at an electronic device comprising a touch-sensitive surface and a display: displaying, on the display, a message region; displaying, at a first position in the message region, a bottom portion of a message transcript of messages sent between a first participant and a second participant; detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript; detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region; and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region: displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position; and displaying a location-sharing affordance at the first position.
14. A method, comprising: at a mobile electronic device of a first participant with a touch-sensitive surface and a display:
displaying, on the display, a message region associated with a message conversation;
displaying, in the message region, a message transcript of messages sent between the first participant and a second participant of the message conversation; displaying, at a first position in the message transcript, a shared-location affordance representing location information of the first participant; while displaying the shared-location affordance at the first position, detecting a request to scroll the message transcript; in response to detecting the request to scroll the message transcript:
determining whether the request to scroll the message transcript comprises a request to scroll the shared-location affordance beyond the message region; in accordance with a determination that the request to scroll the message transcript comprises a request to scroll the shared-location affordance beyond the message region: discontinuing display of the shared location in the message transcript; and displaying a location-sharing status bar outside the message region; and in accordance with a determination that the request to scroll the message transcript does not comprise a request to scroll the shared-location affordance beyond the message region: displaying the shared-location affordance at a second location in the message transcript.
11. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of an electronic device with a touch-sensitive surface and a display, the one or more programs including instructions for: displaying, on the display, a message region; displaying, at a first position in the message region, a bottom portion of a message transcript of messages sent between a first participant and a second participant; detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript; detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region; and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region: displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position; and displaying a location-sharing affordance at the first position.
15. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of a first participant's mobile electronic device with a touch-sensitive surface and a display, the one or more programs including instructions for:
displaying, on the display, a message region associated with a message conversation;
displaying, in the message region, a message transcript of messages sent between the first participant and a second participant of the message conversation; displaying, at a first position in the message transcript, a shared-location affordance representing location information of the first participant;
while displaying the shared-location affordance at the first position, detecting a request to scroll the message transcript; in response to detecting the request to scroll the message transcript:
determining whether the request to scroll the message transcript comprises a request to scroll the shared-location affordance beyond the message region; in accordance with a determination that the request to scroll the message transcript comprises a request to scroll the shared-location affordance beyond the message region: discontinuing display of the shared location in the message transcript; and displaying a location-sharing status bar outside the message region; and in accordance with a determination that the request to scroll the message transcript does not comprise a request to scroll the shared-location affordance beyond the message region: displaying the shared-location affordance at a second location in the message transcript.
5. Claims 1-11 of the instant application is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 12-13 of US Patent 10,341,826 in view of Shan et al. (US 2016/0295384 A1) (hereinafter Shan), and further in view of Choi et al. ("Mobile Device and Method for Controlling the Operation of the Mobile Device", KR 20130099697 A, pub. date 2013-09-06) (hereinafter Choi).
Claim 1 of US Patent 10,341,826 recites a mobile electronic device displaying messages sent between a first participant and a second participant in a message conversation. The mobile electronic device of claim 1 differs from claim 1 of the instant application in that it fails to disclose detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript; detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region; and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region: displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position; and displaying a location-sharing affordance at the first position.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Shan teaches detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript (Fig. 4B, Fig. 4G, and [0071]); detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region (Fig. 4B, [0068], and [0071]); and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region (Fig. 4B): displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position (Fig. 4B); displaying an affordance at the first position (Fig. 4C).
Therefore it would have been obvious to modify the mobile electronic device of claim 1 of US Patent 10,341,826 in order to reveal a hidden location-sharing menu or interface within a messaging application using an intuitive swipe-up gesture on the conversation screen, eliminating unnecessary and redundant inputs, and creating a faster and more efficient workflow.
The mobile electronic device of claim 1 further differs from claim 1 of the instant application in that it fails to disclose that displaying a location-sharing affordance is in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Choi teaches displaying an item is in response to detecting a movement of a contact across a touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of a region (Fig. 4C and pg. 10, par. 5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to further modify the mobile electronic device of claim 1 of US Patent 10,341,826 in order to dynamically reveal content by shifting, scrolling, or transforming the visual layout.
Claim 12 of US Patent 10,341,826 recites a method of displaying messages sent between a first participant and a second participant in a message conversation. The method of claim 12 differs from claim 10 of the instant application in that it fails to disclose detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript; detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region; and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region: displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position; and displaying a location-sharing affordance at the first position.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Shan teaches detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript (Fig. 4B, Fig. 4G, and [0071]); detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region (Fig. 4B, [0068], and [0071]); and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region (Fig. 4B): displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position (Fig. 4B); displaying an affordance at the first position (Fig. 4C).
Therefore it would have been obvious to modify the method of claim 12 of US Patent 10,341,826 in order to reveal a hidden location-sharing menu or interface within a messaging application using an intuitive swipe-up gesture on the conversation screen, eliminating unnecessary and redundant inputs, and creating a faster and more efficient workflow.
The method of claim 12 further differs from claim 10 of the instant application in that it fails to disclose that displaying a location-sharing affordance is in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Choi teaches displaying an item is in response to detecting a movement of a contact across a touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of a region (Fig. 4C and pg. 10, par. 5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to further modify the method of claim 12 of US Patent 10,341,826 in order to dynamically reveal content by shifting, scrolling, or transforming the visual layout.
Claim 13 of US Patent 10,341,826 recites a non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising one or more programs including instructions for displaying messages sent between a first participant and a second participant in a message conversation. The instructions of claim 13 differs from claim 11 of the instant application in that it fails to disclose detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript; detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region; and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region: displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position; and displaying a location-sharing affordance at the first position.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Shan teaches detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript (Fig. 4B, Fig. 4G, and [0071]); detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region (Fig. 4B, [0068], and [0071]); and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region (Fig. 4B): displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position (Fig. 4B); displaying an affordance at the first position (Fig. 4C).
Therefore it would have been obvious to modify the instructions of claim 13 of US Patent 10,341,826 in order to reveal a hidden location-sharing menu or interface within a messaging application using an intuitive swipe-up gesture on the conversation screen, eliminating unnecessary and redundant inputs, and creating a faster and more efficient workflow.
