DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 11-17 are new.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10,235,979 to Sato in view of US 2022/0082117 to Stechmann.
Regarding claim 1, Sato '979 discloses a mounting bracket comprising: a post 11/12 having a base 24; a plurality of arms 30 radially disposed about the post 11/12, wherein each of the plurality of arms 30 is pivotally connected to the post (figs 2-3), wherein each of the plurality of arms 30 comprises: a hinged end proximate the post 12 (@ 33a - fig. 3 - col. 5, lines 13-25), an end distal from the post 11/12, and a body extending between the ends (figs 2-3); wherein each of the plurality of arms 30 further comprises a pad positioned proximate the distal end of each of the plurality of arms 30 (pads are at the tips of arms 30 - figs 2-3), wherein each of the plurality of arms 30 has a folded position and an extended position (fig 2 - col. 5, lines 27-37), wherein the body of each of the plurality of arms 30 is positioned transverse to the post 11/12 in the extended position and wherein the body of each of the plurality of arms 30 is proximate the post 11/12 in the folded position (fig. 2 - as shown in dashed lines), wherein positioning any one of the plurality of arms 30 in the folded position will position the hinged end 33a of said one arm 30 between the base 24 and the distal end of said one arm 30 (fig. 2 - as shown in dashed lines) and wherein positioning any one of the plurality of arms 30 in the extended position will align the distal end of said one arm 30 with the base 24 along a line that does not include the hinged end of said one arm 30 (fig. 2 - as annotated below via dashed line); and a mount 15 connected to the post 12, the mount 15 is configured to support a light source, as mount 15 is structurally suitable for supporting a light source (Fig. 1).
Sato ’979 is silent as to each pad having a magnet on a bottom surface of said pad.
However, Stechmann '117 discloses a plurality of arms 30abc further comprises a pad 32abc positioned proximate the distal end 73 of each of the plurality of arms 30abc where each pad 32abc having a magnet 40 on a bottom surface of said pad 32abc (fig. 9 - para 0057 - " attachment devices 40 include, among others, magnets...").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the distal end of the arms of the mounting bracket taught in Sato '979 with the pads having a magnet on a bottom surface as taught in Stechmann '117 in order to secure the mounting bracket to a ferromagnetic surface by magnetic attachment.
Regarding claim 3, Sato '979, as modified, where Stechmann '117 discloses wherein each pad 32abc is pivotally mounted to the distal end 73 of one of the plurality of arms (via 42a - para 0064 - " joints are rotated to align the lower surfaces 78 of the attachment devices 40").
Regarding claim 4, Sato '979, as modified, discloses further comprising an arm mount 34 slidably disposed on the post 11/12.
Regarding claim 5, Sato '979, as modified, discloses wherein the plurality of arms 30 are connected to the post 11/12 by the arm mount 34 (via link 31).
Regarding claim 9, Sato '979, as modified, discloses the base 24 with a base spike 24a to aid in positioning relative to a surface. Stechmann '117 discloses attachment devices such as magnets on bottom surface of the mounting bracket that contact the surface of an attached structure. It would have been obvious to secure a magnet on the base (in lieu of or in addition to) the positioning spikes 24a. Noting that magnets offer the added convenience of releasable attachment in a wide range of orientations to the desired surface of a structure.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base taught in Sato '979 with the magnet(s) as taught in Stechmann '117 in order to allow for releasable attachment of the mounting bracket in a wide range of orientations to the desired surface of a structure.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10,235,979 to Sato in view of US 2022/0082117 to Stechmann as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 4,907,769 to Hunley, Jr. et al.
Regarding claim 2, Sato '979, as modified, discloses a mounting bracket comprising the plurality of arms 30 including the pad at the distal end of each of the plurality of the arms (figs 2-3 - pads are on the tips of arms 30). Sato ’979, as modified, does not teach a handle extending from the pad at the distal end of each of the plurality of the arms.
