Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in South Korea on August 31, 2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the Korean application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the guide (or table) formed to be unfolded flat when the box body is opened must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. (claim 2)
The drawings are objected to because in Fig. 2B, it does not appear that member 121 could exit member 130’.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. For claim 2, the guide formed to be unfolded flat when the box body is opened has not been shown in the figures or discussed in the specification, as originally filed. Only the table is discussed as being unfolded flat when the box body is opened in the specification. However, even that has not been shown in the figures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR19980044614 in view of KR102524313. KR’614 teaches a table-and-glove box (Fig. 1) for vehicles, comprising a box body (10, 20) mounted on a dashboard of a vehicle (see abstract), wherein the box body includes: a guide (22) formed on an inside of a front surface (of 20); a table (30) configured to slide within the guide via a pin (32) and used by being pulled out from the guide when the box body is opened (Fig. 1). For claim 1, KR’614 fails to teach one-touch stoppers for the table in both its extended and retracted positions. KR’313 teaches a one-touch stopper pin (40,S) to hold a moving structure in place and allow release thereof via attachment with respective stopper blocks (50). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the glove box of KR’461 by making the pins one-touch stoppers and adding stop blocks at each ends of the guide (with the angled portions facing the interiors of the guide), such as is taught by KR’313, to hold the table in either the closed or open position while still allowing its release. When the table of KR’614 in view of KR’313 is pressed into the guide (22 of KR’461) and a hand is taken away therefrom, at least one protrusion (40 of KR’313) formed on an inner edge of the table is caught or released by the first stopper block (50 of KR’313); and a second one-touch stopper block (50) mounted at an entrance of the guide so that when the table (30) is pushed in a traveling direction of the vehicle in a state where the box body is opened and the table is unfolded, the protrusion is caught or released.
For claim 2, KR’614 in view of KR’313, as best understood, further teaches that the guide is formed to be unfolded flat when the box body is opened (Fig. 1).
Because the foreign priority document of KR10-2023-0115070 has not been provided, the effective filing date is August 13, 2024. Therefore, the following rejection applies:
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN117533217. Tian teaches table-and-glove box for vehicles (Fig. 6), comprising a box body (14) mounted on a dashboard of a vehicle (abstract), wherein the box body includes: a guide (11) formed on an inside of a front surface; a table (2) configured to slide within the guide and used by being pulled out from the guide when the box body is opened (Fig. 2); a first one-touch stopper (3) mounted inside the guide so that when the table is pressed into the guide and a hand is taken away therefrom, at least one protrusion (22) formed on an inner edge of the table is caught or released. For claim 1, Tian fails to teach a second one-touch stopper mounted at an entrance of the guide. Since Tian already teaches the use of a one-touch stopped at the distal end of the guide, it also would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the proximal end of the guide (behind guide portion 112) by adding a second one-touch stopped thereto, so that when the table is pushed in a traveling direction of the vehicle in a state where the box body is opened and the table is unfolded, the protrusion is caught or released.
For claim 2, as best understood, Tian further teaches that the guide is formed to be unfolded flat when the box body is opened.
For claims 3 and 4, Tian further teaches that the box body is configured to be used as a glove box so that the table is unfolded and used when the box body is opened at a smaller angle than when the box body is fully opened (Fig. 7).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References CN-110329161-A; CN-117533217-A; EP-3052343-B1; FR-2921876-A3; WO-2015050518-A1; WO-9817501-A1; KR-970010396-A; and KR-19980045060-U teach various glove boxes.
Wilkens
February 10, 2026
/JANET M WILKENS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637