The instructions of claim 13 further differs from claim 11 of the instant application in that it fails to disclose that displaying a location-sharing affordance is in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Choi teaches displaying an item is in response to detecting a movement of a contact across a touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of a region (Fig. 4C and pg. 10, par. 5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to further modify the instructions of claim 13 of US Patent 10,341,826 in order to dynamically reveal content by shifting, scrolling, or transforming the visual layout.
The instructions of claim 13 further differs from claim 11 of the instant application in that it fails to disclose that displaying a location-sharing affordance is in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Choi teaches displaying an item is in response to detecting a movement of a contact across a touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of a region (Fig. 4C and pg. 10, par. 5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to further modify the instructions of claim 13 of US Patent 10,341,826 in order to dynamically reveal content by shifting, scrolling, or transforming the visual layout.
CLAIMS FOR INSTANT APPLICATION 18,802,166
CLAIMS FOR US Patent 10,341,826
1. An electronic device, comprising: a touch-sensitive surface; a display; one or more processors; memory storing one or more programs including instructions for: displaying, on the display, a message region; displaying, at a first position in the message region, a bottom portion of a message transcript of messages sent between a first participant and a second participant; detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript; detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region; and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region: displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position; and displaying a location-sharing affordance at the first position.
1. A mobile electronic device, comprising:
a touch-sensitive surface;
a display; one or more processors; and
memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for:
displaying, on the display, a message region; displaying, in the message region, a message transcript of messages sent between a first participant and a second participant; while displaying the message transcript of messages in the message region, detecting, via the touch-sensitive surface, one or more inputs directed to sharing a location of the first participant and in response to detecting the one or more inputs, displaying a shared-location affordance in the message region, wherein the shared-location affordance comprises a map representation of a location of the first participant, wherein user input on the shared-location affordance causes display of an enlarged map view of the map representation corresponding to the location of the first participant, and wherein displaying the shared-location affordance in the message region comprises: shifting, in an upwards direction, the message transcript in the message region; and displaying the shared-location affordance is displayed below and adjacent to the message transcript; and subsequent to displaying the shared-location affordance in the message region, displaying a new message of the message transcript of messages in the message region, wherein the new message is by the first participant or the second participant, and wherein displaying the new message comprises:
shifting, in an upwards direction, the message transcript and the shared-location affordance in the message region; and displaying the new message below the shared-location affordance in the message region.
10. A method comprising: at an electronic device comprising a touch-sensitive surface and a display: displaying, on the display, a message region; displaying, at a first position in the message region, a bottom portion of a message transcript of messages sent between a first participant and a second participant; detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript; detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region; and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region: displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position; and displaying a location-sharing affordance at the first position.
12. A method comprising:
at a mobile electronic device with a touch-sensitive surface and a display:
displaying, on the display, a message region; displaying, in the message region, a message transcript of messages sent between a first participant and a second participant;
while displaying the message transcript of messages in the message region, detecting, via the touch-sensitive surface, one or more inputs directed to sharing a location of the first participant and in response to detecting the one or more inputs, displaying a shared-location affordance in the message region, wherein the shared-location affordance comprises a map representation of a location of the first participant, wherein user input on the shared-location affordance causes display of an enlarged map view of the map representation corresponding to the location of the first participant, and wherein displaying the shared-location affordance in the message region comprises: shifting, in an upwards direction, the message transcript in the message region; and
displaying the shared-location affordance is displayed below and adjacent to the message transcript; and subsequent to displaying the shared-location affordance in the message region, displaying a new message of the message transcript of messages in the message region, wherein the new message is by the first participant or the second participant, and wherein displaying the new message comprises:
shifting, in an upwards direction, the message transcript and the shared-location affordance in the message region; and displaying the new message below the shared-location affordance in the message region.
11. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of an electronic device with a touch-sensitive surface and a display, the one or more programs including instructions for: displaying, on the display, a message region; displaying, at a first position in the message region, a bottom portion of a message transcript of messages sent between a first participant and a second participant; detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript; detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region; and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region: displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position; and displaying a location-sharing affordance at the first position.
13. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of a mobile electronic device with a touch-sensitive surface and a display, the one or more programs including instructions for: displaying, on the display, a message region; displaying, in the message region, a message transcript of messages sent between a first participant and a second participant; while displaying the message transcript of messages in the message region, detecting, via the touch-sensitive surface, one or more inputs directed to sharing a location of the first participant and in response to detecting the one or more inputs, displaying a shared-location affordance in the message region, wherein the shared-location affordance comprises a map representation of a location of the first participant, wherein user input on the shared-location affordance causes display of an enlarged map view of the map representation corresponding to the location of the first participant, and wherein displaying the shared-location affordance in the message region comprises: shifting, in an upwards direction, the message transcript in the message region; and
displaying the shared-location affordance is displayed below and adjacent to the message transcript; and subsequent to displaying the shared-location affordance in the message region, displaying a new message of the message transcript of messages in the message region, wherein the new message is by the first participant or the second participant, and wherein displaying the new message comprises:
shifting, in an upwards direction, the message transcript and the shared-location affordance in the message region; and displaying the new message below the shared-location affordance in the message region.
6. Claims 1-11 of the instant application is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, and 15 of US Patent 11,418,929 in view of Shan et al. (US 2016/0295384 A1) (hereinafter Shan), and further in view of Choi et al. ("Mobile Device and Method for Controlling the Operation of the Mobile Device", KR 20130099697 A, pub. date 2013-09-06) (hereinafter Choi).
Claim 1 of US Patent 11,418,929 recites an electronic device displaying messages sent between a first participant and a second participant in a message conversation. The electronic device of claim 1 differs from claim 1 of the instant application in that it fails to disclose detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript; detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region; and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region: displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position; and displaying a location-sharing affordance at the first position.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Shan teaches detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript (Fig. 4B, Fig. 4G, and [0071]); detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region (Fig. 4B, [0068], and [0071]); and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region (Fig. 4B): displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position (Fig. 4B); displaying an affordance at the first position (Fig. 4C).
