DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested:
IMAGE-FORMING SYSTEM, METHOD, SERVER APPARATUS, AND CLIENT APPARATUS COMPRISING NOT TAKING INTO ACCOUNT A SHEET AFFECTED BY TROUBLE IN THE ACTUAL NUMBER OF SHEETS CONSUMED THAT ARE STORED AS HISTORY DATA IN A DATABASE.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: image forming apparatus, communication unit, control unit, modification management unit, management unit and capturing unit (interpretation: the camera 213 is a capturing unit that is capable of generating image data of an object by capturing an image of the object, which is taught in ¶ [84].) in claims 1-13, 16 and 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamijima (US Pub 2018/0268493) in view of Watanabe (US Pub 2015/0169270).
Re claim 1: Kimijima discloses an image-forming system comprising:
an image-forming apparatus (interpretation: The image-forming apparatus 100 is arranged in a user environment E1. The image-forming apparatus 100 may be, for example, one of a printer, a copier, a facsimile receiver, and a multifunction peripheral, and executes a job to form an image on a sheet, which is taught in ¶ [44]. This interpretation and its equivalents are utilized for this claim term hereinafter in the Office Action.) arranged in a user environment and configured to execute a job to form an image on a sheet (e.g. a printer is used to print data by forming images on a sheet and is within an environment where a user can browse information on the network, which is taught in ¶ [36] and [37].);
[0036] FIG. 1 is a simplified diagram of a system according to the present embodiment. The system 10 includes a printer 20, which is an example of a printing apparatus, and a server 30, which gathers information about the printer 20 and manages the system 10. Although only a single printer 20 is illustrated in FIG. 1, the system 10 may include a plurality of printers 20. The term “printer” means an apparatus that has at least a printer function. The printer 20 may be a multifunction printer that has a plurality of functions such as a scanner function and a facsimile function in addition to a printer function. The printer 20 may be a fixed installed printer, or a portable compact printer (mobile printer). The printer 20 may be referred to as image forming apparatus. In the present embodiment, a whole or a part of the system 10 may be referred to as charge calculation system. The printer 20 and/or the server 30 may be referred to as charge calculation apparatus. The charge calculation apparatus executes a charge calculation method.
[0037] Each printer 20 and the server 30 are capable of communicating with each other via a network NW. The network NW could encompass a local area network (LAN) and/or the Internet. The network NW may be a wired network or a wireless network. Though not illustrated, a terminal operated by an operator who belongs to a service provider (e.g., printer manufacturer) managing and operating the system 10 is connected to the server 30. The terminal is, for example, a personal computer (PC). The operator is able to browse information held and processed by the server 30 via the terminal.
a database arranged in a remote environment and configured to store history data of one or more jobs executed by the image-forming apparatus (e.g. the server and the printer contain a storage within the remote environment that stores the number of papers that have been used for printing, which is taught in ¶ [41] and [58].);
[0041] The server 30 includes a control unit 31, a communication IF 32, and a storage unit 33, etc. The function of the server 30 is embodied by one or more information processing apparatuses. The control unit 31 is one or more ICs including CPU, ROM, RAM, etc. or other memory means, etc. In the control unit 31, the CPU performs arithmetic operation in accordance with programs stored in the ROM, etc. using the RAM, etc. as work area so as to control the behavior of the server 30. As a kind of the programs, a charge calculation program 34 is installed in the control unit 31. The foregoing description about the communication IF 22 and the storage unit 23 applies mutatis mutandis to the communication IF 32 and the storage unit 33. Information transmitted from each printer 20 is stored in the storage unit 33. The stored information can be used for calculating print charge for the printer 20 each.
[0058] In the step S210, the control unit 21 (consumed amount acquisition unit 40) acquires information on the amount of a consumable consumed for printing in the calculation target period. As described earlier, consumable information is stored in the storage unit 23. In addition to the most-recent-update consumable information, the control unit 21 has caused the storage unit 23 to store the cumulative number of printed sheets at the point in time of execution of carried-forward amount calculation corresponding to the last closing date as “the cumulative number of printed sheets up to the closing date for the last calculation target period.”
a control unit (interpretation: From a functional perspective, the electronic components 91, 92, 93, and 94 of the processing circuitry 90 described above may mainly function as the print control unit 110 and a UI control unit 120. The print control unit 110 controls the image-forming operation by the image-forming unit 40, which is taught in ¶ [75]. This interpretation and its equivalents are utilized for this claim term hereinafter in the Office Action.) configured to control execution of a job by the image-forming apparatus or control charging to a user of the image-forming apparatus based on an actual number of sheets consumed by the image-forming apparatus calculated based on the history data (e.g. the system determines the sheet used and controls the charging to a user based on the sheets utilized for printing. The control unit controls the charge processing, which is taught in ¶ [42] and [65]-[67].); and
[0042] FIG. 2 illustrates functions implemented by the control unit 21 (printer 20) running the carried-forward amount calculation program 27 and functions implemented by the control unit 31 (server 30) running the charge calculation program 34 in the system 10. A consumed amount acquisition unit 40, which acquires information on the amount of a consumable consumed for printing in a first period, a carried-forward amount calculation unit 41, which calculates the carried-forward amount (carryover) of a consumable on the basis of the consumed amount and the base amount of a consumable for the first period, a charge calculation unit 42, which calculates the amount of money charged for printing on the basis of the carried-forward amount, and a notifying unit 43, which notifies the carried-forward amount to the outside, are illustrated herein for implementing various functions.
