DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the amendment and reply filed 8/20/2026.
Claims 1-10 and 11-14 (new) are pending. Claims 1-5 are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (1) claim 6 recites “the hydroprocessing unit is further configured to produce ammonium bisulfide” and cited portions of Rettger fails to disclose this subject matter.
Applicant’s arguments have been considered and are not persuasive. In response Rettger discloses wherein the hydroprocessing reactor is configured to produce sour water (0244) and the sour water leaves the hydroprocessing reactor and is passed to a sour water stripper (504). “’[S]our’ refers to product streams, gas streams and water streams that contain a high content of sulfur, hydrogen sulfide, and/or ammonia.” Par. [0056]. “In a further optional embodiment of the present inventive subject matter, high pressure sour gas in line 216 [separated from the hydroprocessing reactor effluent] is fed to third flash vessel 260 along with water from line 264. The water acts to remove ammonia salts and other impurities form the high pressure sour gas.” Par. [0078]. Ammonium bisulfide is a known ammonia salt formed from hydrogen sulfide and ammonia at hydrotreating conditions.
Further, the current claim is directed to an apparatus. The apparatus disclosed in the art must be capable of achieving the function “configured for”. Here, the reactor is configured to receiving hydrocarbons which may contain sulfur and nitrogen impurities and operates at a temperature which forms hydrogen sulfide and ammonia. The apparatus is configured to produce ammonium bisulfide. The apparatus is further configured to produce sour water from the hydro processed effluent.
The instant specification merely discloses the apparatus “configured to” without describing any physical limitations. In par. [0030], the application states “[a]ammonium bisulfide can be formed by a reaction between ammonia and hydrogen sulfide in hydroprocessing unit 20 due to changes in the thermodynamic conditions.” It is unclear what limitations are required by the claimed apparatus that are required to cause the changes in thermodynamic conditions sufficient for the formation of ammonium bisulfide that are not present in Rettger. Amending claim 1 to include these limitations could be helpful in distinguishing the apparatus from that of the prior art.
Addi,
Applicant argues (2) limitations added in the new claims are not taught.
The new claims have been rejected below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §§ 102-103
Claim(s) 6, 7, 9, and 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as anticipated by or in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over, Rettger (US 20040118745).
With respect to claim 6, Rettger (US 20040118745) teaches a system comprising:
a. Mixing the hydrogen and feedstock (figure 3), it is expected or else would have
been obvious for the mixing to occur in a mixer.
b. A hydroprocessing unit fluidly connected to the mixer for receiving the combined
stream, the hydroprocessing unit configured to process the hydrocarbons to light
products in a primary reactor of the hydroprocessing unit to produce a hydroprocessing
product stream. The hydro processor feed may be heated in a heater (not shown) thus configured to produce carbon dioxide. (0065) The hydroprocessing effluent includes hydrogen sulfide and ammonia. The hydroprocessing unit is configured to produce sour water (0244) containing these compounds which is then passed to the sour water stripper 504 for removing
hydrogen sulfide and ammonia (Figure 6). Hydrogen sulfide and ammonia will inherently form solid ammonia bisulfide at certain temperature and pressure, which may be dissolved in the water stream.
c. A sour water stripper and treatment unit, i.e. waste water unit is fluidly connected
to the hydroprocessing unit (Figure 5). The wastewater unit configured to process a
sour water stream produced by the hydroprocessing product stream to produce an
ammonia stream, a hydrogen sulfide stream which his converted to sulfur, and a
stripped water stream.
With respect to claim 7, Rettger teaches a unit for hydrogen production from a portion of
the syngas produced and steam to produce hydrogen and carbon dioxide (0070).
With respect to claim 9, Rettger teaches wherein the feed is a heavy hydrocarbon feed
to the hydroprocessing unit is an intermediate refinery stream from the upgrader.
With respect to claim 10, Rettger teaches wherein the hydroprocessing unit may be a
hydrocracking unit or a hydrotreating unit (0061).
With respect to claim 11, Rettger teaches “water is added to the high-pressure hydro processed product in line 210 via line 264. In first flash vessel 212, the high-pressure hydro processed product is separated into high pressure sour gas and high pressure flashed product.” Par. [0074]. The “high pressure sour gas in line 216 is fed to third flash vessel 260 along with water from line 264. The water acts to remove ammonia salts and other impurities from the high pressure sour gas.” Par. [0078].
With respect to claim 12, Rettger teaches “”high pressure sour gas in line 216 is fed to third flash vessel 260 along with water from line 264. The water acts to remove ammonia salts and other impurities from the high pressure sour gas”, i.e. an extraction unit. Par. [0078].
With respect to claim 13, stripper 504 receives and degasses sour water, producing a water stream from the bottom of the vessel and an acid gas (i.e. light gas) containing the hydrogen sulfide, ammonia and other impurities from the top of the stripper. Par. [0089]. Additionally, a high pressure separator may be used upstream of the separator for separating acid gas from the effluent.
With respect to claim 14, Figure 3 shows two flash vessels for degassing the effluent and water followed by a stripper for producing a light sour gas, sweet crude, and sour water. Par. [0074].
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rettger
(US 20040118745) as applied to claims 6. 7, 9, and 10, further in view of Augustsson (US
9216380).
With respect to claim 8, Rettger teaches optionally sending carbon dioxide produced in
the hydrogen production unit to a gas processor and membrane. Rettger does not explicitly teach a carbon dioxide recovery system fluidly connected to the waste treatment unit and
configured to separate carbon dioxide into a carbon dioxide product.
Augustsson (US 9216380) teaches a carbon capture unit fluidly connected to an
ammonia stripper (i.e. waste treatment unit) wherein the gas containing carbon dioxide is fluidly
connected to the ammonia stripper and provides heat required for stripping while removing
separating carbon dioxide from the gas (col. 2-4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one
of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to fluidly connect a carbon dioxide recovery system
to the wastewater unit of Rettger as taught in Augustsson because Augustsson teaches
integrating an amine stripping column and carbon dioxide removal and Rettger teaches an
amine stripper for treating the wastewater and such integration would allow recovering carbon
dioxide with a waste stream, provide energy savings (heat from the carbon dioxide containing
gas used in striping) and do no more than obtain predictable results.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDI M DOYLE/Examiner, Art Unit 1771
/PREM C SINGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1771