DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Moon 2021/0116964.
Regarding claim 1, Moon discloses a display device (Fig 1) comprising: a display panel (300, Fig 9A) comprising a plurality of non-bending areas (top flat/plane area of 400, and bottom area of 400, along P4, for example, Figs 5, 9A), and a bending area (represented at d4+d5; or arc/bend length - interior side of 340/350 stopping at 341/351, for example, Figs 9A, 10A) between the plurality of non-bending areas (see Fig 9A); and a support member (450, Fig 9A) on a rear surface of the display panel (rear surface P4 or P3, Fig 9A), wherein a first end of the support member in the bending area and a second end of the support member in the non-bending area have different shapes (see 450 in Fig 9A with respect to Fig 10A).
Regarding claim 2, Moon discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of non-bending areas comprises a first non-bending area and a second non-bending area (top flat/plane area parallel along 411, and below, along P4, for example, Fig 9A).
Regarding claim 3, Moon discloses the display device of claim 2, wherein a plurality of subpixels are in the first non-bending area (420 or 430 includes pixels/subpixels, Fig 5).
Regarding claim 4, Moon discloses the display device of claim 3, wherein a portion of the support member that corresponds to the first non-bending area overlaps a part of a side surface of the display panel (portion of 450 overlaps side surface marked at end of d3 by amount d1, Fig 8A).
Regarding claim 5, Moon discloses the display device of claim 4, wherein the portion of the support member that corresponds to the first non-bending area has an “L” shape (see Fig 10A).
Regarding claim 6, Moon discloses the display device of claim 4, wherein the portion of the support member that corresponds to the first non-bending area has a “n” shape (see Fig 10B).
Regarding claim 7, Moon discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the support member comprises: a body portion (310/320, Figs 9A, 10A) that corresponds to the display panel (Fig 9A, 10A); and a protruding portion (340/350, Figs 9A, 10A) that protrudes from the body portion to the display panel (Figs 9A, 10A).
Regarding claim 8, Moon discloses the display device of claim 7, wherein the body portion and the protruding portion accommodate the display panel (see Figs 9A, 10A).
Regarding claim 9, Moon discloses the display device of claim 1, further comprising: a first protection member on the display panel (410, Fig 9A), wherein the first protection member covers the support member (as depicted Fig 9A).
Regarding claim 10, Moon discloses the display device of claim 9, wherein a side of the first protection member is in contact with at least a part of the display panel (at 350, Fig 9B).
Regarding claim 11, Moon discloses the display device of claim 9, wherein the first protection member includes an ultraviolet transmissive material (such as glass or polymer material, par 0078).
Regarding claim 12, Moon discloses the display device of claim 9, further comprising: a second protection member (440, Fig 9A) between the display panel and the first protection member in the bending area (Fig 9A).
Regarding claim 13, Moon discloses the display device of claim 12, wherein the first protection member and the second protection member include a resin (polymers/glass are type of resin, par 0078).
Regarding claim 14, Moon discloses the display device of claim 1, further comprising: a polarizing plate on the display panel (such as 420, Fig 9A), wherein the support member overlaps a side of the polarizing plate (450 overlaps bottom side of 420, Fig 9A).
Regarding claim 15, Moon discloses the display device of claim 14, wherein the polarizing plate is in a first non-bending area of the plurality of non-bending areas (see Fig 9A).
Regarding claim 16, Moon discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the display panel comprises a substrate that includes a material having flexibility (such as 432, Fig 9A).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see PTO 892.
/RASHEN E MORRISON/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/ANTHONY M HAUGHTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841