However, Hunley '769 teaches a plurality of arms 12/14/16 further comprises a handle (top portion of magnets that snap into the slots at the distal ends of the arms - fig. 2 - the top portion bulb-like portion extending from an upper surface of the magnets and attached at the distal end of the arms) extending from the pad 18/22/26 at the distal end 20/24/28 of each of the plurality of the arms (fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the magnetic pads at the distal ends of Sato’s arms further with the handles, taught in Hunley '769 in order to allow for manual adjustment of the magnetic pads relative to the arms.
Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,650,821 to Hewlett in view of US 2022/0082117 to Stechmann.
Regarding claim 1, Hewlett '821 discloses a mounting bracket for supporting a camera 80 comprising: a post 12 having a base 40; a plurality of arms 46/56 radially disposed about the post, wherein each of the plurality of arms 46/56 is pivotally connected to the post (via portions 54/64 that pivotally connect the arms to the base that extends from the post - fig. 2-3), wherein each of the plurality of arms 46/56 comprises: a hinged end 48 proximate the post, an end 50 distal from the post (fig. 3), and a body extending between the ends; wherein each of the plurality of arms 46/56 has a folded position and an extended position, wherein the body of each of the plurality of arms 46/56 is positioned transverse to the post in the extended position (fig. 3) and wherein the body of each of the plurality of arms 46/56 is proximate the post in the folded position (fig. 2), wherein positioning any one of the plurality of arms 46/56 in the folded position will position the hinged end 48 of said one arm between the base 40 and the distal end 50 of said one arm and wherein positioning any one of the plurality of arms 46/56 in the extended position will align the distal end 50 of said one arm with the base 40 along a line that does not include the hinged end 48 of said one arm (fig. 4 as annotated below – hinged end is at pin 52); and a mount 22, configured to support the camera 80, connected to the post 12. It would have been obvious to use mount 22 to support a light source given its structural suitability for supporting such a device. See annotated Fig. 4.
However, Stechmann '117 discloses a plurality of arms 30abc further comprises a pad 32abc positioned, proximate the distal end 73 of each of the plurality of arms 30abc where each pad 32abc having a magnet 40 on a bottom surface of said pad 32abc (fig. 9 - para 0057 - " attachment devices 40 include, among others, magnets...").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the distal end of the arms of the mounting bracket taught in Hewlett '821 with the pads having a magnet on a bottom surface as taught in Stechmann '117 in order to secure the mounting bracket to a ferromagnetic surface by magnetic attachment.
Regarding claim 6, Hewlett '821, as modified, discloses wherein each of the plurality of arms 46/56 is movable between the folded position and the extended position independently of the other arms within the plurality of arms (col. 3, line 66 to col. 4, line 3).
Claim(s) 10 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10,235,979 to Sato in view of US 9,577,417 to Stechmann and US 2014/0103169 to Heard et al.
Regarding claim 10, Sato ’979 discloses a mounting bracket comprising: a post 11/12 having a base 24, the base 24 having a bottom surface (Fig. 3); a plurality of arms 30 radially disposed about the post 11/12 (Fig. 3), wherein each of the plurality of arms 30 is pivotally connected to the post 11/12, wherein each of the plurality of arms 30 comprises: a hinged end proximate the post (@ 33a – Fig. 3 – col. 5, lines 13-25), an end distal from the post, and a body extending between the ends (Fig. 3); wherein each of the plurality of arms 30 further comprises a pad positioned proximate the distal end of each of the plurality of arms (pads are at the tips – Fig.3) wherein each of the plurality of arms 30 has a folded position and an extended position Fig. 2; col. 5, lines 27-37), wherein the body of each of the plurality of arms 30 is positioned transverse to the post 11/12 in the extended position and wherein the body of each of the plurality of arms 30 is proximate the post in the folded position (Fig. 2 – as shown in dashed lines), wherein positioning any one of the plurality of arms 30 in the folded position will position the hinged end 33a of said one arm between the base 24 and the distal end of said one arm 30 (Fig. 2 – dashed lines) and wherein positioning any one of the plurality of arms 30 in the extended position will align the distal end of said one arm 30 with the base 24 along a line that does not include the hinged end of said one arm (as annotated below via dashed line); a mount 15, configured to support a light source, connected to the post 11/12 (Fig. 1), wherein mount 15 is structurally suitable for supporting a light source.
