DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
in paragraph [0030], lines 4-5, the sentence ends, “(hereinbelow, an image fixating configuration around the curing region is called an "image fixation unit (an image fixation means)."”; it is recommended to be revise the phrase as a separate sentence as done previously for the image printing unit in paragraph [0029]; the sentence may read, “Hereinbelow, an image fixating configuration around the curing region is called an "image fixation unit” (an image fixation means).”;
in paragraphs [0084] and [0085], the value of 25.4 for the calculations for formulas (1) and (2) is unclear as to what it represents; it is implied the units are [mm] based on formula (2), however it is not explicit where the value comes from and/or why it is in the formulas; and
in paragraph [0169], “Meanwhile, as described in the first embodiment, the method in which a printing medium is back-fed after a first image is fixated by the image fixation unit and a second image is printed by the image print unit on the first image is not preferable in printing of a given image from the perspective of image quality. Thus, a given image is printed using a method described in the first embodiment.” is counterintuitive as the method being described as “not preferable” is the same as one described in the first embodiment as the overall claimed invention (specifically claim 1).
It is also recommended by the examiner to amend paragraphs related to paragraph [0189] for continuity and clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Additionally, it is recommended, but not required, by the examiner that paragraphs [0084] to [0086] are placed before paragraph [0081] for improved clarity; a command pulse value and related values are described from paragraphs [0084] to [0086] but are used in paragraph [0083] which currently is before value derivation. Additionally, the description of figures 9A and 9B in paragraphs [0081] to [0083] and paragraph [0087] are interrupted by paragraphs [0084] to [0086].
Claim Suggestions
Claim 2 is may be more appropriately written by changing “feed adjustment pattern” to “conveyance adjustment pattern” as related to the sub-section titled “Conveyance Adjustment” starting at paragraph [0079] in the specification of the larger sub-section titled “Various Kinds of Adjustments”, and as mentioned in figures 9A and 9B (at para. [0016]). While “feeding” is noted as referring to conveying the printing medium in the forward direction (at para. [0077]), it may be better understood by the change suggested.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
in claim 1 and its dependents, a “feed unit”, a “print unit”, “print elements”, and a “fixation unit” each modified by functional language;
in claim 5 and its dependents, a “read unit” modified by functional language
in claim 9, a “determination unit” modified by functional language
in claim 11 and its dependents, an “obtainment unit” modified by functional language; and
in claims 18 and 19, a “control unit” modified by functional language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15 and 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 15, the claimed subject matter of “between printing of a third image by the print unit using the first ink and a fourth image by the print unit using the second ink, the third image is not fixated by the fixation unit” is not clearly disclosed in the specification. A foundation (a first image) printed using the first ink and a pattern to be printed over the foundation (a second image) using a second ink are disclosed throughout the specification. However, there is no explicit instance disclosed in the specification or drawings wherein a “third image” is printed using the first ink and a “fourth image” is printed using the second ink following the printings of the first image by the first ink and second image by the second ink. The closest mentioning of an image printed after the first and second images is in paragraphs [0105] to [0109] describing the process in figure 10B after color correction in figure 10A wherein printing is executed for corrected image data, however it is not explicit that a third image is printed with the first ink and a fourth image is printed with second ink without fixation of the third image in between.
Claim 16 is rejected on the same grounds of claim 15 and as being dependent on claim 15.
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
MPEP 2173.05(p) II states “A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1318, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1748-49 (Fed. Cir. 2011). In Katz, a claim directed to "[a] system with an interface means for providing automated voice messages…to certain of said individual callers, wherein said certain of said individual callers digitally enter data" was determined to be indefinite because the italicized claim limitation is not directed to the system, but rather to actions of the individual callers, which creates confusion as to when direct infringement occurs. Katz, 639 F.3d at 1318, 97 USPQ2d at 1749 (citing IPXL Holdings v. Amazon.com, Inc., 430 F.3d 1377, 1384, 77 USPQ2d 1140, 1145 (Fed. Cir. 2005), in which a system claim that recited "an input means" and required a user to use the input means was found to be indefinite because it was unclear "whether infringement … occurs when one creates a system that allows the user [to use the input means], or whether infringement occurs when the user actually uses the input means."); Ex parte Lyell, 17 USPQ2d 1548 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1990) (claim directed to an automatic transmission work stand and the method of using it held ambiguous and properly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph).
