DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the election filed 6/2/2026.
Claims 1-10 are pending. Claims 1-5 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II in the reply filed on 6/2/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §§ 102-103
Claim(s) 6, 7, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 or alternatively 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rettger (US 20040118745).
With respect to claim 6, Rettger (US 20040118745) teaches a system comprising:
Mixing the hydrogen and feedstock (figure 3), it is expected or else would have been obvious for the mixing to occur in a mixer.
A hydroprocessing unit fluidly connected to the mixer for receiving the combined stream, the hydroprocessing unit configured to process the hydrocarbons to light products in a primary reactor of the hydroprocessing unit to produce a hydroprocessing product stream. The hydroprocessor feed may be heated in a heater (not shown) thus configured to produce carbon dioxide. (0065) The hydroprocessing unit is configured to produce sour water (0244) which is passed to the sour water stripper 504 for removing hydrogen sulfide and ammonia (Figure 6). It is know that hydrogen sulfide and ammonia may form ammonia bisulfide in the presence of water.
A sour water stripper and treatment unit, i.e. waste water unit is fluidly connected to the hydroprocessing unit (Figure 5). The waste water unit configured to process a sour water stream produced by the hydroprocessing product stream to produce an ammonia stream, a hydrogen sulfide stream which his converted to sulfur, and a stripped water stream.
With respect to claim 7, Rettger teaches a unit for hydrogen production from a portion of the syngas produced and steam to produce hydrogen and carbon dioxide (0070).
With respect to claim 9, Rettger teaches wherein the feed is a heavy hydrocarbon feed to the hydroprocessing unit is an intermediate refinery stream from the upgrader.
With respect to claim 10, Rettger teaches wherein the hydroprocessing unit may be a hydrocracking unit or a hydrotreating unit (0061).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rettger (US 20040118745) as applied to claims 6. 7, 9, and 10, further in view of Augustsson (US 9216380).
With respect to claim 8, Rettger teaches optionally sending carbon dioxide produced in the hydrogen production unit to a gas processor and membrane. Rettger does not explicitly teach a carbon dioxide recovery system fluidly connected to the waste treatment unit and configured to separate carbon dioxide into a carbon dioxide product.
Augustsson (US 9216380) teaches a carbon capture unit fluidly connected to an ammonia stripper (i.e. waste treatment unit) wherein the gas containing carbon dioxide is fluidly connected to the ammonia stripper and provides heat required for stripping while removing separating carbon dioxide from the gas (col. 2-4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to fluidly connect a carbon dioxide recovery system to the waste water unit of Rettger as taught in Augustsson because Augustsson teaches integrating an amine stripping column and carbon dioxide removal and Rettger teaches an amine stripper for treating the wastewater and such integration would allow recovering carbon dioxide with a waste stream, provide energy savings (heat from the carbon dioxide containing gas used in stripping) and do no more than obtain predictable results.
Conclusion
/BRANDI M DOYLE/Examiner, Art Unit 1771