DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communication filed on 12/29/2025
Claims 1-6, 13-18, 21-28 are pending.
Claims 21-28 have been added.
Claims 7-12, 19-20 have been cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/5/2024, 12/17/2024 and 3/12/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the “system” claim is not to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter. The claimed element’s “policy control function network element” “session management network element” are non-structural limitations, and the specification does not are disclosed the claimed elements as being hardware components. Therefore, applying the broadest reasonable interpretation as understood by one of ordinary skill in the art, the claimed elements may be interpreted as software only. Thus the claimed subject matter as a whole fails to fall within the definition of a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter, patentable eligible category subject matter.
The examiner encourages applicant to define with the claims the embodied features and limitations on hardware structural limitations such instructions stored on memory executed by a processor or any other hardware components supported by the specifications.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 13-18 and 21-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2022/0263788).
Regarding claim 23, Lee discloses a method, comprising:
receiving, by a policy control function network element, application function request information that controls routing of a service traffic (Lee discloses the PCF receiving EAS domain configuration information from the AF (via NEF/EDR), where this information includes DNAI and controls traffic routing to edge application servers for service traffic; [0331] “In operation 1120, the PCF 1105 transfers the EAS domain configuration information to the SMF 1103 through an SM policy update procedure. As an example, the SMF 1103 receives, from the PCF 1105, the EAS domain configuration information or AF-influenced traffic steering enforcement control information containing the EAS domain configuration information” and [0095-0100] “Referring to FIGS. 3A and 3B, in operation 310, the NEF (EDR) 306 processing EDR information receives EAS domain configuration information from the AF 307. The EAS domain configuration information received from the AF 307 may include at least one of the following information…ECAN”);
generating, by the policy control function network element and based on the application function request information, first information comprising first service information, wherein the first information determines a same first data network access identifier for first terminal devices in a terminal group (Lee discloses the PCF generating and sending EAS domain configuration information (first information) based on the AF-provided data, where this information includes service-related FQDN (first service information) and determines the same DNAI (data network access identifier) for terminals in a subscriber group (terminal group) by enabling pre-configured DNS responses tied to the group and associated DNAI; [0331] “The SMF 1103 may determine to generate/modify/delete the DNS message processing rule based on at least one of the received EAS domain configuration information, subscriber information received from the UDM, information about the current UE 1100 received from the AMF 1102, DNAI information associated with the position of the current UE 1100, DNN/S-NSSAI information about a PDU session generated or to be generated and related PDU session parameter (e.g., SSC mode 1/2/3 information), policy information managed by the SMF 1103 itself as to whether to provide ULCL/branching point (BP), or policy information received from the PCF 1105 and may also generate the content of the DNS message rule” and [0401-0404] “edge computing service provider identifier (e.g., service provider ID and/or edge computing service provider ID)j; edge computing subscriber group identifier (or subscriber group identifier); A group identifier for providing edge computing services only to subscribers belonging to the subscriber group; The SMF 1301 identifies whether a subscriber belongs to a subscriber group from the UDM and then provides a pre-configured DNS response only to the corresponding subscriber”);
sending, by the policy control function network element, the first information to a session management network element (Lee discloses the PCF sending the EAS domain configuration information (first information) to the SMF; [0331] “In operation 1120, the PCF 1105 transfers the EAS domain configuration information to the SMF 1103 through an SM policy update procedure. As an example, the SMF 1103 receives, from the PCF 1105, the EAS domain configuration information or AF-influenced traffic steering enforcement control information containing the EAS domain configuration information”);
receiving, by the session management network element, first information comprising first service information (Lee discloses the SMF receiving the EAS domain configuration information (first information) including FQDN (first service information); [0331] “As an example, the SMF 1103 receives, from the PCF 1105, the EAS domain configuration information or AF-influenced traffic steering enforcement control information containing the EAS domain configuration information” and [0377] “The EAS domain configuration information is configuration information about the DNS server that resolves IP address for FQDN for the operator supporting edge computing to process the DNS name of the EAS installed on the edge computing platform”);
