CTFR 18/802,724 CTFR 86072 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION 1. The following is a Final Office Action in response to applicant’s arguments filed on February 6, 2026 Claims 1, 8 and 15 are amended Claims 1-20 are pending Response to Arguments Applicant’s amendment to claims 1, 8 and 15 filed on 2/6/2026 regarding, “receiving, via a second data distribution path, from a third node in the media distribution system, authentication data related to the media segment, wherein the second data distribution path is different from the first data distribution path; “ necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Therefore, Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Applicant’s argument, filed on 2/6/2026, regarding 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection of claims 1, 8 and 15 have been fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore, the rejections are withdrawn. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 1.) Claims 1-4, 7-11, 14-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20010044893, Skemer in view of US 20090210707, De Lutiis In regards to claim 1, Skemer teach a method, comprising: receiving, via a first data distribution path, by a processor of a first node in a media distribution system, from a second node in the media distribution system, a media segment (US 20010044893, Skemer, para. 0025, This method allows a user network to perform user authentication for an external network at an access control node, such as an integrated access device, the external network being connected to the access control node by means of an access network. The method includes a first step of receiving a data unit at an access control node that is connected to a plurality of user networks.) ; authenticating, based on the authentication data, the media segment (US 20010044893, Skemer, para. 0025, The step of authenticating may include any combination of interrogating the user for access information, transmitting the access information to an authentication server on an external network, and transmitting an authentication message from the authentication server to the access control node.) ; and responsive to successfully authenticating the media segment, providing the media segment for consumption by the first node (US 20010044893, Skemer, para. 0048, If the authentication was successful the data unit is transmitted in step 108, and the method returns to step 100.); Skemer does not teach receiving, via a second data distribution path, from a third node in the media distribution system, authentication data related to the media segment, wherein the second data distribution path is different from the first data distribution path However, De Lutiis teaches receiving, via a second data distribution path, from a third node (US 20090210707, De Lutiis, para. 0010, Applicant has observed that solutions using security mechanisms operating at transport or network level provide an end-to-end protection, but are less suited when transmitted messages should pass a plurality of intermediate nodes[e.g. note: 3 rd node] that need to access the transmitted information.) in the media distribution system, authentication data related to the media segment, wherein the second data distribution path is different from the first data distribution path (US 20090210707, De Lutiis, para. 0018, the method uses two different channels: a first one, which can be based on a packet-type communication network with limited secure characteristics, e.g., Internet, for transmitting data and or data streams (for example, multimedia and real-time data); and a second, which is preferably a secure one, for sending information usable to check the integrity and/or the authenticity of the received data. In particular, the authentication method can be used to verify data integrity, i.e., to verify that the data sent is the same data that is received, and/or it can be used for the origin authentication, i.e., for verifying that the data was actually sent by the claimed sender. In order to operate correctly on data streams, synchronization data are exchanged between a sender module and a receiver module. Thus, the sender and receiver modules can be synchronized, and the receiver module can perform the check operations in real-time.) ; It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Skemer with the teaching of De Lutiis because a user would have been motivated to employ two different communication channels for sending unsecure and secure data, respectively, as taught by De Lutiis, in order to enable real-time data processing in the system taught by Skemer( De Lutiis, para. 0015-0018) In regards to claim 2, The combination of Skemer and De Lutiis teach the method of claim 1, wherein authenticating the media segment further comprises: generating validation data of the media segment (US 20010044893, Skemer, fig. 6, step 118, where access control information is transmitted to authentication server) ; and comparing the validation data to the authentication data (US 20010044893, Skemer,para. 0034, interrogating the user for access control information such as user identification and password[i.e. note: where a password is implicitly compared to password information]) . In regards to claim 3, The combination of Skemer and De Lutiis teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: responsive to failing to successfully authenticate the media segment, performing one or more remedial actions (US 20010044893, Skemer, fig. 5, steps 106, where an authentication failure causes the data to be dropped[110]) . In regards to claim 4, The combination of Skemer and De Lutiis teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: responsive to failing to successfully authenticate the media segment, instructing the third node to perform one or more remedial actions (US 20010044893, Skemer, fig. 5, steps 106, where an authentication failure causes the data to be dropped[110]) . In regards to claim 7, The combination of Skemer and De Lutiis teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: responsive to successfully authenticating the media segment, transmitting the media segment to a fourth node in the media distribution system (US 20010044893, Skemer, para. 0025 and 0048: [0025]- The method includes a first step of receiving a data unit at an access control node that is connected to a plurality of user networks.[0048]- If the authentication was successful the data unit is transmitted in step 108, and the method returns to step 100.