“In contrast, when a claim recites a product and additional limitations which focus on the capabilities of the system, not the specific actions or functions performed by the user, the claim may be definite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See Mastermine Software, Inc. v. Microsoft Corp., 874 F.3d 1307, 124 USPQ2d 1618 (Fed. Cir. 2017).”
Regarding claim 12, the recitation of “the obtainment obtains the information based on information set by a user” renders the claim indefinite. While the limitation may focus on the capabilities of the system, it is also reliant on a specific action performed by a user of setting information. Additionally, “set” is indefinite as it is not clear as the user may select the type of printing medium on an interface which is then sent to the obtainment unit or physically input a type of printing medium into the apparatus which is then sensed by the obtainment unit; the limitation therefore is not clearly definite.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “the print unit prints the second image without printing the first image”; claim 1 of which claim 14 is dependent on recites “the print unit prints a second image on the first image by applying the second ink”. Claim 14 does not further limit claim 1 but rather changes the scope of the limitations of claim 1 as a second image cannot be printed on the first image without there being a first image. Removing an element of the independent claim changes the scope. For examination purposes, claim 14 will be interpreted such that it recites, “wherein
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 10, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mitsuzawa (US 20130038652 A1) (cited in IDS dated 02/10/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Mitsuzawa discloses a printing apparatus (“a line printer (printer 1) as an example of a printing apparatus”; at para. [0045]; Fig. 1) comprising:
a feed unit that feeds a printing medium (“transport unit 20 is used for transporting a medium… includes an upstream transport roller 23A, a downstream transport roller 23B, and a belt 24”; at para. [0053]; Fig. 1);
a print unit (head unit 30; at para. [0054]; Fig. 1) including a first print element array of a plurality of print elements for applying a first ink onto the printing medium and a second print element array of a plurality of print elements for applying a second ink onto the printing medium (head unit 30 includes a plurality of ink heads with different inks; “each head of the head unit 30 can form dots corresponding to a width of the medium”; at para. [0054]; Figs. 1 and 2; “Each head, as shown in the figure, has two nozzle rows of “A row” and “B row”.”; at para. [0073]; Figs. 3A and 3B; “second head CL2 includes an upstream head CL2a and a downstream head CL2b”; at para. [0153]; Figs. 15A-15C); and
a fixation unit that is located downstream of the print unit in a feed direction and fixates an image printed on the printing medium (irradiation section 45 is downstream of second head CL2; at para. [0152]; Figs. 15A-15C), wherein
the print unit prints a first image on the printing medium by applying the first ink (controller 60 controls ejection of ink so that ink from one of upstream head CL2a and downstream head CL2b eject ink onto the medium and the other of the two heads is not used; at para. [0156]-[0157]; Fig. 15A),
the feed unit feeds the printing medium on which the first image has been printed to the fixation unit from upstream to downstream in the feed direction (medium passes below the irradiation section 60; at para. [0158]; Fig. 15B),
the fixation unit fixates the first image (irradiation section 45 performs provisional curing; at para. [0158]),
the feed unit back-feeds the printing medium on which the first image has been fixated to the print unit from downstream to upstream in the feed direction (“After the provisional curing process is performed, as shown in FIG. 15B, the controller 60 transports (reverse transport) the medium in a direction opposite to the transport direction”; at para. [0159]; Fig. 15B), and
the print unit prints a second image on the first image by applying the second ink (“when the medium passes below the second head CL2, the controller 60 ejects ink from the second head CL2, whereby the entire surface of the medium is coated with clear ink”; at para. [0160]).