[0065] The control unit 31 (charge calculation unit 42) judges whether the time of starting charge calculation processing regarding the target printer 20 has come or not (step S300). The control unit 31 is able to recognize the closing date on the basis of the content of the agreement stored in the storage unit 33 regarding the target printer 20. Therefore, if the current time is the predetermined time of the closing date (e.g., 23:59) or the time of the end of the closing date (0:00 of the day after the closing date), the control unit 31 judges that the time of starting charge calculation processing for the month to which the closing date belongs (calculation target period) has come (“Yes” in a step S300), and the process proceeds to a step S310. For example, if the calculation target period for charge calculation is February 2017, predetermine time before or after the end of Feb. 28, 2017 is the timing for performing charge calculation for February 2017.
[0066] In the step S310, the control unit 31 (charge calculation unit 42) acquires information on the amount of a consumable consumed by the target printer 20 for printing in the calculation target period. As described earlier, printer information is transmitted periodically from each printer 20 to the server 30, and the printer information (consumable information, etc.) is stored into the storage unit 33 for the printer 20 each. Therefore, the control unit 31 refers to the information stored in the storage unit 33 and calculates, regarding the target printer 20, the difference between the most-recent-update cumulative number of printed sheets and the cumulative number of printed sheets at the point in time of execution of charge calculation corresponding to the last closing date. This difference is acquired as the number of printed sheets for the calculation target period, that is, as the amount of a consumable consumed by the target printer 20 for printing in the calculation target period.
[0067] In a step S320, the control unit 31 (charge calculation unit 42) acquires information on the base amount, regarding the target printer 20, of a consumable for the calculation target period. In this example, the control unit 31 reads out the base number of print sheets that is a part of, regarding the target printer 20, the content of the agreement stored in the storage unit 33.
a communication unit (interpretation: The communication I/F 21 is a communication unit for the image-forming apparatus 100 to communicate with another apparatus. The communication by the communication I/F 21 is controlled by the processing circuitry 90. For example, the communication I/F 21 communicates with the user terminal 200 present in the user environment E1, and the management server 300 present in the remote environment E2. The communication I/F 21 may be a wired communication interface or a wireless communication interface, which is taught in ¶ [73]. This claim term and its equivalents are utilized for this claim term hereinafter in the Office Action.) configured to, in a case where a first job executed by the image-forming apparatus has caused a trouble of image-formation, transmit, in response to an instruction by a user, a modification request for modifying the database, wherein the modification request includes job-related information of the first job (e.g. the printer stores error information and modifies the server storage when the error information is sent to the server, which is taught in ¶ [44] and [45]. The user can access the printer from a screen, which is taught in ¶ [90].).
[0044] Before an explanation of charge calculation, periodic transmission processing for sending printer information by the printer 20 will now be explained. In the present embodiment, the printer 20 transmits its own information (printer information), which is information regarding the printer 20, to the server 30 periodically at predetermined timing. The printer information includes consumable information in the printer 20, device identification information for identifying the printer 20, time information indicating the time at which the printer information was generated by the printer 20, etc. The consumable means an article consumed for printing performed by the printer 20 (printing unit 26), for example, ink, toner, a print medium such as paper, etc. The consumable information could contain information about, for example, the cumulative number of sheets printed by the printing unit 26, the amount of ink left in an ink cartridge(s) (or an ink bottle or an ink pack) of the printing unit 26, the amount of ink consumed such as the number of color-by-color shots from nozzles, ink cartridge replacement history, the amount of toner left in the printing unit 26, the amount of toner consumed, toner cartridge replacement history, etc.
[0045] On the basis of the output of various kinds of sensor or counter of the printing unit 26, the control unit 21 of the printer 20 writes the most-recent-update (latest) consumable information on a real-time basis into the storage unit 23. Any unique information that enables each individual printer 20 to be identified in the system 10 suffices as the device identification information. The device identification information is, for example, the serial number of the printer 20. The printer information may contain error information, etc. for notification of an error that occurred at the printer 20.
[0090] The information presented to a user by the display unit 24 of the printer 20 (for example, the UI screen 50) may be displayed on a display of a non-illustrated terminal such as a PC connected to the printer 20. For example, the printer 20 functions as a kind of server on the network NW and presents a webpage for displaying various kinds of information. An external PC presents the UI screen 50, etc. to the user via its own display by accessing the webpage by using the function of a browser installed. Various processing explained in the foregoing description as processing executed by the printer 20, including but not limited to periodic transmission of printer information to the server 30, carried-forward amount calculation, and charge calculation, may be executed by the external PC capable of establishing a connection to the printer 20 and acquiring the printer information, etc. therefrom.
However, Kamijima fails to specifically teach the features of, in a case where a first job executed by the image-forming apparatus has caused a trouble of image-formation, transmit, in response to an instruction by a user, a modification request for modifying the database so that at least a sheet affected by the trouble is not taken into account in the actual number, wherein the modification request includes job-related information of the first job.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Watanabe. Similar to the primary reference, Watanabe discloses not including a sheet that is involved in an error (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Watanabe discloses , in a case where a first job executed by the image-forming apparatus has caused a trouble of image-formation, transmit, in response to an instruction by a user, a modification request for modifying the database so that at least a sheet affected by the trouble is not taken into account in the actual number, wherein the modification request includes job-related information of the first job (e.g. when the user submits a job, a job completion notification can be received from the printer. In response to receiving the job, the printer checks to see if a job is associated with an error or cancellation. If a job is associated with an error or cancellation, the page count is adjusted in order to not count a job in error. This is taught in ¶ [61]. The cancelled or error jobs are associated with an ID in the job log, which is taught in ¶ [52] and [53].).