Therefore it would have been obvious to modify the electronic device of claim 1 of US Patent 11,418,929 in order to reveal a hidden location-sharing menu or interface within a messaging application using an intuitive swipe-up gesture on the conversation screen, eliminating unnecessary and redundant inputs, and creating a faster and more efficient workflow.
The electronic device of claim 1 further differs from claim 1 of the instant application in that it fails to disclose that displaying a location-sharing affordance is in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Choi teaches displaying an item is in response to detecting a movement of a contact across a touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of a region (Fig. 4C and pg. 10, par. 5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to further modify the electronic device of claim 1 of US Patent 11,418,929 in order to dynamically reveal content by shifting, scrolling, or transforming the visual layout.
The electronic device of claim 1 further differs from claim 1 of the instant application in that it fails to disclose that displaying a location-sharing affordance is in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Choi teaches displaying an item is in response to detecting a movement of a contact across a touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of a region (Fig. 4C and pg. 10, par. 5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to further modify the instructions of claim 1 of US Patent 11,418,929 in order to dynamically reveal content by shifting, scrolling, or transforming the visual layout.
Claim 15 of US Patent 11,418,929 recites a method displaying messages sent between a first participant and a second participant in a message conversation. The method of claim 15 differs from claim 10 of the instant application in that it fails to disclose detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript; detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region; and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region: displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position; and displaying a location-sharing affordance at the first position.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Shan teaches detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript (Fig. 4B, Fig. 4G, and [0071]); detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region (Fig. 4B, [0068], and [0071]); and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region (Fig. 4B): displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position (Fig. 4B); displaying an affordance at the first position (Fig. 4C).
Therefore it would have been obvious to modify the method of claim 15 of US Patent 11,418,929 in order to reveal a hidden location-sharing menu or interface within a messaging application using an intuitive swipe-up gesture on the conversation screen, eliminating unnecessary and redundant inputs, and creating a faster and more efficient workflow.
The method of claim 15 further differs from claim 10 of the instant application in that it fails to disclose that displaying a location-sharing affordance is in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Choi teaches displaying an item is in response to detecting a movement of a contact across a touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of a region (Fig. 4C and pg. 10, par. 5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to further modify the method of claim 15 of US Patent 11,418,929 in order to dynamically reveal content by shifting, scrolling, or transforming the visual layout.
Claim 8 of US Patent 11,418,929 recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising one or more programs including instructions for displaying messages sent between a first participant and a second participant in a message conversation. The instructions of claim 8 differs from claim 11 of the instant application in that it fails to disclose detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript; detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region; and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region: displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position; and displaying a location-sharing affordance at the first position.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Shan teaches detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript (Fig. 4B, Fig. 4G, and [0071]); detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region (Fig. 4B, [0068], and [0071]); and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region (Fig. 4B): displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position (Fig. 4B); displaying an affordance at the first position (Fig. 4C).
Therefore it would have been obvious to modify the instructions of claim 8 of US Patent 11,418,929 in order to reveal a hidden location-sharing menu or interface within a messaging application using an intuitive swipe-up gesture on the conversation screen, eliminating unnecessary and redundant inputs, and creating a faster and more efficient workflow.
The instructions of claim 8 further differs from claim 11 of the instant application in that it fails to disclose that displaying a location-sharing affordance is in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Choi teaches displaying an item is in response to detecting a movement of a contact across a touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of a region (Fig. 4C and pg. 10, par. 5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to further modify the instructions of claim 8 of US Patent 11,418,929 in order to dynamically reveal content by shifting, scrolling, or transforming the visual layout.
The instructions of claim 8 further differs from claim 11 of the instant application in that it fails to disclose that displaying a location-sharing affordance is in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Choi teaches displaying an item is in response to detecting a movement of a contact across a touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of a region (Fig. 4C and pg. 10, par. 5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to further modify the instructions of claim 8 of US Patent 11,418,929 in order to dynamically reveal content by shifting, scrolling, or transforming the visual layout.
CLAIMS FOR INSTANT APPLICATION 18,802,166
CLAIMS FOR US Patent 11,418,929
1. An electronic device, comprising: a touch-sensitive surface; a display; one or more processors; memory storing one or more programs including instructions for: displaying, on the display, a message region; displaying, at a first position in the message region, a bottom portion of a message transcript of messages sent between a first participant and a second participant; detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript; detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region; and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region: displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position; and displaying a location-sharing affordance at the first position.
1. An electronic device, comprising:
a touch-sensitive surface; a display; one or more processors; and memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for: displaying, on the display, a message region for displaying a message transcript of messages sent between a first participant and a second participant in a message conversation; displaying a location-sharing affordance; detecting a selection of the location-sharing affordance, wherein detecting a selection of the location-sharing affordance by the first participant comprises detecting a single contact by the first participant; in response to detecting the selection of the location-sharing affordance: enabling the second participant to obtain the first participant location information;
displaying a modified location-sharing affordance; and displaying a first indication in the message region indicating that the second participant can obtain the first participant location information; detecting a selection of the modified location-sharing affordance;
in response to detecting the selection of the modified location-sharing affordance:
initiating a process to cease enabling the second participant to obtain the first participant location information; and displaying the location-sharing affordance; and in response to ceasing enabling the second participant to obtain the first participant location information, displaying a second indication in the message region indicating that the second participant cannot obtain the first participant location information.
10. A method comprising: at an electronic device comprising a touch-sensitive surface and a display: displaying, on the display, a message region; displaying, at a first position in the message region, a bottom portion of a message transcript of messages sent between a first participant and a second participant; detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript; detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region; and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region: displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position; and displaying a location-sharing affordance at the first position.