Regarding claim 3, Mitsuzawa discloses a printing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first ink is an ink for a foundation (“white ink is used for printing the background of an image. For example, in a case where only texts are printed on a transparent film, the texts cannot be easily seen when there is no background color”; at para. [0197]).
Regarding claim 4, Mitsuzawa discloses a printing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first ink contains a white color material (“white ink head W1 for forming white-ink dots, instead of the first head CL1”; at para. [0196]; Fig. 18; “white ink is used for printing the background of an image. For example, in a case where only texts are printed on a transparent film, the texts cannot be easily seen when there is no background color”; at para. [0197]).
Regarding claim 10, Mitsuzawa discloses a printing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the printing medium is a transparent printing medium or a colored printing medium (“For example, in a case where only texts are printed on a transparent film, the texts cannot be easily seen when there is no background color…; at para. [0197] and [0047]).
Regarding claim 18, Mitsuzawa discloses a method for controlling a printing apparatus (“The controller 60 is a control unit for controlling the printer… The CPU 62 controls each unit through a unit control circuit 64 in accordance with the program stored in the memory 63”; at para. [0066]) having
a feed unit that feeds a printing medium (“transport unit 20 is used for transporting a medium”; at para. [0053]; Fig. 1);
a print unit (head unit 30; at para. [0054]; Fig. 1) including a first print element array of a plurality of print elements for applying a first ink onto the printing medium and a second print element array of a plurality of print elements for applying a second ink onto the printing medium (head unit 30 includes a plurality of ink heads with different inks; “each head of the head unit 30 can form dots corresponding to a width of the medium”; at para. [0054]; Figs. 1 and 2; “Each head, as shown in the figure, has two nozzle rows of “A row” and “B row”.”; at para. [0073]; Figs. 3A and 3B; “second head CL2 includes an upstream head CL2a and a downstream head CL2b”; at para. [0153]; Figs. 15A-15C); and
a fixation unit that is located downstream of the print unit in a feed direction and fixates an image printed on the printing medium (irradiation section 45 is downstream of second head CL2; at para. [0152]; Figs. 15A-15C), and
a control unit (“The controller 60 is a control unit for controlling the printer”; at para. [0066]; “controller 60 prints an image on a medium by controlling each unit”; at para. [0052]), the method comprising:
by the control unit, using the print unit to print a first image on the printing medium by applying the first ink (controller 60 controls ejection of ink so that ink from one of upstream head CL2a and downstream head CL2b eject ink onto the medium and the other of the two heads is not used; at para. [0156]-[0157]; Fig. 15A);
by the control unit, using the feed unit to feed the printing medium on which the first image has been printed to the fixation unit from upstream to downstream in the feed direction (“the controller 60 transports a medium in the transport direction”; at para. [0155]; Fig. 15B),
by the control unit, using the fixation unit to fixate the first image (“medium passes below the irradiation section 45, the controller 60 emits UV for provisional curing onto the medium from using the irradiation section 45”; at para. [0158]; Fig. 15B),
by the control unit, using the feed unit to back-feed the printing medium on which the first image has been fixated to the print unit from downstream to upstream in the feed direction (“the controller 60 transports (reverse transport) the medium in a direction opposite to the transport direction by inverting the rotation of the upstream transport roller 23A and the downstream transport roller 23B”; at para. [0159]; Fig. 15B), and
by the control unit, using the print unit to print a second image on the first image by applying the second ink (“when the medium passes below the second head CL2, the controller 60 ejects ink from the second head CL2, whereby the entire surface of the medium is coated with clear ink”; at para. [0160]; Fig. 15C).