Sato ’979 is silent as to each pad having a magnet on a bottom surface of said pad.
However, Stechmann '417 discloses mounting pads 240, including magnets 242 positioned at the distal ends of the legs (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the distal end of the arms of the mounting bracket taught in Sato '979 with the magnetic mounting pads as taught in Stechmann '117 in order to provide releasable magnetic attachment to a ferromagnetic mounting surface.
Sato ’979 is silent as to a base magnet secured to the bottom surface of the base.
Heard ‘169 discloses a base magnet 120 secured to the bottom surface of the base 110.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base 24 of Sato ’79 by replacing the spikes on its bottom surface with a magnet, as taught in Heard ‘169, to provide an alternative means of attachment such as a ferromagnetic mounting surface.
Regarding claim 12, Sato '979, as modified, where Stechmann '417 discloses wherein each pad 626 is pivotally mounted to the distal end of one of the plurality of arms (via hinges 612/614 and pins 624- Figs. 12-13; col. 7 lines 42-60).
Regarding claim 13, Sato '979, as modified, discloses further comprising an arm mount 34 slidably disposed on the post 11/12.
Regarding claim 14, Sato '979, as modified, discloses wherein the plurality of arms 30 are connected to the post 11/12 by the arm mount 34 (via link 31).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 10,235,979 to Sato in view of US 9,577,417 to Stechmann and US 2014/0103169 to Heard et al as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of US 4,907,769 to Hunley, Jr. et al.
Regarding claim 11, Sato '979, as modified, discloses a mounting bracket comprising the plurality of arms 30 including the pad at the distal end of each of the plurality of the arms (figs 2-3 - pads are on the tips of arms 30). However, Sato ’979, as modified, does not teach a handle extending from the pad at the distal end of each of the plurality of the arms.
However, Hunley '769 teaches a plurality of arms 12/14/16 further comprises a handle (top portion of magnets that snap into the slots at the distal ends of the arms - fig. 2 - the top portion bulb-like portion extending from an upper surface of the magnets and attached at the distal end of the arms) extending from the pad 18/22/26 at the distal end 20/24/28 of each of the plurality of the arms (fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the magnetic pads at the distal ends of Sato’s arms further with the handles, taught in Hunley '769 in order to allow for manual adjustment of the magnetic pads relative to the arms.
Claim(s) 10 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,650,821 to Hewlett in view of US 9,577,417 to Stechmann and US 2014/0103169 to Heard et al.
Regarding claim 10, Hewlett '821 discloses a mounting bracket for supporting a camera 80 comprising: a post 12 having a base 40; a plurality of arms 46/56 radially disposed about the post, wherein each of the plurality of arms 46/56 is pivotally connected to the post (via portions 54/64 that pivotally connect the arms to the base that extends from the post - fig. 2-3), wherein each of the plurality of arms 46/56 comprises: a hinged end 48 proximate the post, an end 50 distal from the post (fig. 3), and a body extending between the ends; wherein each of the plurality of arms 46/56 has a folded position and an extended position, wherein the body of each of the plurality of arms 46/56 is positioned transverse to the post in the extended position (fig. 3) and wherein the body of each of the plurality of arms 46/56 is proximate the post in the folded position (fig. 2), wherein positioning any one of the plurality of arms 46/56 in the folded position will position the hinged end 48 of said one arm between the base 40 and the distal end 50 of said one arm and wherein positioning any one of the plurality of arms 46/56 in the extended position will align the distal end 50 of said one arm with the base 40 along a line that does not include the hinged end 48 of said one arm (fig. 4 as annotated below – hinged end is at pin 52); and a mount 22, configured to support the camera 80, connected to the post 12. It would have been obvious to use mount 22 to support a light source given its structural suitability for supporting such a device. See annotated Fig. 4.
Hewlett '821 is silent as to each pad having a magnet on a bottom surface of said pad.