15. A method comprising: at an electronic device comprising a touch-sensitive surface and a display: displaying, on the display, a message region for displaying a message transcript of messages sent between a first participant and a second participant in a message conversation; displaying a location-sharing affordance; detecting a selection of the location-sharing affordance, wherein detecting a selection of the location-sharing affordance by the first participant comprises detecting a single contact by the first participant; in response to detecting the selection of the location-sharing affordance: enabling the second participant to obtain the first participant location information;
displaying a modified location-sharing affordance; and displaying a first indication in the message region indicating that the second participant can obtain the first participant location information; detecting a selection of the modified location-sharing affordance;
in response to detecting the selection of the modified location-sharing affordance:
initiating a process to cease enabling the second participant to obtain the first participant location information; and displaying the location-sharing affordance; and in response to ceasing enabling the second participant to obtain the first participant location information, displaying a second indication in the message region indicating that the second participant cannot obtain the first participant location information.
11. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of an electronic device with a touch-sensitive surface and a display, the one or more programs including instructions for: displaying, on the display, a message region; displaying, at a first position in the message region, a bottom portion of a message transcript of messages sent between a first participant and a second participant; detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript; detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region; and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region: displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position; and displaying a location-sharing affordance at the first position.
8. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of an electronic device with a touch-sensitive surface and a display, the one or more programs including instructions for: displaying, on the display, a message region for displaying a message transcript of messages sent between a first participant and a second participant in a message conversation; displaying a location-sharing affordance; detecting a selection of the location-sharing affordance, wherein detecting a selection of the location-sharing affordance by the first participant comprises detecting a single contact by the first participant; in response to detecting the selection of the location-sharing affordance: enabling the second participant to obtain the first participant location information;
displaying a modified location-sharing affordance; and displaying a first indication in the message region indicating that the second participant can obtain the first participant location information; detecting a selection of the modified location-sharing affordance;
in response to detecting the selection of the modified location-sharing affordance: initiating a process to cease enabling the second participant to obtain the first participant location information; and displaying the location-sharing affordance; and in response to ceasing enabling the second participant to obtain the first participant location information, displaying a second indication in the message region indicating that the second participant cannot obtain the first participant location information.
7. Claims 1-11 of the instant application is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 18, and 19 of US Patent 12,089,121 in view of Shan et al. (US 2016/0295384 A1) (hereinafter Shan), and further in view of Choi et al. ("Mobile Device and Method for Controlling the Operation of the Mobile Device", KR 20130099697 A, pub. date 2013-09-06) (hereinafter Choi).
Claim 1 of US Patent 12,089,121 recites an electronic device displaying messages sent between a first participant and a second participant in a message conversation. The electronic device of claim 1 differs from claim 1 of the instant application in that it fails to disclose detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript; detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region; and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region: displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position; and displaying a location-sharing affordance at the first position.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Shan teaches detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript (Fig. 4B, Fig. 4G, and [0071]); detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region (Fig. 4B, [0068], and [0071]); and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region (Fig. 4B): displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position (Fig. 4B); displaying an affordance at the first position (Fig. 4C).
Therefore it would have been obvious to modify the electronic device of claim 1 of US Patent 12,089,121 in order to reveal a hidden location-sharing menu or interface within a messaging application using an intuitive swipe-up gesture on the conversation screen, eliminating unnecessary and redundant inputs, and creating a faster and more efficient workflow.
The electronic device of claim 1 further differs from claim 1 of the instant application in that it fails to disclose that displaying a location-sharing affordance is in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Choi teaches displaying an item is in response to detecting a movement of a contact across a touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of a region (Fig. 4C and pg. 10, par. 5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to further modify the electronic device of claim 1 of US Patent 12,089,121 in order to dynamically reveal content by shifting, scrolling, or transforming the visual layout.
The electronic device of claim 1 further differs from claim 1 of the instant application in that it fails to disclose that displaying a location-sharing affordance is in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Choi teaches displaying an item is in response to detecting a movement of a contact across a touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of a region (Fig. 4C and pg. 10, par. 5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to further modify the instructions of claim 1 of US Patent 12,089,121 in order to dynamically reveal content by shifting, scrolling, or transforming the visual layout.
Claim 18 of US Patent 12,089,121 recites a method displaying messages sent between a first participant and a second participant in a message conversation. The method of claim 18 differs from claim 10 of the instant application in that it fails to disclose detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript; detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region; and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region: displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position; and displaying a location-sharing affordance at the first position.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Shan teaches detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript (Fig. 4B, Fig. 4G, and [0071]); detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region (Fig. 4B, [0068], and [0071]); and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region (Fig. 4B): displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position (Fig. 4B); displaying an affordance at the first position (Fig. 4C).
Therefore it would have been obvious to modify the method of claim 18 of US Patent 12,089,121 in order to reveal a hidden location-sharing menu or interface within a messaging application using an intuitive swipe-up gesture on the conversation screen, eliminating unnecessary and redundant inputs, and creating a faster and more efficient workflow.
The method of claim 18 further differs from claim 10 of the instant application in that it fails to disclose that displaying a location-sharing affordance is in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Choi teaches displaying an item is in response to detecting a movement of a contact across a touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of a region (Fig. 4C and pg. 10, par. 5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to further modify the method of claim 18 of US Patent 12,089,121 in order to dynamically reveal content by shifting, scrolling, or transforming the visual layout.
Claim 19 of US Patent 12,089,121 recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising one or more programs including instructions for displaying messages sent between a first participant and a second participant in a message conversation. The instructions of claim 19 differs from claim 11 of the instant application in that it fails to disclose detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript; detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region; and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region: displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position; and displaying a location-sharing affordance at the first position.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Shan teaches detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript (Fig. 4B, Fig. 4G, and [0071]); detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region (Fig. 4B, [0068], and [0071]); and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region (Fig. 4B): displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position (Fig. 4B); displaying an affordance at the first position (Fig. 4C).
Therefore it would have been obvious to modify the instructions of claim 19 of US Patent 12,089,121 in order to reveal a hidden location-sharing menu or interface within a messaging application using an intuitive swipe-up gesture on the conversation screen, eliminating unnecessary and redundant inputs, and creating a faster and more efficient workflow.
The instructions of claim 19 further differs from claim 11 of the instant application in that it fails to disclose that displaying a location-sharing affordance is in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Choi teaches displaying an item is in response to detecting a movement of a contact across a touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of a region (Fig. 4C and pg. 10, par. 5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to further modify the instructions of claim 19 of US Patent 12,089,121 in order to dynamically reveal content by shifting, scrolling, or transforming the visual layout.
