FINAL OFFICE ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 12-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pandit et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0032714 A1), hereinafter referred to as Pandit, in view of Agarwal et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0092022 A1), hereinafter referred to as Agarwal.
Regarding Claim 1, Pandit teaches:
system comprising:
a first storage device configured to store a data copy in a form of a data backup chain, wherein the data backup chain records, in a backup time sequence, data copies that are backed up to the first storage device; ([0039]; regarding, “The first node 130 may utilize the baseline snapshot to perform a baseline transfer of the data within the first volume to the third node 136 in order to create a second volume within the third node 136 comprising data of the first volume as of the point in time at which the baseline snapshot was created.”);
a second storage device, comprising a first storage space and configured to: receive a data access request; ([0064]; regarding, “As an example, respective client devices 208(1)-208(n) that are networked to a cluster may request services (e.g., exchanging of information in the form of data packets) of node computing devices 206(1)-206(n) in the cluster.”);
access first data in the first storage space of the second storage device based on the data access request; ([0064]; regarding, “the node computing devices 206(1)-206(n) can return results of the requested services to the client devices 208(1)-208(n).”);
back up the first data from the first storage space to the first storage device, wherein data backed up by the second storage device each time is one data copy in the data backup chain; ([0037]; regarding, “In an example, synchronous replication may be implemented, such as between the first node 130 and the second node 132.”);
and delete, from the second storage device…data…that is stored in the first storage space when the first storage device comprises a backed-up copy of the…data…; ([0043]; regarding, “The storage operating system may provide various storage services, such as disaster recovery… backup and archive function, replication such as asynchronous and/or synchronous replication, deduplication, compression, high availability storage, cloning functionality (e.g., the ability to clone a volume, such as a space efficient flex clone), snapshot functionality (e.g., the ability to create snapshots and restore data from snapshots), data tiering (e.g., migrating infrequently accessed data to slower/cheaper storage)”);
and a third storage device, configured to: replace, when the second storage device is faulty, the second storage device; ([0043]; regarding, “The storage operating system may provide various storage services, such as disaster recovery (e.g., the ability to non-disruptively transition client devices from accessing a primary node that has failed to a secondary node that is taking over for the failed primary node)”);
to process the data access request; and access the data copy in the first storage device based on the data access request; ([0064]; regarding, “respective client devices 208(1)-208(n) that are networked to a cluster may request services (e.g., exchanging of information in the form of data packets) of node computing devices 206(1)-206(n) in the cluster, and the node computing devices 206(1)-206(n) can return results of the requested services to the client devices 208(1)-208(n).”).
Pandit fails to explicitly disclose but Agarwal teaches:
and delete, from the second storage device, second data that is stored in the first storage space when the first storage device comprises a backed-up copy of the second data in the second storage device and when the second data is low-level data; ([0154]; regarding, “one or more older backup snapshots, or one or more older versions of a content file, may be archived to an archival storage tier for long-term retention. One or more backup snapshots may be archived to an archival storage tier for data recovery purposes (e.g., other storage systems may access the data associated with a backup snapshot in the event a storage location that locally stores the backup snapshot goes offline)… One or more cold content files (i.e., content files that are not accessed more than a threshold number of times within a threshold period) may be archived to an archival storage tier to free up local storage for one or more hot content files (i.e., content files that are accessed more than a threshold number of times within a threshold period).”; [0060]; regarding, “File system manager 117 may request from a cloud storage provider associated with cloud storage 122 access to a first portion of the one or more requested files stored at archival storage tier 125. In response to the request, the cloud storage provider may change a storage class associated with the first portion of the one or more requested files stored at archival storage tier 125 to hot storage tier 123. Changing a storage class associated with the first portion of the one or more requested files may include moving the set of data from archival storage tier 125 to hot storage tier 123, copying the data associated with the first portion from archival storage tier 125 to hot storage tier 123…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Pandit with the teachings of Agarwal above. Doing so reduce the overall costs associated with retaining files by archiving data… (Agarwal, [0025]).
