DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communication filed on 6/9/2026.
Claims 1, 4-6, 13, 16-18, 21-23, 27, and 29 are pending.
Claims 1, 13, 23, and 27 have been amended.
Claims 29 have been added.
Claims 2-3, 14-15, 24-26, 28 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-15, filed 6/9/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 13, 23 and 27 under 35 USC § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Lee et al. (US 2022/0263788) in view of Li et al. (US 2018/0192471).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The rejection presented in the previous Office Action is withdrawn in view of amendments filed on 6/9/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 13, 16-18, 21-23, 27, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2022/0263788) in view of Li et al. (US 2018/0192471).
Regarding claim 23, Lee discloses a method, comprising:
receiving, by a policy control function network element, application function request information that controls routing of a service traffic (Lee discloses the PCF receiving EAS domain configuration information from the AF (via NEF/EDR), where this information includes DNAI and controls traffic routing to edge application servers for service traffic; [0331] “In operation 1120, the PCF 1105 transfers the EAS domain configuration information to the SMF 1103 through an SM policy update procedure. As an example, the SMF 1103 receives, from the PCF 1105, the EAS domain configuration information or AF-influenced traffic steering enforcement control information containing the EAS domain configuration information” and [0095-0100] “Referring to FIGS. 3A and 3B, in operation 310, the NEF (EDR) 306 processing EDR information receives EAS domain configuration information from the AF 307. The EAS domain configuration information received from the AF 307 may include at least one of the following information…ECAN”);
generating, by the policy control function network element and based on the application function request information, first information comprising first service information, wherein the first information determines a same first data network access identifier for first terminal devices in a terminal group (Lee discloses the PCF generating and sending EAS domain configuration information (first information) based on the AF-provided data, where this information includes service-related FQDN (first service information) and determines the same DNAI (data network access identifier) for terminals in a subscriber group (terminal group) by enabling pre-configured DNS responses tied to the group and associated DNAI; [0331] “The SMF 1103 may determine to generate/modify/delete the DNS message processing rule based on at least one of the received EAS domain configuration information, subscriber information received from the UDM, information about the current UE 1100 received from the AMF 1102, DNAI information associated with the position of the current UE 1100, DNN/S-NSSAI information about a PDU session generated or to be generated and related PDU session parameter (e.g., SSC mode 1/2/3 information), policy information managed by the SMF 1103 itself as to whether to provide ULCL/branching point (BP), or policy information received from the PCF 1105 and may also generate the content of the DNS message rule” and [0401-0404] “edge computing service provider identifier (e.g., service provider ID and/or edge computing service provider ID)j; edge computing subscriber group identifier (or subscriber group identifier); A group identifier for providing edge computing services only to subscribers belonging to the subscriber group; The SMF 1301 identifies whether a subscriber belongs to a subscriber group from the UDM and then provides a pre-configured DNS response only to the corresponding subscriber”);
sending, by the policy control function network element, the first information to a session management network element (Lee discloses the PCF sending the EAS domain configuration information (first information) to the SMF; [0331] “In operation 1120, the PCF 1105 transfers the EAS domain configuration information to the SMF 1103 through an SM policy update procedure. As an example, the SMF 1103 receives, from the PCF 1105, the EAS domain configuration information or AF-influenced traffic steering enforcement control information containing the EAS domain configuration information”);
receiving, by the session management network element, first information comprising first service information (Lee discloses the SMF receiving the EAS domain configuration information (first information) including FQDN (first service information); [0331] “As an example, the SMF 1103 receives, from the PCF 1105, the EAS domain configuration information or AF-influenced traffic steering enforcement control information containing the EAS domain configuration information” and [0377] “The EAS domain configuration information is configuration information about the DNS server that resolves IP address for FQDN for the operator supporting edge computing to process the DNS name of the EAS installed on the edge computing platform”);