The instructions of claim 19 further differs from claim 11 of the instant application in that it fails to disclose that displaying a location-sharing affordance is in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Choi teaches displaying an item is in response to detecting a movement of a contact across a touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of a region (Fig. 4C and pg. 10, par. 5).
Therefore it would have been obvious to further modify the instructions of claim 19 of US Patent 12,089,121 in order to dynamically reveal content by shifting, scrolling, or transforming the visual layout.
CLAIMS FOR INSTANT APPLICATION 18,802,166
CLAIMS FOR US Patent 12,089,121
1. An electronic device, comprising: a touch-sensitive surface; a display; one or more processors; memory storing one or more programs including instructions for: displaying, on the display, a message region; displaying, at a first position in the message region, a bottom portion of a message transcript of messages sent between a first participant and a second participant; detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript; detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region; and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region: displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position; and displaying a location-sharing affordance at the first position.
1. An electronic device, comprising:
a display;
one or more processors;
memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for:
displaying, via the display, a message region;
displaying, via the display, in the message region, messages sent between a first participant and a second participant in a message conversation; and
while displaying the message region:
receiving a first location-sharing notification that first participant location information is being shared with the second participant for a predetermined location-sharing time period, wherein the predetermined location-sharing time period is scheduled to end at a first time, and wherein receiving the first location-sharing notification includes displaying, in the message region, the first location-sharing notification that the first participant location information is being shared with the second participant for the predetermined location-sharing time period;
sending a message to the first participant from the second participant, wherein the message includes alphanumeric characters; and
in response to sending the message to the first participant from the second participant and in accordance with a determination that a set of message sending criteria is met, receiving a second location-sharing notification that first participant location information is being shared with the second participant for an extended location-sharing time period, wherein the extended location-sharing time period is scheduled to end at a second time that is after the first time, and wherein receiving the second location-sharing notification includes displaying, in the message region, the second location-sharing notification that the first participant location information is being shared with the second participant for the extended location-sharing time period.
10. A method comprising: at an electronic device comprising a touch-sensitive surface and a display: displaying, on the display, a message region; displaying, at a first position in the message region, a bottom portion of a message transcript of messages sent between a first participant and a second participant; detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript; detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region; and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region: displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position; and displaying a location-sharing affordance at the first position.
18. A method comprising:
at an electronic device comprising a display:
displaying, via the display, a message region;
displaying, via the display, in the message region, messages sent between a first participant and a second participant in a message conversation; and
while displaying the message region:
receiving a first location-sharing notification that first participant location information is being shared with the second participant for a predetermined location-sharing time period, wherein the predetermined location-sharing time period is scheduled to end at a first time, and wherein receiving the first location-sharing notification includes displaying, in the message region, the first location-sharing notification that the first participant location information is being shared with the second participant for the predetermined location-sharing time period;
sending a message to the first participant from the second participant, wherein the message includes alphanumeric characters; and
in response to sending the message to the first participant from the second participant and in accordance with a determination that a set of message sending criteria is met, receiving a second location-sharing notification that first participant location information is being shared with the second participant for an extended location-sharing time period, wherein the extended location-sharing time period is scheduled to end at a second time that is after the first time, and wherein receiving the second location-sharing notification includes displaying, in the message region, the second location-sharing notification that the first participant location information is being shared with the second participant for the extended location-sharing time period.
11. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of an electronic device with a touch-sensitive surface and a display, the one or more programs including instructions for: displaying, on the display, a message region; displaying, at a first position in the message region, a bottom portion of a message transcript of messages sent between a first participant and a second participant; detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript; detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region; and in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region: displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position; and displaying a location-sharing affordance at the first position.
19. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of an electronic device with a display, the one or more programs including instructions for:
displaying, via the display, a message region;
displaying, via the display, in the message region, messages sent between a first participant and a second participant in a message conversation; and
while displaying the message region:
receiving a first location-sharing notification that first participant location information is being shared with the second participant for a predetermined location-sharing time period, wherein the predetermined location-sharing time period is scheduled to end at a first time, and wherein receiving the first location-sharing notification includes displaying, in the message region, the first location-sharing notification that the first participant location information is being shared with the second participant for the predetermined location-sharing time period;
sending a message to the first participant from the second participant, wherein the message includes alphanumeric characters; and
in response to sending the message to the first participant from the second participant and in accordance with a determination that a set of message sending criteria is met, receiving a second location-sharing notification that first participant location information is being shared with the second participant for an extended location-sharing time period, wherein the extended location-sharing time period is scheduled to end at a second time that is after the first time, and wherein receiving the second location-sharing notification includes displaying, in the message region, the second location-sharing notification that the first participant location information is being shared with the second participant for the extended location-sharing time period.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 1, 3-4, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shan (US 2016/0295384 A1) in view of Choi ("Mobile Device and Method for Controlling the Operation of the Mobile Device", KR 20130099697 A, pub. date 2013-09-06), and further in view of Oplinger (US 2015/0172393 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shan teaches an electronic device (Fig. 4G, Client Device 104-2), comprising:
a touch-sensitive surface ([0059], “display 406 is a touch screen”);
a display (Fig. 4B, Display 406; [0059], “display 406 is a touch screen”);
one or more processors (Fig. 4B, Client Device 104-1 comprises one or more processors);
memory storing one or more programs including instructions for (Fig. 4B, Client Device 104-1 comprises memory storing one or more programs including instructions for):
displaying, on the display, a message region (Fig. 4B, message region on a display);
displaying, at a first position in the message region, a bottom portion of a message transcript of messages sent between a first participant and a second participant (Fig. 4B, displaying 440-E “How far away are you?” at a first position in the message region, a bottom portion of a message transcript of messages sent between User XX (~first participant) and User YY (~second participant));
detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript (Fig. 4B, similar to Fig. 4G, contact can be detected on a location corresponding to the message transcript; [0071], “FIG. 4G also illustrates second client device 104-2 detecting a downwards dragging gesture with contact 4110 moving from location 4112-A to location 4112-B”);
detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region (Fig. 4B, similar to Fig. 4G, movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface can be detected (440-E to 440-D) and similar to par. 68, the movement can be toward a top portion of the message region; [0068], “performing dragging gestures so as to scan northwards, southwards, etc.”; In Fig. 4G, movement (~[0071], “dragging gesture”) was from 4112-A to 4112-B (~toward a bottom portion of the message), however, the movement direction can be reversed (~[0068], “performing dragging gestures so as to scan northwards, southwards, etc.”), and can be from 4112-B to 4112-A (~toward a top portion of the message)); and
in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region (Fig. 4B, if movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region (from 440-E to 440-D)):
displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position (Fig. 4B, 440-E (~bottom portion of the message transcript) is displayed at previous Fig. 440-D position (~a second position in the message region above the first position (~440-E)));
displaying an affordance at the first position (Fig. 4C, Other 450 is an initiation button used to provide location sharing).