[i.e. note: where the data unit may be transmitted to a plurality of networks[e.g. forth node]) . In regards to claim 8, Skemer teaches a system comprising: a memory device (US 20010044893, Skemer, para. 0040, The IAD 7 allows the Access Network 4 to communicate with the telephony networks 11 and the User Devices 10.[i.e. note: where the various devices comprise both memory and processing components]) ; and a processing device coupled to the memory device (US 20010044893, Skemer, para. 0040, The IAD 7 allows the Access Network 4 to communicate with the telephony networks 11 and the User Devices 10.[i.e. note: where the various devices comprise both memory and processing components]) , the processing device to perform operations comprising: receiving, via a first data distribution path, by a first node in a media distribution system, from a second node in the media distribution system, a media segment (US 20010044893, Skemer, para. 0025, This method allows a user network to perform user authentication for an external network at an access control node, such as an integrated access device, the external network being connected to the access control node by means of an access network. The method includes a first step of receiving a data unit at an access control node that is connected to a plurality of user networks.) ; authenticating, based on the authentication data, the media segment (US 20010044893, Skemer, para. 0025, The step of authenticating may include any combination of interrogating the user for access information, transmitting the access information to an authentication server on an external network, and transmitting an authentication message from the authentication server to the access control node.) ; and responsive to successfully authenticating the media segment, providing the media segment for consumption by the first node (US 20010044893, Skemer, para. 0048, If the authentication was successful the data unit is transmitted in step 108, and the method returns to step 100.) Skemer does not teach receiving, via a second data distribution path, from a third node in the media distribution system, authentication data related to the media segment, wherein the second data distribution path is different from the first data distribution path ; However, De Lutiis teaches receiving, via a second data distribution path, from a third node in the media distribution system (US 20090210707, De Lutiis, para. 0010, Applicant has observed that solutions using security mechanisms operating at transport or network level provide an end-to-end protection, but are less suited when transmitted messages should pass a plurality of intermediate nodes[e.g. note: 3 rd node] that need to access the transmitted information.) , authentication data related to the media segment, wherein the second data distribution path is different from the first data distribution path (US 20090210707, De Lutiis, para. 0018, the method uses two different channels: a first one, which can be based on a packet-type communication network with limited secure characteristics, e.g., Internet, for transmitting data and or data streams (for example, multimedia and real-time data); and a second, which is preferably a secure one, for sending information usable to check the integrity and/or the authenticity of the received data. In particular, the authentication method can be used to verify data integrity, i.e., to verify that the data sent is the same data that is received, and/or it can be used for the origin authentication, i.e., for verifying that the data was actually sent by the claimed sender. In order to operate correctly on data streams, synchronization data are exchanged between a sender module and a receiver module. Thus, the sender and receiver modules can be synchronized, and the receiver module can perform the check operations in real-time.) ; It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Skemer with the teaching of De Lutiis because a user would have been motivated to employ two different communication channels for sending unsecure and secure data, respectively, as taught by De Lutiis, in order to enable real-time data processing in the system taught by Skemer( De Lutiis, para. 0015-0018) . In regards to claim 9, The combination of Skemer and De Lutiis teach the system of claim 8, wherein authenticating the media segment further comprises: generating validation data of the media segment (US 20010044893, Skemer, fig. 6, step 118, where access control information is transmitted to authentication server) ; and comparing the validation data to the authentication data (US 20010044893, Skemer,para. 0034, interrogating the user for access control information such as user identification and password[i.e. note: where a password is implicitly compared to password information]) . In regards to claim 10, The combination of Skemer and De Lutiis teach the system of claim 8, wherein the operations further comprise: responsive to failing to successfully authenticate the media segment, performing one or more remedial actions (US 20010044893, Skemer, fig. 5, steps 106, where an authentication failure causes the data to be dropped[110]) . In regards to claim 11, The combination of Skemer and De Lutiis teach the system of claim 8, wherein the operations further comprise: responsive to failing to successfully authenticate the media segment, instructing the third node to perform one or more remedial actions (US 20010044893, Skemer, fig. 5, steps 106, where an authentication failure causes the data to be dropped[110]) . In regards to claim 14, The combination of Skemer and De Lutiis teach the system of claim 8, wherein the operations further comprise: responsive to successfully authenticating the media segment, transmitting the media segment to a fourth node in the media distribution system (US 20010044893, Skemer, para. 0025 and 0048: [0025]- The method includes a first step of receiving a data unit at an access control node that is connected to a plurality of user networks.[0048]- If the authentication was successful the data unit is transmitted in step 108, and the method returns to step 100.