DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS’ filed to date have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8, 9, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeshita (US 20180203202) herein after referred to as D1, and further in view of Tsunoda (JP 2021076807) herein after referred to as D2.
With regard to claim 1, D1 teaches an image capturing apparatus, in at least one of (Fig. 1-4); comprising: a lens unit (12) including a lens system (12); a camera body (11) to which the lens unit (12) is attachable; an operation member (24) provided in the lens unit (12); a control source changeover unit (fig. 6, element 24; paragraphs [0058]-[0059]: describes a system for automatic or manual usage of the lens system) configured to switch a control source between a lens unit (12) side and a camera body side (11); a memory device ([0034]; ROM and RAM storing programs and use as a work memory) that stores a set of instructions ([0034]; ROM and RAM storing programs and use as a work memory); and at least one processor that executes the set of instructions ([0034]; ROM and RAM storing programs and use as a work memory) to: control and change an image capturing setting value ([0035]: as a diaphragm control unit that controls the diaphragm value) by the lens unit (12) side according to an operation of the operation member (24) in a case where the control source is the lens unit (12) side; control and change the image capturing setting value ([0035]: as a diaphragm control unit that controls the diaphragm value) by the camera body side (11) in a case where the control source is the camera body side (11); and store the image capturing setting value ([0035]: as a diaphragm control unit that controls the diaphragm value) changed and controlled by the camera body side (11) as a second image capturing setting value ([0035]: as a diaphragm control unit that controls the diaphragm value; [0040]; AE position), wherein, in an integrated configuration in which the operation member (24) and the control source changeover unit (fig. 6, element 24; paragraphs [0058]-[0059]: describes a system for automatic or manual usage of the lens system) are integrated, when the control source changeover unit (fig. 6, paragraphs [0058]-[0059]: describes a system for automatic or manual usage of the lens system) switches the control source to the camera body side (11), the second image capturing setting value ([0035]: as a diaphragm control unit that controls the diaphragm value; [0040]; AE position) stored is changed and controlled by the camera body (11), and the camera body (11) notifies the lens unit (12) that the camera body side (11) is the control source ([0040]), and wherein, in a separate configuration in which the operation member (23) and the control source changeover unit (fig. 6, element 24; paragraphs [0058]-[0059]: describes a system for automatic or manual usage of the lens system) are separated, when the control source changeover unit (fig. 6, element 24; paragraphs [0058]-[0059]: describes a system for automatic or manual usage of the lens system) switches the control source to the camera body side (11), the second image capturing setting value ([0035]: as a diaphragm control unit that controls the diaphragm value; [0040]; AE position) is further updated by the camera body side (11) with a first image capturing setting value ([0035]: as a diaphragm control unit that controls the diaphragm value) that is a latest image capturing setting value ([0035]: as a diaphragm control unit that controls the diaphragm value) changed and controlled by the lens unit (12) side, and the camera body (11) notifies the lens unit (12) that the camera body (11) controls the updated image capturing setting value ([0035]: as a diaphragm control unit that controls the diaphragm value).
With regard to claim 2, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a camera apparatus, in at least one of (Fig. 1-4 and 6); wherein, in the integrated configuration, the operation member (24) is a rotating member of which a rotation axis (fig. 6, Line) coincides with an optical axis (fig. 6, Line) of the lens system (12), and a part of a rotation range of the rotating member (23 and 24) is a lens-side control region ([0040]) for changing and controlling the image capturing setting value ([0035]: as a diaphragm control unit that controls the diaphragm value) by the lens unit (12) side according to rotation of the rotating member (23 and 24), and another part of the rotation range, which is a region extended from the lens-side control region in the rotating direction (53 and 55), incudes a camera-side control region (14) for changing and controlling the image capturing setting value ([0035]: as a diaphragm control unit that controls the diaphragm value) by the camera body side (11), and wherein the control source changeover unit (fig. 6, element 24; paragraphs [0058]-[0059]: describes a system for automatic or manual usage of the lens system) switches the control source (14) according to rotation of the rotating member (23 and 24) between the lens-side control region and the camera-side control region (14).