Shan does not explicitly teach that the displaying the item (affordance) is in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region.
However, Choi teaches displaying an item is in response to detecting a movement of a contact across a touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of a region (Fig. 4C, displaying of item J is in response to detecting a movement of a contact across a touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of a region; pg. 10, par. 5, “4C is a diagram illustrating an example of a state of a touch screen after a touch input in an upward direction is input to the touch screen of FIG. 4A. Referring to FIG. 4C, as the original list is scrolled upward, some items (Items A and B) located at the top disappear from the touch screen and new items (Items J and K) appear at the bottom of the touch screen”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Choi with the teaching of Shan in order to dynamically reveal content by shifting, scrolling, or transforming the visual layout.
The combination does not explicitly teach that the affordance is a location-sharing affordance.
However, Oplinger teaches a location-sharing affordance (Fig. 3A, “Share location” button 310; [0051], “menu 306 includes a share location control 310. A user can select the share location control 310 to begin a series of interfaces for inputting parameters of a location sharing event”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Oplinger with the teaching of Shan as modified by Choi in order to provide convenience in planning events and meet ups as well as in coordinating travels and dinner plans by easy sharing of real-time or pinned geographic data.
Regarding claim 3, Shan in view of Choi, and further in view of Oplinger teaches the electronic device of claim 1,
the one or more programs further including instructions for (Shan [0079], “method 500 is governed by instructions that are stored in a non-transitory computer readable storage medium and the instructions are executed by one or more processors of the terminal”):
detecting a selection of the location-sharing affordance (Shan Fig. 4B, detecting a selection of the location-sharing affordance 450).
The combination of Shan and Choi does not explicitly teach in response to detecting the selection of the location-sharing affordance: enabling the second participant to obtain first participant location information during a predetermined location-sharing time period,
wherein the predetermined location-sharing time period is scheduled to end at a first time.
However, Oplinger further teaches in response to detecting a selection of a location-sharing affordance ([0051], “menu 306 includes a share location control 310. A user can select the share location control 310 (~location-sharing affordance) to begin a series of interfaces for inputting parameters of a location sharing event”):
enabling a second participant to obtain first participant location information during a predetermined location-sharing time period ([0053], “GUI 330 that prompts the user to select or input a time period for the location sharing event ... GUI 330 includes options for sharing location information for an ensuing amount of time, such as the next sixty minutes, six hours, twenty-four hours, and three days”),
wherein the predetermined location-sharing time period is scheduled to end at a first time ([0053], “GUI 330 that prompts the user to select or input a time period for the location sharing event ... The GUI 330 also includes an option for inputting a custom time period. For example, the user can select the custom time period option to open a GUI for selecting a specific starting date and time for the location sharing event as well as an ending date and time”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Oplinger with the teaching of Shan as modified by Choi and Oplinger in order to enhance user privacy, control, and device efficiency by automatically limiting how long someone can track your location.
Regarding claim 4, Shan in view of Choi, and further in view of Oplinger teaches the electronic device of claim 3,
the one or more programs further including instructions for (Shan [0079], “method 500 is governed by instructions that are stored in a non-transitory computer readable storage medium and the instructions are executed by one or more processors of the terminal”):
detecting interaction by one of the first participant and the second participant with a message conversation that corresponds to the message transcript during a location-sharing time period (Fig. 4B, detecting interaction by one of a first participant and a second participant with a message conversation that corresponds to a message transcript during a location-sharing time period).
The combination of Shan and Choi does not explicitly teach
in response to detecting the interaction by one of the first participant and the second participant with the message conversation during the predetermined location-sharing time period:
extending the predetermined location-sharing time period to end at a second time that is after the first time.
However, Oplinger further teaches detecting interaction by one of a first participant and a second participant during a predetermined location-sharing time period (Fig. 4C, actively providing its location by one a first participant or a second participant reads on interaction by one of a first participant and a second participant; Figs. 3C-3D, predetermined location-sharing time period); and
in response to detecting the interaction by one of the first participant and the second participant during the predetermined location-sharing time period (Fig. 4C, in response to Fig. 4C of detecting actively providing its location by one a first participant or a second participant (which reads on detecting interaction by one of a first participant and a second participant); Figs. 3C-3D, predetermined location-sharing time period):
extending the predetermined location-sharing time period to end at a second time that is after the first time (Fig. 4D, location-sharing time period is extended via 424; Figs. 3C-3D, predetermined location-sharing time period; Fig. 4D shows being able to extend time during the predetermined location-sharing time period in response to detecting interaction by one of the first participant and the second participant (~location sharing is displayed as "active” in Fig. 4B (element 412) during the predetermined location sharing time period (~during “active” period). [0056], “The GUI 334 includes a time period control 340. Similarly to the GUI 330, the time period control 340 allows the user to select or input a time period during which the location server system 102 receives and shares location information among the participants. The GUI 334 includes an input control 342 that allows the user to input an optional message (~message conversation) that can be displayed to potential participants that view the location sharing invitation”; [0062], “The GUI 420 presents a time control 424, which a user can select to modify the time period during which the location information is shared for the event. For example, the user can extend or reduce the end time (~extended location-sharing time period), or input a specific end date and time”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Oplinger with the teaching of Shan as modified by Choi and Oplinger in order to prevent the location stream from timing out if a conversation is still ongoing.