[i.e. note: where the data unit may be transmitted to a plurality of networks[e.g. forth node]) . In regards to claim 15, Skemer teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, responsive to execution by a processing device, cause the processing device to perform operations comprising: receiving, via a first data distribution path, by a first node in a media distribution system, from a second node in the media distribution system, a media segment (US 20010044893, Skemer, para. 0025, This method allows a user network to perform user authentication for an external network at an access control node, such as an integrated access device, the external network being connected to the access control node by means of an access network. The method includes a first step of receiving a data unit at an access control node that is connected to a plurality of user networks.) ; authenticating, based on the authentication data, the media segment (US 20010044893, Skemer, para. 0025, The step of authenticating may include any combination of interrogating the user for access information, transmitting the access information to an authentication server on an external network, and transmitting an authentication message from the authentication server to the access control node.) ; and responsive to successfully authenticating the media segment, providing the media segment for consumption by the first node (US 20010044893, Skemer, para. 0048, If the authentication was successful the data unit is transmitted in step 108, and the method returns to step 100.) Skemer does not teach receiving, via a second data distribution path, from a third node in the media distribution system, authentication data related to the media segment, wherein the second data distribution path is different from the first data distribution path receiving, via a second data distribution path, from a third node in the media distribution system, authentication data related to the media segment, wherein the second data distribution path is different from the first data distribution path ; However, De Lutiis teaches receiving, via a second data distribution path, from a third node in the media distribution system (US 20090210707, De Lutiis, para. 0010, Applicant has observed that solutions using security mechanisms operating at transport or network level provide an end-to-end protection, but are less suited when transmitted messages should pass a plurality of intermediate nodes[e.g. note: 3 rd node] that need to access the transmitted information.) , authentication data related to the media segment, wherein the second data distribution path is different from the first data distribution path receiving, via a second data distribution path, from a third node in the media distribution system, authentication data related to the media segment, wherein the second data distribution path is different from the first data distribution path (US 20090210707, De Lutiis, para. 0018, the method uses two different channels: a first one, which can be based on a packet-type communication network with limited secure characteristics, e.g., Internet, for transmitting data and or data streams (for example, multimedia and real-time data); and a second, which is preferably a secure one, for sending information usable to check the integrity and/or the authenticity of the received data. In particular, the authentication method can be used to verify data integrity, i.e., to verify that the data sent is the same data that is received, and/or it can be used for the origin authentication, i.e., for verifying that the data was actually sent by the claimed sender. In order to operate correctly on data streams, synchronization data are exchanged between a sender module and a receiver module. Thus, the sender and receiver modules can be synchronized, and the receiver module can perform the check operations in real-time.) ; It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Skemer with the teaching of De Lutiis because a user would have been motivated to employ two different communication channels for sending unsecure and secure data, respectively, as taught by De Lutiis, in order to enable real-time data processing in the system taught by Skemer( De Lutiis, para. 0015-0018) . In regards to claim 16, The combination of Skemer and De Lutiis teach the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein authenticating the media segment further comprises: generating validation data of the media segment (US 20010044893, Skemer, fig. 6, step 118, where access control information is transmitted to authentication server) ; and comparing the validation data to the authentication data (US 20010044893, Skemer,para. 0034, interrogating the user for access control information such as user identification and password[i.e. note: where a password is implicitly compared to password information]) . In regards to claim 17, The combination of Skemer and De Lutiis teach the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the operations further comprise: responsive to failing to successfully authenticate the media segment, performing one or more remedial actions (US 20010044893, Skemer, fig. 5, steps 106, where an authentication failure causes the data to be dropped[110]) . In regards to claim 18, The combination of Skemer and De Lutiis teach the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the operations further comprise: responsive to failing to successfully authenticate the media segment, instructing the third node to perform one or more remedial actions (US 20010044893, Skemer, fig. 5, steps 106, where an authentication failure causes the data to be dropped[110]) . In regards to claim 20, The combination of Skemer and De Lutiis teach the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the operations further comprise: responsive to successfully authenticating the media segment, transmitting the media segment to a fourth node in the media distribution system (US 20010044893, Skemer, para. 0025 and 0048: [0025]- The method includes a first step of receiving a data unit at an access control node that is connected to a plurality of user networks.[0048]- If the authentication was successful the data unit is transmitted in step 108, and the method returns to step 100.[i.e. note: where the data unit may be transmitted to a plurality of networks[e.g. forth node]) . 