DETAILED ACTION
This Action is in response to communications filed 6/10/2026.
Claims 1, 2, 6, 12, 14 and 17-20 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant`s arguments filed June 10, 2026 have been fully considered and they are persuasive with respect to prior art rejection.
As per the 103 rejection of claims 1, 14 and 17, Applicant argued Sharon fails to disclose or suggest the feature of " program original data, using a first level cell mode, the original data being data corresponding to a write request received from a host, and program recovery data, using a second level cell mode having a bit density greater than that of the first level cell mode, the recovery data being data for recovering the original data"; where examiner relies on a newly cited reference Igahara to disclose the claimed limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being disclosed by Gopalakrishnan et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0096948) (hereinafter ‘Gopalakrishnan’), and further in view of Igahara et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0004169 hereinafter referred to as Igahara).
As per independent claim 1, Gopalakrishnan discloses a storage device, comprising: a non-volatile memory device comprising a plurality of memory blocks in which a plurality of cell strings are divided into a plurality of sub-blocks disposed in a vertical direction [(Paragraphs 0050-0051; Figs. 1-3) where Gopalakrishnan teaches where the memory structure 326 comprises a monolithic three-dimensional memory array of non-volatile memory cells in which multiple memory levels are formed above a single substrate, such as a wafer. The memory structure may comprise any type of non-volatile memory that is monolithically formed in one or more physical levels of arrays of memory cells having an active area disposed above a silicon (or other type of) substrate. In one example, the non-volatile memory cells of memory structure 326 comprise vertical NAND strings with charge-trapping material such as described, for example, in U.S. Pat. No. 9,721,662, incorporated herein by reference in its entirety. In another embodiment, memory structure 326 comprises a two-dimensional memory array of non-volatile memory cells. In one example, the non-volatile memory cells are NAND flash memory cells utilizing floating gates such as described, for example, in U.S. Pat. No. 9,082,502, incorporated herein by reference in its entirety to correspond to the claimed limitation], wherein in each of the plurality of cell strings, a string select transistor, a plurality of memory cells and a ground select transistor are disposed in series, in the vertical direction, between a bit line and a source line [(Paragraphs 0050-0052; Figs. 1-3) where Gopalakrishnan teaches examples of suitable technologies for architectures of memory structure 326 that include two dimensional arrays, three dimensional arrays, cross-point arrays, stacked two dimensional arrays, vertical bit line arrays, and the like. One example of a ReRAM, or PCMRAM, cross point memory includes reversible resistance-switching elements arranged in cross point arrays accessed by X lines and Y lines (e.g., word lines and bit lines). In another embodiment, the memory cells may include conductive bridge memory elements to correspond to the claimed limitation]; and a storage controller configured to program original data into at least one first sub-block of the plurality of sub-blocks included in a first memory block among the plurality of memory blocks [(Paragraphs 0108-0114; Figs. 1-3) where Gopalakrishnan teaches where the ECC engines 226/256 produce a corrected version of the SLC data, based on the codeword that was read from the SLC memory cells. For the sake discusses process 800, it will be assumed that the ECC algorithm is able to correct any errors in the SLC data. Herein, techniques are discussed for recovering the SLC data in the event that the ECC algorithm (e.g., ECC engines 226/256) are not able to decode, correct, or recover the SLC data to correspond to the claimed limitation], and program recovery data into at least one second sub-block of the plurality of sub-blocks, in a first memory block of the plurality of memory blocks included in the first memory block [(Paragraphs 0113-0118 and 0120-0123; Figs. 1-3) where Gopalakrishnan teaches where the using the stored recovered unit of SLC data during another phase of the program operation of folding the SLC data to MLC data. In one embodiment, the stored recovered unit of SLC data is used during a fine programing phase of folding the SLC data to MLC data. Step 1110 may include accessing the address of where the recovered unit of SLC data was stored (which was saved in step 1108). The stored recovered unit of SLC data may be preserved and used again in the event that there is a program failure when performing the SLC to MLC programming operation. If there is a program failure when programming MLC data during the folding operation, then the MLC data may be programmed to a different location, such as a different block of memory cells. The stored recovered unit of SLC data may be used again during this effort to program the MLC data in another location to correspond to the claimed limitation].