Regarding claim 10, Shan teaches a method comprising:
at an electronic device (Fig. 4G, Client Device 104-2) comprising
a touch-sensitive surface ([0059], “display 406 is a touch screen”; [0071], “FIG. 4G also illustrates second client device 104-2 detecting a downwards dragging gesture with contact 4110 moving from location 4112-A to location 4112-B”) and
a display (Fig. 4G, Display 406; [0059], “display 406 is a touch screen”):
displaying, on the display, a message region (Fig. 4G, user interface 4100 displays messages in a message region; [0062], “user interface 4100 displayed on a second client device 104-2 (e.g., a mobile phone”);
displaying, at a first position in the message region, a bottom portion of a message transcript of messages sent between a first participant and a second participant (Fig. 4H, displaying 440-E “How far away are you?” at a first position in the message region, a bottom portion of a message transcript of messages sent between User XX (~first participant) and User YY (~second participant));
detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript (Fig. 4G, contact 4110 is detected on a location corresponding to the message transcript; “[0071], “FIG. 4G also illustrates second client device 104-2 detecting a downwards dragging gesture with contact 4110 moving from location 4112-A to location 4112-B”);
detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region ([0068], “performing dragging gestures so as to scan northwards, southwards, etc.”; In Fig. 4G, movement (~[0071], “dragging gesture”) was from 4112-A to 4112-B (~toward a bottom portion of the message), however, the movement direction can be reversed (~[0068], “performing dragging gestures so as to scan northwards, southwards, etc.”), and can be from 4112-B to 4112-A (~toward a top portion of the message)); and
in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region (Fig. 4H, if movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region (from 440-E to 440-D)):
displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position (Fig. 4G, 440-E (~bottom portion of the message transcript) is displayed at previous Fig. 440-D position (~a second position in the message region above the first position (~440-E)));
displaying an affordance at the first position (if 440-E is dragged up to 440-D position in Fig. 4H, 440-F (~location-sharing affordance) that was previously hidden behind Display 406 area is also scrolled/pushed up to 440-F position shown in Fig. 4G).
Shan does not explicitly teach that the displaying the item (affordance) is in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region.
However, Choi teaches displaying an item is in response to detecting a movement of a contact across a touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of a region (Fig. 4C, displaying of item J is in response to detecting a movement of a contact across a touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of a region; pg. 10, par. 5, “4C is a diagram illustrating an example of a state of a touch screen after a touch input in an upward direction is input to the touch screen of FIG. 4A. Referring to FIG. 4C, as the original list is scrolled upward, some items (Items A and B) located at the top disappear from the touch screen and new items (Items J and K) appear at the bottom of the touch screen”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Choi with the teaching of Shan in order to dynamically reveal content by shifting, scrolling, or transforming the visual layout.
The combination does not explicitly teach that the affordance is a location-sharing affordance.
However, Oplinger teaches a location-sharing affordance (Fig. 3A, “Share location” button 310; [0051], “menu 306 includes a share location control 310. A user can select the share location control 310 to begin a series of interfaces for inputting parameters of a location sharing event”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Oplinger with the teaching of Shan as modified by Choi in order to provide convenience in planning events and meet ups as well as in coordinating travels and dinner plans by easy sharing of real-time or pinned geographic data.
Regarding claim 11, Shan teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of an electronic device ([0079], “method 500 is governed by instructions that are stored in a non-transitory computer readable storage medium and the instructions are executed by one or more processors of the terminal (~electronic device)”; Fig. 4G, Client Device 104-2 (~electronic device))
with a touch-sensitive surface ([0059], “display 406 is a touch screen”; [0071], “FIG. 4G also illustrates second client device 104-2 detecting a downwards dragging gesture with contact 4110 moving from location 4112-A to location 4112-B”) and a display (Fig. 4G, Display 406; [0059], “display 406 is a touch screen”),
the one or more programs including instructions for ([0079], “method 500 is governed by instructions that are stored in a non-transitory computer readable storage medium and the instructions are executed by one or more processors of the terminal (~electronic device)”):
displaying, on the display, a message region (Fig. 4G, user interface 4100 displays messages in a message region; [0062], “user interface 4100 displayed on a second client device 104-2 (e.g., a mobile phone”);
displaying, at a first position in the message region, a bottom portion of a message transcript of messages sent between a first participant and a second participant (Fig. 4H, displaying 440-E “How far away are you?” at a first position in the message region, a bottom portion of a message transcript of messages sent between User XX (~first participant) and User YY (~second participant));
detecting contact on a location corresponding to the message transcript (Fig. 4G, contact 4110 is detected on a location corresponding to the message transcript; “[0071], “FIG. 4G also illustrates second client device 104-2 detecting a downwards dragging gesture with contact 4110 moving from location 4112-A to location 4112-B”);
detecting movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region ([0068], “performing dragging gestures so as to scan northwards, southwards, etc.”; In Fig. 4G, movement (~[0071], “dragging gesture”) was from 4112-A to 4112-B (~toward a bottom portion of the message), however, the movement direction can be reversed (~[0068], “performing dragging gestures so as to scan northwards, southwards, etc.”), and can be from 4112-B to 4112-A (~toward a top portion of the message)); and
in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region (Fig. 4H, if movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region (from 440-E to 440-D)):
displaying the bottom portion of the message transcript at a second position in the message region above the first position (Fig. 4G, 440-E (~bottom portion of the message transcript) is displayed at previous Fig. 440-D position (~a second position in the message region above the first position (~440-E))); and
displaying an affordance at the first position (if 440-E is dragged up to 440-D position in Fig. 4H, 440-F (~location-sharing affordance) that was previously hidden behind Display 406 area is also scrolled/pushed up to 440-F position shown in Fig. 4G).
Shan does not explicitly teach that the displaying the item (affordance) is in response to detecting the movement of the contact across the touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of the message region.
