Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7-8, 14-15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (Pub. No.: US 20150043355 A1), hereafter referred to as Kim.
In regard to Claim 1, Kim teaches A method of a terminal (control information may be transmitted to the UE by using various CCE aggregation level setting methods and the method for dividing the number of candidates for each search space, Para. 188, FIGS. 10, 13), the method comprising: receiving configuration information (Referring to FIG. 10, the base station may differently set the ePDCCH data candidate and the PDCCH data candidate according to the subframe, Para. 158, FIG. 10. The base station assigns the candidates by using CCEs having indexes of 0 to 16, Para. 160, FIG. 10. Table 5 shows a method for assigning the search spaces CSS, USS, eCSS, and eUSS in the subframe according to a scenario, Para. 176, Table 5) for a first search space set (the CSS and the USS are set in a PDCCH 1300 of the subframe, Para. 188, FIG. 13) and a second search space set (the eCSS and the BUSS are set in an ePDCCH 1350 of the subframe to be transmitted, Para. 188, FIG. 13) from a base station (the base station assigns the candidates by using CCEs having indexes of 0 to 16, Para. 160, FIG. 10).
Kim teaches receiving downlink control information (DCI) from the base station (The base station determines the PDCCH format according to the downlink control information (DCI) to be sent to the terminal, Para. 63. The control information may be transmitted to the UE by using various CCE aggregation level setting methods and the method for dividing the number of candidates for each search space, Para. 188, FIG. 13) by performing a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring operation (a PDCCH 1300 of the subframe, Para. 188, FIG. 13) in the first search space set (the CSS and the USS are set in a PDCCH 1300 of the subframe, Para. 188, FIG. 13).
Kim teaches performing a switching operation (FIG. 13 is a conceptual diagram illustrating subframe setting method 15 of Table 5, Para. 187, FIG. 13) from the first search space set (the CSS and the USS are set in a PDCCH 1300 of the subframe, Para. 188, FIG. 13) to the second search space set (the eCSS and the BUSS are set in an ePDCCH 1350 of the subframe to be transmitted, Para. 188, FIG. 13) based on a first slot (slot n+1, FIG. 13 shows the eCSS and the BUSS are set in an ePDCCH 1350 within slot n+1) according to indication information included in the DCI (The base station determines the PDCCH format according to the downlink control information (DCI) to be sent to the terminal, Para. 63. A PDCCH (DCI format 0, 1A) that transports UE-specific information may be transmitted to even the common search space, Para. 74. When the UE monitors the PDCCH based on the C-RNTI, a DCI format and a search space to be monitored are decided according to a transmission mode of the PDSCH, Para. 82. The CSS and the USS may be distinguished according to the DCI format detected by the UE, Para. 179, FIG. 5).
Kim teaches performing a second PDCCH monitoring operation (an ePDCCH 1350 of the subframe, Para. 188, FIG. 13) in the second search space set (the eCSS and the BUSS are set in an ePDCCH 1350 of the subframe, Para. 188, FIG. 13) from the first slot (slot n+1, FIG. 13 shows the eCSS and the BUSS are set in an ePDCCH 1350 within slot n+1), wherein the first slot (slot n+1, FIG. 13) is after a slot (slot n, FIG. 13 shows the CSS and the USS are set in a PDCCH 1300 within slot n) in which the DCI is received (The base station determines the PDCCH format according to the downlink control information (DCI) to be sent to the terminal, Para. 63. The control information may be transmitted to the UE by using various CCE aggregation level setting methods and the method for dividing the number of candidates for each search space, Para. 188, FIG. 13).
In regard to Claim 7, Kim teaches the indication information is information indicating a bandwidth part (The base station may transmit the UE the control information so that a resource region transmitting the PDCCH data 720 and 730 and a resource region transmitting the ePDCCH data 700 do not overlap with each other, Para. 122, FIG. 7) which is activated from the first slot (slot n+1, FIG. 13 shows the eCSS and the BUSS are set in an ePDCCH 1350 within slot n+1).
