DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“imaging device” in claims 1, and 18, and all dependent claims thereof. The examiner notes that “device” is the generic placeholder and “imaging” is the functional language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 12-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hou et al. (US 2022/0226114; hereinafter Hou), in view of Athanasiou et al. (US 2023/0363652; hereinafter Athanasiou).
Regarding claim 1, Hou discloses a balloon valvuloplasty catheter with IVUS. Hou shows an intravascular imaging catheter (see abstract), comprising: an elongate catheter shaft (see 110 in fig. 5) having a distal end region and a proximal region (see fig. 5; par. [0079]); wherein a guidewire lumen is defined in the elongate catheter shaft (see 112 in fig. 5; par. [0079]; wherein catheter shaft includes an imaging window disposed proximally of the distal end region and the imaging window being defined by an open gap in the catheter shaft (see fig. 5; par. [0083]); an imaging core (see 130 in fig. 5) disposed within the elongate catheter shaft (see fig. 5; par. [0083]); and wherein the imaging core includes an imaging device (see 132 in fig. 5) configured to be axially aligned with the imaging window (see fig. 5 and par. [0083]).
Furthermore, Hou teaches wherein the imaging core is configured to shift between a delivery position disposed within the distal end region around the imaging window (see fig. 5) and an imaging position where the imaging device is disposed along the image window (see fig. 5; par. [0083]), but Hou fails to explicitly state that the delivery position where the imaging device is disposed withing the distal end distally of the imaging window.
Athanasiou discloses an ultrasound imaging system (see par. [0036]). Hastings teaches that imaging core is configured to shift between delivery position where the imaging device is disposed within distal end region distally of imaging window (see par. [0053], [0056] and fig. 4) and imaging position where the imaging device is disposed along the imaging window (see par. [0053], [0056] and fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention that imaging core is configured to shift between delivery position where the imaging device is disposed within distal end region distally of imaging window and imaging position where the imaging device is disposed along the imaging window in the invention of Hou, as taught by Athanasiou, to be able to provide fast image data collection at multiple locations in a single pullback procedure.
Regarding claim 2, Hou shows wherein the distal end region is connected to the proximal region by a bridge region of the elongate catheter shaft (see fig. 5).
Regarding claim 3, Hou shows wherein the guidewire lumen is defined by a guidewire lumen shaft extending from the proximal region of the elongate catheter shaft to the distal end region of the elongate catheter shaft (see fig. 5; par. [0079]).
Regarding claim 4, Hou shows wherein the distal end region is coupled to the proximal region by the guidewire lumen shaft (see fig. 5).
Regarding claim 5, Hou shows wherein the open gap is formed by a cutout in the elongate catheter shaft (see fig. 5; par. [0083]).
Regarding claim 6, Hou shows wherein the distal end region of the elongate catheter shaft has a proximal end (see fig. 5), wherein the proximal region of the elongate catheter shaft has a distal end (see fig. 5, and wherein the open gap is disposed between the proximal end of the distal end region and the distal end of the proximal region (see fig. 5).
Regarding claim 8, Hou shows wherein shifting the imaging core from the delivery position to the imaging position includes axially shifting the imaging core relative to the elongate catheter shaft (see fig. 5).
Regarding claim 12, Hou shows wherein the imaging device includes an ultrasound transducer (see par. [0083]).
Regarding claim 13, Hou discloses a balloon valvuloplasty catheter with IVUS. Hou shows an intravascular imaging catheter (see fig. 5 and abstract), comprising: an elongate imaging catheter sheath having a distal end region (fig. 5 and par. [0079], [0099]), a proximal region (see fig. 5), an imaging window region disposed between the distal end region and the proximal region; wherein the imaging window region is defined by an opening in the elongate imaging catheter sheath (see fig. 5; par. [0079], [0083]); a guidewire lumen shaft extending from the proximal region of the elongate imaging catheter sheath to the distal end region of the elongate imaging catheter sheath (see fig. 6; par. [0079]); an imaging core (see 130 in fig. 5) disposed within the elongate imaging catheter sheath (see fig. 5 and par. [0083]); wherein the imaging core includes an ultrasound imaging device (see par. [0083]).
Furthermore, Hou teaches wherein the imaging core is configured to shift between a delivery position disposed within the distal end region around the imaging window (see fig. 5) and an imaging position where the imaging device is disposed along the image window (see fig. 5; par. [0083]), but Hou fails to explicitly state that the delivery position where the imaging device is disposed withing the distal end distally of the imaging window.
Athanasiou discloses an ultrasound imaging system (see par. [0036]). Hastings teaches that imaging core is configured to shift between delivery position where the imaging device is disposed within distal end region distally of imaging window (see par. [0053], [0056] and fig. 4) and imaging position where the imaging device is disposed along the imaging window (see par. [0053], [0056] and fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention that imaging core is configured to shift between delivery position where the imaging device is disposed within distal end region distally of imaging window and imaging position where the imaging device is disposed along the imaging window in the invention of Hou, as taught by Athanasiou, to be able to provide fast image data collection at multiple of in a single pullback procedure.