receiving, by the session management network element and from a first terminal device, second information comprising first Domain Name System (DNS) query request information, wherein the DNS query request information comprises first domain name information, and wherein the first DNS query request information requests application server address information corresponding to the first domain name information (Lee discloses the SMF receiving DNS query-related information from a UE (first terminal),m including FQDN (domain name information), to request EAS address resolution; [0362-0366] “In operation 1135, the EASDF 1104 receives a DNS query message from the UE 1100. The DNS query message transmitted from the UE 1100 may include at least one of the following information…FQDN: the FQDN value queried by UE 1100 to identify the IP address of the corresponding EAS” and [0408] “In operation 1380, the EASDF 1302, which receives the DNS response message from the DNS server 1306, reports information, e.g., the EAS IP address, included in the DNS response message to the SMF 1301 if the received DNS response message meets the DNS processing rule or DNS reporting rule” );
determining, by the session management network element and based on the first data network access identifier, option information that determines the application server address information (Lee discloses the SMF determining ECS option (option information) based on DNAI to resolve the application server address; [0356] “In operation 1130, the SMF 1103, which receives the SM context generation/update message, may generate or update a DNS message processing rule. The DNS message processing rule may include a processing rule for the DNS query message, a processing rule for the DNS response message, and a reporting rule for the DNS response message”); and
sending, by the session management network element, a rule comprising the option information (Lee discloses the SMF sending the DNS message processing rule (including option information) to the EASDF; [0356] “In operation 1130, the SMF 1103, which receives the SM context generation/update message, may generate or update a DNS message processing rule. The DNS message processing rule may include a processing rule for the DNS query message, a processing rule for the DNS response message, and a reporting rule for the DNS response message” and [0398] “An indicator as to whether to add an ECS option when the EASDF 1302 processes the DNS query message received from the UE 1300”).
However, the prior art alone does not explicitly disclose the following:
first information comprising first service information, identification information of a terminal group, and indication information indicating to determine a same data network access identifier for terminal devices accessing a same service, wherein the first information determines a same first data network access identifier for terminal devices in a terminal group;
receiving, by the session management network element, the first information comprising the first service information, the identification information of the terminal group, and the indication information indicating to determine the same data network access identifier for the terminal devices accessing the same service; and
based on the identification information of the terminal group and the indication information, determining, by the session management network element and when the first service information comprises the first domain name information and for the first terminal device, the first data network access identifier that is the same as that of a second terminal device, wherein the second terminal device and the first terminal device access a same service, and wherein the second terminal device and the first terminal device belong to the terminal group.
Li in the fields of the same endeavor provides support to utilize combination of terminal group identification information, indication formation indicating to determine same DNAI for terminal devices accessing a same service, and the determination of the DNAI based on both so that it is the same as that of a second terminal in the group. Li provides the missing teaching that an AF request can target a group of UEs using a Group Identifier that this group targeted request is received/processed by the PCF and that the PCF generates policy containing DNAIs that are applied concisely to the group. In particular, Lee in view of Li teaches the following:
first information comprising first service information, identification information of a terminal group, and indication information indicating to determine a same data network access identifier for terminal devices accessing a same service, wherein the first information determines a same first data network access identifier for terminal devices in a terminal group (Li discloses the first service information (FQDN), the identification formation of a terminal group (edge computing subscriber group identifier), and the associated DNAI. Li supplies the indication (the group targeted AF request that causes the PCF to generate policy containing DNAI for the group) that the same DNAI is to be determined for terminal devices in the group accessing the same service; [0120] “When the AF request targets a group of UEs it provides one or several Group Identifiers in its request. In some embodiments members of the group have the group information in their subscription (i.e. a Group Identifier) stored in the UDM. In an implementation, the group information may be retrieved by the SMF, for instance over N10 interface, and passed to the PCF, for instance over N7 interface, at PDU-CAN session set-up”, [0133] “For PDU-CAN sessions that correspond to the AF request, the PCF provides the SMF with PCC rules that may contain at least one of: at least one of an application information (i.e. application identifier), and information about the DNAI(s) towards which the traffic routing should apply; and at least one of a list of traffic steering profile IDs, a spatial validity conditions, and information on AF subscription to SMF events”.)