However, Stechmann '417 discloses mounting pads 240, including magnets 242 positioned at the distal ends of the legs (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the distal end of the arms of the mounting bracket taught in Hewlett '821 with the magnetic mounting pads as taught in Stechmann '117 in order to provide releasable magnetic attachment to a ferromagnetic mounting surface.
Hewlett '821 is silent as to a base magnet secured to the bottom surface of the base.
Heard ‘169 discloses a base magnet 120 secured to the bottom surface of the base 110.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bottom surface of the base 24 of Hewlett '821 with a magnet, as taught in Heard ‘169, in order to provide magnetic attachment to a ferromagnetic mounting surface.
Regarding claim 15, Hewlett '821, as modified, discloses wherein each of the plurality of arms 46/56 is movable between the folded position and the extended position independently of the other arms within the plurality of arms (col. 3, line 66 to col. 4, line 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 and 16-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Sato or Hewlett do not teach or make obvious the configuration of the components of the locking bar.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/25/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Stechmann (US 2022/0082117) is a CIP and that the relied upon subject matter is not entitled to the earlier filing date.
The examiner disagrees and submits that Stechmann (US 9,577.417, as previously cited by the examiner) discloses mounting pads 240, including magnets 242, at the distal ends of legs (Figs. 2) and pivotally mounted magnetic pads 626 connected by hinges 612/614 and pins 624 (Figs. 12-13). Further Stechmann ‘417 discloses a magnetic pad 940 on the central connecting member (Fig. 11)
Therefore, the relied upon magnetic mounting features were disclosed before Applicant’s asserted effective filing date. Noting that Stechmann ‘417 issued 2/21/2017 and is a parent of CIP Stechmann ‘117.
Applicant argues that Sato is intended for floor use and that certain floor surfaces may prevent effective magnetic attachment. Applicant argues that there is no motivation to add a light to a hi-hat stand.
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. The claims are not limited to floor attachment or a hi-hat stand. Applicant’s arguments are directed to limitations that are not claimed. Further, Sato’s intended use of a hi-hat stand does not limit the mounting bracket to supporting cymbals. Claim 1 does not require adding a light source, only a mount configured to support one. Sato’s mount is structurally suitable for supporting a light source.
Applicant argues that adding magnetic pads to Sato would interfere with its foot operated mechanism. The examiner disagrees and submits that the proposed modification of adding magnetic pads to the distal ends of Sato’s legs would not require modification of its foot operated mechanism.
Applicant argues that mounting a light on Sato would subject the light to vibrations during use. The examiner submits that claim 1 does not require a light, only a mount configured to support a light source.
Applicant argues that removing Sato’s foot controls would change its principle operation. The examiner submits that the proposed modification adds magnetic pads to Sato’s legs and does not require removal of its foot controls. The principle operation of Sato remains unchanged.
Applicant argues that Hewlett is directed to a camera support rather than a light stand.
The examiner submits that claim 1 requires a mount configured to support a light source, not a light stand. Hewlett’s mount 22 is structurally suitable for supporting a light source.
Applicant argues that Hewlett’s arms cannot independently support the device in a freestanding position. Applicant is arguing features that are not claimed. Claim 1 does not require a freestanding mounting bracket.
Applicant argues that adding magnetic pads to Hewlett would interfere with its handheld and counterbalance functions. The examiner submits that the proposed magnetic pads provide releasable attachment and would not prevent a handheld operation or counterbalancing.
Applicant argues that Hewlett does not disclose the claimed alignment of the distal end and the base along a line that excludes the hinged end.
The examiner disagrees. As shown in annotated Fig. 4 above, a line extending from distal end 50 of arm 46 to the edge portion of base 40 does not include hinged end 48 (see pin 52- Fig. 4) and is spaced from hinge pin 52.
Applicant argues that Stechmann’s living hinge does not teach the claimed folding arm configuration. The examiner submits that Hewlett, not Stechmann, is relied upon for the claimed folding arm configuration. Stechmann is relied upon for the mounting pads.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MONICA E MILLNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632