Gopalakrishnan does not appear to explicitly disclose a storage controller configured to program original data, using a first level cell mode, the original data being data corresponding to a write request received from a host, and program recovery data, using a second level cell mode having a bit density greater than that of the first level cell mode, the recovery data being data for recovering the original data.
However, Igahara discloses a storage controller configured to program original data, using a first level cell mode, the original data being data corresponding to a write request received from a host [(Paragraphs 0157-0160) where Igahara teaches a method for writing user data in SLC mode 15, a method using an SLC buffer is available. The SLC buffer is composed of several blocks for SLC mode in the NAND flash memory. When the write mode is SLC mode 15, user data may be written into the SLC buffer in SLC mode 15, and then, the user data in the SLC buffer may be written in TLC/QLC block (block other than the SLC buffer) in TLC/QLC modes 16 and 17 by, for example, garbage collection. On the other hand, when the write mode is TLC/QLC modes 16 and 17, user data is directly written into QLC block (hereinafter, referred to as direct writing), without going through the SLC buffer to correspond to the claimed limitation], and program recovery data, using a second level cell mode having a bit density greater than that of the first level cell mode, the recovery data being data for recovering the original data [(Paragraphs 0288-0293) where Igahara teaches, in consideration of endurance assurance, the write mode for host writing is switched between SLC mode and TLC/QLC direct writing mode, writing in SLC mode mainly wears the blocks of the SLC block group 18 and writing in TLC/QLC direct writing mode mainly wears the blocks of the TLC/QLC shared block group 19. In that case, in order to guarantee the life of the SSD 3, a mode to wear a block group having longer life remaining is selected in consideration of the remaining life of each of the block groups 18 and 19. Furthermore, if the remaining life of each of the block groups 18 and 19 is substantially the same, the performance is prioritized, that is, SLC mode is selected for a narrow range work load and TLC/QLC direct writing mode is selected for wide range work load. The narrow range workload is, as described above, an access pattern in which logical addresses of access commands chronologically close to each other are within a narrow logical address space. The wide range workload is an access pattern in which logical addresses of access commands spread over a wide logical address space to correspond to the claimed limitation].
Gopalakrishnan and Igahara are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of data storage management.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed inventions, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Gopalakrishnan and Igahara before him or her, to modify the method of Gopalakrishnan to include the switching operations operations of Igahara because it will enhance system performance.
The motivation for doing so would be [“ the write performance in a short period (until all blocks of the SLC buffer become full of user data) can be improved” (Paragraph 0158 by Igahara)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Gopalakrishnan and Igahara to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
As per dependent claim 2, Gopalakrishnan discloses wherein the plurality of sub-blocks included in the first memory block have a same size, and a ratio of the bit density of the second level cell mode to the bit density of the first level cell mode is inversely proportional to a ratio of a quantity of the second sub-blocks to a quantity of the first sub-blocks [(Paragraphs 0113-0118 and 0120-0123; Figs. 1 and 12) where Gopalakrishnan teaches where the process 1200 will be discussed with reference to FIG. 12B. FIG. 12B depicts four SLC blocks 1222a, 1222b, 1222c, and 1222d of non-volatile memory cells that stored SLC data, as well as one MLC block 1224 of non-volatile memory cells that stores MLC data. In this example, four bits are stored per memory cell in the MLC block 1224. In one embodiment, the four SLC blocks 1222a, 1222b, 1222c, and 1222d are each on a different memory die 300. In one embodiment, the four SLC blocks 1222a, 1222b, 1222c, and 1222d are the same memory die 300. The MLC block 1224 may be on the same memory die 300 as one or more of the SLC blocks 1222b, or may be on a different memory die 300 than all of the SLC blocks 1222a-1222d. Note that herein, the reference numeral 1222 may be used to refer to an SLC block in general, without reference to a specific SLC block to correspond to the claimed limitation].