In regard to Claim 8, Kim teaches A method of a base station (base station, Para. 160, FIG. 10), the method comprising: transmitting configuration information (Referring to FIG. 10, the base station may differently set the ePDCCH data candidate and the PDCCH data candidate according to the subframe, Para. 158, FIG. 10. The base station assigns the candidates by using CCEs having indexes of 0 to 16, Para. 160, FIG. 10. Table 5 shows a method for assigning the search spaces CSS, USS, eCSS, and eUSS in the subframe according to a scenario, Para. 176, Table 5) for a first search space set (the CSS and the USS are set in a PDCCH 1300 of the subframe, Para. 188, FIG. 13) and a second search space set (the eCSS and the BUSS are set in an ePDCCH 1350 of the subframe to be transmitted, Para. 188, FIG. 13) to a terminal (control information may be transmitted to the UE by using various CCE aggregation level setting methods and the method for dividing the number of candidates for each search space, Para. 188, FIGS. 10, 13).
Kim teaches transmitting first downlink control information (DCI) to the terminal (The base station determines the PDCCH format according to the downlink control information (DCI) to be sent to the terminal, Para. 63. The control information may be transmitted to the UE by using various CCE aggregation level setting methods and the method for dividing the number of candidates for each search space, Para. 188, FIG. 13) in the first search space set (the CSS and the USS are set in a PDCCH 1300 of the subframe, Para. 188, FIG. 13).
Kim teaches performing a switching operation (FIG. 13 is a conceptual diagram illustrating subframe setting method 15 of Table 5, Para. 187, FIG. 13) from the first search space set (the CSS and the USS are set in a PDCCH 1300 of the subframe, Para. 188, FIG. 13) to the second search space set (the eCSS and the BUSS are set in an ePDCCH 1350 of the subframe to be transmitted, Para. 188, FIG. 13) based on a first slot (slot n+1, FIG. 13 shows the eCSS and the BUSS are set in an ePDCCH 1350 within slot n+1) according to indication information included in the first DCI (The base station determines the PDCCH format according to the downlink control information (DCI) to be sent to the terminal, Para. 63. A PDCCH (DCI format 0, 1A) that transports UE-specific information may be transmitted to even the common search space, Para. 74. When the UE monitors the PDCCH based on the C-RNTI, a DCI format and a search space to be monitored are decided according to a transmission mode of the PDSCH, Para. 82. The CSS and the USS may be distinguished according to the DCI format detected by the UE, Para. 179, FIG. 5).
Kim teaches transmitting second DCI to the terminal (the UE may detect the DCI format in the ePDCCH resource region, Para. 149. The base station may transmit the control information in the UE-specific DCI format through the ePDCCH 1120, Para. 182, FIGS. 11, 13) through the second search space set (the eCSS and the BUSS are set in an ePDCCH 1350 of the subframe, Para. 188, FIG. 13) from the first slot (slot n+1, FIG. 13 shows the eCSS and the BUSS are set in an ePDCCH 1350 within slot n+1), wherein the first slot (slot n+1, FIG. 13) is after a slot (slot n, FIG. 13 shows the CSS and the USS are set in a PDCCH 1300 within slot n) in which the first DCI is transmitted (The base station determines the PDCCH format according to the downlink control information (DCI) to be sent to the terminal, Para. 63. The control information may be transmitted to the UE by using various CCE aggregation level setting methods and the method for dividing the number of candidates for each search space, Para. 188, FIG. 13).
In regard to Claim 14, Kim teaches the indication information is information indicating a bandwidth part (The base station may transmit the UE the control information so that a resource region transmitting the PDCCH data 720 and 730 and a resource region transmitting the ePDCCH data 700 do not overlap with each other, Para. 122, FIG. 7) which is activated from the first slot (slot n+1, FIG. 13 shows the eCSS and the BUSS are set in an ePDCCH 1350 within slot n+1).
In regard to Claim 15, Kim teaches A terminal (control information may be transmitted to the UE by using various CCE aggregation level setting methods and the method for dividing the number of candidates for each search space, Para. 188, FIGS. 10, 13) comprising: at least one processor (processor 3660, Para. 283, FIG. 36), wherein the at least one processor causes the terminal to: receive configuration information (Referring to FIG. 10, the base station may differently set the ePDCCH data candidate and the PDCCH data candidate according to the subframe, Para. 158, FIG. 10. The base station assigns the candidates by using CCEs having indexes of 0 to 16, Para. 160, FIG. 10. Table 5 shows a method for assigning the search spaces CSS, USS, eCSS, and eUSS in the subframe according to a scenario, Para. 176, Table 5) for a first search space set (the CSS and the USS are set in a PDCCH 1300 of the subframe, Para. 188, FIG. 13) and a second search space set (the eCSS and the BUSS are set in an ePDCCH 1350 of the subframe to be transmitted, Para. 188, FIG. 13) from a base station (the base station assigns the candidates by using CCEs having indexes of 0 to 16, Para. 160, FIG. 10).
