DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US. Pub: 2017/0339798 A1~ hereinafter “Wang”) of record.
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses (in at least fig. 1) a housing (3; [0034]) for a semiconductor module, the housing (3) comprising: a first housing member (best seen in at least fig. 1C; i.e. the left housing 31, 32); and a second housing member (see fig. 1C; i.e. the right housing 31, 32), wherein in an unmounted state of the housing, the first housing member and the second housing member are separate and distinct from each other (as evident by at least fig. 1C), wherein in an assembled state of the housing (3), the first housing member and the second housing member are attached to each other and together form a closed frame (see at least fig. 1B), and wherein the closed frame formed by the first housing member and the second housing member comprises a mounting section for mounting the housing to a substrate (2) such that the closed frame extends around the substrate.
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses (in at least fig. 1) each of the first housing member and the second housing member comprises: a base portion (see at least fig. 1C); a first arm extending from a first end of the respective base portion (see at least fig. 1C); and a second arm extending from a second end of the respective base portion (see at least fig. 1C), wherein the first arm of the first housing member is configured to be coupled to the second arm of the second housing member (see fig. 1C), and wherein the second arm of the first housing member is configured to be coupled to the first arm of the second housing member (see fig. 1C).
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses (in at least fig. 1) a holding mechanism ([0037; i.e. the buckle or adhesive; see at least figs. 1A-1C) configured to prevent a substrate (2) arranged within the closed frame formed by the first housing member and the second housing member from falling out of the housing (see at least fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 9, Wang discloses (in at least figs. 1-14) the first housing member (31, 32) and the second housing member (31, 32), in the assembled state of the housing, are attached to each other by a first snap-fit connection and a second snap-fit connection (see at least figs. 1-14).
Regarding claim 10, Wang discloses (in at least figs. 1-14) the first snap-fit connection comprises a first snap-joint attached to or integrally formed with the first housing member (31, 32) and a first mating component attached to or integrally formed with the second housing member (see at least figs. 1-14), the first snap-joint and the first mating component being configured to engage with each other to form the first snap-fit connection (see at least figs. 1-14); and the second snap-fit connection comprises a second snap-joint attached to or integrally formed with the second housing member and a second mating component attached to or integrally formed with the first housing member (see figs. 1-14), the second snap-joint and the second mating component being configured to engage with each other to form the second snap-fit-connection (see figs. 1-14).
Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses (in at least figs. 1-14) the first housing member (31, 32) and the second housing member (31, 32) are identical to each other.
Regarding claim 12, Wang discloses (in at least figs. 1-14) a semiconductor module, comprising: a substrate (2); and a housing (3) comprising a first housing member (31, 32 left portion; see fig. 1C) and a second housing member (31, 32 right portion; see fig. 1C) attached to each other and together forming a closed frame (see figs. 1-5), wherein the closed frame formed by the first housing member and the second housing member comprises a mounting section that mounts the housing to the substrate such that the closed frame extends around the substrate (2), wherein the closed frame exerts pressure on at least some of a plurality of side surfaces of the substrate along a circumference of the substrate (see at least figs. 1-5).
Regarding claim 13, Wang discloses (in at least figs. 1-14) a method for assembling a semiconductor module, the method comprising arranging a housing (3) to surround a substrate (2), the housing comprising a first housing member (31, 32 left portion; see at least fig. 1C) and a second housing member (31, 32 right portion), wherein arranging the housing to surround the substrate (2) comprises: moving the first housing member (31, 32) and the second housing member (31, 32) towards each other (see at least figs. 1 and 2), with the substrate (2) arranged between the first housing member and the second housing member (see figs. 1 and 2); and attaching the first housing member to the second housing member such that the first and second housing members together form a closed frame around the substrate and exert pressure on at least some of a plurality of side surfaces of the substrate along the circumference of the substrate (see at least fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US. Pub: 2017/0339798 A1~ hereinafter “Wang”) of record.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Wang discloses all the claimed limitations except for the holding mechanism comprises a groove extending along an inside of the closed frame formed by the first housing member and the second housing member, and wherein the groove comprises a channel or a depression.
However, Wang discloses (in at least figs. 1-14; [0037]) “The substrate 2 can be attached to the modular housing structure 3 by means of for example but not limited to buckle or adhesive.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the housing of Wang with a holding mechanism comprises a groove extending along an inside of the closed frame formed by the first housing member and the second housing member; wherein the groove comprises a channel or a depression in order to properly secure the substrate within the housing. Also, it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use support a prima facie obviousness determination. Lastly, it has been held that simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Wang discloses all the claimed limitations except for the holding mechanism comprises one or more gripping elements attached to the first housing member and/or the second housing member and configured to engage with a corresponding counter element attached to the substrate; and the counter element comprises a sleeve having a collar formed at an end of the sleeve facing away from the substrate, and wherein the gripping element comprises a fork-like geometry and is configured to clasp the sleeve in a section directly adjacent to the collar between the collar and the substrate.
However, Wang discloses (in at least figs. 1-14; [0037]) “The substrate 2 can be attached to the modular housing structure 3 by means of for example but not limited to buckle or adhesive.” Wang further discloses (in at least [0037]) “two covers 33 (i.e. counter element) form the plate cover body and are further connected to the two first sidewalls 31 and two second sidewalls 32 by means of for example but not limited to buckle or adhesive.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to consider replacing the buckle or adhesive holding mechanism of Wang with a holding mechanism comprises one or more gripping elements attached to the first housing member and/or the second housing member and configured to engage with a corresponding counter element attached to the substrate in the device; wherein the counter element comprises a sleeve having a collar formed at an end of the sleeve facing away from the substrate, and wherein the gripping element comprises a fork-like geometry and is configured to clasp the sleeve in a section directly adjacent to the collar between the collar and the substrate, since it has been held that simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious.
Regarding claim 8, Wang discloses (in at least figs. 1-14) the first housing member (31, 32) and/or the second housing member (31, 32) comprise one or more indentations (see at least fig. 1) and a holding mechanism ([0037]; i.e. the buckle or adhesive)
Wang does not expressly disclose the holding mechanism comprises one or more plug-in elements, and wherein each of the one or more plug-in elements comprises a first section configured to be inserted into one of the one or more indentations and a second section configured to press a substrate arranged between the second section and the respective housing member towards the housing.
However, Wang discloses (in at least [0037]) the holding mechanism is not limited to buckle or adhesive.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to replacing the buckle or adhesive holding mechanism of Wang with a holding mechanism comprises one or more plug-in elements, and wherein each of the one or more plug-in elements comprises a first section configured to be inserted into one of the one or more indentations and a second section configured to press a substrate arranged between the second section and the respective housing member towards the housing in order to secure substrate within the housing. Also, it has been held that simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious. Frutschy et al. (US. Pub: 6,750,551 B1) disclose a holding mechanism comprises one or more plug-in elements (152).
Conclusion
ELMITO BREVAL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/ELMITO BREVAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875