With regard to claim 7, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a camera apparatus, in at least one of (Fig. 1-4 and 6); wherein the camera body (11) obtains information ([0038], [0041], and [0048]) including lens identification information ([0038], [0041], and [0048]) for identifying lens information ([0038], [0041], and [0048]) about the lens system (12) and lens type information ([0038], [0041], and [0048]) indicating whether the control source changeover unit (24) is integrally configured.
With regard to claim 8, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a camera apparatus, in at least one of (Fig. 1-4 and 6); wherein the image capturing setting value ([0035]: as a diaphragm control unit that controls the diaphragm value) is an aperture value ([0015]).
With regard to claim 9, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches a camera apparatus, in at least one of (Fig. 1-4 and 6); wherein the image capturing setting value ([0035]: as a diaphragm control unit that controls the diaphragm value) of is a focus value ([0029]).
With regard to claim 10, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, however, D1 does not expressly disclose, wherein the lens unit (12) further includes an assign operation unit (Fig. 24, element 26; [0040]: automatic exposure mode) to which a predetermined function can be assigned and operated from the camera body (11), and the image capturing setting value ([0035]: as a diaphragm control unit that controls the diaphragm value; [0040]; AE position) can be selected from the camera body (11).
With regard to claim 11, D1 teaches A control method for an image capturing apparatus including a lens unit (12), a camera body (11) to which the lens unit (12) is attachable, an operation member (24) provided in the lens unit (12), and a control source changeover unit (fig. 6, element 24; paragraphs [0058]-[0059]: describes a system for automatic or manual usage of the lens system) switching a control source (14 or 24), the control method comprising: performing change control of an image capturing setting value ([0035]: as a diaphragm control unit that controls the diaphragm value) by a lens unit (12) side according to an operation of the operation member (24) in a case where the control source is a lens unit (12) side; performing change control of the image capturing setting value ([0035]: as a diaphragm control unit that controls the diaphragm value) by a camera body side (11) in a case where the control source is a camera body side (11); switching a control source between the lens unit (12) side and the camera body side (11) with the control source changeover unit (fig. 6, element 24; paragraphs [0058]-[0059]: describes a system for automatic or manual usage of the lens system); and storing the image capturing setting value ([0035]: as a diaphragm control unit that controls the diaphragm value) changed and controlled by the camera body side (11) as a second image capturing setting value ([0035]: as a diaphragm control unit that controls the diaphragm value; [0040]; AE position), wherein, in an integrated configuration in which the operation member (24) and the control source changeover unit (fig. 6, element 24; paragraphs [0058]-[0059]: describes a system for automatic or manual usage of the lens system) are integrated, when the control source changeover unit (fig. 6, element 24; paragraphs [0058]-[0059]: describes a system for automatic or manual usage of the lens system) switches the control source to the camera body side (11), the second image capturing setting value ([0035]: as a diaphragm control unit that controls the diaphragm value; [0040]; AE position) stored in the storing step is changed and controlled in the second control step, and the camera body (11) notifies the lens unit (12) that the camera body side (11) is the control source ([0040]). and wherein, in a separate configuration in which the operation member (23) and the control source changeover unit (fig. 6, element 24; paragraphs [0058]-[0059]: describes a system for automatic or manual usage of the lens system) are separated, when the control source changeover unit (fig. 6, element 24; paragraphs [0058]-[0059]: describes a system for automatic or manual usage of the lens system) switches the control source to the camera body side (11), the second image capturing setting value ([0035]: as a diaphragm control unit that controls the diaphragm value; [0040]; AE position) is updated in the second control step with a first image capturing setting value ([0035]: as a diaphragm control unit that controls the diaphragm value) that is a latest image capturing setting value ([0035]: as a diaphragm control unit that controls the diaphragm value) changed and controlled in the first control step, and the camera body (11) notifies the lens unit (12) that the camera body (11) controls the updated image capturing setting value ([0035]: as a diaphragm control unit that controls the diaphragm value).