[0052] The information of Job ID 501, job type 502, state of job 503, sending user name 504, circulation 505, and a number of printed pages is included in the Job Log. As the number of printed pages, total number of pages 506, number of printed pages in full color 507, number of printed pages in black-and-white pages 508, number of large-based printed pages 509, and number of small-based printed pages 510 are included in the Job Log acquired from the printing device 103. The job management unit 308 of the job sending application 302 has the unique Job ID of the application, and this is associated with the Job Log included in the printing device. Thus, by acquiring the Job Log, it can be seen whether the printing has succeeded/failed for any job. If it is determined that the printing is successful by confirming the Job Log, it is considered that the number of the printed pages that the color determination unit 307 has determined is established, and the number of the printed pages is stored as the count value in the ROM 204 of the host computer 201 or the external memory 212.
[0053] The Job Log acquired from the printing device 312 includes not only successful printing, as with ID2021 (511), but also canceled jobs on the printing device and the like. If the job is canceled, as with ID3067 (512), the record count is balanced out by matching against the number which is actually output.
[0060] FIG. 7 is a flowchart illustrating the processing of the entire printing system. Firstly, in the present embodiment, it is determined whether or not a sending destination (print destination) is the printing device 103 (step S701). In other words, it is determined whether or not the print destination is two-color level charging. If it is determined that the print destination is the printing device 103 (yes), a content pdf that is an object to be printed is stored because the color determination is performed in the host computer (step S702). Then, the color determination in which the number of printed pages classified into each level in the plurality of color levels managed is calculated when the printing is performed in the printing device 102 is performed for the stored content pdf by flow of FIG. 8 as described below (step S703).
[0061] In parallel with the color determination, a job (a first job) is transmitted to the printing device 103 that is the printing destination, and the print completion notification is received from the printing device 103 (step 704). In the present embodiment, the printing transmission processing by acquiring the Job Log after receiving the print completion notification as described the above is considered to be the completion, but at this point, since the known technique is used, a detailed description thereof will be omitted. After acquiring the Job Log, it is determined whether or not there is error/cancel for the job, and if it is determined that there is the error/cancel (yes), adjusting of the count result is performed by the flow of FIG. 9 as described the below (step S706).
Therefore, in view of Watanabe, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of, in a case where a first job executed by the image-forming apparatus has caused a trouble of image-formation, transmit, in response to an instruction by a user, a modification request for modifying the database so that at least a sheet affected by the trouble is not taken into account in the actual number, wherein the modification request includes job-related information of the first job, incorporated in the device of Kimijima, in order to not include pages in error in the charging or counting, which can aid in the correct billing (as stated in Watanabe ¶ [56]).
Re claim 2: Kamijima discloses the image-forming system according to claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to permit or reject execution of a job requested by a user so that the actual number of sheets consumed by the image-forming apparatus within a predetermined period does not exceed an upper limit number; and the actual number to be compared with the upper limit number (e.g. the invention discloses if a number of sheets is above a limit within a predetermined period, which is taught in ¶ [74]. The actual number of pages used can be compared to a upper limit assigned per month for the user.).
[0074] “Number of print sheets left available this month” is a numerical value that indicates how many sheets are left available for printing this month within a range in which the amount of money charged for printing this month does not exceed the agreed fixed amount of money. The control unit 21 causes the display unit 24 to display, as “Number of print sheets left available this month”, a value calculated by adding “Number of print sheets carried forward from the last month” to “Contracted number of print sheets” and by subtracting “Number of sheets printed this month” therefrom. “Number of print sheets left available this month” corresponds to an amount, of a consumable, left available for consumption in a second period, wherein this amount is calculated on the basis of the amount of a consumable consumed for printing in the second period (this month) that is posterior to a first period (the last month) (second consumed amount), the base amount of a consumable for the second period (second base amount), and the carried-forward amount. By causing the display unit 24 to display the UI screen 50 that contains these items and values, the control unit 21 performs external notification, that is, lets the user know the amount carried forward from the last month and the number of print sheets left available this month, thereby helping the user in improving print work efficiency and reducing cost. The method of notification by the control unit 21 (notifying unit 43) is not limited to display. Speech output from non-illustrated speakers may be used for the notification. The “left-available-for-consumption” amount of a consumable is not limited to the value calculated by subtracting the number of sheets printed this month from the sum of the contracted number of print sheets and the number of print sheets carried forward from the last month (first left-available-for-consumption amount of a consumable). For example, the left-available-for-consumption amount of a consumable may be a value calculated by adding a predetermined amount to, or subtracting a predetermined amount from, the first left-available-for-consumption amount.
However, Kamijima fails to specifically teach the features of the modification request is a request that at least the sheet affected by the trouble be not taken into account in the actual number to be compared with the upper limit number.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Watanabe. Similar to the primary reference, Watanabe discloses not including a sheet that is involved in an error (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Watanabe discloses the modification request is a request that at least the sheet affected by the trouble be not taken into account in the actual number to be compared with the upper limit number (e.g. when the user submits a job, a job completion notification can be received from the printer. In response to receiving the job, the printer checks to see if a job is associated with an error or cancellation. If a job is associated with an error or cancellation, the page count is adjusted in order to not count a job in error. This is taught in ¶ [61] above.).
Therefore, in view of Watanabe, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of the modification request is a request that at least the sheet affected by the trouble be not taken into account in the actual number to be compared with the upper limit number, incorporated in the device of Kimijima, in order to not include pages in error in the charging or counting, which can aid in the correct billing (as stated in Watanabe ¶ [56]).
Re claim 3: Kamijima discloses the image-forming system according to claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to charge, to the user, an amount that depends on the actual number of sheets consumed by the image-forming apparatus within a predetermined period (e.g. the invention discloses if a number of sheets is above a limit within a predetermined period, which is taught in ¶ [74] above. The actual number of pages used can be compared to a upper limit assigned per month for the user.).