Kim teaches receive downlink control information (DCI) from the base station (The base station determines the PDCCH format according to the downlink control information (DCI) to be sent to the terminal, Para. 63. The control information may be transmitted to the UE by using various CCE aggregation level setting methods and the method for dividing the number of candidates for each search space, Para. 188, FIG. 13) by performing a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring operation (a PDCCH 1300 of the subframe, Para. 188, FIG. 13) in the first search space set (the CSS and the USS are set in a PDCCH 1300 of the subframe, Para. 188, FIG. 13).
Kim teaches perform a switching operation (FIG. 13 is a conceptual diagram illustrating subframe setting method 15 of Table 5, Para. 187, FIG. 13) from the first search space set (the CSS and the USS are set in a PDCCH 1300 of the subframe, Para. 188, FIG. 13) to the second search space set (the eCSS and the BUSS are set in an ePDCCH 1350 of the subframe to be transmitted, Para. 188, FIG. 13) based on a first slot (slot n+1, FIG. 13 shows the eCSS and the BUSS are set in an ePDCCH 1350 within slot n+1) according to indication information included in the DCI (The base station determines the PDCCH format according to the downlink control information (DCI) to be sent to the terminal, Para. 63. A PDCCH (DCI format 0, 1A) that transports UE-specific information may be transmitted to even the common search space, Para. 74. When the UE monitors the PDCCH based on the C-RNTI, a DCI format and a search space to be monitored are decided according to a transmission mode of the PDSCH, Para. 82. The CSS and the USS may be distinguished according to the DCI format detected by the UE, Para. 179, FIG. 5).
Kim teaches perform a second PDCCH monitoring operation (an ePDCCH 1350 of the subframe, Para. 188, FIG. 13) in the second search space set (the eCSS and the BUSS are set in an ePDCCH 1350 of the subframe, Para. 188, FIG. 13) from the first slot (slot n+1, FIG. 13 shows the eCSS and the BUSS are set in an ePDCCH 1350 within slot n+1), wherein the first slot (slot n+1, FIG. 13) is after a slot (slot n, FIG. 13 shows the CSS and the USS are set in a PDCCH 1300 within slot n) in which the DCI is received (The base station determines the PDCCH format according to the downlink control information (DCI) to be sent to the terminal, Para. 63. The control information may be transmitted to the UE by using various CCE aggregation level setting methods and the method for dividing the number of candidates for each search space, Para. 188, FIG. 13).
In regard to Claim 20, Kim teaches the indication information is information indicating a bandwidth part (The base station may transmit the UE the control information so that a resource region transmitting the PDCCH data 720 and 730 and a resource region transmitting the ePDCCH data 700 do not overlap with each other, Para. 122, FIG. 7) which is activated from the first slot (slot n+1, FIG. 13 shows the eCSS and the BUSS are set in an ePDCCH 1350 within slot n+1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5, 9-12 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Chen et al. (Pub. No.: US 20110110316 A1), hereafter referred to as Chen.
In regard to Claim 2, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Kim teaches the first search space set and the second search space set.
Kim fails to teach the first search space set and the second search space set are configured in different frequency regions.
Chen teaches the first search space set (search space 1408, Para. 94, FIG. 14) and the second search space set (search space 1410, Para. 94, FIG. 14) are configured in different frequency regions (search space 1408 on component carrier CC4 may be dedicated to carry DCI for component carrier CC4, and the search space 1410 on component carrier CC5 may be dedicated to carry DCI for component carrier CC5, Para. 94, FIG. 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Kim since Chen provides a technique for utilizing different component carriers for different DCI search spaces, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim to permit different search spaces of control channels to utilize different frequencies for the benefits of such frequency diversity.
In regard to Claim 3, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Kim teaches the first search space set and the second search space set.
Kim fails to teach performing a third PDCCH monitoring operation for a third search space set in a preconfigured time resource regardless of the switching operation from the first search space set to the second search space set.
Chen teaches performing a third PDCCH monitoring operation for a third search space set in a preconfigured time resource (search space 1402 on component carrier CC1 may carry DCI for component carrier CC1, Para. 94, FIG. 14) regardless of the switching operation from the first search space set to the second search space set (search space 1408 on component carrier CC4 may be dedicated to carry DCI for component carrier CC4, and the search space 1410 on component carrier CC5 may be dedicated to carry DCI for component carrier CC5, Para. 94, FIG. 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Kim since Chen provides a technique for utilizing different component carriers for different DCI search spaces, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim to permit different search spaces of control channels to utilize different frequencies for the benefits of such frequency diversity.