As per dependent claim 3, Gopalakrishnan discloses wherein the at least one first sub-block comprises three first sub-blocks, and the at least one second sub-block comprises one second sub-block, and the first level cell mode is a single level cell (SLC) mode, and the second level cell mode is a triple level cell (TLC) mode [(Paragraphs 0061, 0113-0118 and 0120-0123; Figs. 1-3) where Gopalakrishnan teaches where FIG. 4A illustrates example threshold voltage distributions (ranges) for MLC memory cells that store three bits of data. Other embodiments, however, may use other data capacities per memory cell (e.g., such as one, two, four, or five bits of data per memory cell). FIG. 4A shows eight threshold voltage distributions, corresponding to eight data states. The first threshold voltage distribution (data state) S0 represents memory cells that are erased. The other seven threshold voltage distributions (data states) S1-S7 represent memory cells that are programmed and, therefore, are also called programmed states; the using the stored recovered unit of SLC data during another phase of the program operation of folding the SLC data to MLC data. In one embodiment, the stored recovered unit of SLC data is used during a fine programing phase of folding the SLC data to MLC data. Step 1110 may include accessing the address of where the recovered unit of SLC data was stored (which was saved in step 1108). The stored recovered unit of SLC data may be preserved and used again in the event that there is a program failure when performing the SLC to MLC programming operation. If there is a program failure when programming MLC data during the folding operation, then the MLC data may be programmed to a different location, such as a different block of memory cells. The stored recovered unit of SLC data may be used again during this effort to program the MLC data in another location to correspond to the claimed limitation].
As per dependent claim 4, Gopalakrishnan discloses , wherein the at least one first sub-block comprises four first sub-blocks, and the at least one second sub-block comprises one second sub-block, and the first level cell mode is a SLC mode, and the second level cell mode is a quadruple level cell (QLC) mode [(Paragraphs 0113-0118 and 0120-0123; Figs. 1 and 12) where Gopalakrishnan teaches where the process 1200 will be discussed with reference to FIG. 12B. FIG. 12B depicts four SLC blocks 1222a, 1222b, 1222c, and 1222d of non-volatile memory cells that stored SLC data, as well as one MLC block 1224 of non-volatile memory cells that stores MLC data. In this example, four bits are stored per memory cell in the MLC block 1224. In one embodiment, the four SLC blocks 1222a, 1222b, 1222c, and 1222d are each on a different memory die 300. In one embodiment, the four SLC blocks 1222a, 1222b, 1222c, and 1222d are the same memory die 300. The MLC block 1224 may be on the same memory die 300 as one or more of the SLC blocks 1222b, or may be on a different memory die 300 than all of the SLC blocks 1222a-1222d. Note that herein, the reference numeral 1222 may be used to refer to an SLC block in general, without reference to a specific SLC block to correspond to the claimed limitation].
As per dependent claim 5, Gopalakrishnan discloses wherein the storage controller is configured to program two or more sets of recovery data into the at least one second sub-block [(Paragraphs 0116-0121; Figs. 1 and 11) where Gopalakrishnan teaches where the FIG. 11 is a flowchart of one embodiment of a process 1100 of using recovered UECC SLC data when folding SLC data to MLC data. In one embodiment, the process 1100 is performed by the controller 102. In one embodiment, the process 1100 is performed by storage device 100. Step 1102 includes reading a selected unit of encoded SLC data during a programming phase of an SLC data to MLC data folding operation. Step 1110 includes using the stored recovered unit of SLC data during another phase of the program operation of folding the SLC data to MLC data. In one embodiment, the stored recovered unit of SLC data is used during a fine programing phase of folding the SLC data to MLC data to correspond to the claimed limitation].
As per dependent claim 6, Gopalakrishnan discloses wherein the plurality of sub-blocks in the plurality of memory blocks have the same size, a number of the at least one first sub-block is the same as a number of the at least one second sub-block, in the first memory block, and a number of sets of the recovery data programmed in the at least one second sub-block is determined based on a ratio of the bit density of the second level cell mode to the bit density of the first level cell mode [(Paragraphs 0061, 0113-0118 and 0120-0123; Figs. 1-3) where Gopalakrishnan teaches where FIG. 4A illustrates example threshold voltage distributions (ranges) for MLC memory cells that store three bits of data. Other embodiments, however, may use other data capacities per memory cell (e.g., such as one, two, four, or five bits of data per memory cell). FIG. 4A shows eight threshold voltage distributions, corresponding to eight data states. The first threshold voltage distribution (data state) S0 represents memory cells that are erased. The other seven threshold voltage distributions (data states) S1-S7 represent memory cells that are programmed and, therefore, are also called programmed states; the using the stored recovered unit of SLC data during another phase of the program operation of folding the SLC data to MLC data. In one embodiment, the stored recovered unit of SLC data is used during a fine programing phase of folding the SLC data to MLC data. Step 1110 may include accessing the address of where the recovered unit of SLC data was stored (which was saved in step 1108). The stored recovered unit of SLC data may be preserved and used again in the event that there is a program failure when performing the SLC to MLC programming operation. If there is a program failure when programming MLC data during the folding operation, then the MLC data may be programmed to a different location, such as a different block of memory cells. The stored recovered unit of SLC data may be used again during this effort to program the MLC data in another location to correspond to the claimed limitation].