However, Choi teaches displaying an item is in response to detecting a movement of a contact across a touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of a region (Fig. 4C, displaying of item J is in response to detecting a movement of a contact across a touch-sensitive surface and toward a top portion of a region; pg. 10, par. 5, “4C is a diagram illustrating an example of a state of a touch screen after a touch input in an upward direction is input to the touch screen of FIG. 4A. Referring to FIG. 4C, as the original list is scrolled upward, some items (Items A and B) located at the top disappear from the touch screen and new items (Items J and K) appear at the bottom of the touch screen”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Choi with the teaching of Shan in order to dynamically reveal content by shifting, scrolling, or transforming the visual layout.
The combination does not explicitly teach that the affordance is a location-sharing affordance.
However, Oplinger teaches a location-sharing affordance (Fig. 3A, “Share location” button 310; [0051], “menu 306 includes a share location control 310. A user can select the share location control 310 to begin a series of interfaces for inputting parameters of a location sharing event”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Oplinger with the teaching of Shan as modified by Choi in order to provide convenience in planning events and meet ups as well as in coordinating travels and dinner plans by easy sharing of real-time or pinned geographic data.
11. Claim 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shan in view of Choi, further in view of Oplinger, and further in view of Zhang (US 2016/0294958 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Shan in view of Choi, and further in view of Oplinger teaches the electronic device of claim 1,
the one or more programs further including instructions for (Shan [0079], “method 500 is governed by instructions that are stored in a non-transitory computer readable storage medium and the instructions are executed by one or more processors of the terminal”):
displaying a keyboard below the message region (Shan Fig. 4C, displays a keyboard below the message region - 458-A ... 458-H keys); and
while displaying the location-sharing affordance at the first position, receiving a new message for display in the message region (Shan Fig. 4C, while location-sharing affordance (~other 450) is displayed at the first position, a new message can be received for display in the message region); and
in response to receiving the new message: displaying the new message in the message region (Shan Fig. 4C, when a new message is received, the new message is displayed in the message region); and
The combination does not explicitly teach ceasing to display the location-sharing affordance in response to receiving the new message.
However, Zhang teaches ceasing to display a location-sharing affordance in response to receiving a new message ([0074], “For example, during a conversation, the user enters a user instruction of sharing current location. The first user device automatically enters a map interaction mode (~Fig. 5G, map interaction mode) once detecting the user instruction for sharing the current location. In some embodiments, the first user device presents options to the user on whether the user wants to share the current location in text or in map, e.g., as shown in FIG. 5G”, wherein if the user during a conversation enter a user instruction (~new message) to not or no longer share current location or exit location sharing map, location-sharing affordance shown in Fig. 5G will no longer (~ceased to) be displayed); [0091], “In accordance with some embodiments, in a step S406, the first user device receiving a user input for exiting the map, and in response to the user input for exiting the map, removes the map from the instant messaging interface of the social network application”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Zhang with the teaching of Shan as modified by Choi and Oplinger in order to provide instant visual feedback that the system has successfully registered the action, prevent duplicate submissions, and declutter the Interface.
Regarding claim 6, Shan in view of Choi, and further in view of Oplinger teaches the electronic device of claim 1,
the one or more programs further including instructions for (Shan [0079], “method 500 is governed by instructions that are stored in a non-transitory computer readable storage medium and the instructions are executed by one or more processors of the terminal”):
receiving a new message in a message conversation that corresponds to the message transcript (Shan Fig. 4G, a new message 440-F is received); and
in response to receiving the new message: displaying a representation of the new message at the bottom portion of the message transcript (Fig. 4G, a representation of the new message 440-F is displayed at the bottom portion of the message transcript).
The combination does not explicitly teach in response to receiving the new message: discontinuing display of the location-sharing affordance.
However, Zhang teaches in response to receiving a new message: discontinuing display of a location-sharing affordance ([0074], “For example, during a conversation, the user enters a user instruction of sharing current location. The first user device automatically enters a map interaction mode (~Fig. 5G, map interaction mode) once detecting the user instruction for sharing the current location. In some embodiments, the first user device presents options to the user on whether the user wants to share the current location in text or in map, e.g., as shown in FIG. 5G”, wherein if the user during a conversation enter a user instruction (~new message) to not or no longer share current location or exit location sharing map, location-sharing affordance shown in Fig. 5G will no longer (~ceased to) be displayed); [0091], “In accordance with some embodiments, in a step S406, the first user device receiving a user input for exiting the map, and in response to the user input for exiting the map, removes the map from the instant messaging interface of the social network application”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Zhang with the teaching of Shan as modified by Choi and Oplinger in order to provide instant visual feedback that the system has successfully registered the action, prevent duplicate submissions, and declutter the Interface.
12. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shan in view of Choi, further in view of Oplinger, and further in view of Yano (US 2013/0249843 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Shan in view of Choi, and further in view of Oplinger teaches the electronic device of claim 1.
The combination does not explicitly teach the one or more programs further including instructions for:
detecting interaction with the location-sharing affordance; and
in response to detecting the interaction with the location-sharing affordance:
discontinuing display of the location-sharing affordance.
However, Yano teaches teach one or more programs further including instructions for ([0011], “a non-transitory storage medium stores a control program. When executed by a device including a touch screen display, the program causes the device to execute”):
detecting interaction with an affordance ([0083], “smartphone 1 detects the touch in the area where the activated icon 66 is displayed”; [0076], “The activated icon 66 on the far left indicates that a compass application is being activated. The second activated icon 66 from the left indicates that the mail application 9B is being activated. The third activated icon 66 from the left indicates that a Short Message Service (SMS) application is being activated. The fourth activated icon 66 from the left indicates that a map application is being activated”, wherein the icon is an affordance because when the icon is long-touched, the application associated with the icon is activated); and
in response to detecting the interaction with the affordance ([0083], “smartphone 1 detects the touch in the area where the activated icon 66 is displayed”):
discontinuing display of the affordance ([0083], “When detecting the long touch for the activated icon 66, the smartphone 1 stops the display of the long-touched activated icon 66 as illustrated at Step S12”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Yano with the teaching of Shan as modified by Choi and Oplinger in order to provide instant visual feedback that the system has successfully registered the action, prevent duplicate submissions, and declutter the Interface.
Allowable Subject Matter
13. Claims 5 and 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER J YI/Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643