Regarding Claim 2, Pandit in view of Agarwal teaches the system of claim 1 as referenced above. Pandit in view of Agarwal further teaches:
wherein the third storage device comprises a second storage space and is further configured to back up second data in the second storage space to the first storage device, and wherein data backed up by the third storage device each time is one data copy in the data backup chain. (Pandit, [0037]; regarding, “synchronous replication may be implemented, such as between the first node 130 and the second node 132. It may be appreciated that the synchronization module may implement synchronous replication between any devices within the operating environment 100, such as between the first node 130 of the first cluster 134 and the third node 136 of the second cluster 138 and/or between a node of a cluster and an instance of a node or virtual machine in the distributed computing platform 102.”).
Regarding Claim 4, Pandit in view of Agarwal teaches the system of claim 1 as referenced above. Pandit in view of Agarwal further teaches:
wherein when the first data in the first storage space is damaged or lost, the second storage device is further configured to: obtain the data copy from the data backup chain, and recover the first data using the data copy. (Pandit, [0059]; regarding, “the node computing devices 206(1) and 206(n) may be configured according to a disaster recovery configuration… the node computing device 206(n) can be configured according to an archival configuration and/or the node computing devices 206(1)-206(n) can be configured based on another type of replication arrangement”).
Regarding Claim 5, Pandit in view of Agarwal teaches the system of claim 1 as referenced above. Pandit in view of Agarwal further teaches:
further configured to further back up the first data from the first storage space to the first storage device in a data increment manner or in a full data manner. (Pandit, [0022]; regarding, “some snapshot data referenced by a first snapshot (e.g., a base snapshot or an incremental snapshot)… a first snapshot may be created, and snapshot data of the first snapshot may be stored within a first object for storage”).
Regarding Claim 6, Pandit in view of Agarwal teaches the system of claim 1 as referenced above. Pandit in view of Agarwal further teaches:
wherein the first storage device is the same as the second storage device or the third storage device. (Pandit, [0026]; regarding, “the techniques described herein may be implemented within one or more nodes, such as a first node 130 and/or a second node 132”).
Regarding Claim 7, Pandit in view of Agarwal teaches the system of claim 1 as referenced above. Pandit in view of Agarwal further teaches:
wherein the data access request is based on a portable operating system interface (POSIX) protocol, a network file system (NFS) protocol, a server message block (SMB) protocol, or a Hadoop distributed file system (HDFS) protocol. (Pandit, [0043]; regarding, “The storage operating system may allow client devices to access data stored within the distributed computing platform 102 using various types of protocols, such as a Network File System (NFS) protocol…”).