receiving, by the session management network element, the first information comprising the first service information, the identification information of the terminal group, and the indication information indicating to determine the same data network access identifier for the terminal devices accessing the same service (Li discloses the first service information (FQDN), the identification formation of a terminal group (edge computing subscriber group identifier), and the associated DNAI. Li supplies the indication (the group targeted AF request that causes the PCF to generate policy containing DNAI for the group) that the same DNAI is to be determined for terminal devices in the group accessing the same service; [0120] “When the AF request targets a group of UEs it provides one or several Group Identifiers in its request. In some embodiments members of the group have the group information in their subscription (i.e. a Group Identifier) stored in the UDM. In an implementation, the group information may be retrieved by the SMF, for instance over N10 interface, and passed to the PCF, for instance over N7 interface, at PDU-CAN session set-up”, [0133] “For PDU-CAN sessions that correspond to the AF request, the PCF provides the SMF with PCC rules that may contain at least one of: at least one of an application information (i.e. application identifier), and information about the DNAI(s) towards which the traffic routing should apply; and at least one of a list of traffic steering profile IDs, a spatial validity conditions, and information on AF subscription to SMF events”);
based on the identification information of the terminal group and the indication information, determining, by the session management network element and when the first service information comprises the first domain name information and for the first terminal device, the first data network access identifier that is the same as that of a second terminal device, wherein the second terminal device and the first terminal device access a same service, and wherein the second terminal device and the first terminal device belong to the terminal group (Li discloses when the service information (FQDN) matches the domain name in the DNS query and the terminal belongs to the group, the SMF (Lee) applies the DNAI associated with that service/group. Li’s group targeted indication and resulting DNAI bearing policy make the determination explicitly based on both the group identification information and the indication information, producing the same DNAI for a second terminal in the same group that accesses the same service; Lee [0331] “The SMF 1103 may determine to generate/modify/delete the DNS message processing rule based on at least one of the received EAS domain configuration information, subscriber information received from the UDM, information about the current UE 1100 received from the AMF 1102, DNAI information associated with the position of the current UE 1100, DNN/S-NSSAI information about a PDU session generated or to be generated and related PDU session parameter (e.g., SSC mode 1/2/3 information), policy information managed by the SMF 1103 itself as to whether to provide ULCL/branching point (BP), or policy information received from the PCF 1105 and may also generate the content of the DNS message rule”, Li [0120] “When the AF request targets a group of UEs it provides one or several Group Identifiers in its request. In some embodiments members of the group have the group information in their subscription (i.e. a Group Identifier) stored in the UDM. In an implementation, the group information may be retrieved by the SMF, for instance over N10 interface, and passed to the PCF, for instance over N7 interface, at PDU-CAN session set-up”, Li [0133] “For PDU-CAN sessions that correspond to the AF request, the PCF provides the SMF with PCC rules that may contain at least one of: at least one of an application information (i.e. application identifier), and information about the DNAI(s) towards which the traffic routing should apply; and at least one of a list of traffic steering profile IDs, a spatial validity conditions, and information on AF subscription to SMF events”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the prior art with the teaching of Li. One would have been motivated to combine the prior art with Li to ensure consistent DNAI assignment across multiple terminals belonging to the same group and accessing the same service. This is a recognized design goal for group-oriented edge services. The combination uses known techniques to achieve the predictable result of coordinated same-DNAI determination for the group.
Regarding claim(s) 1, do(es) not teach or further define over the limitation in claim(s) 23 respectively. Therefore claim(s) 1 is/are rejected for the same rationale of rejection as set forth in claim(s) 23 respectively.
Regarding claim 4, Lee-Li discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the method is performed by a session management network element (Lee [0356] “In operation 1130, the SMF 1103, which receives the SM context generation/update message, may generate or update a DNS message processing rule”).
Regarding claim 5, Lee-Li discloses the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the first information comprises receiving, from a policy control function network element, the first information (Lee [0331] “In operation 1120, the PCF 1105 transfers the EAS domain configuration information to the SMF 1103 through an SM policy update procedure. As an example, the SMF 1103 receives, from the PCF 1105, the EAS domain configuration information or AF-influenced traffic steering enforcement control information containing the EAS domain configuration information”).