However, Kamijima fails to specifically teach the features of the modification request is a request that at least the sheet affected by the trouble be not taken into account in determining the amount to be charged.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Watanabe. Similar to the primary reference, Watanabe discloses not including a sheet that is involved in an error (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Watanabe discloses the modification request is a request that at least the sheet affected by the trouble be not taken into account in determining the amount to be charged (e.g. when the user submits a job, a job completion notification can be received from the printer. In response to receiving the job, the printer checks to see if a job is associated with an error or cancellation. If a job is associated with an error or cancellation, the page count is adjusted in order to not count a job in error. This is taught in ¶ [61] above.).
Therefore, in view of Watanabe, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of the modification request is a request that at least the sheet affected by the trouble be not taken into account in determining the amount to be charged, incorporated in the device of Kimijima, in order to not include pages in error in the charging or counting, which can aid in the correct billing (as stated in Watanabe ¶ [56]).
Re claim 8: However, Kimajima fails to specifically teach the features of the image-forming system according to claim 1, wherein the image-forming system further comprises: a modification management unit arranged in the remote environment and configured to cause the database to store the print image data in association with the modification request received from the communication unit.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Watanabe. Similar to the primary reference, Watanabe discloses not including a sheet that is involved in an error (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Watanabe discloses wherein the image-forming system further comprises: a modification management unit (interpretation: The modification management unit 375 manages modifications to data in the management DB 303 based on above-described modification requests that are received from the user terminal 200 or the image-forming apparatus 100 via the communication I/F 301, which is taught in ¶ [101]. This interpretation and its equivalents are utilized for this claim phrase hereinafter in the Office Action.) arranged in the remote environment and configured to cause the database to store the print image data in association with the modification request received from the communication unit (e.g. the job contains an error or cancellation when trouble occurs during printing. The system stores an indication of adjusting the page count with the job that has experienced the error, which is taught in ¶ [61], [65] and [66].).
[0061] In parallel with the color determination, a job (a first job) is transmitted to the printing device 103 that is the printing destination, and the print completion notification is received from the printing device 103 (step 704). In the present embodiment, the printing transmission processing by acquiring the Job Log after receiving the print completion notification as described the above is considered to be the completion, but at this point, since the known technique is used, a detailed description thereof will be omitted. After acquiring the Job Log, it is determined whether or not there is error/cancel for the job, and if it is determined that there is the error/cancel (yes), adjusting of the count result is performed by the flow of FIG. 9 as described the below (step S706).
[0065] FIG. 9 is a flowchart illustrating the adjusting processing of the count result in step S706 if it is determined that there is an error/cancel for the job in step S705 in FIG. 7, that is, if the printing of the page intended by the user is not successful due to an error or cancellation for the job. In the present embodiment, an area at which the print result of the job is temporary counted is called a "temporary counter" and an area at which the number of printed pages of all jobs on the printing device is called a "real counter". The real counter is used for collecting the counter by the counter collecting computer 104.
[0066] Firstly, the determination result of color level in each page determined in FIG. 8 is recorded in the temporary counter, and it is determined whether or not a page to be calculated is less than a page to be print canceled (error or cancellation) (step S901). If it is determined that the page to be calculated is less than the page to be print canceled (yes), the determination result of the page to be calculated is recorded in the temporary counter (step S902). Then, the processing returns to step S901, and the determination continues until reaching the page which is print canceled. In contrast, if it is determined that the page to be calculated is more than the page to be print canceled, that is, the page which is print canceled is reached (no), the determination result is stopped to record in the temporary counter, and the number recorded in the temporary counter is confirmed and recorded in the real counter (step S903).
Therefore, in view of Watanabe, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein the image-forming system further comprises: a modification management unit arranged in the remote environment and configured to cause the database to store the print image data in association with the modification request received from the communication unit, incorporated in the device of Kamijima, in order to not include pages in error in the charging or counting, which can aid in the correct billing (as stated in Watanabe ¶ [56]).
Re claim 9: However, Kamijima fails to specifically teach the features of the image-forming system according to claim 8, wherein the modification management unit is configured to modify, in response to reception of the modification request or reception of the print image data from the communication unit, the database so that at least the sheet affected by the trouble is not taken into account in the actual number.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Watanabe. Similar to the primary reference, Watanabe discloses not including a sheet that is involved in an error (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Watanabe discloses wherein the modification management unit is configured to modify, in response to reception of the modification request or reception of the print image data from the communication unit, the database so that at least the sheet affected by the trouble is not taken into account in the actual number (e.g. when a print job is completed, it serves as a notification to determine if an error or malfunction is associated with the job in order to modify the count associated with the sent job. Once determined, the count associated with the job is adjusted, which is taught in ¶ [61], [65] and [66].).
Therefore, in view of Watanabe, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein the modification management unit is configured to modify, in response to reception of the modification request or reception of the print image data from the communication unit, the database so that at least the sheet affected by the trouble is not taken into account in the actual number, incorporated in the device of Kamijima, in order to not include pages in error in the charging or counting, which can aid in the correct billing (as stated in Watanabe ¶ [56]).