receiving, by the session management network element and from a first terminal device, second information comprising Domain Name System (DNS) query request information, wherein the DNS query request information comprises first domain name information, and wherein the first DNS query request information requests application server address information corresponding to the first domain name information (Lee discloses the SMF receiving DNS query-related information from a UE (first terminal),m including FQDN (domain name information), to request EAS address resolution; [0362-0366] “In operation 1135, the EASDF 1104 receives a DNS query message from the UE 1100. The DNS query message transmitted from the UE 1100 may include at least one of the following information…FQDN: the FQDN value queried by UE 1100 to identify the IP address of the corresponding EAS” and [0408] “In operation 1380, the EASDF 1302, which receives the DNS response message from the DNS server 1306, reports information, e.g., the EAS IP address, included in the DNS response message to the SMF 1301 if the received DNS response message meets the DNS processing rule or DNS reporting rule” );
determining, when the first service information comprises the first domain name information and for the first terminal device, by the session management network element, a first data network access identifier that is the same as that of a second terminal device, wherein the second terminal device and the first terminal device access a same first service (Lee discloses the SMF determining the same DNAI for a UE (first terminal) when the FQDN (service/domain name) matches, ensuring it matches other UEs (second terminal) in the subscriber group accessing the same service via pre-configured responses; [0331] “The SMF 1103 may determine to generate/modify/delete the DNS message processing rule based on at least one of the received EAS domain configuration information, subscriber information received from the UDM, information about the current UE 1100 received from the AMF 1102, DNAI information associated with the position of the current UE 1100, DNN/S-NSSAI information about a PDU session generated or to be generated and related PDU session parameter (e.g., SSC mode 1/2/3 information), policy information managed by the SMF 1103 itself as to whether to provide ULCL/branching point (BP), or policy information received from the PCF 1105 and may also generate the content of the DNS message rule” and [0404] “The SMF 1301 identifies whether a subscriber belongs to a subscriber group from the UDM and then provides a pre-configured DNS response only to the corresponding subscriber”);
determining, by the session management network element and based on the first data network access identifier, option information that determines the application server address information (Lee discloses the SMF determining ECS option (option information) based on DNAI to resolve the application server address; [0356] “In operation 1130, the SMF 1103, which receives the SM context generation/update message, may generate or update a DNS message processing rule. The DNS message processing rule may include a processing rule for the DNS query message, a processing rule for the DNS response message, and a reporting rule for the DNS response message”); and
sending, by the session management network element, a rule comprising the option information (Lee discloses the SMF sending the DNS message processing rule (including option information) to the EASDF; [0356] “In operation 1130, the SMF 1103, which receives the SM context generation/update message, may generate or update a DNS message processing rule. The DNS message processing rule may include a processing rule for the DNS query message, a processing rule for the DNS response message, and a reporting rule for the DNS response message” and [0398] “An indicator as to whether to add an ECS option when the EASDF 1302 processes the DNS query message received from the UE 1300”).
Regarding claim 24, Lee discloses the method of claim 23,
wherein the first information further comprises identification information of the terminal group (Lee [0402-0403] “edge computing subscriber group identifier (or subscriber group identifier); A group identifier for providing edge computing services only to subscribers belonging to the subscriber group” and [00127-0140] “…edge computing subscriber group identifier (or subscriber group identifier); A group identifier for providing edge computing services only to subscribers belonging to the subscriber group…”),
wherein the second terminal device and the first terminal device belong to the terminal group (Lee [0402-0403] “A group identifier for providing edge computing services only to subscribers belonging to the subscriber group. The SMF 1301 identifies whether a subscriber belongs to a subscriber group from the UDM and then provides a pre-configured DNS response only to the corresponding subscriber”), and
wherein determining the first data network access identifier comprises determining, for the first terminal device and based on the identification information, the first data network access identifier (Lee [0404] “The SMF 1301 identifies whether a subscriber belongs to a subscriber group from the UDM and then provides a pre-configured DNS response only to the corresponding subscriber” and [0331] “The SMF 1103 may determine to generate/modify/delete the DNS message processing rule based on at least one of the received EAS domain configuration information, subscriber information received from the UDM, information about the current UE 1100 received from the AMF 1102, DNAI information associated with the position of the current UE 1100”).