Regarding claim 19, Mitsuzawa discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a program (“The memory 63 includes a memory element such as a RAM or an EEPROM”; at para. [0066]) for causing a computer to execute a method for controlling a printing apparatus (“The controller 60 is a control unit for controlling the printer… The CPU 62 controls each unit through a unit control circuit 64 in accordance with the program stored in the memory 63”; at para. [0066]) having
a feed unit that feeds a printing medium (“transport unit 20 is used for transporting a medium”; at para. [0053]; Fig. 1);
a print unit (head unit 30; at para. [0054]; Fig. 1) including a first print element array of a plurality of print elements for applying a first ink onto the printing medium and a second print element array of a plurality of print elements for applying a second ink onto the printing medium (head unit 30 includes a plurality of ink heads with different inks; “each head of the head unit 30 can form dots corresponding to a width of the medium”; at para. [0054]; Figs. 1 and 2; “Each head, as shown in the figure, has two nozzle rows of “A row” and “B row”.”; at para. [0073]; Figs. 3A and 3B; “second head CL2 includes an upstream head CL2a and a downstream head CL2b”; at para. [0153]; Figs. 15A-15C); and
a fixation unit that is located downstream of the print unit in a feed direction and fixates an image printed on the printing medium (irradiation section 45 is downstream of second head CL2; at para. [0152]; Figs. 15A-15C), and
a control unit (“The controller 60 is a control unit for controlling the printer”; at para. [0066]; “controller 60 prints an image on a medium by controlling each unit”; at para. [0052]), the method comprising:
by the control unit, using the print unit to print a first image on the printing medium by applying the first ink (controller 60 controls ejection of ink so that ink from one of upstream head CL2a and downstream head CL2b eject ink onto the medium and the other of the two heads is not used; at para. [0156]-[0157]; Fig. 15A);
by the control unit, using the feed unit to feed the printing medium on which the first image has been printed to the fixation unit from upstream to downstream in the feed direction (“the controller 60 transports a medium in the transport direction”; at para. [0155]; Fig. 15B),
by the control unit, using the fixation unit to fixate the first image (“medium passes below the irradiation section 45, the controller 60 emits UV for provisional curing onto the medium from using the irradiation section 45”; at para. [0158]; Fig. 15B),
by the control unit, using the feed unit to back-feed the printing medium on which the first image has been fixated to the print unit from downstream to upstream in the feed direction (“the controller 60 transports (reverse transport) the medium in a direction opposite to the transport direction by inverting the rotation of the upstream transport roller 23A and the downstream transport roller 23B”; at para. [0159]; Fig. 15B), and
by the control unit, using the print unit to print a second image on the first image by applying the second ink (“when the medium passes below the second head CL2, the controller 60 ejects ink from the second head CL2, whereby the entire surface of the medium is coated with clear ink”; at para. [0160]; Fig. 15C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5-7, 9, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitsuzawa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Uchida (US 20130286079 A1) (cited in IDS dated 02/10/2025).
Regarding claim 2, Mitsuzawa teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 1, however Mitsuzawa does not teach wherein the second image is at least one of a registration adjustment pattern, a feed adjustment pattern, and a color calibration pattern.
Uchida teaches a printing apparatus (printing apparatus 2; at para. [0027]; Figs. 1A and 1B) wherein a first image is formed and a second image is formed over it as an adjustment pattern with respect to conveyance (“reference patterns 20 are printed as the first patterns by using predetermined nozzles belonging to the block BL2”; at para. [0058]; “adjustment patterns 21 are printed as the second patterns. For the adjustment patterns 21, different nozzles are used for the respective patch numbers of 0 to 6”; at para. [0060]; “the reference pattern 20 and adjustment pattern 21 are printed to change their overlapping form depending on the actual conveyance amount of a printing apparatus”; at para. [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second image taught by Mitsuzawa to be a conveyance adjustment pattern as taught by Uchida. This would have been done for the purpose of determining the difference or equality in controlled conveyance amount and actual conveyance amount as taught by Uchida (at para. [0061]).
Regarding claim 5, Mitsuzawa teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a detector group (“detector group 50 includes a rotary encoder (not shown), a paper detecting sensor (not shown), and the like”; at para. [0065]). However, Mitsuzawa does not explicitly teach the detector group as also being a read unit for reading the second image.