Re claim 10: However, Kamijima fails to specifically teach the features of the image-forming system according to claim 8, wherein the modification management unit is configured to modify, after it is determined that the trouble has actually occurred based on verification on the print image data for the modification request received from the communication unit, the database so that at least the sheet affected by the trouble is not taken into account in the actual number.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Watanabe. Similar to the primary reference, Watanabe discloses not including a sheet that is involved in an error (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Watanabe discloses wherein the modification management unit is configured to modify, after it is determined that the trouble has actually occurred based on verification on the print image data for the modification request received from the communication unit, the database so that at least the sheet affected by the trouble is not taken into account in the actual number (e.g. as seen in figure 7, the system performs a modification to the count result based on verifying that an error or cancellation has occurred to the job or part of the job. The verification occurs after receiving the job at the communication unit to perform the job and perform job completion notification. The count collected information is modified to not count the information in error, which is taught in ¶ [61], [65] and [66] above.).
Therefore, in view of Watanabe, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein the modification management unit is configured to modify, after it is determined that the trouble has actually occurred based on verification on the print image data for the modification request received from the communication unit, the database so that at least the sheet affected by the trouble is not taken into account in the actual number, incorporated in the device of Kamijima, in order to not include pages in error in the charging or counting, which can aid in the correct billing (as stated in Watanabe ¶ [56]).
Re claim 12: However, Kamijima fails to specifically teach the features of the image-forming system according to claim 8, wherein the modification management unit is configured to modify the database so that a number of all sheets consumed in the first job is not taken into account in the actual number.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Watanabe. Similar to the primary reference, Watanabe discloses not including a sheet that is involved in an error (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Watanabe discloses wherein the modification management unit is configured to modify the database so that a number of all sheets consumed in the first job is not taken into account in the actual number (e.g. the system discloses determining which sheet or sheets contain an error in order to not count them for the overall job, which is taught in ¶ [61], [65] and [66] above.).
Therefore, in view of Watanabe, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein the modification management unit is configured to modify the database so that a number of all sheets consumed in the first job is not taken into account in the actual number, incorporated in the device of Kamijima, in order to not include pages in error in the charging or counting, which can aid in the correct billing (as stated in Watanabe ¶ [56]).
Re claim 13: However, Kamijima fails to specifically teach the features of the image-forming system according to claim 8, wherein the modification management unit is configured to modify the database so that a number of sheets for which the print image data is received out of the sheets consumed in the first job is not taken into account in the actual number.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Watanabe. Similar to the primary reference, Watanabe discloses not including a sheet that is involved in an error (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Watanabe discloses wherein the modification management unit is configured to modify the database so that a number of sheets for which the print image data is received out of the sheets consumed in the first job is not taken into account in the actual number (e.g. the system discloses not taking into account all the print images out of the sheets consumed since one or more of the print images are associated with an error, which is taught in ¶ [61], [65] and [66] above.).
Therefore, in view of Watanabe, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein the modification management unit is configured to modify the database so that a number of sheets for which the print image data is received out of the sheets consumed in the first job is not taken into account in the actual number, incorporated in the device of Kamijima, in order to not include pages in error in the charging or counting, which can aid in the correct billing (as stated in Watanabe ¶ [56]).
Re claim 14: However, Kamijima fails to specifically teach the features of the image-forming system according to claim 1, wherein the job-related information includes one or both of identification information for identifying the image-forming apparatus and identification information for identifying the first job.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Watanabe. Similar to the primary reference, Watanabe discloses not including a sheet that is involved in an error (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Watanabe discloses wherein the job-related information includes one or both of identification information for identifying the image-forming apparatus and identification information for identifying the first job (e.g. the job associated with the error contains a job ID, which is taught in ¶ [52]-[56].).
[0052] The information of Job ID 501, job type 502, state of job 503, sending user name 504, circulation 505, and a number of printed pages is included in the Job Log. As the number of printed pages, total number of pages 506, number of printed pages in full color 507, number of printed pages in black-and-white pages 508, number of large-based printed pages 509, and number of small-based printed pages 510 are included in the Job Log acquired from the printing device 103. The job management unit 308 of the job sending application 302 has the unique Job ID of the application, and this is associated with the Job Log included in the printing device. Thus, by acquiring the Job Log, it can be seen whether the printing has succeeded/failed for any job. If it is determined that the printing is successful by confirming the Job Log, it is considered that the number of the printed pages that the color determination unit 307 has determined is established, and the number of the printed pages is stored as the count value in the ROM 204 of the host computer 201 or the external memory 212.
[0053] The Job Log acquired from the printing device 312 includes not only successful printing, as with ID2021 (511), but also canceled jobs on the printing device and the like. If the job is canceled, as with ID3067 (512), the record count is balanced out by matching against the number which is actually output.
[0054] For example, it is assumed that the color determination result in the host computer 301 of the job ID3067 is high area color on the 23rd page, low area color on the 24th page, and high area color on the 25th page. The state of Job ID3067 (512) in the Job Log is "Cancelled", and the total number of pages is 24. Therefore, this is means that only 24 pages of color pages are output.
[0055] For this reason, the host computer 301 stores the high area color on the 23rd page to the low area color on the 24th page in the count area. In this case, even if the calculation has finished, the result of the color determination on 25th page and subsequent pages is not stored in the counter area of the host computer 301, but is discarded.
[0056] In the present embodiment, an actual value of the number of printed pages that the Job Log has matches only when the job is "Cancelled", but the total number of printed pages may match even when the job is "Completed". As a result of matching, if the calculation result in the host computer is different from the actual value, it may be left the record in the log. In this case, if any failure occurs in the color determination unit 307 of the host computer and the calculation of the number of printed pages is wrong, the failure can be discovered during collecting, and the error can be discovered, and it is possible to help support, for example, the adjustment of the billing amount and the like.
Therefore, in view of Watanabe, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein the job-related information includes one or both of identification information for identifying the image-forming apparatus and identification information for identifying the first job, incorporated in the device of Kamijima, in order to not include pages in error in the charging or counting, which can aid in the correct billing (as stated in Watanabe ¶ [56]).