2.) Claims 5, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20010044893, Skemer in view of US 20090210707, De Lutiis and further in view of US 20070101417, Kim In regards to claim 5, The combination of Skemer and De Lutiis teach the method of claim 1. The combination of Skemer and De Lutiis do not teach wherein the authentication data comprises at least one of a hash value of the media segment or a hash value of one or more frames associated with the media segment However, Kim teaches wherein the authentication data comprises at least one of a hash value of the media segment or a hash value of one or more frames associated with the media segment (US 20070101417, Kim, para. 0040, the controller 240 extracts a hash value from the authentication information stored in the authentication-information storage unit,) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of the combination of Skemer and De Lutiis with the teaching of Kim because a user would have been motivated to provide an automatic data and authentication update method, taught by Kim, in order to provide a means for performing data authentication even when there may be insufficient storage space available on the system taught by the combination of Skemer and De Lutiis (Kim, para. 0009) In regards to claim 12, The combination of Skemer and De Lutiis teach the system of claim 8. The combination of Skemer and De Lutiis do not teach wherein the authentication data comprises at least one of a hash value of the media segment or a hash value of one or more frames associated with the media segment However, Kim teaches wherein the authentication data comprises at least one of a hash value of the media segment or a hash value of one or more frames associated with the media segment (US 20070101417, Kim, para. 0040, the controller 240 extracts a hash value from the authentication information stored in the authentication-information storage unit,) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of the combination of Skemer and De Lutiis with the teaching of Kim because a user would have been motivated to provide an automatic data and authentication update method, taught by Kim, in order to provide a means for performing data authentication even when there may be insufficient storage space available on the system taught by the combination of Skemer and De Lutiis (Kim, para. 0009) In regards to claim 19, The combination of Skemer and De Lutiis teach the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 15. The combination of Skemer and De Lutiis do not teach wherein the authentication data comprises at least one of a hash value of the media segment or a hash value of one or more frames associated with the media segment However, Kim teaches wherein the authentication data comprises at least one of a hash value of the media segment or a hash value of one or more frames associated with the media segment (US 20070101417, Kim, para. 0040, the controller 240 extracts a hash value from the authentication information stored in the authentication-information storage unit,) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of the combination of Skemer and De Lutiis with the teaching of Kim because a user would have been motivated to provide an automatic data and authentication update method, taught by Kim, in order to provide a means for performing data authentication even when there may be insufficient storage space available on the system taught by the combination of Skemer and De Lutiis (Kim, para. 0009) 3.) Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20010044893, Skemer in view of US 20090210707, De Lutiis and further in view of US 20090187978, Upendran In regards to claim 6, The combination of Skemer and De Lutiis teach the method of claim 1. The combination of Skemer and De Lutiis do not teach wherein the media segment is with a part of a live media stream However, Upendran teaches wherein the media segment is with a part of a live media stream (US 20090187978, Upendran, para. 0030, The secured data resource can be a real-time media stream, such as, without limitation an audio or video broadcast of a live event,) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of the combination of Skemer and Lutiis with the teaching of Upendran because a user would have been motivated to enhance data security in the system taught by the combination of Skemer and De Lutiis by requiring two requests for content access, taught by Upendran, in order to confirm the content requestor and content identity prior to providing access to the secured content (Upendran, para. 0004) In regards to claim 13, The combination of Skemer and De Lutiis teach the system of claim 8. The combination of Skemer and De Lutiis do not teach wherein the media segment is with a part of a live media stream However, Upendran teaches wherein the media segment is with a part of a live media stream (US 20090187978, Upendran, para. 0030, The secured data resource can be a real-time media stream, such as, without limitation an audio or video broadcast of a live event,) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of the combination of Skemer and Lutiis with the teaching of Upendran because a user would have been motivated to enhance data security in the system taught by the combination of Skemer and De Lutiis by requiring two requests for content access, taught by Upendran, in order to confirm the content requestor and content identity prior to providing access to the secured content (Upendran, para. 0004) CONCLUSION 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action. 07-101 Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to GREGORY LANE whose telephone number is (571)270-7469 . The examiner can normally be reached on 571 270 7469 from 8:00 AM to 6:00 PM . If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Taghi Arani , can be reached on 571 272 3787 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). /GREGORY A LANE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2438 /TAGHI T ARANI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/802,724 Page 2 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/802,724 Page 4 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/802,724 Page 5 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/802,724 Page 6 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/802,724 Page 7 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/802,724 Page 8 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/802,724 Page 9 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/802,724 Page 10 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/802,724 Page 11 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/802,724 Page 12 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/802,724 Page 13 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/802,724 Page 14 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/802,724 Page 15 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/802,724 Page 16 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/802,724 Page 17 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/802,724 Page 18 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/802,724 Page 19 Art Unit: 2438 Application/Control Number: 18/802,724 Page 20 Art Unit: 2438