Regarding claim 14, Hou shows wherein the distal end region of the elongate imaging catheter sheath is coupled to the proximal region of the elongate imaging catheter sheath by the guidewire lumen shaft (see fig. 5).
Regarding claim 15,Hou shows wherein the opening is formed by a cutout in the elongate imaging catheter sheath (see fig. 5; par. [0083]).
Regarding claim 16, Hou shows wherein the distal end region of the elongate imaging catheter sheath has a proximal end (see fig. 5), wherein the proximal region of the elongate imaging catheter sheath has a distal end (see fig. 5), and wherein the opening is disposed between the proximal end of the distal end region and the distal end of the proximal region (see fig. 5).
Regarding claim 17, Hou shows wherein shifting the imaging core from the delivery position to the imaging position includes axially shifting the imaging core relative to the elongate imaging catheter sheath (see fig. 5).
Regarding claim 18, Hou discloses a balloon valvuloplasty catheter with IVUS. Hou shows the method comprising: advancing an intravascular imaging catheter through a blood vessel to a position adjacent to an area of interest (see fig. 5; par. [0079], [0083]); wherein the intravascular imaging catheter comprises: an elongate catheter shaft (see 110 in fig. 5) having a distal end region and a proximal region (see fig. 5; par. [0079]), wherein a guidewire lumen is defined in the elongate catheter shaft (see 112 in fig. 5; par. [0079]), wherein the distal end region includes an imaging window defined by an open gap in the elongate catheter shaft (see fig. 5; par. [0083]), an imaging core (see 130 in fig. 5) disposed within the elongate catheter shaft (see fig. 5; par. [0083]), and wherein the imaging core includes an imaging device (see 132 in fig. 5); aligning the imaging device with the imaging window (see fig. 5); and imaging the blood vessel using the imaging device and while proximally retracting the elongate catheter shaft (see abstract; fig. 5; par. [0079], [0083]).
Furthermore, Hou teaches wherein the imaging core is configured to shift between a delivery position disposed within the distal end region around the imaging window (see fig. 5) and an imaging position where the imaging device is disposed along the image window (see fig. 5), wherein aligning the imaging device with the imaging window includes shifting the imaging core from the delivery position to the imaging position (see fig. 5; par. [0083]), but Hou fails to explicitly state that the delivery position where the imaging device is disposed withing the distal end distally of the imaging window.
Athanasiou discloses an ultrasound imaging system (see par. [0036]). Hastings teaches that imaging core is configured to shift between delivery position where the imaging device is disposed within distal end region distally of imaging window (see par. [0053], [0056] and fig. 4) and imaging position where the imaging device is disposed along the imaging window (see par. [0053], [0056] and fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention that imaging core is configured to shift between delivery position where the imaging device is disposed within distal end region distally of imaging window and imaging position where the imaging device is disposed along the imaging window in the invention of Hou, as taught by Athanasiou, to be able to provide fast image data collection at multiple of in a single pullback procedure.
Regarding claim 20, Hou shows wherein imaging the blood vessel using the imaging device and while proximally retracting the elongate catheter shaft includes proximally retracting the elongate catheter shaft and the imaging core (see abstract; fig. 5).
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hou et al. (US 2022/0226114; hereinafter Hou), in view of Athanasiou et al. (US 2023/0363652; hereinafter Athanasiou) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Stigall et al. (US 2020/0037985; hereinafter Stigall).
Regarding claim 9, Hou and Athanasiou discloses the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, but fails to explicitly state wherein the imaging device is coupled to an imaging housing.
Stigall discloses a IVUS device. Stigall teaches that the imaging device is coupled to an imaging housing (see par. [0035], [0036]; 116 in fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of the imaging device is coupled to an imaging housing in the invention of Hou and Athanasiou, as taught by Stigall, to be able to protect the ultrasound element, and housing for the ultrasound transducer components.
Regarding claim 10, Hou, Athanasiou and Stigall disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Hou teaches wherein the imaging device has a proximal section that extends into the proximal region of the elongate catheter shaft (see fig. 5), and Stigall teaches the imaging housing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of the imaging housing in the invention of Hou and Athanasiou, as taught by Stigall, to be able to protect the ultrasound element, and housing for the ultrasound transducer components.
Regarding claim 11, Hou, Athanasiou and Stigall disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Hou teaches wherein the imaging device has a distal section that extends into the distal end region of the elongate catheter shaft (see fig. 5), and Stigall teaches the imaging housing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of the imaging housing in the invention of Hou and Athanasiou, as taught by Stigall, to be able to protect the ultrasound element, and housing for the ultrasound transducer components.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 11/12/2025 with respect to prior art rejection of independent claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any rejection applied in the prior office action of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The examiner has provided new prior art Athanasiou.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAHDEEP MOHAMMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797