Re claim 15: Kamijima discloses a method comprising:
causing a database to store history data of one or more jobs executed by an image-forming apparatus configured to form an image on a sheet (e.g. the server and the printer contain a storage within the remote environment that stores the number of papers that have been used for printing, which is taught in ¶ [41] and [58] above.);
controlling, by a server apparatus, execution of a job at the image-forming apparatus or charging to a user of the image-forming apparatus based on an actual number of sheets consumed by the image-forming apparatus calculated based on the history data in the database (e.g. the system determines the sheet used and controls the charging to a user based on the sheets utilized for printing. The control unit controls the charge processing, which is taught in ¶ [42] and [65]-[67] above.);
in a case where a first job executed by the image-forming apparatus has caused a trouble of image-formation, receiving, from the image-forming apparatus or a terminal apparatus utilized by a user of the image-forming apparatus, a modification request, the modification request being transmitted in response to an instruction by the user and including job-related information of the first job (e.g. the printer stores error information and modifies the server storage when the error information is sent to the server, which is taught in ¶ [44] and [45] above. The user can access the printer from a screen, which is taught in ¶ [90] above.).
However, Kamijima fails to specifically teach the features of in a case where a first job executed by the image-forming apparatus has caused a trouble of image-formation, receiving, from the image-forming apparatus or a terminal apparatus utilized by a user of the image-forming apparatus, a modification request for not taking into account at least a sheet affected by the trouble in the actual number, the modification request being transmitted in response to an instruction by the user and including job-related information of the first job; and in a case where the modification request is received, modifying the history data related to the first job stored in the database.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Watanabe. Similar to the primary reference, Watanabe discloses not including a sheet that is involved in an error (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Watanabe discloses in a case where a first job executed by the image-forming apparatus has caused a trouble of image-formation, receiving, from the image-forming apparatus or a terminal apparatus utilized by a user of the image-forming apparatus, a modification request for not taking into account at least a sheet affected by the trouble in the actual number, the modification request being transmitted in response to an instruction by the user and including job-related information of the first job; and in a case where the modification request is received, modifying the history data related to the first job stored in the database (e.g. when the user submits a job, a job completion notification can be received from the printer. In response to receiving the job, the printer checks to see if a job is associated with an error or cancellation. If a job is associated with an error or cancellation, the page count is adjusted in order to not count a job in error. This is taught in ¶ [60] and [61] above. The cancelled or error jobs are associated with an ID in the job log, which is taught in ¶ [52] and [53] above.).
Therefore, in view of Watanabe, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of in a case where a first job executed by the image-forming apparatus has caused a trouble of image-formation, receiving, from the image-forming apparatus or a terminal apparatus utilized by a user of the image-forming apparatus, a modification request for not taking into account at least a sheet affected by the trouble in the actual number, the modification request being transmitted in response to an instruction by the user and including job-related information of the first job; and in a case where the modification request is received, modifying the history data related to the first job stored in the database, incorporated in the device of Kimijima, in order to not include pages in error in the charging or counting, which can aid in the correct billing (as stated in Watanabe ¶ [56]).
Re claim 16: Kamijima discloses a server apparatus comprising:
a communication unit (interpretation: The communication I/F 301 is a communication unit for the management server 300 to communicate with another apparatus. For example, the communication I/F 301 communicates with the image-forming apparatuses 100 and the user terminals 200 present in the user environment E1. The communication I/F 301 may be a wired communication interface or a wireless communication interface, which is taught in ¶ [98]. This interpretation and its equivalents are utilized for this claim term hereinafter in the Office Action.)
configured to communicate with at least one of an image-forming apparatus that executes a job to form an image on a sheet or a terminal apparatus utilized by a user of the image-forming apparatus (e.g. the server and the printer contain a storage within the remote environment that stores the number of papers that have been used for printing, which is taught in ¶ [41] and [58] above. The server communicates with receiving information from the MFP, which is taught in ¶ [37]. A printer is used to print data by forming images on a sheet and is within an environment where a user can browse information on the network, which is taught in ¶ [36] and [37].);
[0037] Each printer 20 and the server 30 are capable of communicating with each other via a network NW. The network NW could encompass a local area network (LAN) and/or the Internet. The network NW may be a wired network or a wireless network. Though not illustrated, a terminal operated by an operator who belongs to a service provider (e.g., printer manufacturer) managing and operating the system 10 is connected to the server 30. The terminal is, for example, a personal computer (PC). The operator is able to browse information held and processed by the server 30 via the terminal.
a management unit (interpretation: The data management unit 360 manages the registration and update of data in the management DB 303, which is taught in ¶ [101]. This interpretation and its equivalents are utilized for this claim term hereinafter in the Office Action.)
configured to manage a database that stores history data of one or more jobs executed by the image-forming apparatus (e.g. the server and the printer contain a storage within the remote environment that stores the number of papers that have been used for printing, which is taught in ¶ [41] and [58] above.); and
a control unit (interpretation: The processing circuitry 304 may be, for example, a CPU, and provides various functions of the management server 300 by executing computer programs stored in the memory 302, which is taught in ¶ [101]. The job control unit 365 controls image-forming operation at each image-forming apparatus 100 in accordance with conditions that depend on the content of the contract for each user. This interpretation and its equivalents are utilized for this claim term hereinafter in the Office Action.) configured to control execution of a job at the image-forming apparatus or control charging to a user of the image-forming apparatus based on an actual number of sheets consumed by the image-forming apparatus calculated based on the history data (e.g. the system determines the sheet used and controls the charging to a user based on the sheets utilized for printing. The control unit controls the charge processing, which is taught in ¶ [42] and [65]-[67] above.);
wherein, in a case where a first job executed by the image-forming apparatus has caused a trouble of image-formation, the communication unit is configured to receive, from the image-forming apparatus or the terminal apparatus, a modification request, the modification request being transmitted in response to an instruction by the user (e.g. the printer stores error information and modifies the server storage when the error information is sent to the server, which is taught in ¶ [44] and [45] above. The user can access the printer from a screen, which is taught in ¶ [90] above.).
