DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, and 4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, respectively, of US Pat. No. 11,863,732 (reference application). Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of US Pat. No. 11,706,531 (reference application). Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, and 4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, respectively, of US Pat. No. 12,108,017 (reference application). Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of US Patent No. 11,706,531 (reference application). Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the prior art rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He et al. (He) (US 2019/0215532) in view of Drugeon et al. (Drugeon) (US 2012/0320970), and further in view of Hannuksela et al. (Hannuksela) (US 2014/0168362).
Regarding claim 1, He discloses a method for decoding a 360-degree image, the method comprising:
receiving encoded data for the 360-degree image, the encoded data including data of an extended 2-dimensional image (FIG. 2c), the extended 2-dimensional image including a 2-dimensional image (FIG. 2b and 2c, 2D image having faces 0-5) and a predetermined extension region (FIG. 2c, [0086], the image in FIG. 2c has padded regions 201 and 203), and the 2-dimensional image being projected from an image with a 3-dimensional projection structure ([0086], a 360 image is projected to a cubemap) and including at least one face (FIG. 2b, faces 0-5); and
reconstructing the extended 2-dimensional image by decoding the encoded data ([0105], decoding is performed for reconstructing and displaying the image),
wherein the encoded data includes size information for the extension region ([0145], a padded region size is signaled, [0158], a padded region size dW and dH is signaled),
for determining values of the extension region for each face and for each of the left side, the right side, the upper side and the bottom side of the face ([0118], [0140], padding is applied to faces of the image; [0142], padding is performed at the encoder or decoder; [0112], [0116], [0121], [0132], [0133], [0155], a padding method for padding faces of the image is determined from vertical, horizontal, repetitive padding, geometry padding, interpolation, or hybrid padding methods for generating padded pixel values).
He is silent about the size information includes first width information for specifying a width of the extension region on a left side of the face, second width information for specifying a width of the extension region on a right side of the face, third height information for specifying a height of the extension region on a top side of the face and fourth height information for specifying a height of the extension region on a bottom side of the face, and wherein the encoded data includes information on a padding method.
Drugeon from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses the size information ([0153], the size of the padded region is signaled as a number of padding pixels added to the image) includes first width information for specifying a width of the extension region on a left side of the face ([0157], pad_left), second width information for specifying a width of the extension region on a right side of the face ([0153], pad_right), third height information for specifying a height of the extension region on a top side of the face ([0157], pad_top) and fourth height information for specifying a height of the extension region on a bottom side of the face (pad_bottom) ([0157], any number of the padding syntax may be used at the same time); and different padding methods ([0130], the padded pixels values may a predefined value or may be determined based on the value of neighboring pixels).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Drugeon into the teachings of He for more efficient image encoding/decoding by enabling padding in multiple discreet directions.
He in view of Drugeon is silent about wherein the encoded data includes information on a padding method.
Hannuksela from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the encoded data includes information on a padding method ([0746], a padding method is signaled).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hannuksela into the teachings of He in view of Drugeon for more efficient image encoding/decoding.
Regarding claim 2, He discloses a method for encoding a 360-degree image, the method comprising:
obtaining an extended 2-dimensional image (FIG. 2c) including a 2-dimensional image (FIG. 2b and 2c, 2D image having faces 0-5) and a predetermined extension region (FIG. 2c, [0086], the image in FIG. 2c has padded regions 201 and 203), the 2-dimensional image being projected from an image with a 3-dimensional projection structure ([0086], a 360 image is projected to a cubemap) and including at least one face (FIG. 2b, faces 0-5); and
encoding data of the extended 2-dimensional image to generate encoded data for the 360-degree image (FIG. 2c is encoded, [0145], a padded region size is signaled, [0158], a padded region size dW and dH is signaled),
wherein the encoded data includes size information for the extension region ([0145], a padded region size is signaled, [0158], a padded region size dW and dH is signaled
a padding method for determining values of the extension region for each face and for each of the left side, the right side, the upper side and the bottom side of the face ([0118], [0140], padding is applied to faces of the image; [0142], padding is performed at the encoder or decoder; [0112], [0116], [0121], [0132], [0133], [0155], a padding method for padding faces of the image is determined from vertical, horizontal, repetitive padding, geometry padding, interpolation, or hybrid padding methods for generating padded pixel values).
He is silent about the size information includes first width information for specifying a width of the extension region on a left side of the face, second width information for specifying a width of the extension region on a right side of the face, third height information for specifying a height of the extension region on a top side of the face and fourth height information for specifying a height of the extension region on a bottom side of the face, and wherein the encoded data includes information on a padding method.
Drugeon from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses the size information ([0153], the size of the padded region is signaled as a number of padding pixels added to the image) includes first width information for specifying a width of the extension region on a left side of the face ([0157], pad_left), second width information for specifying a width of the extension region on a right side of the face ([0153], pad_right), third height information for specifying a height of the extension region on a top side of the face ([0157], pad_top) and fourth height information for specifying a height of the extension region on a bottom side of the face (pad_bottom) ([0157], any number of the padding syntax may be used at the same time); and applying different padding methods ([0130], the padded pixels values may a predefined value or may be determined based on the value of neighboring pixels).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Drugeon into the teachings of He for more efficient image encoding/decoding by enabling padding in multiple discreet directions.
He in view of Drugeon is silent about wherein the encoded data includes information on a padding method.
Hannuksela from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein the encoded data includes information on a padding method ([0746], a padding method is signaled).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Hannuksela into the teachings of He in view of Drugeon for more efficient image encoding/decoding.
Regarding claim 3, the limitations of claim 3 are rejected in the analysis of claim 2 (see claim 2 above).
He further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing encoded data for a 360-degree image ([0107], [0108], reference pictures are stored in a storage; [0211], computer readable media is used for storing data and executing a program).
Regarding claim 4, the limitations of claim 4 are rejected in the analysis of claim 2 (see claim 2 above).
He further discloses a method for transmitting encoded data for a 360-degree image (FIG. 33B, [0184], image data is transmitted).
Conclusion
/JEFFERY A WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488