As per dependent claim 7, Gopalakrishnan discloses wherein when the first level cell mode is an SLC mode and the second level cell mode is a TLC mode, the storage controller is configured to program three sets of the recovery data into the at least one second sub-block [(Paragraphs 0061, 0113-0118 and 0120-0123; Figs. 1-3) where Gopalakrishnan teaches where FIG. 4A illustrates example threshold voltage distributions (ranges) for MLC memory cells that store three bits of data. Other embodiments, however, may use other data capacities per memory cell (e.g., such as one, two, four, or five bits of data per memory cell). FIG. 4A shows eight threshold voltage distributions, corresponding to eight data states. The first threshold voltage distribution (data state) S0 represents memory cells that are erased. The other seven threshold voltage distributions (data states) S1-S7 represent memory cells that are programmed and, therefore, are also called programmed states; the using the stored recovered unit of SLC data during another phase of the program operation of folding the SLC data to MLC data. In one embodiment, the stored recovered unit of SLC data is used during a fine programing phase of folding the SLC data to MLC data. Step 1110 may include accessing the address of where the recovered unit of SLC data was stored (which was saved in step 1108). The stored recovered unit of SLC data may be preserved and used again in the event that there is a program failure when performing the SLC to MLC programming operation. If there is a program failure when programming MLC data during the folding operation, then the MLC data may be programmed to a different location, such as a different block of memory cells. The stored recovered unit of SLC data may be used again during this effort to program the MLC data in another location to correspond to the claimed limitation].
As per dependent claim 8, Gopalakrishnan discloses wherein when the first level cell mode is an SLC mode and the second level cell mode is a QLC mode, the storage controller is configured to program four sets of the recovery data into the at least one second sub-block [(Paragraphs 0113-0118 and 0120-0123; Figs. 1 and 12) where Gopalakrishnan teaches where the process 1200 will be discussed with reference to FIG. 12B. FIG. 12B depicts four SLC blocks 1222a, 1222b, 1222c, and 1222d of non-volatile memory cells that stored SLC data, as well as one MLC block 1224 of non-volatile memory cells that stores MLC data. In this example, four bits are stored per memory cell in the MLC block 1224. In one embodiment, the four SLC blocks 1222a, 1222b, 1222c, and 1222d are each on a different memory die 300. In one embodiment, the four SLC blocks 1222a, 1222b, 1222c, and 1222d are the same memory die 300. The MLC block 1224 may be on the same memory die 300 as one or more of the SLC blocks 1222b, or may be on a different memory die 300 than all of the SLC blocks 1222a-1222d. Note that herein, the reference numeral 1222 may be used to refer to an SLC block in general, without reference to a specific SLC block to correspond to the claimed limitation].
As per dependent claim 9, Gopalakrishnan discloses wherein the recovery data is mirrored data from which the original data is copied, and when a unit data that can be programmed into one physical page of the at least one second sub-block in the second level cell mode is programmed into the at least one first sub-block, the storage controller is configured to program mirrored data copying the unit data into the at least one second sub-block [(Paragraphs 0033-0035, 0091, 0113-0118 and 0120-0123; Figs. 1-3) where Gopalakrishnan teaches where It is possible for the decoding process to fail to successfully decode the codeword, which is referred to herein as an uncorrectable ECC failure (or UECC). In one embodiment, in the event that the codeword is uncorrectable by ECC, redundancy data is used to recover the codeword. The redundancy data for a group of pages may be generated by XOR engine 224/254. In one embodiment, the redundancy data for the group of pages is stored in non-volatile memory cells in the memory structure 326 to correspond to the claimed limitation].