However, Kamijima fails to specifically teach the features of wherein, in a case where a first job executed by the image-forming apparatus has caused a trouble of image-formation, the communication unit is configured to receive, from the image-forming apparatus or the terminal apparatus, a modification request for not taking into account at least a sheet affected by the trouble in the actual number, the modification request being transmitted in response to an instruction by the user;
the modification request includes job-related information of the first job; and in a case where the modification request is received by the communication unit, the management unit is configured to modify the history data related to the first job stored in the database.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Watanabe. Similar to the primary reference, Watanabe discloses not including a sheet that is involved in an error (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Watanabe discloses wherein, in a case where a first job executed by the image-forming apparatus has caused a trouble of image-formation, the communication unit is configured to receive, from the image-forming apparatus or the terminal apparatus, a modification request for not taking into account at least a sheet affected by the trouble in the actual number, the modification request being transmitted in response to an instruction by the user; the modification request includes job-related information of the first job; and in a case where the modification request is received by the communication unit, the management unit is configured to modify the history data related to the first job stored in the database (e.g. when the user submits a job, a job completion notification can be received from the printer as a form of a modification request. In response to receiving the job, the printer checks to see if a job is associated with an error or cancellation. If a job is associated with an error or cancellation, the page count is adjusted in order to not count a job in error. This is taught in ¶ [60] and [61] above. The cancelled or error jobs are associated with an ID in the job log, which is taught in ¶ [52] and [53] above.).
Therefore, in view of Watanabe, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein, in a case where a first job executed by the image-forming apparatus has caused a trouble of image-formation, the communication unit is configured to receive, from the image-forming apparatus or the terminal apparatus, a modification request for not taking into account at least a sheet affected by the trouble in the actual number, the modification request being transmitted in response to an instruction by the user; the modification request includes job-related information of the first job; and in a case where the modification request is received by the communication unit, the management unit is configured to modify the history data related to the first job stored in the database, incorporated in the device of Kimijima, in order to not include pages in error in the charging or counting, which can aid in the correct billing (as stated in Watanabe ¶ [56]).
Re claim 17: Kamijima discloses a client apparatus that is an image-forming apparatus configured to form an image on a sheet or a terminal apparatus utilized by a user of the image-forming apparatus, the client apparatus comprising:
a communication unit configured to communicate with a server apparatus that manages, in a database, history data of one or more jobs executed by the image-forming apparatus (e.g. the server and the printer contain a storage within the remote environment that stores the number of papers that have been used for printing, which is taught in ¶ [41] and [58] above.); and
a control unit configured to control communication with the server apparatus via the communication unit (e.g. the printer and server communicate through a network to one another, which is taught in ¶ [37] above.);
wherein the server apparatus is configured to control execution of a job at the image-forming apparatus or control charging to a user of the image-forming apparatus based on an actual number of sheets consumed by the image-forming apparatus calculated based on the history data (e.g. the system determines the sheet used and controls the charging to a user based on the sheets utilized for printing. The control unit controls the charge processing, which is taught in ¶ [42] and [65]-[67] above.); and
in a case where a first job executed by the image-forming apparatus has caused a trouble of image-formation, the control unit is configured to transmit, via the communication unit to the server apparatus and in response to an instruction by a user, a modification request, the modification request including job-related information of the first job (e.g. the printer stores error information and modifies the server storage when the error information is sent to the server, which is taught in ¶ [44] and [45] above. The user can access the printer from a screen, which is taught in ¶ [90] above.).
However, Kamijima fails to specifically teach the features of in a case where a first job executed by the image-forming apparatus has caused a trouble of image-formation, the control unit is configured to transmit, via the communication unit to the server apparatus and in response to an instruction by a user, a modification request for modifying the database so that at least a sheet affected by the trouble is not taken into account in the actual number, the modification request including job-related information of the first job
.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Watanabe. Similar to the primary reference, Watanabe discloses not including a sheet that is involved in an error (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Watanabe discloses in a case where a first job executed by the image-forming apparatus has caused a trouble of image-formation, the control unit is configured to transmit, via the communication unit to the server apparatus and in response to an instruction by a user, a modification request for modifying the database so that at least a sheet affected by the trouble is not taken into account in the actual number, the modification request including job-related information of the first job (e.g. when the user submits a job, a job completion notification can be received from the printer as a form of a modification request. In response to receiving the job, the printer checks to see if a job is associated with an error or cancellation. If a job is associated with an error or cancellation, the page count is adjusted in order to not count a job in error. This is taught in ¶ [60] and [61] above. The cancelled or error jobs are associated with an ID in the job log, which is taught in ¶ [52] and [53] above.).
Therefore, in view of Watanabe, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of in a case where a first job executed by the image-forming apparatus has caused a trouble of image-formation, the control unit is configured to transmit, via the communication unit to the server apparatus and in response to an instruction by a user, a modification request for modifying the database so that at least a sheet affected by the trouble is not taken into account in the actual number, the modification request including job-related information of the first job, incorporated in the device of Kimijima, in order to not include pages in error in the charging or counting, which can aid in the correct billing (as stated in Watanabe ¶ [56]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamijima, as modified by Watanabe, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Imai (US Pub 2014/0240727).