Uchida teaches a printing apparatus (printing apparatus 2; at para. [0027]; Figs. 1A and 1B) further comprising a sensor unit for reading the second image (“sensor unit 30 is a unit capable of reading an image printed on a printing medium”; at para. [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the detector group taught by Mitsuzawa to include a sensor unit for reading the second image as taught by Uchida. This would have been done for the purpose of reading an image at arbitrary positions and detecting the density of an image formed on a medium as taught by Uchida (at para. [0033]).
Regarding claim 6, Mitsuzawa as modified by Uchida teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 5, and Uchida further teaches wherein the read unit is provided integrally with the print unit on a carriage (“The carriage 4 includes a plurality of printheads 11 and a sensor unit 30”; at para. [0031]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the detector group as taught by Mitsuzawa wherein a read unit is provided integrally with the print unit for the purpose of enabling the read unit to read an image on a printing medium at an arbitrary position following the movement of the carriage and conveyance of the print medium and allow it to detect the end of a print medium as taught by Uchida (at para. [0033]).
Regarding claim 7, Mitsuzawa as modified by Uchida teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 5, however neither Mitsuzawa nor Uchida explicitly teach wherein in a case where the second image is a registration adjustment pattern or a feed adjustment pattern, after the second image is read by the read unit, the feed unit feeds the printing medium to the fixation unit, and the second image is fixated.
Uchida does teach in a case where the second image is a conveyance adjustment pattern, the read unit is provided integrally with the print unit (“The carriage 4 includes a plurality of printheads 11 and a sensor unit 30”; at para. [0031]). Uchida also teaches printing and reading a test print as the same step before calculations for adjustment are preformed (step S1; at para. [0063]; Fig. 6). Mitsuzawa teaches the print unit as upstream of the fixation unit (as applied to claim 1), and by modifying the detector group as taught by Mitsuzawa to include a read unit integral to the print unit as taught by Uchida, the configuration would be a print unit with a read unit upstream and the fixation unit downstream. Therefore, with the configuration, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the second image of an adjustment pattern would be printed by the print unit and read by the integral read unit in the same step as taught by Uchida (at para. [0055] and [0063]) before other steps, such as the second image being conveyed downstream to be fixated by the fixation unit.
Regarding claim 9, Mitsuzawa as modified by Uchida teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 5, and Uchida further teaches the printing apparatus as further comprising a determination unit that determines an adjustment value based on a read result of the second image (“The sensor unit 30 reads the printed image, and the fluctuation amount of the conveyance amount is measured based on the reading result. Based on the result, the fluctuation characteristic is converted into data”; at para. [0055]; “The CPU 401 can determine the correction amount based on the fluctuation information and fluctuation characteristic”; at para. [0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controller or CPU as taught by Mitsuzawa to determine an adjustment value for the purpose of correcting conveyance fluctuation and determining a desired actual conveyance amount as taught by Uchida (at para. [0069]).
Regarding claim 11, Mitsuzawa teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a detector group that conveys various information to the controller (“detector group 50 includes a rotary encoder (not shown), a paper detecting sensor (not shown), and the like”; at para. [0065]; “the detector group 50 outputs the result of detection to the controller 60”; at para. [0052]). However, Mitsuzawa does not explicitly teach the detector unit or controller as an obtainment unit that obtains information indicative of a type of the printing medium.
Uchida teaches a printing apparatus (printing apparatus 2; at para. [0027]; Figs. 1A and 1B) further comprising a sensor unit that can determine the type of printing medium (“The sensor unit 30 is also used to detect the end of a printing medium and discriminate the type of printing medium”; at para. [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the detector group that communicated with the controller as taught by Mitsuzawa to include a sensor unit for determining the type of printing medium as taught by Uchida. This would have been done for the purpose of accounting for an influence of slip between a printing medium and the conveyance rollers as taught by Uchida (at para. [0046]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitsuzawa as modified by Uchida applied to claim 5 above, and in further in view of Kawafuji et al. (US 20220080754 A1), hereinafter referred to as Kawafuji.