As per dependent claim 10, Gopalakrishnan discloses wherein the recovery data is mirrored data from which the original data is copied, and the storage controller is configured to obtain the original data from the at least one first sub-block, and when an error correction of the obtained original data is not possible, to recover the original data by obtaining mirrored data from the at least one second sub-block [(Paragraphs 0033-0035, 0091, 0113-0118 and 0120-0123; Figs. 1-3) where Gopalakrishnan teaches where It is possible for the decoding process to fail to successfully decode the codeword, which is referred to herein as an uncorrectable ECC failure (or UECC). In one embodiment, in the event that the codeword is uncorrectable by ECC, redundancy data is used to recover the codeword. The redundancy data for a group of pages may be generated by XOR engine 224/254. In one embodiment, the redundancy data for the group of pages is stored in non-volatile memory cells in the memory structure 326 to correspond to the claimed limitation].
As per dependent claim 12, Gopalakrishnan discloses wherein the recovery data is parity data of the original data, and the storage controller is configured to obtain the original data from the at least one first sub-block, recover original data chunks corresponding to the original data from the at least one first sub-block when an error correction of the obtained original data is not possible, obtain parity data chunks corresponding to the original data from the at least one second sub-block, and recover the original data by using the original data chunks and the parity data chunks [(Paragraphs 0032, 0085 and 0090) where Gopalakrishnan teaches where the controller 102 (e.g., by ECC engines 226/256) receives the codeword Y1 and accesses the LLRs and iterates in successive iterations in which it determines if parity checks of the error encoding process have been satisfied. If all parity checks have been satisfied, the decoding process has converged and the codeword has been successfully error corrected (decoded). If one or more parity checks have not been satisfied, the decoder will adjust the LLRs of one or more of the bits which are inconsistent with a parity check and then reapply the parity check or next check in the process to determine if it has been satisfied. For example, the magnitude and/or polarity of the LLRs can be adjusted. If the parity check in question is still not satisfied, the LLR can be adjusted again in another iteration. Adjusting the LLRs can result in flipping a bit (e.g., from 0 to 1 or from 1 to 0) in some, but not all, cases. In one embodiment, another parity check is applied to the codeword, if applicable, once the parity check in question has been satisfied. In others, the process moves to the next parity check, looping back to the failed check at a later time. The process continues in an attempt to satisfy all parity checks. Thus, in one embodiment, the decoding process of Y1 is completed to obtain the decoded information including parity bits v and the decoded information bits i. As part of the decoding process, controller tracks how many bits needed to be flipped, which is an indication of the number of errors in the information sensed from the memory cells. This indication of error is also referred to as bit error rate (BER) to correspond to the claimed limitation].
As per dependent claim 13, Gopalakrishnan discloses wherein the original data is metadata [(Paragraphs 0032, 0085 and 0090) where Gopalakrishnan teaches where the both SLC data and MLC data are encoded into what are referred to as “codewords” prior to storage. In one embodiment, Error Correction Codes (ECC) are used to protect SLC data from corruption. In one embodiment, the ECC are “systematic,” in that the SLC data portion of the eventual codeword is unchanged from the actual SLC data being encoded, with the ECC bits appended to the SLC data bits to form the complete codeword. Other techniques can be used that map SLC data to a codeword in more complex manners. For example, low density parity check (LDPC) codes, also referred to as Gallager codes, can be used. In either case, an ECC algorithm may be used to decode the codeword and to correct any errors in the SLC data to correspond to the claimed limitation].
As for independent claims 14 and 17, the applicant is directed to the rejections to claim 1 set forth above, as they are rejected based on the same rationale.
As for dependent claim 15, the applicant is directed to the rejections to claim 2 set forth above, as they are rejected based on the same rationale.
As for dependent claims 16 and 18, the applicant is directed to the rejections to claim 3 set forth above, as they are rejected based on the same rationale.
As for dependent claim 19, the applicant is directed to the rejections to claim 10 set forth above, as they are rejected based on the same rationale.
a(2) CLAIMS ALLOWED IN THE APPLICATION
Per the instant office action, claims 11 and 20, but would be allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
The reasons for allowance of claim 11 is that the prior art of record, neither anticipates, nor renders obvious the recited combination as a whole; including the limitations of “wherein the storage controller is configured to determine a first relative address indicating a sequence of a first physical page, into which the original data is programmed, in the at least one first sub-block, determine a ratio of a space capacity of the original data to a space capacity of the mirrored data, calculate a second address indicating a sequence of a second physical page, into which the mirrored data is programmed, in the at least one second sub-block based on the first relative address and the ratio of the space capacity, and obtain the mirrored data from the second physical page using the second address”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMED M GEBRIL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2135