Re claim 7: However, Kamijima fails to specifically teach the features of the image-forming system according to claim 1, wherein the communication unit is configured to transmit the modification request in a case where the first job is selected by a user on a screen for the user to instruct transmission of the modification request, the screen displaying history of the one or more jobs executed by the image-forming apparatus.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Imai. Similar to the primary reference, Imai discloses displaying job history (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Imai discloses wherein the communication unit is configured to transmit the modification request in a case where the first job is selected by a user on a screen for the user to instruct transmission of the modification request, the screen displaying history of the one or more jobs executed by the image-forming apparatus (e.g. the user selects a job and requests detailed information. The job history data stored on the server can be accessed based on a request to the server and displayed to the user, which is taught in ¶ [98]-[100].).
[0098] At step 610, the CPU 201 transmits the color pixel ratio information, the image attribute information, and the by-image-attribute output sheet number information described above to the server 140, which is an external device, via the network I/F 206. The server 140 stores these pieces of information received. The server 140 holds the above-mentioned three pieces of information in a job history information management table for managing a history at the time of job execution. It is possible for a user to check the history of a job on the UI screen of the operation unit 104 by accessing the server 140, which is an external device, to acquire the job history information management table. The place where the job history information management table such as this is stored may be within the image forming apparatus (for example, the HDD 204).
[0099] Here, with reference to FIG. 7 to FIG. 11, the UI screen displayed in the operation unit 104 in the case where a user checks etc. job history information is explained.
[0100] FIG. 7 is a diagram showing an example of a Main menu screen displayed at the time of activation of the image forming apparatus. On a Main menu screen 700, buttons for each function, i.e. "Copy", "Scan and transmit", "Scan and save", and "Use saved file" are provided. As a button to check information during the job execution and information after the job is completed, there is provided a State check button 701. A user presses the State check button 701 to check job history information. In response to pressing of the State check button 701, the screen changes to a State check screen. FIG. 8 is a diagram showing an example of the State check screen. On a State check screen 800, buttons for each function, i.e. "Copy/print", "Transmit", "Save", and "Check consumables" are provided. In the case where a user intends to check job history information after copying is completed, the user selects a Job history button 802 in the state where a "Copy/print" button 801 is selected and selects "Copy" in a pull-down display area 803 where either of "Copy" and "Print" can be selected. Then, items, such as "Time" at the time of execution of copying, "User name", "Number of sheetsnumber of copies", and "Result" indicating whether or not printing is completed normally are displayed in a list for each job. As the features of the present embodiment, mention is made of that a "By-image-attribute sheet number" 804 is provided in the items displayed in a list. In the item of "By-image-attribute sheet number", the number of sheets of Low area color, the number of sheets of Middle area color, and the number of sheets of Full area color are displayed in a simple manner. In the case where the number of jobs displayed in a list of the job history is not accommodated in one screen, the page is divided and the total number of pages and the page number currently being checked are displayed and it is made possible to move between pages (805). By pressing an OK button 806, the State check screen 800 is closed and the screen returns to the Main menu screen 700. By pressing a Detailed information button 807, the screen changes to a screen to check detailed information of the job currently being selected (Job history detailed information screen). FIG. 9 is a diagram showing an example of the Job history detailed information screen. In the present embodiment, color pixel determination by a printer device is performed, and therefore, in an item of "Number of output pages" 901, "By-image-attribute sheet number" is displayed. Further, in the present embodiment, a Detailed information (by page) button 902 to check more detailed information for each page is provided within the item of "Number of output pages". By pressing the Detailed information (by page) button 902, the screen changes to a "Job history detailed information (by page) screen". FIG. 10 is a diagram showing an example of the Job history detailed information (by page) screen. On a Job history detailed information (by page) screen 1000, the image attribute and the color pixel ratio for each page of output printed matter are displayed in a list. By selecting an arbitrary item from the displayed list and pressing a Determination result image button 1001, the screen changes to a screen to check the result of the color pixel determination processing of the page (Color pixel determination result screen). FIG. 11 is a diagram showing an example of the Color pixel determination result screen. On a Color pixel determination result screen 1100, together with the information of the image attribute and the color pixel ratio, which is the result of the color pixel determination processing of the page, an image 1101 indicating an area determined to include color pixels in the page is displayed. In this manner, an area determined to include color pixels is displayed separately from an area determined to include no color pixels.
Therefore, in view of Imai, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein the communication unit is configured to transmit the modification request in a case where the first job is selected by a user on a screen for the user to instruct transmission of the modification request, the screen displaying history of the one or more jobs executed by the image-forming apparatus, incorporated in the device of Kamjima, as modified by Watanabe, in order to display job information once selected by a user, which allows for grasping the attributes and charges associated with the job (as stated in Imai ¶ [09]-[11]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The features below were not found in the applied and/or searched prior art.
Re claim 4: The image-forming system according to claim 1, wherein the modification request includes print image data of a sheet selected by the user as one affected by the trouble.
Re claim 5: The image-forming system according to claim 4, wherein the image-forming system comprises a terminal apparatus that includes: a capturing unit configured to generate the print image data by capturing an image of the selected sheet; and the communication unit.
Re claim 6: The image-forming system according to claim 4, wherein the image-forming system comprises a terminal apparatus that includes: a control unit configured to provide a user interface for the user to select the print image data in a file system; and the communication unit.
Re claim 11: The image-forming system according to claim 8, wherein the job-related information includes identification information for identifying a user who issued a job, and the modification management unit is configured to determine whether to modify the database or not in response to a new modification request from each user based on statistics regarding modification requests in the past for each user calculated from the database.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Honda discloses determining updating page count.
/CHAD DICKERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683