Regarding Claim 9, Pandit teaches:
A method comprising:
receiving, by a first data access instance in a first storage device, a data access request; accessing first data in a first storage space of the first data access instance based on the data access request; ([0057]; regarding, “the client devices 208(1)-208(n) may request data from the data storage apparatuses 202(1)-202(n) (e.g., data on one of the data storage devices 210(1)-210(n)”);
backing up, by the first data access instance, the first data to a storage device other than the first storage device, wherein the storage device stores a data copy in a form of a data backup chain, wherein the data backup chain records, in a backup time sequence, data copies that are backed up to the storage device, and wherein data backed up by the first data access instance each time is one data copy in the data backup chain; ([0039]; regarding, “The first node 130 may utilize the baseline snapshot to perform a baseline transfer of the data within the first volume to the third node 136 in order to create a second volume within the third node 136 comprising data of the first volume as of the point in time at which the baseline snapshot was created.”; [0037]; regarding, “In an example, synchronous replication may be implemented, such as between the first node 130 and the second node 132.”; [0043]; regarding, “The storage operating system may provide various storage services, such as disaster recovery… backup and archive function, replication such as asynchronous and/or synchronous replication, deduplication, compression, high availability storage, cloning functionality (e.g., the ability to clone a volume, such as a space efficient flex clone), snapshot functionality (e.g., the ability to create snapshots and restore data from snapshots), data tiering (e.g., migrating infrequently accessed data to slower/cheaper storage)”);
deleting, from the first storage device… data that is stored in the first storage space when the storage device comprises a backed up copy of the… data…; ([0043]; regarding, “The storage operating system may provide various storage services, such as disaster recovery… backup and archive function, replication such as asynchronous and/or synchronous replication, deduplication, compression, high availability storage, cloning functionality (e.g., the ability to clone a volume, such as a space efficient flex clone), snapshot functionality (e.g., the ability to create snapshots and restore data from snapshots), data tiering (e.g., migrating infrequently accessed data to slower/cheaper storage)”);
and replacing, by a second data access instance, the first data access instance with the second data access instance when the first data access instance is faulty, to process the data access request, and access the data copy based on the data access request; ([0043]; regarding, “The storage operating system may provide various storage services, such as disaster recovery (e.g., the ability to non-disruptively transition client devices from accessing a primary node that has failed to a secondary node that is taking over for the failed primary node)”; [0064]; regarding, “respective client devices 208(1)-208(n) that are networked to a cluster may request services (e.g., exchanging of information in the form of data packets) of node computing devices 206(1)-206(n) in the cluster, and the node computing devices 206(1)-206(n) can return results of the requested services to the client devices 208(1)-208(n).”).
Pandit fails to explicitly disclose but Agarwal teaches:
deleting, from the first storage device by the first data access instance second data that is stored in the first storage space when the first storage device comprises a backed-up copy of the second data in the first storage space and when the second data is low-level data; ([0154]; regarding, “one or more older backup snapshots, or one or more older versions of a content file, may be archived to an archival storage tier for long-term retention. One or more backup snapshots may be archived to an archival storage tier for data recovery purposes (e.g., other storage systems may access the data associated with a backup snapshot in the event a storage location that locally stores the backup snapshot goes offline)… One or more cold content files (i.e., content files that are not accessed more than a threshold number of times within a threshold period) may be archived to an archival storage tier to free up local storage for one or more hot content files (i.e., content files that are accessed more than a threshold number of times within a threshold period).”; [0060]; regarding, “File system manager 117 may request from a cloud storage provider associated with cloud storage 122 access to a first portion of the one or more requested files stored at archival storage tier 125. In response to the request, the cloud storage provider may change a storage class associated with the first portion of the one or more requested files stored at archival storage tier 125 to hot storage tier 123. Changing a storage class associated with the first portion of the one or more requested files may include moving the set of data from archival storage tier 125 to hot storage tier 123, copying the data associated with the first portion from archival storage tier 125 to hot storage tier 123…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Pandit with the teachings of Agarwal above. Doing so reduce the overall costs associated with retaining files by archiving data… (Agarwal, [0025]).
Regarding Claim 10, Pandit in view of Agarwal teaches the method of claim 9 as referenced above. Pandit in view of Agarwal further teaches:
wherein the second data access instance is further configured to back up second data in a second storage space of the second data access instance to the storage device, wherein data backed up by the second data access instance each time is one data copy in the data backup chain. (Pandit, [0037]; regarding, “synchronous replication may be implemented, such as between the first node 130 and the second node 132. It may be appreciated that the synchronization module may implement synchronous replication between any devices within the operating environment 100, such as between the first node 130 of the first cluster 134 and the third node 136 of the second cluster 138 and/or between a node of a cluster and an instance of a node or virtual machine in the distributed computing platform 102.”).