In regard to Claim 4, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Kim teaches the method.
Kim fails to teach the preconfigured time resource is a slot, and the preconfigured time resource is a resource that repeats periodically.
Chen teaches the preconfigured time resource is a slot, and the preconfigured time resource is a resource that repeats periodically (search space 1402 on component carrier CC1 may carry DCI for component carrier CC1 or component carrier CC2, the search space 1404 may be dedicated to carry DCI, Para. 94, FIG. 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Kim since Chen provides a technique for utilizing different component carriers for different DCI search spaces, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim to permit different search spaces of control channels to utilize different frequencies for the benefits of such frequency diversity.
In regard to Claim 5, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Kim teaches the method.
Kim fails to teach the third search space set is configured for a specific bandwidth part.
Chen teaches the third search space set is configured for a specific bandwidth part (search space 1402 on component carrier CC1, Para. 94, FIG. 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Kim since Chen provides a technique for utilizing different component carriers for different DCI search spaces, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim to permit different search spaces of control channels to utilize different frequencies for the benefits of such frequency diversity.
In regard to Claim 9, as presented in the rejection of Claim 8, Kim teaches the first search space set and the second search space set.
Kim fails to teach the first search space set and the second search space set are configured in different frequency regions.
Chen teaches the first search space set (search space 1408, Para. 94, FIG. 14) and the second search space set (search space 1410, Para. 94, FIG. 14) are configured in different frequency regions (search space 1408 on component carrier CC4 may be dedicated to carry DCI for component carrier CC4, and the search space 1410 on component carrier CC5 may be dedicated to carry DCI for component carrier CC5, Para. 94, FIG. 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Kim since Chen provides a technique for utilizing different component carriers for different DCI search spaces, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim to permit different search spaces of control channels to utilize different frequencies for the benefits of such frequency diversity.
In regard to Claim 10, as presented in the rejection of Claim 8, Kim teaches the first search space set to the second search space set.
Kim fails to teach transmitting third DCI to the terminal through a third search space set in a preconfigured time resource regardless of the switching operation from the first search space set to the second search space set.
Chen teaches transmitting third DCI to the terminal through a third search space set in a preconfigured time resource (search space 1402 on component carrier CC1 may carry DCI for component carrier CC1, Para. 94, FIG. 14) regardless of the switching operation from the first search space set to the second search space set (search space 1408 on component carrier CC4 may be dedicated to carry DCI for component carrier CC4, and the search space 1410 on component carrier CC5 may be dedicated to carry DCI for component carrier CC5, Para. 94, FIG. 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Kim since Chen provides a technique for utilizing different component carriers for different DCI search spaces, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim to permit different search spaces of control channels to utilize different frequencies for the benefits of such frequency diversity.
In regard to Claim 11, as presented in the rejection of Claim 8, Kim teaches the method.
Kim fails to teach the preconfigured time resource is a slot, and the preconfigured time resource is a resource that repeats periodically.
Chen teaches the preconfigured time resource is a slot, and the preconfigured time resource is a resource that repeats periodically (search space 1402 on component carrier CC1 may carry DCI for component carrier CC1 or component carrier CC2, the search space 1404 may be dedicated to carry DCI, Para. 94, FIG. 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Kim since Chen provides a technique for utilizing different component carriers for different DCI search spaces, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim to permit different search spaces of control channels to utilize different frequencies for the benefits of such frequency diversity.
In regard to Claim 12, as presented in the rejection of Claim 8, Kim teaches the method.
Kim fails to teach the third search space set is configured for a specific bandwidth part.
Chen teaches the third search space set is configured for a specific bandwidth part (search space 1402 on component carrier CC1, Para. 94, FIG. 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Kim since Chen provides a technique for utilizing different component carriers for different DCI search spaces, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim to permit different search spaces of control channels to utilize different frequencies for the benefits of such frequency diversity.
In regard to Claim 16, as presented in the rejection of Claim 15, Kim teaches the first search space set and the second search space set.
Kim fails to teach the first search space set and the second search space set are configured in different frequency regions.