Regarding claim 6, Lee-Li discloses the method of claim 1, wherein sending the rule comprises sending, to an edge application server discovery function network element, the rule (Lee [0356-0359] “In operation 1130, the SMF 1103, which receives the SM context generation/update message, may generate or update a DNS message processing rule. The DNS message processing rule may include a processing rule for the DNS query message, a processing rule for the DNS response message, and a reporting rule for the DNS response message…The SMF 1103 may generate a DNS message processing rule in operation 1120 or newly generate a DNS message processing rule in operation 1125”).
Regarding claim 22, Lee-Li discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first information comprises location area information (Lee [0331] “In operation 1120, the PCF 1105 transfers the EAS domain configuration information to the SMF 1103 through an SM policy update procedure. As an example, the SMF 1103 receives, from the PCF 1105, the EAS domain configuration information or AF-influenced traffic steering enforcement control information containing the EAS domain configuration information”), and
the location area information is used to determine an application server associated with a same data network access identifier for terminal devices that belong to an indicated location area and access a same service (Lee [0392-0404] “In operation 1365, the UDR (EDR) 1303, which receives the DM query request message from the EASDF 1302, transmits a DM query response message including the EAS domain configuration information stored in operation 1335 to the EASDF 1302. The EAS domain configuration information included in the DM query response message may include at least one of the following information… A group identifier for providing edge computing services only to subscribers belonging to the subscriber group. The SMF 1301 identifies whether a subscriber belongs to a subscriber group from the UDM and then provides a pre-configured DNS response only to the corresponding subscriber”).
Regarding claim 29, Lee-Li discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining the data network access identifier comprises:
sending, to a data storage network element, request information for obtaining the data network access identifier corresponding to the terminal group (Lee discloses the SMF sends a request to the UDM (data storage network element) to obtain the subscriber/terminal group membership. In parallel/same determination process, a request is stent to the UDR (data storage network element) for the EAS domain configuration information, which contains the DNAI corresponding to that group and service; [0139] “The SMF 303 identifies whether a subscriber belongs to a subscriber group from the UDM and then provides a pre-configured DNS response only to the corresponding subscriber”, [0391] “In operation 1360, when there is no DNS message processing rule about the DNS query message received from the UE 1300, the EASDF 1302 transmits a DM query request message to the UDR (EDR) 1303 to identify whether there is EAS domain configuration information about the FQDN included in the DNS query message received from the UE 1300. The DM query request message transmitted from the EASDF 1302 to the UDR 1303 may include the FQDN included in the DNS query message received from the UE 1300 and DNN and/or S-NSSAI for the PDU session of the UE 1300 received from the SMF 1301 in operation 1315”); and
receiving, from the data storage network element, the data network access identifier corresponding to the terminal group (Lee discloses the SMF (or the EASDF acting under the SMF) receives from the UDR the EAS domain configuration that includes the DNAI corresponding to the terminal group, and receives from the UDM the confirmation of group membership. Together these constitute receipt of the data network access identifier corresponding to the terminal group; [0392-0402] “The EAS domain configuration information included in the DM query response message may include at least one of the following information…associated DNAI… edge computing subscriber group identifier (or subscriber group identifier…A group identifier for providing edge computing services only to subscribers belonging to the subscriber group…The SMF 1301 identifies whether a subscriber belongs to a subscriber group from the UDM and then provides a pre-configured DNS response only to the corresponding subscriber”).
Regarding claim(s) 13, 16-18 and 21 do(es) not teach or further define over the limitation in claim(s) 23, 4-6 and 22 respectively. Therefore claim(s) 13, 16-18 and 21 is/are rejected for the same rationale of rejection as set forth in claim(s) ) 23, 4-6 and 22 respectively.
Regarding claim(s) 27, do(es) not teach or further define over the limitation in claim(s) 23 respectively. Therefore claim(s) 27 is/are rejected for the same rationale of rejection as set forth in claim(s) 23 respectively.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
For the reason above, claims 1, 4-6, 13, 16-18, 21-23, 27, and 29 have been rejected and remain pending.
JIMMY H TRAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2451
/JIMMY H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451