Regarding Claim 12, Pandit in view of Agarwal teaches the method of claim 9 as referenced above. Pandit in view of Agarwal further teaches:
wherein the first data access instance or the second data access instance is deployed on the storage device; (Pandit, [0057]; regarding, “the client devices 208(1)-208(n) may request data from the data storage apparatuses 202(1)-202(n)”; [0078]; regarding, “the node computing device 206(1) can respond to client device requests to manage data on one of the data storage devices 210(1)-210(n) or cloud storage device(s) 236 (e.g., or additional clustered devices) in accordance with the client device requests.”).
Regarding Claim 14, Pandit teaches:
A device comprising:
a memory configured to store instructions; ([0083]; regarding, “memory 302, having machine or processor-executable instructions stored thereon”);
one or more processors coupled to the memory and configured to execute the instructions to cause the device to: ([0083]; regarding, “memory 302, having machine or processor-executable instructions stored thereon for one or more aspects of the present technology, which when executed by processor(s), such as processor(s) 300”)
receive, by a first data access instance in a first storage device, a data access request; access first data in a first storage space of the first data access instance based on the data access request; ([0057]; regarding, “the client devices 208(1)-208(n) may request data from the data storage apparatuses 202(1)-202(n) (e.g., data on one of the data storage devices 210(1)-210(n)”);
back up, by the first data access instance, the first data to a storage device other than the first storage device, wherein the storage device stores a data copy in a form of a data backup chain, wherein the data backup chain records, in a backup time sequence, data copies that are backed up to the storage device, and wherein data backed up by the first data access instance each time is used as one data copy in the data backup chain; ([0039]; regarding, “The first node 130 may utilize the baseline snapshot to perform a baseline transfer of the data within the first volume to the third node 136 in order to create a second volume within the third node 136 comprising data of the first volume as of the point in time at which the baseline snapshot was created.”; [0037]; regarding, “In an example, synchronous replication may be implemented, such as between the first node 130 and the second node 132.”; [0043]; regarding, “The storage operating system may provide various storage services, such as disaster recovery… backup and archive function, replication such as asynchronous and/or synchronous replication, deduplication, compression, high availability storage, cloning functionality (e.g., the ability to clone a volume, such as a space efficient flex clone), snapshot functionality (e.g., the ability to create snapshots and restore data from snapshots), data tiering (e.g., migrating infrequently accessed data to slower/cheaper storage)”);
delete, from the first storage device… data that is stored in the first storage space when the storage device comprises a backed up copy of the… data…; ([0043]; regarding, “The storage operating system may provide various storage services, such as disaster recovery… backup and archive function, replication such as asynchronous and/or synchronous replication, deduplication, compression, high availability storage, cloning functionality (e.g., the ability to clone a volume, such as a space efficient flex clone), snapshot functionality (e.g., the ability to create snapshots and restore data from snapshots), data tiering (e.g., migrating infrequently accessed data to slower/cheaper storage)”);
and replace, by a second data access instance, the first data access instance with the second data access instance when the first data access instance is faulty, to process the data access request, and access the data copy in the storage device based on the data access request; ([0043]; regarding, “The storage operating system may provide various storage services, such as disaster recovery (e.g., the ability to non-disruptively transition client devices from accessing a primary node that has failed to a secondary node that is taking over for the failed primary node)”; [0064]; regarding, “respective client devices 208(1)-208(n) that are networked to a cluster may request services (e.g., exchanging of information in the form of data packets) of node computing devices 206(1)-206(n) in the cluster, and the node computing devices 206(1)-206(n) can return results of the requested services to the client devices 208(1)-208(n).”).