Chen teaches the first search space set (search space 1408, Para. 94, FIG. 14) and the second search space set (search space 1410, Para. 94, FIG. 14) are configured in different frequency regions (search space 1408 on component carrier CC4 may be dedicated to carry DCI for component carrier CC4, and the search space 1410 on component carrier CC5 may be dedicated to carry DCI for component carrier CC5, Para. 94, FIG. 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Kim since Chen provides a technique for utilizing different component carriers for different DCI search spaces, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim to permit different search spaces of control channels to utilize different frequencies for the benefits of such frequency diversity.
In regard to Claim 17, as presented in the rejection of Claim 15, Kim teaches the first search space set and the second search space set.
Kim fails to teach the at least one processor further causes terminal to: perform a third PDCCH monitoring operation for a third search space set in a preconfigured time resource regardless of the switching operation from the first search space set to the second search space set.
Chen teaches the at least one processor further causes terminal to: perform a third PDCCH monitoring operation for a third search space set in a preconfigured time resource (search space 1402 on component carrier CC1 may carry DCI for component carrier CC1, Para. 94, FIG. 14) regardless of the switching operation from the first search space set to the second search space set (search space 1408 on component carrier CC4 may be dedicated to carry DCI for component carrier CC4, and the search space 1410 on component carrier CC5 may be dedicated to carry DCI for component carrier CC5, Para. 94, FIG. 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Kim since Chen provides a technique for utilizing different component carriers for different DCI search spaces, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim to permit different search spaces of control channels to utilize different frequencies for the benefits of such frequency diversity.
In regard to Claim 18, as presented in the rejection of Claim 15, Kim teaches the terminal.
Kim fails to teach the third search space set is configured for a specific bandwidth part.
Chen teaches the third search space set is configured for a specific bandwidth part (search space 1402 on component carrier CC1, Para. 94, FIG. 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Kim since Chen provides a technique for utilizing different component carriers for different DCI search spaces, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim to permit different search spaces of control channels to utilize different frequencies for the benefits of such frequency diversity.
Claim(s) 6, 13 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Rico Alvarino et al. (Pub. No.: US 20170134880 A1), hereafter referred to as Rico.
In regard to Claim 6, as presented in the rejection of Claim 1, Kim teaches the indication information.
Kim fails to teach the indication information is information which explicitly indicates the second search space set.
Rico teaches the indication information is information which explicitly indicates the second search space set (the UE may identify the second search space based on the information received from the base station, Para. 86, FIG. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Rico with the teachings of Kim since Rico provides a technique for a base station to provide information for identifying a second search space, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim to permit DCI sent from a base station to identify eCSS and eUSS of ePDCCH to a UE.
In regard to Claim 13, as presented in the rejection of Claim 8, Kim teaches the indication information.
Kim fails to teach the indication information is information which explicitly indicates the second search space set.
Rico teaches the indication information is information which explicitly indicates the second search space set (the UE may identify the second search space based on the information received from the base station, Para. 86, FIG. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Rico with the teachings of Kim since Rico provides a technique for a base station to provide information for identifying a second search space, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim to permit DCI sent from a base station to identify eCSS and eUSS of ePDCCH to a UE.
In regard to Claim 19, as presented in the rejection of Claim 15, Kim teaches the indication information.
Kim fails to teach the indication information is information which explicitly indicates the second search space set.
Rico teaches the indication information is information which explicitly indicates the second search space set (the UE may identify the second search space based on the information received from the base station, Para. 86, FIG. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Rico with the teachings of Kim since Rico provides a technique for a base station to provide information for identifying a second search space, which can be introduced into the arrangement of Kim to permit DCI sent from a base station to identify eCSS and eUSS of ePDCCH to a UE.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kang et al. (Pub. No.: US 20140293942 A1) teaches performing a switching operation from the first search space set to the second search space set, the first search space set and the second search space set are configured in different frequency regions (common search spaces 1620 and 1630 of the first slot, and resource blocks 1670 and 1680 that form the UE-specific search space of the second slot 1650, Para. 177, FIG. 16).
Feng et al. (Pub. No.: US 20140064205 A1) teaches performing a switching operation from the first search space set to the second search space set (DL grant search space is only in the 1st slot and UL grant search space is only in 2nd slot. The aggregation level 1 candidates 601 cover one VRB, candidates of aggregation level 2, 602, cover 2 VRBs, candidates of aggregation level 4, 604, cover 4 VRB and candidates of aggregation level 8, 608, cover 8 VRBs, Para. 73, FIG. 6).
Joshua Smith
/J.S./
8-29-2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477