Regarding claim 8, Mitsuzawa as modified by Uchida teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 5, and Uchida further teaches wherein the feed unit feeds the printing medium on which the second image has been printed to the fixation unit, the fixation unit fixates the second image, and the read unit reads the fixated second image (“For example, an adjustment pattern is printed, and the backfeed is performed at the timing of detection. The backfeed can be performed especially when ink is dried to stabilize the color and then the printed image is read”; at para. [0086]; “All adjustment patterns to be detected are printed, and each pattern is moved to a drying position and dried. The printing and drying are repeated. After that, backfeed is executed, and the printing medium is moved to a reading position”; at para. [0087]). Uchida does not explicitly teach the process as being done in a case where the second image is a color calibration pattern.
Kawafuji teaches a printing apparatus (printing apparatus 100; at para. [0049]; Fig. 1) comprising a detection sensor mounted on a carriage that also holds a print head (detection sensor 12, carriage 3, print head 2; at para. [0050]-[0051]; Fig. 1), wherein the print head prints a detection pattern (Pt) (at para. [0117]-[0119]; Figs. 11A-11B), and the detection sensor reads a detection pattern for the controller (“based on the information read by the detection sensor 12, the CPU 411 detects the shift in the conveyance amount”; at para. [0109]; “CPU 411 of the control part 410”; at para. [0064]). Kawafuji also notes that alternative adjustment patterns to the detection pattern may include a color correction (“it is also possible that, not only the detection pattern Pt, various adjustment patterns are printed in a margin area of the print medium 1. Examples of such adjustment patterns include a pattern for color deviation correction”; at para. [0195]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the adjustment pattern Uchida to be an alternative adjustment pattern type, such as a color deviation pattern as taught by Kawafuji, in order to perform the printing method wherein the color is dried and stabilized before being read as taught by Uchida.
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitsuzawa as modified by Uchida applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Verhofstad et al. (US 20180345682 A1), hereinafter referred to as Verhofstad.
Regarding claim 12, Mitsuzawa as modified by Uchida teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 11, Mitsuzawa teaches a computer with a print driver that communicates with the printer with a controller (at para. [0047]-[0050] and [0052]) and Uchida further teaches a host apparatus that provides various data and commands to the controller (at para. [0040]), however neither Mitsuzawa nor Uchida explicitly teach wherein the obtainment unit obtains the information based on information set by a user.
Verhofstad teaches and printing apparatus (ink jet printing assembly 3; at para. [0040]; Fig. 1) with a paper input module and control unit (paper module 50 and control unit 10; at para. [0061] and [0064]; Figs. 3 and 4) wherein the information indicative of a type of printing medium is set by a user (“The control unit 10 controls the media that is fed into the printer 3… The type of media can be selected by an operator via a user interface of the printer”; at para. [0061] and [0064]; Figs. 3 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the commands of the controller as taught by Mitsuzawa and Uchida to include the type of printing media as selected by a user as taught by Verhofstad. This would have been done for the purpose of controlling the media fed to the printer as taught by Verhofstad (at para. [0061] and [0064]).
Regarding claim 13, Mitsuzawa as modified by Uchida teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 8claim 11, Mitsuzawa teaches a computer with a print driver that communicates with the printer (at para. [0047]-[0050]) and Uchida further teaches a host apparatus that provides various data and commands to the controller (at para. [0040]), however neither Mitsuzawa nor Uchida explicitly teach wherein the obtainment unit obtains the information based on information included in a print job.
Verhofstad teaches a printing apparatus (ink jet printing assembly 3; at para. [0040]; Fig. 1) with a paper input module and control unit (paper module 50 and control unit 10; at para. [0061] and [0064]; Figs. 3 and 4) wherein the information indicative of a type of printing is included in a print job.