Pandit fails to explicitly disclose but Agarwal teaches:
deleting, from the first storage device by the first data access instance second data that is stored in the first storage space when the first storage device comprises a backed-up copy of the second data in the first storage space and when the second data is low-level data; ([0154]; regarding, “one or more older backup snapshots, or one or more older versions of a content file, may be archived to an archival storage tier for long-term retention. One or more backup snapshots may be archived to an archival storage tier for data recovery purposes (e.g., other storage systems may access the data associated with a backup snapshot in the event a storage location that locally stores the backup snapshot goes offline)… One or more cold content files (i.e., content files that are not accessed more than a threshold number of times within a threshold period) may be archived to an archival storage tier to free up local storage for one or more hot content files (i.e., content files that are accessed more than a threshold number of times within a threshold period).”; [0060]; regarding, “File system manager 117 may request from a cloud storage provider associated with cloud storage 122 access to a first portion of the one or more requested files stored at archival storage tier 125. In response to the request, the cloud storage provider may change a storage class associated with the first portion of the one or more requested files stored at archival storage tier 125 to hot storage tier 123. Changing a storage class associated with the first portion of the one or more requested files may include moving the set of data from archival storage tier 125 to hot storage tier 123, copying the data associated with the first portion from archival storage tier 125 to hot storage tier 123…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Pandit with the teachings of Agarwal above. Doing so reduce the overall costs associated with retaining files by archiving data… (Agarwal, [0025]).
Regarding Claim 15, Pandit in view of Agarwal teaches the device of claim 14 as referenced above. Pandit in view of Agarwal further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to further cause the second data access instance to back up second data in a second storage space of the second data access instance to the storage device, wherein data backed up by the second data access instance each time is one data copy in the data backup chain. (Pandit, [0037]; regarding, “synchronous replication may be implemented, such as between the first node 130 and the second node 132. It may be appreciated that the synchronization module may implement synchronous replication between any devices within the operating environment 100, such as between the first node 130 of the first cluster 134 and the third node 136 of the second cluster 138 and/or between a node of a cluster and an instance of a node or virtual machine in the distributed computing platform 102.”).
Regarding Claim 19, Pandit in view of Agarwal teaches the device of claim 14 as referenced above. Pandit in view of Agarwal further teaches:
wherein when the first data in the first storage space is damaged or lost, the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to further cause the first data access instance to:
obtain the data copy from the data backup chain; and recover the first data using the data copy. (Pandit, [0059]; regarding, “the node computing devices 206(1) and 206(n) may be configured according to a disaster recovery configuration whereby a surviving node provides switchover access to the storage devices 210(1)-210(n) in the event a disaster occurs at a disaster storage site… In other examples, the node computing device 206(n) can be configured according to an archival configuration and/or the node computing devices 206(1)-206(n) can be configured based on another type of replication arrangement (e.g., to facilitate load sharing). Additionally, while two node computing devices are illustrated in FIG. 2, any number of node computing devices or data storage apparatuses can be included in other examples in other types of configurations or arrangements.”).
Regarding Claim 20, Pandit in view of Agarwal teaches the device of claim 14 as referenced above. Pandit in view of Agarwal further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to further cause the first data access instance to back up the first data from the first storage space to the storage device in a data increment manner. (Pandit, [0022]; regarding, “some snapshot data referenced by a first snapshot (e.g., a base snapshot or an incremental snapshot)… a first snapshot may be created, and snapshot data of the first snapshot may be stored within a first object for storage”).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 under the same grounds of rejection as claim 12.
Claims 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 under the same grounds of rejection as claim 7.
Claims 3, 11, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pandit et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0032714 A1), hereinafter referred to as Pandit, in view of Agarwal et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0092022 A1), hereinafter referred to as Agarwal, in further view of Narayanamurthy et al (U.S. Publication No. 2015/0112951), hereinafter referred to as Narayanamurthy.
Regarding Claim 3, Pandit in view of Agarwal teaches the system of claim 1 as referenced above. Pandit in view of Agarwal fails to explicitly disclose but Narayanamurthy teaches:
wherein the second storage device is further configured to restore, when the low-level data is converted into high-level data, the high-level data in the first storage space using the backed up copy of the low-level data in the first storage device. ([0047]; regarding, “if the data node 120a determines that the block of data is cold data, then at block 625 the data node 120a converts the cold data to hot data. At block 630, the data node 120a obtains the hot data from the chunkstore and serves the hot data in response to the request.”; [0015]; regarding, “The cold data can be retrieved from the backup storage into the primary storage on demand, for example, upon receiving a request from a client system…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Pandit and Agarwal with the teachings of Narayanamurthy above. Doing so can improve the availability of data and maintain a resource balance in a distributed processing system (Narayanamurthy, [0015]).