Regarding claim 25, Lee discloses the method of claim 23,
wherein the first information further comprises indication information indicating to determine an application server corresponding to a same second data network access identifier for second terminal devices accessing a same service (Lee discloses that the EAS domain configuration information (first information) includes an indication to provide a pre-configured DNS response (indication information indicating to determine an application server) corresponding to the associated DNAI (same data network access identifier) for subscribers/terminals (second terminal devices) querying matching FQDN (accessing a same service; [0175] “In operation 545, the EASDF identifies whether the EAS domain configuration information includes an indicator indicating whether the rule matching the DNS query message needs to buffer the DNS query message. When the EAS domain configuration information includes an indicator indicating whether the rule matching the DNS query message needs to buffer the DNS query message, the EASDF performs operation 570”), and
wherein determining the first data network access identifier comprises determining, for the first terminal device and based on the indication information, the first data network access identifier (Lee discloses the SMF determining the DNAI for a UE (first terminal device) based on the indication in the EAS domain in the EAS domain configuration to apply pre-configured responses/DNAI for matching FQDN; [0331] “The SMF 1103 may determine to generate/modify/delete the DNS message processing rule based on at least one of the received EAS domain configuration information, subscriber information received from the UDM, information about the current UE 1100 received from the AMF 1102, DNAI information associated with the position of the current UE 1100, DNN/S-NSSAI information about a PDU session generated or to be generated and related PDU session parameter (e.g., SSC mode 1/2/3 information), policy information managed by the SMF 1103 itself as to whether to provide ULCL/branching point (BP), or policy information received from the PCF 1105 and may also generate the content of the DNS message rule”).
Regarding claim 26, Lee discloses the method of claim 23, wherein the application function request information comprises one or more of the first service information, indication information, identification information, or location area information (Lee [0095-0100] “Referring to FIGS. 3A and 3B, in operation 310, the NEF (EDR) 306 processing EDR information receives EAS domain configuration information from the AF 307. The EAS domain configuration information received from the AF 307 may include at least one of the following information. DNS server address; ECS option; DNAI; ECAN”).
Regarding claim(s) 1-3, do(es) not teach or further define over the limitation in claim(s) 23-25 respectively. Therefore claim(s) 1- is/are rejected for the same rationale of rejection as set forth in claim(s) 23-25 respectively.
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the method is performed by a session management network element (Lee [0356] “In operation 1130, the SMF 1103, which receives the SM context generation/update message, may generate or update a DNS message processing rule”).
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the first information comprises receiving, from a policy control function network element, the first information (Lee [0331] “In operation 1120, the PCF 1105 transfers the EAS domain configuration information to the SMF 1103 through an SM policy update procedure. As an example, the SMF 1103 receives, from the PCF 1105, the EAS domain configuration information or AF-influenced traffic steering enforcement control information containing the EAS domain configuration information”).
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses the method of claim 1, wherein sending the rule comprises sending, to an edge application server discovery function network element, the rule (Lee [0356-0359] “In operation 1130, the SMF 1103, which receives the SM context generation/update message, may generate or update a DNS message processing rule. The DNS message processing rule may include a processing rule for the DNS query message, a processing rule for the DNS response message, and a reporting rule for the DNS response message…The SMF 1103 may generate a DNS message processing rule in operation 1120 or newly generate a DNS message processing rule in operation 1125”).
Regarding claim 22, Lee discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first information comprises location area information (Lee [0331] “In operation 1120, the PCF 1105 transfers the EAS domain configuration information to the SMF 1103 through an SM policy update procedure. As an example, the SMF 1103 receives, from the PCF 1105, the EAS domain configuration information or AF-influenced traffic steering enforcement control information containing the EAS domain configuration information”), and
the location area information is used to determine an application server associated with a same data network access identifier for terminal devices that belong to an indicated location area and access a same service (Lee [0392-0404] “In operation 1365, the UDR (EDR) 1303, which receives the DM query request message from the EASDF 1302, transmits a DM query response message including the EAS domain configuration information stored in operation 1335 to the EASDF 1302. The EAS domain configuration information included in the DM query response message may include at least one of the following information… A group identifier for providing edge computing services only to subscribers belonging to the subscriber group. The SMF 1301 identifies whether a subscriber belongs to a subscriber group from the UDM and then provides a pre-configured DNS response only to the corresponding subscriber”).
Regarding claim(s) ,13-18 and 21 do(es) not teach or further define over the limitation in claim(s) 23-25, 4-6 and 22 respectively. Therefore claim(s) ,13-18 and 21 is/are rejected for the same rationale of rejection as set forth in claim(s) 23-25, 4-6 and 22 respectively.
Regarding claim(s) 27-28, do(es) not teach or further define over the limitation in claim(s) 23-24 respectively. Therefore claim(s) 27-28 is/are rejected for the same rationale of rejection as set forth in claim(s) 23-24 respectively.
Conclusion
For the reason above, claims 1-6, 13-18, 21-28 have been rejected and remain pending.
JIMMY H TRAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2451
/JIMMY H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451