(“The control unit 10 controls the media that is fed into the printer 3… Alternatively, the type of media can be selected when defining a print job at a computer that is in operative connection with control unit 10”; at para. [0061 and [0064]; Figs. 3 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the commands of the controller as taught by Mitsuzawa and Uchida to include the type of printing media as selected with the print job as taught by Verhofstad. This would have been done for the purpose of controlling the media fed to the printer as taught by Verhofstad (at para. [0061] and [0064]).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitsuzawa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Verhofstad.
Regarding claim 14, Mitsuzawa teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the printing media may be a sheet, cloth, or film (at para. [0047], and that there are a variety of media known in the art (“a medium (a paper sheet, a film, or the like)”; at para. [0005]), however Mitsuzawa does not explicitly teach wherein the printing medium used is a white printing medium.
Verhofstad teaches printing apparatuses (ink jet printing assembly 3; at para. [0040]; Fig. 1) comprising of print units each with a radiation source downstream to cure ink droplets (print head 4 with radiation units 11a and 11b; Fig. 5; print head arrays 4a-4d with sources of radiation 11a1-11a4 and 11b). Additionally, Verhofstad teaches wherein white printing media were used (“MPI 2000, a white polymeric self-adhesive vinyl film… and MPI 2020, a matte white calendered vinyl film… were used as the recording medium”; at para. [0081]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the printing medium as taught by Mitsuzawa to specifically use a matte or gloss white printing medium in order to determine a suitable curing strategy as taught by Verhofstad (at para. [0095]).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitsuzawa as applied to claim 1 above, and in further in view of Kentaro (JP 2011073307 A).
Regarding claim 17, Mitsuzawa teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 1, however Mitsuzawa does not teach wherein the first image is a solid image formed by the first ink and having a uniform density.
Kentaro teaches a color correction method for printing on a transparent medium (abstract; page 1) wherein a solid uniform base image is printed (“a base B1 formed by attaching W ink dots with a uniform recording amount”; at fourth paragraph of page 7 describing Fig. 7, lines 6-7) and dried then color correction patches are printed on the base (last two lines of page 11 and first three lines of page 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the printing apparatus as taught by Mitsuzawa to print a solid base on a transparent medium before printing individual colors in order to produce a stable brightness as taught by Kentaro (“The base B1 (B2) of this embodiment has a lightness higher than a predetermined threshold (for example, L = 90) and is printed with a recording amount in which the reproduced color (reproduced lightness) is stable”; at fourth paragraph of page 7 describing Fig. 7, lines 7-8).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Aoki et al. (US 20140098169 A1) (cited in IDS dated 02/10/2025) discloses a printing apparatus wherein a first image is printed on a medium going in a first direction, the image is then dried, then the medium is wound back, and then a second image is formed on the medium over the first ink, and finally a third image is formed on the medium (Example 2; at para. [0132]; Fig. 2).
Hori et al. (US 20170274683 A1) (cited in IDS dated 02/10/2025) discloses a printing apparatus with a plurality of recording heads with UV irradiators between them (at para. [0043]). The printing apparatus is capable of reverse transport and sensor calibration processing (Fig. 3).
Utsunomiya (US 20130328955 A1) (cited in IDS dated 02/10/2025) discloses a printing apparatus that can use a first nozzle to print in the transport direction, a second nozzle to print in the reverse transport direction, and a third nozzle to print in the transport direction (Application Example 5; at para. [0022]). Additionally, an under layer may be printed in white or some other ink (at para. [0057]).
Endo (US 20100026750 A1) (cited in IDS dated 02/10/2025) discloses a printing apparatus that performs ejection testing for ejection defects by printing test patterns and using optical sensors (Outline of Ejection Testing; at para. [0169]). Endo also discloses a user interface to select various printer settings, such as paper type (at para. [0108]-[0111]; Fig. 3).
09 March 2026
/KYRA MELOR VAN KREUNINGEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/DOUGLAS X RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853