Regarding Claim 11, Pandit in view of Agarwal teaches the method of claim 9 as referenced above. Pandit in view of Agarwal fails to explicitly disclose but Narayanamurthy teaches:
wherein the first data access instance is further configured to: restore, when the low-level data is converted into high- level data, the high-level data in the first storage space using the backed up copy of the low-level data in the storage device. ([0047]; regarding, “if the data node 120a determines that the block of data is cold data, then at block 625 the data node 120a converts the cold data to hot data. At block 630, the data node 120a obtains the hot data from the chunkstore and serves the hot data in response to the request.”; [0015]; regarding, “The cold data can be retrieved from the backup storage into the primary storage on demand, for example, upon receiving a request from a client system…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Pandit and Agarwal with the teachings of Narayanamurthy above. Doing so can improve the availability of data and maintain a resource balance in a distributed processing system (Narayanamurthy, [0015]).
Regarding Claim 16, Pandit in view of Agarwal teaches the method of claim 9 as referenced above. Pandit in view of Agarwal fails to explicitly disclose but Narayanamurthy teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to further cause the first data access instance to restore, when the low-level data is converted into high-level data, the high-level data in the first storage space using the backed up copy of the low-level data in the storage device. ([0047]; regarding, “if the data node 120a determines that the block of data is cold data, then at block 625 the data node 120a converts the cold data to hot data. At block 630, the data node 120a obtains the hot data from the chunkstore and serves the hot data in response to the request.”; [0015]; regarding, “The cold data can be retrieved from the backup storage into the primary storage on demand, for example, upon receiving a request from a client system…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Pandit and Agarwal with the teachings of Narayanamurthy above. Doing so can improve the availability of data and maintain a resource balance in a distributed processing system (Narayanamurthy, [0015]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pandit et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0032714 A1), hereinafter referred to as Pandit, in view of Agarwal et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0092022 A1), hereinafter referred to as Agarwal, in further view of Pradhan et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0168970), hereinafter referred to as Pradhan.
Regarding Claim 8, Pandit in view of Agarwal teaches the system of claim 1 as referenced above. Pandit in view of Agarwal further teaches:
wherein the second storage device is further configured to: obtain a backed-up data copy of the first data from the first storage device; (Pandit, [0059]; regarding, “the node computing devices 206(1) and 206(n) may be configured according to a disaster recovery configuration… the node computing device 206(n) can be configured according to an archival configuration and/or the node computing devices 206(1)-206(n) can be configured based on another type of replication arrangement”);
Pandit in view of Agarwal fails to explicitly disclose but Pradhan teaches:
and perform an analysis on the backed-up data copy, wherein the analysis comprises: query and statistics collection. ([0277]; regarding, “Backup index 353 will facilitate searching and accessing data backed up to the secondary storage device 108, as well as facilitate finding granular information about completed backup operations that can be reported back to storage manager 340 for query responses.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified Pandit and Agarwal with the teachings of Pradhan above. Doing so can improve user access to data files across multiple computing devices and/or hosted services (Pradhan, [0075]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 12/17/2025 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 on independent Claim 1, and similarly Claims 9 and 14, have been considered and a new grounds of rejection has been provided addressing the newly claimed matter. See please the above detailed rejection of the newly recited subject matter.
Newly cited reference Agarwal teaches deleting or archiving data from one storage device when the same data is backed up in another storage device.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.D.G./Examiner, Art Unit 2113
/BRYCE P BONZO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2113