With regard to claim 12, D1 teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a control program causing a computer to execute a control method for an image capturing apparatus including a lens unit (12), a camera body (11) to which the lens unit (12) is attachable, an operation member (24) provided in the lens unit (12), and a control source changeover unit (fig. 6, element 24; paragraphs [0058]-[0059]: describes a system for automatic or manual usage of the lens system) switching a control source (14 or 24), the control method comprising: performing change control of an image capturing setting value ([0035]: as a diaphragm control unit that controls the diaphragm value) by a lens unit (12) side according to an operation of the operation member (24) in a case where the control source is a lens unit (12) side; performing change control of the image capturing setting value ([0035]: as a diaphragm control unit that controls the diaphragm value) by a camera body side (11) in a case where the control source is a camera body side (11); switching a control source between the lens unit (12) side and the camera body side (11) with the control source changeover unit (fig. 6, element 24; paragraphs [0058]-[0059]: describes a system for automatic or manual usage of the lens system); and storing the image capturing setting value ([0035]: as a diaphragm control unit that controls the diaphragm value) changed and controlled by the camera body side (11) as a second image capturing setting value ([0035]: as a diaphragm control unit that controls the diaphragm value; [0040]; AE position), wherein, in an integrated configuration in which the operation member (24) and the control source changeover unit (fig. 6, element 24; paragraphs [0058]-[0059]: describes a system for automatic or manual usage of the lens system) are integrated, when the control source changeover unit (fig. 6, element 24; paragraphs [0058]-[0059]: describes a system for automatic or manual usage of the lens system) switches the control source to the camera body side (11), the second image capturing setting value ([0035]: as a diaphragm control unit that controls the diaphragm value; [0040]; AE position) stored in the storing step is changed and controlled in the second control step, and the camera body (11) notifies the lens unit (12) that the camera body side (11) is the control source ([0040]), and wherein, in a separate configuration in which the operation member (23) and the control source changeover unit (fig. 6, element 24; paragraphs [0058]-[0059]: describes a system for automatic or manual usage of the lens system) are separated, when the control source changeover unit (fig. 6, element 24; paragraphs [0058]-[0059]: describes a system for automatic or manual usage of the lens system) switches the control source to the camera body side (11), the second image capturing setting value ([0035]: as a diaphragm control unit that controls the diaphragm value; [0040]; AE position) is updated in the second control step with a first image capturing setting value ([0035]: as a diaphragm control unit that controls the diaphragm value) that is a latest image capturing setting value ([0035]: as a diaphragm control unit that controls the diaphragm value) changed and controlled in the first control step, and the camera body (11) notifies the lens unit (12) that the camera body (11) controls the updated image capturing setting value ([0035]: as a diaphragm control unit that controls the diaphragm value).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regard to claim 3, D1 teaches all of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches, in at least one of (Fig. 1-4); wherein the at least one processor ([0034]) that executes the set of instructions ([0034]; storing programs and parameters).
In a related endeavors, UEDA (US 2007003269), and Kawai (US 2012287328) do not remedy the deficiencies of D1 with regard to the limitations: to determine whether a rotation amount variation of the rotating member exceeds a first threshold, wherein, in a case where the rotation amount variation is determined to exceed the first threshold, start time of a changeover period in which a changeover operation is performed by the rotating member is set as current time and it is determined that there is in the changeover period.
Therefore, due to those limitations stated above, and those reasons stated in the ISR received as NPL, on 02/05/2025, the above subject matter would be found to be allowable, if the above objection were to be overcome.
Conclusion
Information ([0038], [0041], and [0048]) regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information ([0038], [0041], and [0048]) in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information ([0038], [0041], and [0048]) about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information ([0038], [0041], and [0048]) about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/GRANT A GAGNON/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872